MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #193
Higurashi no Naku Koro ni

Higurashi no Naku Koro ni

Alternative Titles

English: When They Cry
Synonyms: The Moment the Cicadas Cry
Japanese: ひぐらしのなく頃に

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 2006 to Sep 27, 2006
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.331 (scored by 118488 users)
Ranked: #1932
Popularity: #36
Members: 210,836
Favorites: 10,324
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

comedy drama horror mystery psychological
Nov 26, 2008
Ceptryn
Watching Higurshi is like locking a group of happy people in a test chamber, only coming back to find they've hacked each other into a bloody mess. Its horrific, its shocking, and yet a part of you, cannot help but wonder, how did it happen?

The curiosity takes over... and so you repeat the experiment, knowing full well that those cute looking teenagers you just sent are going to end up as bloody pulps. But hey, at least each time they die, you're one step closer to figuring out why they died, it's all good.

Higurashi essentially places you in the role of the scientist. It divides read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 14, 2010
AkatsukigirlTy
Higurashi no naku koro ni happens to be a particular favourite of mine, not only because of its horrifically high gore content, but for the number of times it managed to catch me off guard. I found it hard to believe how a group of seemingly normal, innocent girls could commit such stomach-churning acts of violence and mental torture. It’s the original shock at this fact that compels the viewer to continue watching this highly addictive bloodbath of an anime.

The concept of the anime is simple enough. It follows a teenage boy, Maebara Keiichi adjusting to his new life in Hinamizawa, an isolated village buried read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 23, 2007
z-pak
Higurashi epitomizes how you should never judge something by its cover. At first glance, it looks like a simple, generic harem series or a lame, cliched romance. This anime, however, is nothing short of genius. The whole setting, atmosphere, and mood are incredibly well executed. The plot may seem simple at first, a new kid moving to a strange, new town and meeting new friends. Beneath the exterior appearance of this seemingly tame series, however, lies a dark story of murder, violence, and mystery.

Story: I can confidently say that the story/plot is the strongest aspect of this series. I congratulate the original game designer who read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 17, 2010
unclesnapple
June 1983, a sleepy rural town in Japan. This is the auspicious setting of a tragedy that will befall a small group of classmates and their entire community. This is a tragedy that is destined to happen again, and again, and again. How and why is Hinamizawa doomed to this fate? What dark secrets does the town hold? This is a tale that seems simple on the surface but the use of character, perspective, and story-telling helps to make Higurashi one of the greatest anime ever made.

The very first episode of Higurashi can be off-putting, as it introduces a cast of characters that seem at read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 3, 2014
fatallyfragile
Higurashi No Naku Koro Ni is one of my favorite animes of all time. It's not just of the terror and gore it delivers in its wonderful package, but more for the plot line itself. At first glance, you could say and most likely deny the actions of the main cast, but personally, I don't think that's possible. The show itself is just a simple reason not to judge at glance. Beneath the covers, it covers a dark, horrific and mysterious series, but at the same time, it could be a bit uplifting.

The story of this amazing series follows a high school student named Keiichi read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 21, 2008
SephSora
Although i do not usually find myself watching much anime of this kind, with it's violence and gore, Higurashi no Naku Koro ni (as well as the subsequent second season) has had me hooked from the very beginning.

So, where do i begin? Right from the very first the story has you thrown, the opening few sequences quell your thirst as you watch the first of many entangled mysteries, involving the initial main character Keiichi Maebara play out a horrific opening few minutes.

All of the main characters remain likeable, this despite the stories and events that unfold. Unlike much other anime, where the story read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 13, 2007
BlueYoshi
Horror. Blood, guts, gore, screams and its very dark tones. Something i am not a big fan of. But despite all that, Higurashi no Naku Koro ni is simply astounding. Mind-bending, chaotic and filled with near-perfect execution.

Story: The story focuses on the village of Hinamizawa, and it's hidden and very chilling secrets. Keiichii Maebara has just moved to the countryside village, and is enjoying his new life with his new friends Rena Ryuugu, Mion Sonozaki, Rika Furude and Satoko Houjou. But underneath the peaceful times, is the chilling mysteries of the Hinamizawa Dam Construction murders, and the Watangashi festival. With this season split into read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 20, 2009
Sii_Kei
Higurashi is a really confusing, complex and difficult to explain anime. Some may view it as belonging to the horror or psychological genre; some may find it as a really weird harem series containing crazy, killer lolis; others may consider it a failure since it doesn't seem to belong to any of the afore-mentioned genres. Considering how much amount Higurashi incorporates, all views are understandable; this certainly isn't a series that's easy to comprehend by everyone. Higurashi is a mixture of mystery, blood, humor, romance and especially nice moral stories; but above all – Higurashi should be perceived as a really challenging logic problem. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 21, 2012
ziggyopolous
A tail of horror and suspense, of intellectual constructs and supernatural phenomenon, of friendship and family, of conspiracies and deities, of murder and self preservation. "Higurashi no Naku Koro ni" has it all. In 26 episodes and 6 stand-alone arcs it manages to squeeze in all this in vicious, gory detail. While at he same time, dedicates much of the anime to character development and story telling.

Story: 10/10
...And what a story it is! As afore mentioned the story is told in stand-alone arcs, that is, they don't seem to be all that related to one another, and one could exist without the others. Then at read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 13, 2007
dkaceblaze
If Alfred Hitchcock made an anime, it would be something like this. It's a story about a group of kids, and the evil secrets that lies underneath the surface of their small town. Every year during a festival a mysterious murder accurs. at the same time someone else goes missing without a trace.

This story is actually made of several completely seperate but loosely related story arcs. At the begining of each things are almost exactly the same each time. They all start right before the festival begins and follows through the mysterious killings and to the conclusion of what acctually happened. And read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 5, 2008
Reikaku
First off, a word of advice. Do not judge this show by the first episode.

It starts off like your standard anime with several lighthearted moments all the way through the first episode. However, you’d be a fool to think that this is all there is to it. This is not that type of show. Higurashi masterfully combines physiological, mystery, horror and comedy in a way that is simply remarkable. The anime is mind breaking and murderously genius. It is so brilliant and unique that it’s almost criminal to not give it the credit it deserves.

It takes physiological and horror read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 14, 2008
TheLlama
This show is suspenseful, dramatic, creepy, confusing (in a good way), and it's got some good horror.

The storyline follows a small group of friends who live in a village called Hinamizawa. Not all seems be like it should be here, though...

The characters are pretty interesting, to say the least, and they're pretty well "built up". It's pretty obvious that they're a bit crazy at some point, depending on which story arc you're watching.

The story is pretty good, because it leaves you guessing all the time, and even though it may seem a bit confusing at first, don't be discouraged; you start to understand as you read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 6, 2007
Master10K
Higurashi no Naku Koro ni is a Psychological, Horror, Mystery anime unlike any other, as it is easy to get hooked on it. The story is incredible because it does something I haven’t seen before, by splitting the series into various arcs, each telling a different story. Each of these arcs are somewhat linked with each other, as they provide the viewer with different questions and try to give an answer. What’s more interesting is how each story slowly builds up to its climax. I found it amazing how each retelling gave me a different feel and how a lot of things were finally pieced read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 22, 2014
CorruptFlame
Higurashi no Naku Koro ni... I began this show about six months ago, only watching the first episode. When I had finished episode one, I shook my head thinking "This isn't what I signed up for". I put it on hold (which for me is like a graveyard of unfinished shows) until a couple days ago, when I was browsing on hold list trying to finally clear some of it up. And oh boy I can fully say that I am glad that I decided to try it again.

Story: 10
The story starts out in a small town, Hinamizawa, just before the Watanagashi Festival (cotton drifting) read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 8, 2007
jet2r0cks
5 WORDS OR LESS REVIEW: Cute and Bloody

On the surface, Higurashi seems like a cute and moe anime that’s chockfull of loli girls forming their own harem for the main character Keichi. It’s not. Seriously, a small village separated from the rest of the world has “murder” written all over it.

Who knew cutesy characters and blood would make a psychotic anime that’s absolutely fun to watch? I’ve always liked cute anime and violent anime but I never thought I’d find one that incorporates both. Whoever made this into an anime knows me too well. It’s even funny sometimes, and I love watching anime that makes read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 12, 2008
gochisosama
Do note that I am reviewing this season of Higurashi ONLY, and that I am not including the events of Kai into this review.

Okay, so, I'm not one for watching any show or movie that falls under the gore or horror genres. Many of my friends enjoy horror and gore, and since I hadn't really seen any before, I was reluctant to start this. This anime was kinda a stumble upon, and from this anime, I started to watch anime on a more regular basis. When I started watching Higurashi, it was awfully confusing, and it was nowhere near what I had expected in read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 8, 2007
Yandere
The first reason I came across Higurashi no Naku Koro ni was in an animation icon in which I saw a very graphic and disturbing scene and even though it was only about 8 seconds long, it was enough to have me hooked and this was because of what I could see - something insane happened, someone else was there, they were shocked, but then they looked liked they laughed insanely, probably out of fear and being psychotic, I presumed, but I had no idea what it was! I looked for a bit, but did not find it and about two weeks ago I finally read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 16, 2008
LilGunmanX
Higurashi no Naku Koro ni has received much praise from the anime community in general, which hails it as the mystery to end all mysteries. Everybody loves it and chances are that, if you're reading this now, you've heard good news!

However, upon my completion of the anime and the 2 subsequent seasons that followed, I came to the conclusion that this praise was COMPLETELY undeserved by the anime, which is mediocre in the intellectual department, and is much less a mystery story than it is an action/adventure story with a lot of secrets. Furthermore, any actual "mystery" behind the story is made impossible to solve read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 4, 2014
HATUL
People often say that Horror and anime don't mix and that the genre never really works in such a medium. But Higurashi begs to differ, and it became the most common counter argument against that particular statement. And rightfully so.

This is a spoiler free review (none beyond episode 4 anyway) and it covers both seasons.

*Story*

The story takes place in Hinamizawa, a small town (based on a real life location) where a teenage boy named Maebara Keichi just moved in with his family. And he spends his days playing fun games with his friends. However, it doesn't take long for him to realize that read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 25, 2013
Rinkashikika
Higurashi No Naku Koro Ni is the first season of the famous Higurashi (When They Cry) series. The main story is about- Actually no, what is special about Higurashi is that the main story is revealed in the second season.

People start watching Higurashi only knowing about a guy, Maebara Keiichi, who moves to Hinamizawa and creepy stuff is supposed to happen next. So until you get to the 2nd season I would totally suggest you not to pay very much attention in the show, but enjoy it instead. It will be gore, lots of blood and numerous crime scenes. That's what Higurashi is all about. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices