Ranked #10

Kingdom (Manga)


Alternative Titles

Japanese: キングダム


Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Jan 26, 2006 to ?
Authors: Hara, Yasuhisa (Story & Art)
Serialization: Young Jump


Score: 8.981 (scored by 5383 users)
Ranked: #102
Popularity: #314
Members: 12,282
Favorites: 1,583
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Jun 16, 2013
The community for this manga isn't very active on here so I thought I'd do my bit and promote this manga by writing the first review.

The story itself isn't novel, it starts off normally in a cliché manner with two war orphans who dream of becoming the greatest generals in all of China. The appeal of this series isn't due to originality but more to do with the investment you feel with the characters.

There are a number of characters that have been introduced so far and had their pasts explained in some detail. This is definitely a series where a lot of focus read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 1, 2015
I was confused after seeing that the manga "Kingdom" didn't have that many reviews, considering that it is ranked in the top 10 manga on MAL; hence the review, as it deserves more attention. The title of the manga does not seem interesting at first glance, which is a shame, as it actually is much more intriguing. Kingdom is a military seinen manga, based on true historical recordings, enhanced with a lot of action and drama.


The story itself appears to be generic and nothing new at first glance - an orphan,young boy called Xin, who aspires to become a great general, meets the young emperor read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 23, 2013
So, this is the first review for me so some things may not sound as good as the ones you've seen!

The community for the Kingdom manga isn't that big at all and I hope it can expand with a bit more hype!

Story: 9/10

As you've probably read the synopsis for the Kingdom manga already, you've realized it sounds simple and not as enticing, but you're completely wrong! Kingdom completely expands then blows away those expectations you had for the manga in general. The story consists of multiple Chinese based wars and a shifts in internal politics and in which each war plays read more
I found this review Helpful
May 15, 2015
I've always been a bit puzzled as to why Kingdom isn't any more popular on this site. Despite having been publishing on a consistent weekly basis for nearly a decade by now, and despite being one of the highest rated manga on MAL, I still essentially never see anyone talk about it. It almost feels like people aren't even aware that it exists. I think this is very unfortunate, because they're missing out on what is perhaps the most inspirational manga I've ever had the pleasure of reading.

The story takes place during the Chinese Warring States period. After a full 500 years of constant warfare read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 27, 2015
This is My First Review I Hope You Like it,And Sorry For My Bad English(I'm From Egypt).

The Story Of This Manga is From The Kind That makes You Stick in Your Chair.
This Story Makes You Love Wars.
The Story Talks About two Orphans Whose Parents Died From Wars.
The Story Starts When Xin Goes To The Village And Meets Piao.
In Your First Impression You Will Think That This Is A Traditional Story,But When You Get In The Story You Will Think The Opposite,From The Great Things That The Story Takes Place In China That Means That We Will See A Lot Of Action And Bizarre Great Things.
From read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 24, 2014
This is one of my all-time favorite ongoing manga series being produced. It seems to be ranked high overall but I think this is a highly underrated manga and the community seems dead or quiet. I hope if you take the time to read this that I will persuade you to pick up this wonderful series. Fans of Vagabond, Berserk, and Vinland Saga should be drawn in to Kingdom.

Kingdom is a historical Seinen based on the Warring States Period in China. A time of constant war between the 7 states of China, it would last for 500 years until a King would unite all the read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 16, 2014
I'll be doing my first review in honor of this more than awesome manga. I think it's high time it gets the 10 it deserves. I'll be using the Japanese names as the anime is in Japanese and the manga currently translated with Japanese names and it get's too confusing using the Chinese names.

The story is not in itself original. I know what you're thinking, a young boy wants to be a hero, how would that be different from most other popular fighting manga? Well, although it doesn't differ that much, it tells the story in a fantastic way that it really doesn't matter that read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 22, 2015
"An eternal struggle by men risking their lives that never come to an end. Good grief, this is exactly what makes these chaotic times so interesting."
- General Ouki

Story: The manga is based on the tumultuous 500 year warring period of China. read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 28, 2013
Since this manga has only a couple of reviews, let me add one more '9' to the list.

This manga has a somewhat predictable but solid storyline set in the Warring States era of China (240 BC or there abouts). It may be a typical story line, but it's done very well and in my opinion, the reason certain storylines get told so often is because they are interesting to people! You can read the summary to see what this manga is about, so I won't bore you by repeating it, but I did want to touch on the high points.

Story: Well paced, easy read more
I found this review Helpful
May 20, 2014
So this my first review for my new account. Please don't hate me
*Please read the plot first so you would now what I'm spouting here :3*

So the story revolves around this guy called Li Xin.This guy has an incredible (impossible) amount of strength and courage (typical in every shounen).

The strategy on how to portray the ancient wars in China is awesome and all but as usual, exaggeration to some war stuff was added. Samples:
1) A 5 foot 2 kid with a sword defeated/or on par with a 7 footer giant using a large spear enough to barbecue an elephant (don't give me that David and read more
I found this review Helpful
May 22, 2015
Kingdom is a very long manga series (its on chapter 432 and I think it will 700 chapters sense the manga took the time to acknowledge chapter 350) that takes place at the end of the warring states period of Chinese history. China is divided into 7 constantly warring Kingdoms with you following the story of the Kingdom of Qin. You follow numerous character's thought out a very a period of many years (so far at least 9 have past) most importantly a rising star of the army named Shin and the king of Qin El Sei. Without wishing to spoil anything, the story is read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 5, 2015
Main plot: Interesting
I didn’t know much about the warring states period, and find it really great to have a manga talking about the subject. Of course, don’t take what you read for taken, but the manga seems to follow the historical story fairly well. (If you are curious about it, try “kingdom manga history” in your favorite search engine. There is some nice work out there.) Regardless of its fidelity, it’s a nice way to be introduced to the topic.

Story telling: Redundant and cheesy
At first, I quiet liked how the story telling was done. It’s well paced, I read more
I found this review Helpful