MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #240
Kimi ni Todoke

Kimi ni Todoke

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Kimi ni Todoke: From Me to You, Reaching You
Japanese: 君に届け

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 7, 2009 to Mar 31, 2010
Duration: 22 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.281 (scored by 110061 users)
Ranked: #2402
Popularity: #82
Members: 199,015
Favorites: 5,093
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

Popular Tags

No tags found
Apr 1, 2010
Skadi
Only rarely does a series break the mold its genre has cast for it and even more uncommonly does it set itself apart from all others. Such is the case with Kimi ni Todake. It takes all the classic shoujo romance stereotypes and plot devices and flips them on its head leaving us with a thoroughly rewarding and groundbreaking romance.

At first, Kimi ni Todake drew me in before I saw its first frame of film with its story concept. Our heroine is Sawako, a sweet and gentle girl with an awkward personality and an uncanny resemblance to Sadako from The Ring. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 27, 2015
homicidal_maniac
There's a rather irksome trend in anime that I've noticed as I got older: romances are less about actual romance and are more about a so-called "couple" locked in a perpetual dance of will they/won't they. As much as I love the anticipation and that sweet sense of satisfaction when I see my ship finally set sail, it just feels like it amounts to nothing when the series just ends right then and there. You can only imagine my frustration when I come across a much-lauded title that I eagerly look forward to watching and then I find out that it leaves me completely and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 23, 2010
Reksho
How do you recognize that you’ve watched a great show? Do you wake up the next morning and think about it the whole day? Do you talk to people full enthusiasm and passion about the show? Or did you just get that feeling that makes your heart ache and feel all good and warm inside? Kimi ni Todoke manages to do all this.

Kimi ni Todoke starts off as an anime that could make you wonder if you’re actually watching said series. The very first scene is practically a half-horror scene attempted by the animators to make you understand in a snap what kind of person read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 16, 2015
furdlemygurdle
The romance genre is one of my favourites of this medium. Even though it's hard to come up with an original story or setting in this genre, I find it is the one of, if not the best way to explore characters, their relationships, and get some decent development out of them. Kimi ni Todoke is no exception, for the most part anyways.

To pay homage to the innocence and optimism this show radiates, I'll get the most and pretty much only big negative I have out of the way first. The last little bit of the second arc focusing on "the main antagonist" (AKA secondary read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 25, 2014
_Otaku_31
Quickly: I've watched 47 anime shows and this is the second that I am writing a review for. I really just got into this and I hope my review is helpful to you.

~Story~ 10/10

I hate complex storylines. I will watch shows like that but very rarely, and only if it has enough promise. Kimi Ni Todoke was my absolute favourite anime because they kept it real and they kept it simple. I was giggling at cute moments between the couple of Kazehaya and Sawako and rolling over laughing at funny moments. I cried read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 21, 2014
Andrew-sama
Kimi ni Todoke is considered to be one of the most unique romance anime of this generation. I wouldn't necessarily agree with this 100% percent, but it does have SOME qualities that set it apart from other romance anime out there. I mean, this anime was somewhat satisfying to me, but I think lots of people try to give this anime TOO MUCH credit for doing a few unorthodox things and even a few things that don't even make the experience any better, in my opinion. That said, I still haven't watched the second season yet, so maybe I will be completely satisfied, story-wise, after read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 13, 2014
Airbent
I'm not a big Shoujo girl, and that became increasingly obvious the longer I watched this series.

I will say, several of the first episodes brought me to sappy weepy tears. The main character, Sawako, is a lonely girl whose attempts to make friends routinely fail due to her outwardly intimidating appearance. The tried and true "don't judge a book by its cover" will be shoved in your face for multiple episodes as you learn Sawako is actually very sweet, and she usually interprets the horrible treatment she receives from her peers as other people being cooler than her.

Those were the moments that really read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 6, 2015
RepThe21st


Just watched the first season of Kimi Ni Todoke. Figured I should write a review about it before going into the second season, while my thoughts on it are still fresh.

Disclaimer: Mostly free of spoilers.

Plot: Kuronuma Sawako is a gentle high school student who, due to her scary appearance (resemblance to classic ghost girl) has been unable to make any friends so far. Everything changes when Kazehaya, the most popular guy in class, starts talking to her, prompting others to do the same. From there Sawako begins to understand how friendship and, eventually, romance works.


Sounds like your usual, run-of-the-mill highschool anime, right? Well, you wouldn't read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 27, 2009
Moonfrost
Okay, here's what I thought after watching this Anime up to it's latest episode. Also, I didn't include spoilers, so don't worry.

Story: 10/10

One word, superb. I got hooked up since episode one because this Anime looks like it's real, and by real, I mean no swords, magics, etc. It portrays love and friendship as you can see these elements in every episodes. Also, I love where this Anime is going. It might get cheesy sometimes, but they did it so well, that you have no choice but to go with the flow and be affectionate.

Art: 10/10

The Art/Animation was outstanding. I loved everything. It was well read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 22, 2011
Reim_Seranth
After reading some positive reviews on the internet, I decided to watch Kimi ni Todoke, thinking that the storyline may be similar to Nadeshiko Shichi Henge, which is very fun and entertaining. However, after watching the first episode I was disappointed by the fact that Kimi ni Todoke holds totally different story than Nadeshiko Shichi Henge. For a moment I thought that it was way too girly for me to watch (of course, it's a shoujo but some shoujo really does attract male audience these days), and the animation looks a bit uncommon (not the characters ,but the colorful painted background which seems surreal at read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 17, 2013
SkinnyTrips
The first season of Kimi ni Todoke is really something special. To put it briefly, it is a show that simultaneously both rejects and indulges in the structure of its genre. It defines many of the core aspects and tropes of its genre, while demonstrating why they are relevant and valid. At the same time it also casts out many tropes and clichés that distract from the main driving focus of the show. Even when the show is dead set on incorporating some tired plot contrivance, it manages to execute it with tact and finesse. It's show that knows what it is, what it's doing, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 23, 2014
NeriiFur
Such an adorable anime. I couldn't keep away from it even for a moment. Even when I went to sleep I was excited to wake up the next day to watch more of it.

I suppose it's also because I could relate to the main female character. I was really shy in school and I had rumors about me and people who harassed me. I never really had friends or a "prince charming" like boyfriend, but it felt nice to be able to relate to a character so much. I'm so happy the anime was so much like the manga, so even read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 8, 2013
vidmakerlees
Kimi Ni Todoke is by far one of the most original and purest forms of a romance and high school anime. I instantly fell in love with the two main characters, both as a couple and as individuals.

Sawako is the ideal pure girl, whose story of overcoming social barriers is truly uplifting and relatable. Kazehaya is an admirable, outgoing yet has an inner shell of insecurity like most teenagers. Seeing them freak out, laugh, smile, and cry gives the viewer an emotional connection with the characters.

The art diverges between comical and "normal", which I enjoyed though others may want more of the normal art style. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 2, 2010
skys0ng
This anime left a bad taste in my mouth. Before watching I read some of the previous reviews and was spurred to watch it after many comments stating how original it was. It's not. There are certain aspects of the anime that differ from the usual but really it was just another shy girl meets popular boy type of anime.

The first few episodes were definitely enjoyable, the back story to why Sawako is an outcast is different and interesting and so is how she begins to make friends. Unfortunately after about episode 6 or 7 you are wasting your time. This anime should have been read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 16, 2014
tukky12
Kimi Ni Todoke Season 1 and 2 Review

This review is going to span both seasons of Kimi Ni Todoke, since I feel it is the best way to review the series.
Kimi Ni Todoke was produced by “Production I.G” and is by far their best anime series production in my opinion. That’s more so because most of Production I.Gs work isn’t all that great to be honest-luckily Kimi Ni Todoke is an exception. The whole show aired between October 2009 and March 2011, with 25 episodes for season 1 and 12 episodes for season 2, making a grand total of 37 episodes. The show falls read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 5, 2014
dark_cookie
This is one of those animes that you simply cannot forget.It's like Clannad After Story in a way, because after you finish it it leaves you with an emotional gap that you can in no way fill in and you don't actually know what to do with your life anymore.

Story: 10 (outstanding )
I really liked the pacing of the anime as it doesn't rush things through and you have enough time to relate to the characters and their relationships as the time goes on.It might be quite slow at times, but I personally think that this is making a favour to the anime.Kimi ni Todoke read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 19, 2013
DoomTheWiseWolf
"Thank you for smiling, thank you for talking to me, thank you for being so kind. You taught me so many feelings that I didn’t know until now. Thank you. I love you… I love you… I love you…"

Love is a pretty powerful thing, isn't it? I've been in love before, and for those of you who haven't experienced love first-hand, I can honestly say that it changes you. There are a lot of romance animes out there, but very, VERY few of them have actually given me a good idea of what love is really like. We have shows like Date A Live, Love read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 14, 2010
Madgie
This is my first review, so hopefully this will go over well. ^_^ I haven't seen the series in a while, so I'll try to accurately try to portray how I felt when I watched it the first time.

Story:6/10
Indeed, the story summary was what pulled me in. It sounded like and interesting spin on a old storyline, and it was a bit. It certainly was interesting to see the interactions of he characters of Sawako since so many were afraid of her. But when you really get down to it, this is a lot like other high school romances. Outcast girl likes most popular guy, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 3, 2011
FideliusXIII
Whatever you do, don't be put off by Kimi ni Todoke's unassuming summary. The premise of this wonderful anime starts off very simply and it starts off that way too. However, this anime is so unbelievably authentic and distinct in how it portrays the feelings and personalities of the main characters.

I found myself liking and relating to each and every character in this series, Sawako and Kazehaya especially. In a romance series like this one, the story is 100% reliant upon the characterization. It works because each character's personality comes out so earnestly throughout the series. We get to watch their interactions with each other read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 13, 2010
ChiisaiYume
I couldn't help but share my thoughts on this wonderful show with others =)

At first glance, it may seem like a typical shoujo, boy-meets-girl kind of series. That's what I thought when I first read the synopsis, so I was kind of reluctant to watch it. But now...am I glad I did!

Story: 9/10

While not the most exciting or original plot line, it's simplicity charms me. It has a rather slow flow, but it doesn't bore, rather it helps emphasize the special moments that Sawako experiences in her school life. The process of growing up, feeling love for the first time, making read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful