Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

D.N.Angel


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: DN Angel, D.N. Angel, DNAngel
Japanese: D・N・ANGEL

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 3, 2003 to Sep 25, 2003
Premiered: Spring 2003
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Kadokawa Shoten
Licensors: ADV Films, Discotek
Studios: Xebec
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.371 (scored by 65,535 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #19982
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #363
Members: 118,792
Favorites: 1,300

Reviews

theeggman85
Jul 8, 2008
It seems that most people who have read the manga are disappointed with the series, and that's completely understandable. I usually like to read a manga and then ignore the anime version of it, or possibly try the first few episodes. It's sad but true: the animes just don't quite live up to their manga counterparts.
That aside, I have never read the manga, so take into account that my review is written without knowledge of the story manga-style.

Fantastic! This anime is truly amazing! I want to start by telling you this:
The reason that this anime is so great is the innocence and purity of the read more
I found this review Helpful
VK11
Jun 3, 2007
Let me lead of by first saying that I love D.N.Angel and its an amazing anime, however, I just feel that it had the potential of being so much better than what was presented with the final product in the anime.

The story of D.N.Angel is relatively original as you don't see other anime shows adopting what D.N.Angel has - an angel stealing artwork in hopes of preventing world destruction, if you put it in very simple terms. In a nutshell, the Niwa family has long been the bloodline that holds the dark-winged angel, Dark, in their male children and every 40 years or so, read more
I found this review Helpful
FauxAzn
Nov 6, 2010
Just watch the first episode — that’s all it should take. There are plenty of lengthy reviews for D.N.Angel, so I'll try to be concise to save you some time:

What makes this anime truly stand out is how the story, the characters, and the romance are all serious and pure. This is not another silly anime where the characters degenerate into loons or crack stupid jokes. They take their lives seriously, which in turn allows you to take them seriously, and eventually get sucked into their world.

Though most episodes are captivating and fun, the show does stagnate in places. read more
I found this review Helpful
Rowan
May 5, 2007
CHARACTER/STORY:
The plotline of DNAngel is really one of a kind. There are so many unique twists throughout the story that there is rarely a dull moment. Basically a boy named Daisuke Niwa falls in love with a girl names Risa Harada. On his fourteenth birthday he is basically rejected by Risa and later when he is thinking of her his DNA has some kind of reaction to Risa and he changes into the phantom thief Dark Mousy every time he thinks of Risa. To make matters difficult, Dark has the same reaction to Risa's twin sister Riku. But there is a problem- Risa is the read more
I found this review Helpful
DistinctlyBenign
Mar 14, 2008
I really don't understand the raving about this series. D.N.Angel has a typical anime plot, and executes it poorly.

The story starts out typically enough, based on the first two episodes it could have really been something good. Young boy who is a high school student by day, and a paranormal thief by night.

Its just that the storyline itself develops slowly and never really built up much interest. The actual stealing was a bit interesting, in the style of Lupin the Third, but in the end D.N.Angel just fails to deliver.

I'm not sure on the English dub, but I must say that the Japaneses voice acting read more
I found this review Helpful
Phill-z
Jan 18, 2008
There is nothing outstanding to say about D.N.Angel. When I think of it, nothing really comes into my mind as to how it's unique compared to other animes, or how all the pieces of it create something truly great because it's not.

Story: Prophecies/Fate/Family Secrets are all plot points which, unless done really well, make an anime extremely cliched. I couldn't tell whether this anime was a crime/fantasy anime or a fantasy/romance. They make this really big deal about Dark being an amazing theif, which originally I thought was pretty cool, but then they make him steal magical things that hurt people...which grew read more
I found this review Helpful
Muan142
Feb 20, 2015
Watch it before you read the manga.

Premise:
Guy, Daisuke transforms into Phantom thief Dark. Dark is different personality that lives in his head. Ladies man, very suave. Daiske is a nice dweeb, dreams of being like Dark. Can't stop transforming till girl likes him. In the mean time, he steals magic cursed art.

Opinion:
I liked, no loved this show before I read the manga. Daisuke is such a loser, Risa just tramples over him, and I could sympathize with that. A lot of guys can actually, despite it being about a bunch of bishounen who act ambiguously gay at times, this anime tends to appeal a read more
I found this review Helpful
KuroiNamida
Dec 31, 2007
D.N. Angel is definitely one of the best animes of all time. It's quite well known, and with good reason. The story deals with the blurry borders between certain things - such as Good vs. Bad. And the plot basically asks one question that has become rather philosophical through the ages. "Does the end justify the means?" Without giving away the plot, I mean of course, "Is Dark/Daisuke Niwa's job alright because of his reason for doing it?"
The artwork - to be quite frank, is marvelous. In particular episodes, the artwork is so outstanding, my emotions became overwhelming due read more
I found this review Helpful
Reborn1991
Feb 8, 2013
D.N.Angel is an anime that i can say is a classic, the story was very understanding and simple to follow. the main character is in love with Risa Harada, but when he is about to confess to her he is friend-zoned by her, and you know the rest if you read the Synopsis.

The Art was Great not only the character concept, but the art in the pictures, there is nothing bad i can say about the drawings.

The Sound isn't bad but some of the sound is annoying, but other than that it is very pleasing to the ears especially the background music.

The Characters are awesome read more
I found this review Helpful
HaruhixAngel
Nov 5, 2015
(Taken from the same review on Hummingbird.me by the same user, but changed to better fit MAL guidelines.)

D.N.Angel is a shoujo anime series, based off the manga by Yukiru Sugisaki. While this series isn't especially popular anymore, it was pretty popular in the 2000s, especially with young teenage girls. NO, WAIT, COME BACK! I'M NOT DONE YET!

I personally believe that just because a show has a...erm, vocal fangirl fanbase, does not automatically make it a bad show. In fact, most of these shows are pretty mediocre and harmless. Is D.N.Angel a mediocre shoujo franchise, an underrated masterpiece, or a piece of garbage read more
I found this review Helpful
TokyoSanchez
Nov 1, 2015
D.N. Angel is quite the strange topic to talk about, really. There are so many things both wrong and right with this show that it kind of blurs the line between good and bad. I don't have anything else to say really, so lets get right on with it.

The first thing I will mention, and it is by far the biggest flaw this series has, is the narrative structure. D.N. Angel doesn't really have an overarching story, nor does it have an episodic storyline as it tends to jump between the two. The problem comes from the standalone episodes that have nothing to do with read more
I found this review Helpful
FullmetalCowboy
Sep 24, 2015
Critic’s Log - September 24, 2015. Review #98: D.N. Angel

Since I reside in the United States, I am fully aware that some people enjoy watching an Anime dubbed for specific reasons. I have a bilingual preference when it comes to Anime. I like watching Anime subbed and dubbed. When I do rewatch a certain Anime, I would go with the version I enjoyed the most or the one that I think that was the better version. There are some Anime that are good in either version. When it comes to English Dub Voice Actors, Men tend to favor Steve Blum, maybe it’s because he’s got read more
I found this review Helpful
Cupcake_1
Mar 28, 2009
A little about the Characters

D.N.Angel follows the adventures of Daisuke Niwa and how he must cope with his alter-ego, Dark Mousy. Because of the nature of the ability, his two friends, the twin sisters Riku and Risa Harada become involved. Other central figures include Satoshi Hiwatari, a descendant of the Hikari family who created the artworks that Dark targets in his thefts and the adopted son of a high ranking police officer. Like Daisuke, Satoshi possesses his own alter-ego, Krad.

Daisuke's family act as supporting characters in the story and aid Daisuke as he copes with the instability of his transformations.

A little more

D.N.Angel was adapted read more
I found this review Helpful
inarizushi
Mar 6, 2013
Way, way back in middle school, I read this manga. That was back when I snapped up every manga I could find, and adored phantom thieves (Kurama, and Tuxedo Kamen, and Saint Tail, oh my!). A friend gave me the box set of the anime for Christmas and I was so excited.

Until I watched it.

D.N.Angel can't decide if it wants to be an epic story of light vs. darkness or a show about a middle school love triangle. It starts out good enough with the phantom thief angle, but that turns into a completely different story about ancient magical rivals. Which would be fine except read more
I found this review Helpful
Aishiteruze
Jul 16, 2007
D.N Angel is about an ordinary boy, named Daisuke Niwa who has a family secret: when a boy in the Niwa family turns 14, he\'s prone to turning into phantom thief Dark. The only way to turn into this phantom thief is to think about the girl that he has strong feelings for. At this point in time, it\'s a girl named Risa.

Dark has an alternate named Krad, who is represented as angel, which is like \"light\", and they\'re constantly at war with each other, but the reality is they both have to be conjoined together.

D.N angel is such a cute anime to watch, Daisuke read more
I found this review Helpful
cacmacs
Aug 11, 2014
This anime was recommended to me by a good friend of mine who watches old anime. He likes the old anime cause he's pretty old so even if he doesn't have a myanimelist account, he knows about D.N Angel and told me it was very good. I took it from him straightly cause we agree kids like anime too much and have the most biased opinion. I just watched the anime and it's a big step in the shoujo genre. Anime is time consumption that entertains kids, but D.N Angel works hard to be imagination. It probably is a girl's fantasy to meet Dark Mousy, read more
I found this review Helpful
yoshiness
Mar 26, 2008
*I am not really good at writing long reviews... so yea...*

Story/Art
Not sure how to answer this
Great story line. I can't think of another anime with this kind of idea.

Sound
Sound effects, voices, music, and everything just matched the characters themselves and played at just the right times (??? lol)

Character
Each character has a unique "aura". Just by their hobbies and actions you can tell what kind of people they are. You can also relate to some of them.

Enjoyment
I couldn't stop watching this show once i started (finished it in 3 days, because I started it after it finished airing)
I found this review Helpful
Kaoru_Wonderland
Mar 23, 2015
D.N Angel is one of my personal favorites. I own very few series, but this is one that I treasure. This is the story of young Daisuke Niwa and his counterpart Dark Mousy. Daisuke is a simple middle school student, and Dark is a thief. Daisuke has a crush on Risa Harada [a popular female at his school]. Every time Daisuke runs into Risa he begins to turn into Dark. Since they attend the same high school it becomes difficult for Daisuke to be himself and pursue his crush with the threat of turning into the phantom thief. In the evening, Daisuke turns into Dark read more
I found this review Helpful
outlaw98
Jul 16, 2009
Based on the title, the genre listed, the badass looking dude with the black wings, and the first 30 seconds of this anime, I assumed this was going to be some kind of action adventure anime. You know, kind of like Shakugan no Shana, Inuyasha, or maybe even Outlaw Star. Just something with fighting + romance. Unexpectedly, it was not. D.N.Angel is really more of a romance shojo (more on the girly side) anime. This is not necessarily a bad thing, just not what I expected, so if you're not a shoujo fan, you might want to consider skipping this anime.

Story - Quite different from read more
I found this review Helpful
Rinjii
Aug 8, 2009
First of all, hearing about DN Angel, I first got the impression of not being interested on it. I decided to buy the DVD to try watching a bit of it. After awhile, I started to take a liking on the Anime Series due to some reasons (maybe because it's Romance and Magic). I love the anime series so much that It resulted to addiction *I guess*. I made DN Angel as one of my best watched anime ever!

Daisuke Niwa is a 14-year-old boy who has a special genetic ability: whenever he sees or thinks about his crush, Risa Harada, he turns into the infamous read more
I found this review Helpful