Ranked #565

Aoi Bungaku Series

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Blue Literature
Japanese: 青い文学シリーズ


Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 11, 2009 to Dec 27, 2009
Premiered: Fall 2009
Broadcast: Unknown
Source: Unknown
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company


Score: 7.961 (scored by 24,967 users)
Ranked: #5652
Popularity: #581
Members: 71,177
Favorites: 607
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Yesterday, 11:50 AM
It's almost pointless to review Aoi Bungaku Series, everything has been said about it by everyone but I feel the need to talk about this series since it have a special place for me. It was one of my first mature anime series, a surprising choice to begin with. I remember I had watched it on a whim. I have a lot to say about it so prepare yourself.


First I'm going to talk about the art. So the definition of perfection, the characters are splendid and their expressions are near heaven. But I did have some preferances. I read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 10, 2011

For a long time now, the psychology genre has been dominated by the likes of Elfen Lied, Higurashi, Monster and Requiem for a Phantom. All these anime looked at psychology as the mindset of a murderer or the troubled past of the protagonist, and there were also shows like Death Note, which focused on the mental abilities of two geniuses. This has been the way anime have defined the psychology genre for years.

But, as always, along comes a player that changes the way the game is played.

Aoi Bungaku Series thrusts you into the shows of the protagonists and synchronizes their brain to yours. read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 24, 2015
As a huge fan of the psychological (mostly thriller) genre, this anime was a diamond in the rough. I have not seen a series that did so well in presenting and going through human psychology. Not only that but, Aoi Bungaku also takes a look at issues involving human morality. The whole series consists of 6 works of fiction from Japanese authors. On the surface the idea sounds dull as it relates with classic Japanese literature, which as we’ve seen in multiple school SoL anime, are apparently a bore to read. Though I don’t know what the original pieces of read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 30, 2010
One thing I have learned after finishing this series, that the world and its society is a one cruel place full with violence, madness, and betrayal, or in the other hand, overpowered by those with the authority.

Story: 9/10
The Anime itself is divided into 6 different famous Japanese literatures made by famous authors from the past and all of the arcs has no connection with the others, but don't let this make you down because those 6 literatures sure were masterpieces indeed. You may prefer some arcs over the others, but overall it was a roller coaster full of emotions. One has to think deeper to read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 9, 2015
Aoi Bungaku Series is six works of Japanese literature packed into twelve episodes. Perhaps that sounds dull—I mean, old literature always seems kinda boring, but this series presents themes of human morality and emotions in a very different way. Think of this as six different psychological, very short anime if you will, each one with a different topic to make you think about.

Firstly: The narrator at the beginning. He's great, and there's this eerie background music playing in the beginning as he asks us to please watch. The way he introduces the authors' lives (...All of them seem to be very sad. I'm not sure read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 12, 2014

If you have never heard of Aoi Bungaku, don't be ashamed. It is NOT a well known series at all. This is unfortunate, because in both popularity and rating it is one of the most criminally underrated anime on all of MAL. What makes this anime good? I will try to do it some justice and explain.

Story: 10/10

Aoi Bungaku is an anthology of stories taken from classic Japanese literature. The most famous of the stories featured is the short novel "No Longer Human" which is covered in episodes 1-4. The story is about a tortured young artist who as a child was sexually abused read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 10, 2009
Though the series hasn't finish airing I'll write separate reviews for each of the stories told as told in the anime shows that have aired in Japan:

No Longer Human: Great. In just 4 episodes so much was told. One reason why people should watch the first 4 eps of Aoi Bungaku is because as odd as it may seem MANY OF US ask these questions at one point in our lives or another. I don't want to spoil anything or what happens or transpires so I won't give any references. There are several references to this title so it's difficult read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 17, 2014
Anime being based on manga adaptions are very much common place, in fact, I'm not sure if I know an anime not based off an adaption. However, anime's based on old novels are very rare, and Aoi Bungaku is one of those rare types.

Aoi Bungaku (Or Blue/Evergreen literature) follows the adaptions of some of the most popular Japanese literature in the mid 20th century, and how their messages still resonate today.

As for the story, Aoi Bungaku is split into 5 arcs, one 4 episode arc with three 2 episode arcs. The last 2 episode can be left as either separate stories or together as they read more
I found this review Helpful
May 21, 2015

This anime is an adaptation of 6 modern japanese pieces of literature:
~No Longer Human (NLH): (episodes 1-4) a rich student who wants to be an artist gets lost in his dreams and falls prey to drugs and alcohol in the mist of his depression
~In the Forest, Under the Cherry Blossom in Full Bloom:(5-6) a mountain man falls in love with a woman who forces him to kill to fulfill her wants
~Kokoro: (7-8) a scholar invites a monk (his childhood friend) to stay with him where the landlords are a mother read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 17, 2015
Back when Madhouse was at its peak, one of their more ambitious projects was to adapt six classic short stories from Japanese literature with a different director attached to each story, minus the last two which were done by the same director because he chose to adapt the two shortest stories of the bunch and only needed one episode for each one. The only connecting thread between these stories is the opening narration done by some Japanese guy trying to evoke Rod Sterling and failing massively at it, and the fact that each adapted story is a depressing look at humanity's dark side and not read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 29, 2013
Advice for all drama and psychological lovers:
Only watch from the first to the fourth episodes, the first story ends there and from my point of view the others are in other genres. I watched the fifth episode and didn't understand what was happening, but then I noticed it wasn't a fill episode or something inside the Ningen Shikkaku story. And no, it didn't look like the other stories were dramatical or similar in theme.
And the of course ->disappointment
I found this review Helpful
Jan 20, 2010
This is my first review ever. I was planning to refrain from writing a review, but now I just have to in order to see how many of you will find what I'm about to say helpful plus I don't have many anime friends so sharing it here will be the best alternative :P.

Firstly, as far as the story goes its divided in 5 entirely different stories, so each of them have a totally different feel to them. In my opinion, they tried too hard to be more artsy and create complexity but art already is complex and in Japan's nature they make profound read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 28, 2010
"Masterpieces are Blue."
'Aoi Bungaku Series' (literally 'Blue Literature Series') is an anime adaptation of 6 Japanese masterpiece novels of 20th century, in commemoration of 100th anniversary of Dazai Osamu's birth (the author of 'No Longer Human' and 'Run, Melos!').

The color blue symbolizes youth in Japan. These works of literature are forever young, in context, the title of this anime series is 'Timeless Japanese Classics'.

Novel adaptations,

Ep1~4: 'No Longer Human' (Dazai Osamu)
Ep5~6: 'Under the Full Bloom of Cherry Blossom Forest' (Sakaguchi Ango)
Ep7~8: 'Kokoro' (Natsume Souseki)
Ep9~10: 'Run, Melos!' (Dazai Osamu)
Ep11: 'The Spider's Thread' (Akutagawa Ryuunosuke)
Ep12: 'Hell Screen' (Akutagawa Ryuunosuke)

Being true Japanese classics, every piece of original literature, other read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 18, 2010
"Brilliant" is what I first thought when watching this series, "how artfully, and thoughtfully they have captured these stories on screen". Even though I had not read any of the stories these adaptations were based on , there was no doubt to me that they were masterful interpretations, whether they were honest to the original or not. I was overjoyed by this sterling example of what, let us say "higher" animation ought to be. Well, at least one type of "high" animation. Everything about these adaptations is wonderful. Animation, dialogue, scenery, pacing, comedy, general awkwardness; it all culminates in a truly remarkable atmosphere.
I have read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 29, 2013
Aoi Bungaku is a series of short stories, all of which are based off of classic Japanese Literature. This is a very good series, but it has problems. Because there are six separate stories there is a massive difference in quality depending on the episode arc, so I will break it down accordingly.

No Longer Human (episode 1–4): This is truly a masterpiece. I don't know why they lead with this one, because none of the subsequent stories live up to it. 10.

Sakura no mori no mankai no shita (episode 5–6): The story was good, but I can't give the staff much credit for that, and read more
I found this review Helpful
May 30, 2012
This anime is inconsistent from story to story, a problem with many anthologies. One moment you're reveling in darkness, the next you're watching a zany chase sequence in the next story. Truly the only thing that strings these together is that they are Japanese classics. They are not great stories though, the two I saw were fairly predictable if not painful to watch. At times in the very first story, it jumped so much in time that you were lost as to certain events, or why they might have transpired that way. Also, the draw in the more horror based ones seems to be "This read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 25, 2010
"Masterpieces are blue", says the man at the start of every episode. Blue, because the color represents tragedy and sadness, and that's certainly what this is about, as every character in their arc experiences hard moments in his or her life, which they overcome or not.

A terrific anime with beautiful art and well-adapted stories of classic Japanese authors and every single one of them interesting.

I believe some may not like it due to the negative vibe the anime shows, during literally every arc. Yes, the anime is not one of those you watch sitting and laughing in front of your TV or monitor, which is read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 25, 2012
Encouraged by this all positive voices, I decided to check is it really worth to meet mentioned title. Aoi Bungaku, known also as Blue Literature caused in me wave of disgust than delight on epic masterpiece, which it is praised in every possible way. I’m not sure I watched exactly the same anime…So, it’s time to tell about concrets…

It might seem those 12 episodes escaped my memory but, unfortunately, mistake. First history called No Longer Human / Ningen Shikkaku, which was written by Dazai Osamu was literally zenith of everything. Some people search in it biographical conditions, but if that so, author must had ,,interesting” read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 18, 2010
Let's be clear about one thing: Aoi Bungaku IS a masterpiece. Although it consists of six different stories, it is, nonetheless, a unified piece of art. The stories are connected via there deep metaphorisation, and through a sense of lingering despair intertwined with specks of hope and light.
The animation is exquisite; the artwork is truly magnificent and the enjoyment of watching an anime with this level of animation cannot fail to make you happy and satisfied.
Of course, the animation in Aoi Bungaku reflects the depth of the stories, and the complexity of its characters. Although I like to watch an occasional storyless series read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 10, 2013
Aoi bengaku ... a series which although i was a bit hesitant to watch but i am truly grateful that i did .

Aoi Bengaku which literally means 'blue literature' is a collection of evergreen masterpieces of stories from japan . stories which are comparable to Shakespeare or some other famous guy ... it has 5 stories in it of which one of it is of 4 episodes and the rest are two episodes each .

The mind blowing stroy awesome character designs by kubo tite , takeshi obata (which are famous for their works bleach and death note respectively ) and collective awesomeness makes it a read more
I found this review Helpful