MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #198
Kimi ni Todoke

Kimi ni Todoke

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Kimi ni Todoke: From Me to You, Reaching You
Japanese: 君に届け

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 7, 2009 to Mar 31, 2010
Duration: 22 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.321 (scored by 83454 users)
Ranked: #1982
Popularity: #71
Members: 146,304
Favorites: 4,352
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Apr 1, 2010
Skadi
Only rarely does a series break the mold its genre has cast for it and even more uncommonly does it set itself apart from all others. Such is the case with Kimi ni Todake. It takes all the classic shoujo romance stereotypes and plot devices and flips them on its head leaving us with a thoroughly rewarding and groundbreaking romance.

At first, Kimi ni Todake drew me in before I saw its first frame of film with its story concept. Our heroine is Sawako, a sweet and gentle girl with an awkward personality and an uncanny resemblance to Sadako from The Ring. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 23, 2010
Reksho
How do you recognize that you’ve watched a great show? Do you wake up the next morning and think about it the whole day? Do you talk to people full enthusiasm and passion about the show? Or did you just get that feeling that makes your heart ache and feel all good and warm inside? Kimi ni Todoke manages to do all this.

Kimi ni Todoke starts off as an anime that could make you wonder if you’re actually watching said series. The very first scene is practically a half-horror scene attempted by the animators to make you understand in a snap what kind of person read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 22, 2011
Reim_Seranth
After reading some positive reviews on the internet, I decided to watch Kimi ni Todoke, thinking that the storyline may be similar to Nadeshiko Shichi Henge, which is very fun and entertaining. However, after watching the first episode I was disappointed by the fact that Kimi ni Todoke holds totally different story than Nadeshiko Shichi Henge. For a moment I thought that it was way too girly for me to watch (of course, it's a shoujo but some shoujo really does attract male audience these days), and the animation looks a bit uncommon (not the characters ,but the colorful painted background which seems surreal at read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 27, 2009
Moonfrost
Okay, here's what I thought after watching this Anime up to it's latest episode. Also, I didn't include spoilers, so don't worry.

Story: 10/10

One word, superb. I got hooked up since episode one because this Anime looks like it's real, and by real, I mean no swords, magics, etc. It portrays love and friendship as you can see these elements in every episodes. Also, I love where this Anime is going. It might get cheesy sometimes, but they did it so well, that you have no choice but to go with the flow and be affectionate.

Art: 10/10

The Art/Animation was outstanding. I loved everything. It was well read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 8, 2013
vidmakerlees
Kimi Ni Todoke is by far one of the most original and purest forms of a romance and high school anime. I instantly fell in love with the two main characters, both as a couple and as individuals.

Sawako is the ideal pure girl, whose story of overcoming social barriers is truly uplifting and relatable. Kazehaya is an admirable, outgoing yet has an inner shell of insecurity like most teenagers. Seeing them freak out, laugh, smile, and cry gives the viewer an emotional connection with the characters.

The art diverges between comical and "normal", which I enjoyed though others may want more of the normal art style. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 19, 2013
DoomTheWiseWolf
"Thank you for smiling, thank you for talking to me, thank you for being so kind. You taught me so many feelings that I didn’t know until now. Thank you. I love you… I love you… I love you…"

Love is a pretty powerful thing, isn't it? I've been in love before, and for those of you who haven't experienced love first-hand, I can honestly say that it changes you. There are a lot of romance animes out there, but very, VERY few of them have actually given me a good idea of what love is really like. We have shows like Date A Live, Love read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 17, 2013
SkinnyTrips
The first season of Kimi ni Todoke is really something special. To put it briefly, it is a show that simultaneously both rejects and indulges in the structure of its genre. It defines many of the core aspects and tropes of its genre, while demonstrating why they are relevant and valid. At the same time it also casts out many tropes and clichés that distract from the main driving focus of the show. Even when the show is dead set on incorporating some tired plot contrivance, it manages to execute it with tact and finesse. It's show that knows what it is, what it's doing, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 13, 2014
Airbent
I'm not a big Shoujo girl, and that became increasingly obvious the longer I watched this series.

I will say, several of the first episodes brought me to sappy weepy tears. The main character, Sawako, is a lonely girl whose attempts to make friends routinely fail due to her outwardly intimidating appearance. The tried and true "don't judge a book by its cover" will be shoved in your face for multiple episodes as you learn Sawako is actually very sweet, and she usually interprets the horrible treatment she receives from her peers as other people being cooler than her.

Those were the moments that really read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 28, 2013
Foushy
I absolutely loved this anime for so many reasons. It was such a delight to both watch and listen to as well. The animation was just gorgeous, each beautifully colored background painstakingly created to reflect the moods and seasons, a perfect pacing device as well. My favorites were the cherry blossoms in the spring, and the night sky full of twinkling stars, a reminder of our small place within a much larger universe. I don't normally pay attention to music during an anime, but I found the melodic piano pieces used were perfect to encompass the mix of hope, longing, fear and innocence that so read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 4, 2013
wallflower_
this is more of a comparison than a review, as i couldnt say all that i needed to in the recommendations. i apologize, but it's still kinda like a review!

the story is generic, as you can find many more animes with similar plots and storylines. however, the way it's told is what makes it stand out or not. i've made recommendations for this anime, comparing them to sukitte ii na yo and tonari no kaibutsu-kun as i saw many parallel and contrasting features between KNT and those two animes.

in terms of animation design, it reflected animation seen in sukitte and tonari. although in general it read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 2, 2010
skys0ng
This anime left a bad taste in my mouth. Before watching I read some of the previous reviews and was spurred to watch it after many comments stating how original it was. It's not. There are certain aspects of the anime that differ from the usual but really it was just another shy girl meets popular boy type of anime.

The first few episodes were definitely enjoyable, the back story to why Sawako is an outcast is different and interesting and so is how she begins to make friends. Unfortunately after about episode 6 or 7 you are wasting your time. This anime should have been read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 17, 2013
Vexper
I'm not going to talk about the actual plot, I'm not going to reveal the story for you when you could quite enjoy it yourself on your own accord. Unless you're reading this after seeing it for your own eyes then you'll know why I don't want to. I'm not going to give away the deepness of the characters you won't find anywhere else in this very dewy eyed "ends with a kiss or sad loss" genre. I'm not going to tell you that the animation is better then -insert highly rated show here- or say the soundtracks were woven by the hands of god. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 14, 2010
Madgie
This is my first review, so hopefully this will go over well. ^_^ I haven't seen the series in a while, so I'll try to accurately try to portray how I felt when I watched it the first time.

Story:6/10
Indeed, the story summary was what pulled me in. It sounded like and interesting spin on a old storyline, and it was a bit. It certainly was interesting to see the interactions of he characters of Sawako since so many were afraid of her. But when you really get down to it, this is a lot like other high school romances. Outcast girl likes most popular guy, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 2, 2010
Dreamribbon
What was your first impression of Kimi ni Todoke? It is a shoujo anime about a girl, shy and timid, who gets into a relationship with some guy.
Well, it is that in all its essence.
The thing is that this show presents itself in a very unique perspective, one which amplifies and embellishes little elements that are usually overlooked in a typical anime of its genre. What's special about this show is the experience one gets from watching it.


The story is told mainly through the eyes of Kuronuma Sawako, the main character. She's a shy little girl having a ghostly guise, constantly feared or misunderstood read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 3, 2011
FideliusXIII
Whatever you do, don't be put off by Kimi ni Todoke's unassuming summary. The premise of this wonderful anime starts off very simply and it starts off that way too. However, this anime is so unbelievably authentic and distinct in how it portrays the feelings and personalities of the main characters.

I found myself liking and relating to each and every character in this series, Sawako and Kazehaya especially. In a romance series like this one, the story is 100% reliant upon the characterization. It works because each character's personality comes out so earnestly throughout the series. We get to watch their interactions with each other read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 13, 2010
ChiisaiYume
I couldn't help but share my thoughts on this wonderful show with others =)

At first glance, it may seem like a typical shoujo, boy-meets-girl kind of series. That's what I thought when I first read the synopsis, so I was kind of reluctant to watch it. But now...am I glad I did!

Story: 9/10

While not the most exciting or original plot line, it's simplicity charms me. It has a rather slow flow, but it doesn't bore, rather it helps emphasize the special moments that Sawako experiences in her school life. The process of growing up, feeling love for the first time, making read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 16, 2014
genesic123
A review for both season one and two.

Poorly written,overrated Shoujo.No way that this deserves to be the best or Ultimate Shoujo.Apparently,There is this claim that this show has a wonderful way of resolving an abusive relationship,were a girl could keep coming back even though its bad.Ill tell you this after watching the show,that NEVER HAPPENED.

Let's start with the premise.Apparently everyone in the class treats the main character as a ghost girl worth avoiding.This is unrealistic as she doesn't really look like that,Its just the chibi art doing the work.People aren't that shallow in real life.Making fun is fine, but the show expects me to think read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 18, 2013
lucluc222
Okay so first off, yes this is my all time favourite.
Okay now we got that out of the way. This anime is one of the main reasons I started watching romance anime.
The story starts rather simple but it builds up really nicely. The characters are well developed, obviously Sawako and Kazehaya more than the others but it is notable that there is actual character development in the side characters, which I, find absolutely fantastic.
The art in this Anime is really well done and quite true to the manga (yeah I'm currently collecting the manga as well because I can't have enough), not a single anime read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 10, 2013
floryfede4ever
Kimi ni Todoke is the kind of show that's surprisingly good in spite of itself. It's so unbelievably cute you'd think everyone but the shoujo fans would steer clear of it. Yet it's rather appealing. My fourteen year old sister who usually dislikes too cute stuff (she disliked Lovely Complex, please) loved this show. It's because Kimi ni Todoke feels...fresh, and its characters are all likable, especially Kuronuma Sawako. She's so good and honest you'll like her even if she's dense and "oh my gosh what is this i'm feeling" -y kind of girl. Another thing I love about this anime is...the pace.The romantic read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 20, 2010
Kexiu
As a guy, who is confident about his sexuality, I would just like to say that Kimi ni Todoke was thoroughly enjoyable. I personally have nothing against shoujo anime; many of my favorites are in fact shoujo, but when I confronted my mates about watching this, suggesting it, I was rejected with: “your seriously getting gayer everyday”, and “go lick dick please”, which really made me reflect on how faggish my friends are… or more importantly in this respect, if this particular shoujo anime was suitable for me, it even made me revise the idea of dropping which I’m glad I didn’t. Because quite ironically read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices