MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #575
Kiss yori mo Hayaku (Manga)

Kiss yori mo Hayaku

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Faster Than a Kiss, Tsuki to Himawari, Moon and Sunflower
Japanese: キスよりも早く

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 12
Chapters: 58
Status: Finished
Published: Jan 24, 2007 to Jun 23, 2012
Authors: Tanaka, Meca (Story & Art)
Serialization: LaLa

Statistics

Score: 8.171 (scored by 9287 users)
Ranked: #5752
Popularity: #109
Members: 18,386
Favorites: 756
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top manga page.

My Info


Popular Tags

comedy romance shoujo
Jan 14, 2009
vaberella
This story is about the developing relationship between a teacher and his student. At home they are married. While at school they are student and teacher. The teacher is male and much older who used to be a delinquent when he was younger. The student is female and thinks she's a sort of Joan of Arc since she has a sense of righteous justice and as such she comes across violent since she beats people up if they do wrong. The lead girl has a younger brohter and they are both orphans who ran away from a troubled home read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 13, 2009
anii
Overall, so far I believe it has great potential to develop into a great manga. its a kind of 'forbidden student-teacher relationship', and at first it seemed weird how the two characters got into that situation (in my own opinion).

I like this manga (so far) because it has just the right amount of drama, heaps of comedy and also really good fluffy moments. The Tanaka-sensei gradually shows us bits and pieces of each character and makes it a fun read by adding very cute and annoyingly stupid/cute moments (if in real-life) - which can really make you laugh.

During the serious/dramatic moments, the artwork (which is read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 15, 2010
sweeny
This was a very hard manga for me to review. I loved how it started, and thought that nothing would alter that. Then the second volume kind of lost me. I was disappointed! I even considered stopping reading. But I had the next volume already, so thought that I would keep on keeping on. And I am glad I did. I was won back in volumes 3-4.

The story itself has been told many times. Teacher and student are married, and hide it from the general population. But in Faster than a Kiss, the story has a freshness, and it is so sweet! In order read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 8, 2012
ihateeveryone
Forbidden relationships are always an interesting subject to read. From incest, to yaoi/yuri (if you even classify those as "forbidden"), and now to teacher/student relationships, in the end it all depends on whether or not the relationships are presented realistically, especially considering they're looked down on from common society. "Faster than a Kiss" presents a situation of forbidden love, and does an.. alright job of playing it all out.

The story itself is quite simple. Our lead heroine, Fumino, is sick of moving from place to place with her younger brother, Teppei, since her parents died. So, she decides to drop out of school to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 3, 2013
MasayahingArtist
First of all, i avoid reading manga with student-teacher relationships, since i'm totally not a big fan of huge age-gap stories (let alone the lolicon genre). Second, this series have been in my plan-to-read list for months, and i believe spider webs were growing on this. When i finallly had the time and courage to read this, i was dumbfounded. This series turned my thoughts upside down-down.

The story is the typical student-teacher relationship which i first disliked, but after reading this, i'm having double thoughts about this type of genre. If i still came to the conclusion that i don't like STRs, then this one read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 14, 2009
dear_near_scary
I love this story, it's so adorable! I'll admit that from the start I was biased (I'm interested by the teacher-student relationships, as in 7th Period is a Secret), but it really exceeded my expectations. Kazu-sensei's somewhat pervy actions make me wanna laugh, but Shouma-kun's cold demeanor and sad undertones make me wanna cry - a very good thing for a Shoujo fanatic like myself.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 20, 2010
kittykatloren
The quintessential teacher/student relationship manga. ^^ If you like that kind of shoujo story, then this is perfect manga for you.

The story is more interesting I think in that they're actually married from the start, and it's a marriage of necessity that seems to grow into love. Still a chaste love, though - when will they kiss?! But their relationship is adorable and engaging nonetheless. Fumino's not the typical shoujo girl in that she has a lot more spunk and can take care of herself. Her little brother Teppei is just adorable! And Sensei himself is at the same time the romantic lead and the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 15, 2013
KunoYuna
It was sad when I finished this manga b/c I was patiently waiting for updates, like I usually do, and when the last chapter was updated... I felt empty. I mean, if you had started the manga long before it ended, you feel like you connected with the characters well and you feel like you've been there watching them grow and change throughout the story. So having it end was sad, but you can get over it in a few minutes, it not hours.
The plot... well.... there wasn't really a set on plot, but it was just the happenings of someone's life as things happened. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 14, 2012
Blackstar_aria
I have no idea why I thought this would be a good read. I think someone recommended it to me. Anyway I regret having to read Faster than a kiss, not only because it was highly improbable but also because i found it disgusting.
Taking that you have read the synopsis already, let me point out the good things- there are lots of surprises and twists in the story. There were some cool cosplay ideas throughout the story. I really liked the characters individually. Aside from the consealed perviness i liked the sensei Ma-kun and found his backstory very interesting. I thought the author did read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 24, 2013
LittleOtaku13
I must admit that I didn´t read manga so much. My theory was : Where´s manga, there must be anime too. And anime is better. But this one convinced me, that manga could be sometimes better than anime and it doesn´t have to be anime too.

I totally loved the whole story and I liked characters so much.
There were moments when smile appearded on my face and almost turn into the laugh :)
And I read it in 4 days :) because, when I read one chapter I always wanted to know what happen next.
If the kind of person who likes romance stories, this read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices