Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Aoi Bungaku Series


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Blue Literature
Japanese: 青い文学シリーズ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 11, 2009 to Dec 27, 2009
Premiered: Fall 2009
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Movic, Happinet Pictures
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Novel
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.921 (scored by 28,673 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #6362
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #603
Members: 85,441
Favorites: 746

Reviews

trzr23
Jan 10, 2011

For a long time now, the psychology genre has been dominated by the likes of Elfen Lied, Higurashi, Monster and Requiem for a Phantom. All these anime looked at psychology as the mindset of a murderer or the troubled past of the protagonist, and there were also shows like Death Note, which focused on the mental abilities of two geniuses. This has been the way anime have defined the psychology genre for years.

But, as always, along comes a player that changes the way the game is played.

Aoi Bungaku Series thrusts you into the shows of the protagonists and synchronizes their brain to yours. read more
I found this review Helpful
Moonfrost
Jan 30, 2010
One thing I have learned after finishing this series, that the world and its society is a one cruel place full with violence, madness, and betrayal, or in the other hand, overpowered by those with the authority.

Story: 9/10
The Anime itself is divided into 6 different famous Japanese literatures made by famous authors from the past and all of the arcs has no connection with the others, but don't let this make you down because those 6 literatures sure were masterpieces indeed. You may prefer some arcs over the others, but overall it was a roller coaster full of emotions. One has to think deeper to read more
I found this review Helpful
Onslaught2k3
Dec 10, 2009
Though the series hasn't finish airing I'll write separate reviews for each of the stories told as told in the anime shows that have aired in Japan:

No Longer Human: Great. In just 4 episodes so much was told. One reason why people should watch the first 4 eps of Aoi Bungaku is because as odd as it may seem MANY OF US ask these questions at one point in our lives or another. I don't want to spoil anything or what happens or transpires so I won't give any references. There are several references to this title so it's difficult read more
I found this review Helpful
LebronsHairline
Mar 24, 2015
As a huge fan of the psychological (mostly thriller) genre, this anime was a diamond in the rough. I have not seen a series that did so well in presenting and going through human psychology. Not only that but, Aoi Bungaku also takes a look at issues involving human morality. The whole series consists of 6 works of fiction from Japanese authors. On the surface the idea sounds dull as it relates with classic Japanese literature, which as we’ve seen in multiple school SoL anime, are apparently a bore to read. Though I don’t know what the original pieces of read more
I found this review Helpful
literaturenerd
Oct 12, 2014
Overview:

If you have never heard of Aoi Bungaku, don't be ashamed. It is NOT a well known series at all. This is unfortunate, because in both popularity and rating it is one of the most criminally underrated anime on all of MAL. What makes this anime good? I will try to do it some justice and explain.

Story: 10/10

Aoi Bungaku is an anthology of stories taken from classic Japanese literature. The most famous of the stories featured is the short novel "No Longer Human" which is covered in episodes 1-4. The story is about a tortured young artist who as a child was sexually abused read more
I found this review Helpful
tsuki02
Jun 9, 2015
Aoi Bungaku Series is six works of Japanese literature packed into twelve episodes. Perhaps that sounds dull—I mean, old literature always seems kinda boring, but this series presents themes of human morality and emotions in a very different way. Think of this as six different psychological, very short anime if you will, each one with a different topic to make you think about.

Firstly: The narrator at the beginning. He's great, and there's this eerie background music playing in the beginning as he asks us to please watch. The way he introduces the authors' lives (...All of them seem to be very sad. I'm not sure read more
I found this review Helpful
jdbe
Aug 17, 2014
Anime being based on manga adaptions are very much common place, in fact, I'm not sure if I know an anime not based off an adaption. However, anime's based on old novels are very rare, and Aoi Bungaku is one of those rare types.

Aoi Bungaku (Or Blue/Evergreen literature) follows the adaptions of some of the most popular Japanese literature in the mid 20th century, and how their messages still resonate today.

As for the story, Aoi Bungaku is split into 5 arcs, one 4 episode arc with three 2 episode arcs. The last 2 episode can be left as either separate stories or together as they read more
I found this review Helpful
Aqu
Jan 20, 2010
This is my first review ever. I was planning to refrain from writing a review, but now I just have to in order to see how many of you will find what I'm about to say helpful plus I don't have many anime friends so sharing it here will be the best alternative :P.

Firstly, as far as the story goes its divided in 5 entirely different stories, so each of them have a totally different feel to them. In my opinion, they tried too hard to be more artsy and create complexity but art already is complex and in Japan's nature they make profound read more
I found this review Helpful
berserkersoul
May 21, 2015
*THIS ANIME CONTAINS TRIGGERS/GRAPHIC SCENES! PLEASE WATCH CAREFULLY!*
~~~READ "IN SHORTS" FOR THE GIST

This anime is an adaptation of 6 modern japanese pieces of literature:
~No Longer Human (NLH): (episodes 1-4) a rich student who wants to be an artist gets lost in his dreams and falls prey to drugs and alcohol in the mist of his depression
~In the Forest, Under the Cherry Blossom in Full Bloom:(5-6) a mountain man falls in love with a woman who forces him to kill to fulfill her wants
~Kokoro: (7-8) a scholar invites a monk (his childhood friend) to stay with him where the landlords are a mother read more
I found this review Helpful
Moritsune
Feb 18, 2010
"Brilliant" is what I first thought when watching this series, "how artfully, and thoughtfully they have captured these stories on screen". Even though I had not read any of the stories these adaptations were based on , there was no doubt to me that they were masterful interpretations, whether they were honest to the original or not. I was overjoyed by this sterling example of what, let us say "higher" animation ought to be. Well, at least one type of "high" animation. Everything about these adaptations is wonderful. Animation, dialogue, scenery, pacing, comedy, general awkwardness; it all culminates in a truly remarkable atmosphere.
I have read more
I found this review Helpful
8thSin
Oct 28, 2010
"Masterpieces are Blue."
'Aoi Bungaku Series' (literally 'Blue Literature Series') is an anime adaptation of 6 Japanese masterpiece novels of 20th century, in commemoration of 100th anniversary of Dazai Osamu's birth (the author of 'No Longer Human' and 'Run, Melos!').

The color blue symbolizes youth in Japan. These works of literature are forever young, in context, the title of this anime series is 'Timeless Japanese Classics'.

STORY:
Novel adaptations,

Ep1~4: 'No Longer Human' (Dazai Osamu)
Ep5~6: 'Under the Full Bloom of Cherry Blossom Forest' (Sakaguchi Ango)
Ep7~8: 'Kokoro' (Natsume Souseki)
Ep9~10: 'Run, Melos!' (Dazai Osamu)
Ep11: 'The Spider's Thread' (Akutagawa Ryuunosuke)
Ep12: 'Hell Screen' (Akutagawa Ryuunosuke)

Being true Japanese classics, every piece of original literature, other read more
I found this review Helpful
Flawfinder
Feb 17, 2015
Back when Madhouse was at its peak, one of their more ambitious projects was to adapt six classic short stories from Japanese literature with a different director attached to each story, minus the last two which were done by the same director because he chose to adapt the two shortest stories of the bunch and only needed one episode for each one. The only connecting thread between these stories is the opening narration done by some Japanese guy trying to evoke Rod Sterling and failing massively at it, and the fact that each adapted story is a depressing look at humanity's dark side and not read more
I found this review Helpful
hallythemartian
Jun 6, 2016
You know, there's always this one anime that just makes your mind blow. You have a lot of things to say about it, either in a good or a bad way, that you can't say anything. Well, Aoi Bungaku Series is one of those animes. And you either like it or hate it, there's no in between. In my case, I pretty much liked it.

The whole concept of an anime that adapts six modern classics of Japanese literature is already original; I don't think I've ever seen something like that before.

Since the anime is divided into 6 arcs that are totally unrelated, I'll be read more
I found this review Helpful
ebonyhatesyou
Nov 29, 2013
Advice for all drama and psychological lovers:
Only watch from the first to the fourth episodes, the first story ends there and from my point of view the others are in other genres. I watched the fifth episode and didn't understand what was happening, but then I noticed it wasn't a fill episode or something inside the Ningen Shikkaku story. And no, it didn't look like the other stories were dramatical or similar in theme.
And the of course ->disappointment
I found this review Helpful
Slayahh
Feb 5, 2016
This anime consists out of 6 arcs of different lengths based on different books. As you would assume, some are better than others and there is a real masterpiece amongst them, . In this review, i am going to be focusing on the gems and explain what i found appealing about them.

No Longer Human (Episode 1-4) - This is the flawless gem out of these arcs. The story is amazing. We follow the life of an art student who ignored his fathers appeal of studying something useful and contributing to the society. He goes from one addiction to another in order to find a purpose read more
I found this review Helpful
MannouChka
Dec 14, 2015
Not knowing where to start I would say Bungaku Aoi is a death Box!! Yes, because during these six stories, six of these classic Japanese, we are told the death from several views. I had almost never seen an anime in this genre, where despair is present from beginning to end!

No Longer Human (Ningen Shikkaku): The first story (4 episodes) depicts a tragic period in the life of the author Osamu Dasai. The drama and richness of the narrative is found between themes of suicide, loss of identity and search for humanity ... The title of the new exhibits in the implicit battle of a read more
I found this review Helpful
dvl_
Jan 25, 2010
"Masterpieces are blue", says the man at the start of every episode. Blue, because the color represents tragedy and sadness, and that's certainly what this is about, as every character in their arc experiences hard moments in his or her life, which they overcome or not.

A terrific anime with beautiful art and well-adapted stories of classic Japanese authors and every single one of them interesting.

I believe some may not like it due to the negative vibe the anime shows, during literally every arc. Yes, the anime is not one of those you watch sitting and laughing in front of your TV or monitor, which is read more
I found this review Helpful
IfKanekiKenUKen2
Jun 6, 2016
This series is comprised of adaptations of 6 modern classics in Japanese literature which are Osamu Dazai’s No Longer Human (Ningen Shikkaku), Run, Melos! (Hashire, Melos!), Natsume Soseki’s Kokoro, Ryunosuke Akutagawa’s Hell Screen (Jigoku Hen) , The Spider's Thread (Kumo no Ito), and Ango Sakaguchi's In the Forest, Under Cherries in Full Bloom (Sakura no Mori no Mankai no Shita).

I will not talk about all 6 of the stories instead I will tell you about my favorite story.

Osamu Dazai's No Longer Human (Ningen Shikkaku):
A high school student becomes alienate, he falls into a cycle of self abuse, depression and drugs that taint his life for read more
I found this review Helpful
Psijic
May 16, 2016
It's no wonder that Aoi Bungaku Series is often called a masterpiece, as it's adapting five literary works which are legendary - according to the creators of the series, of course.

At the beginning of every episode there's a man who speaks some minutes about the following story. He doesn't just explain what exactly happens, no, he explains the background of the author and his reasons to write that story, which is always(!) strongly connected to his history. With that in mind, the episodes start, making them way more interesting than before.
That could be called a replacement for the lacking opening - sure, there are like read more
I found this review Helpful
cash_money_hoes
Apr 12, 2016
A book is but a medium through which an author conveys tone and meaning. A show is but a medium through which those same things may be conveyed. However, what happens when the meaning and tone transfers media? That depends on the success of the transition and the transference of media available. Though I do not base my reviews on how accurate the show is to the source material, it would be hard to judge each arc in the Aoi Bungaku Series without taking a look at the source material and acknowledging their existence. Due to the nature of this series, I also feel like read more
I found this review Helpful