Ranked #1064
Sankarea (Manga)

Sankarea

Alternative Titles

English: Sankarea: Undying Love
Synonyms: Shiromabito
Japanese: さんかれあ

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 11
Chapters: 59
Status: Finished
Published: Dec 9, 2009 to Nov 8, 2014
Authors: Hattori, Mitsuru (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 7.921 (scored by 14124 users)
Ranked: #10642
Popularity: #79
Members: 29,450
Favorites: 1,135
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.

Reviews

JustRad
Apr 9, 2012 4:41 PM
STOP IT JAPAN.

It's just not fair of you to keep coming up with fetishes to hook us poor unsuspecting fans over and over again with your adorable characters. You know it will work every time, so just stop abusing this power. Some of us still need to go outside and interact with normal people in a fashion that doesn't get us sent to the insane asylum.

Now you try to turn us into necrophiliacs? What did we ever do to you? Oh right the piracy, nevermind.

Anyway Sankarea is in a word, mindblowinglyawesome. See, I didn't use spaces so that still counts read more
I found this review Helpful
cabose12
Aug 10, 2010 2:22 PM
How many of you grew up with a hobby? With something you just in general, love/loved? Living in Hawai'i, I've grown up on a mix of Asian and American culture. A long time ago, I was introduced to anime by my brothers best friend. He taught us about the late, great, Toonami; with Rurouni Kenshin, Tenchi Muyo, Gundam Wing, and the ever popular Dragon Ball Z. As we grew older, he introduced us to Saturday night Adult Swim, and with it the gore and sex every puberty ridden boy needed; Inuyasha, Yuu Yuu Hakusho, Case Closed, Fullmetal Alchemist, Outlaw Star, and the life changer, FLCL. read more
I found this review Helpful
kwartel
Sep 11, 2011 5:05 AM
Note: This is my first review and I have no writing experience, but I'm writing this due the lack of recent reviews. All reviews are up to chapter 8 instead and this one is up to 20. Anyway, please review my review by giving me advice.

This manga has all ingredients of a typical Shonen. Ecchi, comedy, action and the drama. The setting is quite awesome though. It's spread out nice in the first two chapters, but like others said: it drags a little afterwards. Up to chapter 8 that is. The setting changes afterward and a new character appears, which spices things up. The background read more
I found this review Helpful
jdristig
Apr 17, 2011 2:28 AM
I hate Sankarea. I HATE it with the fiery passion of a thousand Elvis impersonators! It’s an awful manga that turned me into a rage filled maniac. I wanted to kill a puppy it is that bad! Why do I hate it so much you may be asking? Because it could have been a contender. It could have potentially been a great series. Let me explain my rage! NO Spoilers! Spoiler FREE! Let’s get moving!

The Story:

Overall, I LOVE THE STORY! It’s unique and it’s well paced and I just love it. Problems? After the first two chapters the story just DRAAAAAAAGS and it doesn’t have read more
I found this review Helpful
ICristina
Jan 22, 7:55 AM
Sometimes, reading a bit of horror is just what you need to spice up your life . There are quite a lot of scary scenes. but to me they are not scary anymore cause I watch way too much horror animes and manga.

I know that a ton of you guys out there are fans of romance manga and let me tell you, I am too:). So if you are one of us, then this manga is for you. I know, I know, I just said that this is a horror manga, but their love is so damm. sweet!!!!

story:10
Come on, after you read this, read more
I found this review Helpful
Kyon_Smith
May 28, 11:36 PM
Sankarea: Undying Love

Sankarea: Undying Love , literally undying love because it is a love between a human and a zombie. I first watch the anime and due to my interest on what will happen next i thoroughly read the manga only to be in love with this again.This anime is unique because you can feel the heartwarming love between our two protagonist even though the theme or scene is somewhat dark.

Story:
The story is told in an interesting way. You could literally feel the love every chapter. Also the darkness theme that is slowly oozing out little by little .Killing and making Rea a read more
I found this review Helpful
Shoujo_Addict
Jul 16, 4:43 AM
In comparison to other animes I had watched at the time, I felt that Sankrea was left too open ended for acceptance. In response to my unsatisfied conscience, I started to read the manga. I expected the main plot to have many events scattered all over the manga in a jumbled order to give humor. In contrast, the manga was extraordinarily intriguing for the plot was well planned out as well as hit my emotions in both positive and negative standpoints. I reread the manga in random chapters, as well as retelling the story to intrigue other friends and family of mine. A master piece read more
I found this review Helpful
BlitzkriegLove
Aug 22, 2011 10:27 PM
Sanka Rea is your everyday ojyou-sama who complains of being "caged" in her house. Her disastrous father and ignorant mother are two things she wants to get away from, but cannot, until when..poof! She turns into a zombie!

Thanks to Mr. I-have-a-zombie-fetish-Chihiro Furuya..she's now freeloading at his place in order to experience a normal girl's life, what she had always desired..

Honestly, i have no idea why i am reading this manga..maybe because of Furuya's chibi-neko form which is reaaaally moe~! :3

Its a typical romance manga, two girls "sincerely" fighting over one guy, the diffrence being, Rea's body is rotting away..and Furuya needs to find a way read more
I found this review Helpful
ArkansasKing1
Aug 12, 2013 10:08 AM
This a manga to be proud of if you own it! Mix of zombies and romance is just an amazing mix that can never be bad. I believe that this is just amazing!

A story of a kid named Chihiro Furuya who loves zombies so much that he would even matty one and his cat Babu, but sadly his cat was killed when he was ran over. In his attempt to bring him back from the dead at an abandoned mall, he meets a girl named Rae Sanka screaming into a well(because she hates her life and over protecting father). When he is discovered by her, read more
I found this review Helpful
Narudatsu
May 22, 2013 7:58 PM
I found this manga pretty decent. The twist of zombie love is a bit weird but I'm open-minded and I guess it's alright (in a manga only!)

Story - 9: Pretty good story line. It's really good for the first 10 ish chapters. The following chapters were entertaining, but not as innovative. The story is pretty chiche when it comes to love stories.

Art - 8: Art is pretty nice. I really love Rea's art specifically. The other characters don't look as good as her. I feel like the artist really put emphasis on Rea's smile pictures. In any other panels, Rea looks like everyone else read more
I found this review Helpful