Ranked #254

Kimi ni Todoke

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Kimi ni Todoke: From Me to You, Reaching You
Japanese: 君に届け


Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 7, 2009 to Mar 31, 2010
Premiered: Fall 2009
Broadcast: Unknown
Source: Unknown
Genres: Romance, School, Shoujo
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company


Score: 8.251 (scored by 127,204 users)
Ranked: #2542
Popularity: #90
Members: 232,834
Favorites: 5,606
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Nov 25, 2015
I've always kept up with all the latest chapters of the Kimi Ni Todoke manga but I've never really bothered to watch the anime until now. And honestly, it was the best decision ever.

First of all, the story is just amazing. I like how nothing is too rushed and even if the couple is moving at a slow pace, the cute moments make up for it. Not to mention, although the couple moments are quite cheesy, they oddly don't make me cringe. Instead, they make me squeal with happiness. Also, I like the growth I see in Sawako's character as the story progresses.

Next would be read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 1, 2010
Only rarely does a series break the mold its genre has cast for it and even more uncommonly does it set itself apart from all others. Such is the case with Kimi ni Todake. It takes all the classic shoujo romance stereotypes and plot devices and flips them on its head leaving us with a thoroughly rewarding and groundbreaking romance.

At first, Kimi ni Todake drew me in before I saw its first frame of film with its story concept. Our heroine is Sawako, a sweet and gentle girl with an awkward personality and an uncanny resemblance to Sadako from The Ring. read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 23, 2010
How do you recognize that you’ve watched a great show? Do you wake up the next morning and think about it the whole day? Do you talk to people full enthusiasm and passion about the show? Or did you just get that feeling that makes your heart ache and feel all good and warm inside? Kimi ni Todoke manages to do all this.

Kimi ni Todoke starts off as an anime that could make you wonder if you’re actually watching said series. The very first scene is practically a half-horror scene attempted by the animators to make you understand in a snap what kind of person read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 27, 2015
There's a rather irksome trend in anime that I've noticed as I got older: romances are less about actual romance and are more about a so-called "couple" locked in a perpetual dance of will they/won't they. As much as I love the anticipation and that sweet sense of satisfaction when I see my ship finally set sail, it just feels like it amounts to nothing when the series just ends right then and there. You can only imagine my frustration when I come across a much-lauded title that I eagerly look forward to watching and then I find out that it leaves me completely and read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 23, 2015
I really like this show ;). Sawako X Kazehaya are one of the few couples that get along very well and don't fight. I'am also going to watch the second season soon.

The Highlights:
Main characters: Sawako is generally charming but her naivety is sometimes frustrating; Kazehaya takes a while to become interesting.
Romance: Not momentous, but still incredibly sweet.
Seiyuu: Noto Mamiko is a touch forceful; I’ve run out of superlatives with which to compliment Sawashiro Miyuki.
Art: Some people also call this show “sparkles and bubbles”; generally looks very good, as expected from Production I.G.

I had a tumultuous relationship with Kimi ni Todoke. There were times where read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 27, 2009
Okay, here's what I thought after watching this Anime up to it's latest episode. Also, I didn't include spoilers, so don't worry.

Story: 10/10

One word, superb. I got hooked up since episode one because this Anime looks like it's real, and by real, I mean no swords, magics, etc. It portrays love and friendship as you can see these elements in every episodes. Also, I love where this Anime is going. It might get cheesy sometimes, but they did it so well, that you have no choice but to go with the flow and be affectionate.

Art: 10/10

The Art/Animation was outstanding. I loved everything. It was well read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 25, 2014
Quickly: I've watched 47 anime shows and this is the second that I am writing a review for. I really just got into this and I hope my review is helpful to you.

~Story~ 10/10

I hate complex storylines. I will watch shows like that but very rarely, and only if it has enough promise. Kimi Ni Todoke was my absolute favourite anime because they kept it real and they kept it simple. I was giggling at cute moments between the couple of Kazehaya and Sawako and rolling over laughing at funny moments. I cried read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 29, 2015
Kimi ni Todoke is a heartwarming story about a girl named Sawako navigating the awkward and uncertain path of high school and the important relationships she makes along the way. Sawako has been socially shunned by all of her classmates because they believe that she is creepy and has the ability to make contact with the supernatural. Sawako is a sweet and thoughtful girl; however her awkwardness and inability to explain situations only furthers rumors of her "weirdness" and provides great comedic moments.

Sawako's story changes dramatically when she is befriended by Kazehaya, a kind boy who sees her for who she truly is. Kazehaya's read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 20, 2015
The premise of Kimi Ni Todoke is quite simple; The story of a girl named Sawako living deleted at his school to have the appearance like the girl from the movie "The so-called" once your name is the victim of a pun "Sadako". Sawako is a sweet and intelligent girl, always with the motto to practice at least one good deed a day, and his attempts to help people only hinders further because for a mere details it causes dread in their peers and teachers. Inside the room everyone thinks she can talk to spirits and to evoke them, which causes very funny situations. This read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 2, 2010
This anime left a bad taste in my mouth. Before watching I read some of the previous reviews and was spurred to watch it after many comments stating how original it was. It's not. There are certain aspects of the anime that differ from the usual but really it was just another shy girl meets popular boy type of anime.

The first few episodes were definitely enjoyable, the back story to why Sawako is an outcast is different and interesting and so is how she begins to make friends. Unfortunately after about episode 6 or 7 you are wasting your time. This anime should have been read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 16, 2015
The romance genre is one of my favourites of this medium. Even though it's hard to come up with an original story or setting in this genre, I find it is the one of, if not the best way to explore characters, their relationships, and get some decent development out of them. Kimi ni Todoke is no exception, for the most part anyways.

To pay homage to the innocence and optimism this show radiates, I'll get the most and pretty much only big negative I have out of the way first. The last little bit of the second arc focusing on "the main antagonist" (AKA secondary read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 6, 2015

Just watched the first season of Kimi Ni Todoke. Figured I should write a review about it before going into the second season, while my thoughts on it are still fresh.

Disclaimer: Mostly free of spoilers.

Plot: Kuronuma Sawako is a gentle high school student who, due to her scary appearance (resemblance to classic ghost girl) has been unable to make any friends so far. Everything changes when Kazehaya, the most popular guy in class, starts talking to her, prompting others to do the same. From there Sawako begins to understand how friendship and, eventually, romance works.

Sounds like your usual, run-of-the-mill highschool anime, right? Well, you wouldn't read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 2, 2015
This is one of my favourite animes. This anime is not for everyone. If you are looking for a romantic anime, and expecting a lot of interaction with the girl and her love interest, as well as great development in their relationship, you should know that this anime has a slow pace and is't romance driven.
One of the reason I love this anime is becasue of the main character, Sawako. I enjoyed seeing how she interacts with other people, and how she develops friendship with her classmates. Her interactions with people and reactions to various things is what makes this anime so appealing.
I enjoyed read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 23, 2009
I am really liking this anime. I am a fan of the manga, and I have to say that this anime is doing it justice. I have to to say I'm loving the pace that this ANime is taking. SO here it geos
revolves around a quiet girl named Sawako. She is very shy and has been called "Sadako" (girl from the RING movie)as long as she can remember. She soon gets attention from a very cheerful boy named Kazehaya and her world goes upside down.
Art/sound- Looking pretty good, nothing too fantastic about the art. I am giving props to the voice actress for Sawako, read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 16, 2014
A review for both season one and two.

Poorly written,overrated Shoujo.No way that this deserves to be the best or Ultimate Shoujo.Apparently,There is this claim that this show has a wonderful way of resolving an abusive relationship,were a girl could keep coming back even though its bad.Ill tell you this after watching the show,that NEVER HAPPENED.

Let's start with the premise.Apparently everyone in the class treats the main character as a ghost girl worth avoiding.This is unrealistic as she doesn't really look like that,Its just the chibi art doing the work.People aren't that shallow in real life.Making fun is fine, but the show expects me to think read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 15, 2009
The holidays had just begun when I chose to crack open this anime, the summary sounding cute enough and the reviews close to overflowing with greatness and I was looking into the fall anime which I had neglected.

But little did I expect to be sorely disappointed.

This anime isn't terrible persay, though I would say that it has been greatly overestimated. The story is unrelatable and unrealistic and I don't mean this in the "GIANT MECHA AND SPARKLY COLOURS" way, but in the "There is no way this could be seen as a real life situation, it's just so silly" way.
Now, a quick overview of the read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 15, 2015
AMAZING! My favourite romance anime so far! It's so amazing! I love it so much! The characters are so amazing and everything! Kimi ni todoke will always be my favourite romance anime! The art style is really good! Not that hd like Attack on titan though... But still the storyline is well written! I couldn't stop watching it until season 2! It took me two days to finish the whole thing including season 2!!!
I found this review Helpful
Mar 24, 2015
Ok, I might have no right to be writing a disparaging review on a series I've watched a quarter of, but this is less of a review and more of a warning: THIS ANIME IS FOR SHOUJO FANS/EXPERIENCED SHOUJO WATCHERS. Don't let the top reviews fool you. The only way in which this series differs from the typical romance formula is the premise. Otherwise, the way events develop all scream textbook shoujo.

I would have tried to finish this anime, but after reading a few other comments about how the second half is even worse, I decidedly gave up after only having watched the first major read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 25, 2015
This anime is worth the love. And I mean really, I ended up writing a review about it. It's one thing to say that I like this certain anime because of the following objective-to-subjective reasons, but it's something that is surprising for me to actually find an anime to "love" at.


The story is of course, romance-esque. Shoujo-ish and all, preferrably not my cup of tea. The story itself is mild and has a basic plot, it's nowhere near as tense like Shingeki no Kyojin, not as close to laughing as the wacky Yuru Yuri, and even CLAMP's romance anime have more twists and read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 13, 2010
I couldn't help but share my thoughts on this wonderful show with others =)

At first glance, it may seem like a typical shoujo, boy-meets-girl kind of series. That's what I thought when I first read the synopsis, so I was kind of reluctant to watch it. But now...am I glad I did!

Story: 9/10

While not the most exciting or original plot line, it's simplicity charms me. It has a rather slow flow, but it doesn't bore, rather it helps emphasize the special moments that Sawako experiences in her school life. The process of growing up, feeling love for the first time, making read more
I found this review Helpful