MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #392
Shiki

Shiki

Alternative Titles

English: Shiki
Synonyms: Corpse Demon
Japanese: 屍鬼

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 22
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 9, 2010 to Dec 31, 2010
Duration: 22 min. per episode
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.111 (scored by 71597 users)
Ranked: #3922
Popularity: #123
Members: 145,578
Favorites: 2,983
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Jul 19, 2014
Fear_the_Reefer
Something strange has been going on in the quaint village of Sotoba... Ever since those wealthy outsiders built their lavish mansion at the top of Kanemasa Hill, there has been a succession of mysterious deaths... People of all ages will become lethargic and anti-social, refuse to go to the doctor, and then die after only a few days... Could it be an epidemic? Some new disease? And are the rumors true that the dead are still walking around?

Those newcomers are certainly strange, and Sotoba does have ancient legends about Okomiyagi, or the dead coming back to life... read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 2, 2014
Anthony_DiGrande
If you want vampires done right then this is the show for you.

The story of Shiki takes place in a rural Japanese village called Sotoba that the only thing the residents do is gossip. New residents called the Kirishiki's moved into town and from then on mysterious deaths occur throughout the town and there are reports of the dead coming back to life. The one that suffers the most because of this is Toshio Ozaki, the doctor of Sotoba, because he wants to know why these mysterious murders have been happening. He later believes that the cause of the deaths are something more supernatural and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 29, 2014
Tiri
Alright, this is my first time with a review so bear with me!

Story: 8
Shiki did pretty well in this category. It was refreshing to watch a vampire story that didn't make you want to become one. They went back to the old school myths, where vampires can't be killed unless you put a stake through their heart, and they fear things like relics and crosses. They were actually the bad guys. There are already a lot of great romanticized vampire stories out there, so it's really nice to find the opposite.

The episodes were well paced, and the anime as a whole did a great job read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 3, 2014
momiji-no-kimi
Heya~

Story: 6/10
"Who's the real evil?" Who cares? It seemed pretty black and white to me logically. (Personally: If you're dead, stay dead.) I didn't feel any sympathy for either side. So I didn't end up contemplating life. Also I already knew humans are terrible. I guess a reminder didn't hurt? (Concept was good enough for bonus points in story rating. But, mainly, the endless blood showers ♥)

Art: 3/10
I still remember when my brain just said, "Deal with it, it's episode 17 already." The drawing style is unique but I didn't find it beautiful, it was bizarre. I guess it suits how messed up the anime read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 1, 2011
Archaeon
Vampires have been enjoying quite a renaissance in Western media lately, mainly because of the advent of Twilight. In anime however, tales of bloodsuckers have been pretty constant over the years, but like the West there has been an increase in the number of stories involving the children of the night. The only problem is, they all seem to romanticise vampires by giving them kind, gentle personalities, good looks, a reluctance to drink human blood, or some other hook to make the viewer believe that creatures who look on humans as food can be considered friendly.

And then Shiki comes along and blows that whole idea read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 6, 2014
blueangel1986
Hello to you all!!

This the my first attempt a writing a review, so I hope it's not too bad.

Let's get this going. Well Shiki is quite the good anime, i didn't read the light novels so i'm not going to make comparisons there.

In terms of story I have to say that it has a very nice plot, different from most vampire stories that will make you think about where humanity can go and how far can to stretch your soul into to doing the "right thing". For me it does have some pacing problems but it doesn't take merit from the story.

The art is great read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 3, 2010
Flipside101
I've seen my fair share of vampire anime; and I have to say, it was under vast number of genres, as well as themes. Shiki however, pulls you back in to what the traditional myth of vampires; added to it that it's a thriller, it will move anyone who's a vampire fan.


Story: 10
Compared to many other vampire themed animes, such as Blood+, Rosario + Vampire, Vampire Knight, and Trinity blood; this anime comes back to the roots of vampires and their myths. In this anime a town is plagued with death with no reasonable explanation; though thought of a possible epidemic, Doctor Ozaki, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 27, 2014
KD7BWB
OK Lion Tamers, we'll look at "Shiki"!

I decided to give this thing a look. And I think most people, who like suspense thrillers, might actually go for this thing.

I am usually quite picky about Vampire offerings, because people have done this thing to death (pun intended). More importantly, while almost every authorship has done Vampire stories (comics, novels, plays, movies, and now anime), what is worse is the slow evolution from the original rules for Vampires; a la Bram Stoker- to something where the original idea has begun to evolve into a completely new beast.

While even I have created a new type of Vampire from read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 25, 2014
weevil1974
"Onegai", let me first ask for your indulgence if my writing it's not as accurate as I'd want; English is not my first language...
Bear in your mind that you may find some SPOILERS in this review!!!
I just wanna talk about the characters. I've never found that many bunch of numbskulls in all the time I've watched animes.

1. If you Know there are shiki/vampires in your village, make you a favor and don't go out at night; if you do, knowing that, carry at least with you some countermeasures like charms, crosses, Buddhas or whatever thing you may think that works against them.

2. Vampires read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 11, 2012
thenhk
I was directed to Shiki by a fellow anime fan who, like me, enjoyed more horror based anime. He insisted that Shiki was superior to shows like Another or Higurashi, since it created "characters you cared about".

Having now watched it, I am wondering what he was smoking.

I'll go through each aspect individually. Tharrrrr be spoilers (at least in the plot section), so read at your own risk.

Art = 5
I'm torn on this one. On the one hand, the backgrounds are great. It looks like a small village. They are beautiful, though a bit colourful at times for an anime which is supposed to be "dark". read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 2, 2011
Lindle
Shiki, or Corpse Demon, is effectively the story of a village in the middle of nowhere being subjected to a mysterious string of unexplainable deaths. If you want to watch this anime and go into it 100% spoiler-free, even though this is not much of a spoiler at all, look away now.

The deaths are, of course, being caused by vampires. While they take their sweet time coming out and saying it, it's pretty obvious from a really early stage. But don't tell any of the characters that, because they don't half take their sweet time working it out. Over half the story is dedicated to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 18, 2014
Mind-freak
Death is terrible for anyone. Young or old, good or evil, it’s all the same. Death is impartial. There is no especially terrible death. That’s why death is so fearsome. Your deeds, your age, your personality, your wealth, your beauty: they are all meaningless in the face of death.

Shiki is a very hard series to talk about without spoilers. It’s a show that you really need to see for yourself. Still, I consider this to be the best show to have debuted during the past half year, so I’ll at least try to vaguely explain why I consider it read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 14, 2010
AngelRaf
This is my first review.I'm going to write it because so much people are talking bad about Shiki.But I think Shiki is awsome.It's unique,it has a great storyline.I enjoy watching it !

Story: 10
The story takes place in a village named Sotoba.Sotoba is a quite and peaceful village,till the chain of bizarre deaths started to occur.Nobody knows the reason but more and more people are dying.Toshio Ozaki is the hospital dean and he suspects an epidemic. But what first starts as an epidemic, turns out to be much more. The first episodes might be boring.I didn't really enjoy watching them but later the show really gets read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 10, 2014
chibislayslemons
Finally, a vampire anime with a deeper story and no romancy c**p (I'm talking to you, Vampire Knight).

Story: 8
While watching Shiki, the viewers are asked a question: Is it ok to kill in order to survive? I'd say - no. But does it make an interesting story? Yes. Yes it does.
The only problem I had with it was the pacing, since it took almost 10 episodes for things to start happening.
Also, time skips are used in the majority of the episodes. The episode shows you scenes from, for example, Sept. 23, then skips to Sept. 27, only to go back to Sept 23 and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 4, 2014
AviJii
Shiki was my first anime that is all about vampires and werewolves. If you are a vampire story enthusiast then you will like this one. Ja! Vampire enthusiast or not read my simple review so you can get an idea on how did I finish this one even though I am not into vampire stories.

Maybe at first you will hesitate to watch this one and I admit that I am one of them but for some reason I managed to finish the story and leave me "Amazed" and "Satisfied"

Ja! Let's start this one.

Art 7/10 : Art for location is really nice. Simple and very read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 17, 2014
swordfish1390
Dracula, Twilight: We all know what the vampire genre consists of. Blood sucking monsters that turn into bats. Shiki, however, is a little bit different. Yes, people suck blood, but it’s more than that.

Today, a review of the critically acclaimed anime, Shiki, another entry into the vampire genre.

-Story & Characters-
Taking place in the fictional village of Sotoba, our story features two protagonists: Natsuno Yuuki, a high school student who hates living in the sticks, and Toshio Ozaki, the local doctor. A mysterious string of deaths have been occurring, and each victim has one thing in common: A bit wound on a part of their read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 20, 2013
CarolineJMZ
I thought it's a mediocre story after watching first 9 episodes and skipped right to the last episode. And later I completed the rest of the series, and I'm so glad that I did. I would give the first half 7 out of 10, and the second half 9 out of 10.

Story/Ideology and Characters

The first half is simply story telling, and some characters of the episodes are pretty immature, like Megumi or Masao (Honestly, this guy is one of the most stupid characters in the series, although he's a tragedy himself.) The second half brought into light many interesting issues. Like how people are read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 23, 2011
JusticeUndone
Until maybe a decade ago vampire stories were at their prime. I, as well, used to be a big fan of such stories. In my eyes, those tales were thrilling, grasping me the whole way through and leaving me mostly utterly terrified. After hundreds of movies, books and tv series based on the vampire myth,though, vampires started to lose their original shine. They were just so overused that one could easily stop caring anymore. If anyone of you came asking me what I believed a vampire was I’m not quite sure of what my answer would be. Can they die from sunlight or do they read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 21, 2010
AkatsukigirlTy
As with all of my other reviews I decided to write a review about the anime Shiki because I found it to be really enjoyable (so far) and wanted to spread some of the love by hopefully persuading people to try it out for themselves! In my review I will talk about what I find to be good about the show and which aspects could do with some improvement.

Story: 10
I’ve watched a total of 16 out of 22 episodes of the show and have so far loved every single episode of it! Vampires singling out a small remote town and picking off each of the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 5, 2014
joelislol
Please be sensible enough to read the whole review before up- or downvoting because of the relatively low score.

Note: this review covers both the main series and it's special episodes. Spoilers may be included.

Do you remember the time when vampires where these dangerous and terrifying creatures of the night? Or are you an unfortunate soul like me who's last few watched works of entertainment with vampires had this sweet and "glittery" tone to them? If you belong in the first category bless you. If you are in the latter, you may just want to pay attention to what I'm about to say read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices