MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #89
Katanagatari

Katanagatari

Alternative Titles

Japanese: 刀語

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 26, 2010 to Dec 11, 2010
Duration: 50 min. per episode
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.521 (scored by 49107 users)
Ranked: #892
Popularity: #209
Members: 106,628
Favorites: 2,917
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Oct 29, 2014
SExperimentation
Having 50 minutes for each episode is a rarity for anime. Aside from a couple OVA’s like Hellsing Ultimate or a select few episodes like the recent releases of Fate/Stay Night, 50 minutes is not the universal format for anime to present itself. So, when a series comes along that feels confident that it can regularly fill up content for this long running time, it would be an expected treat for a little break in the usual format.

Katanagatari is one of those few shows that attempts this.

Katanagatari follows a man named Sichika Yasuri, a well trained martial artist who possesses a unique style of sword read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 13, 2013
abroadus17
Honestly? Katanagatari is a beautiful show. Because the show was done in hour-long increments, it truly allows the storyline to be flushed out successfully. The art is a little different from what one might have become accustomed to in 'mainstream' anime, in that it looks vibrant, and daresay whimsical, but it absolutely gorgeous. Every moment of animation in Katanagatari is brilliantly drawn and fluid.

The soundtrack, composed by Iwasaki Taku (Soul Eater, Gurren Lagann) is matched to the actions in wonderful form, and his work is as excellent as ever. The pacing is fun, with a good balance of humor, drama, and tragedy. From beginning to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 6, 2013
Potsuu
Katanagatari, as the title implies, is a story about swords. It all starts when Togame the "Strategian" ventured on an isolated island where Yasuri Mutsue and his family where exiled. Seeking help from Yasuri Matsue, a master of the sword art called Kyoto Ryu (Bladeless), to recover the 12 perfected deviant swords of the legendary sword smith, Shikizaki kiki. Upon arriving on the island via boat, Togame met Yasuri Ichika, the son and successor of Yasuri Mutsue on the Kyoto Ryu sword art. Since Yasuri Mutsue passed away, Togame had no other choice but to ask the boony Ichika for help on gathering the 12 read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 30, 2014
Reyoku
This is my first and maybe last review i will make cause my english/gramma isn't that flawless perfect and its really hard to explain why this anime should be seriously watched by EVERYONE.

first off i won't write any spoilers in this.
i could do a review about any other of the 500 shows (+/-) anime related things i saw but i decided to take katanagatari - BECAUSE it's one of the most unique and heart ripping shows i've ever seen in my entire life.

Story 7/10
the story is not the really bad point about this show but its the only non-unique thing you can say about it. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 25, 2014
deanzel
Katanagatari is one very unique and beautiful piece of art and I highly emphasize the word "art". It may not be for everyone but if you give it a chance, you may see what truly makes it spectacular. In that sense, it reminds me a lot of the Bakemonogatari series. On the surface this may seem like a simple fetch quest story about collecting these demon swords with childish character designs. However, there is so much more than what meets the eye in this series. The art and designs may seem simplistic at first but look deeper and you'll see a masterfully animated world full read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 23, 2014
spanslow1
Katanagatari. Wow.
If you'd like just stop here. You should really watch this show. I'm a little fan boy. Everything is pretty damn good.
However the determined/stubborn/time wasting reader may have proceeded further into this review and for those rare people I now review and stop wasting your time.

Katanagatari is a unique show written by Nisio Isin, one of my favorite writers, famous for shows such as the mess that is the Bakemonogatari franchise and the Medaka Box. If you've seen/read either of these works then you know what to expect, fascinating characters mixed in with an interesting plot and with healthy doses of comedy.

Story-10
My poor knowledge read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 10, 2012
Lyzl
Monster of the week, unconventional love story, or a sequence of intriguing but longwinded dialogues, Katanagatari is certainly all that, but also much more. Superficially, it is a series about a simple-minded, albeit unconventional, ‘swordsman’ who battles for the twelve swords under the enlistment of an even more eccentric ‘strategist’. Underneath the seemingly cliché premise however, the series has buried within it all manner of artistic treasure: cleverly designed, high-tension action scenes; a subtle love story, nearly imperceptible during its incredibly moving, gradual evolution; and perhaps most infamously, eloquent subtext conveyed within the lovable idiosyncrasies of the characters’ quite expansive conversations. Rarely has a show read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 1, 2013
thegrasstarter
This anime. Compared to all the other anime I have watched this one has easily became my favorite. The common story of collecting "legendary" swords, the meeting of a slow, and strong guy and the brilliant girl he must protect seems to be a common, generic and boring. Katanagatari is not a common, generic and boring anime.

Story: 9
The story which I have already discussed is extraordinary. But like many great stories it is something that needs to be experienced first hand, and no summary can give you the same feeling as watching it unfold in front of you. That being said the plot and all read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 11, 2014
Draakisback
Katanagatari is yet another -gatari "story" (forgive my pun), written by none other then the Monogatari legend him self Nisio Isin or NisioisiN. As his cleaver pen name implies this guy really loves his word play. This is something very common to all of his works and Katanagatari is definitely no slouch in that department. In my opinion katanagatari is one of the most unique/interesting anime to come along in the last generation in so far as plot, character and dialogue driven anime goes. Before I go into to detail as to why I hold this anime in high praise, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 24, 2011
infinity
==[ Katanagatari - Overall: 9.5/10 | 12 episodes]==

One-liner: If you want an anime with amazing art, great character development, good romance and an ending which you cannot predict from episode 1, Katanagatari is for you.


[ Introduction ]

Katanagatari, or Sword Story, is about the Strategian Togame and her "sword", Yasuri Shichika. The story is about their journey to collect 12 legendary deviant swords made by master swordsmith Shikizaki Kiki.

[ Story = 9 ]

When I see animes about a journey to collect swords, I generally think: "Sword fights to be expected. Blood and gore. Severed limbs. Magical sword. Ooooh... Duh!". Katanagatari is about swords, of course, but read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 12, 2010
ThatAnimeSnob
PROLOGUE

Katanagatari (directly translated to English as Swordstory), is from the same guy who wrote Bakemonogatari. As famous as that anime was, I wasn’t very thrilled with its episodic nature. The smart gags and the wordplays were all nice but all the rest felt like random psychedelic rambling with lots of otaku culture cliches. But it still had enough artistic expression and weirdness to be memorable in a way.

Katanagatari is practically reusing the same formula, only here it offers a better feeling of progress, focuses more on the main characters and less on most others who come and go in the same episode they appear. I read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 2, 2010
rific
Katanagatari is a series that aires one episode every month, which sounds pretty crappy but the episodes are one hour long, so in the end it evens out with most other shows. In my opinion, I'd rather one hour a month. Also, its episodic so I'd rather one episode than an arc. Anyway enough of my preference :P

The story is actually quite simple. Overly simple even. But that isn't a bad thing. Basically, the two main characters are out to collect 12 legendary swords. Conveniently enough, there are 12 episodes. So I'm sure you can put it together that it's about 1 sword an episode, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 22, 2011
Tamiyi
Short review be warned xD

Story- Great story, not the most original I've seen since there are many anime's out there based on sword fighting and the edo period but everything else makes up for the story's lack of originality. 7

Art- The art was gorgeous, I loved the traditional spin on the animation and it's consistency.9

Sound- I'm not one to pay too close attention to the sound but I liked the background music, nothing really to complain about. 8

Character- If this show has a strength, it's in its characters. Not a single one of them has a boring or stereotyped personality, it was especially enjoyable to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 10, 2013
Chronologist
Katanagatari is a historical fantasy anime revolving around a set of incredible cursed 'swords'. These incredibly powerful weapons corrupted anyone who would use them, and became known ad the Deviant Blades. The main characters are Togami, a short white-haired girl who has been tasked with the retrieval of these weapons, and Shinchika, a tall dark-haired martial artist who she enlists to do the actual fighting. What follows is a grand adventure across twelve episodes and most of the country as they do battle with these cursed weapons.


This is where the Story takes a bit of a left turn. The show has a very loose definition read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 30, 2014
Dainfamousazian
Katanagatari has one of the most amazing plot and storylines i have ever seen. It pulls off a Baccano introducing new characters with every episode and fully fleshes them out till the end. The rebroadcast opening hakushi kassai uta awase is also one of the most amazing anime openings have heard. IF ANY OF YOU GUYS HAVE TIME YOU MUST WATCH THIS SWORD STORY BEFORE YOU DIE!
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 17, 2011
Dramaqueenyay
Hmmm I wasnt so sure about this one. Overal I think it was sort of enjoyable.
The pacing was far to slow! I mean it. i went for this anime because of the promise of action and decent martial arts fight scenes, well i got them, but usually they lasted little under a minute and all the other time was taken up with pointless chatter and conversations, carried out while the characters looked on emotionlessly, promising death or injury without even the minutest change in their expressions. Anyway the fighting, I usually skip forward when watching something that bores me and because of this I very read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 30, 2010
leingodf8
Katanagatari, the show that loves the number 12. 12 swords, 12 ninjas, 12 episode... and I'm half expecting it to turn out that the Shichika has 12 secret techniques at his disposal. Yes, Katanagatari is an interesting show about a young man and woman on a quest to gather the 12 ultimate swords. The premise sounds fairly cliche, but still interesting enough to watch solely based on that, but how does it really fare? Lets find out...

Now, let me start off by saying, if anime was judged on artistic style alone, Katanagatari would probably be one of the greatest of all time, as the artwork read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 8, 2014
Born2Run
RECOMMENDED FOR…
…people who like colorful and expressive art styles and lots of historical and pop-cultural references in their anime.

NOT RECOMMENDED FOR…
…people with a short attention span, though even people with a normal attention span will be brought to their limits. It takes a lot of endurance to watch Katanagatari.


**REVIEW**

Katanagatari features an episodic adventure story about two people, the hillbilly Shichika and the shogunate member Togame, travelling around the country to collect twelve legendary swords by defeating their varied wielders. The show’s genre is a combination of adventure, martial arts, comedy, and historical and cultural references.

Katanagatari’s greatest asset is its expressive art style. It gives the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 13, 2013
Olympus
I enjoyed Katanagatari, however the only thing that stood out for me was the art style. All the other ways to rate this anime fall into the "good" and "fair" category. What stopped me from rating this anime any better was the ending, I was absolutely shocked and disappointed in the direction it took, from the end of episode 11 and all of 12. For the rest of it episodes 1-10 was good. Character development was only good for the 2 main characters, the rest of them it didn't do as well. Plot wise it was good, episodes taken individually is much better than the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 13, 2012
ImagineWild00
Without any summary fluff, let's cut straight to the point:
this anime was one of the best short series anime out there. Although it's not as renowned, the qualities of story, characters, artwork, and overall content are simply marvelous and unprecedented.

There are many interesting points to elaborate on in this anime;
First of all, the story is quiet the surprise. Although the whole "quest for finding swords" seems rather cliche and (quite frankly) boring at first, this story takes on a whole new outlook that clearly distinguishes itself from other adventure stories out there. Because of the character development, interaction, and dialogues filled with read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices