MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #91
Katanagatari

Katanagatari

Alternative Titles

Japanese: 刀語

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 26, 2010 to Dec 11, 2010
Duration: 50 min. per episode
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.511 (scored by 43982 users)
Ranked: #912
Popularity: #219
Members: 94,315
Favorites: 2,481
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Jun 30, 2014
Dainfamousazian
Katanagatari has one of the most amazing plot and storylines i have ever seen. It pulls off a Baccano introducing new characters with every episode and fully fleshes them out till the end. The rebroadcast opening hakushi kassai uta awase is also one of the most amazing anime openings have heard. IF ANY OF YOU GUYS HAVE TIME YOU MUST WATCH THIS SWORD STORY BEFORE YOU DIE!
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 24, 2011
infinity
==[ Katanagatari - Overall: 9.5/10 | 12 episodes]==

One-liner: If you want an anime with amazing art, great character development, good romance and an ending which you cannot predict from episode 1, Katanagatari is for you.


[ Introduction ]

Katanagatari, or Sword Story, is about the Strategian Togame and her "sword", Yasuri Shichika. The story is about their journey to collect 12 legendary deviant swords made by master swordsmith Shikizaki Kiki.

[ Story = 9 ]

When I see animes about a journey to collect swords, I generally think: "Sword fights to be expected. Blood and gore. Severed limbs. Magical sword. Ooooh... Duh!". Katanagatari is about swords, of course, but read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 10, 2011
IoOI0O0IOoI
This review is for the Swahili dub of the show.

The year is 1977 and the 15-year Mozambican War of Independence has been over for a few years. The setting of the show is a sort of alternate reality where Portugal had somehow won the war and retained Mozambique as a colony. We follow the brutish Rhamadhani Shichika and the mysterious, yet clumsy, Waseme on their journey to collect the 12 Deviant Automatic Rifles for various political and personal reasons. 12 episodes, 12 guns, you do the math.

No seriously, do the math because I can't.

So why is this show so successful (and by successful I mean read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 12, 2010
roriconfan
PROLOGUE

Katanagatari (directly translated to English as Swordstory), is from the same guy who wrote Bakemonogatari. As famous as that anime was, I wasn’t very thrilled with its episodic nature. The smart gags and the wordplays were all nice but all the rest felt like random psychedelic rambling with lots of otaku culture cliches. But it still had enough artistic expression and weirdness to be memorable in a way.

Katanagatari is practically reusing the same formula, only here it offers a better feeling of progress, focuses more on the main characters and less on most others who come and go in the same episode they appear. I read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 2, 2010
rific
Katanagatari is a series that aires one episode every month, which sounds pretty crappy but the episodes are one hour long, so in the end it evens out with most other shows. In my opinion, I'd rather one hour a month. Also, its episodic so I'd rather one episode than an arc. Anyway enough of my preference :P

The story is actually quite simple. Overly simple even. But that isn't a bad thing. Basically, the two main characters are out to collect 12 legendary swords. Conveniently enough, there are 12 episodes. So I'm sure you can put it together that it's about 1 sword an episode, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 10, 2013
Chronologist
Katanagatari is a historical fantasy anime revolving around a set of incredible cursed 'swords'. These incredibly powerful weapons corrupted anyone who would use them, and became known ad the Deviant Blades. The main characters are Togami, a short white-haired girl who has been tasked with the retrieval of these weapons, and Shinchika, a tall dark-haired martial artist who she enlists to do the actual fighting. What follows is a grand adventure across twelve episodes and most of the country as they do battle with these cursed weapons.


This is where the Story takes a bit of a left turn. The show has a very loose definition read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 22, 2011
Tamiyi
Short review be warned xD

Story- Great story, not the most original I've seen since there are many anime's out there based on sword fighting and the edo period but everything else makes up for the story's lack of originality. 7

Art- The art was gorgeous, I loved the traditional spin on the animation and it's consistency.9

Sound- I'm not one to pay too close attention to the sound but I liked the background music, nothing really to complain about. 8

Character- If this show has a strength, it's in its characters. Not a single one of them has a boring or stereotyped personality, it was especially enjoyable to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 30, 2010
leingodf8
Katanagatari, the show that loves the number 12. 12 swords, 12 ninjas, 12 episode... and I'm half expecting it to turn out that the Shichika has 12 secret techniques at his disposal. Yes, Katanagatari is an interesting show about a young man and woman on a quest to gather the 12 ultimate swords. The premise sounds fairly cliche, but still interesting enough to watch solely based on that, but how does it really fare? Lets find out...

Now, let me start off by saying, if anime was judged on artistic style alone, Katanagatari would probably be one of the greatest of all time, as the artwork read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 19, 2013
platinumSKIES
It's taken me nearly 4 years to finish Katanagatari, mostly due to my own backlog becoming so extensive. To think that I started watching this series when I was a lowly freshman in college and finished it as a senior years later is surreal. But you guys aren't here to listen to me ramble. :)

Katanagatari is one of Nisio Isin's serial works and is, in all honesty, really interesting in it's transformation from a standard 'fetch the sword' quest, to it's ultimate conclusion of being that something more.

Story (8/10): Being a Nisio Isin story, it's not going to be simple. In fact there'll read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 18, 2012
Queen_Stars
When you take a glance at this anime, you're met by unconventional artwork off the bat, as it's the conventional that pretty much headlines anime these days, thus unusual is something some people may be attracted to or repelled by; if you're of the latter - reconcider.

Story...
Katanagatari is an action adventure anime that spans across a certian period of time whilst maintaining a fast pace.
We are met with a streetwise, serious yet not-too-competent female who is soon joined on her quest by a fairly clueless male who has a lot to learn.
The two form an unconventional relationship and set off on the female leads quest read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 13, 2012
ImagineWild00
Without any summary fluff, let's cut straight to the point:
this anime was one of the best short series anime out there. Although it's not as renowned, the qualities of story, characters, artwork, and overall content are simply marvelous and unprecedented.

There are many interesting points to elaborate on in this anime;
First of all, the story is quiet the surprise. Although the whole "quest for finding swords" seems rather cliche and (quite frankly) boring at first, this story takes on a whole new outlook that clearly distinguishes itself from other adventure stories out there. Because of the character development, interaction, and dialogues filled with read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 1, 2011
LUE_Shane
Katanagatari is a charming, if formulaic, adventure focusing on the relationship between Yasuri Shichika, a veritable country bumpkin, and Togame, a high-profile employee of the shogun and self-proclaimed "strategian" as they strive to collect twelve very powerful swords. Expectedly, Shichika and Togame contrast each other humorously, and this contrast is often what produces the witty, dry dialogue the show is known for. In many cases, their completely different origins move the plot forward or cause problems.

Each of the twelve episodes of Katanagatari features a different sword and the struggle for the protagonists to obtain it. Even though each episode is read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 19, 2010
Leap250
Anime these days tend to lack a key ingredient, that could very well make or break the series. No, it's not fan-service, nor is it a kick-ass OP theme. It's depth.

Katanagatari, or "Sword Story" strayed from what is now the norm in Anime, and managed to create a masterpiece. Of course, some may not see Katanagatari in such a way, but one should also stop to consider that you don't need hot anime girls to make a series interesting.

STORY - 9

At first the story would seem like your average "collect all the weapons". And for the earlier part, it would seem so. However, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 13, 2013
Olympus
I enjoyed Katanagatari, however the only thing that stood out for me was the art style. All the other ways to rate this anime fall into the "good" and "fair" category. What stopped me from rating this anime any better was the ending, I was absolutely shocked and disappointed in the direction it took, from the end of episode 11 and all of 12. For the rest of it episodes 1-10 was good. Character development was only good for the 2 main characters, the rest of them it didn't do as well. Plot wise it was good, episodes taken individually is much better than the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 2, 2011
Marquis_D_Luffy
What can begin, can end.

Katanagatari is a truly unique piece of storytelling. From the outset the art style jumps out at you as being unorthodox, which fits the series justly. But Katanagatari is more than unorthodox, it's unorthodox done well. Just because I may not have liked elements of it's story, it's personality or it's conclusions, I couldn't possibly fault it. Just as sometimes you may despise the villain in a movie, if it weren't for that villain's existence, the protagonist couldn't shine so bright. Such is Katanagatari. It itself depicts and builds upon this principle of discomfort so masterfully that in the end, whether read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 17, 2011
jchang
Ok, first of all i didnt get to watch all episodes. the reason im still writting this review is because this is aimed to give a warning to the people planning to watch this show and the fact is that its boring. (reasons below)

anyways im not leaded by subjectivity and this review is done in the most objective way possible.

Now that i said this lets begin with the review.

first of all, katanagatari is a show that really attracted me. i mean i looks good, has acceptable number of episodes and the story has potential to good comedy and action. i feel this is the reason read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 8, 2014
Born2Run
RECOMMENDED FOR…
…people who like colorful and expressive art styles and lots of historical and pop-cultural references in their anime.

NOT RECOMMENDED FOR…
…people with a short attention span, though even people with a normal attention span will be brought to their limits. It takes a lot of endurance to watch Katanagatari.


**REVIEW**

Katanagatari features an episodic adventure story about two people, the hillbilly Shichika and the shogunate member Togame, travelling around the country to collect twelve legendary swords by defeating their varied wielders. The show’s genre is a combination of adventure, martial arts, comedy, and historical and cultural references.

Katanagatari’s greatest asset is its expressive art style. It gives the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 29, 2012
Rhaal
"Things of excellence will not die" - Japanese proverb.

While some may argue it's far easier when you have a whole month to plan ahead, I'd say Katanagatari is the perfect example of what happens when you aim for quality and art, rather than dvd sales and ads.

(Relatively) No one knows this anime, whereas everyone should do so.

How comes I didn't give Katanagatari a 10 then? The ending left me a bit blue.
Somehow, the finale doesn't feel right to me. While there are some notable precedents to jaw-dropping finales, this was more shocking than surprising.

Yes, I'm that much selfish. However, works of entertainment should read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 15, 2010
helur
Bias & First Impression:
The first time I laid eyes upon this I thought this would just be another average shounen, with a set number of bad guys to fight on the main character’s journey. The art was sort of odd too and it was on a year schedule for 12 episodes. To say the least I was deterred.
The first episode was a surprise. There was quite a lot of talking going on top of an actually legit plot. However it still was not immediately catching.

Expectation: 6 (Fine)
Final Grade: 8 (Very Good)
Individual episode rating: -,-,-,-,-,-,-,-,-,-,9,10

Evaluation:
The story did stick to the one sword an episode, but that read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 9, 2014
Alan1017
Similar to Bake and Nisemonogatari this is another anime created by Nisio Isin that has heavy dialogue and thrives on interactions between characters blah blah blah, we've all heard this before. We follow the story of Togame and Yasuri Shichika who, in there long journey, need to find all 12 deviant blades. Almost every episode is them trying to gain another sword and there adventure while Shichika learns more about fighting and Togame learns more about strategies in fighting, as she was the strategist of this group. For the main chracters I have to say I really did like Shichika, he is quite different from read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices