Forum Settings
Forums

Police shoot unarmed man when officer was questioned as to why he did it he said "I don't know"

New
Jul 21, 2016 9:18 AM

Mar 2014
http://www.cnn.com/2016/07/21/us/miami-officer-involved-shooting/index.html

CNN said:
The video shows a man lying in the street, holding his hands in the air.
"All he has is a toy truck," the man shouts. "I am a behavior therapist at a group home."
Charles Kinsey said the video, released by his attorney, shows the moment Monday when he tried to convince North Miami police not to harm his patient, a 23-year-old with autism who was sitting on the ground beside him.
"I was more worried about him than myself," Kinsey told CNN affiliate WSVN-TV in Miami.
"As long as I've got my hands up, they're not gonna shoot me, that's what I'm thinking," Kinsey said. "Wow, was I wrong."
Now Kinsey is hospitalized with a gunshot wound.
North Miami police said an officer opened fire after attempting to negotiate. Kinsey and his attorney said that explanation doesn't add up. State authorities say they're investigating.

North Miami police said in a statement that they are investigating this week's shooting, asking potential witnesses to come forward with any photos or video they may have.
The officers who arrived "attempted to negotiate with the two men on the scene."
At some point, one of the officers discharged his weapon, authorities said. That officer has been placed on administrative leave, as is the standard procedure.
Kinsey said he was surprised, like when a mosquito bites unexpectedly.
"When he hit me, I'm like, I still got my hands in the air," he said.
"I'm like, 'Sir, why did you shoot me?' " Kinsey said he asked the officer.
"He said to me, 'I don't know.' "
The Miami-Dade state attorney's office is assisting with the investigation, police said.