MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #2222
666 Satan (Manga)

666 Satan

Alternative Titles

English: O-Parts Hunter
Synonyms: Trigger
Japanese: 666〜サタン〜

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 19
Chapters: 76
Status: Finished
Published: Aug 11, 2001 to Dec 12, 2007
Authors: Kishimoto, Seishi (Story & Art)
Serialization: Shounen Gangan

Statistics

Score: 7.721 (scored by 9581 users)
Ranked: #22222
Popularity: #126
Members: 16,661
Favorites: 846
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top manga page.

My Info


Popular Tags

action adventure drama shounen
Sep 22, 2008
GanonBR
666 Satan, written by Seishi Kishimoto (twin brother of Naruto's author Masashi Kishimoto), inspite of what it's title might make you think, is an tipical shounen series that tells the story of Jio Freed and Ruby Crescent and their quest to find legendary O-Parts ("magical" items left by an ancient civilization).

Even with this simple premise, 666 Satan has in fact a relatively complex plot, in this manga Seishi Kishimoto used various elements from religions all around the world, but most of all from Judaism (so, if you fell you might get offended or something, you shouldn't read this), to create a new world, that lives read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 11, 2008
EmeraldWolfChild
666Satan. When you first see that name you probably expect something really gory and R+ rated or something that you think will be totally NOT worth reading. How wrong you are....And let me tell you hat changed my mind :]

Story: Something quite captivating; the whole O-Parts concept,the other path of evolution and the Kabblah really are something different than what you usually read. Not too long and drawn out, the story is just the right size even having enough room for 3 time period looks( which all look awesome on the characters). The only thing that put me off was the clumped together information read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 16, 2008
Acinonyx
666 Satan at its heart really is the embodiment of shonen I think. It has friendship conquers all moments, enemies becoming friends, enemies you love to hate, super powered attacks that keep getting stronger, and of course that girl the main character might end up with in the end. I really like the art style found here since I read Naruto first (the Mangakas are brothers after all). The story is a little rushed at times and there's a few characters and plot threads that don't get the attention they really needed but the strong cast of characters and interesting overall read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 17, 2008
zuziako
How can I describe '666 Satan'? Probably the first word that comes to my mind would be 'typical'. If anyone is looking for a generic, typical shonen series, than this manga is just what you are looking for. However, I suggest picking another title, because this one is a sad disappointment. The main characters personalities are extremely similar to Bulma and Goku from 'Dragon Ball', with a touch of 'Naruto' - ' I will make my dream come true' philosophy. That being said, we can't expect nothing more of them than dull friendship speeches and fights (which, in my opinion, are just average). As read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 10, 2009
BallerGamer
There are two things that stand out about 666 Satan. One the title itself; you'd think it would be some dark themed witch craft suspense thriller about an underground cult or religion just by reading the name of the manga. In reality it's actually an action adventure shounen. And two, it shares many many many similarities to the famous Naruto; from character mannerisms to storyline straight down to its art. Not a surprise as the author is the younger brother of Masashi Kishimoto, creator of Naruto. Although most of 666 Satan feels like just another variation of Naruto just told in a different fantasy land read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 3, 2011
Zanarkandian
666 Satan and Naruto share the same relationship that their respective authors do. They are siblings, with one of them living under the shadow of the other. For a reason? Make no mistake, this brother has his own story of bonds to tell. Friendship, love, ambition, loneliness; these are universal truths. Who is to decide whether you can write a story about those or not, just because it has been done by others as well?

Those looking for similarities, won't have to try hard to spot them. There's Jio Freed, a boy who grew up alone, hated because he had the Kyuub-, I mean Satan sealed read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 5, 2009
ZepysGirl
>Review is based on first book in the series.


The first thing you have to know about O-Parts Hunter is this: it’s essentially the zany union of Dragon Ball and Naruto. Like Dragon Ball, it features a young girl on a quest (Ruby Crescent) accompanied by her younger protector (Jio Freed). Like Naruto, the young boy is possessed by an ancient and terrible evil. But while most copy-cats are destined to lurk in the shadows of their source material, O-Parts Hunter rises to the challenge.

Originally called “666 Satan” in Japan, the story follows two kids, Ruby and Jio, as they search for the “Legendary O-Part”. Their read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 27, 2012
zarinna
When you first pick up this manga, you will probably come from the idea of Seishi being one of the Kishimoto brothers and you want to read some shounen. Well, that is a fair reason to get there. However, when you read 666 Satan(which i would like to call O-Parts Hunter because of the terrible name) you will see it is more than your typical shounen manga.



Seishi Kishimoto goes to extremes when he is using the religious idoms and thoughts, you will find Jio more complex than most of the shounen heroes. Of course it has it is typical shounen moments but it is read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 25, 2008
Brolly_AF
In addition to being one of the most amusing examples of a name change for American audiences, O-Parts Hunter (666 Satan) is a derivative but strongly executed fighting adventure manga for young readers.
The art bears a strong resemblance to Masashi Kishimoto's Naruto, perhaps understandably, as Seishi Kishimoto is his twin brother.
Set in a fantasy world where treasure hunters seek ancient artifacts called O-Parts, the story follows Ruby, a treasure hunting girl, and Jio, a young spiky-haired boy who contains the split personality of Satan (who's not nearly as bad as you'd expect).
For the most part, the mood is light and suitable read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices