MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #1622
07-Ghost

07-Ghost

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: 07 Ghost, Seven Ghost, 7 Ghosts, The Seven Ghosts
Japanese: セブンゴースト

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2009 to Sep 22, 2009
Producers: Studio Deen
Duration: 23 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.471 (scored by 51969 users)
Ranked: #16222
Popularity: #298
Members: 98,791
Favorites: 1,593
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

Popular Tags

No tags found
Jan 4, 2015
greatyu
I passed this one off thinking that it's a mecha anime from the cover- but what i got to see was the totally opposite of it. Teito was an orphan slave boy from a slaughtered kingdom which he gets trained as a killing machine but then accidentally suffers rehabilitation from the church.

Story: This story is pretty unique- and i hate criticizing it. The whole story except for the characters is a metaphor: the battle between light and darkness is the main theme here. Biblical Illusions are every where- St Michael, Raphael, Gabriel- their powers, chants, crosses,nuns every thing needed to make a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 23, 2009
CherryHawk
It's been a long six months, and I must say that this anime was one of the shows I most looked forward to every week through spring and summer. I have a lot of good things to say about this anime so lets get started!

STORY 7/10- The best way to define the story is "not bad". It's a fairly interesting story about friendship and vengeance, and had it's fair share of comedy and touchy moments which are the kind of things I personally like in an anime. Even though I watched the show from the first day of broadcast (which I mentioned read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 12, 2013
HotaruKara
It was the spring of 2009, and as I browsed through the upcoming anime, I stumbled across a show entitled "07-Ghost" which I thought then it had great promise, how wrong I was. For me, 07-Ghost is important for being the one who gave a start to other animes like it. You may ask, like what? First of all, the setting of the story in a "all boys church" sends shounen-ai alerts from a mile away. However,the staff being too afraid that straight male audience won't find it "appealing" covered the story with a pathetic "it is but a wonderful friendship between boys". Second read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 7, 2010
animeangel105
One of my all time favourites, I figured I should give it a proper review.

Story (7/10) - The plot is alright, in my opinion. It is a bit slow (there are quite a few episodes with Teito moping around feeling sorry for himself) but it is sound. It has it's funny moments, and the scenes just make you want to go "awww". There's also a few sad moments which I know I went through a few tissue boxes whilst watching.

There's not many confrontations between the 'good' side and the 'bad' side. Ayanami prefers to send his lowly minions after Teito rather then go after read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 22, 2013
Komirai
Its been a hard few days watching this anime 4 to 6 hours straight, well at least I think that's how long it was. But now I have finally finished and in this review I will be giving you my impressions of it but it was enjoyable to say the least. I was happy watching it although after you read this you probably thinking if this sentence is even part of this anime or even for this anime review. Anyways, enough about that let's get straight to the point. Onward to the review.

Story (7/10) - How would I sum up this whole anime in one read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 5, 2009
Moe_
Art: The art was very good for the characters. The bad part is that the explosions, the attacks and the Zaiphons were a bit overdone and looks really out of placed, like a live action movie using computer graphics. It would of been better if it was more natural. There was also very little amounts of blood, and they censored most of the killings. The Kor's are also very computer graphic like. It's like those discovery channel where they try to recreate a dinosaur, that kind of look.

Sound: The sound was probably what I liked the most. It had a good opening and ending theme read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 25, 2010
eklie
There are several other reviews for this anime, so I'll just get to the point. It is a pile of mediocrity in almost every way - lame characters that have been done and done better before, a story that is a mish-mash of other anime, average art and goofy looking costumes. The story can at times be interesting (the description on MAL doesn't do it justice), but in the end the producers settled for something that was mass-marketable instead of creating something genuinely good. That's not to say it's a bad anime, just that it's nothing to write home about.

I don't want to include read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 2, 2015
ancientUnicorn
This is one of the most beautiful, amazing series I've ever been lucky enough to find. I really appreciate this site because this anime was a recommendation based on other animes I've liked.

I am mainly a fan of shonen ai, but I like it to be set against a backdrop of adventure and the supernatural. This show is a perfect match for my tastes! : )

The opening and closing credits sequences are both really awesome. I get psyched up by the music in the opening credits every episode. Maybe I am misremembering, but it reminds me a little of some read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 28, 2014
Shikyuno
This is a very typical short anime. It follows a common storyline that pleases most of the anime fan base, and the characters are predictable and rather shallow as they appear. The social relationships between characters seem slightly forced, as well as some of the events that occur to them. But even if they look forced and overhyped, the ideals of family, friendship and love are very present and easy to sympathise with. There are some secondary incoherences and gaps going around, but nothing that reading the manga wouldn't solve. It's still a bad slip, though, and could leave many viewers slightly confused in some read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 6, 2009
Murbella
Story: 5

Church Daily Life really says it all. I’ve watched 9 episodes of this show and for all but about half of the first one Teito has been moping around in a church. There is a pretty obvious looking back-story lurking in the background but progress is extremely slow and the vast majority of time is spent on the aforementioned moping around part. The story also suffers a lot from the ineffective relationship between Teito and Mikage. Clearly 07-Ghost meant Mikage to be a great influence on Teito and shape him in to the force he will likely eventually be in the story, but ineffective read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 21, 2010
ThatAnimeSnob
PROPER MINDSET
Let me make clear that I’m not homophobic nor I see women only as sex toys and anything you read here is pure sarcasm. I just can’t help myself not making fun of an obviously poorly written series that appeals mostly through erotic aesthetics, rather than good directing and character emersion. It had quite the big fandom when it aired, most of which were girls who loved the manga. And to no surprise, most of them were quite fond of yaoi. We all know how much quality that genre has, right?

THE STAFF
- And it’s not the only problem you can find read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 2, 2010
Suzune-chan
To start with I would like to say that I will not compare this anime to its original manga. For two reasons first I have not read it and also because I believe that an anime needs to have a certain likability to both the non-reader and the reader alike.

"What are your three wishes?"

Story: Although I must say, this story was quite different then what I expected going in. If you asked me about Ghost before I watched it I would have asked if you meant that Priest one. So going in I had almost no preconceived notions of what it was about. So read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 19, 2011
SerenityB3128
07-Ghost. At first glance, it looks awesome! At least, that's what I thought.
I saw the good-looking characters with weapons and full of epic-ness! So I thought, this looks like a great show! I should watch it!

I have never been so wrong.

First episode though, I gave the show a 9! It started great with some action and great plot! I was telling all of my friends about how awesome this show was!
First episode passed, and I went to the second episode. It still had my interest hooked! In fact, the second episode was even better!
3 to 4 to 5 to 6...
Wait, what happened? read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 20, 2011
HangJarrel
I stumbled upon this anime by going through a list of names and I found it quite interesting and unique. I usually stick to old anime but this one for some reason really got to me so let's start this review.

Let's start with the story, it revolves around this orphan named Teito who's enrolled in this military when at some point he escapes from the academy and ends up at the barsburg church which is a place that teaches the complete opposite from the military but still has combat training except for the good. That already got me intrigued, I've always read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 18, 2014
kcal41
This is an anime that has a great setting, music, and character designs but unfortunately suffers from both a sub-par plot and the annoying power of friendship; in other words, it is one of those fancy high-budget animes that don't have too much substance.

A huge portion of the anime takes place in an extremely pretty church. Now, this church has an interesting cast of characters, but what the hell does Teito Klein -- the main character -- do? He gets his ass kicked every time and relies on the same people to save his ass. Also, Teito has a pretty annoying personality too; he's read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 27, 2010
yuudaiikanata
okay.. 07 ghost. uhm...

i was really looking forward to this anime from the very beginning and glad to say, it did not fail me :)

story: 10/10
plot follows the manga loosely. but if you haven't read the manga, it is one that'd make you want to hold on to. it feels rather melancholic but the battles are breath taking. although the anime falls short as it is, i think they'll be making a second season. yay! ^__^

art: 10/10
art is almost the same as in the manga, only better. if you love bishounen, definitely give this a shot. (implied shounen-ai or maybe that's just me. tehe!) read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 3, 2015
charlieshae
I originally found 07-Ghost while searching for a shoujo anime that didn't have a romance element. This is the first entry alphabetically under the shoujo tag, and conveniently it doesn't have a romance tag. That's a lie. More on that in a bit.

I won't bother synopsizing the show, because you can find those elsewhere. 07-Ghost has a good story overall, following Teito Klein's journey in rediscovering his past and getting back at the army for making him a slave. The implementation of that story, however, is less than desirable. It took me a very long time to finish watching these 25 episodes, mostly because for read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 26, 2011
deadstar17
I'll begin by saying that I've seen 07-Ghost in two days. It's been on my to-watch list for long and finally had the time to watch it.

Story 9/10: I can understand why some people give it lower than my vote, it's quite slow-paced and the last fighting scene might be slightly disappointing because there was great anticipation to it. However since the manga is on-going, I expected this. And so I based my vote on the originality of the story (I never thought that I would like an anime based on church, god, and the likes). I firmly believe that to taste the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 23, 2010
SoftCoyote
Beautiful, absolutely beautiful. That's the most prominent word in my mind when I begin to describe this masterpiece.

Story: Every story could easily be better. The plot was straightforward, but if they elaborated more on the ending it could have been so much better. 9

Art: Truly, the animation was outstanding! Sure, the explosions and Kor may have been a bit overdone, but even so that does not take away any from the beauty. 10

Sound: The opening theme was brilliant. One of the few opening themes I actually enjoyed, and it never bored me to listen to it. I really loved how the ending song was read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 18, 2010
aanglove1
The real start of my army-bishi-boy-fetish started with "07 Ghost". There's a nice intricate mystery surrounding the protagonist Teito Klein (and yes, there is a cliche in anime sometimes for a huge mystery in the protagonist's life). But I will go along with it if you have something new to offer up to the cliche. And this did. The art is outstanding-- very colorful and decorative, especially for the design of the churches. The music is gorgeous--very light, flowery, and... church-like. :3
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful