Ranked #181


Alternative Titles

English: Redline
Synonyms: Red line
Japanese: REDLINE


Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Aug 14, 2009
Source: Original
Genres: Action, Cars, Sci-Fi, Sports
Duration: 1 hr. 42 min.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity
L represents licensing company


Score: 8.351 (scored by 49,013 users)
Ranked: #1812
Popularity: #504
Members: 79,886
Favorites: 1,050
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Nov 15, 2015
Redline is pretty much the wacky races shipped with nascar, but on a cocktail of speed and tobasco sauce.

It's a simple enough story, boy drives car good, gets to drive more gooder in the Mario Flower Cup - or the Red Line, and there are no rules except come first. Where everyone uses an enormous amount of weaponry. Also, it's on a hostile planet of robots. Where the start of the race is getting dropped from orbit. And the boy drives a friggin Pontiac Firebird, from space, against flying spacecrafts and transformable robot cars. It's a bit of an underdog story.

Saying this is a mile read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 18, 2015
FAST CARS! FAST CARS! FAST CARS! FAST CARS! FAST CARS!!!!!!!!! EXPLOSIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Set in the future where there are dozens of different planets all over the solar system there is still one past time all species can relate too. Racing. With the new advancement of hover cars, vehicles that can float above the ground, there is one man name JP Smooth who still races in his ancient, but highly upgraded Trans Am. With a kicks ass opening that sets the mood for everything to come, JP is injured in the Yellow Line, the qualifying race that gets you a spot in the covenant Redline race. But after read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 2, 2015
It's sad when you think about it. Redline had been in development for a few years, and for reasons I don't remember had been constantly pushed back. There were rumors that it was eventually being scrapped. It's very unfortunate this gem almost didn't see the light of day, when one takes under consideration the usual unimaginative tripe that for some reason not only finds an actual release but also numerous re-releases. Thankfully, there are production companies out there such as Studio Madhouse that still kick out decent to above average anime titles once in awhile. Redline directed by Takeshi Koike, is a sci-fi racer that read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 23, 2011
Takeshi Koike's debut feature; seven years in the making. Redline is an anime about racing, only presented like nothing seen before. Produced by Madhouse, with second key animation from Gainax, music from James Shimoji and a cast and crew pumped with everlasting potential, this is certainly one of - if not the - most adrenaline filled anime film to date.

As a film about racing, the plot is fairly standard fare, but the larger than life presentation coupled with the sheer imagination and creativity that has gone into Redline is second to none. The story - despite cliches - is both exhilarating and incredibly well paced. read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 7, 2015
Hey, you want to know an anime taking place throughout the far reaches of space that I recently returned to? Redline. I’ve been pruning down my favorites anime list recently, taking out things to ensure that only the best of the best stayed on, and I was curious about whether I’d still enjoy Madhouse’s visual popcorn masterpiece – as oxymoronic as that may sound. So I popped in my Blu-ray a few days ago and here we are.

For those of you who haven’t seen it, Redline is the result of Madhouse founder Masao Maruyama practically bankrupting his former studio before his move to Mappa and read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 20, 2011
Redline is excellent proof that you can have too much of a good thing. Especially when you neglect everything else in the process.

The first 10 minutes do an excellent job of letting viewers know what’s in store for them. It’s here that the film treats us to an intense and gorgeously animated race sequence and equally beautiful backgrounds and character models. From there on out it’s clear that the films intent is to overwhelm the viewer with adrenaline-filled races brought to life with mouth-watering animation and sound. Storyline and character development are of the lowest priority.

It’s no surprise, then, that Redline sticks closely to read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 3, 2015

Redline, an animated production by Madhouse Studio, is nothing short of breathtaking. Beautifully hand-drawn, every frame masterfully composed, every character full of life and movement. This movie defines adrenaline fueled action; it will totally engross you with its style and wild, unthrottled momentum. I can easily recommend this to anyone. Even though this is far from perfect, if all you’re looking for is a recommendation, then this is it: go and watch it now. But even though it may be the most beautifully animated movie I’ve seen in quite a long time, there is so much “mehhh” that may keep me from watching it again read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 23, 2011
Ah Redline, what words can I use to describe this epic adrenaline rush? To be honest words are not enough, this is one of those films that you have to see to fully comprehend its greatness. However I am going to attempt to pass on my thoughts of this film in this review of what feel is one of the best anime films I have ever seen. Period.

Now in when it comes of the plot of Redline it is short, sweet and straight to the point. The film follows our main character JP, a driver who wants to race in a tournament called Redline which read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 5, 2015
Pretty good anime film. The story itself it's ok, but the animation and movement is awesome. The action scenes are so intense and epic, you just get really pumped up!
I wil recomend this film to people who like car races or good and colorfull animation, because the story it self, as I said before, it's simple, but the races and action scenes are pure hype! Not really anything more to say about it, I watched it because I saw an AMV and it was so impressive that I needed to go check it out!
I found this review Helpful
Jul 6, 2015
This anime movie can be explain by just one word 'awesome'. This movie has every thing that gets viewer pumped up. It has a feeling of awesomeness. Eventhough it has the feeling of awesomeness, it is not the perfect masterpiece. The story has the most holes in my opinion. The story feels too much on to the point without giving enough time to viewer to grasp the story. At first the most confusing thing of the story was the redline races. We as a viewer don't get enough information on the race. The character development is good enough so that viewer doesn't get confused over read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 4, 2013
If Redline was to be described in one word, 'explosive' would be it. This off-the-wall animated racing movie is overflowing with zany antics, over-the-top characters, and logic-defying awesomeness. It doesn't have a complex story, and offers next to nothing for the thinking viewer, but that is obviously not its aim. Redline is a stunning display of visual brilliance, a reminder that the reason we love animation is that it can pull off things that are too ridiculous and outrageous to be accomplished in live action. It is the pinnacle of style over substance.

Redline took over 7 years to make, reportedly used 100,000 hand-made drawings, and read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 19, 2015
Redline is an sci-fi racing animation film produced by the studio Madhouse and released in 2009. It was the directing debut of Takeshi Koike and was in production for nearly seven years.

Redline‘s strongest aspect is undoubtedly its chaotic nature, that is made possible by incredible quality of both animation and visuals. The art has a unique feel and is a mix of lively colors from traditional anime and a more well-defined style from mature animation, but also with its own twist. There is always something happening onscreen and it is always crazy. It would be impossible to make something even similar in live-action, even with read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 28, 2015
"Redline supposedly took 7 years and ~100,000 individual drawings to create, all hand-drawn, limited computer work, and it shows." which results in Brilliant Masterpiece.

Plot- Redline is about the biggest and most deadly racing tournament in the universe. Only held once every five years, everyone wants to stake their claim to fame, including JP, a reckless dare-devil driver oblivious to speed limits with his ultra-customized car—all the while, organized crime and militaristic governments want to leverage the race to their own ends. Amongst the other elite rival drivers in the tournament, JP falls for the alluring Sonoshee McLaren.

- This movie is a gem 1 hour 40 read more
I found this review Helpful
May 30, 2014
Redline is the pinnacle of what every racing movie inspires to be, fast paced, high octane, absolutely insane, and stunningly beautiful. It does this while all being set to one of my favorite anime soundtracks, so good that it rivals those of FLCL, Cowboy Bebop, Madoka, Attack on Titan, Kill la Killa, and the Monogatari Series (as well as anything else that I missed).

Before you watch Redline, there are a few things that you must know, chief of which is that this movie is not being made for the intellectual. The story is simple and understated, but never aspires to be anything compelling on its read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 24, 2013
Redline... I found the gem in lurking in youtube and was blown away by the visuals. Little research I made on film it said it has been in development cycle already for 7 years. I really don't think this film should getting much criticism on story or character development thus it's a racing film, what do you expect?

--Story--> 7

Story is so-so for a racing movie. Little predictable but you will enjoy it nonetheless. Story is about racer trying to win races and government being baddies. Pretty standard plot, don't expect any deep plot development.

--Art--> 10

Art is the selling point of why you should watch the read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 30, 2015
Redline is an experience, to be sure. A visually beautiful, exhilarating, staggeringly well-animated experience. Unfortunately, exhilaration and visual quality are really all the movie has going for it. Please understand: I didn’t go into Redline expecting any kind of depth, clever writing, or engaging characters. I expected a raucous, thrilling experience. Still, it was a disappointment. Here we go.

Let’s get the obvious things out of the way first: the animation is god-tier. The incredibly smooth animation flows like water, and is potentially the best animation I’ve ever seen. A 10/10, hands down. The art is not quite as good, but still up there in read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 22, 2014
Einstein was misquoted when defining insanity. I now believe what he originally said was “Insanity: watching Redline over and over again and expecting it to make sense”. But then Redline doesn’t have to make sense, or be smart, or even be amazingly animated for that matter. It needs to be awesome, and on that requirement, Redline fulfils in bucketloads.

The story isn’t much: an illegal road race where only the bravest can compete, opposed by a corrupt leadership, and surrounded by gambling and drugs. The story of a racer and his ambition to win the world’s greatest competition isn’t new, but Redline is this concept at read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 19, 2014
Redline is an odd film to think about. At its very well-presented surface there are racecars with rocket launchers that seem to fulfill a base desire for wanton destruction. But with such bombast in the film, it would be easy to assume the writing is shallow, isn’t great, or is even bad. That Redline actually has solid storytelling to go along with its senseless action is as much of a surprise to me is at might be to you.

But yes, the film does indeed have racecars/mechs/boats/whatever with rocket launchers as the first few minutes will prove. But the race the contestants are in isn’t the read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 21, 2010
Someone showed the Japan­ese ‘Wacky Races’. They were not impressed. “They call this ‘wacky’?”, they said. “We’ll show them wacky”.

You have never seen an anime like this before.

Red­line is an experience.

The story is about some punk-ass racing driver JP. He’s got­ten him­self into some match-fixing scan­dals but, due to some unfore­see­able coin­cid­ences, he wound up qual­i­fy­ing for Red­line, the worlds biggest racing event. The only rule is your vehicle must use wheels. Plus, to make things inter­est­ing, they decided to hold the race on Roboplanet, home to a war­ring civil­isa­tion who vow to kill any racers who dare enter their planet. Why hold the race read more
I found this review Helpful
May 22, 2015
Drugs are a hell of a drug, and Redline is a hell of a product of drugs. It’s a 2009 film from Madhouse that is one of the most unique and beautiful anime movies of the past ten years. It’s an obvious inspiration for the currently popular Space Dandy and any fan of Dandy’s antics will definitely enjoy the antics of film protagonist JP. It’s a simple movie, the story of an underdog entering a giant racing competition where he has zero odds of winning. There’s a romantic interest thrown in and a few bad guys for good measure. It’s rife with comedy and strangeness read more
I found this review Helpful