Ranked #1666


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: 07 Ghost, Seven Ghost, 7 Ghosts, The Seven Ghosts
Japanese: セブンゴースト


Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2009 to Sep 22, 2009
Premiered: Spring 2009
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Studio Deen, DiscotekL
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company


Score: 7.451 (scored by 55,961 users)
Ranked: #16662
Popularity: #341
Members: 107,306
Favorites: 1,678
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Yesterday, 5:18 AM
(A.N. Reviews are my personal opinions, these aren't coming from an objective perspective where I try to look at the anime critically. I just want to jot down my thoughts on somewhere where I physically can't lose it)

Okay, let me start by saying, this will be the most biased review on my page. Unless I write a review for SAO, which I'm not a huge fan of. But anyway, 09-Ghost is one of my favorite animes - not that I let people know, though. I immediately fell in love with all the characters, yes, even the antagonists, and the story line was one I had read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 23, 2009
It's been a long six months, and I must say that this anime was one of the shows I most looked forward to every week through spring and summer. I have a lot of good things to say about this anime so lets get started!

STORY 7/10- The best way to define the story is "not bad". It's a fairly interesting story about friendship and vengeance, and had it's fair share of comedy and touchy moments which are the kind of things I personally like in an anime. Even though I watched the show from the first day of broadcast (which I mentioned read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 6, 2009
Story: 5

Church Daily Life really says it all. I’ve watched 9 episodes of this show and for all but about half of the first one Teito has been moping around in a church. There is a pretty obvious looking back-story lurking in the background but progress is extremely slow and the vast majority of time is spent on the aforementioned moping around part. The story also suffers a lot from the ineffective relationship between Teito and Mikage. Clearly 07-Ghost meant Mikage to be a great influence on Teito and shape him in to the force he will likely eventually be in the story, but ineffective read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 12, 2013
It was the spring of 2009, and as I browsed through the upcoming anime, I stumbled across a show entitled "07-Ghost" which I thought then it had great promise, how wrong I was. For me, 07-Ghost is important for being the one who gave a start to other animes like it. You may ask, like what? First of all, the setting of the story in a "all boys church" sends shounen-ai alerts from a mile away. However,the staff being too afraid that straight male audience won't find it "appealing" covered the story with a pathetic "it is but a wonderful friendship between boys". Second read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 5, 2009
Art: The art was very good for the characters. The bad part is that the explosions, the attacks and the Zaiphons were a bit overdone and looks really out of placed, like a live action movie using computer graphics. It would of been better if it was more natural. There was also very little amounts of blood, and they censored most of the killings. The Kor's are also very computer graphic like. It's like those discovery channel where they try to recreate a dinosaur, that kind of look.

Sound: The sound was probably what I liked the most. It had a good opening and ending theme read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 7, 2010
One of my all time favourites, I figured I should give it a proper review.

Story (7/10) - The plot is alright, in my opinion. It is a bit slow (there are quite a few episodes with Teito moping around feeling sorry for himself) but it is sound. It has it's funny moments, and the scenes just make you want to go "awww". There's also a few sad moments which I know I went through a few tissue boxes whilst watching.

There's not many confrontations between the 'good' side and the 'bad' side. Ayanami prefers to send his lowly minions after Teito rather then go after read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 19, 2015
I enjoyed the show quite a bit. The art was just fine. No complaints concerning the art. The sound was good to. The ending song is higher up on my list of ending songs then a lot of the other anime I have watched. The characters felt a little flat. I didn't feel that they were flushed out enough. Especially Mikage. I felt that the pacing was really slow and that they could have rushed through some of it. There was one slight problem with the anime and that was that it felt incomplete.
Overall I read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 6, 2015
So, small disclaimer, I'm just gonna wing a review and write a better one later. It's been a while since I've seen the anime, sorry.

I had read the manga first, so I'm not sure if that biased me for the better or for the worse. But, in my opinion, the major selling point of both versions of this story is Frau, without a doubt. His character makes the story, and without it there isn't much else to really hang this anime on. Although based on a Shoujo story, it feels pretty action filled (with some hints of bromance). The anime version only hints at read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 4, 2015
I passed this one off thinking that it's a mecha anime from the cover- but what i got to see was the totally opposite of it. Teito was an orphan slave boy from a slaughtered kingdom which he gets trained as a killing machine but then accidentally suffers rehabilitation from the church.

Story: This story is pretty unique- and i hate criticizing it. The whole story except for the characters is a metaphor: the battle between light and darkness is the main theme here. Biblical Illusions are every where- St Michael, Raphael, Gabriel- their powers, chants, crosses,nuns every thing needed to make a read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 15, 2015
This is hard for me to writte about because i really enjoyed watching this anime but and *spoiler alert* that ending is asking is begging for a 2nd season which we never got *tears*. So my classification was greatly affected by that crap dumbster ending which annoyed the living hell out of me, the anime itself is lovely it's about realigion and the refugee basically we have our main caracter which is trying to join the church but he is a special kind of person so there is all that conterversy about if the demon deserves to serve god and be forgiven for being born read more
I found this review Helpful
May 22, 2013
Its been a hard few days watching this anime 4 to 6 hours straight, well at least I think that's how long it was. But now I have finally finished and in this review I will be giving you my impressions of it but it was enjoyable to say the least. I was happy watching it although after you read this you probably thinking if this sentence is even part of this anime or even for this anime review. Anyways, enough about that let's get straight to the point. Onward to the review.

Story (7/10) - How would I sum up this whole anime in one read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 27, 2015
I absolutely adore this anime! This was so cute! I love how adorable the main character is and how embarrassed he can get. It's so funny.
There could be one moment I'm happy and excited, and then the next I could be bawling my eyes out. This anime was one of the anime that made me cry....LOTS
But I wish it went on because at the end it doesn't finish the complete story! It leaves so many cliff hangers and its like NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO WHY?!? BUT THERE WERE SO MANY CLIFF HANGERS! WAHHHH....Yeah so I wish there was a second season!
I found this review Helpful
Jul 8, 2015
I cannot even talk about 07-Ghost without whining and complaining as to why it was soooo underrated!! Another season could've been amazing! Its just so sad it was given so little recognition compared to what it truly deserved. The plot was engaging and interesting, it made you want to go on and on and unravel each and every secret. And the characters were well developed and their growth was noticeable throughout the series. The art is my favorite kind of art. It is very detailed and the clothes, weapons and places were amazingly drawn. I've watched 07-Ghost so many times now, I don't even read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 19, 2009
this is not my kinda anime. i couldn't even finish the first episode!! i just don't like the shojo/bishōnen/yaoi art style and the very homo overtones of the anime. but that's just me. if you like lots of Bishōnen with some Yaoi/Shōnen-ai overtones (young boys crying over each other is the point i stop watching and that was 8 fucking minutes into the first episode!!) then this one is for you. but if your like me and not a 14 year old girl and/or a closet homosexual this is not for you.

as a side note i don't mean to offend anyone with this review. i read more
I found this review Helpful
May 28, 2014
This is a very typical short anime. It follows a common storyline that pleases most of the anime fan base, and the characters are predictable and rather shallow as they appear. The social relationships between characters seem slightly forced, as well as some of the events that occur to them. But even if they look forced and overhyped, the ideals of family, friendship and love are very present and easy to sympathise with. There are some secondary incoherences and gaps going around, but nothing that reading the manga wouldn't solve. It's still a bad slip, though, and could leave many viewers slightly confused in some read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 3, 2015
I originally found 07-Ghost while searching for a shoujo anime that didn't have a romance element. This is the first entry alphabetically under the shoujo tag, and conveniently it doesn't have a romance tag. That's a lie. More on that in a bit.

I won't bother synopsizing the show, because you can find those elsewhere. 07-Ghost has a good story overall, following Teito Klein's journey in rediscovering his past and getting back at the army for making him a slave. The implementation of that story, however, is less than desirable. It took me a very long time to finish watching these 25 episodes, mostly because for read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 2, 2015
This is one of the most beautiful, amazing series I've ever been lucky enough to find. I really appreciate this site because this anime was a recommendation based on other animes I've liked.

I am mainly a fan of shonen ai, but I like it to be set against a backdrop of adventure and the supernatural. This show is a perfect match for my tastes! : )

The opening and closing credits sequences are both really awesome. I get psyched up by the music in the opening credits every episode. Maybe I am misremembering, but it reminds me a little of some read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 18, 2015
07- Ghost is an anime worth watching. It does not only give you lessons that should be reflected and should be noted but its totality gives you a new perspective- that no matter how tough life is, you shouldn't let go even if it pains or breaks you. That no matter whose life it is be a king or a slave, its always full of challenges because upon overcoming them those feelings of pain, solitude, disappointments and joy are proof that we existed and lived.

I tell you its plot is crazy. It has a roller coaster shift that can keep you gripping read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 25, 2010
There are several other reviews for this anime, so I'll just get to the point. It is a pile of mediocrity in almost every way - lame characters that have been done and done better before, a story that is a mish-mash of other anime, average art and goofy looking costumes. The story can at times be interesting (the description on MAL doesn't do it justice), but in the end the producers settled for something that was mass-marketable instead of creating something genuinely good. That's not to say it's a bad anime, just that it's nothing to write home about.

I don't want to include read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 2, 2010
To start with I would like to say that I will not compare this anime to its original manga. For two reasons first I have not read it and also because I believe that an anime needs to have a certain likability to both the non-reader and the reader alike.

"What are your three wishes?"

Story: Although I must say, this story was quite different then what I expected going in. If you asked me about Ghost before I watched it I would have asked if you meant that Priest one. So going in I had almost no preconceived notions of what it was about. So read more
I found this review Helpful