MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #11
Kingdom (Manga)

Kingdom

Alternative Titles

Japanese: キングダム

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Jan 26, 2006 to ?
Authors: Hara, Yasuhisa (Story & Art)
Serialization: Young Jump

Statistics

Score: 8.941 (scored by 2949 users)
Ranked: #112
Popularity: #533
Members: 6,615
Favorites: 776
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top manga page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Jun 16, 2013
tcubed
The community for this manga isn't very active on here so I thought I'd do my bit and promote this manga by writing the first review.

The story itself isn't novel, it starts off normally in a cliché manner with two war orphans who dream of becoming the greatest generals in all of China. The appeal of this series isn't due to originality but more to do with the investment you feel with the characters.

There are a number of characters that have been introduced so far and had their pasts explained in some detail. This is definitely a series where a lot of focus read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 23, 2013
Kvshi
So, this is the first review for me so some things may not sound as good as the ones you've seen!

The community for the Kingdom manga isn't that big at all and I hope it can expand with a bit more hype!

Story: 9/10

As you've probably read the synopsis for the Kingdom manga already, you've realized it sounds simple and not as enticing, but you're completely wrong! Kingdom completely expands then blows away those expectations you had for the manga in general. The story consists of multiple Chinese based wars and a shifts in internal politics and in which each war plays read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 16, 2014
Stromming
I'll be doing my first review in honor of this more than awesome manga. I think it's high time it gets the 10 it deserves. I'll be using the Japanese names as the anime is in Japanese and the manga currently translated with Japanese names and it get's too confusing using the Chinese names.


Story
The story is not in itself original. I know what you're thinking, a young boy wants to be a hero, how would that be different from most other popular fighting manga? Well, although it doesn't differ that much, it tells the story in a fantastic way that it really doesn't matter that read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 24, 2014
zFoxx
This is one of my all-time favorite ongoing manga series being produced. It seems to be ranked high overall but I think this is a highly underrated manga and the community seems dead or quiet. I hope if you take the time to read this that I will persuade you to pick up this wonderful series. Fans of Vagabond, Berserk, and Vinland Saga should be drawn in to Kingdom.

History
Kingdom is a historical Seinen based on the Warring States Period in China. A time of constant war between the 7 states of China, it would last for 500 years until a King would unite all the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 28, 2013
arielphf
Since this manga has only a couple of reviews, let me add one more '9' to the list.

This manga has a somewhat predictable but solid storyline set in the Warring States era of China (240 BC or there abouts). It may be a typical story line, but it's done very well and in my opinion, the reason certain storylines get told so often is because they are interesting to people! You can read the summary to see what this manga is about, so I won't bore you by repeating it, but I did want to touch on the high points.

Story: Well paced, easy read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 20, 2014
reimacram
So this my first review for my new account. Please don't hate me
*Please read the plot first so you would now what I'm spouting here :3*

So the story revolves around this guy called Li Xin.This guy has an incredible (impossible) amount of strength and courage (typical in every shounen).

The strategy on how to portray the ancient wars in China is awesome and all but as usual, exaggeration to some war stuff was added. Samples:
1) A 5 foot 2 kid with a sword defeated/or on par with a 7 footer giant using a large spear enough to barbecue an elephant (don't give me that David and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 19, 2014
athenasrage
This is my review, any criticism is appreciated.

Let me say this, I came into Kingdom with extremely low expectations. The different art style and the ranting of one of my friends threw me off reading it, but when I finally started reading it, I was blown away. Kingdom is no less than a masterpiece.

Story: 9
The story starts off relatively generic; a village boy with a near impossible dream trains with his childhood friend, who shares the same dream, when tragedy strikes. Then a series of coincidences propels the story into action. The village servant, Shin, teams up with an overthrown king to eradicate a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices