MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #96
Katanagatari

Katanagatari

Alternative Titles

Japanese: 刀語

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 26, 2010 to Dec 11, 2010
Duration: 50 min. per episode
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.521 (scored by 54294 users)
Ranked: #962
Popularity: #207
Members: 118,699
Favorites: 3,328
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Dec 11, 2014
Smartreviews
"I have just come to a realization! This scroll by Broken Sword contains no secrets of his swordsmanship. What this reveals is his highest ideal. In the first state, man and sword become one..." - King of Qin, Hero

I originally stumbled upon this anime thinking it was a continuation of the Monogatari series. It's not. But it's a great show nonetheless. What wowed me about this show was its pacing. Katanagatari is easily one of the most well-paced animes I've ever seen, and the pacing reminds me a lot of BBC's Sherlock series. Each of the 45-minute episodes are like a mini-movie, leaving very little read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 4, 2014
Raptor1221
What do you fight for? That is a question with no simple answer. People say that they wish to accomplish some sort of dream or aspiration. To achieve fame, fortune, love, or maybe even revenge. Some are simple and others ambitious beyond belief. The real question is, do you have the will to fulfill that dream? Is it truly what you wish for? Are willing to struggle to the end for it? Many people try to fulfill their aspirations. Many people simply die in regret and are forgotten. Others fulfill a dream so large they are remembered for all time. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 4, 2011
Archaeon
Since 2006, light novel adaptations have gradually become a regular feature in anime as producers in the industry scrabble around in their attempts to find the biggest cash cow since the advent of Suzumiya Haruhi. The surprising thing is that the fallout from this has actually been a lot better for fans than one might expect, and while titles like Guin Saga, Kemono no Souja Erin, Ghost Hunt, Baccano!, Kure-nai, Rental Magica, Spice & Wolf, and NHK ni Youkoso! may not be as commercially successful as KyoAni's behemoth, they do represent a gradual shift in the industry towards creativity and originality.

Which is where Katanagatari comes read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 10, 2010
8thSin
'Katanagatari' ('Tale of Swords') is about Togame, a self-claimed "General Director of Military and Offering Affairs serving under Yanari Shogun Family of Owari Shogunate", and Yasuri Shichika, the last inheritor of swordless swordsmanship "Kyotouryuu", and their adventure to collect 12 legendary swords.

Original work written by the same author as 'Bakemonogatari', this is a dialogue-based series that I cannot recommend to Shounen and other viewers who seek mindless battle scenes, you can ignore my warnings... "but by that time, you'd be slashed into pieces."


The story of 'Katanagatari' is driven by the characters who stand in the way of the sword gathering. New characters and weapon of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 4, 2014
PoeticJustice
What is it that you fight for? Money? Power? Honor? Love? Revenge? Out of all the millions of reasons , in the end does it really matter? These are some of the things you will ponder while watching Katanagatari. Nisio Isin, the mind behind the monogatari-series, which some might call a twist on the harem genre, has used his deft hand at creating unique characters and worlds, in what would traditionally be a shounen premise. The end result, is a masterfully crafted tale that blends Japanese folklore, romance, and martial arts with a very contemporary touch that makes Katanagatari feel both modern and old at read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 8, 2014
Refawul
Considering the amount of love this show has received, it feels risky giving a comparatively low score to Katanagatari, although I don't personally consider a 7 by any means low. Please don't label this review as "not helpful" just because you disagree with the scores or think they are too low. This is a difficult show to review because a) most of my complaints are directed to the plot and character development, both of which are difficult to describe without spoilers, and b) some of the complaints can also be considered reasons why this show is amazing or unique. Unique is indeed one of the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 10, 2013
Lawuser
Katanagatari is interesting because it's one of the better anime in recent time (that I have seen), one of the best anime from 2010 (that I have seen) and arguably the best work of NisiOisiN (that I have seen, even though this only includes two titles).

Now, Katanagatari is great, it's absolutely wonderful, but depending on your ability to immerse yourself in a story so much that you forget time this may or may not be for you. If you are like me with the attention span of a goldfish, initially the 50-minute long episodes might scare you off. If you are able to put up read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 9, 2014
Derozio
I expected it to take me on an entertaining ride. On an action-packed, fun-filled journey with romantic elements between the leads acting as spice to further enhance the flavor of the story. Would it be correct to say that it succeeded in proving itself worth my time? That it satiated my expectations?

Yes, it did. It did that and much more. Oh so much more. Some elucidation is in order, yes? Elucidate I shall -

Katanagatari is a story about swords. Contrary to what most people would think by reading the synopsis or watching the pilot episode, this isn’t a journey about collection of the swords but read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 13, 2013
Xiaraith
Katanagatari: a tale of twelve twisted swords,
which keenly point their sharpened blades towards
just anyone who's thirsting for their mighty power
and therefore causing uproars and a troubled hour.
Harrying this ward -
++Zettou Kanna++
the first sword

To wield a sword, you need courage and a certain reason
to use such a deathly tool for committing life treason.
Explore your innermost nature and understand the way!
"What do you fight for?"... it's not just a simple play.
Another slain lord -
++Zantou Namakura++
the second sword

Now to find these swords and also their own true self,
our two heroes set sail in search for these twelve
relics of Shikizaki Kiki's most famous smithery,
which became an unfathomably perilous reality.
Limits read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 6, 2014
richard_maximus
Talk about character development.

Ok so Katanagatari is about two people with really long hair that have been tasked with the retrieval of 12 sword and they have around about 12, 50 minute episodes to do it, so like a simple enough premise right? Well Katanagatari is a bit more than just 12 episodes of chasing after swords followed by a little development of the person wielding one of said swords, followed by the protagonist beating them and all that. The show actually gets into the WHY these people are fighting. If someone asked you that question what would you say? Money? Power? To protect the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 5, 2014
anonypc
This anime is beautiful, I don't really know how else to describe it.

Even after watching the entire series the second time through, It's difficult to articulate my thoughts about watching this. The quality put into each show is amazing, as I believe it was released monthly, with each episode spanning around 45 minutes. Katanagatari does a good job telling a folktale-like story which is compelling and intriguing. It takes place in a post-Sengoku era, aka the post-"warring states period" in Japan,according to wiki.

It's a story about the journey of two people, who were perhaps destined by fate, to travel together and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 22, 2013
johnvswild
I simply cannot grasp why this anime receives so much praise.

SPOILER-FREE

White Fox adapted this from the light novel Katanagatari, and although they have the same author and a similar name, it has no connection to the Monogatari series in style, substance or story. The two main characters romp through a mythologized version of feudal Japan, neatly divided into formulaic episodes, collecting swords and killing fucking everyone they see.

Katanagatari is by no means a terrible anime, but if you look at the way it is treated, you might think it’s an absolute masterpiece, or panders to the shounen crowd excessively. Neither is true. The world and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 15, 2014
nucblus
Katanagatari is one of the more intelligent anime out there. Along with Tatami Galaxy it spread light over the otherwise dark year for anime 2010 was overall. It constantly builds up your expectations and makes you think you know what's gonna happen next, then proceeds to surprise you by doing something different from what you were expecting, and then laughs at you for thinking you figured it out. When it wants to it can also build up a peaceful atmosphere similar to the one found in Mushishi. It also contains a handfull of kickass action scenes, a refreshing art style, well developed characters, a unique read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 5, 2014
animephantom
You could pretty much summarize the whole plot of Katanagatari (sword story in English) by it's title. Because, it really is story about two people traveling around japan, collecting twelve magical swords. However, when you actually sit down and watch it, you will probably get more out of it than you had expected.

Story: As I said before, it has a pretty simplistic story. The story follows the 2 main characters as they set out on a journey all around Japan to collect twelve swords. the main focus of each episode is a new sword for the two to collect. When they are not fighting read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 15, 2015
Soire
"Would you mind if I fell for you?"
- Togame

Story - 8
Shichika and Nanami, users of the sword style Kyotoryuu, are exiled on an island for their dad's crimes. They are scouted by Togame, who is off to seek twelve deviant blades, in order to gain status and whatnot. Togame is someone who has been betrayed many times, due to money or power. The difference with Kyotoryuu users, is that they seek none of that. Togame convinces Shichika to fight for her, for a reason that he can't betray her with, love. With the power of "love", they venture on a slow paced journey to seek read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 17, 2014
mayoi89ji
Watching Katanagatari, I was pleasantly surprised that the artwork which seemed minimal and cutesy at first did not contradict the somber tone the show would take and the depth of the characters, which grew more and more profound in each episode.

Togame the Strategian is an amazing character- she's driven, pensive, complex in her motivations and still manages to remain relatable in her interactions with Shichika, her newly sworn "sword".

Shichika started off feeling one-note, but that is actually crucial to unraveling his own development as a character, and even as a human being, due to having grown up isolated on an island with only his read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 21, 2014
Link_of_Hyrule
**SPOILER FREE REVIEW**

What’s more important: the destination, or the journey it takes to get there? If you put every ounce of your blood, sweat and tears towards achieving your goal, and still fail, was it all for nothing? Inversely, if you accomplish all of your goals without breaking a sweat, are you really accomplishing anything? Due to the fact that the outcome of nearly every shounen anime every made is never in any real question what so ever, this is not a theme we have ever seen explored in anime. At least, not until Katanagatari was released. This anime is perhaps the only show ever read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 13, 2013
wbtrashking
Honestly? Katanagatari is a beautiful show. Because the show was done in hour-long increments, it truly allows the storyline to be flushed out successfully. The art is a little different from what one might have become accustomed to in 'mainstream' anime, in that it looks vibrant, and daresay whimsical, but it absolutely gorgeous. Every moment of animation in Katanagatari is brilliantly drawn and fluid.

The soundtrack, composed by Iwasaki Taku (Soul Eater, Gurren Lagann) is matched to the actions in wonderful form, and his work is as excellent as ever. The pacing is fun, with a good balance of humor, drama, and tragedy. From beginning to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 15, 2015
bloodgods
There's a tradition in Tibetan Buddhism called The Sand Mandala. Tibetan monks create intricate large-scale mandalas out of colored sand which often take days to complete. These large pieces of art often portray deities and complex geometrical patterns. After the piece is complete, the monks take part in a ceremony in which they wipe away the sand and destroy the mandala. Then, the sand is collected in a jar and sent out into the river, to be released back into nature, showing the impermanence of the world. I see this as a symbol for how one can't be too attached to anything, and how things read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 5, 2015
SovietPsycho
This anime deserves a full masterpiece rating, the story and how they bind you to the show. How they get you involved before you even realize it, you feel drawn into the show and like as if you're experiencing this journey with the other characters. There's so much fucking talking you can't help but feel that way in this show.

The ending is done and binded perfectly, almost like a puzzle. Ever piece is enjoyable and nice to watch, but when it all comes together its so perfect and amazing. You can't help but feel drawn in to the story and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Advertising     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy