Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Katanagatari


Alternative Titles

English: Katanagatari
Synonyms: Sword Story
Japanese: 刀語

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 26, 2010 to Dec 11, 2010
Premiered: Winter 2010
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: NIS America, Inc.
Studios: White Fox
Source: Light novel
Duration: 50 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.501 (scored by 76,030 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #962
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #208
Members: 172,031
Favorites: 5,313

Reviews

Archaeon
Jan 4, 2011
Since 2006, light novel adaptations have gradually become a regular feature in anime as producers in the industry scrabble around in their attempts to find the biggest cash cow since the advent of Suzumiya Haruhi. The surprising thing is that the fallout from this has actually been a lot better for fans than one might expect, and while titles like Guin Saga, Kemono no Souja Erin, Ghost Hunt, Baccano!, Kure-nai, Rental Magica, Spice & Wolf, and NHK ni Youkoso! may not be as commercially successful as KyoAni's behemoth, they do represent a gradual shift in the industry towards creativity and originality.

Which is where Katanagatari comes read more
I found this review Helpful
Smartreviews
Dec 11, 2014
"I have just come to a realization! This scroll by Broken Sword contains no secrets of his swordsmanship. What this reveals is his highest ideal. In the first state, man and sword become one..." - King of Qin, Hero

I originally stumbled upon this anime thinking it was a continuation of the Monogatari series. It's not. But it's a great show nonetheless. What wowed me about this show was its pacing. Katanagatari is easily one of the most well-paced animes I've ever seen, and the pacing reminds me a lot of BBC's Sherlock series. Each of the 45-minute episodes are like a mini-movie, leaving very little read more
I found this review Helpful
8thSin
Dec 10, 2010
'Katanagatari' ('Tale of Swords') is about Togame, a self-claimed "General Director of Military and Offering Affairs serving under Yanari Shogun Family of Owari Shogunate", and Yasuri Shichika, the last inheritor of swordless swordsmanship "Kyotouryuu", and their adventure to collect 12 legendary swords.

Original work written by the same author as 'Bakemonogatari', this is a dialogue-based series that I cannot recommend to Shounen and other viewers who seek mindless battle scenes, you can ignore my warnings... "but by that time, you'd be slashed into pieces."


The story of 'Katanagatari' is driven by the characters who stand in the way of the sword gathering. New characters and weapon of read more
I found this review Helpful
Raptor1221
Aug 4, 2014
What do you fight for? That is a question with no simple answer. People say that they wish to accomplish some sort of dream or aspiration. To achieve fame, fortune, love, or maybe even revenge. Some are simple and others ambitious beyond belief. The real question is, do you have the will to fulfill that dream? Is it truly what you wish for? Are willing to struggle to the end for it? Many people try to fulfill their aspirations. Many people simply die in regret and are forgotten. Others fulfill a dream so large they are remembered for all time. read more
I found this review Helpful
PoeticJustice
Jul 4, 2014
What is it that you fight for? Money? Power? Honor? Love? Revenge? Out of all the millions of reasons , in the end does it really matter? These are some of the things you will ponder while watching Katanagatari. Nisio Isin, the mind behind the monogatari-series, which some might call a twist on the harem genre, has used his deft hand at creating unique characters and worlds, in what would traditionally be a shounen premise. The end result, is a masterfully crafted tale that blends Japanese folklore, romance, and martial arts with a very contemporary touch that makes Katanagatari feel both modern and old at read more
I found this review Helpful
Link_of_Hyrule
Nov 21, 2014
**SPOILER FREE REVIEW**

What’s more important: the destination, or the journey it takes to get there? If you put every ounce of your blood, sweat and tears towards achieving your goal, and still fail, was it all for nothing? Inversely, if you accomplish all of your goals without breaking a sweat, are you really accomplishing anything? Due to the fact that the outcome of nearly every shounen anime every made is never in any real question what so ever, this is not a theme we have ever seen explored in anime. At least, not until Katanagatari was released. This anime is perhaps the only show ever read more
I found this review Helpful
johnvswild
Aug 22, 2013
I simply cannot grasp why this anime receives so much praise.

SPOILER-FREE

White Fox adapted this from the light novel Katanagatari, and although they have the same author and a similar name, it has no connection to the Monogatari series in style, substance or story. The two main characters romp through a mythologized version of feudal Japan, neatly divided into formulaic episodes, collecting swords and killing fucking everyone they see.

Katanagatari is by no means a terrible anime, but if you look at the way it is treated, you might think it’s an absolute masterpiece, or panders to the shounen crowd excessively. Neither is true. The world and read more
I found this review Helpful
Refawul
Aug 8, 2014
Considering the amount of love this show has received, it feels risky giving a comparatively low score to Katanagatari, although I don't personally consider a 7 by any means low. Please don't label this review as "not helpful" just because you disagree with the scores or think they are too low. This is a difficult show to review because a) most of my complaints are directed to the plot and character development, both of which are difficult to describe without spoilers, and b) some of the complaints can also be considered reasons why this show is amazing or unique. Unique is indeed one of the read more
I found this review Helpful
Lawuser
May 10, 2013
Katanagatari is interesting because it's one of the better anime in recent time (that I have seen), one of the best anime from 2010 (that I have seen) and arguably the best work of NisiOisiN (that I have seen, even though this only includes two titles).

Now, Katanagatari is great, it's absolutely wonderful, but depending on your ability to immerse yourself in a story so much that you forget time this may or may not be for you. If you are like me with the attention span of a goldfish, initially the 50-minute long episodes might scare you off. If you are able to put up read more
I found this review Helpful
SerialXperiment
Oct 29, 2014
Having 50 minutes for each episode is a rarity for anime. Aside from a couple OVA’s like Hellsing Ultimate or a select few episodes like the recent releases of Fate/Stay Night, 50 minutes is not the universal format for anime to present itself. So, when a series comes along that feels confident that it can regularly fill up content for this long running time, it would be an expected treat for a little break in the usual format.

Katanagatari is one of those few shows that attempts this.

Katanagatari follows a man named Sichika Yasuri, a well trained martial artist who possesses a unique style of sword read more
I found this review Helpful
Dragon
Dec 10, 2015
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

I was really excited for this show and hyped for its ending because I had heard really good things about it and its ending. On the r/anime subreddit I go to, people consistently put it up for "best endings" or most "solid arc" or "great character development", but while I liked this show initially, it started to lose its luster a bit with its episodic repetitiveness, long runtime (45 minutes approximately, which I think hurt it more than helped as I felt they rambled too much and could've had a faster pace). Some of the dialogue confused me a bit for the read more
I found this review Helpful
Xiaraith
Dec 13, 2013
Katanagatari: a tale of twelve twisted swords,
which keenly point their sharpened blades towards
just anyone who's thirsting for their mighty power
and therefore causing uproars and a troubled hour.
Harrying this ward -
++Zettou Kanna++
the first sword

To wield a sword, you need courage and a certain reason
to use such a deathly tool for committing life treason.
Explore your innermost nature and understand the way!
"What do you fight for?"... it's not just a simple play.
Another slain lord -
++Zantou Namakura++
the second sword

Now to find these swords and also their own true self,
our two heroes set sail in search for these twelve
relics of Shikizaki Kiki's most famous smithery,
which became an unfathomably perilous reality.
Limits read more
I found this review Helpful
Gunsmoke
Feb 28, 2016
Story: 6.8/10

Katanagatari follows our two main protagonists, Shichika and Togame, as they travel around two collect 12 swords, or the "Deviant Blades" as they are known in the show. There are twelve episodes, and twelve swords to collect, so it is clear to see where the creators of the show were going. While it doesn't pursue a "one sword per episode" format strictly, the show can be somewhat predictable in some aspects due to its general format. One of the many things that the show is known for is it's heavy emphasis on dialogue over action. While the writers did a very good job at read more
I found this review Helpful
ggultra2764
May 20, 2015
Katanagatari was a series that got a good deal of hype back in 2010 that I never found myself getting into at the time. Notable in that each episode aired one time a month on Japanese pay-per-view channels throughout the year and each one aired at 50 minutes a piece, the series focused on skilled martial artist Shichika and a military adviser named Togame seeking out the whereabouts of 12 legendary swords called the Deviant Blades created by a recluse swordsman named Kiki Shikizaki, as each episode of the series focuses on our pair trying to seek out one of the 12 weapons. Shichika and read more
I found this review Helpful
leingodf8
May 30, 2010
Katanagatari, the show that loves the number 12. 12 swords, 12 ninjas, 12 episode... and I'm half expecting it to turn out that the Shichika has 12 secret techniques at his disposal. Yes, Katanagatari is an interesting show about a young man and woman on a quest to gather the 12 ultimate swords. The premise sounds fairly cliche, but still interesting enough to watch solely based on that, but how does it really fare? Lets find out...

Now, let me start off by saying, if anime was judged on artistic style alone, Katanagatari would probably be one of the greatest of all time, as the artwork read more
I found this review Helpful
gullej
Nov 27, 2015
“People who work for money are no good. People who work for honor are also no good. That leaves only one reason. People who work for love can be trusted. Yasuri Shichika… fall for me!” - Togame

Katanagatari is written by the well-known author Nisio Isin, original creator of the –monogatari series. This means that, if you were expecting a show with a ton of fighting, you might be disappointed. There is, however, at the very least one (pretty epic) fight throughout every episode. The runtime of each episode is 50 minutes, and I believe that this is beneficial to the series, since it allows for read more
I found this review Helpful
qub4honor
Aug 31, 2015
This show left me breathless. Right after the final cut I needed to rewatch last episode all over again and enjoy the joy and pain once more. This is not some another action anime, this is piece of art.

Closest thing one should compare this show to is Samurai Champloo, not only because of the samurai theme but the main "plot" of traveling and finding what was lost is pretty similar, but where Samurai Champloo ends in story and character progression, Katanagatari only starts.

So much development in only 12 episodes (50min) is incredible. Characters are deep and are presented through very long but sensible dialogues. Many read more
I found this review Helpful
animephantom
Mar 5, 2014
You could pretty much summarize the whole plot of Katanagatari (sword story in English) by it's title. Because, it really is story about two people traveling around japan, collecting twelve magical swords. However, when you actually sit down and watch it, you will probably get more out of it than you had expected.

Story: As I said before, it has a pretty simplistic story. The story follows the 2 main characters as they set out on a journey all around Japan to collect twelve swords. the main focus of each episode is a new sword for the two to collect. When they are not fighting read more
I found this review Helpful
KLRock
Aug 7, 2015
Show me someone who says this series sucks and I'll show you my hand mark on their face.

Yes, the art style is different. Yes, there is a lot of dialogue. And yes, this show IS amazing. Watch this show, just watch it you. will. not. be. disappointed haha. Very few times have I seen an anime as well made as this, and the saddest part is that not as many people have watched this compared to people who watched lesser shows like SAO( is said lesser, not dog s$&t)

Try out the first episode, watch the character interaction, at least give it that.

STORY 10: A read more
I found this review Helpful
Karabanera
Oct 14, 2015
This is the only anime i've ever seen without ANY flaws. it is just perfect. You might not like artstyle or story based of your own preferences, but even so you jsut can't deny its good. Story is set in medival Japan, yet it has nothing to do with real history. It follows Shichika Yasuri and in general his story is almsot the same with every shonen protagonist. But that doesn't make it any worse. His growth as a character is seen in all 12 episodes of epicness. (BTW, he's not a bitch-protagonist, like a shonen character, so you don't have to see same thing read more
I found this review Helpful