MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #997
Sankarea (Manga)

Sankarea

Alternative Titles

English: Sankarea: Undying Love
Japanese: さんかれあ

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 11
Chapters: 58
Status: Finished
Published: Dec 9, 2009 to Sep 9, 2014
Authors: Hattori, Mitsuru (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 7.991 (scored by 9363 users)
Ranked: #9972
Popularity: #80
Members: 21,686
Favorites: 858
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top manga page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Apr 9, 2012
JustRad
STOP IT JAPAN.

It's just not fair of you to keep coming up with fetishes to hook us poor unsuspecting fans over and over again with your adorable characters. You know it will work every time, so just stop abusing this power. Some of us still need to go outside and interact with normal people in a fashion that doesn't get us sent to the insane asylum.

Now you try to turn us into necrophiliacs? What did we ever do to you? Oh right the piracy, nevermind.

Anyway Sankarea is in a word, mindblowinglyawesome. See, I didn't use spaces so that still counts read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 11, 2011
kwartel
Note: This is my first review and I have no writing experience, but I'm writing this due the lack of recent reviews. All reviews are up to chapter 8 instead and this one is up to 20. Anyway, please review my review by giving me advice.

This manga has all ingredients of a typical Shonen. Ecchi, comedy, action and the drama. The setting is quite awesome though. It's spread out nice in the first two chapters, but like others said: it drags a little afterwards. Up to chapter 8 that is. The setting changes afterward and a new character appears, which spices things up. The background read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 10, 2010
cabose12
How many of you grew up with a hobby? With something you just in general, love/loved? Living in Hawai'i, I've grown up on a mix of Asian and American culture. A long time ago, I was introduced to anime by my brothers best friend. He taught us about the late, great, Toonami; with Rurouni Kenshin, Tenchi Muyo, Gundam Wing, and the ever popular Dragon Ball Z. As we grew older, he introduced us to Saturday night Adult Swim, and with it the gore and sex every puberty ridden boy needed; Inuyasha, Yuu Yuu Hakusho, Case Closed, Fullmetal Alchemist, Outlaw Star, and the life changer, FLCL. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 22, 2011
BlitzkriegLove
Sanka Rea is your everyday ojyou-sama who complains of being "caged" in her house. Her disastrous father and ignorant mother are two things she wants to get away from, but cannot, until when..poof! She turns into a zombie!

Thanks to Mr. I-have-a-zombie-fetish-Chihiro Furuya..she's now freeloading at his place in order to experience a normal girl's life, what she had always desired..

Honestly, i have no idea why i am reading this manga..maybe because of Furuya's chibi-neko form which is reaaaally moe~! :3

Its a typical romance manga, two girls "sincerely" fighting over one guy, the diffrence being, Rea's body is rotting away..and Furuya needs to find a way read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 17, 2011
jdristig
I hate Sankarea. I HATE it with the fiery passion of a thousand Elvis impersonators! It’s an awful manga that turned me into a rage filled maniac. I wanted to kill a puppy it is that bad! Why do I hate it so much you may be asking? Because it could have been a contender. It could have potentially been a great series. Let me explain my rage! NO Spoilers! Spoiler FREE! Let’s get moving!

The Story:

Overall, I LOVE THE STORY! It’s unique and it’s well paced and I just love it. Problems? After the first two chapters the story just DRAAAAAAAGS and it doesn’t have read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 12, 2013
ArkansasKing1
This a manga to be proud of if you own it! Mix of zombies and romance is just an amazing mix that can never be bad. I believe that this is just amazing!

A story of a kid named Chihiro Furuya who loves zombies so much that he would even matty one and his cat Babu, but sadly his cat was killed when he was ran over. In his attempt to bring him back from the dead at an abandoned mall, he meets a girl named Rae Sanka screaming into a well(because she hates her life and over protecting father). When he is discovered by her, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 20, 2013
forholywar
make it simple. not many people wants to read long review.
to sum it up, this one is really outstanding.
at first you'll see something like romantic comedy in this manga. i thought this one story will just continue using the pure romantic comedy as a main entertainment. i have no problem with that too, but it probably will become cheesy for a long time.
BUT FORTUNATELY, this manga isn't all into romcom. as you go throughout the story you'll find it more entertaining with the shounen like manga with twisting plot you can't even think of before. of course, as a boy (shounen), i loved it.
i truly read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 9, 2013
digi900
When This Manga had Just 4 chapters , I loved it and I wished It was made into an anime .
And What do you know, my wish came true LOL XD

Sankarea is a monthy released shounen romance / harem/ ecchi manga .

So what makes it stand out from other harem ? I would say the plot which is very innovative, fun and different compared to plenty other romances . Also I would further add Sankarea is more of a romance than a Harem . Another interesting part about this manga is it's characters some of which are quite different from the common read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 21, 2012
Dollars_xx
Sankarea is a good manga. It makes us realize on how important life is. However it also has bad points since Furuya's addiction to zombies might cause several effect such as a zombie apocalypse but it still a manga worthy of an A+ :)))
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 22, 2013
Narudatsu
I found this manga pretty decent. The twist of zombie love is a bit weird but I'm open-minded and I guess it's alright (in a manga only!)

Story - 9: Pretty good story line. It's really good for the first 10 ish chapters. The following chapters were entertaining, but not as innovative. The story is pretty chiche when it comes to love stories.

Art - 8: Art is pretty nice. I really love Rea's art specifically. The other characters don't look as good as her. I feel like the artist really put emphasis on Rea's smile pictures. In any other panels, Rea looks like everyone else read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices