Ranked #260

Higurashi no Naku Koro ni

Alternative Titles

English: When They Cry
Synonyms: The Moment the Cicadas Cry
Japanese: ひぐらしのなく頃に


Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 2006 to Sep 27, 2006
Premiered: Spring 2006
Broadcast: Unknown
Source: Visual novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company


Score: 8.241 (scored by 153,121 users)
Ranked: #2602
Popularity: #50
Members: 286,478
Favorites: 11,993
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Nov 26, 2008
Watching Higurshi is like locking a group of happy people in a test chamber, only coming back to find they've hacked each other into a bloody mess. Its horrific, its shocking, and yet a part of you, cannot help but wonder, how did it happen?

The curiosity takes over... and so you repeat the experiment, knowing full well that those cute looking teenagers you just sent are going to end up as bloody pulps. But hey, at least each time they die, you're one step closer to figuring out why they died, it's all good.

Higurashi essentially places you in the role of the scientist. It divides read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 5, 2015
Story, Art, Sound and Character: 3.125/5
Enjoyment: 3/5
Overall: 6.125/10 (or 3.0625/5)

After hearing so much about the so called Higurashi, I decided to try it out, and found my taste to be as horrible as always (well, I disliked Death Note so it is to expect), well, at least this is what I think it is, since I'm the only one to think that this series is rather... bad.

First of all, to the good things: Higurashi's terror is top notch. One of the best in anime. Each scene is well scripted and does creep you out. The sound is great, specially the ambient sound, with read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 14, 2010
Higurashi no naku koro ni happens to be a particular favourite of mine, not only because of its horrifically high gore content, but for the number of times it managed to catch me off guard. I found it hard to believe how a group of seemingly normal, innocent girls could commit such stomach-churning acts of violence and mental torture. It’s the original shock at this fact that compels the viewer to continue watching this highly addictive bloodbath of an anime.

The concept of the anime is simple enough. It follows a teenage boy, Maebara Keiichi adjusting to his new life in Hinamizawa, an isolated village buried read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 3, 2015
Higurashi no Naku Koro ni: (Alias "When they Cry")
Is a prime example of a horror classic, despite that not being the shows primary focus. Personally, it seems to be more of a psychological type of anime, but that's beside the point.
The story is pretty complex, which is partly it's downfall, but mostly what makes the series whole. The arch system really works for this anime, as it is "time based". The art and animation honestly aren't very great, but that's what gives the characters their charm. The soundtrack is absolutely accceptional, it really moves the story, and enhances every given moment- Especially the outstanding openings. read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 23, 2007
Higurashi epitomizes how you should never judge something by its cover. At first glance, it looks like a simple, generic harem series or a lame, cliched romance. This anime, however, is nothing short of genius. The whole setting, atmosphere, and mood are incredibly well executed. The plot may seem simple at first, a new kid moving to a strange, new town and meeting new friends. Beneath the exterior appearance of this seemingly tame series, however, lies a dark story of murder, violence, and mystery.

Story: I can confidently say that the story/plot is the strongest aspect of this series. I congratulate the original game designer who read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 22, 2015
"Since everything is so fun all the time, it's scary to think how it might fall apart one day" - Keiichi Maebara


At the recommendation of a friend, I started watching Higurashi, no expectations, no preconceived notions. Four episodes in, I was extremely surprised at what I'd found. This was the first psychological horror themed anime TV series I'd seen, and has really piqued my interest for more in the future. I want to use the idiom that Higurashi is like a trainwreck: some desperately grim and dark event that you just can't look away from. However, unlike a trainwreck, Higurashi keeps you glued to the read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 20, 2015
Higurashi: a rather dark horror/mystery title praised for its unexpected twists and complex storyline. It is told in a series of arcs that all have a similar start point and their own unique ending. While many found the story to be thrilling and exciting due to its sudden change ups and shocking nature, I found it to be an overly convoluted and jumbled mess.

As the story progresses, the many arcs are supposed to reveal information about our seemingly peaceful setting and its many troubles, but this is not the case. They are simply a series of disconnected scenarios. As soon as one ended, the writers read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 14, 2015
Oh dear god this was so incredibly terrible I actually couldn't even make myself watch it to the end. The first arc was cool and well done. Second was kind of freaky, to the point that it stopped being scary, and just felt kind of ridiculous.

Everything after that was downright awful. All of the characters are such incredible pushovers, they don't make the slightest attempt to help themselves at all. And really, why do they decide to show Keiichi's backstory sometime randomly in the middle like they're trying to make him look good, only to jump back into the story of him being the biggest read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 16, 2015

Higurashi no Naku Koro ni starts with a taste of what's to come in the first scene and the opening. Then it's funny but slowly builds up to what the series is famous for. Next episode, things reset but with changes here and there.

In each story arc, that's how it goes. Nothing is wrong, something is wrong, EVERYTHING is wrong. The show sometimes shows a teaser of what is about to go wrong in the story arc but otherwise, it follows this pattern.

A constantly resetting story sounds like it would get pretty boring but the anime has paced it masterfully such read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 12, 2015
This is my 1st review so it probably won't be so good

I learned about Higurashi No Naku Koro Ni after i was looking for a horror anime. When I saw one of the scenes, I decided to check it out. After the 1st episode, I couldn't stop watching. All I can say is I am glad I watched it.

The Story 10/10
Higurashi is set in a small village named Himinazawa. Keiichi Maebara is a young male, who recently moved to Himinazawa, and befriended a group of girls. As what seemed to be a great place to live, Keiichi starts to learn about some secret. The read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 28, 2014

Time to mix things up and review something good for a change. Today I will be reviewing Higurashi no naku koro ni/Kai. Do your best crazed evil laugh and read on if you dare!

WARNING: Mild spoilers! Nothing major, but it is difficult to talk about the story or characters without saying something. If you haven't seen Higurashi and want to go in to it knowing absolutely nothing, please skip this review!

Story: 10/10

The story takes place in the small, rural town of Hinamizawa. The story takes place in the 1980s, but Hinamizawa looks like its stuck in the 1950s or earlier. This is no ordinary small read more
I found this review Helpful
May 11, 2015
The concept of Higurashi no Naku Koro ni is one that seems interesting: we are able to watch a small town murder as a mysterious festival approaches in multiple timelines, each one with variations in events that bring us closer and closer to really understanding what happened. This premise seems to suggest it would be interesting to anybody who enjoys horror, psychological, or detective anime, allowing the watcher to appreciate the nuances of a scenario from a variety of perspectives.

Ideally, anyways. Higurashi is a messy anime because although the premise is very good, the art is boring, the individual stories that make up the anime read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 4, 2014

Ever heard of the phrase “Don’t judge a book by its cover?” Well, Higurashi no naku koro ni is an anime that takes this saying to a whole ‘nother level. One minute you think you are watching some sort of K-ON clone, the next you are hiding under the covers and cringing at the horrific violence flashing across your screen. If that isn’t enough of a hint, let me preface this review by elucidating the fact that this anime is not for everybody; the sheer amount of blood, gore, and bone-chilling imagery ensures that fact. It's best read more
I found this review Helpful
May 31, 2015
{NOTES-This review covers both the first season and Kai as I don’t see a reason to write 2 separate review for 2 halves of the same story. Also, this review does contain minor spoilers for episodes 1-4 of the first season, this is because I need to discuss the methods of storytelling in order to fully evaluate this series on its narrative quality. If you don’t want to be spoiled you don’t have to read, simple as that :)}

If you knew me well enough then you would know that I love murder mystery. Many an evening I have spent on my sofa watching reruns of read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 10, 2015
Transfer student Keniichi Maebara has grown a liking to his new town, the quiet village Hinamizawa. He becomes fast friends with four girls around his age. Although the town appears to be quite the humble place, it contains deadly secrets that can and does affect people's lives. -summary

When They Cry is a series that surprised me upon my initial viewing, and I will admit that when I first saw it years ago my expectations were terribly low due to its stylistic similarities to Elfen Lied. One thing among many that Elfen Lied did terribly was the meshing of its genres. The comedy clashed with the read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 25, 2015
Horror in anime usually doesn't have the best reputation. It tends to have a big hate crowd. If done right, horror can be scary and even identifiable because of our fears of things like people stalking us at night, killers, and even telling the truth. For such a unique anime like Higurashi, it doesn't get as much hate as some other horror titles. There are people that hate this anime, but not as much as those other shows. So what makes Higurashi different then those other anime?

It has subtly, I'll explain it more as the review goes on, read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 7, 2014
What makes a good mystery? A question that can be answered differently depending on one's individual taste. For example there are those, who love a good psychological mindfuck, even if they don't understand anything that's going on. Some love a good thriller where it's about finding out who the murderer is and how/why he commited the crime. And lastly there are those who love stories that make absolutely no sense at the beginning, but get more logical the further you watch. What they all have in common is that that they make the viewer think for himself and take guesses all the way to the read more
I found this review Helpful
May 19, 2015
It's no secret that Japan loves making series about cute things, especially girls. Most series about cute girls focus on having its main characters doing cute things just to fill out an episode, but every once in a while an anomaly arrives. This series is wonderfully twisted, and despite its initial appearance it offers a compelling murder mystery and some excellent insight into its characters as they are slowly broken down. It is fascinating to watch each character as they are slowly backed into a corner and their thoughts turn from rational to irrational, this series is one that appears to be yet another typical read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 14, 2008
This show is suspenseful, dramatic, creepy, confusing (in a good way), and it's got some good horror.

The storyline follows a small group of friends who live in a village called Hinamizawa. Not all seems be like it should be here, though...

The characters are pretty interesting, to say the least, and they're pretty well "built up". It's pretty obvious that they're a bit crazy at some point, depending on which story arc you're watching.

The story is pretty good, because it leaves you guessing all the time, and even though it may seem a bit confusing at first, don't be discouraged; you start to understand as you read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 7, 2015

At first glance, it seems that this show would typically be a loli con harem. but then the gore starts and then it all gets out of hand. this show is told in five different arcs each of which, have a different explanation, plot and outcome. This truly lives up to the name of its genre. Horror, Mystery, Psychological, Supernatural, Thriller. Watching this with my brother has proven to be quite a task, granted that if you are able to trick someone who is an expert with figurative language and symbolism, then you've done a good job with writing and you read more
I found this review Helpful