Ranked #10


Alternative Titles

English: Gintama
Synonyms: Gin Tama, Silver Soul
Japanese: 銀魂


Type: TV
Episodes: 201
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 4, 2006 to Mar 25, 2010
Premiered: Spring 2006
Broadcast: Unknown
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company


Score: 9.051 (scored by 78,601 users)
Ranked: #102
Popularity: #70
Members: 248,411
Favorites: 21,962
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


May 20, 2015
Gintama is an ongoing manga by Sorachi Hideaki. From 2006 to 2010, Sunrise, the same studio behind the Gundam franchise, did an anime adaptation which lasted for just over 200 episodes. So, does the anime manage to stay entertaining for that long, or even be entertaining at all? Let’s take a peek and find out.


There isn’t a single cohesive narrative to Gintama. There are some loosely connected arcs, and a whole lot of episodes that have nothing to do with those arcs, but there is no single narrative. The basic setup is that the world has been conquered by aliens, referred to in Gintama as read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 18, 2009
Over the years there have been a multitude of comedy shows that have graced our TV screens, from the surreal stylings of Monty Python and sarcastic wit of Blackadder, to the sci-fi tomfoolery of Red Dwarf and the strange antics of The Fast Show. There are numerous notable series that have taken their rightful places in our DVD collections, and in an age where comedians are treated like rock stars, maybe it's fate that comedy anime would also come of age.

It's strange to say this, but humour has never been a strong department for the medium, partly because of the cultural differences between East and read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 23, 2014
Gintama? Gintama. Hmmm, Gintama... Gintama or not Gintama, that is the question.

Now this is a show I've wrestled with for a long time. Many of my friends pledged almost fanatically this is the best anime in existence. I watched the first episode. So this is it? I was not impressed. As a person who found pleasure in the darkest and most gloomy kinds of settings, I would almost immediately say that this was not for me. Everything was just so weird and appeared to be arbitrarily glued together.

I was so naïve.

At some point I picked Gintama up again, I’m one of the people who are read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 27, 2015
So I watched 71 eps of Gintama. Comedy pure. This anime really made me laugh, I used to watch it while I was eating dinner so sometimes it even ruined my appetite cause the characters puke very often or try to heal their hemorrhoids by showing their ass to the moon.
Gintama makes it really obvious that this is a made up story, an anime, it's absurd. The characters get hit by a bomb and don't even bleed. They get filthy and suddenly they're clean again. The main character keeps describing himself as the main character. But Gintama is worth watching for the comedy.

In the read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 21, 2015
God, hold my beer...I'm gonna review Gintama.

So why does this long running shonen parody take up half of MAL's Top 10 and why does noone seem to question that?
Short answer: The more you watch of it, the harder it gets to hate it.

I decided to actually sit down and take my time with this review. Usually I try to only mention aspects that I personally think are most relevant, but there's just so much to say about this show.
So to everyone who hasn't seen Gintama yet and wants to find out what MAL's obsession with it is, hear me out.

Gintama has it's fundamental advantages. One read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 31, 2007
This is my first review here, so please let me know what you guys think!

Gintama is about Sakata Gintoki, who is a samurai in an age where samurai's have been deemed unnecessary by the aliens who have taken over. As far as I can tell, that's about as deep of a story this anime has. But you probably won't care, because this anime is downright hilarious. The characters are funny, the situations they get in are completely ridiculous, and all the references to other anime/manga they have make it all the more enjoyable.

As I mentioned earlier, there really isn't too much of a story line. read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 1, 2015
Ah, Gintama. The anime series which is beloved and hated over the world. It's known for having amazing comedy which it has done perfectly over the years for many people. However that's not all this anime series is. I would recommend this everyone however it does have problems such as the start. The start is probably the worst point because it does at a relatively weak level which is why most people think it's bad. They drop it before they get to the '' funny point ''. If you're interested you should probably watch the episodes slowly but surely until you start liking it which read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 7, 2015
Gintama is probably one of the funniest comedies I've ever seen, and that says a lot as I've read a lot of manga and watched a lot of anime.

Story: 10/10

Though Gintama is anime/manga with arcs lasting about 1-3 episodes in contrast to those that last around 50 episodes, { One Piece, Fairy Tail, etc } it still has a very enjoyable story. When the arcs do however last for more than a few episodes { Red Spider, Yoshiwara in Flames, etc } they have such exciting and hilarious that can send you off the chair in tears or tapping the desk frantically for the read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 2, 2015
So how's it going?
I hope this review will help you :)
Also encouraging you to watch Gintama
It's worth every of your time!!

Have you ever cried with a sad story and *BAM
They suddenly throw their best jokes at you
So, you can crying and laughing at the same time?
Well welcome to Gintama then? xD
Where you can definitely crying because of the sadness & the happiness

201 episodes?
You must be thinking, it's just way too long
And must be boring especially when it's half-way (100 episode)
If you're thinking like that you're definitely wrong
This anime, if you really like to laugh, ridiculous things, and have a good sense of humor
You'll definitely have read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 5, 2015
I've never really been a fan of long-running shounen anime. I had some bad run-ins with series like Naruto and Bleach when I was a kid and ever since then I've tried my best to stay away from them. For the same reason, I'm quite sure I would never have made myself watch Gintama either if it wasn't for its incredibly high ratings which made me feel somewhat obligated to. When I eventually started it though about 1,5 years ago, it was very quickly made evident that Gintama is... different. Not just different from other shounen anime, but different from almost every anime. In many read more
I found this review Helpful
May 21, 2015
Gintama is a comedy anime hyped throughout the world. Does it deserve the hype? No it doesn't. As an anime with 201 episodes it just stays inconsistent and ruins everything.

Story : It doesn't have one. It does have a few arcs that is pretty cool but they don't connect and end up as a side story. Connection from arc to arc doesn't exist and hardly matters. The pacing is super slow and there's way too many side episodes that's about nothing. 2/10

Art : Extremely bad considering the date. This type of art was used before 2000 and getting used to it is hard. The character read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 28, 2015
~~Opening Comments~~

"Why is this anime so highly rated? How does it deserve HALF of MAL's top 10 list? It doesn't even look that good."

At first glance, Gintama will likely appear to be nothing more than a run-of-the-mill shounen anime. Frankly, my first impression was a bit underwhelming, as it took me two or three attempts just to get past the first few episodes. During that time, I could not even comprehend how a show like this could be so universally loved.

While it took a bit of initial effort to "get the ball rolling" so to speak, I fell in love with this series very read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 26, 2015
Okay... now, how to mess with one of the most beloved anime franchises out there? Well, let me begin by saying that Gintama is outstanding. Some of its humor is probably the funniest I have ever seen in anime. Some of the running gags this show has provided will probably stay with me for the rest of my life. Justaway! JUST DO IT! NeoArmstrongCycloneJetArmstrongCannon!! All the good stuff.
The thing that breaks its back however is also one of the show's biggest virtues:
its transparency.
Let me explain.

Gintama introduces itself as a show about an alternative timeline Meiji era where aliens have taken over and read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 10, 2015
Ok I know that giving a 10/10 to this anime may make me a fanboy but no that isn't the case. Some people also think that oh maybe MAL was wrong for rating this anime so high but it deserves it! Let me tell you: I was once like all of you hating this anime because oh it's start off! Jokes ain't funny, people get bored but actually wait..

You thought Gintama was a plotless comedy like most other anime, but YOU"RE WRONG. The start was basically introducing characters and telling the relations and how they met, etc. That's a classic anime if you tell me. read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 6, 2015
If you want some 4th wall breaker like Deadpool and you're also a fan of anime, then meet Gintoki, and the rest of the Gintama Franchise.

Gintama is one of my favorite Animes from 2006. And because I watched the 2015 version of Gintama by default, and missing out all the important plots of the story from the past, maybe, I thought to myself, maybe I'll start when it all started. And as I started to watch this anime, I'd realized that each episodes are (Mwah) Bellissimo Magnifico as I say. The storytelling of each episodes are beautifully memorable, with a backstory from each and single read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 13, 2008
Gintama takes place in Edo(a.k.a Tokyo nowadays). Aliens who call themselves, the Amanto, have invaded Japan. In order to prevent another resistance of samurai's, they prohibited the use of swords. Only a handful of samurai's are remaining, Sakata Gintoki, a laid-back samurai who carries a wooden sword, is among these few. Together with Kagura, an extra-terrestrial girl with a monstrous strength, and Shinpachi, your average troubled adolescent, they'll take any kind of job as long as it fills their stomach and keeps them from getting kick out by the landlord.

Gintama is an action, comedy samurai anime with a sci-fi twist. You dont get to see read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 30, 2015
Shonen has always been the dominating anime and manga genre. However only a few tried to be more original with new concepts but still managed to be popular. Gintama is one of these few. Like most , I haven't liked the beginning, it was really slow however surviving the few first episodes led me to one of the best shows I've ever watched

Story : Well Gintama does not really have a plot or a story line, it's composed of mini arcs , some are a comedy like the popularity poll arc or the cats arc , and some are action and drama like the read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 5, 2009
Gintama is a masterclass in comedy writing and variety; a series that grows in originality with each passing episode, so inventive and fresh, dynamic and interesting, it's no wonder it has become one of Sunrises' flagship series, not to mention a mainstay of Shounen Jump.

The plot - from the get-go - perfectly encapsulates what Gintama is about: it's absurd. The Gintama universe is limitless; anything can and will happen. This insane nature is perfectly explored through the episode structure. Chiefly, it's an episodic series, with multiple story arcs woven in-between. Each episode will see a new plot, exploring one (or multiple) aspects of this wide read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 16, 2013
Gintama to be symbolized is like a bottle of fine apple cider. Its not the hot cinnamon one you enjoy at winter time, but a bubbly and sweet drink enjoyed alongside some of the finest of your holiday wines. Gintama is sweet. With a cast of bubbling and energetic characters who lift spirits. They just make the show sizzle with satisfying pops. At first Gintama feels like a kiddy drink laughable and nothing more. As you slow down and enjoy Gintama it becomes something more. There is certain tartness mixed in, a hint of something more dramatic, this only materializes itself once read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 12, 2015
Gintama is the best comedy anime I have ever watched. It's mainly a comedy anime, but it's much more than comedy. This anime is full of laughter, tears, action, and it teaches you good morals(sometimes lol). The story of Gintama might seem simple and a bit weird but as you progress more things are revealed and story grows much bigger than what it seemed at first. Art is not bad but it really shines when the cast of Gintama makes funny faces which you can see many details which I love. I didn't think the soundtrack of the anime was that memorable but it really read more
I found this review Helpful