Ranked #580

Kiss yori mo Hayaku (Manga)

Kiss yori mo Hayaku

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Faster Than a Kiss, Tsuki to Himawari, Moon and Sunflower
Japanese: キスよりも早く


Type: Manga
Volumes: 12
Chapters: 58
Status: Finished
Published: Jan 24, 2007 to Jun 23, 2012
Authors: Tanaka, Meca (Story & Art)
Serialization: LaLa


Score: 8.141 (scored by 11099 users)
Ranked: #5802
Popularity: #128
Members: 22,150
Favorites: 872
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Sep 12, 2015
I thought it would be about a girl being infatuated with her teacher and her trying to get him to like her back despite the age gap and school rules, but even from the first chapter you can see that they both are in love with each other, so no spoilers there. In fact, because of that, the first approximate fifteen chapters don't follow a clear plotline. Kaji and her younger brother live with her teacher because she has nowhere else to go, and they don't want their relationship to be exposed. There are a bunch of small adventures to fill up the beginning where read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 14, 2009
This story is about the developing relationship between a teacher and his student. At home they are married. While at school they are student and teacher. The teacher is male and much older who used to be a delinquent when he was younger. The student is female and thinks she's a sort of Joan of Arc since she has a sense of righteous justice and as such she comes across violent since she beats people up if they do wrong. The lead girl has a younger brohter and they are both orphans who ran away from a troubled home read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 23, 2015
I gonna try to make this review a short and a spoiler free one.


The story goes kinda like this......The main two protagonists(Ojiro Kazuma and Kaji Fumino) share the relation of being a student-teacher at school but in reality they are married to each other and since according to the rules the teacher will lose his job if this is found out so they have to keep this relationship a secret from others.

While trying to keep this relationship a secret they go through many experience that enhances their romance and deepens their bond with each other.During all these encounters there is comedy and read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 13, 2009
Overall, so far I believe it has great potential to develop into a great manga. its a kind of 'forbidden student-teacher relationship', and at first it seemed weird how the two characters got into that situation (in my own opinion).

I like this manga (so far) because it has just the right amount of drama, heaps of comedy and also really good fluffy moments. The Tanaka-sensei gradually shows us bits and pieces of each character and makes it a fun read by adding very cute and annoyingly stupid/cute moments (if in real-life) - which can really make you laugh.

During the serious/dramatic moments, the artwork (which is read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 8, 2012
Forbidden relationships are always an interesting subject to read. From incest, to yaoi/yuri (if you even classify those as "forbidden"), and now to teacher/student relationships, in the end it all depends on whether or not the relationships are presented realistically, especially considering they're looked down on from common society. "Faster than a Kiss" presents a situation of forbidden love, and does an.. alright job of playing it all out.

The story itself is quite simple. Our lead heroine, Fumino, is sick of moving from place to place with her younger brother, Teppei, since her parents died. So, she decides to drop out of school to read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 10, 2014
When I was very new to reading manga, I stumbled upon this one. I thought, " Nah, not one of those teacher-student romance crap again! " (=___=)

I mean it doesn't really happen in real life that easily, does it?

But I was really curious since the Female Protagonist's Brother caught my eye, then I started reading it. Nothing to do anyway. At first, I was reading the typical macho type of shoujo romance you'd see with the cool guy in glasses and rivalries and stuff...

I thought I was done with those things on the ANIME SERIES...

But when actually reading it, there's a certain charm, that would read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 15, 2010
This was a very hard manga for me to review. I loved how it started, and thought that nothing would alter that. Then the second volume kind of lost me. I was disappointed! I even considered stopping reading. But I had the next volume already, so thought that I would keep on keeping on. And I am glad I did. I was won back in volumes 3-4.

The story itself has been told many times. Teacher and student are married, and hide it from the general population. But in Faster than a Kiss, the story has a freshness, and it is so sweet! In order read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 14, 2012
I have no idea why I thought this would be a good read. I think someone recommended it to me. Anyway I regret having to read Faster than a kiss, not only because it was highly improbable but also because i found it disgusting.
Taking that you have read the synopsis already, let me point out the good things- there are lots of surprises and twists in the story. There were some cool cosplay ideas throughout the story. I really liked the characters individually. Aside from the consealed perviness i liked the sensei Ma-kun and found his backstory very interesting. I thought the author did read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 14, 2009
I love this story, it's so adorable! I'll admit that from the start I was biased (I'm interested by the teacher-student relationships, as in 7th Period is a Secret), but it really exceeded my expectations. Kazu-sensei's somewhat pervy actions make me wanna laugh, but Shouma-kun's cold demeanor and sad undertones make me wanna cry - a very good thing for a Shoujo fanatic like myself.
I found this review Helpful
Nov 20, 2010
The quintessential teacher/student relationship manga. ^^ If you like that kind of shoujo story, then this is perfect manga for you.

The story is more interesting I think in that they're actually married from the start, and it's a marriage of necessity that seems to grow into love. Still a chaste love, though - when will they kiss?! But their relationship is adorable and engaging nonetheless. Fumino's not the typical shoujo girl in that she has a lot more spunk and can take care of herself. Her little brother Teppei is just adorable! And Sensei himself is at the same time the romantic lead and the read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 24, 2013
I must admit that I didn´t read manga so much. My theory was : Where´s manga, there must be anime too. And anime is better. But this one convinced me, that manga could be sometimes better than anime and it doesn´t have to be anime too.

I totally loved the whole story and I liked characters so much.
There were moments when smile appearded on my face and almost turn into the laugh :)
And I read it in 4 days :) because, when I read one chapter I always wanted to know what happen next.
If the kind of person who likes romance stories, this read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 6, 2009
I absolutely love this series. It's hilarious and very amusing, the characters often have two personalities that switch back and forth throughout the chapters, which could have you laughing on the floor or cheering loudly.
The lead female is naive but entertaining, she may not understand something but she eventually figures it out, so you don't get annoyed with her for very long. The lead man, extremely entertaining! He's fun loving, protective and very caring but perverted just enough (every woman's dream!). Girls and women can't go wrong with this comedy.
It's a bit refreshing having the lead male aware of his feelings and not act like read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 12, 2010
I personally am i fan of teacher (male) and student (female) relationships,thats why i like this manga so much. This is the best one yet.. the teacher is very nice and so is the student.. totally deserving of love! Can't wait to see the ending! I'm a sucker for these love stories.
I found this review Helpful
Mar 3, 2013
Overall, I found this manga to be absolutely riveting and heartwarming. The relationship between Fumino and Kazuma is tragically romantic and comedic; the complication of their situation makes things even more blush-worthy and takes a terrible toll on Fumino's outer personality. When I first began reading I was a little bit nervous how things would play out considering Kazuma made Fumino dress up in cosplay to greet him otherwise she would get no dinner; I thought maybe things would take a turn for the worst but I am so unbelievably grateful that I continued reading.

Fumino Kaji iis wonderfully hilarious with her almost tsundere disposition, ferocious read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 18, 2013
I found this Manga outstanding, I am hoping they would put it into Anime.

Story line, Art, character, enjoyment are 10+ outstanding

Over all i found it Amazing!

I would love to re-read it again. It keep me on the Edge of my seat
I found this review Helpful