MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #101
Katanagatari

Katanagatari

Alternative Titles

Japanese: 刀語

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 26, 2010 to Dec 11, 2010
Duration: 50 min. per episode
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.491 (scored by 38971 users)
Ranked: #1012
Popularity: #222
Members: 82,726
Favorites: 2,055
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
May 30, 2010
leingodf8
Katanagatari, the show that loves the number 12. 12 swords, 12 ninjas, 12 episode... and I'm half expecting it to turn out that the Shichika has 12 secret techniques at his disposal. Yes, Katanagatari is an interesting show about a young man and woman on a quest to gather the 12 ultimate swords. The premise sounds fairly cliche, but still interesting enough to watch solely based on that, but how does it really fare? Lets find out...

Now, let me start off by saying, if anime was judged on artistic style alone, Katanagatari would probably be one of the greatest of all time, as the artwork read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 19, 2013
platinumSKIES
It's taken me nearly 4 years to finish Katanagatari, mostly due to my own backlog becoming so extensive. To think that I started watching this series when I was a lowly freshman in college and finished it as a senior years later is surreal. But you guys aren't here to listen to me ramble. :)

Katanagatari is one of Nisio Isin's serial works and is, in all honesty, really interesting in it's transformation from a standard 'fetch the sword' quest, to it's ultimate conclusion of being that something more.

Story (8/10): Being a Nisio Isin story, it's not going to be simple. In fact there'll read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 18, 2012
Queen_Stars
When you take a glance at this anime, you're met by unconventional artwork off the bat, as it's the conventional that pretty much headlines anime these days, thus unusual is something some people may be attracted to or repelled by; if you're of the latter - reconcider.

Story...
Katanagatari is an action adventure anime that spans across a certian period of time whilst maintaining a fast pace.
We are met with a streetwise, serious yet not-too-competent female who is soon joined on her quest by a fairly clueless male who has a lot to learn.
The two form an unconventional relationship and set off on the female leads quest read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 25, 2014
deanzel
Katanagatari is one very unique and beautiful piece of art and I highly emphasize the word "art". It may not be for everyone but if you give it a chance, you may see what truly makes it spectacular. In that sense, it reminds me a lot of the Bakemonogatari series. On the surface this may seem like a simple fetch quest story about collecting these demon swords with childish character designs. However, there is so much more than what meets the eye in this series. The art and designs may seem simplistic at first but look deeper and you'll see a masterfully animated world full read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 13, 2012
ImagineWild00
Without any summary fluff, let's cut straight to the point:
this anime was one of the best short series anime out there. Although it's not as renowned, the qualities of story, characters, artwork, and overall content are simply marvelous and unprecedented.

There are many interesting points to elaborate on in this anime;
First of all, the story is quiet the surprise. Although the whole "quest for finding swords" seems rather cliche and (quite frankly) boring at first, this story takes on a whole new outlook that clearly distinguishes itself from other adventure stories out there. Because of the character development, interaction, and dialogues filled with read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 1, 2011
LUE_Shane
Katanagatari is a charming, if formulaic, adventure focusing on the relationship between Yasuri Shichika, a veritable country bumpkin, and Togame, a high-profile employee of the shogun and self-proclaimed "strategian" as they strive to collect twelve very powerful swords. Expectedly, Shichika and Togame contrast each other humorously, and this contrast is often what produces the witty, dry dialogue the show is known for. In many cases, their completely different origins move the plot forward or cause problems.

Each of the twelve episodes of Katanagatari features a different sword and the struggle for the protagonists to obtain it. Even though each episode is read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 19, 2010
Leap250
Anime these days tend to lack a key ingredient, that could very well make or break the series. No, it's not fan-service, nor is it a kick-ass OP theme. It's depth.

Katanagatari, or "Sword Story" strayed from what is now the norm in Anime, and managed to create a masterpiece. Of course, some may not see Katanagatari in such a way, but one should also stop to consider that you don't need hot anime girls to make a series interesting.

STORY - 9

At first the story would seem like your average "collect all the weapons". And for the earlier part, it would seem so. However, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 13, 2013
Olympus
I enjoyed Katanagatari, however the only thing that stood out for me was the art style. All the other ways to rate this anime fall into the "good" and "fair" category. What stopped me from rating this anime any better was the ending, I was absolutely shocked and disappointed in the direction it took, from the end of episode 11 and all of 12. For the rest of it episodes 1-10 was good. Character development was only good for the 2 main characters, the rest of them it didn't do as well. Plot wise it was good, episodes taken individually is much better than the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 2, 2011
Marquis_D_Luffy
What can begin, can end.

Katanagatari is a truly unique piece of storytelling. From the outset the art style jumps out at you as being unorthodox, which fits the series justly. But Katanagatari is more than unorthodox, it's unorthodox done well. Just because I may not have liked elements of it's story, it's personality or it's conclusions, I couldn't possibly fault it. Just as sometimes you may despise the villain in a movie, if it weren't for that villain's existence, the protagonist couldn't shine so bright. Such is Katanagatari. It itself depicts and builds upon this principle of discomfort so masterfully that in the end, whether read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 17, 2011
jchang
Ok, first of all i didnt get to watch all episodes. the reason im still writting this review is because this is aimed to give a warning to the people planning to watch this show and the fact is that its boring. (reasons below)

anyways im not leaded by subjectivity and this review is done in the most objective way possible.

Now that i said this lets begin with the review.

first of all, katanagatari is a show that really attracted me. i mean i looks good, has acceptable number of episodes and the story has potential to good comedy and action. i feel this is the reason read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 29, 2012
Rhaal
"Things of excellence will not die" - Japanese proverb.

While some may argue it's far easier when you have a whole month to plan ahead, I'd say Katanagatari is the perfect example of what happens when you aim for quality and art, rather than dvd sales and ads.

(Relatively) No one knows this anime, whereas everyone should do so.

How comes I didn't give Katanagatari a 10 then? The ending left me a bit blue.
Somehow, the finale doesn't feel right to me. While there are some notable precedents to jaw-dropping finales, this was more shocking than surprising.

Yes, I'm that much selfish. However, works of entertainment should read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 15, 2010
helur
Bias & First Impression:
The first time I laid eyes upon this I thought this would just be another average shounen, with a set number of bad guys to fight on the main character’s journey. The art was sort of odd too and it was on a year schedule for 12 episodes. To say the least I was deterred.
The first episode was a surprise. There was quite a lot of talking going on top of an actually legit plot. However it still was not immediately catching.

Expectation: 6 (Fine)
Final Grade: 8 (Very Good)
Individual episode rating: -,-,-,-,-,-,-,-,-,-,9,10

Evaluation:
The story did stick to the one sword an episode, but that read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 21, 2010
canabliss
Katanagatari is by the write of Bakemonogatari, knowing this, I watched it thinking it might be good. It isn't, the ONLY thing good about this anime IMO is the animations. It's boring, has very little fight scenes, and when it does have a fight scene they are usually very boring. The main character is Goku but even more bland, and the main female is an annoying bitch. The story had a good idea, go around Japan collecting legendary swords, but they made it so that each episode the main character meets some emo, then they talk for 40 minutes, spend about 5 minutes foreshadowing, then read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 28, 2013
DokiDokiChii
I was drawn to this anime by a lovely art style, and what appeared to be a white haired girl with oddly colored eyes. After starting the first episode, I was thoroughly addicted. I couldn't stop watching and the story kept becoming even more interesting. As the bond between Togame and Shichika developed along side the plot, I fell even more into the world of Katanagatari. I cried, I laughed, I smiled, and I enjoyed this anime to the fullest. I recommend this to everyone, since it has everything. Romance, Action, Plot, Music and Drama. By far one of the best anime's I have seen read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 22, 2013
OtakuLair
--------------
Criteria
--------------
Story: 8.5
The story of Katanagatari is one that I have also never seen done before. It was so simple yet was simply able to hold me for 12 episodes straight. The story practically revolves around the number 12 and the main protagonist Yasuri Shichika. 12 Episodes, 12 deviant Swords, 12 Maniwana heads...you see where I’m going. The story follows Yasuri Shichika and Togame on their quest to find these deviant Blades. Yasuri Shichika utilizes a martial arts (Kyotouryuu) only known to those of the Yasuri Bloodline.
The story was beautifully set out and really easy to follow, except for the fact that there are read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 7, 2012
Paulwillson26
Katanagatari is an epic tale of a quest to recover the 12 deviant blades of Shikizaki Kiki, the legendary swordsmith, whose blades had been scattered across Japan. The quest is given to Togame a minor official for the Owari Shoganate, who has given herself a very long and meaningless job title, who calls herself a strategian and is according to her a very good one if not the best. Part of her strategy in recovering the swords is to enlist the help of the 6th head of the Kyotoryuu (swordless) sword style, and the man responsible for putting down the rebellion against the Shoganate, on read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 10, 2012
rhyne023
600 minutes (12 episodes) [50 min each]
Review: This one is a great anime!~ and no one cares about it!.. its a must see for those who love action and love story!... just dont be deceive by the looks of the character because it is a high class anime! i love the story even its not a great ending...but over all it is great!!
well Awesome!! the fight scenes and characters!! i love them all!!! watch it now!!>,
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 4, 2011
Arisato-kun
Ah Katanagatari. What can I say about such a work of art? Yes, before going into this review I'm going to be honest and say i consider this I fine work of art. You can agree with me or not, but I'm going to list the reasons why I believe what I believe.

Story: Katanagatari's story starts out fairly slow, which may turn off a few viewers at the start. I must admit I was skeptical about what i was getting into throughout the entirety of episode one. But Katanagatari is a series that really ends up grabbing a hold of your attention and never letting read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 16, 2013
roby666
The art is simplistic which makes it unique and appealing in it's own way.
The music is great, it really suits the character's personalities at times.
The story, despite the one sword per episode decision is in no way boring or predictable.
Basically, there's always something to look forward to. Be it the conversations, the funny/humorous moments or the unusual swords and opponents.

The 50 minute episodes might seem long at first, although they feel much shorter in reality. I never had the feeling like an hour passed after watching an episode.
So yeah, that's it from me, I hope you'll enjoy Katanagatari as much as I did if read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 20, 2011
Adanadhel
What a pleasant and unexpected surprise was to watch Katanagatari! Episode after episode, the way this anime grew on me is hard to put down in words, but I'll do my best!;D

The plot is actually quite simple, the way it is developed, on the other hand, is masterfully done.

We have this stubborn and cute strategist, Togame, whose objective is to collect 12 legendary swords by the order of the current shogunate, who fears a revolt from those possessing the 12 Perfected Deviant Swords. After being betrayed by ninjas and samurais she seeks help of a man who lives exiled in an island with his sister. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices