Ranked #464


Alternative Titles

English: Shiki
Synonyms: Corpse Demon
Japanese: 屍鬼


Type: TV
Episodes: 22
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 9, 2010 to Dec 31, 2010
Premiered: Summer 2010
Broadcast: Unknown
Source: Novel
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company


Score: 8.051 (scored by 91,237 users)
Ranked: #4642
Popularity: #127
Members: 189,253
Favorites: 3,707
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Nov 25, 2015
The next time you invite someone to your house, do take care for THEY may be IT.
They don't come uninvited but if THEY do come, they come during the night and if you are done in then you'll become addicted to it so much that you won't be able to talk about it.
And one more thing DO NOT GOOGLE the word 'Shiki' before you watch the series because it will spoil the fun.

In the course of the series, i couldn't even guess why the serial deaths were happening nor could i even get a gist of it. Who would've thought that IT would be used read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 12, 2015
Shiki had such an awesome premise, however, from my perspective it fails to do that premise any justice. I will try my best to give a feel for the story, spoiler free of course. The story and artwork just weren't my cup of tea, but I understand some might enjoy this type of story / cast so I will attempt to avoid outright trolling.

I was very disappointed in the story for a lot of reasons. It progresses painfully slow, and the character development eventually drops just about everyone in the 'gray area' between good and bad. So basically by the time the climax comes read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 23, 2015
While Shiki is definitely not the best thriller anime out there, I wouldn't go as far as saying it is a complete waste of time.

Despite the fact that the story is not really original (vampires and werewolves, yeah), it still manages to not be a copy/paste of others fictions (at least from the ones I know). The rule for people to "rise" (aka becoming a shiki) is actually a bit different from what you can usually see, and makes the plot more interesting.
Also, the characters are not that original either (or unforgivable), but they still manage to make the view more enjoyable. The read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 21, 2015
Shiki easily became one of my all-time favorite anime. Why? Because of the story! I watched SHiki without having read anything about it at all. I have no prior knowledge to what it was about. So I dove in and watched, asking myself so many questions. What is this about? What's going on int hat village? At first I honestly though it was about zombie or something like that. Corpses rising from the grave. Then it became apparent.

Story: 10/10

I absolutely love the story and it's pace. It's enthralling. It's one of those stories that put you to think (well if you don't already know better), read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 1, 2011
Vampires have been enjoying quite a renaissance in Western media lately, mainly because of the advent of Twilight. In anime however, tales of bloodsuckers have been pretty constant over the years, but like the West there has been an increase in the number of stories involving the children of the night. The only problem is, they all seem to romanticise vampires by giving them kind, gentle personalities, good looks, a reluctance to drink human blood, or some other hook to make the viewer believe that creatures who look on humans as food can be considered friendly.

And then Shiki comes along and blows that whole idea read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 3, 2014

Story: 6/10
"Who's the real evil?" Who cares? It seemed pretty black and white to me logically. (Personally: If you're dead, stay dead.) I didn't feel any sympathy for either side. So I didn't end up contemplating life. Also I already knew humans are terrible. I guess a reminder didn't hurt? (Concept was good enough for bonus points in story rating. But, mainly, the endless blood showers ♥)

Art: 3/10
I still remember when my brain just said, "Deal with it, it's episode 17 already." The drawing style is unique but I didn't find it beautiful, it was bizarre. I guess it suits how messed up the anime read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 29, 2014
Alright, this is my first time with a review so bear with me!

Story: 8
Shiki did pretty well in this category. It was refreshing to watch a vampire story that didn't make you want to become one. They went back to the old school myths, where vampires can't be killed unless you put a stake through their heart, and they fear things like relics and crosses. They were actually the bad guys. There are already a lot of great romanticized vampire stories out there, so it's really nice to find the opposite.

The episodes were well paced, and the anime as a whole did a great job read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 21, 2015
NOTE: I write this review out of sheer enthusiasm for the series, which I watched pretty recently and eventually became one of my favourites.

Story: 7
Vampires try to take over an entire village. OK.
Not an original story taking into account the trend back then, but still the evolution of it tried to make it one. The story is not just gore or about how cool vampires are, but about humans and vamps try to eliminate each other.

Well, try and think how possible would be for you to convince your fellow humans that monsters exist in order to save yourself as well as them. Tricky read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 19, 2014
Something strange has been going on in the quaint village of Sotoba... Ever since those wealthy outsiders built their lavish mansion at the top of Kanemasa Hill, there has been a succession of mysterious deaths... People of all ages will become lethargic and anti-social, refuse to go to the doctor, and then die after only a few days... Could it be an epidemic? Some new disease? And are the rumors true that the dead are still walking around?

Those newcomers are certainly strange, and Sotoba does have ancient legends about Okomiyagi, or the dead coming back to life... read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 3, 2010
I've seen my fair share of vampire anime; and I have to say, it was under vast number of genres, as well as themes. Shiki however, pulls you back in to what the traditional myth of vampires; added to it that it's a thriller, it will move anyone who's a vampire fan.

Story: 10
Compared to many other vampire themed animes, such as Blood+, Rosario + Vampire, Vampire Knight, and Trinity blood; this anime comes back to the roots of vampires and their myths. In this anime a town is plagued with death with no reasonable explanation; though thought of a possible epidemic, Doctor Ozaki, read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 2, 2014
If you want vampires done right then this is the show for you.

The story of Shiki takes place in a rural Japanese village called Sotoba that the only thing the residents do is gossip. New residents called the Kirishiki's moved into town and from then on mysterious deaths occur throughout the town and there are reports of the dead coming back to life. The one that suffers the most because of this is Toshio Ozaki, the doctor of Sotoba, because he wants to know why these mysterious murders have been happening. He later believes that the cause of the deaths are something more supernatural and read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 31, 2015
“Monsters are real, and ghosts are real too. They live inside us, and sometimes, they win.”
-Stephen King

Happy Halloween Everyone! To celebrate this Holiday of cavities, scaring and little children, I will open with a quaint little question.

…What do you fear? Is it the creature under your bed you know is ready to tear you apart, or glaring red eyes looking directly at you through the window, in the pitch black of the night, begging… pleading… that you let them in?

To start off the day, we will take a look at “Shiki,” (literally Corpse Demon) which basically pays homage to all classic vampire stories. read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 6, 2015

I was really suprised with Shiki, when the anime started they introduced their first character, Shimizu Megumi. She was complaining about how much she hated the town and wanted to leave and we got to see the one she was in love with.
This beginning made me feel like we where heading down a Twilight-like road, but then the anime suprised me.
Megumi who i assumed the main character in the beginning, died an early dead and then the real main character was introduced, Ozaki Toshio.
Toshio is an doctor who tries to help the town from what everyone thinks is an 'epidemic'. Slowly Toshio read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 16, 2015
Based off the light novel written by Fuyumi Ono in 1998. Shiki is not your typical vampire themes, it is a rare breed of an anime. If we discuss about vampire in anime, many words that comes out. The phrases that often comes out are romance (Rosario to Vampire etc) , and action (Hellsing and Trinity Blood) Many vampire anime got mixed up by those set-up, while Shiki did a different thing than the others. Shiki throws a tons of mystery to the plot, the story itself is more focused to the plot and less fillers. The story set-up in Sotoba. A village with a read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 5, 2015
For me, all 'straight' vampire stories are thinly veiled metaphors for the rise of capitalism. And by 'straight' I mean when the genre is definitively vampire and not romance with some vampire window-dressing. Shiki is a classic vampire tale, which is very much about the clash of one mode of life being violently threatened and subsumed by another. In this case, the location is not Transylvania or Louisiana but an isolated, small, backwater town in Japan. What makes Shiki so interesting to me is that it does it's very best to play things out over a long period time in as 'realistic' a way as read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 18, 2014
Death is terrible for anyone. Young or old, good or evil, it’s all the same. Death is impartial. There is no especially terrible death. That’s why death is so fearsome. Your deeds, your age, your personality, your wealth, your beauty: they are all meaningless in the face of death.

Shiki is a very hard series to talk about without spoilers. It’s a show that you really need to see for yourself. Still, I consider this to be the best show to have debuted during the past half year, so I’ll at least try to vaguely explain why I consider it read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 23, 2015
(This is a spoiler-free review adapted for this site)

[Synopsis]: In the quiet village of Sotoba, what began as a handful of unusual deaths grows into a what appears to be a full on epidemic as the villagers grow sick and die shortly after. Ozaki Toshio (Ookawa, Tooru), the head of the hospital in Sotoba, attempts to save the villagers case-by-case but can’t seem to match their symptoms to any preexisting condition and as he fails repeatedly he begins to suspect that their illnesses may be the product of something other than an epidemic. Yuuki Natsuno (Uchiyama, Kouki), one of many students in Sotoba, discovers that read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 20, 2015
Since I watched this anime in chunks over the course of a little more than a month, take this review with a grain of salt... I may have to watch it over again to experience the full effect of the show.

Story - 9/10
Contrary to what many people seem to say, I enjoyed the slow pacing of the first part of Shiki (from what I can remember of it). It set an atmosphere surprisingly similar to that of a Slice-of-Life anime, which made the transitions from the beginning to the middle and from the middle to the end quite jarring. The concept of vampires, while nothing read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 19, 2015
Shiki originally came out during a time which vampire related media was on somewhat of an upswing content as a result of a certain novel/film series that was maligned by pretty much everyone who wasn't 13 or under female. It received much praise for going against the trend set by the accursed franchise by presenting a more classic take on vampire lore with an attempt to weave in some questions regarding the ethics of taking lives. That means premise-wise you can safely rest assured knowing at least what Shiki has to offer is more Salem's Lot with Higurashi vibes and less Vampire Knight or Twilight.

The read more
I found this review Helpful
May 23, 2015
The Story of Shiki essentially focuses on this isolated community living in this isolated town and one day a new family moves and right after that strange things start to happen...One by one people are dying from a strange illness and nobody seems to know why?..As if that was not the only problem other strange stuff start to occur..People acting strangely...Some of them go missing...quieting there jobs...moving away with no explanation and the strangest of them all...those who have died are supposedly coming back to life but not as they were once were.

The story itself is pretty much what i described above without going into read more
I found this review Helpful