MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #63
Ouran Koukou Host Club (Manga)

Ouran Koukou Host Club

Alternative Titles

English: Ouran High School Host Club
Synonyms: OHSHC, Romantic Egoist
Japanese: 桜蘭高校ホスト部

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 18
Chapters: 87
Status: Finished
Published: Jul 24, 2002 to Sep 24, 2010
Authors: Hatori, Bisco (Story & Art)
Serialization: LaLa

Statistics

Score: 8.651 (scored by 25359 users)
Ranked: #632
Popularity: #15
Members: 44,561
Favorites: 4,985
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top manga page.

My Info


Popular Tags

comedy drama romance shoujo
May 19, 2008
ASHGARY
The only reason the Ouran anime is worth a watch is because it sets the stage for the manga. Yes, this series has to be the best I've EVER seen. The whole thing has a perfect layout, which gives us our fair share of both drama and comedy relief. It's fantastic.

The story is a 9. Because there are so many main characters, all introduced at around the same time, the beginning takes a bit of time to get into. It is full of filler chapters that set the stage for what's to come. You see, in these introductory chapters, you learn a little bit about read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 19, 2008
Zombiee
I would really recommend this manga to anyone who loved the anime. The anime is a great adaption and tells the story almost exactly as it was in the manga, however it's not as progressive. Nothing much happens in the anime but once you get to around chapter 40 then it will really pick up the pace.

Also, guys, don't be afraid to pick up this manga and don't be deterred by the shojo tag. The story behind it is quite good too.

{Story}
Why did I give the story a 9? Because it can be slow at times. Some pieces will drag a tiny bit while read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 25, 2010
Newheights
Even though Ouran is definitely in my top 10 favorite manga, I'm going to be as honest as I can here. When I'm reading it, I notice a few mistakes or at least some things that could be improved but I still find it an enjoyable manga nontheless. There is a slight spoiler alert. Hopefully, you'll forget before you start the manga. Anyway, let's begin!

Overall Grade: 9/10 (actual: 8.5/10)

Story: 7/10

In the...let's say at least first 9 volumes of the series there's basically no substantial plot other than "a commoner girl attends a school for rich people and breaks a very expensive vase that belonged to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 3, 2011
fadinglotus
"To make a friend's wish come true, we would do nothing less...
And from the bottom of our hearts, we prayed for nothing more."
- from the most tear-jerking pages of Ouran

Anyways, onto the actual review.

Story (8/10)

Ouran High School Host Club is about a normal girl, Fujioka Haruhi, who is admitted to a school (primarily for children of the upper class) on a special scholarship for being an excellent student. While looking for a place to study, she accidentally stumbles upon the Host Club (which is composed of six hot guys of the highest pedigree who cater to girls that have too much time on their hands) read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 20, 2014
angelsreview
If you loved the anime, you are probably going to fall in love with the manga. It has all the crazy antics of the host club with never a dull moment but then it adds onto it with a much deeper story line. Though it loses its comedic value to an extent, the serious nature gives the characters so much more depth. This is one manga that I can say; you need to read it all even if you watched the manga because there is so much more to the stories that were shown on TV.

There are a couple people who change very drastically in read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 25, 2010
elichu
It's been a month since the manga concluded and I'm still a little speechless. Bear with me while I piece together what exactly makes this manga so charming.

So - I'm a long-term fan of the anime; I've seen it several times since it first aired and it's safe to say I also consider that a 10/10. But the anime is, in comparison, a mere introduction.

Let's consider the plot. Girl meets Host Club and is mistaken for a boy. Girl forced to join the Host Club and cross-dress as a boy. Girl completes Host Club. It's eccentric and bizarre and it really shouldn't work--but it just read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 2, 2008
stealthy_tokyo
This manga is adorable =D It goes beyond my expectations and is still a joy to read.

I loved the anime more, but the manga is more in depth. The art for the anime seemed more furnished while the manga's seemed rough-draft. Even so, both anime and manga are enjoyable whether you like to read the manga or watch the anime.

This anime/manga really exceeds in the categories of Romance and Comedy. I love it even more because the characters are so well developed through the course of the manga. The storyline really lets their personalities shine. What makes it even better is the storyline is so read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 28, 2008
animechatchat234
I think the manga is pretty good! The art is nice, and the guys are drawn outstandingly! The character developement is also very nice! It's funny, and romantic, so I'm getting a whole lot of enjoyment out of it! To sum it up, this story is very good and I will be sad once it's over.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 22, 2011
athenacat
So this is one of my favorite mangas of all time...

It was one of the first that I was motivated to keep reading steadily, and I got very excited every time I heard a saw that a new chapter had been translated.

The general story has a very typical shoujo reverse harem feel to it. The protagonist, Haruhi's mother passed away some years ago and she's having trouble fitting in to her new school which is made up of very elite rich kids. When she's looking for a quiet place to study she suddenly runs into the Ouran High School Host Club and finds herself joining. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 24, 2010
Red_Sakura
Ouran High School Host Club may seem like your typical love story. Numerous boys fall in love with single girl. It IS something like that, and at the same time, something much more.
Hatori Bisco is really creative with the making of each character-- each one has his own unique and special trait, like the idea of "brotherly love", or Kyouya being a person who takes benefit in every action, or Hunny-senpai being the lover of all things cute, but in truth a master martial artist, Mori-senpai, the man of few words, the narcissistic Tamaki cowering in a corner--- most of all, however, the fact that read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices