MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #352
Shiki

Shiki

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Corpse Demon
Japanese: 屍鬼

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 22
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 9, 2010 to Dec 31, 2010
Duration: 22 min. per episode
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.141 (scored by 63497 users)
Ranked: #3522
Popularity: #120
Members: 128,006
Favorites: 2,742
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Jan 1, 2011
Archaeon
Vampires have been enjoying quite a renaissance in Western media lately, mainly because of the advent of Twilight. In anime however, tales of bloodsuckers have been pretty constant over the years, but like the West there has been an increase in the number of stories involving the children of the night. The only problem is, they all seem to romanticise vampires by giving them kind, gentle personalities, good looks, a reluctance to drink human blood, or some other hook to make the viewer believe that creatures who look on humans as food can be considered friendly.

And then Shiki comes along and blows that whole idea read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 3, 2010
Flipside101
I've seen my fair share of vampire anime; and I have to say, it was under vast number of genres, as well as themes. Shiki however, pulls you back in to what the traditional myth of vampires; added to it that it's a thriller, it will move anyone who's a vampire fan.


Story: 10
Compared to many other vampire themed animes, such as Blood+, Rosario + Vampire, Vampire Knight, and Trinity blood; this anime comes back to the roots of vampires and their myths. In this anime a town is plagued with death with no reasonable explanation; though thought of a possible epidemic, Doctor Ozaki, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 18, 2014
Mind-freak
Death is terrible for anyone. Young or old, good or evil, it’s all the same. Death is impartial. There is no especially terrible death. That’s why death is so fearsome. Your deeds, your age, your personality, your wealth, your beauty: they are all meaningless in the face of death.

Shiki is a very hard series to talk about without spoilers. It’s a show that you really need to see for yourself. Still, I consider this to be the best show to have debuted during the past half year, so I’ll at least try to vaguely explain why I consider it read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 19, 2014
Fear_the_Reefer
Something strange has been going on in the quaint village of Sotoba... Ever since those wealthy outsiders built their lavish mansion at the top of Kanemasa Hill, there has been a succession of mysterious deaths... People of all ages will become lethargic and anti-social, refuse to go to the doctor, and then die after only a few days... Could it be an epidemic? Some new disease? And are the rumors true that the dead are still walking around?

Those newcomers are certainly strange, and Sotoba does have ancient legends about Okomiyagi, or the dead coming back to life... read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 27, 2014
KD7BWB
OK Lion Tamers, we'll look at "Shiki"!

I decided to give this thing a look. And I think most people, who like suspense thrillers, might actually go for this thing.

I am usually quite picky about Vampire offerings, because people have done this thing to death (pun intended). More importantly, while almost every authorship has done Vampire stories (comics, novels, plays, movies, and now anime), what is worse is the slow evolution from the original rules for Vampires; a la Bram Stoker- to something where the original idea has begun to evolve into a completely new beast.

While even I have created a new type of Vampire from read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 6, 2014
Atrithau
I think there are really three types of anime, and perhaps three types of stories at that: you have the ones that are consistent throughout, those that start off on the wrong foot only to blow you away in time, and finally the type that start off amazingly well only to fall apart as the story progresses.
Shiki definitely falls in the third category.

Now before I go into what's bad about Shiki, I'd like to commend it on what it did well.
The best aspect by far is the audio. Almost every single track on this OST is superb, and the voice acting never feels read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 25, 2014
weevil1974
"Onegai", let me first ask for your indulgence if my writing it's not as accurate as I'd want; English is not my first language...
Bear in your mind that you may find some SPOILERS in this review!!!
I just wanna talk about the characters. I've never found that many bunch of numbskulls in all the time I've watched animes.

1. If you Know there are shiki/vampires in your village, make you a favor and don't go out at night; if you do, knowing that, carry at least with you some countermeasures like charms, crosses, Buddhas or whatever thing you may think that works against them.

2. Vampires read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 27, 2014
henderson1147
I had never felt so conflicted about an anime before. This is really an anime that highlights the gray that is hidden between the black and the white. And it is an anime that will make you feel so hollow yet compels you to come back and suffer more. Yes. This is an anime that is full of suffering for both sides; in this game, nobody wins.

-SPOILERS (kind of)

This anime is one about vampires. No, it's not a romance like anime that shows how the cute vampire cures his addiction and falls in love. I'm pretty sure you all have heard that over and over read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 13, 2014
DolbyThX
Okay guys, this is my first review. Here i go!

Story: 7

This anime is supposed to be a horror one, which I couldn't quite feel it, because the pace of the first half is reeeeaaaaaaaaaaaally slow. This is quite THE problem with Shiki's story-telling, when i manages to capture a moment that could scare you, it destroys the atmosphere completely by overexplaining things and prolonguing what we pretty much already know what's going to happen plot-wise (C'mon! It's a vampire show, vampires are a classic!).
However, the show begins to catch its momentum at the second half and it gets really good. Chances are, you will be read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 17, 2014
swordfish1390
Dracula, Twilight: We all know what the vampire genre consists of. Blood sucking monsters that turn into bats. Shiki, however, is a little bit different. Yes, people suck blood, but it’s more than that.

Today, a review of the critically acclaimed anime, Shiki, another entry into the vampire genre.

-Story & Characters-
Taking place in the fictional village of Sotoba, our story features two protagonists: Natsuno Yuuki, a high school student who hates living in the sticks, and Toshio Ozaki, the local doctor. A mysterious string of deaths have been occurring, and each victim has one thing in common: A bit wound on a part of their read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 11, 2014
Ame_Gasai
Shiki is the anime I gladly recommend to people.
I was at first very glad when I saw that it had 22 episodes(and not 12 or 13 episodes most anime nowadays have).
It begins rather slow. Which when you think about it is rather good. That way story can be explained well, in details nevertheless.
I think that's great because I personally don't like story being rushed.
But. As the story moves on I didn't see any progression whatsoever. It went slow, slow, sloooow and so on.
When I begun feeling a bit annoyed by that fact, it finally moved on and started to make a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 14, 2010
AngelRaf
This is my first review.I'm going to write it because so much people are talking bad about Shiki.But I think Shiki is awsome.It's unique,it has a great storyline.I enjoy watching it !

Story: 10
The story takes place in a village named Sotoba.Sotoba is a quite and peaceful village,till the chain of bizarre deaths started to occur.Nobody knows the reason but more and more people are dying.Toshio Ozaki is the hospital dean and he suspects an epidemic. But what first starts as an epidemic, turns out to be much more. The first episodes might be boring.I didn't really enjoy watching them but later the show really gets read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 4, 2014
Nyren
I ended up watching Shiki when I went on a Vampire binge one week. And don't worry, that's not a big spoiler or anything, it's actually fairly obvious to the point that it is impossible to miss before it is blatantly stated. I binged this series in give or take two days with barely any breaks to speak of. That's how invested I became in this series. The full 24 episodes, that includes the two specials which are very important, run half an hour each and the story continues to unfold with each new episode. So lets break this down like a normal review.

As far read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 11, 2012
thenhk
I was directed to Shiki by a fellow anime fan who, like me, enjoyed more horror based anime. He insisted that Shiki was superior to shows like Another or Higurashi, since it created "characters you cared about".

Having now watched it, I am wondering what he was smoking.

I'll go through each aspect individually. Tharrrrr be spoilers (at least in the plot section), so read at your own risk.

Art = 5
I'm torn on this one. On the one hand, the backgrounds are great. It looks like a small village. They are beautiful, though a bit colourful at times for an anime which is supposed to be "dark". read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 27, 2014
havoc0
So I recently finished shiki and decided to write a review (this is my second review, don't be harsh !)

Story:
This anime is basically about the secluded village of sotouba, where people live simple and boring lives. However, when sudden mysterious deaths threaten its peace, the village's doctor desperately tries to figure out what's happening. The first couple episodes are what captivated me so if you liked them, you're good to go. Also, this anime does a really good job at maintaining its gloomy, gothic atmosphere.
While this anime is about vampires, it is not your average mediocre vampire romance. It depicts vampires as the cruel, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 7, 2014
CinnamonSwirls
We're travelling back to the past, when vampires were fearsome, blood-thirsty creatures who didn't sparkle. These vamps are the real deal, folks. This anime truly does them justice.

Story:

So, the story starts off in a peaceful, isolated village, surrounded by a large forest of trees. One day, the bodies of three people are found, dead, and after that death was a normal occurrence each and everyday. As the population decreased rapidly, the village doctor begins to think it may be an epidemic. The first few episodes explore that possibility. As people keep dying, the doctor grows more and more unstable. A few of the characters grow read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 2, 2011
Lindle
Shiki, or Corpse Demon, is effectively the story of a village in the middle of nowhere being subjected to a mysterious string of unexplainable deaths. If you want to watch this anime and go into it 100% spoiler-free, even though this is not much of a spoiler at all, look away now.

The deaths are, of course, being caused by vampires. While they take their sweet time coming out and saying it, it's pretty obvious from a really early stage. But don't tell any of the characters that, because they don't half take their sweet time working it out. Over half the story is dedicated to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 2, 2014
Keylifia_02
I finished watching this anime yesterday at 2 AM and when I did until 2:30 AM I just stared at the screen trying to assimilate the last 5 episodes. I was like: OMGx2 or something.
Now the review its self.

Story: 9/10
The way how the story evolves is really cool. Some might call it slow but I think that this is the way an semi-horror anime should indeed evolve. Because of the few details that the story gives it rely makes a chill run down you're spine and u fell like u sneaked you're nose where u should not. But in the end what really read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 1, 2014
Zarith-Tmal
Finally, a horror story that gets it right!
In recent years, across all media, there has been a distinct lack of good horror. It seems that the entertainment industry has decided ‘horror = jump-scares’ (this is a generalization; there have been some good ones come out, but too few in my opinion). This mentality leads to very little plot and/or character development; leaving the audience slightly shocked but otherwise unfazed. Why should you care what happens to characters that you have been given no chance to make a connection with?

And then there’s Shiki-

People may find the first half of Shiki too slow for their liking. But read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 31, 2014
ImTheRhetorician
Okay, lets try this again since my last review didn't go so well :p

I finished Shiki just recently and i was very pleased with it especially in the beginning. The exposition was suspenseful and exciting. I noticed some people didn't like the slow start, i guess it's preference because i seemed to enjoy the build up. There was a vast cast of characters, typically these characters would be cannon fodder or they would lack substance. The cast of Shiki was the opposite. The show made you care for the characters and developed them well. Dr. Ozaki specifically had an really good voice acting performance. There read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices