MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #959
Sengoku Basara

Sengoku Basara

Alternative Titles

English: Sengoku Basara: Samurai Kings
Japanese: 戦国BASARA

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 2, 2009 to Jun 18, 2009
Duration: 23 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.701 (scored by 30284 users)
Ranked: #9592
Popularity: #391
Members: 63,713
Favorites: 884
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Jul 9, 2009
vadeka
Story.
It's very simple and easy to understand, it's far from being complex and it doesn't try to be. Characters are introduced in a battle with minimal background information.
However, the timesetting and some of the elements that appear are a bit odd but they were added to make it look even better. You shouldn't think of this as a historical anime or you won't like it.

Art.
I liked the art, it looked nice, and the effects used during combat scenes added an extra touch to it.

Sound.
Intro and endings were nice and I was never once disturbed by the background music meaning they did a good job. Use read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 14, 2013
KiokuOfYou
Welcome to the Sengoku era of Japan. An era filled with chaos and turmoil where myriads of brave warriors, united under a banner, steps forward to the beaten warfield. As steel clashes and an orchestra of battlecries tore apart the skies, the earth was torn asunder by the mighty hooves of warhorses and bathed in blood of countless brave men, scarring them with a merciless red hue. In a land where the mighty oppress the weak, the innocent ones can only pray to their gods that their loved ones will return one day by their side, free from duty, free from merciless killing and free read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 20, 2011
Masserati_
"Ready guys? Get your guns on!"

Attention anime fans! Are you tired of your anime not having enough action? Do you want to get the feeling of becoming totally empowered by watching an anime? Or are you simply bored and looking for a series with good fights, likeable characters, and a feeling of manliness so powerful that it would even make some women grow a pair? Then look no further than Sengoku Basara, one hell of a lesson in manliness.

Based on the games by Capcom that put both Dynasty Warriors and Samurai Warriors to shame, Sengoku Basara is a hugely enjoyable over the top anime that read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 17, 2009
Edgewalker67
Sengoku Basara is a shōnen anime set during the Sengoku Jidai, or ‘Warring States period’ of Japanese history, and is based on Capcom’s Playstation 2 video game Devil Kings (known as Sengoku Basara in Japan). It should be noted that Sengoku Basara is a world away from the period it draws its inspiration from – it's not historically accurate by any means. That said, a few features associated with the period, such as the rivalry between Takeda Shingen and Uesugi Kenshin, and the Oda clan’s use of firearms, are present. The characters, for the most part, are all taken from the era, although the manner read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 19, 2010
MasterGear
Sengoku Basara is a relatively modern anime series created by Production I.G, and is based on the series of videogames of the same name in Japan. Despite some historical accuracy as pertaining to the key battles in the Sengoku period, the series takes many departures from the trappings of the period and introduces many outlandish elements, an example being Honda, a gigantic mechanical soldier introduced roughly halfway through the series. This over-the-top approach to Japanese history, however, does not exactly result in a work of great praise. (Note that I myself have not played any of the Sengoku Basara games, so this review is only read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 28, 2009
Albelio
Have you guys ever played Samurai Warriors, or at least Dynasty Warriors? This anime is the adaptation from one of Capcom Game called Sengoku Basara. One part of Sengoku Basara that sticks out from these kinds of games are their SUPER UBER OVER STRENGTH!
Instead of just seeing a "slash, slash, dash, blow!" we'll see "draw six swords at once, super speed, slash of EXPLOSION!" For more information about people in the game type in "Sengoku Period/Sengoku Basara" in wiki for better understanding why "this" or "that" happened in the story.

Story: 7
Easy starting, we started in a battlefeild scence, then there comes the main character, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 1, 2009
mel-hime
Ok ' here we go ' [ date copyright ]
SO...Sengoku BASARA review.Note that this review is ANIME only , as it says , no connection to the games , cause personally I hate when people compare 2 things that have SOMETHING in common as if they should be identical twins. Well no..this anime is BASED on the game , so we should compare them separately.

Story: Not something outta the ordinary , like a big BOMB etc but , heck , it doesn't even need to be that way.It's simple and clean , and still manages to be pure enjoyment , but you'll only understand why read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 18, 2010
Paski
When I first noticed that this anime existed it piqued my interest. i remember playing the game Devil Kings for ps2 (game that the characters are copied from then replicated into this anime) and I recalled the somewhat enjoyable times playing the game with a friend, i must say that my experiences thus far with this anime is falling quite short to my expectations.

Story: Takes place in war-torn feudal Japan, in times of warring feudal lords all struggling for power. Sounds like a great historical anime right? well.... you'd be wrong. Its got a "modern" flare thrown in. and by modern i am referring read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 15, 2009
Credulous
Sengoku BASARA tells the story of fighting countries in an ancient Japan, no, let me rephrase that, it's about lords of countries fighting eachother for power. One of these lords called the devil king of the sixth heaven, note that he's a DEVIL king of the sixth HEAVEN this alone should keep you away from this anime, gained enough power to pose a real threat to the other lords as he ravaged all the lands that stood against him and also the lands that were his allies. Basically this is one crazy devil king of the sixth heaven.

The thing is, he is depicted as read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 5, 2011
BBHood22
I first became curious about Sengoku Basara when it was mentioned and spoofed in the Character Poll Arc of Gintama... I knew when I heard Masamune say at the beginning - "Are you ready guys? Put your guns on! Let's party!" - that this is going to be good...

Main Characters: Date Masamune, Sanada Yukimura, Katakura Kojuurou, Sarutobi Sasuke

Story: 8/10 - nothing deep, really... it's just about power struggle and uniting against one really evil ruler... i liked that they were able to give a background of the characters/rulers involved... at first i thought that the fight scenes were a little exaggerated since the closest samurai read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 23, 2011
Reim_Seranth
Sengoku Basara is an action-historical anime based on the action game "Sengoku Basara". The story revolves around Warring States period in ancient Japan, with warlords and generals fighting for power and territory. For those who prefer to watch an action-dedicated anime which doesn't have any fillers, Sengoku Basara might be suited to your preferences.



Story: 610.
The entire story focuses on dominance and territorial war. The plot is very simple and straightforward. All episodes are filled with ground-breaking battles with generals as the main center of the battle.

The second season (Sengoku Basara 2) offers more depth in story aspects than the first one, but there are still read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 3, 2013
akatsukireunites
This is one of the best anime i have watched. The art, characters, music, and fights are thrilling to watch. I found myself watching the whole season in a Day! This anime is full of action and comedy. One of my favorite anime character of all times Date Masumune is in it. You will find yourself drawn to his cocky demeanor, trust me!! Everyone should give this anime a try!!!
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 10, 2009
nobody_knows
LET"S PARTY!!!!

Is always party time when it come to playing Sengoku BASARA. Crazy game play, crazy combo, or even crazy character with crazy move. Always been pray for this day that BASARA must become the real anime after playing BASARA 2 Heroes with it anime cut scene, and Production I.G has finally deliver it!

The anime biggest weakness was none the other the story and some are complain about that. But from the start, BASARA doesn't even have a single decent story. Maybe i did play the game so i know. Is the same with the game, no need for historical explanation. The start of episode read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 5, 2011
Diamond_Dust
Ah, Sengoku Basara. I have mixed feelings about this one.

The storyline, while interesting enough, has a rather recycled, "more of the same" feel to it. There are historical elements involved, which is really what got me to watch it in the first place, but they don't go very in depth with it. Whether that is a good or a bad thing is for each individual to decide. I happen to think it's a little bit of both. The storyline is simple and easy to follow; almost too easy, in my opinion.

The animation and art was quite good. All of the characters are nice to look read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 9, 2010
Danno
The series was pretty much exactly what I wanted and expected it to be. The animation was very nice and the art style did well in making it seem kinda cool/badass. I was, however, a bit disappointed with the One Piece/DBZ/Bleach style battles. The characters can leap to insane heights and land with no problems, they can shoot energy blasts form their swords to blow hundreds of guys away with one swing, and they pretty much never cut each other. They get in many deadlocks and end up blasting each other into walls with energy. I think that part's kinda silly... I would've preferred if read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 28, 2009
Murbella
Preface: I have not played the game this is based on, nor am I a major in Japanese history, if you feel either or both are required to “get” this series, so be it.

Sengoku Basara is yet another action anime series taking place in ancient Japan that is targeted at young teen males, almost insultingly so. I don’t normally review shows at all, much less after only watching 2 episodes, but in this case, I felt it was my obligation as a member of the human race to try to stop people from making the same mistake I did, watching 2 episodes of this crap.

Story: read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 20, 2009
thedragon529
just started watching, but so far i'm sure anyone can get the gist of the entire series from the first episode. right away, i thought omg, dynasty warriors the anime series. its exactly like it; however its more enjoyable to watch this than play DW. art is good, fun to watch. just don't look for anything past the "gar" and fighting.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 6, 2012
atulgupta
right now it seems like japan is making a lot of animes based on the warring states one of them is sengoku basara to be honest the anime is good i likre sanada yukimura and his conversations with his general the art is very good ans the characters are well made the op and ed are good and if there is one flaw then it's that the story lacks a punch overall it's agood anime and i recommend people to give it a try
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 25, 2012
gunslinger90
if you like density warriors then you will like this anime is 100% just like density warriors exspite is in japan in sted of china.
stroy
the story was very good i liked it its about the enemie facts making a trues to destroy one comoen foe the devil king.
art.
the art was great very beautiful.
sounds.
the opening and closing songs wear very well done. and the voice of jhonny young boch was great so was the voice cast.
characters.
the characters wear great. Dante masamune is such a bad ass you can tell by the way he rides his horse . thairs alot of great characters in this read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 2, 2013
khunter
this is a very very simple anime. But it is loosely based off feudal japan. And i mean very loosely. I know and enjoy japanese history and this is most certainty not it. But that's what makes it so much fun to watch. It really doesn't develop characters but you sure as hell know what each character stands for. Each single character is entertaining to the last one, even the bad guys are fun to watch. And though it is a simple show, it has brief touches of sadness, and anger, and mixes of emotions and you cant help but cheer for sanada or read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices