Ranked #3888

Heroine Shikkaku (Manga)

Heroine Shikkaku

Alternative Titles

English: No Longer Heroine
Synonyms: Thank You Last Samurai, Souri de Sorry
Japanese: ヒロイン失格


Type: Manga
Volumes: 10
Chapters: 42
Status: Finished
Published: Mar 13, 2010 to Mar 13, 2013
Authors: Koda, Momoko (Story & Art)
Serialization: Bessatsu Margaret


Score: 7.431 (scored by 3561 users)
Ranked: #38882
Popularity: #508
Members: 8,490
Favorites: 163
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Jan 14, 2012
If the boy you have been crushing on for five years has suddenly started to date a girl seriously for the first time in his life, how will you react? Will you be supportive and try your best to move on? Well, in the world of shoujo, that is what we presume the heroine of Heroine Shikkaku by Koda Momoko, the mangka, will turn out to be.

Instead, we have a heroine who is unafraid to show her meanest. She is no wimpy girl who will cry by the sideline while watching her prince get whisked away by the ‘Wicked Witch of the West’. No. This read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 7, 2014
Forgive me but this will turn into a RANT.

I discovered this manga via the other manga that I am currently reading which I am not sure if it was Hirunaka no Ryuusei or Kinkyori Renai (any from those two) and since these two manga are really great, I thought of giving this a try.

Art 8/10
I was first attracted to the art. It's not that different to a lot of manga, it was also beautiful so I said to myself "this might be good as well" but, boy I was wrong.

Character 4/10
Okay, one of the elements I was looking for in a manga (or any stories read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 24, 2015
hmm so I started and completed this manga because I wanted to read Heroine no Ryuusei (Hirunaka no Ryuusei Crossover one-shot with Heroine Shikkaku).

Before i start i'd like to say the main reason i disliked this manga was because i found both the main characters annoying. So if annoying characters are bearable for you or if you find them funny, go ahead you'll most probably enjoy this manga :)
The main chara's idiotic moves were meant to be comical but leaned more toward irritating for me.

Art 8/10
The art was pretty good. Funny even. No problem with the art.

Character 2/10
I did not like Hatori, the heroine. read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 5, 2014
First and foremost, there is one thing you should know: my score is a 5 for this manga.

Who should read this: People that love unrequited love mangas .

Who should avoid this: People that hate unrequited love stories, especially ones that get nowhere.

Story: Honestly, I've been seeing this manga everywhere for sometime now, and I was deciding on whether to read it or not. It's a shoujo manga and comedic, which makes it all the more better. But after reading about a few chapters, the plot really start to drag out. Just how long can this girl like her childhood friend for? Then shabam, an read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 12, 2012
The typical shoujo manga: the heroine falls in love with the hero and he falls in love with her, right?

Hatori is a confident, clever girl who believes that she and her childhood friend, Rita, belong with each other. But what happens when Rita falls in love with the quiet, unpopular girl Adachi?

Heroine Shikkaku is a unique story shown in the point of view by the girl who would be the antagonist in a typical shoujo manga. Throughout the story, Adachi, who would normally be the heroine, seems like a mere supporting character with no personality. What is especially unique about this manga is that the read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 5, 2014
Like any other shoujo manga, the story is about the love story of the heroine, Hatori, and her unrequited love for her childhood friend, Rita. Hatori believes that Rita is the perfect hero.. so she has to be the perfect heroine for him!

Hatori is in love with Rita for almost five years. And since Rita treats her special because they are childhood friends, Hatori believes that she is the perfect match for him. But now, for the first time, Rita is having a serious relationship with his girlfriend. Should Hatori be supportive and try her best to move on? Or she would keep on loving read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 28, 2014
Heroine Shikkaku - a teenage romance story that dares to be different by being told from the point of view of a character archetype that we love to hate: the antagonist / love rival.

And what a story it is.

Fans of this genre may be all too familiar (and tired) of the tropes that pop up in shoujo manga. To begin, here it's the new character who just so happens to have known the love interest since childhood, who fights to gain his affections. This is the story we follow in Heroine Shikkaku, with our hilarious, over-the-top protagonist, Hatori. As you might expect, she is the read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 20, 2013
Story -10

I like the story very well, plus the characters were not bad.
The enjoyment i get from reading this manga is priceless.
the flow of the story can be predictable at times, but will still keep u from reading.
i dont particularly hate a character, and the heroine is quite unique and funny. the concept of the story is pretty realistic too since every girl has always been wanting to be the heroine of their own love story.

I found this review Helpful
Feb 19, 2013
I kinda love this manga, cause unlike other shoujo mangas, you get to see the perspective of the villain. The manga really showed the realistic truth about unrequited love. I honestly cried for the heroine. She was really pitiful, she really did love sincerely, she accepted their relationship no matter how hurt she was and tried her best to at least appeal to her childhood friend. She stayed by his side as she promised. She really was a good girl even though there are parts were she is bitchy, spoiled, and cruel that's because people do crazy things when their in love. Although you'll get read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 9, 2012
This manga was suggested by a friend of mine since she can't stop rattling about this manga. As I read it at first I thought how stupid the girl was for thinking of people as side characters and main characters but as i read the story more I kind of pitied the girl since the guy rita totally rejected her. There were good and bad parts of the story. But if there is one thing that ticked me off about this manga are the characters two of the four main characters are complete dumb asses especially that girl adachi -______________-.
Anyways i rate it's art 9 read more
I found this review Helpful