Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

The One

The One

Alternative Titles

Japanese: 獨領風騷

Information

Type: Manhua
Volumes: 18
Chapters: 110
Status: Finished
Published: Jan 1, 2005 to Feb 5, 2014
Authors: Lee, Nicky (Story & Art)
Serialization: Star☆Girls

Statistics

Score: 8.361 (scored by 5457 users)
1 indicates a weighted score
Ranked: #2532
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #381
Members: 11,786
Favorites: 676

Reviews

SimpleCandy
May 9, 2009
Okay, I admit it, I love The One but when it first came out and I read the beginning I quit of the 5th page. It was only after I have read everything else I wanted to when I decided to pick this up again.

Story: The story isn't that amazingly unique and original in terms of a girl being forced to go into the fashion industry and finding hardships and love on the way, etc. However, this type of story is usually very well received by the general population therefore the story should (and is) quite good. I gave it a 8 to balance read more
I found this review Helpful
anetxi
Apr 2, 2010
The story in "The One" is neither boring nor slow-paced, which makes it very interesting and stimulating to the reader; although the underline theme is "life in the fashion world", it does not fall in the cliché category.

The main character escapes from the typical lead female in anime/manga, which makes the reader curious, because you don't easily predict what the character's next move will be.

The artwork is very good, nothing over the top, but captivating and very pleasant.

This manga turned out to be a surprise for me, I never expected to be this devoted.
Although it's not finished yet, it's interesting to re-read the read more
I found this review Helpful
MissPoopsie
Mar 3, 2015
"The One" is manhwa that I stopped reading few years ago. I dropped it after few volumes thinking that story is kind of slow. Thanks God I came to my senses :)

Story 8/10
I find this manhwa best point is it's story - even tho it lacks originallity. Story is very well based on real time hardships and life events. Combine that with little bit of shoujo aspects and you get the One. Towards the end the One is becoming more and more realistic and less and less shoujo-like.
I would give 10/10 points if there wasn't an ending. Ending is kind of rushed and even read more
I found this review Helpful
vampyrechic13
Jun 9, 2012
The One is my all time favorite manga since Dazzle... I adore the story and art. Miss Cane is the most amazing character I've ever had the pleasure of reading about. There are many bishie characters that most will enjoy. I recomend this incredible story to everyone unless you can't get over (very very slight) bisexual situations or implied relationships. Either way one of the best mangas I've ever read!!
I found this review Helpful
purpleIris
May 21, 2014
On the surface, The One starts off like many fashion-based shoujo mangas with a beautiful naive girl somehow finding herself in the throes of the dangerous, alluring and exciting fashion industry. However, somewhere along the line, among the typical tropes in this genre, the readers are introduced to an intense and intriguing story with complex characters who overcome their their tragic dark pasts. Granted, I still have two more chapters to read (at the time of this review) but I feel just that connected and confident in this story line, especially given what it's been thus far.

Story
Lele, our heroine, follows in the footsteps read more
I found this review Helpful
Ipomoea
Jan 21, 2013
to be honest, when i found "The One" im not interested... lol :D in fact, i doubt that it will be a good manhwa, honestly...i seldom enjoying a story about pursuing a dream in showbiz/modeling world... most of the time these kind of story turn out to be not my taste....
but the art is appealing me to at least trying a few chapter, and yeah art is no doubt i guess. And when i get to the mood and the plot, i just can't take my mind from it... the drama is A LOT... but the author is success making the reader keep getting excited.
I found this review Helpful