MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #3131
Heroine Shikkaku (Manga)

Heroine Shikkaku

Alternative Titles

English: No Longer Heroine
Japanese: ヒロイン失格

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 10
Chapters: 37
Status: Finished
Published: Mar 13, 2010 to Mar 13, 2013
Authors: Koda, Momoko (Story & Art)
Serialization: Bessatsu Margaret

Statistics

Score: 7.591 (scored by 1854 users)
Ranked: #31312
Popularity: #716
Members: 4,928
Favorites: 93
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top manga page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Jan 14, 2012
Parisbelle
If the boy you have been crushing on for five years has suddenly started to date a girl seriously for the first time in his life, how will you react? Will you be supportive and try your best to move on? Well, in the world of shoujo, that is what we presume the heroine of Heroine Shikkaku by Koda Momoko, the mangka, will turn out to be.

Instead, we have a heroine who is unafraid to show her meanest. She is no wimpy girl who will cry by the sideline while watching her prince get whisked away by the ‘Wicked Witch of the West’. No. This read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 19, 2012
Orulyon
Once upon a time there was a ugly duckling unpopular goody two shoes girl at school. She met one of the most popular guys. The guy likes the naivety and cuteness of the girl and unlike the others he sees her true sweet self. The girl falls for his kindness. They fell in love for each other. They start dating each other. The guy changes for her because she is his true love and he stops being a playboy. You get that fuzzy feeling on the air. But then suddenly the evil bitchy rival who is a gorgeous girl, tries to steal the boy read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 12, 2012
angelabsun
The typical shoujo manga: the heroine falls in love with the hero and he falls in love with her, right?

Hatori is a confident, clever girl who believes that she and her childhood friend, Rita, belong with each other. But what happens when Rita falls in love with the quiet, unpopular girl Adachi?

Heroine Shikkaku is a unique story shown in the point of view by the girl who would be the antagonist in a typical shoujo manga. Throughout the story, Adachi, who would normally be the heroine, seems like a mere supporting character with no personality. What is especially unique about this manga is that the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 19, 2013
ehrence8191
I kinda love this manga, cause unlike other shoujo mangas, you get to see the perspective of the villain. The manga really showed the realistic truth about unrequited love. I honestly cried for the heroine. She was really pitiful, she really did love sincerely, she accepted their relationship no matter how hurt she was and tried her best to at least appeal to her childhood friend. She stayed by his side as she promised. She really was a good girl even though there are parts were she is bitchy, spoiled, and cruel that's because people do crazy things when their in love. Although you'll get read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 5, 2014
ygfan
First and foremost, there is one thing you should know: my score is a 5 for this manga.

Who should read this: People that love unrequited love mangas .

Who should avoid this: People that hate unrequited love stories, especially ones that get nowhere.

Story: Honestly, I've been seeing this manga everywhere for sometime now, and I was deciding on whether to read it or not. It's a shoujo manga and comedic, which makes it all the more better. But after reading about a few chapters, the plot really start to drag out. Just how long can this girl like her childhood friend for? Then shabam, an read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 7, 2014
Rei-chii
Forgive me but this will turn into a RANT.

I discovered this manga via the other manga that I am currently reading which I am not sure if it was Hirunaka no Ryuusei or Kinkyori Renai (any from those two) and since these two manga are really great, I thought of giving this a try.

Art 8/10
I was first attracted to the art. It's not that different to a lot of manga, it was also beautiful so I said to myself "this might be good as well" but, boy I was wrong.

Character 4/10
Okay, one of the elements I was looking for in a manga (or any stories read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 5, 2014
KatrinLouiseo24
Like any other shoujo manga, the story is about the love story of the heroine, Hatori, and her unrequited love for her childhood friend, Rita. Hatori believes that Rita is the perfect hero.. so she has to be the perfect heroine for him!

Hatori is in love with Rita for almost five years. And since Rita treats her special because they are childhood friends, Hatori believes that she is the perfect match for him. But now, for the first time, Rita is having a serious relationship with his girlfriend. Should Hatori be supportive and try her best to move on? Or she would keep on loving read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 26, 2014
C3R3ALKill3R
(Dropped after volume 1)

I thought the author's idea to create a main character that was so far from the usual very idealized shojo manga heroine very interesting. Yup! This time, our main character is actually able to be mean! (Gasp!) No but seriously, I was feeling really enthusiastic about reading this manga because most manga heroines really piss me off.

But honestly, the fact that our heroine always has to remind us of the fact that she doesn't feel like the heroine of her own story (and blablabla) is what annoyed me with this book.

I might have given a chance to this manga if read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 28, 2014
Charcanis
Heroine Shikkaku - a teenage romance story that dares to be different by being told from the point of view of a character archetype that we love to hate: the antagonist / love rival.

And what a story it is.

Fans of this genre may be all too familiar (and tired) of the tropes that pop up in shoujo manga. To begin, here it's the new character who just so happens to have known the love interest since childhood, who fights to gain his affections. This is the story we follow in Heroine Shikkaku, with our hilarious, over-the-top protagonist, Hatori. As you might expect, she is the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 20, 2013
gezz147
Story -10
Art-8
Character-9
Enjoyment-10
Overall-10

I like the story very well, plus the characters were not bad.
The enjoyment i get from reading this manga is priceless.
the flow of the story can be predictable at times, but will still keep u from reading.
i dont particularly hate a character, and the heroine is quite unique and funny. the concept of the story is pretty realistic too since every girl has always been wanting to be the heroine of their own love story.

Recommended!!!
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices