MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #663
Angel Beats!: Stairway to Heaven

Angel Beats!: Stairway to Heaven

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Angel Beats! Special
Japanese: エンジェルビーツ

Information

Type: Special
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Dec 22, 2010
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.881 (scored by 55267 users)
Ranked: #6632
Popularity: #253
Members: 83,520
Favorites: 172
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Jan 22, 2011
DangoSage
"I build these muscles solely to review animes!!!"
That had become my new catch phrase!
What? You say I got this muscles from fapping? Naawww.....

Angel Beats: Stairway to Heaven was supposedly be the SPECIAL episode for the series but there's nothing really special about it. Sure it's funny but it's like another ordinary day for the SSS day. Nothing new, just another plot by the evil Yurippe to find God. However this is in fact as interesting as finding Waldo and Carmen Santiago.

With all the main characters on high tension, I actually pity the voice actors having to scream their way through the whole episode (I hope read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 7, 2013
maddfish
Ok this is going to be an easy review to write. I loved it! It was so amazing, not necesarily moving but it was so funny. Imagine all of the angel beats characters high on drugs and thats basicaly what this is. I laughed so hard I cried. Theres no point in doing the numbers thing this time everything was a 10. The story was great the art was the same angel beats type stuff the characters met their full potential and it is very enjoyable. Once again you need to watch the show first or else you wont understand what they are doing and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 22, 2010
Archaeon
DVDs and BRDs are the lifeblood of the anime industry, and there's many a hook that's used to make us part with our hard earned cash. One of these methods is the offer the so-called "unaired episode", which is essentially nothing more than a single episode OVA which can act as an addendum to the main story, provide closure to certain plot threads, allow for a new perspective on certain characters, or simply give the viewer something fun to watch.

This little addition to Angel Beats went with the latter method, but is it really playing to the strengths of the series by doing this?

The episode read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 22, 2010
iZomgX3
To begin with... It's just an Angel Beats! OVA, so its simply an alteration of parts of the original.
This really has no real meaning to the actual series or is any step closer to their goal.
It's much like a Lucky Star moment that's just for fun.
This is just brief as it is one episode.
The music is still the same as it was before, except the ending was played... backwards (just the video was)

I personally enjoyed it because it really made me laugh and it was something different from the original series, as I also love the character design from Angel Beats!.
I didn't like some parts read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 21, 2012
_Tako_
Special episode of Angel Beats! Although this isn't part of the main story, it's still worth the watch.

Story: Interesting enough story and plot, As usual, the twists are really funny and it makes you want to watch this again and again.

Art: As usual, the art was done very well and there isn't much to complain about.

Sound: Sounds are put in appropriate moments that suit the situation, making the show even better. Nothing much to say about the opening and ending as its the same as the main story.

Character: Same characters with really interesting funny sides to them. Nothing much to comment about.

Enjoyment: This episode in read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 18, 2013
Playcool
I watched this OVA a couple of hours after I had finish Angel Beats!, so I was like desperate to see a bit more of the characters, because I really liked how unique and diverse they were!!
I would obviously prefer a story that happened after the 13 episodes, and that could in the end give a better closure... if you plan to see this OVA for that, you can forget about it.
This episode passes in between episodes 4-5 or 5-6, so with that in mind, you will not get the closure you want. Instead, if you really liked the characters and the comedy read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 28, 2012
charlegnarle
As an OVA that I was sure would not add to the series whatsoever, I came into this expecting nothing more than a slapstick comedy with the occasional hilarious joke that would make me fall out of my seat laughing. And that is exactly what I got.

With all of the characters at “High Tension,” all of the main characters are screaming, yelling, and doing other assorted fast-paced things in an attempt to get Angel to bring them to God. SPOILERS: They do not find God. But really, why would you have the show basically end on an OVA?

This was immensely entertaining and, as I said read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 18, 2013
KlinsK
I just finished Angel Beats! : Stairway to Heaven, and i was wondering how to write my review... But i remembered that I builded all these muscles for that !!
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 22, 2010
ChaosPaladin
The Angel Beats's OVA... I've to say I was expecting something more serious...

It's basically a Spin-Off Episode, with nothing to add to the Main Plot.

In the Angel Beats's timeline, I guess in the middle of Episode 5 or 6, since some events not happened yet.

Anyway, to the Episode: it's a new operation from the S.S.S. Brigade to make the Tenshi tell where's God.

Some characters have important plot in the OVA, like Hinata, and specially Shinna in the confrontation with the Tenshi (LOL).

In the end was a good episode, and I've to say it's make me laugh in some parts. But yet, was totally different that read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 6, 2012
Arch-Defender
So this is a special episode that was omitted from the original run of the series and they released it as an independent entity, fair enough, I always welcome new material to a good series (good series meaning the original series was rated 7/10 on my list). But the question remains, what have we got here? A stand alone story obviously, but was it worth putting it out there? The answer in my case is no; while it had its charms I can’t really see it as being lucrative and it’s a good thing they included it as a bonus in the DVDs/BDs because, this, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 22, 2011
Viking1337
Oh Holy Shit!
I haven't laght this much since I watched the original anime. This special or OVA what you want to call it is not really related the story but to find God, but watch for yourself.

The only thing that was not as good as the anime was the story since it was pretty wierd but even so it was awfully funny.

The art haven't changed so it is still awesome.

I think the voice actors had a lot of fun doing this episode since it is hyperactive as hell, but the music was nothing new, even so the music and voice acting is great.

The read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices