MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #493
Aoi Bungaku Series

Aoi Bungaku Series

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Blue Literature
Japanese: 青い文学シリーズ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 11, 2009 to Dec 27, 2009
Duration: 22 min. per episode
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.001 (scored by 20441 users)
Ranked: #4932
Popularity: #529
Members: 55,857
Favorites: 494
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Jan 10, 2011
trzr23

For a long time now, the psychology genre has been dominated by the likes of Elfen Lied, Higurashi, Monster and Requiem for a Phantom. All these anime looked at psychology as the mindset of a murderer or the troubled past of the protagonist, and there were also shows like Death Note, which focused on the mental abilities of two geniuses. This has been the way anime have defined the psychology genre for years.

But, as always, along comes a player that changes the way the game is played.

Aoi Bungaku Series thrusts you into the shows of the protagonists and synchronizes their brain to yours. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 30, 2010
Moonfrost
One thing I have learned after finishing this series, that the world and its society is a one cruel place full with violence, madness, and betrayal, or in the other hand, overpowered by those with the authority.

Story: 9/10
The Anime itself is divided into 6 different famous Japanese literatures made by famous authors from the past and all of the arcs has no connection with the others, but don't let this make you down because those 6 literatures sure were masterpieces indeed. You may prefer some arcs over the others, but overall it was a roller coaster full of emotions. One has to think deeper to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 17, 2014
jdbe
Anime being based on manga adaptions are very much common place, in fact, I'm not sure if I know an anime not based off an adaption. However, anime's based on old novels are very rare, and Aoi Bungaku is one of those rare types.

Aoi Bungaku (Or Blue/Evergreen literature) follows the adaptions of some of the most popular Japanese literature in the mid 20th century, and how their messages still resonate today.

As for the story, Aoi Bungaku is split into 5 arcs, one 4 episode arc with three 2 episode arcs. The last 2 episode can be left as either separate stories or together as they read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 10, 2009
Onslaught2k3
Though the series hasn't finish airing I'll write separate reviews for each of the stories told as told in the anime shows that have aired in Japan:

No Longer Human: Great. In just 4 episodes so much was told. One reason why people should watch the first 4 eps of Aoi Bungaku is because as odd as it may seem MANY OF US ask these questions at one point in our lives or another. I don't want to spoil anything or what happens or transpires so I won't give any references. There are several references to this title so it's difficult read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 12, 2014
literaturenerd
Overview:

If you have never heard of Aoi Bungaku, don't be ashamed. It is NOT a well known series at all. This is unfortunate, because in both popularity and rating it is one of the most criminally underrated anime on all of MAL. What makes this anime good? I will try to do it some justice and explain.

Story: 10/10

Aoi Bungaku is an anthology of stories taken from classic Japanese literature. The most famous of the stories featured is the short novel "No Longer Human" which is covered in episodes 1-4. The story is about a tortured young artist who as a child was sexually abused read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 26, 2013
rin_misami
The perception of good and evil is tested in aoi buganku. The need to conform to society over to keep one's nature is a struggle which the characters of the stories deal with. It makes us question ourselves and our morals while presenting us a tragically, beautiful story.

Plot-wise the anime is based off of 6 Japanese classics. Since the stories have already been deemed classics it is not a question of if the plot is well developed or if overall it was good. The job of this anime was to interpret it in a way that we could understand the plot and translate it well read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 18, 2010
Moritsune
"Brilliant" is what I first thought when watching this series, "how artfully, and thoughtfully they have captured these stories on screen". Even though I had not read any of the stories these adaptations were based on , there was no doubt to me that they were masterful interpretations, whether they were honest to the original or not. I was overjoyed by this sterling example of what, let us say "higher" animation ought to be. Well, at least one type of "high" animation. Everything about these adaptations is wonderful. Animation, dialogue, scenery, pacing, comedy, general awkwardness; it all culminates in a truly remarkable atmosphere.
I have read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 29, 2013
ebonyhatesyou
Advice for all drama and psychological lovers:
Only watch from the first to the fourth episodes, the first story ends there and from my point of view the others are in other genres. I watched the fifth episode and didn't understand what was happening, but then I noticed it wasn't a fill episode or something inside the Ningen Shikkaku story. And no, it didn't look like the other stories were dramatical or similar in theme.
And the of course ->disappointment
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 18, 2010
aindah
Let's be clear about one thing: Aoi Bungaku IS a masterpiece. Although it consists of six different stories, it is, nonetheless, a unified piece of art. The stories are connected via there deep metaphorisation, and through a sense of lingering despair intertwined with specks of hope and light.
The animation is exquisite; the artwork is truly magnificent and the enjoyment of watching an anime with this level of animation cannot fail to make you happy and satisfied.
Of course, the animation in Aoi Bungaku reflects the depth of the stories, and the complexity of its characters. Although I like to watch an occasional storyless series read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 28, 2010
8thSin
"Masterpieces are Blue."
'Aoi Bungaku Series' (literally 'Blue Literature Series') is an anime adaptation of 6 Japanese masterpiece novels of 20th century, in commemoration of 100th anniversary of Dazai Osamu's birth (the author of 'No Longer Human' and 'Run, Melos!').

The color blue symbolizes youth in Japan. These works of literature are forever young, in context, the title of this anime series is 'Timeless Japanese Classics'.

STORY:
Novel adaptations,

Ep1~4: 'No Longer Human' (Dazai Osamu)
Ep5~6: 'Under the Full Bloom of Cherry Blossom Forest' (Sakaguchi Ango)
Ep7~8: 'Kokoro' (Natsume Souseki)
Ep9~10: 'Run, Melos!' (Dazai Osamu)
Ep11: 'The Spider's Thread' (Akutagawa Ryuunosuke)
Ep12: 'Hell Screen' (Akutagawa Ryuunosuke)

Being true Japanese classics, every piece of original literature, other read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 29, 2013
ShinokoSensei
Aoi Bungaku is a series of short stories, all of which are based off of classic Japanese Literature. This is a very good series, but it has problems. Because there are six separate stories there is a massive difference in quality depending on the episode arc, so I will break it down accordingly.

No Longer Human (episode 1–4): This is truly a masterpiece. I don't know why they lead with this one, because none of the subsequent stories live up to it. 10.

Sakura no mori no mankai no shita (episode 5–6): The story was good, but I can't give the staff much credit for that, and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 20, 2010
Aqu
This is my first review ever. I was planning to refrain from writing a review, but now I just have to in order to see how many of you will find what I'm about to say helpful plus I don't have many anime friends so sharing it here will be the best alternative :P.

Firstly, as far as the story goes its divided in 5 entirely different stories, so each of them have a totally different feel to them. In my opinion, they tried too hard to be more artsy and create complexity but art already is complex and in Japan's nature they make profound read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 10, 2013
Koutsuna_sama
Aoi bengaku ... a series which although i was a bit hesitant to watch but i am truly grateful that i did .

Aoi Bengaku which literally means 'blue literature' is a collection of evergreen masterpieces of stories from japan . stories which are comparable to Shakespeare or some other famous guy ... it has 5 stories in it of which one of it is of 4 episodes and the rest are two episodes each .

The mind blowing stroy awesome character designs by kubo tite , takeshi obata (which are famous for their works bleach and death note respectively ) and collective awesomeness makes it a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 25, 2010
dvl_
"Masterpieces are blue", says the man at the start of every episode. Blue, because the color represents tragedy and sadness, and that's certainly what this is about, as every character in their arc experiences hard moments in his or her life, which they overcome or not.

A terrific anime with beautiful art and well-adapted stories of classic Japanese authors and every single one of them interesting.

I believe some may not like it due to the negative vibe the anime shows, during literally every arc. Yes, the anime is not one of those you watch sitting and laughing in front of your TV or monitor, which is read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 30, 2012
shinnlorankira
This anime is inconsistent from story to story, a problem with many anthologies. One moment you're reveling in darkness, the next you're watching a zany chase sequence in the next story. Truly the only thing that strings these together is that they are Japanese classics. They are not great stories though, the two I saw were fairly predictable if not painful to watch. At times in the very first story, it jumped so much in time that you were lost as to certain events, or why they might have transpired that way. Also, the draw in the more horror based ones seems to be "This read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 9, 2012
worldvision
I studied Psychology and still fascinated with it so it is given that my most favorite genre is psychological based stories. One of my greatest fascinations would also be episodic type of stories. And so with this anime that brings those two together is already a sure jackpot for me.

After watching the first story, though it is episodic I am expecting the rest to be somewhat like the first story but for my surprise, every story is so different from the others. I didn’t see it coming but I just love how they are so different. Every story comes in different forms and approach with read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 13, 2012
ramimanify
It is outstanding because it is outstanding
perhaps the real joy of this six-stories long anime series is behind the fact that it is actual literal work, written by famous Japanese writers whose social suffering and personal experience shines through each and every one of the six stories included.

Story:
1.No Longer human:
the story centers around a troubled young artist in search for self-reclaim and confidence, while taken through the series, we are witnesses to the brutality of society when inflicted upon an unsuspecting young mind born with no real ties to the material world, this story hits you deep with drama unrelenting, and some heart-wrenching scenes, I read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 2, 2013
khunter
I would have to say that this anime speaks to me. Now granted, only two of the anime's in the series really spoke to me and that was of course kokoro and ningen shikakku. I have both books and read them several times, and watched those two series over and over again and to put it bluntly: they are simply amazing. If you are even halfway intelligent you will be able to feel a relation and sort of empathy for the characters. Their stories make you think about life and maybe even your own life. I can tell you that no longer human(ningen shikakku) the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 25, 2012
Ayuuki-chan
Encouraged by this all positive voices, I decided to check is it really worth to meet mentioned title. Aoi Bungaku, known also as Blue Literature caused in me wave of disgust than delight on epic masterpiece, which it is praised in every possible way. I’m not sure I watched exactly the same anime…So, it’s time to tell about concrets…

It might seem those 12 episodes escaped my memory but, unfortunately, mistake. First history called No Longer Human / Ningen Shikkaku, which was written by Dazai Osamu was literally zenith of everything. Some people search in it biographical conditions, but if that so, author must had ,,interesting” read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 4, 2012
Khryos
Aoi Bungaku... Never before has an anime made me feel not only depressed, but empty. To me, the only part of the series worth talking about is The No Longer Human section (episodes 1 through 4). Don't get me wrong, the other sections are great, but none of them stand out any where near as much as No Longer Human, so that's why this review will be centred around that.
The story is fantastic, being told from the eyes of a highschool student who's always been alienated from society, never fit in with anybody or had any real friends. I don't want to say much about read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices