Ranked #375

Kuuchuu Buranko

Alternative Titles

English: Welcome to Irabu's Office
Synonyms: Kuchu Buranko, Trapeze, Flying Trapeze
Japanese: 空中ブランコ


Type: TV
Episodes: 11
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 15, 2009 to Dec 24, 2009
Premiered: Fall 2009
Broadcast: Unknown
Source: Novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company


Score: 8.131 (scored by 10,898 users)
Ranked: #3752
Popularity: #1237
Members: 32,015
Favorites: 600
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Nov 23, 2015
This was definitely different in almost every aspect.
Kuuchuu Buranko makes you go 'what the hell??' from the very first moment. I really was a happy person after watching the first episode. Let me explain.

Story : 10
I haven't bumped into an anime about psychology again. I'm not referring to the psychological genre, but psychology itself. Every episode examines a different case of psychological problems, their cause and the remedy recommended by the therapist. Well, the therapist is not the typical one nor are his treatments - this is what adds comedic and psychedelic elements as well.

The way the cases are presented gets your interest from the read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 29, 2009
Here is an anime that will turn 90% of its viewers away. Why? Because it dares to be distinctly different. For the remaining 10% who watched after the first episode, you probably know already how great this anime is. Now let's hope to switch these figures, so everyone can enjoy.

Story: 9/10
The story is of Dr. Irabu, a psychiatrist who also happens to be the vice chairman in his fathers hospital. He's an incredibly skilled doctor who welcomes many patients, and his treatment is always vitamin injections. The story revolves around the people with disorders such as OCD (Obsessive Compulsive Disorder), NPD (Narcissistic Personality Disorder), and read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 23, 2015
Do you truly know the people around you? Do you notice the chirping canaries that fly by your side?

Psychiatry deals with grave issues; perhaps triggered by a past trauma, perhaps by an insufferable present; patients find themselves struggling to cope with their daily lives. This gravity is what makes the eccentric Irabu Ichiro, certified psychiatrist, so bewildering a character. Accompanied by his seductive nurse Mayumi, he runs a psychiatric ward offering consultation and treatment for people suffering from various mental disorders. The deceptively simple premise of Kuuchuu Buranko lays the groundwork for an extraordinary exploration of human mind and society.

The first thing in Kuuchuu Buranko read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 15, 2014
"No one is perfect!"

Everybody has problems, everybody has fears, everybody needs help sometimes, but despite being as flawed as we are society seamlessly moves forward and knowingly or not we are each an important gear in advancing our culture and world.

Kuuchuu Buranko is an artistic, psychedelic expression of problems or doubts we have and getting through them or bettering ourselves. Some of us have common fears and anxieties from not being able to deal with our families and trying to run away, to maybe some stranger problems like uncontrollable erections, as well as everything in-between. Those are the types of experiences we handle in read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 25, 2015
The true genius of Kuuchuu Buranko is difficult to pick up on, veiled as it is by colourful characters, humorous dialogue and direction that rivals the likes of Satoshi Kon's work for sheer weirdness. Indeed, without the implicit subtext it would be little more than an intriguing novelty, a slightly unconventional documentary almost. With the layered messages that this show dispenses and leaves you to ponder, it becomes one of the most near-perfect masterpieces of the visual medium, and a hauntingly bitter one at that.

That's right: under the colours and the comedy, Kuuchuu Buranko is a series characterised by an impassioned attack on its own read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 19, 2014
"I told my psychiatrist that everyone hates me. He said I was being ridiculous - everyone hasn't met me yet."
-Rodney Dangerfield

Story: 8/10
The story of Kuuchuu Buranko is an episodic one revolving around a psychiatrist by the name of Irabu who works in the psychiatric ward of the Irabu General Hospital. Each episode has another patient coming to see Irabu to have him solve their psychological problems which are represented in a really exaggerated way. One character suffers from a perma-boner while another is terrified of all sharp objects and is yet a member of the read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 29, 2009
Trapeze is a show that comes along once in a blue moon. There is no moe to be found here. There is no fanservice (apart from Mayumi's injections). There are no lolis. The art style is odd, and there is no bloodshed.

So, why should you watch it, you ask? Trapeze is a story that dares to be drastically different, with amazing writing and strong characters, while supporting a unique and engaging art style. The voice acting is top notch, and the stories are great.

Taking place mid-to-late December, the show is mostly episodic, covering the same time frame. Characters appear in episodes other than their read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 2, 2015
The study of psychology has always been a fascinating subject to me, particularly when it is the focal point of some kind of medium such as literature or anime. One word that comes to mind when I think of Kuuchuu Buranko is bizarre. This series assaults its viewers with peculiar, even somewhat grotesque visuals that will both perplex and amaze you. Prepare to go down the rabbit hole, because this anime is a colorful and confusing journey into the inter-workings of the human psyche.

The story follows the young psychologist Ichiro Irabu, who counsels people with disorders such as depression and obsessive compulsion. Many times he read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 7, 2015
I'm writing this review purely to offer a different perspective from the ones I've seen. This isn't the type of anime that everyone likes. I happen to be one that was rather disappointed by it. Feel free to disagree, but here is a review from someone who thought this was a pretty mediocre show to counter all the 10/10 reviews.

Story: 4/10

The one major compliment I will give this anime is that it is rather unique and does try to do something different. Chances are you won't see many anime's quite like this one. This is made most obvious in the story and in the read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 18, 2014
Some people say that the best way to solve a problem concerning internal conflict is to talk to someone about it. Whether this proves true or not is to be decided by those with said conflicts, but even so, who should one of these people talk to in order to ease their conscience? Friends, family, strangers, celebrities? These are all likely possibilities, but what is debatably the most regarded choice in the matter is the local psychiatrist. People believe that because psychiatrists have a degree in psychology or study in the field of human development and interactions that they'd make a suitable choice to fix read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 8, 2015

"And now for something completely different" - John Cleese

Have you ever watched a medical drama series? They are VERY popular all over the world because people are fascinated by unusual disorders and tense medical emergencies. These shows essentially combine the genres of mystery, psychological, and high tension drama all while taking place in the real world with a "relatively" realistic scenario. Now I have a second question for you: "Have you ever watched an episode of House and said, Man this would be WAY better if I was on LSD?" If you said yes to that previous question, Kuuchuu Buranko is the show for read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 21, 2012
Kuchu Buranko certainly does enough to stick out of the norm for an anime title with both its storytelling and animation. The plotting to the series is mostly episodic, mixing comedy and drama in exploring how different types of psychological problems like Obsessive Compulsive Disorder, Narcissistic Personality Disorder and Yips negatively effect the lives of Irabu's patients. The characters in each story are fleshed-out enough where you get to know what their personal lives are like, how their disorder could have came about and how said disorder negatively effects them. Like Welcome to the NHK, you could be tempted to laugh at the problems effecting read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 4, 2011
If you've been to a psychiatrist, you should see this.
If you doubt psychiatry to the core and question why your mental state should be cracked open by strangers who think they have the right to hide you from you, then this series will probably change your mind.

Irabu, like all psychiatrists, diagnoses his patients based on their behaviors, and like all psychiatrists, he only vaguely tells them what their problems are. Instead, he gets them involved in situations where their fear, insecurity, or hidden feelings would surface and hit them hard. This method does not always guarantee success, and in fact, not all his read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 4, 2013
Now here’s a show that caught me off-guard, but in a good way.

At face value, Kuuchuu Buranko, or Trapeze, seems like a collection of psychological case studies. Symptoms of eleven patients are examined throughout a short span that lasts for about 9 days. Patients are each given a full episode of spotlight as we join along in their rather short, but entertaining “journeys” of trying to figure out the reasons behind their conditions. True to form, Trapeze applies the biopsychosocial approach (I’ll be referencing the three parts within this review) when examining each patient. Treatments are not limited to medicine, and as in read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 2, 2013
Kuuchuu Buranko is a show that quickly became one of my favorites, and yet many people remain largely unaware of it. At first it may seem like a show that is hard to get into, due to the unusual art style and format, but this couldn't be further from the truth.

I'll admit that upon starting the show I was a bit apprehensive myself, but by the second episode I was hooked. The thing that probably turns most people off- the art style- quickly became one of my favorite things about the show. The style, which manages to be both realistic and surrealistic, fits the read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 25, 2010

Kuuchuu Buranko is a truly brilliant and ‘different’ Anime that will blow your mind, it is a very weird show that will likely not apeal to a lot of people because it is so experimental.

It continuously repeats the dates 16th through to the 24th of December and follows Irabu a psychatrist as he deals with his patients.

There isn’t much of a story and is made up of eleven different cases spread across eleven episodes, although each episode deals with one character, they all turn up in other episodes either interacting with the episodes patient or just appearing in the background.

The artwork is rather unique, each read more
I found this review Helpful