MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #181
Redline

Redline

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Red line
Japanese: REDLINE

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Aug 14, 2009
Duration: 1 hr. 42 min.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.351 (scored by 33046 users)
Ranked: #1812
Popularity: #519
Members: 52,583
Favorites: 651
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Feb 23, 2011
Touka
Takeshi Koike's debut feature, more than five years in the making. Redline is an anime about racing, only presented like nothing we have seen before. Produced by Madhouse, with second key animation by Gainax, music from James Shimoji and a cast and crew pumped with everlasting potential, this is certainly one of - if not the - most adrenaline filled anime film to date.

If you've seen a film about racing before, then you know how the plot in such a film tends to unfold. Essentially it isn't so different in Redline, but the larger than life presentation coupled with the phenomenal experience this film brings read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 30, 2014
fezyk
Redline is the pinnacle of what every racing movie inspires to be, fast paced, high octane, absolutely insane, and stunningly beautiful. It does this while all being set to one of my favorite anime soundtracks, so good that it rivals those of FLCL, Cowboy Bebop, Madoka, Attack on Titan, Kill la Killa, and the Monogatari Series (as well as anything else that I missed).

Before you watch Redline, there are a few things that you must know, chief of which is that this movie is not being made for the intellectual. The story is simple and understated, but never aspires to be anything compelling on its read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 24, 2013
Timoke
Redline... I found the gem in lurking in youtube and was blown away by the visuals. Little research I made on film it said it has been in development cycle already for 7 years. I really don't think this film should getting much criticism on story or character development thus it's a racing film, what do you expect?

--Story--> 7

Story is so-so for a racing movie. Little predictable but you will enjoy it nonetheless. Story is about racer trying to win races and government being baddies. Pretty standard plot, don't expect any deep plot development.

--Art--> 10

Art is the selling point of why you should watch the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 4, 2013
judojon
If Redline was to be described in one word, 'explosive' would be it. This off-the-wall animated racing movie is overflowing with zany antics, over-the-top characters, and logic-defying awesomeness. It doesn't have a complex story, and offers next to nothing for the thinking viewer, but that is obviously not its aim. Redline is a stunning display of visual brilliance, a reminder that the reason we love animation is that it can pull off things that are too ridiculous and outrageous to be accomplished in live action. It is the pinnacle of style over substance.

Redline took over 7 years to make, reportedly used 100,000 hand-made drawings, and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 23, 2011
hiruma55
Ah Redline, what words can I use to describe this epic adrenaline rush? To be honest words are not enough, this is one of those films that you have to see to fully comprehend its greatness. However I am going to attempt to pass on my thoughts of this film in this review of what feel is one of the best anime films I have ever seen. Period.

Now in when it comes of the plot of Redline it is short, sweet and straight to the point. The film follows our main character JP, a driver who wants to race in a tournament called Redline which read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 20, 2011
Uriel1988
Redline is excellent proof that you can have too much of a good thing. Especially when you neglect everything else in the process.

The first 10 minutes do an excellent job of letting viewers know what’s in store for them. It’s here that the film treats us to an intense and gorgeously animated race sequence and equally beautiful backgrounds and character models. From there on out it’s clear that the films intent is to overwhelm the viewer with adrenaline-filled races brought to life with mouth-watering animation and sound. Storyline and character development are of the lowest priority.

It’s no surprise, then, that Redline sticks closely to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 19, 2013
Kuandohan
"Redline" is a film of style. It is a simple story that doesn't take itself too seriously. But this piece is truly art, you could watch it for that reason alone.
It's reminiscent of something Gainax would produce, but with a little extra kick of spice added.

The story of a racer who just can't turn down any race, along with everyone else in this film.
This film makes me think of a film version of an uncensored F-Zero.

For the art department. This movie should win an award. This is seriously the reason to watch this film. The execution, character design, machines, action, SPEED! Everything is done with read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 23, 2014
Born2Run
RECOMMENDED FOR…
…everyone who searches for the ultimate experience in the form of action. Redline is loud, it’s fast, it’s totally over the top, and most importantly it’s exciting as hell to watch.

NOT RECOMMENDED FOR…
…people who can’t get into over the top actions flicks and the ones who get put off by comic-like aesthetics.


**REVIEW**

STORY: 5/10
Redline is a perfect example for an anime that’s almost completely style over substance. The goal of the movie isn’t exactly to pass on an interesting or deep narrative but rather to be a work that shines through its presentation. The story is more an accessory to the presentation that makes the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 29, 2013
obtrice
Strap your ass in: Redline is the most pulse-racing, ridiculous anime in years. It’s basically Japan’s version of the Wacky Races, only more mature, pumped full of adrenaline and style, and wrapped up in the prettiest package imaginable. The film’s tagline is “Witness the future of animation,” and as pompous as it might sound, it’s no exaggeration. Seven years and hundreds of thousands of hand-drawn frames later, Madhouse has produced its masterpiece. Lush, imaginative worlds combine with a staggering attention to detail, gorgeous, bold character designs, and flawless animation to create a work that is as good as if not better looking than anything else read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 12, 2014
neoncloudFF
Sensory. Overload.

Redline follows the story of Sweet JP, a reckless race car driver in the distant future. The Redline race is the galaxy's biggest, most notorious, most violent race in all the galaxy...and JP has gotta win it. Redline was totally, unabashedly entertaining. There has been absolutely nothing I've seen that has been as over the top as Redline. It was just plain ridiculous, over the top fun. The animation only aids the insanity on screen. Animated by MADHOUSE (The Wolf Children, Summer Wars), Redline is colorful, vibrant, and truly exciting. There is certain level of kinetic energy rarely seen in animation, and Redline read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 10, 2014
Khanal1
Incandescent, enriching and for those of you who happen to be entertainment junkies. TTGL on ROIDS!Cocaine and bright lights! The adrenaline pumping, blood rushing feeling that is usually accompanied by the use of hardcore drugs can be experienced here, for a much lower cost!

Redline is an absolute gift for those of you who want pure entertainment. For this is enjoyment in it's purest form. From the stylishly characteristic artstyle, unique/ memorable characters and voice acting, to it's selective OST, this feature film is doing what anime does best; entertain. The film follows racing in a distant future, but the significance of the plot matters not, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 21, 2010
5camp
Someone showed the Japan­ese ‘Wacky Races’. They were not impressed. “They call this ‘wacky’?”, they said. “We’ll show them wacky”.

You have never seen an anime like this before.

Red­line is an experience.

The story is about some punk-ass racing driver JP. He’s got­ten him­self into some match-fixing scan­dals but, due to some unfore­see­able coin­cid­ences, he wound up qual­i­fy­ing for Red­line, the worlds biggest racing event. The only rule is your vehicle must use wheels. Plus, to make things inter­est­ing, they decided to hold the race on Roboplanet, home to a war­ring civil­isa­tion who vow to kill any racers who dare enter their planet. Why hold the race read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 10, 2013
roriconfan
This movie ( which has absolutely no relation to One Piece ) is aimed at fans of racing movies, such as The Fast and the Furious. On a secondary level it will appeal dearly to anyone who loves great animation, over the top action, and not much of a plot to tire his mind while looking at the pretty lights. Anime and racing go way back as the original Speed Racer but it was only after Initial D came around that people started to care about the genre in those weird Asian cartoons. Many others tried to redo its fame but none managed to do read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 18, 2013
studioslug
Like many others said, you don't watch Redline to be captivated by some intriguing plot. You watch Redline to see some kick-ass animation, and as long as you keep that in your mind it's a very enjoyable movie.
Within the first 5 minutes of the movie I was wowed by how impressive the animation, art, and backgrounds were. Right off the bat I was reminded of works like Afro Samurai or Tekkonkinkreet, both "animation porn", if you will. Redline isn't trying to be a deep or intelligent movie, no, it's supposed to amaze you visually and it does that perfectly.
read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 11, 2014
ronald201312
Well, welcome to this review, sorry if my English is not very good, it is not my native language.

And, review in Spanish at the end..

Well, now if, let's start:

The history is the "loose" of this film, it's pretty simple and looks that is not very well done in this aspect, but works, and within its simplicity, manages to be something pretty decent. The truth is that neither the concept of a futuristic interspace race with ships, cars of the future, etc. is very original(cofcoff-zerocofcof), so the film loses much in this aspect. 6/10

The characters are walking cliches, but they are charismatic, interesting and arrive to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 11, 2012
barcaman101
I'v been wanting to watch this for a while now,needless to say it was worth the wait.In a universe with all manner of alian creatures exist the most arduous,trecheruos,nerve recking racing tournament in the galaxy,Redline.The story takes place with a guy called JB who is a professoinal racer but due to his 'shady' past is forced to compete in underground match fixing .He is force to compete at redline in order to pay for his debt, but his situation gets even more complicated as there are those who hate redline and will stop at nothing to see it destroyed .

Firstly i love the animation read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 10, 2012
Asilow
Story:
Good story line, background information was provided on the main characters which allowed for me to relate/sympathize to the characters more. The main story follows the Redline tournament, but the little bit of romance between the characters added to the excitement and thrill of the race (plus you actually got to know a little bit bout the other competitors too)
The overall mix of fantasy, racing, creatures of all sorts, humour and large baby-like monster thingy made it a fun watch.

Art:
The art was clean and crisp. The building/planet designs and the range of cars was spectacular and the characters themselves were very interesting. It was especially read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 8, 2013
Raptor1221
Well If i was to describe Reline in a phrase(sentences overrated), id say "Eye Candy". Redline Is not something you watch for the plot, but for the epic animation; its fluid moves, Its epic turns, and most of all when the nitro kicks in and we all got to plaid (space-balls anyone?). Well im going cut this review short. Well because its only a 1 hour 42 min movie that some how has found its way on my Ipod (by legal Means).

Story:7/10 Average, not something for the plot. Its about intergalactic Racing deal with it.(all i can say is the disrespect).(NO SPOILERS read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 16, 2011
Cobbles
Way back at the turn of the century a short OVA series was released that went by the name “Trava”. It was a quirky series that was noted mostly for its visual style. The think bold shadows and lines were very much not unlike those of a comic book and it sported some very interesting and experimental animation. It was co-directed by Takeshi Koike, who instead of going on to direct some more anime seemingly stuck in the background and directed bits and pieces of animation here and there. More specifically, he was also behind the Afro Samurai promo, a section of the Animatrix and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 8, 2012
divineraccoon
::TRAILER::
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2t26m_Q6ENo
::TRAILER::

So, let's talk about Redline!
I watched this film (English Dub) last night, and I have to say it is the best motherfucking anime movie I had seen in so goddamn long. I can't shit out enough profanity to express how many assess Redline kicks! A masterpiece that took seven years to construct, consisting of nothing but authentic, hand-drawn, comicbook-styled animation from the pumps of the high heals to the feathered hair of a pompadour, with an enthralling soundtrack written to compliment every single frame, not to mention the excitable yet simply delicious plot, Redline screams of exuberance and and adrenaline. An ingenious production birthed only read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices