Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Redline


Alternative Titles

English: Redline
Synonyms: Red line
Japanese: REDLINE

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Aug 14, 2009
Licensors: Anchor Bay Films
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Original
Genres: Action, Cars, Sci-Fi, Sports
Duration: 1 hr. 42 min.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 8.341 (scored by 59,524 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1952
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #496
Members: 98,703
Favorites: 1,468

Reviews

Touka
Feb 23, 2011
Takeshi Koike's debut feature; seven years in the making. Redline is an anime about racing, only presented like nothing seen before. Produced by Madhouse, with second key animation from Gainax, music from James Shimoji and a cast and crew pumped with everlasting potential, this is certainly one of - if not the - most adrenaline filled anime film to date.

As a film about racing, the plot is fairly standard fare, but the larger than life presentation coupled with the sheer imagination and creativity that has gone into Redline is second to none. The story - despite cliches - is both exhilarating and incredibly well paced. read more
I found this review Helpful
Uriel1988
Aug 20, 2011
Redline is excellent proof that you can have too much of a good thing. Especially when you neglect everything else in the process.

The first 10 minutes do an excellent job of letting viewers know what’s in store for them. It’s here that the film treats us to an intense and gorgeously animated race sequence and equally beautiful backgrounds and character models. From there on out it’s clear that the films intent is to overwhelm the viewer with adrenaline-filled races brought to life with mouth-watering animation and sound. Storyline and character development are of the lowest priority.

It’s no surprise, then, that Redline sticks closely to read more
I found this review Helpful
hiruma55
Feb 23, 2011
Ah Redline, what words can I use to describe this epic adrenaline rush? To be honest words are not enough, this is one of those films that you have to see to fully comprehend its greatness. However I am going to attempt to pass on my thoughts of this film in this review of what feel is one of the best anime films I have ever seen. Period.

Now in when it comes of the plot of Redline it is short, sweet and straight to the point. The film follows our main character JP, a driver who wants to race in a tournament called Redline which read more
I found this review Helpful
5camp
Nov 21, 2010
Someone showed the Japan­ese ‘Wacky Races’. They were not impressed. “They call this ‘wacky’?”, they said. “We’ll show them wacky”.

You have never seen an anime like this before.

Red­line is an experience.

The story is about some punk-ass racing driver JP. He’s got­ten him­self into some match-fixing scan­dals but, due to some unfore­see­able coin­cid­ences, he wound up qual­i­fy­ing for Red­line, the worlds biggest racing event. The only rule is your vehicle must use wheels. Plus, to make things inter­est­ing, they decided to hold the race on Roboplanet, home to a war­ring civil­isa­tion who vow to kill any racers who dare enter their planet. Why hold the race read more
I found this review Helpful
NeverKnowsBest26
Jun 4, 2013
If Redline was to be described in one word, 'explosive' would be it. This off-the-wall animated racing movie is overflowing with zany antics, over-the-top characters, and logic-defying awesomeness. It doesn't have a complex story, and offers next to nothing for the thinking viewer, but that is obviously not its aim. Redline is a stunning display of visual brilliance, a reminder that the reason we love animation is that it can pull off things that are too ridiculous and outrageous to be accomplished in live action. It is the pinnacle of style over substance.

Redline took over 7 years to make, reportedly used 100,000 hand-made drawings, and read more
I found this review Helpful
fezyk
May 30, 2014
Redline is the pinnacle of what every racing movie inspires to be, fast paced, high octane, absolutely insane, and stunningly beautiful. It does this while all being set to one of my favorite anime soundtracks, so good that it rivals those of FLCL, Cowboy Bebop, Madoka, Attack on Titan, Kill la Killa, and the Monogatari Series (as well as anything else that I missed).

Before you watch Redline, there are a few things that you must know, chief of which is that this movie is not being made for the intellectual. The story is simple and understated, but never aspires to be anything compelling on its read more
I found this review Helpful
VoidHawk
Mar 6, 2012
This anime is overrated by the reviewers I found here. Story is fair, characters are poor and there is no real plot.

The art and sound though are really outstanding, and I only feel sad such mastery was not used in a better anime.

A fair (if a bit too long for what it delivers) anime...
I found this review Helpful
Flawfinder
Sep 7, 2015
Hey, you want to know an anime taking place throughout the far reaches of space that I recently returned to? Redline. I’ve been pruning down my favorites anime list recently, taking out things to ensure that only the best of the best stayed on, and I was curious about whether I’d still enjoy Madhouse’s visual popcorn masterpiece – as oxymoronic as that may sound. So I popped in my Blu-ray a few days ago and here we are.

For those of you who haven’t seen it, Redline is the result of Madhouse founder Masao Maruyama practically bankrupting his former studio before his move to Mappa and read more
I found this review Helpful
RarestProGamer
Feb 28, 2015
"Redline supposedly took 7 years and ~100,000 individual drawings to create, all hand-drawn, limited computer work, and it shows." which results in Brilliant Masterpiece.

Plot- Redline is about the biggest and most deadly racing tournament in the universe. Only held once every five years, everyone wants to stake their claim to fame, including JP, a reckless dare-devil driver oblivious to speed limits with his ultra-customized car—all the while, organized crime and militaristic governments want to leverage the race to their own ends. Amongst the other elite rival drivers in the tournament, JP falls for the alluring Sonoshee McLaren.

- This movie is a gem 1 hour 40 read more
I found this review Helpful
Rikuson1
Dec 17, 2015
Redline Review

Story (7/10) Good

The Story for Redline good and simple and some for a movie like this I don't really need and super deep story especially when you know the what the entire plot is. It isn't anything deep but like I said it doesn't have to be for a racing anime movie I thought it was good enough.


Art and Animation (10/10) Outstanding

The is probably the best thing about this movie, the art style and animation are outstanding some of the most unique and best I've ever seen. Everything is so damn colorful, vibrant and full of life. How everything movie was read more
I found this review Helpful
7DarkClouds
Jun 28, 2016
I really don't know what to say. It's spectacular!
This movie makes no sense and blends so many genres that people will always find things they love and hate about it. From the gore-filled violence to a completely original and atomic art style. All of it's elements are very different compared to other anime but they are right where they should be in the best way possible. Even where it doesn't shine as bright I would say it's way past average. If I had to make a recommendation for this I wouldn't know where to start. When you recommend something you almost always look for something read more
I found this review Helpful
KR5-S14Kouki
Jun 28, 2016
Before I write my review, I guess it would be fair to inform that I am a sucker for racing movies. Cars is my passion and hobby which I place even above my passion for anime. That being said I was biased in my ratings because I felt the movie deserves higher score than it currently does however I will try to be fair in my review and give my actual scores throughout.

Plot-
Simply put Redline was a blast. The story couldnt have been more fun and enjoyable. The plot was simple enough, taking place in a universe were space ships and travel through the read more
I found this review Helpful
Luquillo
Nov 2, 2015
It's sad when you think about it. Redline had been in development for a few years, and for reasons I don't remember had been constantly pushed back. There were rumors that it was eventually being scrapped. It's very unfortunate this gem almost didn't see the light of day, when one takes under consideration the usual unimaginative tripe that for some reason not only finds an actual release but also numerous re-releases. Thankfully, there are production companies out there such as Studio Madhouse that still kick out decent to above average anime titles once in awhile. Redline directed by Takeshi Koike, is a sci-fi racer that read more
I found this review Helpful
Cobbles
Aug 16, 2011
Way back at the turn of the century a short OVA series was released that went by the name “Trava”. It was a quirky series that was noted mostly for its visual style. The think bold shadows and lines were very much not unlike those of a comic book and it sported some very interesting and experimental animation. It was co-directed by Takeshi Koike, who instead of going on to direct some more anime seemingly stuck in the background and directed bits and pieces of animation here and there. More specifically, he was also behind the Afro Samurai promo, a section of the Animatrix and read more
I found this review Helpful
ToastyCrumbs
Aug 3, 2015

Redline, an animated production by Madhouse Studio, is nothing short of breathtaking. Beautifully hand-drawn, every frame masterfully composed, every character full of life and movement. This movie defines adrenaline fueled action; it will totally engross you with its style and wild, unthrottled momentum. I can easily recommend this to anyone. Even though this is far from perfect, if all you’re looking for is a recommendation, then this is it: go and watch it now. But even though it may be the most beautifully animated movie I’ve seen in quite a long time, there is so much “mehhh” that may keep me from watching it again read more
I found this review Helpful
eskimoseb
Oct 22, 2014
Einstein was misquoted when defining insanity. I now believe what he originally said was “Insanity: watching Redline over and over again and expecting it to make sense”. But then Redline doesn’t have to make sense, or be smart, or even be amazingly animated for that matter. It needs to be awesome, and on that requirement, Redline fulfils in bucketloads.

The story isn’t much: an illegal road race where only the bravest can compete, opposed by a corrupt leadership, and surrounded by gambling and drugs. The story of a racer and his ambition to win the world’s greatest competition isn’t new, but Redline is this concept at read more
I found this review Helpful
iSuckAtWriting
Oct 19, 2014
Redline is an odd film to think about. At its very well-presented surface there are racecars with rocket launchers that seem to fulfill a base desire for wanton destruction. But with such bombast in the film, it would be easy to assume the writing is shallow, isn’t great, or is even bad. That Redline actually has solid storytelling to go along with its senseless action is as much of a surprise to me is at might be to you.

But yes, the film does indeed have racecars/mechs/boats/whatever with rocket launchers as the first few minutes will prove. But the race the contestants are in isn’t the read more
I found this review Helpful
theGreenDeath
Jan 4, 2016
I can see a Hollywood exec being wowed by the elvator pitch you could make about this "It's Fast and the Furious meets Guardians of the Galaxy" This could be adapted into a popular summer Hollywood movie. It's got great action, unbelievably good character designs, an easy to understand plot, fun characters and it's filled with fun.

That said, a Hollywood adaptation would probably add unnessecary subplots, cut down on the action, make it less weird and cut the topless scene - so let's be happy that this is what it is- a near perfect anime action masterpiece!

Also, the bluray picture and sound are magnificent. read more
I found this review Helpful
RoneSpeak
Nov 15, 2015
Redline is pretty much the wacky races shipped with nascar, but on a cocktail of speed and tobasco sauce.

It's a simple enough story, boy drives car good, gets to drive more gooder in the Mario Flower Cup - or the Red Line, and there are no rules except come first. Where everyone uses an enormous amount of weaponry. Also, it's on a hostile planet of robots. Where the start of the race is getting dropped from orbit. And the boy drives a friggin Pontiac Firebird, from space, against flying spacecrafts and transformable robot cars. It's a bit of an underdog story.

Saying this is a mile read more
I found this review Helpful
twigglyfiggly
Jul 19, 2016
Everybody has a few anime they watch to relax with. I personally use Clannad and Kanon (2006) to wind down. Others may use Wolf Children or Usagi Drop. After a while though, I just need to watch something to get my blood pumping. Something to give me the kind of wild and crazy feeling that makes people do unspeakable things. I don’t think there is a single anime better suited for that job than Redline.

The story of Redline is very, very straightforward. There’s this race that happens every five years called the Redline (hence the name of the movie), and every five years, billions read more
I found this review Helpful