Ranked #1155
Mugen no Ryvius

Mugen no Ryvius

Alternative Titles

English: Infinite Ryvius
Japanese: 無限のリヴァイアス

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 6, 1999 to Mar 29, 2000
Duration: 23 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.631 (scored by 6383 users)
Ranked: #11552
Popularity: #1712
Members: 17,870
Favorites: 165
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.

Reviews

oOoOoOo
Mar 23, 2009 1:25 PM
Infinite Ryvius is essentially "Lord of the Flies" on a spaceship, although with students old enough to be in high school (surprise, surprise). Once the students are stranded without their teachers, in various hostile situations, the anime becomes a microcosm for the problem of governance. We have the authoritarians, we have the democrats, and everyone in-between. Most striking for me, about this series, was the slow descent from happy-go-lucky "let's try our best at being space heroes" to chaos, mob-rule, and abuse of power. Having gone to teachers college, I'd hazard that many students would do well to watch this anime, read more
I found this review Helpful
Polaris
Sep 3, 2007 11:07 AM
I've seen a lot of overrated and over-hyped animes here, but this has to be one of the few who's underrated, and one that should really be in the Top10 of Top100.

Strange but this anime seems to be the only one that all the people who rated it liked and respect it, even the ones that gave it an average 7 think this is a really good anime, but just gets dragged down by animation and the really depressive story, in their opinion, i happen to like the animation and the story.

Animation:
This anime has one visible flaw but the good points more than make up read more
I found this review Helpful
mahoganycow
Jun 26, 2013 7:14 PM
The artistic presentation is definitely not the selling point of Infinite Ryvius. I'll state one of my major complaints with the show right off the bat: It is permeated by numerous elements that feel tenuously connected to the setting and the plot, and while the character designs aren't the worst offenders, they're a good visual representation of the problem. I can get behind the generic-but-acceptable “everyday kid” look of some cast members, and the spiffy flight uniforms worn by the group of elite pilots look halfway believable, but that's about as far as these designs could take me. It's hard to feel any sort of read more
I found this review Helpful
Monkey_D_Luffy
Jun 13, 2008 5:37 PM
Story:
The story of Infinite Ryvius is developed well. The plot is fairly basic, a bunch of kids attending a space academy are involved in an accident and get stranded on a space vessel with no adults. However, they do a good job though at developing the story by showing all the ordeals and troubles that the kids go up against and more importantly how they affect each character's state of mind individually. A lot of drama and emotions are involved, there's a good fill of action, and even a nice touch of romance is brought into the mix. So overall, it's a pretty entertaining story read more
I found this review Helpful
ThatAnimeSnob
May 23, 2011 3:40 AM
ANIME MINOR JEWELS SERIES
Full list of the review series can be found on this page, 3rd post from bottom:
http://anidb.net/perl-bin/animedb.pl?uid=251338&show=userpage&do=blog&blogid=29009&page=0

Ryvius is a blend of various different genres, such as adventure, drama, survival, sci-fi, mystery, political, and romance around a spaceship full of children getting stranded in space. Two things that are done very nicely is the atmosphere of fear, as well as the character interaction.
- You are constantly made to think that the hundreds of children that are stranded without adults in the middle of a weird cosmic phenomenon are in deep trouble. Also, you see them chatting, fighting, suffering, threatening, flirting for so long, you read more
I found this review Helpful
acceleratum
Oct 14, 2007 6:59 PM
The show features several space combat scenes altho the focus of the story is around the struggle of young students trying to grasp their future. The inexperience brings many problems, controlling the almost 500 ppl aboard the ship and maintaining it operational proves to be a difficult task, crime panic and chaos rampage in this ship who lost all touch with society and most of the time we'll see the evolvement of human nature in a free chaotic environment, they atemps to create a society with order and justice but power struggles erupt and diferent personalities clash into social and emotional battles. Its quite read more
I found this review Helpful
Caimthehero
Nov 18, 2014 12:58 PM
It's been said before but this is essentially Lord of the Flies meets space. If you're looking for a powerful plot or characters to empathize or even connect with I'd suggest you look elsewhere. This is a story not really meant to entertain but understand the nature of the human condition. That objective gives birth to the best and worst part about Ryvius, and ultimately the core focus, the characters.

Now let me say first that the character interaction with each other is fantastic and how they handle the realistic situations is, again grounded in realism. The dialogue can be a little hammy at time read more
I found this review Helpful
waterfalls
Nov 25, 2009 7:11 PM
First of all, it's not really Lord of the Flies in space. I didn't like that, but I did like this.

This is by the director for Code Geass and Planetes. It's more like Planetes than Geass.

Animation is mediocre. If you want to watch something for the animation, I suggest Tekkon Kinkreet or 5cm/second instead. I do not suggest watching this for action either.

There is little comedy here. Actually, maybe this is a spoiler, but if you're feeling cheerful about something that happened, it's probably so you can be sucker-punched in five seconds.

What Infinite Ryvius does have is lots of drama, lots of characters, lots of read more
I found this review Helpful
Oolong
Jun 9, 2013 6:40 PM
I had high hopes for this anime, but at the end I did not feel as if I watched a show about how kids survive without adults or government, I felt as if I watched 26 episodes of cliche anime teenager romance. If you like that sort of thing, this show will be fine, but it does not deliver on the high praise of politics and Lord of the Flies-likeness that persuaded me to watch it.

The sphinx (sort of like the persona of the ship) reminded me of Boogiepop Phantom, which only served to make me think of how much better a show that was read more
I found this review Helpful
Arch-Defender
Jul 9, 2012 8:03 AM
Another series by Goro Taniguchi or should I say his first series as a full fledge director. I guess my perspective on it is different because while it is his first work it isn’t the first series he made that I watched. While it does have its flaws it is a good series and you can definitely feel that Taniguchi vibe as you proceed into the second half.

Opening sequence: 7/10
Ending sequence: 6/10
My Age Rating: PT: The violence isn’t graphic and the sex isn’t depicted but it has very mature situations such as implied serial and gang rape, gang beating and murder.

The story seems fairly simple, read more
I found this review Helpful
spazzchicken
Feb 21, 1:37 AM
I think I decided to watch this show based on finding several reviews that praised Infinite Ryvius. I thought -- I love scifi and psychological deterioration. Too bad Infinite Ryvius can't pull it off.

First, the basics. The art is standard 90's fair. The music is an interesting, if somewhat incongruous, choice. Neither really make or break the show.

The plot of IR is also interesting, but it never really pays off. For 20-some episodes, I waited for something really thrilling to happen. There was very little that was thrilling, despite regular space battles and general in-fighting. The few good moments were only as good as read more
I found this review Helpful
Laharl
Feb 12, 2008 8:19 PM
Ryvius is a twisty, depressing space drama. Imagine Lord of the Flies in space with the slow, tense combat of The Hunt for Red October. Much like some of Sunrise's other works, they spend too much time building up to the climax to really resolve it, much less fully explain what was really going on. Nearly every episode has some sort of plot twist (and they all seem to have cliffhangers...) and many of the characters make you want to alternatively reach in and wring their necks and hug them. The big weakness to me is the music, as it's a bastardization of the read more
I found this review Helpful
kekfrosting
Jul 8, 2014 3:00 PM
Infinite Ryvius is often described as "Lord of the Flies IN SPACE" by its small but dedicated fanbase, but this is probably just a ploy to get more people to watch it. The two share concepts on the surface, but that's about it.

Story: 8/10

Ryvius is a (mostly) hard sci-fi anime, blending political drama and commentary on systems of government with a "lost at sea" atmosphere. The sci-fi side of the plot is done quite well, but the show truly shines in the close-to-home story inside the Ryvius. The characters' situation inside is told masterfully and accurately captures the desperation, revolutions, and reconciliations within the ship read more
I found this review Helpful
darkcheesepuff
Aug 7, 2014 3:13 PM
Story: 8/10
This show was an excellent test of my patience. It not only told a very well thought out and eventful story, but it taught many lessons along the way. I give the story an 8/10 because of it's good pacing over the 26 episode span (wasn't rushed at any points and didn't pull a goku and spend 4 episodes on one scene). It was very well paced and I appreciate that in an anime. The story itself is indeed reminiscent of Lord of the Flies by William Golding, but I wouldn't say it derives that much from it. It manages to tell its own read more
I found this review Helpful
madkat9
Nov 28, 2013 2:04 PM
I feel like agreeing with the review that is currently at the top in comparing this show to 'The Lord of The Flies'. That's the sort of plot you should expect, and that's the sort of uneasiness you should feel when you get into watching this show.

I watched infinite Ryvius at a very leisurely pace. I think I finished it over the course of a year in fact. I watched some four episodes at the beginning of the year and then just forgot about it in the midst of other shows and life in general, until I had the time to pick it up read more
I found this review Helpful