MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #1955
Supernatural The Animation

Supernatural The Animation

Alternative Titles

Japanese: スーパーナチュラル・ザ・アニメーション

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 22
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Feb 23, 2011 to Apr 27, 2011
Producers: Madhouse, Warner Bros.L
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.331 (scored by 3319 users)
Ranked: #19552
Popularity: #1744
Members: 12,168
Favorites: 25
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
May 12, 2011
zealot7
Before starting, I should note that I am a fan of the TV series, but I will review the anime as a standalone piece. I will put myself in the shoes of someone, who has never heard of Supernatural and evaluate its merits and faults from there.

Story: 7/10
The story is simple and easy to follow. It is about Sam and Dean, two brothers who hunt demons and evil spirits. Most of the episodes are following the “monster of the week” formula… but there is a general plotline that advances slowly throughout the series. There is also a main villain and the Winchester brothers have a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 18, 2011
harmony_kh_kairi
I watched the first episode after following progress and being excited about an anime version of my favorite TV show for a very long time. I was not disappointed. Even though it starts off rather different from the show it still feels very similar. The first episode still gives us the basics of the plot, Mary Winchester was killed by the yellow eyed demon when Sam was only 6 months old. But this is seen as a dream by Sam in the Impala on their way to a case (later Sam also sees a dream of Jessica's death). The first episode is an adaptation of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 27, 2012
angelsreview
This is a creepy show. Having not seen the live-action show before, I don’t know if it does justice to the show or not but I have to say, I really like it any way and it does make me want to see the original show. The episodes all have to do with someone dying in a gruesome way, then the brothers’ end up being at the right place at the right time. Each show is its own storyline without many things to link them together. The story is slow, and not really action orientated. Many of the shows act more like detective shows where read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 19, 2014
Mew1Mokuba-Akari
Truthfully if your a fan of the series don't bother. Sure it sounds like it'd be good But with Jared Padalecki being the only one to reprise his role it was a disappointment. If Jensen Ackles (Who was only in the last two) and the rest of the cast had reprised their roles as well maybe I could have actually been able to stomach a full episode. Had they done this it could have made for something wonderful. But the animation for Sam was pretty much spot on. But Dean lacked a lot to be desired.

Non fans wouldn't understand why fans would be confused read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 7, 2012
itsthatguy
"If there's something strange, in the neighborhood, who you gonna call?"

Bad news everyone, your parents lied to you (it's OK, mine did too). The Boogeyman does exist, there are things that go bump in the night, and yes, there probably was a monster living in your closet when you were a kid. No worries though, for when the bumps in the night start to get a little louder (don't get out of the car you fool!), you've got somebody watching your back to send the creatures of the night back to their holes in the ground. Sam and Dean Winchester, brothers who read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 19, 2011
musicvidnut96
STORY: 4
The plot seems okay. How Mary Winchester died is still the same as it was in the original series, but it wasn't as detailed. The flashbacks that Sam had near the beginning of episode 1 made me go "What?" once or twice, so I had to rewatch that scene a couple of times before I went "Oh... Okay".

The anime desperately tries to have the same feel as the original series. Honestly, it did have the same feel, but there was just something lacking.

ART: 3
The character designs are simply pathetic, it's too over-shaded, the characters seemed poorly planned out. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 15, 2011
luffyluffy
This show is a joke.

Therefore, it is best to just relax, lean back, and watch it flounder. If you're a fan of the original Supernatural, take this as a chance to take the piss out of it. Because it's hilarious. If you take it seriously, you'll be very disappointed.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 25, 2012
christian_otaku
Well.. This is my first review. Sorry if I lose your time. I just finished Supernatural The Animation and felt like writing a review about it. It is from these kind of series that you can't say whether it is good or not from seeing only the first episode.

STORY - 8 (Very Good)
To begin with, I should say that the plot surprised me a little bit because I had heard about it from the original TV series and expected to see demons, monsters and bloody things everywhere (which does not bother me anyway). It was far better than this, though. But there is something read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 25, 2011
jimakossoad
I saw the first episode of Supernatural Animation, and it was nothing but a chineese stupidity. In the end of the animation, you can hear the song of Kansas- Carry on my wayward son, executed by an unknown and probably untalented artist.. he literally killed this wonderful song. I m a big fan of Supernatural and i think this animation serie is pointless.. It underestimates the tv serie Supernatural , and its horrible. Personally i will stick @ tv series Supernatural which i watch it for years... i reccomend you to do the same..
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 25, 2014
BBCotaku
This anime. THIS anime.

I am a huge fan of the Supernatural TV show, I Love it with all my heart so imagine my delight when i found out that there was an anime!

"why does no one ever talk about this?" i though as i bought the DVD. Then i watched the bloody thing and i knew why.

the Anime follows the plot of the first two seasons of the CW show and as storys go its great and Dean and Sam aew two really good character, well in the TV show. The anime trys to get their character right but fails. Sam is shown to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices