MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #1380
07-Ghost

07-Ghost

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: 07 Ghost, Seven Ghost, 7 Ghosts, The Seven Ghosts
Japanese: セブンゴースト

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2009 to Sep 22, 2009
Producers: Studio Deen
Duration: 23 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.521 (scored by 45176 users)
Ranked: #13802
Popularity: #251
Members: 84,556
Favorites: 1,515
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Sep 23, 2009
CherryHawk
It's been a long six months, and I must say that this anime was one of the shows I most looked forward to every week through spring and summer. I have a lot of good things to say about this anime so lets get started!

STORY 7/10- The best way to define the story is "not bad". It's a fairly interesting story about friendship and vengeance, and had it's fair share of comedy and touchy moments which are the kind of things I personally like in an anime. Even though I watched the show from the first day of broadcast (which I mentioned read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 7, 2010
animeangel105
One of my all time favourites, I figured I should give it a proper review.

Story (7/10) - The plot is alright, in my opinion. It is a bit slow (there are quite a few episodes with Teito moping around feeling sorry for himself) but it is sound. It has it's funny moments, and the scenes just make you want to go "awww". There's also a few sad moments which I know I went through a few tissue boxes whilst watching.

There's not many confrontations between the 'good' side and the 'bad' side. Ayanami prefers to send his lowly minions after Teito rather then go after read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 12, 2013
HotaruKara
It was the spring of 2009, and as I browsed through the upcoming animes, I stumbled across a show entitled "07-Ghost" which I thought then it had great promise, how wrong I was. For me, 07-Ghost is important for being the one who gave a start to other animes like it. You may ask, like what? First of all, the setting of the story in a "all boys church" sends shounen-ai alerts from a mile away. However,the staff being too afraid that straight male audience won't find it "appealing" covered the story with a pathetic "it is but a wonderful friendship between boys". Second read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 5, 2009
Moe_
Art: The art was very good for the characters. The bad part is that the explosions, the attacks and the Zaiphons were a bit overdone and looks really out of placed, like a live action movie using computer graphics. It would of been better if it was more natural. There was also very little amounts of blood, and they censored most of the killings. The Kor's are also very computer graphic like. It's like those discovery channel where they try to recreate a dinosaur, that kind of look.

Sound: The sound was probably what I liked the most. It had a good opening and ending theme read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 22, 2013
Komirai
Its been a hard few days watching this anime 4 to 6 hours straight, well at least I think that's how long it was. But now I have finally finished and in this review I will be giving you my impressions of it but it was enjoyable to say the least. I was happy watching it although after you read this you probably thinking if this sentence is even part of this anime or even for this anime review. Anyways, enough about that let's get straight to the point. Onward to the review.

Story (7/10) - How would I sum up this whole anime in one read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 25, 2010
eklie
There are several other reviews for this anime, so I'll just get to the point. It is a pile of mediocrity in almost every way - lame characters that have been done and done better before, a story that is a mish-mash of other anime, average art and goofy looking costumes. The story can at times be interesting (the description on MAL doesn't do it justice), but in the end the producers settled for something that was mass-marketable instead of creating something genuinely good. That's not to say it's a bad anime, just that it's nothing to write home about.

I don't want to include read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 21, 2010
roriconfan
PROPER MINDSET
Let me make clear that I’m not homophobic nor I see women only as sex toys and anything you read here is pure sarcasm. I just can’t help myself not making fun of an obviously poorly written series that appeals mostly through erotic aesthetics, rather than good directing and character emersion. It had quite the big fandom when it aired, most of which were girls who loved the manga. And to no surprise, most of them were quite fond of yaoi. We all know how much quality that genre has, right?

THE STAFF
- And it’s not the only problem you can find read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 6, 2009
Murbella
Story: 5

Church Daily Life really says it all. I’ve watched 9 episodes of this show and for all but about half of the first one Teito has been moping around in a church. There is a pretty obvious looking back-story lurking in the background but progress is extremely slow and the vast majority of time is spent on the aforementioned moping around part. The story also suffers a lot from the ineffective relationship between Teito and Mikage. Clearly 07-Ghost meant Mikage to be a great influence on Teito and shape him in to the force he will likely eventually be in the story, but ineffective read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 19, 2011
SerenityB3128
07-Ghost. At first glance, it looks awesome! At least, that's what I thought.
I saw the good-looking characters with weapons and full of epic-ness! So I thought, this looks like a great show! I should watch it!

I have never been so wrong.

First episode though, I gave the show a 9! It started great with some action and great plot! I was telling all of my friends about how awesome this show was!
First episode passed, and I went to the second episode. It still had my interest hooked! In fact, the second episode was even better!
3 to 4 to 5 to 6...
Wait, what happened? read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 2, 2010
Suzune-chan
To start with I would like to say that I will not compare this anime to its original manga. For two reasons first I have not read it and also because I believe that an anime needs to have a certain likability to both the non-reader and the reader alike.

"What are your three wishes?"

Story: Although I must say, this story was quite different then what I expected going in. If you asked me about Ghost before I watched it I would have asked if you meant that Priest one. So going in I had almost no preconceived notions of what it was about. So read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 20, 2011
HangJarrel
I stumbled upon this anime by going through a list of names and I found it quite interesting and unique. I usually stick to old anime but this one for some reason really got to me so let's start this review.

Let's start with the story, it revolves around this orphan named Teito who's enrolled in this military when at some point he escapes from the academy and ends up at the barsburg church which is a place that teaches the complete opposite from the military but still has combat training except for the good. That already got me intrigued, I've always read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 23, 2010
SoftCoyote
Beautiful, absolutely beautiful. That's the most prominent word in my mind when I begin to describe this masterpiece.

Story: Every story could easily be better. The plot was straightforward, but if they elaborated more on the ending it could have been so much better. 9

Art: Truly, the animation was outstanding! Sure, the explosions and Kor may have been a bit overdone, but even so that does not take away any from the beauty. 10

Sound: The opening theme was brilliant. One of the few opening themes I actually enjoyed, and it never bored me to listen to it. I really loved how the ending song was read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 30, 2010
LolaStarr
I was hooked on this from the very first episode, I thoroughly enjoyed watching it, and it kept me interested throughout the series. However I do have some minor grieviances.

The story is very interesting, it's an idea that makes you stop and think 'I wonder where they'll go with this?' A touching tale that displays good character development, wonderful blossoming friendships and a wonderful mystery factor. It incorporates ideas that I wasn't expecting to see together, and they worked it very nicely. What I didn't like was that there was a big build up (albeit a rather slow moving one) and it didn't come read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 20, 2014
Klaun
07-Ghost, first anime I have ever watched. Seriously, I just went on a streaming website and totally randomly chose this anime. Since I didn't have any expiriences with animes, I couldn't really emotionaly connect with the characters, but anyway, I really enjoyed it. I was laughing and silently crying under my blanket. I was amazed how they stayed loyal to eachother (Now, that's a true friendship) and how Teito would sacrifise himself just to help Mikage in danger.

I want to start off by saying my opinions about the plot. Well, now, after I watched several animes, I understood how this anime is kinda similar read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 26, 2011
deadstar17
I'll begin by saying that I've seen 07-Ghost in two days. It's been on my to-watch list for long and finally had the time to watch it.

Story 9/10: I can understand why some people give it lower than my vote, it's quite slow-paced and the last fighting scene might be slightly disappointing because there was great anticipation to it. However since the manga is on-going, I expected this. And so I based my vote on the originality of the story (I never thought that I would like an anime based on church, god, and the likes). I firmly believe that to taste the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 22, 2010
HavanaCruz
Story: 7/10

I'm doing this review out of memory. I wasn't taking notes when I watch anime for reviews like I do now.

Although this anime is about the popular summaries it's more about Teito Klein struggling to trust the world, attempting to honor his past friend and finding himself in the process.

Form of Development/Pace: I started watching this anime at the beginning of 2010. I left the anime and came back again. The beginning episodes are what hooked me in so the pace was just right. After the beginning episodes the pace so slow that if you take a break for it you won't read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 18, 2010
aanglove1
The real start of my army-bishi-boy-fetish started with "07 Ghost". There's a nice intricate mystery surrounding the protagonist Teito Klein (and yes, there is a cliche in anime sometimes for a huge mystery in the protagonist's life). But I will go along with it if you have something new to offer up to the cliche. And this did. The art is outstanding-- very colorful and decorative, especially for the design of the churches. The music is gorgeous--very light, flowery, and... church-like. :3
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 15, 2010
jealousghost
I finally finished watching this and... I'm a bit annoyed. I loved it for the first half. I don't know how much of a spoiler this will be, but the reason why my opinion of the show dropped during the second half is that I realized NOTHING WAS GOING TO HAPPEN. It reminded me quite a bit of Amatsuki in that there is a lot of build up for a second season, a game, or something, and it just doesn't happen. However, it did leave me wanting to read the manga, so I guess that's something.

STORY: The story has a great premise that could have read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 27, 2010
yuudaiikanata
okay.. 07 ghost. uhm...

i was really looking forward to this anime from the very beginning and glad to say, it did not fail me :)

story: 10/10
plot follows the manga loosely. but if you haven't read the manga, it is one that'd make you want to hold on to. it feels rather melancholic but the battles are breath taking. although the anime falls short as it is, i think they'll be making a second season. yay! ^__^

art: 10/10
art is almost the same as in the manga, only better. if you love bishounen, definitely give this a shot. (implied shounen-ai or maybe that's just me. tehe!) read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 26, 2009
ZeroDesolation
Watching the 1st episode will catch your attention enough to make you wonder what the next one will bring. Which is good as some animes don't give you enough sometimes in the first episode to want to continue.

Once you get through a few more, you will be intrigued by the story and wanting to learn more. As time goes on though I ended up wishing for more of the past to come forth. The anime ends with him wanting to learn more of his past but since it ends and you know the direction he's going, it doesn't tell you everything. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices