Ranked #308

Prison School (Manga)

Prison School

Alternative Titles

English: Prison School
Synonyms: Kangoku Gakuen
Japanese: 監獄学園(プリズンスクール)


Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Feb 7, 2011 to ?
Authors: Hiramoto, Akira (Story & Art)


Score: 8.311 (scored by 13670 users)
Ranked: #3082
Popularity: #63
Members: 35,450
Favorites: 2,964
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Mar 26, 2015
This is one of the funniest thing i've ever seen, read or even experienced. Period.

First of all the art is stunning, it's actually what lead me to read this. It doesn't matter if you're a boy or a girl, the manga is just visually appealing from beginning to end (of course if you happen to like women this is, well some sort of pervy heaven xD); every single detail, every single action, everything is perfect. Then the characters: oh the characters. There's no such thing as a dull character here, they all have their thing that makes them unique and great in their own way, read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 29, 2014
Don't listen to guys, who tell you this manga is only for those who like perverted stuff.

I really dislike hentai, and I avoid ecchi whenever possible. This manga stayed on my "plan to watch" list for a while, before I finally picked in up and finished 144 chapter in one day (actually, two days, because I finished long after midnight).

Is there a lot of ecchi in Kangoku Gakuen? Yes, unfortunately. BUT! Bigger half of it is made into a joke or something funny, and so it doesn't feel like straight fanservice.

The second half of ecchi is so overboard and unrealistic that I make a typical read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 21, 2015
First of all let me tell you English isn't my mother language so this review will probably suck.

The story focuses on a strict female high school where boys starts to be welcome and on the five boys who get in this high school: The typical well-intentioned protagonist Kiyoshi, who he gets into trouble because of misunderstandings, his childhood friend, Shingo, a Japanese history freak and the one who will figure out most of the plans (And also my favorite character) Gakuto, a masochist fat boy whose face is very small compared with his head, Andrei, and the most mysterious one, Jô, who is always covered read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 15, 2013
This manga is extremely funny. Several times I have busted a gut laughing. The reason I find Kangoku Gakuen so good is because of the characters. The main guys are all unique. The story becomes rather serious dealing with things such as betrayal, and humiliation; sometimes this is funny but at other times it is sad. The comedy is over the top, it's just hilarious. Another good thing about this manga is that you can feel the emotions certain characters are feeling. These characters (at least to me) can be something people I can relate to; I have pooped my pants once (never in school). read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 16, 2015
Of man, to the extent that he is chambers, of which, to the extent that he is proportions, that one side be as dreamy as a sullen lake in the clarity of a glade, and the other be a mangy den of thieves and hell-mouthed bandits, as such is the nature of the Soul in Man. And this pre-ponderance hath transfixed the philosophers, that some wish to quell the question, by attributing all to necessity of a higher confidence, and others, not wishing to believe in such tricksters, make it such that he is enfolded into his Will, and beneath the surface tremors infinite depravity read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 15, 2015
Prison School was recommended to me by a friend when I asked for examples of anime/manga that actually BENEFIT from fanservice. I decided to give the manga a try. Since the manga is going on 185 chapters as of this writing, I read the entirety of the first arc so that I can say that I have experienced all that I need without people saying "BUT YOU DIDN'T EVEN GET TO THE GOOD PART!!1". In Prison School's case, that was around 30 chapters (I read 33 just to finish the volume I was on).

For starters, the art wasn't half bad. Characters are somewhat distinguishable, read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 14, 2015
This is not for everyone, but with what this story does it's incredible how great this series is.

The art is great, and some times it looks almost Gantz realistic. But, what's really surprising is while this is a super uncensored ecchi series it has great characters, they're all interesting and they all have good development. The story is so ridiculous that it's hard not to like this. I have to stop reading multiple times because I'm just laughing my butt off so much, or because I actually hold my arms up and cheer whenever a character pulls off their goal.

Something that is very rare read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 16, 2015
I think it is important to remember that we are talking about a manga that is supposed to make people laugh and not to think it could be something that could actually happen.

This said, i think the story is amazing. I liked particularly the amazing skills Akira has to create embarrassing situations. And I can't say a thing about the art, it is just perfect! All characters have personality and it is coherent along with the story. Also, you have physical appearances for all tastes, not just the classic ecchi with big breasts only (you have plenty of that though haha).

Anyways, I say is read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 12, 2014
In some way, Prison School is a unique manga. Since the very first chapters it can be noticed that this story is pretty different from most of the typical japanese stories about sexually obsessed teenagers.

The school, where everything is happening, has more than a thousand female and only FIVE male students. Nevertheless, the story almost lacks any references to harem or any stereotypes that are often present in such kind of stories. After facing some plot twists, it's most likely that you want to keep on reading it with interest. And after facing some awkward situations, it's most likely that you laugh your head off.

Though read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 9, 2014
It is 4:19 am as I write this review. It's been three hours and I've completed about 100+ chapters and this is some mature funny shit.

This manga is extremely mature as in lots of pantsu, big breasts and ero angles.

If you like funny jokes about hurting (s&m) people this is the manga you're looking for.

The story is about five males entering the prison as punishment for opeeping at the girls change room. The manga shows their struggle and their bond with each other as males.
I found this review Helpful
Jul 13, 2013
Prison School is a masterpiece.

That may be a hasty thing to say considering that it is not completed yet. It could turn mediocre at one point in time, or the already high levels of fan-service could skyrocket to the point of no plot... It won't though.

Prison school is ecchi manga with a awesome plot on the side.

Our plot starts with Kiyoshi, a fun loving guy who wants to have a sweet girlfriend, and four other boys (with similar interests) going to an all-girls school that just recently became co-ed. During the opening ceremony they realize that they are the only boys in a school read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 26, 2013
Hey guys. :)

This ... thing, that manga is just so so epic. You can't find look alikes mangas any better than this one. Well of course, I'm hasty that's for sure, it could still turn mediocre later, but in my opinion I guess not. Its fan-service, its art, characters and storyline are so unique that I think keeping up like that, on those high-levels would certainly come to a brilliant succes. Akira-sensei is back with this manga so he'll surely make his possible to not let it down.
Anyway, for now at least (chapter 76 at this moment) I laughed my ass off, it's mind-blowingly awesome read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 7, 2012
This manga is very entertaining, I think anyone who is a looking for a good laugh should pick it up. It contains extremely ecchi situations, but most of it is intended to add to the humorous, over-the-top atmosphere of it.

Another big plus of this manga is the artwork, the artist's talent is apparent from chapter 1. There is great attention to detail, and the characters are all very distinguishable from one another.

Speaking of characters, this is another area where this manga shines. The characters are all very unique with their various quirks. Although some of their habits and fetishes are somewhat strange, it almost read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 24, 2014
So to start this manga can get fairly ecchi and so if that kind of thing bothers you then don't read this. If you can look past that then this manga can be very enjoyable. It is incredibly funny and when I was reading through it I found myself laughing so much that it hurt. The characters, the scenes, the stupidity its all funny. However another great thing about this manga is the character development and how each character develops into a better, or weirder, person. It's quite a good tale of brotherhood and humor.
I found this review Helpful
Mar 16, 2013
Prison School , A very generic manga , Although , as the name states , I had hoped it would be somewhat like "Deadman wonderland" but it turned out way far from it .

Note : This manga is not for everybody , It has excessive fan service , dark humor and general "fendom" like feel . For all who do not understand fendom, it stands for a relationship between a guy and a girl where the girl overpowers the guy but this manga is not about romance , but it does have a bit of Romance in it .

Scores ( quick ) : read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 19, 2014
Baby Jesus.

I didn't know where I was going into when I started Kangoku Gakuen, I was just hormone-driven by the few pictures I saw scattered through the web and I took my courage to finally go into a reverse google images search to find the source of all this lewdness and achieve what my mind ruined by the internet told me to.

Alas, what awaited me at the end of this journey wasn't the pleasure of seeing scantily clad high school girls having fun in daily school activities but a fantastic adventure into the depths of male friendship and honor through the hardships of female domination read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 13, 2014
General: Kangoku Gakuen takes the perspective from 5 male's point of view's in which they attend an all girls private high school. The mangaka does a well enough job of trying to immerse you into this world of the characters by showing how much emotion and pain is shown from being in prison. As well as how cruel and unusual this school really is and is all captured by how detailed the artwork is. The artwork is most likely the defining part of the manga because it is not only done in great detail but also great style, giving off that somewhat realistic approach to read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 1, 2013
Where to start. This manga has a unique ambiance and feeling to it. The characters are all unique and the the dialogue is very crude and absolutely hilarious.

Story: The story is incredibly silly, you have 5 boys attending an all girls school that recently turned co-ed. At this point you would expect the typical harem. That would be the case if this was a typical manga. What actually happens is that the boys get ostracized. After they commit a deed which wont be spoiled, there prison sentence in the school begins. The story isn't important. It is only there as a catalyst for absolutely hilarious read more
I found this review Helpful