MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #816
Arakawa Under the Bridge

Arakawa Under the Bridge

Alternative Titles

Japanese: 荒川アンダー ザ ブリッジ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 2010 to Jun 28, 2010
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.781 (scored by 50840 users)
Ranked: #8162
Popularity: #210
Members: 99,188
Favorites: 858
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
May 4, 2010
gorskino10
Mini Review (After 5 Episodes)
---------------
A synopsis from the Preview list looked interesting but has Arakawa Under the Bridge lived up to what i hoped for... no, but in some aspects they have good things (Characters/Sound) shame that one half is doing well but the rest is doing quite badly (Art Style/Story) but with many more episodes to go its hard to judge how this will pan out, but lets say i have less optimisium than i did before this show started.

I don't get some people, how is this series funny it tries to be i cant remember one part i've laughed at, and the OP read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 3, 2013
wonderworlds
A very comical anime, a personal favorite of mine. I really liked it and wished it was a longer or had a movie to it. It's not like your typical anime, the fun quirky characters like Sister, Hoshi, P-ko, and Stella make this anime anything but ordinary. I loved the characters, they really made the story interesting. I feel like Ric really went through some good character development when he met the residents under the bridge. Very enjoyable, I'm kind of surprised that this is not a very popular one. 10/10 would recommend.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 14, 2011
Onigiri-man
i admit that it is not hard to make me like,love or go crazy over an anime, but Arakawa is something on a whole different level:
the story- hilarious
the characters- ingenious
the voice actors some of the best
and they all mix together into one random, silly, inspiring, over the top funny anime that we should all at some point see.
and of-course the second season is just as good
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 9, 2012
worldvision
I’ve been watching anime for more than a decade and I’ve watched so many series with so much similarities. Honestly, it can really be boring and I ended up being fed up. And so, it is always refreshing to see something so original.

There’s a long review coming………….

About the STORY
This series is anything but cliché. There is so much uniqueness in this series that it’s almost like a sin. Nowadays, there are thousands and thousands of animes and manga so it’s really hard to create such original story. After watching this series you can’t help but be amaze how magnificently it is done. Indeed, the plot read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 17, 2011
Adanadhel
After two big disappointments with Soul Eater and Occult Academy I decided on watching 2 respected animes yesterday. One which has been very good so far, Durara!! (I only watched 12 episodes so far) and the other which is very good, but that could've been a masterpiece - Arakawa Under The Bridge. Before anyone says anything I didn't watch the 2nd season. I'm just analyzing the first season for what it was.

*Note: I've finished watching the 2nd season and it's exactly the same as the 1st. A little bit more boring, actually, but it's still enjoyable.*

An overly proud man who accepts no favors from read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 22, 2012
Chidori-ka
I started watching Arakawa Under the Bridge thinking that it is an anime with shallow characters and without an exciting story. It is true that this anime does not bring you an exciting story. In fact, there is hardly any story except for the man-woman relationships. Yet, it is still as much good as an anime with a serious story. Maybe even better. If you enjoy comedy and would love to live in a world where common sense hardly ever matters, Arakawa Under the Bridge is one of the best. Although in the first four episodes, I had doubts whether it is good or bad, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 19, 2010
superpufferfish
Another great anime produced by SHAFT, this along with sayonara zetsubou sensei and bakemonogatari is just awesome work from the studio. The humour is sort of non cliche and I enjoy it very much, those who are familiar with sayonara zetsubou sensei might get a feel to it, not exactly similar, but both unique in its own way. The romance element added into the story adds colour to the whole anime in a very organized way, can't seem to find a proper word to explain that sorry but in description, there is not too much emphasize on it but just enough in somewhat creating an read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 30, 2010
AgueroKun10
Short Review:

A show with soo much promise ruined by amataur animatiors, apart from the great characters nothing else is that good, the story which i like didnt progress from the first episode and made this feel cheap and tacky, it seemed like they knew that season 2 would follow and didnt really bother with this show apart from getting the viewer to understand the characters for next season.
Also i have to add the art in this show is dreadful one of the worst i've EVER seen.

Longer Review:

This show looked so unique from the Preview so i decided to watch this, and i felt this could read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 26, 2010
Naiika
Well, this is one eccentric show. And even calling it that seems to take away from the eccentricity of it all. I do know this, it had me laughing like a maniac the first episode through and if an anime can do that, it's worth watching to the end. I like that it's really just weird and the characters ae weird, but behind everything it's just a kind of oddball romance and it's cute to see the interaction between Rec and Nino, especially how Nino teaches Rec a few things without her even noticing. I think this is going to be a cute comedy with read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 16, 2010
Ex_Machina
Well at first i judged this anime by the cover and thought it would really suck but then one day i was bord enough to watch and truthfully this anime is interesting and has its funny moments.

The story mostly revolves around 2 people Nino and Recruit(Ric).

The story starts of as Ric trying to get his pants that a few kids stole from him and hung on part of a bridge he climbs to get it at that moment he meets Nino who offers help but because of Vics pride he refuses so he gets his pants and falls into the water by accident. He was read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 19, 2012
Yui_Haruna
¨If you want to pay your debt with me, then please love me¨

Quite the proposition, huh? But this is what you get in the first chapter, and from that moment on, you´re doomed...´cuz you wont help but keep watching so you can know what happens afterwards.

Arakawa under the bridge is the story that having the possibillity to have a cliched development, leaves that completely aside, leaving you with a series were each minute that passes gets more and more weird, and, if you can get used to it, more and more funny.

If you´ve read the summary, you will see more or less what read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 19, 2011
movoning
Can you have a story without a plot?

There have been countless shows that lack a storyline, but they are mostly gag comedies. I wouldn't say Arakawa Under the Bridge is necessarily one of those. Most of the time you get straight faced people creating the comedy effect, but the characters in Arakawa are weirdos who are actually pretty normal inside. It's kind of the opposite of what you usually get in shows with serious people who do or say weird things. Because of this slight difference, Arakawa's comedic effects are more natural, meaning it's not necessarily the situations that make the story entertaining but read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 3, 2012
Brinkley
Let me start out by saying that this is quickly becoming one of my favorite animes.
As for the storyline, its very much a slice-of-life without being boring, a romance without being sappy, and a comedy without being obnoxious or mindless.
The art is out of the ordinary as far a style, but by no means is it poor. The music is catchy and true to the story. I like that the voice actors dont have annoying voices and are clear and easy to understand but are not boring.
The characters are just outstanding, not at all typical. In fact, the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 24, 2011
puvijain
The art and setting are the only things i find unbearable in this series. There is no background given for the setting and the plot revolves around a guy who follows a strong family principle of not being in debt of anyone, through which he's bound to accompany a strange and outwardly deranged girl and her group of equally outwardly deranged people, who apparently are elites in certain skills they have. There is only one kind of comedy involved in the whole series which is hyping up something and providing an unexpected comic twist to it, and it has been done exceptionally well.
What disappointed read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 14, 2010
Dunkjoe
[Updated: Eps watched -5]
SHAFT is the producer of Bakemonogatari, and uses similar presentation methods in this series. The problem is: Bakemonogatari is more of occult, suspense and mystery while Arakawa Under the Bridge is something like gag humour.

Note: After ep 2, the anime seems to fare better in its own style.

Story:6
To be honest ep 1 and 2 gave me a headache. A wide variety of characters introduced, the main characters were presented, and tons of poorly used impact-scenes. From ep 3-5 the story seems more smooth and less gag-likke. Which is good, since some fundamentals had finally been touched on.

Unfortunately, too many characters had been read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 6, 2010
Yotsuba_Snake
As with any anime that's only aired one episode, it's hard to say whether future episodes will be worth checking out. That being said, if the remaining episodes can manage to keep up the enjoyable, absurdist humour that the first has offered, then Arakawa Under the Bridge should be another enjoyable series for this year.

The art in this anime was generally quite impressive; the animations flow nicely and drawings are polished and detailed. The same can be said about the sound as well, with the music and effects suiting the light-hearted feel of the story well.

Kou instantly reminded me of 'Zetsubou-Sensei' (regardless of the fact read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 5, 2010
knightlight567
There being only one episode out so far, there is only so much to say. That being said, if you enjoyed FLCL, it has a strangely similar feel to it. Basically, the story, art, sound, characters, nothing really matters. Its basically a series of jokes.

There is a character that has a "normal" outlook on life, but has one major restriction on how he lives it, and another who is anything but normal, and is unintentionally abusing his restriction on life. As such the entire show thus far is Set-up, Gag, WTF, Gag, Set-up, Gag, WTF, Gag.............

If they could actually keep that up for 13 read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 12, 2014
Gabornsmith
While this show is random and crazy it is also really funny. Every character is memorable and surprisingly complex while still adding an element of charm that makes this show stand out as one of the best comedy animes out there. The show is elevated even more by the romance between the two leads. I can't recommend this show enough.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 30, 2010
Astra118
When I first started watching this anime, I was extremely skeptical due to the first few episodes unable to grasp my attention. However, later on, the characters and their actions soon not only entertained but also touched me ever so slightly. Throughout the series, there are subtle metaphors that really make you think.

In addition, the comedy in this series is very innocent and will surely make even the most serious open up. The series however lacks much character background information and it really makes you feel unsatisfied.

In conclusion, this anime is one that will make you return to your nostalgic childhood innocence. I highly recommend read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 7, 2014
giby1
*This Review applies for both Season 1 and Season 2*
Very rarely I will find a series with such an absurd premise that is so very very funny. Arakawa Under the Bridge I will dare say tops on my list of funniest animes. I have seen this series about 3 times (Both Season 1 and 2)

Summary: Born into a wealthy familly, Ichinomiya Kou experienced the harshness of the business world early. The Ichinomiya family lives by the creed never to owe anyone anything. One day after Kou's pants are taken by a group of teens and put on the top of the bridge, Kou happens to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices