Ranked #254

Higurashi no Naku Koro ni

Alternative Titles

English: When They Cry
Synonyms: The Moment the Cicadas Cry
Japanese: ひぐらしのなく頃に


Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 2006 to Sep 27, 2006
Premiered: Spring 2006
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company


Score: 8.251 (scored by 150,014 users)
Ranked: #2542
Popularity: #50
Members: 279,445
Favorites: 11,622
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Nov 26, 2008
Watching Higurshi is like locking a group of happy people in a test chamber, only coming back to find they've hacked each other into a bloody mess. Its horrific, its shocking, and yet a part of you, cannot help but wonder, how did it happen?

The curiosity takes over... and so you repeat the experiment, knowing full well that those cute looking teenagers you just sent are going to end up as bloody pulps. But hey, at least each time they die, you're one step closer to figuring out why they died, it's all good.

Higurashi essentially places you in the role of the scientist. It divides read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 23, 2007
Higurashi epitomizes how you should never judge something by its cover. At first glance, it looks like a simple, generic harem series or a lame, cliched romance. This anime, however, is nothing short of genius. The whole setting, atmosphere, and mood are incredibly well executed. The plot may seem simple at first, a new kid moving to a strange, new town and meeting new friends. Beneath the exterior appearance of this seemingly tame series, however, lies a dark story of murder, violence, and mystery.

Story: I can confidently say that the story/plot is the strongest aspect of this series. I congratulate the original game designer who read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 14, 2010
Higurashi no naku koro ni happens to be a particular favourite of mine, not only because of its horrifically high gore content, but for the number of times it managed to catch me off guard. I found it hard to believe how a group of seemingly normal, innocent girls could commit such stomach-churning acts of violence and mental torture. It’s the original shock at this fact that compels the viewer to continue watching this highly addictive bloodbath of an anime.

The concept of the anime is simple enough. It follows a teenage boy, Maebara Keiichi adjusting to his new life in Hinamizawa, an isolated village buried read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 14, 2008
This show is suspenseful, dramatic, creepy, confusing (in a good way), and it's got some good horror.

The storyline follows a small group of friends who live in a village called Hinamizawa. Not all seems be like it should be here, though...

The characters are pretty interesting, to say the least, and they're pretty well "built up". It's pretty obvious that they're a bit crazy at some point, depending on which story arc you're watching.

The story is pretty good, because it leaves you guessing all the time, and even though it may seem a bit confusing at first, don't be discouraged; you start to understand as you read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 13, 2007
Horror. Blood, guts, gore, screams and its very dark tones. Something i am not a big fan of. But despite all that, Higurashi no Naku Koro ni is simply astounding. Mind-bending, chaotic and filled with near-perfect execution.

Story: The story focuses on the village of Hinamizawa, and it's hidden and very chilling secrets. Keiichii Maebara has just moved to the countryside village, and is enjoying his new life with his new friends Rena Ryuugu, Mion Sonozaki, Rika Furude and Satoko Houjou. But underneath the peaceful times, is the chilling mysteries of the Hinamizawa Dam Construction murders, and the Watangashi festival. With this season split into read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 16, 2008
Higurashi no Naku Koro ni has received much praise from the anime community in general, which hails it as the mystery to end all mysteries. Everybody loves it and chances are that, if you're reading this now, you've heard good news!

However, upon my completion of the anime and the 2 subsequent seasons that followed, I came to the conclusion that this praise was COMPLETELY undeserved by the anime, which is mediocre in the intellectual department, and is much less a mystery story than it is an action/adventure story with a lot of secrets. Furthermore, any actual "mystery" behind the story is made impossible to solve read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 20, 2009
Higurashi is a really confusing, complex and difficult to explain anime. Some may view it as belonging to the horror or psychological genre; some may find it as a really weird harem series containing crazy, killer lolis; others may consider it a failure since it doesn't seem to belong to any of the afore-mentioned genres. Considering how much amount Higurashi incorporates, all views are understandable; this certainly isn't a series that's easy to comprehend by everyone. Higurashi is a mixture of mystery, blood, humor, romance and especially nice moral stories; but above all – Higurashi should be perceived as a really challenging logic problem. read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 17, 2010
June 1983, a sleepy rural town in Japan. This is the auspicious setting of a tragedy that will befall a small group of classmates and their entire community. This is a tragedy that is destined to happen again, and again, and again. How and why is Hinamizawa doomed to this fate? What dark secrets does the town hold? This is a tale that seems simple on the surface but the use of character, perspective, and story-telling helps to make Higurashi one of the greatest anime ever made.

The very first episode of Higurashi can be off-putting, as it introduces a cast of characters that seem at read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 8, 2007
5 WORDS OR LESS REVIEW: Cute and Bloody

On the surface, Higurashi seems like a cute and moe anime that’s chockfull of loli girls forming their own harem for the main character Keichi. It’s not. Seriously, a small village separated from the rest of the world has “murder” written all over it.

Who knew cutesy characters and blood would make a psychotic anime that’s absolutely fun to watch? I’ve always liked cute anime and violent anime but I never thought I’d find one that incorporates both. Whoever made this into an anime knows me too well. It’s even funny sometimes, and I love watching anime that makes read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 6, 2007
Higurashi no Naku Koro ni is a Psychological, Horror, Mystery anime unlike any other, as it is easy to get hooked on it. The story is incredible because it does something I haven’t seen before, by splitting the series into various arcs, each telling a different story. Each of these arcs are somewhat linked with each other, as they provide the viewer with different questions and try to give an answer. What’s more interesting is how each story slowly builds up to its climax. I found it amazing how each retelling gave me a different feel and how a lot of things were finally pieced read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 4, 2010
There is an alarming number of people in the online anime community who hail this series as one of the best series in not only the horror/suspense/mystery genre, but in all of anime itself. A brief skim over the list of reviews here on this website will show that most people give it somewhere between 8 and 10, with many closer to 10. For the life of me, I cannot discern where people get these ratings from. Higurashi is one of the most over rated series I've ever watched.

90% of the reason Higurashi is so terrible results directly due to the fact that the series read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 21, 2008
Although i do not usually find myself watching much anime of this kind, with it's violence and gore, Higurashi no Naku Koro ni (as well as the subsequent second season) has had me hooked from the very beginning.

So, where do i begin? Right from the very first the story has you thrown, the opening few sequences quell your thirst as you watch the first of many entangled mysteries, involving the initial main character Keiichi Maebara play out a horrific opening few minutes.

All of the main characters remain likeable, this despite the stories and events that unfold. Unlike much other anime, where the story read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 13, 2007
If Alfred Hitchcock made an anime, it would be something like this. It's a story about a group of kids, and the evil secrets that lies underneath the surface of their small town. Every year during a festival a mysterious murder accurs. at the same time someone else goes missing without a trace.

This story is actually made of several completely seperate but loosely related story arcs. At the begining of each things are almost exactly the same each time. They all start right before the festival begins and follows through the mysterious killings and to the conclusion of what acctually happened. And read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 5, 2008
First off, a word of advice. Do not judge this show by the first episode.

It starts off like your standard anime with several lighthearted moments all the way through the first episode. However, you’d be a fool to think that this is all there is to it. This is not that type of show. Higurashi masterfully combines physiological, mystery, horror and comedy in a way that is simply remarkable. The anime is mind breaking and murderously genius. It is so brilliant and unique that it’s almost criminal to not give it the credit it deserves.

It takes physiological and horror read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 30, 2010
I never showed any interest towards this anime but a lot of people seemed to like it because of its unique approach. So I thought, why not give this a try? To be honest, I still don't know what to think about Higurashi...

Let me start by saying this anime is divided in arcs counting 4 to 6 episodes each approx. Each arc tells a different story (though I'm not sure they really were different) and the last two arcs seem to explain the events in the previous arcs. I didn't like this idea but why not give it a try? Well, my main reason read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 8, 2007
The first reason I came across Higurashi no Naku Koro ni was in an animation icon in which I saw a very graphic and disturbing scene and even though it was only about 8 seconds long, it was enough to have me hooked and this was because of what I could see - something insane happened, someone else was there, they were shocked, but then they looked liked they laughed insanely, probably out of fear and being psychotic, I presumed, but I had no idea what it was! I looked for a bit, but did not find it and about two weeks ago I finally read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 28, 2008
So yes this is a nice harem Anime, oh wait, this is supposed to be a horror? You sure could have fooled me. In terms of horror and suspense Higurashi is a complete and utter failure. Elfen Lied has nothing to fear now, it still probably can top this. Okay seriously I am very disappointed in this series, considering I wanted a good suspense thriller that wasn't based purely on 100% excess and shock-factoring like Elfen Lied.

Higurashi is a story of several different arcs. Each arc is a different version of the same story. In 1983 a young male transfer student comes to a small read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 7, 2011
What the fuck did I just watch? I don't know , so I decided to make a review about it.

This show contains scenes of graphic lolita violence , as well as numerous murders commit by green haired girls. If your hearth is weak or you dislike seeing a river of blood coming out of a person's neck , you might want to stop reading and head to over to watch Kyoro-chan.

Ok , now all the girls and sissy men have left , let's take our magical briefs and jump right into the bloody mess of confusion called Higurashi.

The anime contains all the required otaku elements read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 18, 2009
Innocent Sunrise

Higurashi no Naku Koro Ni [Higurashi] is a monstrous franchise that has spawned manga, anime, novels, films and drama CDs, but its roots began humbly enough as a dojin soft sound novel made by a small group of guys by the name of 07th Expansion. The small town of Hinamizawa, a sunny town in rural Japan, was born on that summer afternoon. Wild birds dot the vast landscape, and soft waves of veridian grass wash across the landscape. It's a small place, the local school only having one classroom with about fifteen students. Here we meet the young Keichii Maebara, a newcomer to the read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 28, 2014

Time to mix things up and review something good for a change. Today I will be reviewing Higurashi no naku koro ni/Kai. Do your best crazed evil laugh and read on if you dare!

WARNING: Mild spoilers! Nothing major, but it is difficult to talk about the story or characters without saying something. If you haven't seen Higurashi and want to go in to it knowing absolutely nothing, please skip this review!

Story: 10/10

The story takes place in the small, rural town of Hinamizawa. The story takes place in the 1980s, but Hinamizawa looks like its stuck in the 1950s or earlier. This is no ordinary small read more
I found this review Helpful