Ranked #911

Arakawa Under the Bridge

Alternative Titles

Japanese: 荒川アンダー ザ ブリッジ


Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 2010 to Jun 28, 2010
Premiered: Spring 2010
Genres: Comedy, Romance, Seinen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company


Score: 7.751 (scored by 62,361 users)
Ranked: #9112
Popularity: #249
Members: 125,602
Favorites: 1,016
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Jul 1, 2010
From the time we are young, are parents all/ teach us certain things. No matter what these deal with, there will usually be a very common theme: what society wants us to do.

Yes, from a very young age, most of us will be told to continue the flow of society's ideas, and to never question them. But, what makes these ideas right?

This is the question that we are faced with while watching Arakawa Under the Bridge, a story about, well, living under a bridge. A bridge under which almost no laws will ever reach you, with the possible exception of public indecency...

We see a romance read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 8, 2013
Charming. This is what I constantly thought of when watching Arakawa Under The Bridge. Despite the insane plot and the ridiculous characters, this show was full of charm. Whether there was a hint of deeper meanings between it's comedic outtakes, or its abundance of heartwarming scenes, there never once was a dull moment during my time at under the Arakawa Bridge!

The story of Arakawa Under The Bridge is something that tends to turn many people off due to it's nonlinear approach. The story goes as follows; a guy who believes in never owing anybody anything gets his life saved after falling off a bridge by read more
I found this review Helpful
May 20, 2010
Never judge a book by its cover, or in anime's case, never judge an anime by the first episode. Arakawa under the Bridge started out (for me) as a fairly pretentious and rather bland series, and I fully expected that I would be ready to drop it by around episode 5 or maybe even sooner. Now that isn't saying the first episode was bad by any means, it just didn't stand out at all to me, it was a regular opening describing the 2 leads and giving a good amount of exposition. As the episodes progressed, I slowly began to enjoy Arakawa more and more, read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 28, 2010
'Arakawa Under the Bridge' is about Ichinomiya Kou, an elite (someone who holds a high ranking position or works in a blue-chip company. A "winner" in Japanese society) who's been taught to never get indebted to anyone, gets careless one day over Arakawa and gets saved by a girl. The girl's name is Nino, who turns out to be a denpa-kei (people with "overactive imagination" or nutcase, e.g. Nodame) who claims to be from Venus, and doesn't want anything in return. After a long debate, she tells Ichinomiya that there is one thing that he can do for her: "Let me fall in love." read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 7, 2010
So, this show is a random humor enthusiast's heaven. It is sometimes funny, sometimes stupid, and often both.

That could be the end of my review right there, but there's always more to talk about. For example, the art. The art is great. It is produced by shaft, directed by Akiyuki Shinbou, and is typical of Shinbou/shaft. If you are unfamiliar with shaft/Shinbou style artwork (most famous for Bakemonogatari), it is basically a collage of unconventional anime styles, that shifts around depending on the story. Lots of random fast cuts to land/city-scapes, sudden changes in the detail of animation, etc. It all is used in read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 30, 2013
Often times people like to think of themselves as “the normal one.”

At least this is the case for Kou, a self-proclaimed part of the “elite.” From the day he was born Kou was taught to never be indebted to someone. For the most part Kou does a pretty good job of it too, that is until he loses his pants and falls into the Arakawa River. Now we have one indebted Kou, and a savior named Nino that wants Kou to help her experience love. He accepts, and begins living under the Arakawa Bridge with a group of bizarre social misfits.

It sounds a read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 5, 2010
Produced by SHAFT under director Akiyuki Shinbou (Bakemonogatari, Zetsubou Sensei, Maria+Holic), Arakawa Under the Bridge expresses more of the director's enticement to mix a dark comedy with a colorful cast of characters. This combination has proven successful with previous hits Zetsubou Sensei and Bakemonogatari. Does the same hold for Arakawa, or has the director gotten too comfortable with the genre that he overlooked the basics?

Kou Ichinomiya was raised by his stern father to be the perfect businessman. At the young age of 22, he already leads his own company and has mass amounts of wealth. He obsessively follows his family's motto, which is written read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 13, 2010
Well, this show has its share of eccentricities and requires some suspension of disbelief. The humor can be hit and miss, so it's hard to recommend this show after one or two episodes. But I like the voice acting - Maaya Sakamoto (Haruhi from Ouran Host Club, Ryougi Shiki from Kara no Kyoukai, Lightning from JPN FFXIII, etc.) acts out Nino, and I enjoy her brusque voice so I'll be following this series for a couple more episodes.

One last tip: There's a reason why Nutbladder's subs appear first, and that group's work is clearly a speed sub. I'm hardly in the place to criticize anyone's read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 5, 2010
There being only one episode out so far, there is only so much to say. That being said, if you enjoyed FLCL, it has a strangely similar feel to it. Basically, the story, art, sound, characters, nothing really matters. Its basically a series of jokes.

There is a character that has a "normal" outlook on life, but has one major restriction on how he lives it, and another who is anything but normal, and is unintentionally abusing his restriction on life. As such the entire show thus far is Set-up, Gag, WTF, Gag, Set-up, Gag, WTF, Gag.............

If they could actually keep that up for 13 read more
I found this review Helpful
May 4, 2010
This is my first review here and I'm writing after watching the fifth episode. For me SHAFT is a hit or a miss. I liked Bakemonogatari but hated Vampire Bund so when it was Arakawa's turn, I was quite apprehensive of what to expect but from the first episode, this series has surprised me with a twisted storyline and weird characters that turn weirder and weirder still - in a good way though.

Of course, Hiroshi Kamiya and Maaya Sakomoto are total win under the skins of Rec and Nino. Being the main pair, they still have a lot of ground to cover around each read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 1, 2010
When I heard the premise for "Arakawa", I was immediately attracted to it. Something so strange, but yet simple. One man living under a bridge, and the small community that he spends his time with. It received plenty of positive reception from the reviewers on MAL, so I dove right in. And what I found was a charming, albeit eccentric slice-of-life that quickly became one of my favorites in the genre.

First and foremost, this is a character driven show. By no means will anything happen beyond the two main conflicts (the main character's acceptance into the community, and the other big one, which I won't read more
I found this review Helpful
May 4, 2010
Mini Review (After 5 Episodes)
A synopsis from the Preview list looked interesting but has Arakawa Under the Bridge lived up to what i hoped for... no, but in some aspects they have good things (Characters/Sound) shame that one half is doing well but the rest is doing quite badly (Art Style/Story) but with many more episodes to go its hard to judge how this will pan out, but lets say i have less optimisium than i did before this show started.

I don't get some people, how is this series funny it tries to be i cant remember one part i've laughed at, and the OP read more
I found this review Helpful
May 26, 2011
Comedy is a tough aspect to grade, since it is largely subjective in nature. Just because I find Kramer and Jerry arguing about the trajectory of someones spit on Seinfeld hilarious, doesn't mean others will. Likewise, just because someone else finds a guy walking into a woman's bath by incident and getting knocked into the stratosphere for it amusing, certainly doesn't mean I do.

But, and I think most other people will agree, some of the best comedy is stuff that actually has an underlying message to it. When humor can actively facilitate an overall message that the work in question has, then it all read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 14, 2010
[Updated: Eps watched -5]
SHAFT is the producer of Bakemonogatari, and uses similar presentation methods in this series. The problem is: Bakemonogatari is more of occult, suspense and mystery while Arakawa Under the Bridge is something like gag humour.

Note: After ep 2, the anime seems to fare better in its own style.

To be honest ep 1 and 2 gave me a headache. A wide variety of characters introduced, the main characters were presented, and tons of poorly used impact-scenes. From ep 3-5 the story seems more smooth and less gag-likke. Which is good, since some fundamentals had finally been touched on.

Unfortunately, too many characters had been read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to read my review of Arakawa Under the Bridge!

Story: I found the premise of the show to be very intriguing. After the first episode, however, it's clear that the main focus of the story is the people who live under the bridge. While Ko and Nino bond throughout the series, Ko's interactions with the secondary characters are the main attraction. The short mini-story format to each episode helps keep the whole feeling of the show light and easy-going.

Art: An interesting mix of styles are used throughout the series. You have some very beautiful backgrounds and character portrayal during the read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 30, 2010
Note: This review will cover both seasons.

Common sense. It is the set of knowledge and comprehension of the world that society expects you to have. Now imagine a place containing a seemingly jumbled society of unique characters where common sense is naught. The phrase itself hasn’t even entered its lexicon. And yet, strangely, the society is perfectly functional. This is the Arakawa riverbed.

Arakawa Under the Bridge starts off as a rather bizarre romance. Ichinomiya Kou, a self-proclaimed elite, all-around prodigy, falls into the Arakawa River and nearly drowns. He is saved by Nino, an enigmatic young woman who proclaims that she is a Venusian. However, read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 7, 2010
At first, I thought this anime is like a normal love story.
But when I watch the first episode, the story was totally ridiculous.
But in the fun way.

There's a lot of weird people under the bridge.
Although, some of them looked normal.
You'll totally laugh after watching this anime. Their stupidity is the best!

All the charcters are well create.
Their attitude is somewhat unique.
All their past life is a mystery.

Don't know where they come from, who are they, what's their background, and why did they live under the bridge?!

I found this review Helpful
Feb 26, 2012
Life is the crazily raging river running from past to future. There is a bridge called society and expectations that lets us cross over the river, should we, like most people take it.


The story of 'Arakawa under the bridge' revolves around male protagonist Ichinomiya Ko, born with a silver spoon in his mouth, an elite of society in every regard (good at everything), and has strong family tradition to never rely on anyone. The opening episode is him on this bridge crossing over the river. Much like how he is progressing forward, but crossing over what true "life" is.

In an unexpected turn read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 26, 2010
Well, this is one eccentric show. And even calling it that seems to take away from the eccentricity of it all. I do know this, it had me laughing like a maniac the first episode through and if an anime can do that, it's worth watching to the end. I like that it's really just weird and the characters ae weird, but behind everything it's just a kind of oddball romance and it's cute to see the interaction between Rec and Nino, especially how Nino teaches Rec a few things without her even noticing. I think this is going to be a cute comedy with read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 6, 2010
As with any anime that's only aired one episode, it's hard to say whether future episodes will be worth checking out. That being said, if the remaining episodes can manage to keep up the enjoyable, absurdist humour that the first has offered, then Arakawa Under the Bridge should be another enjoyable series for this year.

The art in this anime was generally quite impressive; the animations flow nicely and drawings are polished and detailed. The same can be said about the sound as well, with the music and effects suiting the light-hearted feel of the story well.

Kou instantly reminded me of 'Zetsubou-Sensei' (regardless of the fact read more
I found this review Helpful