MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #8
One Piece (Manga)

One Piece

Alternative Titles

English: One Piece
Japanese: ワンピース

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Jul 22, 1997 to ?
Authors: Oda, Eiichiro (Story & Art)
Serialization: Shounen Jump (Weekly)

Statistics

Score: 9.001 (scored by 57715 users)
Ranked: #82
Popularity: #4
Members: 88,070
Favorites: 23,713
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top manga page.

My Info


Popular Tags

action adventure comedy pirate shounen
Feb 15, 2010
CottonCandyLover
Frequently categorized with both Bleach and Naruto as one of the Shonen Big Three, One Piece is a romantic tale of pirates, treasures ...talking reindeer, panties, flying skeletons, Takoyaki selling Octopuses, and oceans roaming with Sea Monsters the size of which can take down fleets of ships. Crazy enough for you? This is the world of One Piece.

Being categorized with Bleach and Naruto, on the surface this might strike an unfamiliar reader as another generic uncreative Shonen series; but truthfully, comparing One Piece to Bleach and Naruto would be like comparing Disney World to an elementary school playground. If these three series are the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 6, 2008
VK11
The key of success for many shounen anime is usually how well the anime is adapted from the manga. So when people are disappointed with the results of the anime, they usually resort to simply just reading the manga and follow the storyline through that. One Piece is a result of one of the few rare cases out there where the anime adaptation has followed the manga almost tooth and nail, with pretty much nothing lost within the translation between the two. With the anime receiving high review results here on MAL, I decided to take a closer look at the manga, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 14, 2011
flyingspacefrog
Thinking about reading this series? You are obviously skeptic. No kidding. You have every right to be dead scared to even attempt One Piece. I do not blame you, not at all. Most of us did not think we would like it at first, either. In this review, I am just going to simply tackle your skepticism and that is it. If you are skeptic, it is for one or more of the following reasons:

1. Length- It is long. You may think that there is no possible way that you can follow a series this long. You may think that it could go downhill after read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 20, 2012
violentrl
It's said to be the greatest manga, all the elements you love in a series is all in the greatest treasure in the world, One Piece, left by a legendary pirate mangaka named Eiichiro Oda. Ever since 1997, the new era of manga began, competing to take the number one spot of Shonen Jump, so far, none has yet to step a foot in it's path.

Once I did, I asked myself why didn't I pick the series up earlier. I truly feel that this is the best Shonen series ever made if we were to review it objectively.

Anyway, to the actual review:

One Piece initially read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 29, 2009
Ribbun
Overall :
Ok, before thinking my rating is outrageous, it's true. This is by far the best manga I've ever come across...well Shonen manga that is. The way Oda turns pirates into such an interesting story is amazing. The characters are given personalities that are so unique, you'd love each of them with a different reason! I have absolutely NO idea why I didn't pick up this manga long ago!


Story :
Oh~ The story is kinda repetitive at the beginning. But as you read, you realize that it is not NEAR repetitive. It has all these other mysteries surrounding the main plot, sometimes you are just read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 4, 2009
scienceboy
One Piece

Genre: Action, Adventure, Comedy

Mangaka: Eiichiro Oda

Length: 514 chapters, compiled in 51 volumes [So far. This manga has been going since 1997, and it shows no signs of stopping anytime soon.]

Rating: 9/10


Plot: It is the grand era of the pirates, brought upon when the great Gold D. Roger was executed 22 years ago. Pirates from all over search for his great treasure, the One Piece, hidden in the treacherous waters of the Grand Line.


Our adventure begins when an 8 year old boy, Monkey D. Luffy, eats the Gum Gum Fruit, one of the many Devil Fruits – a mystical fruit that will give you supernatural read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 4, 2010
MattLocke
One Piece is an outstanding manga by perhaps the greatest mangaka in Japan right now, Eiichiro Oda.

Story: 10/10

When I first checked this thing out, the story seemed immature and poorly done, not to mention far too goofy. However I was soon corrected; it's none of the above. Luffy wants to be pirate king, but his main goal isn't that at all: It's to have as many adventures as he possibly can.

This is interesting, because unlike Naruto he does not wish to be the leader to get respect or anything silly like that. Luffy doesn't care about respect or appearances, which makes him a rather unique read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 21, 2011
Demonicpoodle
One Piece has officially hit its halfway mark, spanning from August 1997 - September of 2010. Yes, it has gone on for more than a decade, and it's only at its halfway mark. There will be some questions that will arise from those curious about One Piece from this little tidbit, but they'll be addressed. Anyway, I feel that since One Piece has its confirmed "first half" done, it deserves another review.

One Piece. The first thought that entered my mind when I hit the "Write a Review" button is "...where do I even begin?" This is a VERY difficult series to review, because you cannot read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 2, 2009
Mokenda
One Piece is an astounding series. It has well developed characters with personalities all their own, fantasmic action and adventure portrayed in a believable format, and a sense of off the wall humor which leaves the masses laughing and gasping for air.
However, along with these beautifully defined characteristics, it does something which other mangas, and most comics in general, fail to do. It captures real human emotion.

The adventures the characters partake in and the personal struggles they go through are ones which any person can relate to.
While we may not stretch like rubber, fight with swords, or sprout extra appendages- we all have lost a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 1, 2008
ronyharsono
The best long series shonen manga by a miles,

STORY :
- the world of one piece is epic, it has lot of side & twist :
1. WG aka world government : Navy(fleet Admiral, Admiral, Vice Admiral,etc) ,
CP9 (CIA Like), 5 Gorousei(5 elder), World Nobles
2. shicibukai (7 god of pirate, this pirate work for WG but has own separated agenda)
3. 4 yonkou (4 pirate that rules over half of the grand line)
4. the revolutionary that free country from WG
5. rookies pirates, other pirate(foxy pirate, etc)
6. every island has it's own unique world, organization & character
7. sea king ( lots of animal monster that live under read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices