MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #8
Gintama

Gintama

Alternative Titles

English: Gintama
Synonyms: Gin Tama, Silver Soul
Japanese: 銀魂

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 201
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 4, 2006 to Mar 25, 2010
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 9.041 (scored by 53699 users)
Ranked: #82
Popularity: #73
Members: 163,111
Favorites: 15,248
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

action comedy fantasy parody shounen
Jul 23, 2014
Hanimir
Gintama? Gintama. Hmmm, Gintama... Gintama or not Gintama, that is the question.

Now this is a show I've wrestled with for a long time. Many of my friends pledged almost fanatically this is the best anime in existence. I watched the first episode. So this is it? I was not impressed. As a person who found pleasure in the darkest and most gloomy kinds of settings, I would almost immediately say that this was not for me. Everything was just so weird and appeared to be arbitrarily glued together.

I was so naïve.

At some point I picked Gintama up again, I’m one of the people who are read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 18, 2009
Archaeon
Over the years there have been a multitude of comedy shows that have graced our TV screens, from the surreal stylings of Monty Python and sarcastic wit of Blackadder, to the sci-fi tomfoolery of Red Dwarf and the strange antics of The Fast Show. There are numerous notable series that have taken their rightful places in our DVD collections, and in an age where comedians are treated like rock stars, maybe it's fate that comedy anime would also come of age.

It's strange to say this, but humour has never been a strong department for the medium, partly because of the cultural differences between East and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 2, 2014
eskimoseb
Gintama is one of those rare epic anime where our lead is not an immature boy who is naïve and interested in doing everything for laughs. No, instead it is an epic where our lead is an immature man who is the gold standard of cheap laughs. There is no style of humour Gintama does not touch, and does not excel in, and despite the fact I have not finished the show, the comedy paired with both insightful social commentary and emotional character development cements the show’s place as one of the most complete packages anime has to offer.

At this stage, I should clarify I read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 31, 2007
cubekid
This is my first review here, so please let me know what you guys think!

Gintama is about Sakata Gintoki, who is a samurai in an age where samurai's have been deemed unnecessary by the aliens who have taken over. As far as I can tell, that's about as deep of a story this anime has. But you probably won't care, because this anime is downright hilarious. The characters are funny, the situations they get in are completely ridiculous, and all the references to other anime/manga they have make it all the more enjoyable.

--Story--
As I mentioned earlier, there really isn't too much of a story line. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 16, 2013
Raptor1221
Gintama to be symbolized is like a bottle of fine apple cider. Its not the hot cinnamon one you enjoy at winter time, but a bubbly and sweet drink enjoyed alongside some of the finest of your holiday wines. Gintama is sweet. With a cast of bubbling and energetic characters who lift spirits. They just make the show sizzle with satisfying pops. At first Gintama feels like a kiddy drink laughable and nothing more. As you slow down and enjoy Gintama it becomes something more. There is certain tartness mixed in, a hint of something more dramatic, this only materializes itself once read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 5, 2009
Touka
From parody to drama, to horror to comedy, to mystery to science fiction, to crime to adventure, and so on... Gintama combines as many elements as it can and throws them all together to create one absolutely fantastic series that's always on the top of it's game, and where disappointment is simply not an option.

Set during the 19th century in Japan, known as Edo at the time, aliens called Amanto have invaded and have ultimately taken over the world. They heavily influenced the day and age and implemented a sword ban on the 'samurai country' that leaves one carefree samurai in a dilemma. Gintama follows read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 13, 2008
holdenn
Gintama takes place in Edo(a.k.a Tokyo nowadays). Aliens who call themselves, the Amanto, have invaded Japan. In order to prevent another resistance of samurai's, they prohibited the use of swords. Only a handful of samurai's are remaining, Sakata Gintoki, a laid-back samurai who carries a wooden sword, is among these few. Together with Kagura, an extra-terrestrial girl with a monstrous strength, and Shinpachi, your average troubled adolescent, they'll take any kind of job as long as it fills their stomach and keeps them from getting kick out by the landlord.

Gintama is an action, comedy samurai anime with a sci-fi twist. You dont get to see read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 30, 2014
submerss
Well over the past 2 years of re watching this anime and reading the manga i have to say that this is by far my most favorite anime i have watched in my entire life from story to characters i have enjoyed ever minute of it.

To start off with the story always jumps around as this show has many different arcs but almost each and every story has always pulled me into the series and want to continue on to the next. from serious dramatic arcs to wacky and straight up parodies of other anime this show never seems to disappoint.

The art i would have read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 17, 2014
Play2X
Time for my first Review!
It should be obvious, but I'll say it nonetheless:
This is purely my opinion, agree or disagree as you like.

Well, right the first thing I have to say is excluded from that rule though.
Gintama is, without fanboyism, the absolutely best Anime there is.
Why is that, you wonder? Well, read on then.

Story: 9/10
Gintama has no consistent story, instead it has short arcs and standalones
(which I usually don't prefer) BUT each standalone episode and each arc in itself are hillarious.
Gintama can do whatever they like. Science Fiction Arcs, Comedy Arcs, Shonen Arcs, even more Comedy, Crossovers. But why are there just 9 instead of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 2, 2013
SheasonDuerulo
To be honest, I've got a strange sense of humor. I laugh to myself a lot (often alone). Most of the humor I like comes from the alt-comedy community, and is weird, bizarre, silly, nonsensical, or just way too out there for a lot of people. Rather than anime, I usually would find a comedy outlet in the lesser known stand-up of people like Paul F. Tompkins, Todd Glass, Mitch Hedburg, or network TV shows, whether it be sitcoms like 30 Rock, It's Always Sunny, Community, or sketch/variety shows such as Mr. Show, Kids in the Hall, or Comedy Bang! Bang! In the anime I read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 5, 2012
lovelyangel666
At first I was very skeptical towards the idea of watching this anime. For you see, to watch Gintama one must have a profound knowledge on Japanese pop-culture and language (as the show doesn't lack puns and references), none of which I have. Nevertheless, if you are one to appreciate a good laugh and a chaotic story line, Gintama is the anime for you.

My opinion on this show:

Story: 9/10

I can't help it but admire the author's ingenious approach towards not only fiction, history and adventures the characters come by, as well as the daily life of Ooedo inhabitants and all their small problems (e.g. the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 19, 2012
moseslionheart
It was lucky I had the opportunity to watch this anime and I thank you very much to the Sorachi Hideaki for making the work of "Gintama". I can say Gintama is a "Masterpiece" because the anime was successful from all genres ranging from Action, Comedy, Drama, Fantasy, Parody, History, Sci-fi, Samurai, Shounen.

Learn the history and remember it was quite difficult, but the Sorachi Hideaki find its own way so that people can learn is to create Gintama where almost all the characters here are historical in the Edo era. He added his imagination in the form of the Alien and modern times so that read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 23, 2013
shiiroyasha
This is my first review on MyAnimeList, so please bear with me! So, Gintama. The anime that my friend tried to get me into by showing an episode of a toilet scene. At first, I thought it was funny, but I still didn't get into it, since I thought it will still be boring. However, I was indeed very wrong. This is Gintama, a silver samurai who runs the Yorozuya.

STORY;
There isn't a storyline to this anime, since every anime has its own story to it. There are some really great arcs such as the Benizakura Arc and the Yoshiwara in Flames Arc. Gintama is a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 3, 2008
Aikoh
Japan, a nation which was once known as "samurai country", has been invaded by aliens called the Amanto who now pull the strings of the government. The samurai have been forced to become ordinary citizens and sheath their swords forever. Gintoki Sakata, a former samurai who follows his own code of "bushido", was once a fierce warrior who can now barely scrape together the change to purchase this week's Shonen Jump. What's a samurai to do?

Story
Gintama is not an anime that one should approach expecting a plot. It's an episodic action and adventure comedy that details the hilarious and ridiculous daily read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 9, 2009
Shiroyuki30
My first time writing a review so people,please be NICE :)

I started watching Gintama when my friend recommendate me too.She said it was a hilarious anime and people who did not laugh while watching Gintama,have no soul or sense of humor.I gave Gintama a chance and tried watching but i didn't expected myself to laugh non-stop at the jokes and i didn't expected myself to enjoy every second of the anime.

Although Gintama is focused on comedy,DO NOT put the tissue box away.There will be tear jerking and touching arcs which will make tears roll down your cheeks.

And DON'T forget the action which will be showed read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 6, 2009
unbe
In just 25 minutes, this anime will show you that even a simple fight between friends over a sukiyaki pot can be more engaging than some epic battle between planets and solar systems (while there's plenty of that too).

I always thought there would never be an anime series that would keep me entertained beyond 50 episodes, and after watching over a 1000 episodes of anime in total, I'm convinced that this is in fact true... except for Gintama.

Watch this anime but be prepared to laugh your stomach out.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 6, 2008
missind33
I don't really know how to start this off, but here it goes...

I first began this series out of complete boredom during the summer, but after wacthing the first couple episodes I thought to myself "

Story: The story is fantastic! Even though most of the episodes consits of crazy occurences that occurs with Gintoki and his friends (and shinsengumi), all the episodes are exciting and funny. But this series is not all fillers. There is a secret past with Gintoki and how he is connected to the previous war with the amatos (aliens) and samurais, and he encounters villians who try to harm to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 28, 2013
HATUL
This review covers all 265 episodes (no spoilers).

First thing I wanna say is that I've been watching Gintama way before it was cool and hardly anyone knew about it. I never imagined it would get this far in popularity.
I am a fan, but this is not going to be some fanboy review praising it to high heavens. I will criticize it for its shortcomings since nearly all of the reviews on here seem to overlook them while showering it with non-stop praise.

*Story*

Ok, lets start with the settings. The whole Samurai+alien thing as an alteration of history is actually pretty interesting. If it weren't read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 4, 2012
Lone_Warrior
few days ago i finished the first series of Gintama.i hope you enjoy my first English and review in MAL.

the scenario is about the time that aliens(named amanto)attacked the earth and japan.because their advanced weapons the humans army(that they have to fight them with sword and old type weapons) has crushed so fast and they lost the battle. but war was a little far from over.so a group of samurai gather and build an army. they called them Joui.in this army there were 4 heroes(takasugi-zura-gintoki and sakamoto)that they fought in the battle...our main character sakata gintoki because his skills in swordsmanship and his white clothes read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 27, 2013
Ripo
Gintama 10/10
How should I start by explaining what Gintama is…Just Do It! Do it do it doitdoitdoit…

Just do it? Asks the confused person who has never watched an episode of Gintama before.
I think this is going to be a long one. Yes, there is nothing average about this show, the main character is a sugar addict, who does anything for money, kinda criminal, fights with a wooden sword, a little perverted, is a bad influence to everyone around him, even you, yes you the audience, is sarcastic, had a terrifying childhood, although we don’t know too much about that, which isn’t much of a problem read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices