MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #1007
Bishoujo Senshi Sailor Moon

Bishoujo Senshi Sailor Moon

Alternative Titles

English: Sailor Moon
Synonyms: Pretty Soldier Sailor Moon
Japanese: 美少女戦士セーラームーン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 46
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Mar 7, 1992 to Feb 27, 1993
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.681 (scored by 56597 users)
Ranked: #10072
Popularity: #206
Members: 97,489
Favorites: 3,695
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

comedy magic magical girl romance shoujo
Apr 26, 2011
blushjoy
Season One of Sailor Moon encompasses the best and worst of the entire Sailor Moon franchise.

Sailor Moon introduces us to Usagi at her most comedic: she is not only the heroine but the comic relief of her own show. Over the course of the season we are introduced to Luna, Sailor Mercury, Sailor Mars, Sailor Jupiter and finally Sailor Venus and Artemis.

As others have mentioned, it is the characters, their relationships with one another which really holds the show together. Other shoujo such as Card Captor Sakura, handled the monster of the week nature in a more fun and varied way, but few anime read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 9, 2009
Skadi
It is often true that things experienced in your childhood never seem to live up to the wonderful memories you had of them when experiencing them again as an adult. It was with this state of mind that I entered my viewing of Sailor Moon, mostly from a desire to relive some nostalgia from my youth. I can truly say that it exceeded my expectations and left all those fond memories intact. As with most anime fans my age, Sailor Moon was one of the first series that I watched. It is one of those titles that many people know outside read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 15, 2014
THEAnimeHERO
This review is written from a guy's perspective whose barely getting into shojo & wishes to offer positive insight to new viewers of the series. The first season isn't perfect but has some good moments which makes the series worth watching.

I think most people are already familiar to the concept of Sailor Moon being 5 middle school girls being picked as sailor soldiers/sailor scouts to battle evil demonic forces of the Dark Kingdom which is led by Queen Beryl. These battles are often episodic as Queen's Beryl's demons tend to exploit human desires such as tempting them with love in exchange for their energy. These read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 21, 2007
VK11
Note: This review encompasses the entire series, rather than just the first season. Keep that in mind while reading. Thanks!!

When anime fans start talking about shows that began their interest in japanese animation, many people point to the fact that their first experience with anime (whether they knew it or not at the time) is Sailor Moon. It's one of those anime shows that people fondly remember as the basis of "how to do anime right" for future shows of its kind. Even when comparing it with today's new trends, plots, characters and animation, it is easy to notice why Sailor read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 2, 2014
Xybirk
What makes Sailor Moon so great?

When you look at it in parts, it might not look like anything special. Nitpicking the minor details is not exactly a hard feat. The episodes are formulaic, the plot holes are ridiculous, the girls are over-sexualized for their age, the magical items are just an excuse to sell toys, and the English dub is horrific. But when you look at it as a whole, Sailor Moon is completely mesmerizing.

Sailor Moon's story starts out fairly light. The evil Dark Kingdom is attacking Earth, and it's up to Usagi Tsukino to transform into Sailor Moon and defeat them. The early read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 27, 2013
LuckyKrystal
Bishoujo Senshi Sailor Moon is a staple in the history of anime. It’s a classic that even non-anime fans will recognize and has gone on to become an immensely successful franchise even outside of Japan. But the question is: how does it hold up today?

Even today Sailor Moon is still a very enjoyable anime. Though not without flaws, it’s a classic still worth viewing. Sailor moon is the story of Usagi Tsukino, a normal, clutzy, fourteen year old middle schooler with awful grades. One day she saves a cat from being harassed by some kids. The cat, named Luna, later gives her a magical artifact read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 23, 2009
LeiraSedohr
In my opinion, Sailor Moon is one of the best anime in the 90s. Only because I grew up watching it and loving it in english.

Sailor Moon is the longest magical girl anime series. 200 episodes. If you want to watch this, be prepare. With a repetitive story line, gender confusion, too many catch phrases and puns, you just might be in for a show.

In the English dub, their voices are alright in the first 2 seasons, but in the third and fourth, Serena (Usagi) and Amy's (Ami) voices are horrible. Not to mention that the English dubbing doesn't even stick to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 15, 2013
Decoys
“Moon tiara, magic!” “Mercury bubbles, blast!” “Mars fire, ignite!” “Jupiter thunder, crash!” “Venus crescent beam, smash!” Remember these words being shouted by the girls at recess or gym time during elementary school? I do. As a kid I’ve seen a couple of the English dubbed episodes when it aired on TV but I never really understood the Sailor Moon hype and rave during that time, I was more into that Pokemon and Digimon craze. I decided watched all the other seasons when I was older, just not the first one for some reason. So I decided to check out the first season in the English read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 23, 2008
Makaiei
The first part of the legendary series, Sailor Moon season one, is what many of us anime lovers watched that sparked our interest in Japanese animation... it definitely sparked mine. To those who love Shoujo series or Shounen series; it didn't matter with Sailor Moon. Sailor Moon is the basis to anime today, along with many other popular series like Dragonball, Astro Boy, Tenchi Muyo, etc. But anyway, back to reviewing the series.

Story - Naoko Takeuchi couldn't have done any more of a better job. This gets a ten out of ten. Why? If you notice that many other Mahou Shoujo series are EXACTLY alike read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 3, 2008
Koru-chan
Sailor Moon, first made as a manga by Naoko Takeuchi, is one of the first anime to come to America that was actually recognized for what it was, all previous dubs of Japanese anime flying completely under the radar for the ignorant masses. Essentially Dragon Ball Z for girls, and coming to America around the exact same time, it was laughed at as a younger girls' anime. This was partially true, especially in the first season, but as the series grew and more seasons were added, many themes were added that are definitely for an older audience. As it is, this review read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 14, 2012
Solemnmind
To the majority of all Anime fans, whether Sailor Moon is good enough to charm a little girl off her feet or appeal to an older audience seeking nostalgia is a question of utter irrelevance. What most people should be asking themselves is whether or not it can actually appeal to a male or adult audience, and after having seen all 46 episodes I'm pretty sure that it can.

Now, I do admit that I used to watch this as a child, but the only parts of it I could remember before I re-visited it were the transformation sequences, Sailor Mars and the Swedish dub read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 25, 2010
linearrush
This review will talk about the first season of Sailor Moon.

I have to thank Sailor Moon for one thing and that was getting me to watch anime. I was about nine years old when I first watched it on "NBC" and despite the face that the show's heroes were teenage girls, I got hooked.

Fast forward nearly eleven years later and I decided to re-watch it in its native (Japanese) language and format. It was far better than the one that I watched on NBC.

Simply put, if you can get over the weird transformations, this season is alot of fun to watch. All the main read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 10, 2009
allegro665
Oh Sailor Moon, wherever shall I start?

This anime was fantastic for its time period and should be rediscovered by all its fans of yester-year, even if we twenty-somethings admit to watching it with shame. There's just something about this series that makes it amazing. Even with its spliced-in cutscenes and repetitive plot and catchphrases, the characters stick with you and evolve just enough to make them interesting. The Sailor Moon series may not have been a work of artistic genius, but it's incredibly enjoyable, a pioneer of its time, and an anime cultural icon. Some day when you're sitting around the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 29, 2007
bridget_lalala
In my opinion, this anime is the best one out there for a person of my interests. There's tons to learn from it, and the characters blend really well. Usagi and Rei have their own little conflict, Ami is the brain who bails Usagi out of everything, Matoko is the brilliant chef who brings goodies for everyone, and Minako is the one who dreams of being a star. These five best friends, along with Mamoru, Usagi's boyfriend, transform into super soldiers here to save the world. Usagi, who is also the Moon Princess, is the leader as Sailor Moon. Ami, the second sailor soldier found, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 11, 2011
Amane8009
Sailor moon was my very first anime. I used to anticipate coming home after school, turning on the t.v and flopping on my bed to watch it.

Story 10/10
I do admit the the story line although repititive it flows rather well. People need to stop judging this on todays Anime scales, this was made in 1992(and dubbed couple years after) so people need to look at this as one the GREATEST anime of the '90s. Although it is the same girl gets magic powers,girl gets teamates, and girls try to defeat the enemy together. Its your basic storyline, my favorite take on it is, that this read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 9, 2014
Flexicute
Sailor Moon is not only the most influential magical girl series of all time, it stands today as one of the major pillars of anime. Throughout the world, girls as well as boys were enchanted by the five sailor senshi; living normal, inconspicuous lives at first, then transforming into a magical team to fight evil. It was a stable for kids my age at the time, but the series has become such a classic that if I had a daughter, I would introduce her to classic Sailor Moon first above anything else. Sailor Moon is a better role model than Barbie and most other girl read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 22, 2010
roriconfan
ANIME NOSTALGIA SERIES
Full lit of the review series can be found on this page, 3rd post from bottom:
http://anidb.net/perl-bin/animedb.pl?uid=251338&show=userpage&do=blog&blogid=29009&page=0

TEASER:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n8d08Tu_KQk

NOTICE: This review includes all seasons of the franchise. Reading this is like reading all the seasons.

Ah, good ol’ pretty sailor warriors! This is not only the first mahou shoujo I ever got to watch, but it is also the longest ever made in the genre… with the same continuity that is. Plus despite being the show most other mahou shoujo copied thereafter, it remains in the tops because very few managed to have its variety and vividness.

ART SECTION: 6/10 [Bishoujos in Sailor Suits.]

The first thing to notice read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 7, 2010
AnyAnimePrincess
I remember watching sailor moon when I was little and it was the one thing that nearly all girls wanted to be, a girl super hero!!
The story is very good as the main character (Usagi/Serena) is a very, very clumsy girl who you'lll probably think will never achieve high espectations. However she ends up chosen to be Sailor moon, a sailor soldier of love and justice!!
She is joined by other sailor soilders who she meets during the anime.
There is also some romance but you can find that out for yourself!
This is definately for people who like the magic girl/ super hero type animes.
Also there are read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 9, 2010
angardia
As been mentioned before , Sailor moon was my first anime to watch , i heard about it from a friend of mine many years ago but i could watch it in turkish so i understood about 1% of what been spoken about but i waited every single day just to watch a new episode. ( no youtube back then Q.Q)

Contain spoiler @#@#@

Good :

1.This anime really funny :))) Lots of funny moments , embarrassing moments and just silly pranks and jokes make it easy to watch and something to wait for.
2. Simple and easy to watch - If we remove all the transformation and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 8, 2009
TrueVampire
This anime is absolutly amazing! It's is definitly fun to watch and even one of the most recognizable animes of all! It's full of comedy,romance,and my personal favorite, Lots of sailor senshi magic! Sailor moon was always an anime that kept me laughing! It makes you want to watch all the episodes! The characters are so unique in their own special way and they each have a style and personality all of their own! Each character also has their own special powers too! I have to say that it is probably the most amazing anime I've watched and it really is awesome! Any fan of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices