MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #12
Slam Dunk (Manga)

Slam Dunk

Alternative Titles

English: Slam Dunk
Synonyms: Slam Dunk: 10 Days After
Japanese: スラムダンク

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 31
Chapters: 276
Status: Finished
Published: Sep 18, 1990 to Jun 4, 1996
Authors: Inoue, Takehiko (Story & Art)
Serialization: Shounen Jump (Weekly)

Statistics

Score: 8.961 (scored by 12652 users)
Ranked: #122
Popularity: #119
Members: 21,678
Favorites: 2,717
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.

Reviews

kuglefang
Feb 5, 2009 8:09 AM
Slam Dunk is probably the best manga ever published and the anime version is one of the best I have ever seen. Even though the series has ended more than a decade ago, many people wiill wholeheartedly agree that this franchise has stood the test of time.

The story is simple but the execution is incredible, each chapter is filled with humor, action, drama, comedy and a whole lot more. The anime series was good and worthy of being considered a landmark anime, but if you have yet to see the anime then you don't know what you're missing. However there are things that read more
I found this review Helpful
marian11
Oct 5, 2014 9:33 AM
Before I start, I must point something out. If you're expecting something like Kuroko no Basket with Zone, 100% accuracy shooting, perfect copy and other supernatural powers, stop reading right now, because it has none of that. Also, SD focuses more on the whole team, rather than just 2 characters (Kuroko and Kagami). Now, onto the recommendation.
The story follows Sakuragi Hanamichi, a delinquent who is in love with a girl named Haruko and wants to impress her in some way, so he decides to join the basketball club. That was his initial reason for joining, but he gradually develops a love for the sport and read more
I found this review Helpful
Beobachter
Feb 4, 1:01 AM
Slam Dunk is the most popular and iconic basketball manga around, thanks to a dynamite main character and Takehiko Inoue's clear passion for the sport.

Hanamichi Sakuragi, a red-headed delinquent and complete basketball neophyte, is the heart and soul of Slam Dunk. He's great at various things (beating up other delinquents, being tall, and being rejected by girls are chiefs among them), and while playing basketball is clearly not one of them, don't tell him that; in fact, Sakuragi's brand of unreasonable confidence and swaggery is a breath of fresh air in a genre usually populated by bland genius or meek underdogs as main protagonists. read more
I found this review Helpful
Klad
Mar 27, 12:18 PM
If you're a regular basketball watcher, or a solid fan of the sport, then Slam Dunk is a must watch for you. This piece of work is skillfully written by the famous author Inoue Takehiko, also known for his other works such as REAL and Vagabond. Slam Dunk also had outstanding sales in Japan and a successful adaptation series (along with four movies) which were sold worldwide, thus inspiring young people to practise basketball passionately.

As said above, Slam Dunk is for those who are into basketball. Inoue Takehiko himself has been a basketball player in his high school days, and he is an active NBA read more
I found this review Helpful
Westuffyme
Sep 16, 2014 3:28 PM
" Gold medals aren't really made of gold. They're made of sweat, determination, and a hard-to-find alloy called guts "
Does this quote describes what this manga is about? Probably not, but I felt that it would be cool writing it before I start review. This is already 24 years old, it started back in 1990 and was publishing to 1996 (six years)
Back then, basketball wasn't that popular in Japan, very few really talked about it, but mangaka Takehiko Inoue liked basketball, and even though he was told by his editor that basketball is almost a taboo in Japan, he decided to write manga about it, read more
I found this review Helpful
Gwilthyunman
May 6, 2010 4:31 PM
Everything about this was jus incredible, it was one smooth hilarious touching ride, one after the other.

Art: each character looks unique, can recognize each of them quickly (unlike some mangas where characters jus get a hair-style change and they call it another character). Gets better and better, quite realistic drawings compared with other mangas. The people look pretty real and the guys look damn cool when they're supposed to be. The girls are pretty cute too.

Story: Read to find out, don't wana give spoilers. Nothing feels extra in this, everything fits together. Be prepared to laugh lots and feel inspired with the characters' perseverance.

Character: read more
I found this review Helpful
whoiam_me
Dec 8, 2008 4:12 AM

holy crap..! when im reading this i was so excited and i even got chills!!! Its one of the longest series ive read so far (POT 379 these two were my all time favourite sports manga/anime), & honestly, it never bored me... they were totally awesome and theres a part that i almost cried!!! (what?) no, what i mean is i cried from laughing b'cuz of Sakuragi stupidness & cute boastfullness..LoLz.. this is the best ever.. I mean this is my best anime/manga & my favorite.. I REALLY REALLY REALLY LOVE THIS.. from the story line,characters, oh everything.. though Im not a basketball read more
I found this review Helpful
Sirch456
Mar 25, 2009 4:05 PM
Slam Dunk is a great manga. When I first got into Slam Dunk I thought it was gonna suck mainly because I'm not much of a basketball fun and lost alot of interest in the beginning so I ended up dropping it. When I finished reading Hajime No Ippo I went back to this manga and fell in love with it, the story for Slam Dunk is phenomenal and the characters are impossible not to like especially the tensai xP. Though Slam Dunk is a great manga you will be disappointed, because you will not want this series to end.
I found this review Helpful
gnulab
Dec 28, 2012 3:28 AM
The skills are pretty realistic, at least from a non player point of view.
Unlike some manga which the main character always win the fight, or manage to gain some realistically impossible secret moves (read: kuroko no basket), or even a super jutsu that is applicable to every situation (read: naruto & bleach), this develops the character real. They face ups & downs. They need to train to get better.

Now that's what I call story!
I found this review Helpful
imzeryous
Feb 28, 2012 9:19 PM
I'm writing this just after finishing the manga, and in my opinion, this is one of the best series ever written, a real masterpiece, and maybe the best sportmanga ever created.

Like every other mangas, every character has their own backstory in which it reveals the motivations for them to play basketball, but the real appeal of the story is the development, mainly the matches, in which Takehiko Inoue releases all of his artistic skills showed in very fast paced and exciting scenes that make you inxious to know if the ball entered the net or if the pass was sucessful or not.

Artistically talking, Inoue puts read more
I found this review Helpful