MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #305
Kuuchuu Buranko

Kuuchuu Buranko

Alternative Titles

English: Welcome to Irabu's Office
Synonyms: Kuchu Buranko, Trapeze, Flying Trapeze
Japanese: 空中ブランコ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 11
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 15, 2009 to Dec 24, 2009
Duration: 25 min. per episode
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.181 (scored by 8428 users)
Ranked: #3052
Popularity: #1079
Members: 22,298
Favorites: 456
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Apr 15, 2014
Matas
"No one is perfect!"

Everybody has problems, everybody has fears, everybody needs help sometimes, but despite being as flawed as we are society seamlessly moves forward and knowingly or not we are each an important gear in advancing our culture and world.

Kuuchuu Buranko is an artistic, psychedelic expression of problems or doubts we have and getting through them or bettering ourselves. Some of us have common fears and anxieties from not being able to deal with our families and trying to run away, to maybe some stranger problems like uncontrollable erections, as well as everything in-between. Those are the types of experiences we handle in read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 29, 2009
Detective
Here is an anime that will turn 90% of its viewers away. Why? Because it dares to be distinctly different. For the remaining 10% who watched after the first episode, you probably know already how great this anime is. Now let's hope to switch these figures, so everyone can enjoy.

Story: 9/10
The story is of Dr. Irabu, a psychiatrist who also happens to be the vice chairman in his fathers hospital. He's an incredibly skilled doctor who welcomes many patients, and his treatment is always vitamin injections. The story revolves around the people with disorders such as OCD (Obsessive Compulsive Disorder), NPD (Narcissistic Personality Disorder), and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 29, 2009
nicepants
Trapeze is a show that comes along once in a blue moon. There is no moe to be found here. There is no fanservice (apart from Mayumi's injections). There are no lolis. The art style is odd, and there is no bloodshed.

So, why should you watch it, you ask? Trapeze is a story that dares to be drastically different, with amazing writing and strong characters, while supporting a unique and engaging art style. The voice acting is top notch, and the stories are great.

Taking place mid-to-late December, the show is mostly episodic, covering the same time frame. Characters appear in episodes other than their read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 18, 2014
Kapodaco
Some people say that the best way to solve a problem concerning internal conflict is to talk to someone about it. Whether this proves true or not is to be decided by those with said conflicts, but even so, who should one of these people talk to in order to ease their conscience? Friends, family, strangers, celebrities? These are all likely possibilities, but what is debatably the most regarded choice in the matter is the local psychiatrist. People believe that because psychiatrists have a degree in psychology or study in the field of human development and interactions that they'd make a suitable choice to fix read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 4, 2011
movoning
If you've been to a psychiatrist, you should see this.
If you doubt psychiatry to the core and question why your mental state should be cracked open by strangers who think they have the right to hide you from you, then this series will probably change your mind.

Irabu, like all psychiatrists, diagnoses his patients based on their behaviors, and like all psychiatrists, he only vaguely tells them what their problems are. Instead, he gets them involved in situations where their fear, insecurity, or hidden feelings would surface and hit them hard. This method does not always guarantee success, and in fact, not all his read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 9, 2013
Plangam
There are several anime that try to give off a western-like feeling, and many of them succeed in being different enough to the conventional anime about school kids, or supernatural girls. And then, on the other extreme, you would have anime like Trapeze that are not afraid to be as Japanese as they can get, with all the quirkiness/kinkiness that might imply, but not limited to just that. If in the first case, such a show might be considered pretentious or even pompuos, a show like this might very well be seen as unorthodox and bizarre.

However, if as soon as Dr. Irabu makes read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 21, 2012
ggultra2764
Kuchu Buranko certainly does enough to stick out of the norm for an anime title with both its storytelling and animation. The plotting to the series is mostly episodic, mixing comedy and drama in exploring how different types of psychological problems like Obsessive Compulsive Disorder, Narcissistic Personality Disorder and Yips negatively effect the lives of Irabu's patients. The characters in each story are fleshed-out enough where you get to know what their personal lives are like, how their disorder could have came about and how said disorder negatively effects them. Like Welcome to the NHK, you could be tempted to laugh at the problems effecting read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 4, 2013
Baconzombie
Now here’s a show that caught me off-guard, but in a good way.

Story:
9/10
At face value, Kuuchuu Buranko, or Trapeze, seems like a collection of psychological case studies. Symptoms of eleven patients are examined throughout a short span that lasts for about 9 days. Patients are each given a full episode of spotlight as we join along in their rather short, but entertaining “journeys” of trying to figure out the reasons behind their conditions. True to form, Trapeze applies the biopsychosocial approach (I’ll be referencing the three parts within this review) when examining each patient. Treatments are not limited to medicine, and as in read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 25, 2010
NoblesseOblige3
Irasshaaaiiii!!!

Kuuchuu Buranko is a truly brilliant and ‘different’ Anime that will blow your mind, it is a very weird show that will likely not apeal to a lot of people because it is so experimental.

It continuously repeats the dates 16th through to the 24th of December and follows Irabu a psychatrist as he deals with his patients.

There isn’t much of a story and is made up of eleven different cases spread across eleven episodes, although each episode deals with one character, they all turn up in other episodes either interacting with the episodes patient or just appearing in the background.

The artwork is rather unique, each read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 2, 2013
dansecaribe
Kuuchuu Buranko is a show that quickly became one of my favorites, and yet many people remain largely unaware of it. At first it may seem like a show that is hard to get into, due to the unusual art style and format, but this couldn't be further from the truth.

I'll admit that upon starting the show I was a bit apprehensive myself, but by the second episode I was hooked. The thing that probably turns most people off- the art style- quickly became one of my favorite things about the show. The style, which manages to be both realistic and surrealistic, fits the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 2, 2011
roriconfan
This show is definitely a hard watch, as it deals with a rather hard topic to tolerate: Mentally unstable patients who go to a shrink. Oh sure, having crazy characters in anime is fun, but these particular dudes are not having fun at all. They need help! Because they are crazy! So basically you need to tolerate a series where everybody has a very bad opinion about themselves and turn to a coocoo doctor to give them advises. This is not something most viewers would gladly sit down to watch.

Before I move on, I must mention a western comedy movie, starring Robert De Niro. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices