Forum Settings
Forums
New
Who speak Engrish?
Pages (6) « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » ... Last »
Jun 21, 2016 1:36 PM

Nov 2008
Harlequin said:
OT: Apparently most people here are polyglots.
It's international website, not so many native english speakers. This kind of sites tend to attract people who speak different languages.
HooHiraiBunnyJun 21, 2016 1:40 PM
Jun 21, 2016 1:51 PM

Jun 2014
Just English pretty much lmao, because I'm American and my grandma never taught my mom Japanese so I only learned words like 'chiisai' and 'kanpai' as a kid.

I took Spanish for two years and forgot everything because half of it got mixed up with Japanese when I started learning it.

So I'll say shit like 'Baño wa doko desu ka?'

I'm decent at Japanese, have the basics of the kana and beginner through intermediate kanji, basically at a 5th grade level, would study more but I have no motivation.
Jun 21, 2016 1:53 PM
Oct 2014
Noboru said:

@Rarusu_ : Those originally Frankish Words don't sound that Germanic anymore, though. I wouldn't really count them towards the native, Germanic Wordstock.

I thought Swedish had more in Common with the Continental Western Germanic Languages regarding their Word Order? For Example, the second Element in a Main Clause is always a Verb, while Object and Subject can be swapped as long as it's unambiguous, unlike with most Cases of Modern English.

What is the hardest Part with the German Grammar? The Word Order, the Verb Forms or the Inflections with the three Genders and four Cases ?

I think some of them are more adaptable than others. For instance, "abandon", "banish" or "lease" doesn't feel too foreign to me, but other examples like "allegiance" or "marque" does. I'm only going on my gut here, so that's what I think.