MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #186
Redline

Redline

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Red line
Japanese: REDLINE

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Aug 14, 2009
Duration: 1 hr. 42 min.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.351 (scored by 38601 users)
Ranked: #1862
Popularity: #514
Members: 62,261
Favorites: 741
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Feb 23, 2011
Touka
Takeshi Koike's debut feature; seven years in the making. Redline is an anime about racing, only presented like nothing seen before. Produced by Madhouse, with second key animation from Gainax, music from James Shimoji and a cast and crew pumped with everlasting potential, this is certainly one of - if not the - most adrenaline filled anime film to date.

As a film about racing, the plot is fairly standard fare, but the larger than life presentation coupled with the sheer imagination and creativity that has gone into Redline is second to none. The story - despite cliches - is both exhilarating and incredibly well paced. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 23, 2011
hiruma55
Ah Redline, what words can I use to describe this epic adrenaline rush? To be honest words are not enough, this is one of those films that you have to see to fully comprehend its greatness. However I am going to attempt to pass on my thoughts of this film in this review of what feel is one of the best anime films I have ever seen. Period.

Now in when it comes of the plot of Redline it is short, sweet and straight to the point. The film follows our main character JP, a driver who wants to race in a tournament called Redline which read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 6, 2014
eImpulse
This movie was so much fun to watch. The story is short and simple. Awesome an eccentric racers, driving crazy vehicles, in a anything go’s race, that is Redline. The story move’s fast which fits the theme. Its written in linear progression with the exception of a few flashbacks. These are used to add extra emotional depth to the core characters which I thought made the story exceptional. For a show thats all about fun which it was, these character bonds crafted through the writing really stood out amongst all the ridiculousness. The story isn’t complex by any means but the wonderful thing about this read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 4, 2013
judojon
If Redline was to be described in one word, 'explosive' would be it. This off-the-wall animated racing movie is overflowing with zany antics, over-the-top characters, and logic-defying awesomeness. It doesn't have a complex story, and offers next to nothing for the thinking viewer, but that is obviously not its aim. Redline is a stunning display of visual brilliance, a reminder that the reason we love animation is that it can pull off things that are too ridiculous and outrageous to be accomplished in live action. It is the pinnacle of style over substance.

Redline took over 7 years to make, reportedly used 100,000 hand-made drawings, and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 19, 2014
iSuckAtWriting
Redline is an odd film to think about. At its very well-presented surface there are racecars with rocket launchers that seem to fulfill a base desire for wanton destruction. But with such bombast in the film, it would be easy to assume the writing is shallow, isn’t great, or is even bad. That Redline actually has solid storytelling to go along with its senseless action is as much of a surprise to me is at might be to you.

But yes, the film does indeed have racecars/mechs/boats/whatever with rocket launchers as the first few minutes will prove. But the race the contestants are in isn’t the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 30, 2014
fezyk
Redline is the pinnacle of what every racing movie inspires to be, fast paced, high octane, absolutely insane, and stunningly beautiful. It does this while all being set to one of my favorite anime soundtracks, so good that it rivals those of FLCL, Cowboy Bebop, Madoka, Attack on Titan, Kill la Killa, and the Monogatari Series (as well as anything else that I missed).

Before you watch Redline, there are a few things that you must know, chief of which is that this movie is not being made for the intellectual. The story is simple and understated, but never aspires to be anything compelling on its read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 20, 2011
Uriel1988
Redline is excellent proof that you can have too much of a good thing. Especially when you neglect everything else in the process.

The first 10 minutes do an excellent job of letting viewers know what’s in store for them. It’s here that the film treats us to an intense and gorgeously animated race sequence and equally beautiful backgrounds and character models. From there on out it’s clear that the films intent is to overwhelm the viewer with adrenaline-filled races brought to life with mouth-watering animation and sound. Storyline and character development are of the lowest priority.

It’s no surprise, then, that Redline sticks closely to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 24, 2013
Timoke
Redline... I found the gem in lurking in youtube and was blown away by the visuals. Little research I made on film it said it has been in development cycle already for 7 years. I really don't think this film should getting much criticism on story or character development thus it's a racing film, what do you expect?

--Story--> 7

Story is so-so for a racing movie. Little predictable but you will enjoy it nonetheless. Story is about racer trying to win races and government being baddies. Pretty standard plot, don't expect any deep plot development.

--Art--> 10

Art is the selling point of why you should watch the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 22, 2014
eskimoseb
Einstein was misquoted when defining insanity. I now believe what he originally said was “Insanity: watching Redline over and over again and expecting it to make sense”. But then Redline doesn’t have to make sense, or be smart, or even be amazingly animated for that matter. It needs to be awesome, and on that requirement, Redline fulfils in bucketloads.

The story isn’t much: an illegal road race where only the bravest can compete, opposed by a corrupt leadership, and surrounded by gambling and drugs. The story of a racer and his ambition to win the world’s greatest competition isn’t new, but Redline is this concept at read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 29, 2013
obtrice
Strap your ass in: Redline is the most pulse-racing, ridiculous anime in years. It’s basically Japan’s version of the Wacky Races, only more mature, pumped full of adrenaline and style, and wrapped up in the prettiest package imaginable. The film’s tagline is “Witness the future of animation,” and as pompous as it might sound, it’s no exaggeration. Seven years and hundreds of thousands of hand-drawn frames later, Madhouse has produced its masterpiece. Lush, imaginative worlds combine with a staggering attention to detail, gorgeous, bold character designs, and flawless animation to create a work that is as good as if not better looking than anything else read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 19, 2013
Kuandohan
"Redline" is a film of style. It is a simple story that doesn't take itself too seriously. But this piece is truly art, you could watch it for that reason alone.
It's reminiscent of something Gainax would produce, but with a little extra kick of spice added.

The story of a racer who just can't turn down any race, along with everyone else in this film.
This film makes me think of a film version of an uncensored F-Zero.

For the art department. This movie should win an award. This is seriously the reason to watch this film. The execution, character design, machines, action, SPEED! Everything is done with read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 28, 2015
RarestProGamer
"Redline supposedly took 7 years and ~100,000 individual drawings to create, all hand-drawn, limited computer work, and it shows." which results in Brilliant Masterpiece.

Plot- Redline is about the biggest and most deadly racing tournament in the universe. Only held once every five years, everyone wants to stake their claim to fame, including JP, a reckless dare-devil driver oblivious to speed limits with his ultra-customized car—all the while, organized crime and militaristic governments want to leverage the race to their own ends. Amongst the other elite rival drivers in the tournament, JP falls for the alluring Sonoshee McLaren.

- This movie is a gem 1 hour 40 read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 18, 2015
YorouzoyaHouse
You see there is this sort of rule : "If you have a ridiculous idea, then when you present it, make it look so damn ridiculous, that it becomes fucking awesome!"
We've seen this done before in a few anime like TTGL or DBZ, where everything is just so ridiculous that it just becomes awesome!

Now, what is it about cars travelling at superfast speeds that just the mere thought of it rushes you with adrenaline? I don't know about you, but that shit gives me goosebumps. Especially when there is some sweet music playing in the background out loud. You know shit is about to go read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 31, 2014
MarinOfPula
Redline, is it Michael Bay the anime, or something more?


Art and Animation
This movie took 7 years to make, and it shows, every single frame of animation is it's own work of art. Animation is technically flawless it flows seamlessly from frame to frame, this is the must beautiful show that I watched.
10/10

Audio
Sound effects are perfect, there isn't anything more that I could say about them.
Music is powerful, dynamic, and punchy, it complements the show perfectly.
2.0 uncompressed audio track in addition to standard 5.1 is greatly appreciated by audiophiles that prefer warmer, more precise sound of HI-FI stereo systems, rather than 5.1 audio setups.
10/10

English voice read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 12, 2014
neoncloudFF
Sensory. Overload.

Redline follows the story of Sweet JP, a reckless race car driver in the distant future. The Redline race is the galaxy's biggest, most notorious, most violent race in all the galaxy...and JP has gotta win it. Redline was totally, unabashedly entertaining. There has been absolutely nothing I've seen that has been as over the top as Redline. It was just plain ridiculous, over the top fun. The animation only aids the insanity on screen. Animated by MADHOUSE (The Wolf Children, Summer Wars), Redline is colorful, vibrant, and truly exciting. There is certain level of kinetic energy rarely seen in animation, and Redline read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 30, 2015
CaptainRehab
Redline is an experience, to be sure. A visually beautiful, exhilarating, staggeringly well-animated experience. Unfortunately, exhilaration and visual quality are really all the movie has going for it. Please understand: I didn’t go into Redline expecting any kind of depth, clever writing, or engaging characters. I expected a raucous, thrilling experience. Still, it was a disappointment. Here we go.

Let’s get the obvious things out of the way first: the animation is god-tier. The incredibly smooth animation flows like water, and is potentially the best animation I’ve ever seen. A 10/10, hands down. The art is not quite as good, but still up there in read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 10, 2014
Khanal1
Incandescent, enriching and for those of you who happen to be entertainment junkies. TTGL on ROIDS!Cocaine and bright lights! The adrenaline pumping, blood rushing feeling that is usually accompanied by the use of hardcore drugs can be experienced here, for a much lower cost!

Redline is an absolute gift for those of you who want pure entertainment. For this is enjoyment in it's purest form. From the stylishly characteristic artstyle, unique/ memorable characters and voice acting, to it's selective OST, this feature film is doing what anime does best; entertain. The film follows racing in a distant future, but the significance of the plot matters not, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 21, 2010
5camp
Someone showed the Japan­ese ‘Wacky Races’. They were not impressed. “They call this ‘wacky’?”, they said. “We’ll show them wacky”.

You have never seen an anime like this before.

Red­line is an experience.

The story is about some punk-ass racing driver JP. He’s got­ten him­self into some match-fixing scan­dals but, due to some unfore­see­able coin­cid­ences, he wound up qual­i­fy­ing for Red­line, the worlds biggest racing event. The only rule is your vehicle must use wheels. Plus, to make things inter­est­ing, they decided to hold the race on Roboplanet, home to a war­ring civil­isa­tion who vow to kill any racers who dare enter their planet. Why hold the race read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 27, 2014
keragamming
Why didn't I watch this amazing series earlier? Since this series was about racing, I wasn't really interested in it, but after constantly hearing about it I finally gave this series a shot, and oh boy did it delivered. This series is amazing, great animation and art, great music, over the top racing. This series raise my adrenaline, I couldn't stop moving because of how exciting it was.

If every car racing series was this good, I would be a fan. The story was interesting, I liked all the characters, even the minor characters were just funny imo. The soundtrack was awesome they choose the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 10, 2013
ThatAnimeSnob
This movie ( which has absolutely no relation to One Piece ) is aimed at fans of racing movies, such as The Fast and the Furious. On a secondary level it will appeal dearly to anyone who loves great animation, over the top action, and not much of a plot to tire his mind while looking at the pretty lights. Anime and racing go way back as the original Speed Racer but it was only after Initial D came around that people started to care about the genre in those weird Asian cartoons. Many others tried to redo its fame but none managed to do read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy