MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #8
One Piece (Manga)

One Piece

Alternative Titles

English: One Piece
Japanese: ワンピース

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Jul 22, 1997 to ?
Authors: Oda, Eiichiro (Story & Art)
Serialization: Shounen Jump (Weekly)

Statistics

Score: 9.001 (scored by 57749 users)
Ranked: #82
Popularity: #4
Members: 88,122
Favorites: 23,725
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top manga page.

My Info


Popular Tags

action adventure comedy pirate shounen
Sep 27, 2010
mellonii
If you could you have everything the world had to offer, would you aspire to it? With the dying words of the late Pirate King, Gold Roger, every pirate in the world set sail for the Grand Line searching for the infamous treasure he left behind, One Piece.
Here enters in the protagonist of our story, Monkey D. Luffy, a 17 year old boy who dreams of nothing more than become Pirate King himself. Thanks to the power of the Gomu Gomu no Mi, he gained the power to stretch his body to amazing lengths and become rubber. In this, he also became forever unable read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 27, 2011
johnnysrabu
One piece has gathered a lot of hype in the last few years, and i have heard many sceptical views of its rising popularity. But regardless of your view, the sheer number of manga being sold suggest that there is something which differentiates this series from others. Personally, I have thoroughly enjoyed reading this series, regardless of my general dislike of shounen manga.

Story: at the start of the series, the storyline is quite basic and a little cliche. There is the main character who gathers friends and sets off on an adventure, fighting a series of bad guys along the way. While the story is read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 13, 2014
N201_ASYLUM
I think we’re all familiar with what a fantastic adventure epic that One Piece is. Oda has created a world that is so brilliantly imaginative and exciting that I can almost confidently say that no other mangaka will come close to matching or surpassing what he has done. One Piece will make you laugh, cry, smile along with all the characters; it will make you feel like living in their world. I won’t review the plot or the battles and such, since that has already been comprehensively well-done by other reviewers, but I just wanted to share one aspect of One Piece that will always read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 31, 2010
Banana_Soybean
When I heard how popular One Piece was, especially after reading summaries (all of which by the way, don't do it justice) I admit I was a bit skeptical about this series. Pirates are exciting, but are they really THAT interesting. I was also daunted by the length of the series, it was at about 500 chapters when I started reading manga and at 600 when I got around to reading it. So, boy was I ever surprised when I actually got into it; I didn't stop reading for literally a week.

Story: 9

I would like to start this section by saying that I would love read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 2, 2009
manok
Yo! When do you think people die? When they are shot through the heart by the bullet of a pistol? NO! When they are ravaged by sn incurable disease? NO! When they drink a soup made from a poisonous mushroom? NO! It's when they are forgotten. One Piece is a legend. Eichiro Oda I think is a person not meant to be a mere human, just like Vincent van Gogh. hehehe. It's not boring like Naruto and Bleach which are full of blabbering, no fun at all. One Piece combines comedy, drama and adventure in an unpredictable way. But sad to say, it is rank read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 21, 2011
AnimeloverYori
One Piece is a beautiful, beautiful manga; however, many people overlook it because it stands in the "Big Three" manga, which are highly criticized.
I admit, I did NOT like One Piece at first, and it bored me to tears at points. That was about 4 years ago, when I still did not have a full grasp on the struggles life had to offer me. I resumed OP around 2 months ago, and I saw it in a very different light.
What I saw once as a silly pirate story became a ongoing, complex story about finding one's passion, friendship (or in this case, "Nakama"), adventure, and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 24, 2011
DarkD1
Leader of the big three in Japan. Categorized as consistently getting better with every story arc that passes. Praised for its unique art style which is called both grotesque and absurdly appropriate.

Know this, its a fantastic manga. 80-90% of the people who don't read it are people who were influenced badly by the art or the horrible 4kids dub which destroyed its image or just had trouble getting past the slow beginning. But people who truly don't like the series aren't that common.

Don't judge this one quickly whatever you do. Read 100 or even 200 chapters read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 25, 2011
Riffs
One Piece is a legendary manga. Known for its absolutely crazy fans and forums, people often chalk One Piece up to be all hype and no substance. I know people who didn't want to try it because the artwork didn't appeal to them or they didn't want to go through the 300+ chapters that it would take to catch up. Most of the people who were initially hesitant to read One Piece fell in love with it right at the second major arc.

Of the 'Big Three,' One Piece was the last I started with and I wish that I had started it earlier. Ridiculously read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 5, 2013
whazzits
One Piece is a monument in the manga/anime world. There is not another work that can be named that is so loved, so large, and so acclaimed.

For all that, though, the sensation lingers that maybe its faults have been washed from view by the massive wave of hype and adoration surrounding it.

I have read One Piece, to the at-the-time current chapter, at least three times. It was always a struggle to maintain focus and interest. Several flaws continuously added upon themselves, until they drowned out my view.

This review attempts to address the many faults of the manga, from the most objective point of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 25, 2011
The513Cyclone
One Piece is the most successful manga in the history of Japan for a reason. It has been going strong for over a decade now and seems to be only hitting its peak. As shonen manga goes, One Piece far and beyond surpasses the likes of similar titles such as Bleach and Nauto in my personal opinion, and it mostly has to do with the characters.

One Piece has some of the best characters in a manga. Each of them gets a heartfelt and tragic story arc in which we get to see their past and the tragedy that of them had to go through. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices