MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #890
Arakawa Under the Bridge

Arakawa Under the Bridge

Alternative Titles

Japanese: 荒川アンダー ザ ブリッジ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 2010 to Jun 28, 2010
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.761 (scored by 56237 users)
Ranked: #8902
Popularity: #222
Members: 111,605
Favorites: 916
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Aug 8, 2013
Venten
Charming. This is what I constantly thought of when watching Arakawa Under The Bridge. Despite the insane plot and the ridiculous characters, this show was full of charm. Whether there was a hint of deeper meanings between it's comedic outtakes, or its abundance of heartwarming scenes, there never once was a dull moment during my time at under the Arakawa Bridge!


Story:
The story of Arakawa Under The Bridge is something that tends to turn many people off due to it's nonlinear approach. The story goes as follows; a guy who believes in never owing anybody anything gets his life saved after falling off a bridge by read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 22, 2014
AnataSS
I recently had the pleasure of watching Arakawa Under the Bridge, and I have to say, it was quite enjoyable.

More importantly, it was unique, and never tried to be something it wasn't. It knew it was weird and fresh and went with it, and it went very far.

Going into Arakawa Under the Bridge I didn't know what it was about, I hadn't even read a summary. Looking back now, I didn't need to. Arakawa's story is not very
deep. The best way I can describe it is as an episodic slice of life anime with a narrative backbone which eventually leads into the finale. Yeah, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 1, 2010
cowwart
From the time we are young, are parents all/ teach us certain things. No matter what these deal with, there will usually be a very common theme: what society wants us to do.

Yes, from a very young age, most of us will be told to continue the flow of society's ideas, and to never question them. But, what makes these ideas right?

This is the question that we are faced with while watching Arakawa Under the Bridge, a story about, well, living under a bridge. A bridge under which almost no laws will ever reach you, with the possible exception of public indecency...

We see a romance read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 30, 2013
Manglex
Often times people like to think of themselves as “the normal one.”

At least this is the case for Kou, a self-proclaimed part of the “elite.” From the day he was born Kou was taught to never be indebted to someone. For the most part Kou does a pretty good job of it too, that is until he loses his pants and falls into the Arakawa River. Now we have one indebted Kou, and a savior named Nino that wants Kou to help her experience love. He accepts, and begins living under the Arakawa Bridge with a group of bizarre social misfits.

It sounds a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 20, 2010
leingodf8
Never judge a book by its cover, or in anime's case, never judge an anime by the first episode. Arakawa under the Bridge started out (for me) as a fairly pretentious and rather bland series, and I fully expected that I would be ready to drop it by around episode 5 or maybe even sooner. Now that isn't saying the first episode was bad by any means, it just didn't stand out at all to me, it was a regular opening describing the 2 leads and giving a good amount of exposition. As the episodes progressed, I slowly began to enjoy Arakawa more and more, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 7, 2010
Seabury
So, this show is a random humor enthusiast's heaven. It is sometimes funny, sometimes stupid, and often both.

That could be the end of my review right there, but there's always more to talk about. For example, the art. The art is great. It is produced by shaft, directed by Akiyuki Shinbou, and is typical of Shinbou/shaft. If you are unfamiliar with shaft/Shinbou style artwork (most famous for Bakemonogatari), it is basically a collage of unconventional anime styles, that shifts around depending on the story. Lots of random fast cuts to land/city-scapes, sudden changes in the detail of animation, etc. It all is used in read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 5, 2010
gr33nhippo
Produced by SHAFT under director Akiyuki Shinbou (Bakemonogatari, Zetsubou Sensei, Maria+Holic), Arakawa Under the Bridge expresses more of the director's enticement to mix a dark comedy with a colorful cast of characters. This combination has proven successful with previous hits Zetsubou Sensei and Bakemonogatari. Does the same hold for Arakawa, or has the director gotten too comfortable with the genre that he overlooked the basics?

Kou Ichinomiya was raised by his stern father to be the perfect businessman. At the young age of 22, he already leads his own company and has mass amounts of wealth. He obsessively follows his family's motto, which is written read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 26, 2012
ryantang
Life is the crazily raging river running from past to future. There is a bridge called society and expectations that lets us cross over the river, should we, like most people take it.

----

The story of 'Arakawa under the bridge' revolves around male protagonist Ichinomiya Ko, born with a silver spoon in his mouth, an elite of society in every regard (good at everything), and has strong family tradition to never rely on anyone. The opening episode is him on this bridge crossing over the river. Much like how he is progressing forward, but crossing over what true "life" is.

In an unexpected turn read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 28, 2010
8thSin
'Arakawa Under the Bridge' is about Ichinomiya Kou, an elite (someone who holds a high ranking position or works in a blue-chip company. A "winner" in Japanese society) who's been taught to never get indebted to anyone, gets careless one day over Arakawa and gets saved by a girl. The girl's name is Nino, who turns out to be a denpa-kei (people with "overactive imagination" or nutcase, e.g. Nodame) who claims to be from Venus, and doesn't want anything in return. After a long debate, she tells Ichinomiya that there is one thing that he can do for her: "Let me fall in love." read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 30, 2010
randomguy6
Note: This review will cover both seasons.

Common sense. It is the set of knowledge and comprehension of the world that society expects you to have. Now imagine a place containing a seemingly jumbled society of unique characters where common sense is naught. The phrase itself hasn’t even entered its lexicon. And yet, strangely, the society is perfectly functional. This is the Arakawa riverbed.

Arakawa Under the Bridge starts off as a rather bizarre romance. Ichinomiya Kou, a self-proclaimed elite, all-around prodigy, falls into the Arakawa River and nearly drowns. He is saved by Nino, an enigmatic young woman who proclaims that she is a Venusian. However, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 14, 2013
maddynamite
Thanks for taking the time to read my review of Arakawa Under the Bridge!

Story: I found the premise of the show to be very intriguing. After the first episode, however, it's clear that the main focus of the story is the people who live under the bridge. While Ko and Nino bond throughout the series, Ko's interactions with the secondary characters are the main attraction. The short mini-story format to each episode helps keep the whole feeling of the show light and easy-going.

Art: An interesting mix of styles are used throughout the series. You have some very beautiful backgrounds and character portrayal during the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 26, 2011
insan3Inquisitor
Comedy is a tough aspect to grade, since it is largely subjective in nature. Just because I find Kramer and Jerry arguing about the trajectory of someones spit on Seinfeld hilarious, doesn't mean others will. Likewise, just because someone else finds a guy walking into a woman's bath by incident and getting knocked into the stratosphere for it amusing, certainly doesn't mean I do.

But, and I think most other people will agree, some of the best comedy is stuff that actually has an underlying message to it. When humor can actively facilitate an overall message that the work in question has, then it all read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 21, 2014
Stuart111
Introduction:
Firstly I would like to say that this is a review of both seasons one and two of Arakawa Under the Bridge. Originally I was considering doing one review of just the first season, but I decided in the end that both seasons weren't different enough from each other to warrant that. That being said Arakawa Under the Bridge originally aired from April 4th, 2010, to June 27th, 2010. Soon afterwards that series was followed up with a second season airing from October 3rd, 2010 to December 26th, 2010. Both series were animated and produced by studio SHAFT, so that means it was, as usual, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 1, 2010
Mune-sama
When I heard the premise for "Arakawa", I was immediately attracted to it. Something so strange, but yet simple. One man living under a bridge, and the small community that he spends his time with. It received plenty of positive reception from the reviewers on MAL, so I dove right in. And what I found was a charming, albeit eccentric slice-of-life that quickly became one of my favorites in the genre.

First and foremost, this is a character driven show. By no means will anything happen beyond the two main conflicts (the main character's acceptance into the community, and the other big one, which I won't read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 9, 2012
Haokan
At first glace, Arakawa Under the Bridge just looks like your averagely bizarre anime with a sketchy plotline and averagely bizarre characters. However, it's proved to be much more than that to me. Arakawa presents an environment packed full of character development and relationships that simply draw the viewer in.

Arakawa has a large amount of characters, and the story, for me, revolves around how all the characters branch out and form relationships with eachother, but the truly unique aspect of Arakawa to me is the way the that relationships... grow.

In the first few episodes, I thought that the romance between ric and nino was read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 7, 2010
Fulan
At first, I thought this anime is like a normal love story.
But when I watch the first episode, the story was totally ridiculous.
But in the fun way.

There's a lot of weird people under the bridge.
Although, some of them looked normal.
You'll totally laugh after watching this anime. Their stupidity is the best!

All the charcters are well create.
Their attitude is somewhat unique.
All their past life is a mystery.

Don't know where they come from, who are they, what's their background, and why did they live under the bridge?!




I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 26, 2014
hinatasashybamf
Arakawa Under the Bridge is strange. It is many things, but strangeness is definitely one of its more prominent characteristics. Despite being quirky, it's not at all absurd. It's unique, the story is creative, the characters are lovable, and you'll definitely want more.

I love this anime because it's hilarious and endearing. It's a breath of fresh air, where your anime experience is concerned. You might find yourself wondering where the story is going, but you won't mind just being along for the ride until you get there.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 4, 2010
kyokai
This is my first review here and I'm writing after watching the fifth episode. For me SHAFT is a hit or a miss. I liked Bakemonogatari but hated Vampire Bund so when it was Arakawa's turn, I was quite apprehensive of what to expect but from the first episode, this series has surprised me with a twisted storyline and weird characters that turn weirder and weirder still - in a good way though.

Of course, Hiroshi Kamiya and Maaya Sakomoto are total win under the skins of Rec and Nino. Being the main pair, they still have a lot of ground to cover around each read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 4, 2011
ThatAnimeSnob
This review covers both seasons of the show. I’m too bored to write two different ones about something that is practically the same.

Many tend to group all SHAFT comedies at the same shelf, and I am no exception. Having the same production company, the same main voice actor, the same protagonist archetype, the same artsy animation, and the same wacky type of comedy tends to do that, especially if you are a comparison freak like I am. So yeah, I call this the Sayonara Zetsubo of 2010. The similarities are simply too many.

If you take into account what I wrote in my previous SHAFT comedy read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 13, 2010
orpheust
Well, this show has its share of eccentricities and requires some suspension of disbelief. The humor can be hit and miss, so it's hard to recommend this show after one or two episodes. But I like the voice acting - Maaya Sakamoto (Haruhi from Ouran Host Club, Ryougi Shiki from Kara no Kyoukai, Lightning from JPN FFXIII, etc.) acts out Nino, and I enjoy her brusque voice so I'll be following this series for a couple more episodes.

One last tip: There's a reason why Nutbladder's subs appear first, and that group's work is clearly a speed sub. I'm hardly in the place to criticize anyone's read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Advertising     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy