Ranked #92


Alternative Titles

English: Katanagatari
Synonyms: Sword Story
Japanese: 刀語


Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 26, 2010 to Dec 11, 2010
Premiered: Winter 2010
Broadcast: Unknown
Source: Light novel
Duration: 50 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company


Score: 8.521 (scored by 66,232 users)
Ranked: #922
Popularity: #204
Members: 147,963
Favorites: 4,443
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Dec 11, 2014
"I have just come to a realization! This scroll by Broken Sword contains no secrets of his swordsmanship. What this reveals is his highest ideal. In the first state, man and sword become one..." - King of Qin, Hero

I originally stumbled upon this anime thinking it was a continuation of the Monogatari series. It's not. But it's a great show nonetheless. What wowed me about this show was its pacing. Katanagatari is easily one of the most well-paced animes I've ever seen, and the pacing reminds me a lot of BBC's Sherlock series. Each of the 45-minute episodes are like a mini-movie, leaving very little read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 4, 2011
Since 2006, light novel adaptations have gradually become a regular feature in anime as producers in the industry scrabble around in their attempts to find the biggest cash cow since the advent of Suzumiya Haruhi. The surprising thing is that the fallout from this has actually been a lot better for fans than one might expect, and while titles like Guin Saga, Kemono no Souja Erin, Ghost Hunt, Baccano!, Kure-nai, Rental Magica, Spice & Wolf, and NHK ni Youkoso! may not be as commercially successful as KyoAni's behemoth, they do represent a gradual shift in the industry towards creativity and originality.

Which is where Katanagatari comes read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 14, 2015
This is the only anime i've ever seen without ANY flaws. it is just perfect. You might not like artstyle or story based of your own preferences, but even so you jsut can't deny its good. Story is set in medival Japan, yet it has nothing to do with real history. It follows Shichika Yasuri and in general his story is almsot the same with every shonen protagonist. But that doesn't make it any worse. His growth as a character is seen in all 12 episodes of epicness. (BTW, he's not a bitch-protagonist, like a shonen character, so you don't have to see same thing read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 10, 2010
'Katanagatari' ('Tale of Swords') is about Togame, a self-claimed "General Director of Military and Offering Affairs serving under Yanari Shogun Family of Owari Shogunate", and Yasuri Shichika, the last inheritor of swordless swordsmanship "Kyotouryuu", and their adventure to collect 12 legendary swords.

Original work written by the same author as 'Bakemonogatari', this is a dialogue-based series that I cannot recommend to Shounen and other viewers who seek mindless battle scenes, you can ignore my warnings... "but by that time, you'd be slashed into pieces."

The story of 'Katanagatari' is driven by the characters who stand in the way of the sword gathering. New characters and weapon of read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 4, 2014
What do you fight for? That is a question with no simple answer. People say that they wish to accomplish some sort of dream or aspiration. To achieve fame, fortune, love, or maybe even revenge. Some are simple and others ambitious beyond belief. The real question is, do you have the will to fulfill that dream? Is it truly what you wish for? Are willing to struggle to the end for it? Many people try to fulfill their aspirations. Many people simply die in regret and are forgotten. Others fulfill a dream so large they are remembered for all time. read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 30, 2015

Story: Great plot but sometimes a bit slow. Makes you feel like you're going on an adventure. Epic trip. Epic feel trip..........

Art: The characters are not drawn the usual way so it might be a bother to some. However, if you don't mind the characters' drawing, the rest is really well drawn.

Sound: The soundtracks are just epic and well chosen.


This anime really resembles Samurai Champloo but is still very unique. Although the episodes might seem to last long (50 min), every minute read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 31, 2015
This show left me breathless. Right after the final cut I needed to rewatch last episode all over again and enjoy the joy and pain once more. This is not some another action anime, this is piece of art.

Closest thing one should compare this show to is Samurai Champloo, not only because of the samurai theme but the main "plot" of traveling and finding what was lost is pretty similar, but where Samurai Champloo ends in story and character progression, Katanagatari only starts.

So much development in only 12 episodes (50min) is incredible. Characters are deep and are presented through very long but sensible dialogues. Many read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 21, 2014

What’s more important: the destination, or the journey it takes to get there? If you put every ounce of your blood, sweat and tears towards achieving your goal, and still fail, was it all for nothing? Inversely, if you accomplish all of your goals without breaking a sweat, are you really accomplishing anything? Due to the fact that the outcome of nearly every shounen anime every made is never in any real question what so ever, this is not a theme we have ever seen explored in anime. At least, not until Katanagatari was released. This anime is perhaps the only show ever read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 4, 2014
What is it that you fight for? Money? Power? Honor? Love? Revenge? Out of all the millions of reasons , in the end does it really matter? These are some of the things you will ponder while watching Katanagatari. Nisio Isin, the mind behind the monogatari-series, which some might call a twist on the harem genre, has used his deft hand at creating unique characters and worlds, in what would traditionally be a shounen premise. The end result, is a masterfully crafted tale that blends Japanese folklore, romance, and martial arts with a very contemporary touch that makes Katanagatari feel both modern and old at read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 26, 2015

Yasuri Shichika, the 7th heir of the Kyotouryuu school(bladeless), lives together with his sister Nanami on a desert island where they and their father Mutsue, who put down a rebellion started by Hida Takahito against the shogunate, were exiled to after the events of the rebellion. One day Shichika meets a gatecrasher named Togame. The shogunate entrusted Togame with a very difficult mission: she must collect twelve legendary swords owned by the legendary masters of swordsmanship. Later on Shichika agrees to help a fragile strategist and becomes her protection servant. The two set out to a journey towards the cruel fate. Will they overcome it? read more
I found this review Helpful
May 20, 2015
Katanagatari was a series that got a good deal of hype back in 2010 that I never found myself getting into at the time. Notable in that each episode aired one time a month on Japanese pay-per-view channels throughout the year and each one aired at 50 minutes a piece, the series focused on skilled martial artist Shichika and a military adviser named Togame seeking out the whereabouts of 12 legendary swords called the Deviant Blades created by a recluse swordsman named Kiki Shikizaki, as each episode of the series focuses on our pair trying to seek out one of the 12 weapons. Shichika and read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 7, 2015
Show me someone who says this series sucks and I'll show you my hand mark on their face.

Yes, the art style is different. Yes, there is a lot of dialogue. And yes, this show IS amazing. Watch this show, just watch it you. will. not. be. disappointed haha. Very few times have I seen an anime as well made as this, and the saddest part is that not as many people have watched this compared to people who watched lesser shows like SAO( is said lesser, not dog s$&t)

Try out the first episode, watch the character interaction, at least give it that.

STORY 10: A read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 8, 2014
Considering the amount of love this show has received, it feels risky giving a comparatively low score to Katanagatari, although I don't personally consider a 7 by any means low. Please don't label this review as "not helpful" just because you disagree with the scores or think they are too low. This is a difficult show to review because a) most of my complaints are directed to the plot and character development, both of which are difficult to describe without spoilers, and b) some of the complaints can also be considered reasons why this show is amazing or unique. Unique is indeed one of the read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 28, 2015
Katanagatari - the sword story. An adventurous comedy set in Edo period? Buckle up and enjoy the ride.

Story - 9

Togame is the main strategist working for shogunate that currently controls Japan. She is given the task, that might sound quite easy "collect twelve important swords" but well the job is indeed dangerous and lone adventurer would basically be committing suicide, therefore she needs someone to protect her. Togame ventures alone without anyone knowing her intentions to the not-so-abandoned island where it is said that sixth master of Kyotoryuu (the swordless art). It turns out the master is dead and the person she has to read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 22, 2013
I simply cannot grasp why this anime receives so much praise.


White Fox adapted this from the light novel Katanagatari, and although they have the same author and a similar name, it has no connection to the Monogatari series in style, substance or story. The two main characters romp through a mythologized version of feudal Japan, neatly divided into formulaic episodes, collecting swords and killing fucking everyone they see.

Katanagatari is by no means a terrible anime, but if you look at the way it is treated, you might think it’s an absolute masterpiece, or panders to the shounen crowd excessively. Neither is true. The world and read more
I found this review Helpful
May 10, 2013
Katanagatari is interesting because it's one of the better anime in recent time (that I have seen), one of the best anime from 2010 (that I have seen) and arguably the best work of NisiOisiN (that I have seen, even though this only includes two titles).

Now, Katanagatari is great, it's absolutely wonderful, but depending on your ability to immerse yourself in a story so much that you forget time this may or may not be for you. If you are like me with the attention span of a goldfish, initially the 50-minute long episodes might scare you off. If you are able to put up read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 29, 2015
First of all i would like to warn others that this anime does not have have a very good art style, especially the characters' eyes and the art style is not what you would expect from an anime with such a high rating.
However, Art is not the only major factor in reviewing this Anime. This anime has awesome story and i think all the characters are unique and each have their own story, even for some of the "bad" guys. There is however some imperfection to this anime as there is very little action scenes in each episode. I would love to have more read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 29, 2014
Having 50 minutes for each episode is a rarity for anime. Aside from a couple OVA’s like Hellsing Ultimate or a select few episodes like the recent releases of Fate/Stay Night, 50 minutes is not the universal format for anime to present itself. So, when a series comes along that feels confident that it can regularly fill up content for this long running time, it would be an expected treat for a little break in the usual format.

Katanagatari is one of those few shows that attempts this.

Katanagatari follows a man named Sichika Yasuri, a well trained martial artist who possesses a unique style of sword read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 23, 2015
Katanagatari, as the name implies, is a story about swords. It isn't just a story featuring swords: It's literally a story about swords. It's a story about twelve 'Deviant Blades' made by the legendary Shikizaki Kiki, the sword-collecting journey of Shichika and Togame, and the side-characters who wield the Deviant Blades. It's also a story about the 'Maniwa Ningun', but I won't spoil anything about them.

The story starts when the main character, Shichika (master of Kyotouryuu), meets Togame (a strategist). Togame ropes Shichika into going on a sword-collecting journey, and that's basically it. But the things that happen on this journey (and the revelations in read more
I found this review Helpful
May 17, 2015
I'm probably gonna mess up this review somehow. It's 3 in the morning and I just had the sudden urge to write something, and this just happens to be it. Sorry.

Katanagatari's plot is interesting, but predictable. I mean, it's about a quest to retrieve 12 magical swords. And oh, what a coincidence, Katanagatari has 12 episodes! Who would've guessed? Not me. Didn't see that coming.

All unfunny attempts at sarcasm aside, Katana's just got something going for it that a lot of shows these days don't. It's an episodic series, each episode for the most part having our main characters, Yasuri Shichika and Togame, plotting to read more
I found this review Helpful