Ranked #8

One Piece (Manga)

One Piece

Alternative Titles

English: One Piece
Japanese: ONE PIECE


Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Jul 22, 1997 to ?
Authors: Oda, Eiichiro (Story & Art)
Serialization: Shounen Jump (Weekly)


Score: 9.001 (scored by 75237 users)
Ranked: #82
Popularity: #4
Members: 118,425
Favorites: 30,940
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Mar 15, 2015
One Piece is the most overrated piece of fiction I’ve ever read. It’s mostly about a roaming crew of do-gooder clichés that travel the high seas. Each character has a dream (which they will never achieve because this cash cow will never end) and of course a tragic backstory to go with it. One Piece is somehow popular while having the worst character designs in anime, includes countless scenes of characters sobbing like crybabies, and will drag on to the point no one will care anymore. Honestly, if you want a shonen that doesn’t insult your intelligence and make you feel like you’re reading something read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 15, 2010
Frequently categorized with both Bleach and Naruto as one of the Shonen Big Three, One Piece is a romantic tale of pirates, treasures ...talking reindeer, panties, flying skeletons, Takoyaki selling Octopuses, and oceans roaming with Sea Monsters the size of which can take down fleets of ships. Crazy enough for you? This is the world of One Piece.

Being categorized with Bleach and Naruto, on the surface this might strike an unfamiliar reader as another generic uncreative Shonen series; but truthfully, comparing One Piece to Bleach and Naruto would be like comparing Disney World to an elementary school playground. If these three series are the read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 6, 2008
The key of success for many shounen anime is usually how well the anime is adapted from the manga. So when people are disappointed with the results of the anime, they usually resort to simply just reading the manga and follow the storyline through that. One Piece is a result of one of the few rare cases out there where the anime adaptation has followed the manga almost tooth and nail, with pretty much nothing lost within the translation between the two. With the anime receiving high review results here on MAL, I decided to take a closer look at the manga, read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 15, 2015
One Piece is the best of its kind. Unfortunately because of the way it was handled in its transfer to the west it did not get a large amount of popularity. But not only is it leading the pack in terms of acceptance in the west but it is the best-selling manga of all time. It may feel like a standard shonen at times but it is a fantastic journey that shouldn't be missed.


An introduction arc with the sole purpose of building a main cast sounds very boring, especially since it takes up just over eleven volumes. Surprisingly, it is quite the contrary. What read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 4, 2015
One of the most popular manga out there, one piece is definitely a piece of wonder. Sure, it has a few faults, but are they enough to to bash it? I'm not so sure I'll explain why.

Its story is quite simple, a boy named Monkey D Luffy wants to become the pirate king, and he goes on a journey seeking adventure and new crew members. It's not definitely bad, but people are now criticizing its 'repeated' story arcs. They reach a new island, see its culture etc. and then find out that this island is not as peaceful as it seems to be as the read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 4, 2015
In one piece we find Luffy whose dream is to become King of the Pirates .
If you think this manga will find looting , war, or whose plot revolves treasure hunt , you are dead wrong.
The only similarity there with the word " pirate " is traveling by boat , and nothing else.

It happens that Luffy and his friends dedicated to helping people who are island after island , and fighting evil pirates. Besides finding nakamas for his crew .

Yes, you read that right .

Luffy and company are good pirates , while the rest are bad pursue pirates steal , rob and plunder .... what? read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 16, 2015
Now the best selling manga of all time, One Piece is the tale of a man named Luffy who is gonna become king of the pirates. In face of this long-running manga, that summary does many injustices; in essence, One Piece is a story of the Strawhat Pirates setting out to follow their dreams. This overview is going to be a bit long, but hang tight with me and I'll give you as much of an comprehensive overview as I can on this monster of a series.

My criticisms of the manga are as follows: as the manga goes on, the skinnier women get less and read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 5, 2013
One Piece is a monument in the manga/anime world. There is not another work that can be named that is so loved, so large, and so acclaimed.

For all that, though, the sensation lingers that maybe its faults have been washed from view by the massive wave of hype and adoration surrounding it.

I have read One Piece, to the at-the-time current chapter, at least three times. It was always a struggle to maintain focus and interest. Several flaws continuously added upon themselves, until they drowned out my view.

This review attempts to address the many faults of the manga, from the most objective point of read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 5, 2015
I first started reading One Piece about 5 years ago and no matter how hard I tried I just couldn't get into the series. I will admit I fell for the classic problem at the beginning of a series with "the artwork." It drove me insane. So I dropped the series and came back to it about 2 years ago and boy am I happy I did. Once I managed to push through those first few chapters, this series dragged into depths of fandom I'd never experienced before.

Story: 10

This comedic adventure is set in a place where pirates roamed the earth. Our protagonist Luffy sets read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 31, 2015
Man.. every week I await for the arrival of a new chapter, there was not a single letdown, the chapters rarely had repetition of previous chapters and is always filled with new content

Story 9/10
Oda is a brilliant author, many folks would just believe one piece is a pirate killing and blundering things. One piece is a story of a young boy whom aspired to be a pirate, his immature, reckless and stubborn often give author no choice but to admire his actions. The plot twists and the slow foreshadowing of unrevealed characters such as the Yonko, shichibukai and navy admirals always kept readers in read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 19, 2015
How do I love thee? Let me count the ways

This series is where it all began for me. The "Romance Dawn" if you will. I remember starting the fifth grade back in 2007, I hit it off real quickly with this one boy in my class. We had loads of things in common and were constantly sharing new interests. One thing we didn't share was his love anime and manga. This wasn't because I didn't like it, rather I just hadn't experienced it yet. One day he shoved One Piece volumes 1-3 in my backpack and told that I would love it. And love it read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 14, 2011
Thinking about reading this series? You are obviously skeptic. No kidding. You have every right to be dead scared to even attempt One Piece. I do not blame you, not at all. Most of us did not think we would like it at first, either. In this review, I am just going to simply tackle your skepticism and that is it. If you are skeptic, it is for one or more of the following reasons:

1. Length- It is long. You may think that there is no possible way that you can follow a series this long. You may think that it could go downhill after read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 4, 2009
One Piece

Genre: Action, Adventure, Comedy

Mangaka: Eiichiro Oda

Length: 514 chapters, compiled in 51 volumes [So far. This manga has been going since 1997, and it shows no signs of stopping anytime soon.]

Rating: 9/10

Plot: It is the grand era of the pirates, brought upon when the great Gold D. Roger was executed 22 years ago. Pirates from all over search for his great treasure, the One Piece, hidden in the treacherous waters of the Grand Line.

Our adventure begins when an 8 year old boy, Monkey D. Luffy, eats the Gum Gum Fruit, one of the many Devil Fruits – a mystical fruit that will give you supernatural read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 9, 2015
One piece may start off slow and boring at first,but at chapters 75-85 it starts to get better and slowly but surely it turns into a really amazing manga. The good things are about one piece are:1 It has a lot of good characters 2 It has a lot of interesting mysteries so it would make you think of a lot of theories and 3 It has really good world building and some really epic battles.I reccomend you read until chapter 95 and then decide if youre going to get into it or not.
I found this review Helpful
Jun 4, 2015
This may be the one of the best shonen battle manga ever read, the story about a pirate that is trying to fine the One piece to become the pirate king. The main character traveling around the world meeting new friends and making the coolest crew mates of the sea. Every adventures is a unique story were the main character and his friends fight with many enemies that including the navy and the marines. I give this manga 10 because it took me a lot of time to appreciate this work of art, the first time i saw One piece i thought it was a read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 21, 2011
One Piece has officially hit its halfway mark, spanning from August 1997 - September of 2010. Yes, it has gone on for more than a decade, and it's only at its halfway mark. There will be some questions that will arise from those curious about One Piece from this little tidbit, but they'll be addressed. Anyway, I feel that since One Piece has its confirmed "first half" done, it deserves another review.

One Piece. The first thought that entered my mind when I hit the "Write a Review" button is "...where do I even begin?" This is a VERY difficult series to review, because you cannot read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 23, 2009
STORY: 2/10
One piece is a shonen manga so I went in not expecting much story-wise, and I got what i was expecting. I just have to point out something first. This is a manga about pirates. They sail the high seas looking for treasure, fame, and fortune. They steal and they kill to get what they want, when they want. That's why they're pirates. But NEVER in the whole manga do they go searching for treasure except for one peice. They don't kill and they don't steal. So i'm sorry, in my mind they're not pirates. This is also one of those manga where nobody read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 9, 2015
The world is full of mysteries and miracles! As corny as it sounds, that's what we tried to show in his work Oda-sama. Will he? Of course! This story shows us not only the life of the dreamer, striving to find something legendary, but also that the dreamer is willing to take a chance for many of his friends, even the dream. It becomes stronger, seeking recognition of his love for his hope, and he sees it. But the world is not so simple, it teaches one, sometimes painful, sometimes happy, that all the difficulties of life and its sweet moments experiencing Monkey D. Luffy read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 13, 2015
This is the first review I'm writing in this website so far, so please, don't judge my grammar.
One Piece is the best-selling manga series in all history. I'm not the kind of people who care about "the more people read something, the better it is", but this fact at least shows us this manga is worth some shit.
Yes, it really is.
One Piece is a part of the team of the successful shonens of the third millenium, amongst Naruto, Bleach and currently Fairy Tail and Toriko, now that Naruto is finished. Nevertheless, One Piece is someway different from read more
I found this review Helpful
May 27, 2015
Just outstanding!The story starts like harry potter, a little for kids but as you continue to read you see the story grew up with the readers and today it's a masterpiece of manga, right after dragonball, have to admit db is the nº1 but one piece comes in second for sure, it might have a lot of chapters but you will see it's worth it
The art starts easy but if you see the last chapter you will see the awesome detail and excitement
I really reccomend for anyone :)
I found this review Helpful