MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #314
Shiki

Shiki

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Corpse Demon
Japanese: 屍鬼

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 22
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 9, 2010 to Dec 31, 2010
Duration: 22 min. per episode
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.171 (scored by 55858 users)
Ranked: #3142
Popularity: #122
Members: 111,652
Favorites: 2,502
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Jan 1, 2011
Archaeon
Vampires have been enjoying quite a renaissance in Western media lately, mainly because of the advent of Twilight. In anime however, tales of bloodsuckers have been pretty constant over the years, but like the West there has been an increase in the number of stories involving the children of the night. The only problem is, they all seem to romanticise vampires by giving them kind, gentle personalities, good looks, a reluctance to drink human blood, or some other hook to make the viewer believe that creatures who look on humans as food can be considered friendly.

And then Shiki comes along and blows that whole idea read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 18, 2014
Mind-freak
Death is terrible for anyone. Young or old, good or evil, it’s all the same. Death is impartial. There is no especially terrible death. That’s why death is so fearsome. Your deeds, your age, your personality, your wealth, your beauty: they are all meaningless in the face of death.

Shiki is a very hard series to talk about without spoilers. It’s a show that you really need to see for yourself. Still, I consider this to be the best show to have debuted during the past half year, so I’ll at least try to vaguely explain why I consider it read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 3, 2010
Flipside101
I've seen my fair share of vampire anime; and I have to say, it was under vast number of genres, as well as themes. Shiki however, pulls you back in to what the traditional myth of vampires; added to it that it's a thriller, it will move anyone who's a vampire fan.


Story: 10
Compared to many other vampire themed animes, such as Blood+, Rosario + Vampire, Vampire Knight, and Trinity blood; this anime comes back to the roots of vampires and their myths. In this anime a town is plagued with death with no reasonable explanation; though thought of a possible epidemic, Doctor Ozaki, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 7, 2014
CinnamonSwirls
We're travelling back to the past, when vampires were fearsome, blood-thirsty creatures who didn't sparkle. These vamps are the real deal, folks. This anime truly does them justice.

Story:

So, the story starts off in a peaceful, isolated village, surrounded by a large forest of trees. One day, the bodies of three people are found, dead, and after that death was a normal occurrence each and everyday. As the population decreased rapidly, the village doctor begins to think it may be an epidemic. The first few episodes explore that possibility. As people keep dying, the doctor grows more and more unstable. A few of the characters grow read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 6, 2014
Atrithau
I think there are really three types of anime, and perhaps three types of stories at that: you have the ones that are consistent throughout, those that start off on the wrong foot only to blow you away in time, and finally the type that start off amazingly well only to fall apart as the story progresses.
Shiki definitely falls in the third category.

Now before I go into what's bad about Shiki, I'd like to commend it on what it did well.
The best aspect by far is the audio. Almost every single track on this OST is superb, and the voice acting never feels read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 14, 2010
AngelRaf
This is my first review.I'm going to write it because so much people are talking bad about Shiki.But I think Shiki is awsome.It's unique,it has a great storyline.I enjoy watching it !

Story: 10
The story takes place in a village named Sotoba.Sotoba is a quite and peaceful village,till the chain of bizarre deaths started to occur.Nobody knows the reason but more and more people are dying.Toshio Ozaki is the hospital dean and he suspects an epidemic. But what first starts as an epidemic, turns out to be much more. The first episodes might be boring.I didn't really enjoy watching them but later the show really gets read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 2, 2010
ChiisaiYume
“Death is impartial to everyone, be it the young or old, rich or poor. Thus death is not particularly tragic.”

Shiki is by far the most riveting, suspenseful and thought-provoking series I have seen all year. Truly a category of its own, it not only contains elements of horror and mystery but also makes you question what truly is considered good or evil?

Story

The story is set in a small village where a string of unexplainable deaths start to occur. What is suspected to be an epidemic proves to be something the villagers would never suspect. The main plot and characters are introduced read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 29, 2013
Chocosword
Throughout history, there are many myths and the topic that gets focused on the most is vampires and ghosts. These topics are controversial because they can’t be proven real, yet they can’t be proven false. There are documentations stating their existence, but most people would rather have firsthand experience to believe it. What led to this topic was the fear created by humans. We have a subconscious to think that supernatural events happen and we blame an oddity. Media however protrudes vampire is another essence. Vampires are seen as eerie monsters, but some may be seen in a different light such as romantically. A good read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 13, 2013
Fragmentary
I'll be honest; this is my first review. As so, I am open to all criticism and feedback. After all, I'm here to inform you, not fan-boy rant or spew obscenities about a show. So, without further ado, onto the review! (I promise that was not intended to rhyme!)

It's been a while since I dared to pick up a vampire anime. The modernization and romanticism of these blood-suckers in titles such as Twilight and other anime like Rosario + Vampire left me with much despair for this genre.

Luckily, Shiki rekindled my appeal towards the night stalkers.

After watching the entire series, I have to say I read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 5, 2013
Deadlightanime
It fills my heart with joy whenever I see a horror series like Shiki.

It’s atmospheric, it’s subtle and furthermore, it doesn’t rely on jump scares and copious amounts of bloodshed to shock its viewers. Instead, with masterful utilization of a remarkably eerie soundtrack and deliberate pacing, Shiki captures what makes a good horror series… good.

Of course, Shiki is also aware that a good horror needs more than just well-executed music and pacing. It needs good characters.

Why should I care if Bob and Joe are ripped apart by werewolves? Why should I care if little Timmy is decapitated by one swift swing of a chainsaw? Why read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 4, 2014
AviJii
Shiki was my first anime that is all about vampires and werewolves. If you are a vampire story enthusiast then you will like this one. Ja! Vampire enthusiast or not read my simple review so you can get an idea on how did I finish this one even though I am not into vampire stories.

Maybe at first you will hesitate to watch this one and I admit that I am one of them but for some reason I managed to finish the story and leave me "Amazed" and "Satisfied"

Ja! Let's start this one.

Art 7/10 : Art for location is really nice. Simple and very read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 13, 2013
vegardpompey
The opening scene, in which a search party of villagers find in the woods the body of one of their own, a young girl, sets the tone for the 22-episode funeral that is Shiki. In terms of narrative, it breaks no new ground; a remote village is infested by vampires (not romanticized here as has been the trend in recent years, but portrayed once more as malevolent predators with whom the living cannot coexist) who kill the villagers one by one and replace them with their own kind.

It works through its cold-blooded commitment to its moribund atmosphere, existing in a perpetual state of grief for read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 14, 2013
Growler
Vampires have been in the minds of people for centuries as myths first.. then books and movies.
Shiki is an anime that sees the concept of vampires through the prism of those legends which says more about it than productions simply made so they can sell rather than be enjoyed.

It starts off with a series of mysterious deaths in an isolated village that seed unrest in the hearts of the main characters that begin to act trying to find an explanation. Their conclusions trigger major changes in the plot that intensify the thrill and provide fuel for the psychological underlay.

Shiki provides a variety of sounds that read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 28, 2013
Bishounen_Hunter
Shiki is definitely one of those nice surprises you didn't expect would be so good, considering the level of uninspiring and unoriginal anime fluff we see on the shelves nowadays. Despite receiving rave reviews by so many people from all walks of life, I was still a total skeptic especially when it comes to people praising any modern anime. Mainly since there is very little modern anime has to offer... beyond titties, panty-shots, moe, toothy grinning shounen-types with big weapons or powers, and giant robots... miraculously all within some kind of school setting. If you've seen one, you can basically say you've read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 23, 2011
JusticeUndone
Until maybe a decade ago vampire stories were at their prime. I, as well, used to be a big fan of such stories. In my eyes, those tales were thrilling, grasping me the whole way through and leaving me mostly utterly terrified. After hundreds of movies, books and tv series based on the vampire myth,though, vampires started to lose their original shine. They were just so overused that one could easily stop caring anymore. If anyone of you came asking me what I believed a vampire was I’m not quite sure of what my answer would be. Can they die from sunlight or do they read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 2, 2011
Lindle
Shiki, or Corpse Demon, is effectively the story of a village in the middle of nowhere being subjected to a mysterious string of unexplainable deaths. If you want to watch this anime and go into it 100% spoiler-free, even though this is not much of a spoiler at all, look away now.

The deaths are, of course, being caused by vampires. While they take their sweet time coming out and saying it, it's pretty obvious from a really early stage. But don't tell any of the characters that, because they don't half take their sweet time working it out. Over half the story is dedicated to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 21, 2010
AkatsukigirlTy
As with all of my other reviews I decided to write a review about the anime Shiki because I found it to be really enjoyable (so far) and wanted to spread some of the love by hopefully persuading people to try it out for themselves! In my review I will talk about what I find to be good about the show and which aspects could do with some improvement.

Story: 10
I’ve watched a total of 16 out of 22 episodes of the show and have so far loved every single episode of it! Vampires singling out a small remote town and picking off each of the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 20, 2013
CarolineJMZ
I thought it's a mediocre story after watching first 9 episodes and skipped right to the last episode. And later I completed the rest of the series, and I'm so glad that I did. I would give the first half 7 out of 10, and the second half 9 out of 10.

Story/Ideology and Characters

The first half is simply story telling, and some characters of the episodes are pretty immature, like Megumi or Masao (Honestly, this guy is one of the most stupid characters in the series, although he's a tragedy himself.) The second half brought into light many interesting issues. Like how people are read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 6, 2013
MP31040
Shiki is a very unique anime, some people may love it, others may hate it. It depends on how you are viewing it. Whether you are watching it because you want a mystery to solve, or watching it for the emotion you get while watching horror anime while being in an open minded mood.

Story(9):
Ok, I guess some people are right about how Shiki is not so much a mystery to the audience. The audience can indeed figure out what is going on by the first episode alone. But I assume that the writers of this anime did this on purpose. It didn't pay off as read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 17, 2014
guillaumec
This anime just has done vampires the right way, so no twilight shit. It really has changed my personal view on vampires. The serie starts a bit slowly but once over 6 episodes you will have a great anime to watch. I don't like horror series/movies from the west, however it has became one of my favorite genres because of series like this. The fact that they let you feel compassion with the monsters, the way they let you think about all the psychological questions that they handle and the way how they have done vampires (sorry everything that I would have told about this read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices