MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #12
Slam Dunk (Manga)

Slam Dunk

Alternative Titles

English: Slam Dunk
Synonyms: Slam Dunk: 10 Days After
Japanese: スラムダンク

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 31
Chapters: 276
Status: Finished
Published: Sep 18, 1990 to Jun 4, 1996
Authors: Inoue, Takehiko (Story & Art)
Serialization: Shounen Jump (Weekly)

Statistics

Score: 8.941 (scored by 10083 users)
Ranked: #122
Popularity: #131
Members: 16,808
Favorites: 2,118
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top manga page.

My Info


Popular Tags

basketball comedy shounen sports
Feb 5, 2009
kuglefang
Slam Dunk is probably the best manga ever published and the anime version is one of the best I have ever seen. Even though the series has ended more than a decade ago, many people wiill wholeheartedly agree that this franchise has stood the test of time.

The story is simple but the execution is incredible, each chapter is filled with humor, action, drama, comedy and a whole lot more. The anime series was good and worthy of being considered a landmark anime, but if you have yet to see the anime then you don't know what you're missing. However there are things that read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 11, 2008
Karura
Before reading the rest of the review, please take note that I might be a little biased in my review as I enjoy the sport at it's core personally.

Basis: Slam Dunk is a manga about the great sport of basketball. It is filled with comedy, fast paced action, and even teaches you basketball history to an extent if you're unknowing to the given material. As old as the manga is, it is still incredible.

Plot: The story follows a new high school delinquent (previously a junior high breed), Sakuragi Hanamichi. As Sakuragi is much taller (Around 6'2" ~ 6'3") then the average Japanese male, he read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 16, 2014
Westuffyme
" Gold medals aren't really made of gold. They're made of sweat, determination, and a hard-to-find alloy called guts "
Does this quote describes what this manga is about? Probably not, but I felt that it would be cool writing it before I start review. This is already 24 years old, it started back in 1990 and was publishing to 1996 (six years)
Back then, basketball wasn't that popular in Japan, very few really talked about it, but mangaka Takehiko Inoue liked basketball, and even though he was told by his editor that basketball is almost a taboo in Japan, he decided to write manga about it, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 28, 2012
imzeryous
I'm writing this just after finishing the manga, and in my opinion, this is one of the best series ever written, a real masterpiece, and maybe the best sportmanga ever created.

Like every other mangas, every character has their own backstory in which it reveals the motivations for them to play basketball, but the real appeal of the story is the development, mainly the matches, in which Takehiko Inoue releases all of his artistic skills showed in very fast paced and exciting scenes that make you inxious to know if the ball entered the net or if the pass was sucessful or not.

Artistically talking, Inoue puts read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 6, 2010
Gwilthyunman
Everything about this was jus incredible, it was one smooth hilarious touching ride, one after the other.

Art: each character looks unique, can recognize each of them quickly (unlike some mangas where characters jus get a hair-style change and they call it another character). Gets better and better, quite realistic drawings compared with other mangas. The people look pretty real and the guys look damn cool when they're supposed to be. The girls are pretty cute too.

Story: Read to find out, don't wana give spoilers. Nothing feels extra in this, everything fits together. Be prepared to laugh lots and feel inspired with the characters' perseverance.

Character: read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 25, 2009
Sirch456
Slam Dunk is a great manga. When I first got into Slam Dunk I thought it was gonna suck mainly because I'm not much of a basketball fun and lost alot of interest in the beginning so I ended up dropping it. When I finished reading Hajime No Ippo I went back to this manga and fell in love with it, the story for Slam Dunk is phenomenal and the characters are impossible not to like especially the tensai xP. Though Slam Dunk is a great manga you will be disappointed, because you will not want this series to end.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 8, 2008
whoiam_me

holy crap..! when im reading this i was so excited and i even got chills!!! Its one of the longest series ive read so far (POT 379 these two were my all time favourite sports manga/anime), & honestly, it never bored me... they were totally awesome and theres a part that i almost cried!!! (what?) no, what i mean is i cried from laughing b'cuz of Sakuragi stupidness & cute boastfullness..LoLz.. this is the best ever.. I mean this is my best anime/manga & my favorite.. I REALLY REALLY REALLY LOVE THIS.. from the story line,characters, oh everything.. though Im not a basketball read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 28, 2012
gnulab
The skills are pretty realistic, at least from a non player point of view.
Unlike some manga which the main character always win the fight, or manage to gain some realistically impossible secret moves (read: kuroko no basket), or even a super jutsu that is applicable to every situation (read: naruto & bleach), this develops the character real. They face ups & downs. They need to train to get better.

Now that's what I call story!
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 30, 2013
Danno
I've never read sports manga before since I thought they surely must be boring and predictable (with the good guys always winning). Well, excluding Hajime no Ippo, but fist fights have a kinda different feeling to them. Anyway, Slam Dunk was able to hold my attention despite my bias. It wasn't perfect, but it was an enjoyable read.

- - - S T O R Y - - -
The story starts off with... surprisingly little to do with basketball. Basketball is there, but the focus is more on delinquent kinda things. Sakuragi's group of friends add some humour, you can easily relate to the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 14, 2013
Kosourbites
This sport manga about basketball is truly a classic. I watched the anime the first time back in 2010. Then I decided to read the manga in all one go. Here, I'm writing this review after 3 years. I have read this manga 4-5 times already. As I said, it's a classic. It never gets old! And once you start, you cannot stop on reading. The manga is better than the anime, as the pacing for the anime is quite slow, but it is also good watch.

Story: 8/10.
Of course, this story is about a man name Sakuragi Hanamichi who is a delinquent and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices