Forum SettingsEpisode Information
Forums
Puella Magi Madoka Magica
Available on Manga Store
New
Mar 10, 2016 4:57 AM

Jan 2016
I'm fairly new to anime. Everywhere, I see Madoka Magica being branded as a "masterpiece", a "10/10" and a "must watch".

I prefer to watch something a bit more mature and the "magical girl" genre seems almost too out of character for my tastes.

I know, I know. I've read the reviews. People have told me how Madoka Magica is actually a very dark anime, which makes it different from the usual magical girl stuff. I guess it has something to do with its plot, but I absolutely HATE it when someone spoils the plot of a show before I watch it. And the synopsis alone isn't helping me.

Normally I would have ignored it without a second thought but with the amount of praise it has been getting, I get the feeling that I'm missing something important.

I just want to know whether it's worth giving preference over other anime like The Tatami Galaxy, Shinsekai Yori and Hajime no Ippo. I have limited time and I can't watch all of them.
Mar 10, 2016 5:00 AM

Jul 2012
Don't watch it with any expectations of it being dark/sad or a masterpiece. Just go into it expecting it to be mediocre and you might actually like it.

No, it's not better than SSY or Hajime no Ippo. Tatami is supposedly the best one out of EVERYTHING so I think you should watch that last.
Mar 10, 2016 5:04 AM

Feb 2013
I feel like Madoka is one of those shows that you either love it or hate it, like Mayuka said, dont go with expectations of it being a masterpiece (even tho for me it is, but its for different reasons like how the show means to me etc etc) so yeah, I dont think you're gonna waste your time, in my opinion is really worth watching.

Mar 10, 2016 5:05 AM

May 2015
Don't watch it, it isn't worth the time compared to the other 3 you named. Its praise come from the shock of effect and because it is a deconstruction of its genre.