MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #90
Katanagatari

Katanagatari

Alternative Titles

English: Katanagatari
Synonyms: Sword Story
Japanese: 刀語

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 26, 2010 to Dec 11, 2010
Duration: 50 min. per episode
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.521 (scored by 60653 users)
Ranked: #902
Popularity: #201
Members: 134,082
Favorites: 3,778
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.

Reviews

Smartreviews
Dec 11, 2014 7:48 PM
"I have just come to a realization! This scroll by Broken Sword contains no secrets of his swordsmanship. What this reveals is his highest ideal. In the first state, man and sword become one..." - King of Qin, Hero

I originally stumbled upon this anime thinking it was a continuation of the Monogatari series. It's not. But it's a great show nonetheless. What wowed me about this show was its pacing. Katanagatari is easily one of the most well-paced animes I've ever seen, and the pacing reminds me a lot of BBC's Sherlock series. Each of the 45-minute episodes are like a mini-movie, leaving very little read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Raptor1221
Aug 4, 2014 3:18 PM
What do you fight for? That is a question with no simple answer. People say that they wish to accomplish some sort of dream or aspiration. To achieve fame, fortune, love, or maybe even revenge. Some are simple and others ambitious beyond belief. The real question is, do you have the will to fulfill that dream? Is it truly what you wish for? Are willing to struggle to the end for it? Many people try to fulfill their aspirations. Many people simply die in regret and are forgotten. Others fulfill a dream so large they are remembered for all time. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
gHostickles
Jul 23, 3:06 PM
"Why do I like anime?" is a question I ask myself fairly frequently, and there is no discernable answer that I can be happy with. "I enjoy watching it," was my original answer, though even a statement as broad and easy to accept as that doesn't please me. It could possibly be because it's a unique art form, or because it influences my life - or even something as simple as the viewing of well-presented stories and developed characters. Before watching Katanagatari, no anime had been able to previously spark these thoughts, but the question then becomes, "Does that make it a masterpiece?" I still read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Archaeon
Jan 4, 2011 7:14 PM
Since 2006, light novel adaptations have gradually become a regular feature in anime as producers in the industry scrabble around in their attempts to find the biggest cash cow since the advent of Suzumiya Haruhi. The surprising thing is that the fallout from this has actually been a lot better for fans than one might expect, and while titles like Guin Saga, Kemono no Souja Erin, Ghost Hunt, Baccano!, Kure-nai, Rental Magica, Spice & Wolf, and NHK ni Youkoso! may not be as commercially successful as KyoAni's behemoth, they do represent a gradual shift in the industry towards creativity and originality.

Which is where Katanagatari comes read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
8thSin
Dec 10, 2010 9:17 PM
'Katanagatari' ('Tale of Swords') is about Togame, a self-claimed "General Director of Military and Offering Affairs serving under Yanari Shogun Family of Owari Shogunate", and Yasuri Shichika, the last inheritor of swordless swordsmanship "Kyotouryuu", and their adventure to collect 12 legendary swords.

Original work written by the same author as 'Bakemonogatari', this is a dialogue-based series that I cannot recommend to Shounen and other viewers who seek mindless battle scenes, you can ignore my warnings... "but by that time, you'd be slashed into pieces."


The story of 'Katanagatari' is driven by the characters who stand in the way of the sword gathering. New characters and weapon of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
PoeticJustice
Jul 4, 2014 2:00 PM
What is it that you fight for? Money? Power? Honor? Love? Revenge? Out of all the millions of reasons , in the end does it really matter? These are some of the things you will ponder while watching Katanagatari. Nisio Isin, the mind behind the monogatari-series, which some might call a twist on the harem genre, has used his deft hand at creating unique characters and worlds, in what would traditionally be a shounen premise. The end result, is a masterfully crafted tale that blends Japanese folklore, romance, and martial arts with a very contemporary touch that makes Katanagatari feel both modern and old at read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
ggultra2764
May 20, 5:37 PM
Katanagatari was a series that got a good deal of hype back in 2010 that I never found myself getting into at the time. Notable in that each episode aired one time a month on Japanese pay-per-view channels throughout the year and each one aired at 50 minutes a piece, the series focused on skilled martial artist Shichika and a military adviser named Togame seeking out the whereabouts of 12 legendary swords called the Deviant Blades created by a recluse swordsman named Kiki Shikizaki, as each episode of the series focuses on our pair trying to seek out one of the 12 weapons. Shichika and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Refawul
Aug 8, 2014 6:28 AM
Considering the amount of love this show has received, it feels risky giving a comparatively low score to Katanagatari, although I don't personally consider a 7 by any means low. Please don't label this review as "not helpful" just because you disagree with the scores or think they are too low. This is a difficult show to review because a) most of my complaints are directed to the plot and character development, both of which are difficult to describe without spoilers, and b) some of the complaints can also be considered reasons why this show is amazing or unique. Unique is indeed one of the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Lawuser
May 10, 2013 11:03 AM
Katanagatari is interesting because it's one of the better anime in recent time (that I have seen), one of the best anime from 2010 (that I have seen) and arguably the best work of NisiOisiN (that I have seen, even though this only includes two titles).

Now, Katanagatari is great, it's absolutely wonderful, but depending on your ability to immerse yourself in a story so much that you forget time this may or may not be for you. If you are like me with the attention span of a goldfish, initially the 50-minute long episodes might scare you off. If you are able to put up read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
cascadeai
Jul 3, 4:12 PM
too long didnt read, no spoilers in the entire review you hentai watching memelord; its the summation of the things i hate, but its now one of my favourite shows.

its episodic, theres a lot of dialogue, its not rom-com, theres no melodrama, no love triangles, no titty ribbons, no beach episode, its not slice of life, theres fighting and powers and shit, it has childish art themes; its basically everything i hate in video james. i wasnt sure what i was expecting from this one but it certainly wasnt what i received.

you should be pretty mature to enjoy this show. it certainly demands a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Avantide
May 24, 11:39 AM
Katanagatari - the sword story. An adventurous comedy set in Edo period? Buckle up and enjoy the ride.

Story - 9

Togame is the main strategist working for shogunate that currently controls Japan. She is given the task, that might sound quite easy "collect twelve important swords" but well the job is indeed dangerous and lone adventurer would basically be committing suicide, therefore she needs someone to protect her. Togame ventures alone without anyone knowing her intentions to the not-so-abandoned island where it is said that sixth master of Kyotoryuu (the swordless art). It turns out the master is dead and the person she has read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
bread4breakfast
May 17, 1:21 AM
I'm probably gonna mess up this review somehow. It's 3 in the morning and I just had the sudden urge to write something, and this just happens to be it. Sorry.

Katanagatari's plot is interesting, but predictable. I mean, it's about a quest to retrieve 12 magical swords. And oh, what a coincidence, Katanagatari has 12 episodes! Who would've guessed? Not me. Didn't see that coming.

All unfunny attempts at sarcasm aside, Katana's just got something going for it that a lot of shows these days don't. It's an episodic series, each episode for the most part having our main characters, Yasuri Shichika and Togame, plotting to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Derozio
Dec 9, 2014 4:38 AM
I expected it to take me on an entertaining ride. On an action-packed, fun-filled journey with romantic elements between the leads acting as spice to further enhance the flavor of the story. Would it be correct to say that it succeeded in proving itself worth my time? That it satiated my expectations?

Yes, it did. It did that and much more. Oh so much more. Some elucidation is in order, yes? Elucidate I shall -

Katanagatari is a story about swords. Contrary to what most people would think by reading the synopsis or watching the pilot episode, this isn’t a journey about collection of the swords but read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Xiaraith
Dec 13, 2013 11:48 AM
Katanagatari: a tale of twelve twisted swords,
which keenly point their sharpened blades towards
just anyone who's thirsting for their mighty power
and therefore causing uproars and a troubled hour.
Harrying this ward -
++Zettou Kanna++
the first sword

To wield a sword, you need courage and a certain reason
to use such a deathly tool for committing life treason.
Explore your innermost nature and understand the way!
"What do you fight for?"... it's not just a simple play.
Another slain lord -
++Zantou Namakura++
the second sword

Now to find these swords and also their own true self,
our two heroes set sail in search for these twelve
relics of Shikizaki Kiki's most famous smithery,
which became an unfathomably perilous reality.
Limits read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
richard_maximus
Dec 6, 2014 11:01 PM
Talk about character development.

Ok so Katanagatari is about two people with really long hair that have been tasked with the retrieval of 12 sword and they have around about 12, 50 minute episodes to do it, so like a simple enough premise right? Well Katanagatari is a bit more than just 12 episodes of chasing after swords followed by a little development of the person wielding one of said swords, followed by the protagonist beating them and all that. The show actually gets into the WHY these people are fighting. If someone asked you that question what would you say? Money? Power? To protect the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
anonypc
Feb 5, 2014 2:54 PM
This anime is beautiful, I don't really know how else to describe it.

Even after watching the entire series the second time through, It's difficult to articulate my thoughts about watching this. The quality put into each show is amazing, as I believe it was released monthly, with each episode spanning around 45 minutes. Katanagatari does a good job telling a folktale-like story which is compelling and intriguing. It takes place in a post-Sengoku era, aka the post-"warring states period" in Japan,according to wiki.

It's a story about the journey of two people, who were perhaps destined by fate, to travel together and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Link_of_Hyrule
Nov 21, 2014 2:42 PM
**SPOILER FREE REVIEW**

What’s more important: the destination, or the journey it takes to get there? If you put every ounce of your blood, sweat and tears towards achieving your goal, and still fail, was it all for nothing? Inversely, if you accomplish all of your goals without breaking a sweat, are you really accomplishing anything? Due to the fact that the outcome of nearly every shounen anime every made is never in any real question what so ever, this is not a theme we have ever seen explored in anime. At least, not until Katanagatari was released. This anime is perhaps the only show ever read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
nucblus
Aug 15, 2014 8:34 AM
Katanagatari is one of the more intelligent anime out there. Along with Tatami Galaxy it spread light over the otherwise dark year for anime 2010 was overall. It constantly builds up your expectations and makes you think you know what's gonna happen next, then proceeds to surprise you by doing something different from what you were expecting, and then laughs at you for thinking you figured it out. When it wants to it can also build up a peaceful atmosphere similar to the one found in Mushishi. It also contains a handfull of kickass action scenes, a refreshing art style, well developed characters, a unique read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
YorouzoyaHouse
Apr 18, 9:00 AM
As I sit here listening to Rootkit's drumstep while tackling the writer's block after my one month break from writing reviews I'm thinking of a clever way to open this review. So, how about this :
"Seeing a 9, you can go ahead and hit dislike on the review. However, by that time you'll have been torn to pieces!" (Kekekeke! Kekekeke!)
I tried.

So, Katanagatari, as the name suggests, is an anime about swords. Except for one little thing. That the main character is NOT a sword user. Yeah. Go figure.
Actually it is not just about swords. (Okay, I lied back there.) To quote the anime :
"The read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
mayoi89ji
Nov 17, 2014 9:16 AM
Watching Katanagatari, I was pleasantly surprised that the artwork which seemed minimal and cutesy at first did not contradict the somber tone the show would take and the depth of the characters, which grew more and more profound in each episode.

Togame the Strategian is an amazing character- she's driven, pensive, complex in her motivations and still manages to remain relatable in her interactions with Shichika, her newly sworn "sword".

Shichika started off feeling one-note, but that is actually crucial to unraveling his own development as a character, and even as a human being, due to having grown up isolated on an island with only his read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful