Ranked #7

One Piece (Manga)

One Piece

Alternative Titles

English: One Piece
Japanese: ONE PIECE

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Jul 22, 1997 to ?
Authors: Oda, Eiichiro (Story & Art)
Serialization: Shounen Jump (Weekly)

Statistics

Score: 9.001 (scored by 79136 users)
Ranked: #72
Popularity: #4
Members: 125,069
Favorites: 32,437
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.

Reviews

CottonCandyLover
Feb 15, 2010
Frequently categorized with both Bleach and Naruto as one of the Shonen Big Three, One Piece is a romantic tale of pirates, treasures ...talking reindeer, panties, flying skeletons, Takoyaki selling Octopuses, and oceans roaming with Sea Monsters the size of which can take down fleets of ships. Crazy enough for you? This is the world of One Piece.

Being categorized with Bleach and Naruto, on the surface this might strike an unfamiliar reader as another generic uncreative Shonen series; but truthfully, comparing One Piece to Bleach and Naruto would be like comparing Disney World to an elementary school playground. If these three series are the read more
I found this review Helpful
VK11
Mar 6, 2008
The key of success for many shounen anime is usually how well the anime is adapted from the manga. So when people are disappointed with the results of the anime, they usually resort to simply just reading the manga and follow the storyline through that. One Piece is a result of one of the few rare cases out there where the anime adaptation has followed the manga almost tooth and nail, with pretty much nothing lost within the translation between the two. With the anime receiving high review results here on MAL, I decided to take a closer look at the manga, read more
I found this review Helpful
Krystopher
Mar 15, 2015
One Piece is the most overrated piece of fiction I’ve ever read. It’s mostly about a roaming crew of do-gooder clichés that travel the high seas. Each character has a dream (which they will never achieve because this cash cow will never end) and of course a tragic backstory to go with it. One Piece is somehow popular while having the worst character designs in anime, includes countless scenes of characters sobbing like crybabies, and will drag on to the point no one will care anymore. Honestly, if you want a shonen that doesn’t insult your intelligence and make you feel like you’re reading something read more
I found this review Helpful
vavoysh
Jan 4, 2009
One Piece

Genre: Action, Adventure, Comedy

Mangaka: Eiichiro Oda

Length: 514 chapters, compiled in 51 volumes [So far. This manga has been going since 1997, and it shows no signs of stopping anytime soon.]

Rating: 9/10


Plot: It is the grand era of the pirates, brought upon when the great Gold D. Roger was executed 22 years ago. Pirates from all over search for his great treasure, the One Piece, hidden in the treacherous waters of the Grand Line.


Our adventure begins when an 8 year old boy, Monkey D. Luffy, eats the Gum Gum Fruit, one of the many Devil Fruits – a mystical fruit that will give you supernatural read more
I found this review Helpful
Tumerking
Jun 23, 2009
STORY: 2/10
One piece is a shonen manga so I went in not expecting much story-wise, and I got what i was expecting. I just have to point out something first. This is a manga about pirates. They sail the high seas looking for treasure, fame, and fortune. They steal and they kill to get what they want, when they want. That's why they're pirates. But NEVER in the whole manga do they go searching for treasure except for one peice. They don't kill and they don't steal. So i'm sorry, in my mind they're not pirates. This is also one of those manga where nobody read more
I found this review Helpful
ronyharsono
Jun 1, 2008
The best long series shonen manga by a miles,

STORY :
- the world of one piece is epic, it has lot of side & twist :
1. WG aka world government : Navy(fleet Admiral, Admiral, Vice Admiral,etc) ,
CP9 (CIA Like), 5 Gorousei(5 elder), World Nobles
2. shicibukai (7 god of pirate, this pirate work for WG but has own separated agenda)
3. 4 yonkou (4 pirate that rules over half of the grand line)
4. the revolutionary that free country from WG
5. rookies pirates, other pirate(foxy pirate, etc)
6. every island has it's own unique world, organization & character
7. sea king ( lots of animal monster that live under read more
I found this review Helpful
whazzits
Dec 5, 2013
One Piece is a monument in the manga/anime world. There is not another work that can be named that is so loved, so large, and so acclaimed.

For all that, though, the sensation lingers that maybe its faults have been washed from view by the massive wave of hype and adoration surrounding it.

I have read One Piece, to the at-the-time current chapter, at least three times. It was always a struggle to maintain focus and interest. Several flaws continuously added upon themselves, until they drowned out my view.

This review attempts to address the many faults of the manga, from the most objective point of read more
I found this review Helpful
animedonut
Jun 14, 2011
Thinking about reading this series? You are obviously skeptic. No kidding. You have every right to be dead scared to even attempt One Piece. I do not blame you, not at all. Most of us did not think we would like it at first, either. In this review, I am just going to simply tackle your skepticism and that is it. If you are skeptic, it is for one or more of the following reasons:

1. Length- It is long. You may think that there is no possible way that you can follow a series this long. You may think that it could go downhill after read more
I found this review Helpful
Demonicpoodle
Jun 21, 2011
One Piece has officially hit its halfway mark, spanning from August 1997 - September of 2010. Yes, it has gone on for more than a decade, and it's only at its halfway mark. There will be some questions that will arise from those curious about One Piece from this little tidbit, but they'll be addressed. Anyway, I feel that since One Piece has its confirmed "first half" done, it deserves another review.

One Piece. The first thought that entered my mind when I hit the "Write a Review" button is "...where do I even begin?" This is a VERY difficult series to review, because you cannot read more
I found this review Helpful
ironace
Jun 4, 2015
One of the most popular manga out there, one piece is definitely a piece of wonder. Sure, it has a few faults, but are they enough to to bash it? I'm not so sure I'll explain why.

STORY=8
Its story is quite simple, a boy named Monkey D Luffy wants to become the pirate king, and he goes on a journey seeking adventure and new crew members. It's not definitely bad, but people are now criticizing its 'repeated' story arcs. They reach a new island, see its culture etc. and then find out that this island is not as peaceful as it seems to be as the read more
I found this review Helpful
sgate345
Jun 4, 2015
In one piece we find Luffy whose dream is to become King of the Pirates .
If you think this manga will find looting , war, or whose plot revolves treasure hunt , you are dead wrong.
The only similarity there with the word " pirate " is traveling by boat , and nothing else.

It happens that Luffy and his friends dedicated to helping people who are island after island , and fighting evil pirates. Besides finding nakamas for his crew .

Yes, you read that right .

Luffy and company are good pirates , while the rest are bad pursue pirates steal , rob and plunder .... what? read more
I found this review Helpful
Ribbun
Jan 29, 2009
Overall :
Ok, before thinking my rating is outrageous, it's true. This is by far the best manga I've ever come across...well Shonen manga that is. The way Oda turns pirates into such an interesting story is amazing. The characters are given personalities that are so unique, you'd love each of them with a different reason! I have absolutely NO idea why I didn't pick up this manga long ago!


Story :
Oh~ The story is kinda repetitive at the beginning. But as you read, you realize that it is not NEAR repetitive. It has all these other mysteries surrounding the main plot, sometimes you are just read more
I found this review Helpful
Mokenda
May 2, 2009
One Piece is an astounding series. It has well developed characters with personalities all their own, fantasmic action and adventure portrayed in a believable format, and a sense of off the wall humor which leaves the masses laughing and gasping for air.
However, along with these beautifully defined characteristics, it does something which other mangas, and most comics in general, fail to do. It captures real human emotion.

The adventures the characters partake in and the personal struggles they go through are ones which any person can relate to.
While we may not stretch like rubber, fight with swords, or sprout extra appendages- we all have lost a read more
I found this review Helpful
MattLocke
Jul 4, 2010
One Piece is an outstanding manga by perhaps the greatest mangaka in Japan right now, Eiichiro Oda.

Story: 10/10

When I first checked this thing out, the story seemed immature and poorly done, not to mention far too goofy. However I was soon corrected; it's none of the above. Luffy wants to be pirate king, but his main goal isn't that at all: It's to have as many adventures as he possibly can.

This is interesting, because unlike Naruto he does not wish to be the leader to get respect or anything silly like that. Luffy doesn't care about respect or appearances, which makes him a rather unique read more
I found this review Helpful
no_forehead
May 19, 2010
One Piece... is just one decades long shonen battling series among others. Who likes what best and others not that much is a matter of opinion but saying that One Piece somehow objectively shines above all others is just masqueraded fanboyism.

Story? It is stupid IMHO. The main hero Luffy just one day decides without any real reason that he's gonna become the KING OF PIRATES and be the person to find the mythical treasure One Piece that countless others have tried in the past and present. Yes he has a special power, but so do many others and I'm sure he couldn't be fully unaware read more
I found this review Helpful
violentrl
Mar 20, 2012
It's said to be the greatest manga, all the elements you love in a series is all in the greatest treasure in the world, One Piece, left by a legendary pirate mangaka named Eiichiro Oda. Ever since 1997, the new era of manga began, competing to take the number one spot of Shonen Jump, so far, none has yet to step a foot in it's path.

Once I did, I asked myself why didn't I pick the series up earlier. I truly feel that this is the best Shonen series ever made if we were to review it objectively.

Anyway, to the actual review:

One Piece initially read more
I found this review Helpful
manok
Dec 2, 2009
Yo! When do you think people die? When they are shot through the heart by the bullet of a pistol? NO! When they are ravaged by sn incurable disease? NO! When they drink a soup made from a poisonous mushroom? NO! It's when they are forgotten. One Piece is a legend. Eichiro Oda I think is a person not meant to be a mere human, just like Vincent van Gogh. hehehe. It's not boring like Naruto and Bleach which are full of blabbering, no fun at all. One Piece combines comedy, drama and adventure in an unpredictable way. But sad to say, it is rank read more
I found this review Helpful
mellonii
Sep 27, 2010
If you could you have everything the world had to offer, would you aspire to it? With the dying words of the late Pirate King, Gold Roger, every pirate in the world set sail for the Grand Line searching for the infamous treasure he left behind, One Piece.
Here enters in the protagonist of our story, Monkey D. Luffy, a 17 year old boy who dreams of nothing more than become Pirate King himself. Thanks to the power of the Gomu Gomu no Mi, he gained the power to stretch his body to amazing lengths and become rubber. In this, he also became forever unable read more
I found this review Helpful
dg2500
Mar 4, 2009
It sucks that this anime has a horrible reputation in America, thanks to Funimation or whatever the hell company. It must be the worst victim of dubbing and change.

Amazingly this anime is my second favorite ever. It's amazing how you can have such a kickass story line for sooo long..and it just keeps getting better and better.
The animation is colorful and optimistic along with the characters and story. I could read this anime until I was 100.

Go read this manga now. You are completely missing out on the fun if you haven't read it already.

YEAH YOU.
I found this review Helpful
HiddenMegu
Aug 16, 2015
Now the best selling manga of all time, One Piece is the tale of a man named Luffy who is gonna become king of the pirates. In face of this long-running manga, that summary does many injustices; in essence, One Piece is a story of the Strawhat Pirates setting out to follow their dreams. This overview is going to be a bit long, but hang tight with me and I'll give you as much of an comprehensive overview as I can on this monster of a series.

My criticisms of the manga are as follows: as the manga goes on, the skinnier women get less and read more
I found this review Helpful