Ranked #2336

Supernatural The Animation

Alternative Titles

Japanese: スーパーナチュラル・ザ・アニメーション


Type: OVA
Episodes: 22
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Feb 23, 2011 to Apr 27, 2011
Producers: Madhouse, Warner Bros.L
Source: Unknown
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company


Score: 7.261 (scored by 4,198 users)
Ranked: #23362
Popularity: #1991
Members: 15,082
Favorites: 29
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Nov 3, 2015
I quite enjoyed this anime adaptation of the Supernatural series. The series take place over the span of the first two seasons of the original show, including animated remakes of fan-favourite episodes as well as completely new episodes. There were some episodes, such as 'Moonlight' that I found didn't quite work as well, but this could be excused by the difference in episode length (the original series being 40 minute episodes compared with the animated 20 minute episodes).
Jared was the voice of Sam for all 22 episodes of the series, however Jensen only voiced Dean in the final two episodes. Despite this, I found read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 18, 2011
I watched the first episode after following progress and being excited about an anime version of my favorite TV show for a very long time. I was not disappointed. Even though it starts off rather different from the show it still feels very similar. The first episode still gives us the basics of the plot, Mary Winchester was killed by the yellow eyed demon when Sam was only 6 months old. But this is seen as a dream by Sam in the Impala on their way to a case (later Sam also sees a dream of Jessica's death). The first episode is an adaptation of read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 13, 2015
As many of you are already well-aware, Supernatural is one hell of a series and for those who know it, seen it, love it I believe the animation is also worth seeing. But for the sake of a fair review, I'll try not to compare it (-much-I do compare it) with the original series.

So, the story is definitely interesting. Two brothers hunting down all kinds of monsters thought to be just fictions of mythology and legends does sound appealing. The series includes remakes of the original episodes and anime-only episodes, too. As far as the latter is concerned, I believe they fitted with the original read more
I found this review Helpful
May 12, 2011
Before starting, I should note that I am a fan of the TV series, but I will review the anime as a standalone piece. I will put myself in the shoes of someone, who has never heard of Supernatural and evaluate its merits and faults from there.

Story: 7/10
The story is simple and easy to follow. It is about Sam and Dean, two brothers who hunt demons and evil spirits. Most of the episodes are following the “monster of the week” formula… but there is a general plotline that advances slowly throughout the series. There is also a main villain and the Winchester brothers have a read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 19, 2014
Truthfully if your a fan of the series don't bother. Sure it sounds like it'd be good But with Jared Padalecki being the only one to reprise his role it was a disappointment. If Jensen Ackles (Who was only in the last two) and the rest of the cast had reprised their roles as well maybe I could have actually been able to stomach a full episode. Had they done this it could have made for something wonderful. But the animation for Sam was pretty much spot on. But Dean lacked a lot to be desired.

Non fans wouldn't understand why fans would be confused read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 19, 2011
The plot seems okay. How Mary Winchester died is still the same as it was in the original series, but it wasn't as detailed. The flashbacks that Sam had near the beginning of episode 1 made me go "What?" once or twice, so I had to rewatch that scene a couple of times before I went "Oh... Okay".

The anime desperately tries to have the same feel as the original series. Honestly, it did have the same feel, but there was just something lacking.

ART: 3
The character designs are simply pathetic, it's too over-shaded, the characters seemed poorly planned out. read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 27, 2012
This is a creepy show. Having not seen the live-action show before, I don’t know if it does justice to the show or not but I have to say, I really like it any way and it does make me want to see the original show. The episodes all have to do with someone dying in a gruesome way, then the brothers’ end up being at the right place at the right time. Each show is its own storyline without many things to link them together. The story is slow, and not really action orientated. Many of the shows act more like detective shows where read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 15, 2011
This show is a joke.

Therefore, it is best to just relax, lean back, and watch it flounder. If you're a fan of the original Supernatural, take this as a chance to take the piss out of it. Because it's hilarious. If you take it seriously, you'll be very disappointed.
I found this review Helpful
Apr 25, 2011
I saw the first episode of Supernatural Animation, and it was nothing but a chineese stupidity. In the end of the animation, you can hear the song of Kansas- Carry on my wayward son, executed by an unknown and probably untalented artist.. he literally killed this wonderful song. I m a big fan of Supernatural and i think this animation serie is pointless.. It underestimates the tv serie Supernatural , and its horrible. Personally i will stick @ tv series Supernatural which i watch it for years... i reccomend you to do the same..
I found this review Helpful
Aug 7, 2012
"If there's something strange, in the neighborhood, who you gonna call?"

Bad news everyone, your parents lied to you (it's OK, mine did too). The Boogeyman does exist, there are things that go bump in the night, and yes, there probably was a monster living in your closet when you were a kid. No worries though, for when the bumps in the night start to get a little louder (don't get out of the car you fool!), you've got somebody watching your back to send the creatures of the night back to their holes in the ground. Sam and Dean Winchester, brothers who read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 25, 2012
Well.. This is my first review. Sorry if I lose your time. I just finished Supernatural The Animation and felt like writing a review about it. It is from these kind of series that you can't say whether it is good or not from seeing only the first episode.

STORY - 8 (Very Good)
To begin with, I should say that the plot surprised me a little bit because I had heard about it from the original TV series and expected to see demons, monsters and bloody things everywhere (which does not bother me anyway). It was far better than this, though. But there is something read more
I found this review Helpful
May 25, 2014
This anime. THIS anime.

I am a huge fan of the Supernatural TV show, I Love it with all my heart so imagine my delight when i found out that there was an anime!

"why does no one ever talk about this?" i though as i bought the DVD. Then i watched the bloody thing and i knew why.

the Anime follows the plot of the first two seasons of the CW show and as storys go its great and Dean and Sam aew two really good character, well in the TV show. The anime trys to get their character right but fails. Sam is shown to read more
I found this review Helpful