Ranked #998

Bishoujo Senshi Sailor Moon

Alternative Titles

English: Sailor Moon
Synonyms: Pretty Soldier Sailor Moon
Japanese: 美少女戦士セーラームーン


Type: TV
Episodes: 46
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Mar 7, 1992 to Feb 27, 1993
Premiered: Spring 1992
Broadcast: Unknown
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company


Score: 7.701 (scored by 68,903 users)
Ranked: #9982
Popularity: #280
Members: 122,017
Favorites: 4,603
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Oct 10, 2015
I strongly dislike the original Sailor Moon series for many reasons. Let's get the biggest problem out of the way, it's a pretty predictable and repetitive show.For example Sailor Moon likes to make twists, about things it already showed in the first episode,which is pretty pathetic and lazy writing.Do you want to know the most predictable and annoying part about Sailor Moon is?The filler, which extends to almost 25 episodes.In other words nothing important happens for more than half of the time, and when something actually happens, it's a bunch of cliches pandering to the time period. Not that I have a problem with pandering, read more
I found this review Helpful
May 5, 2015
Back in the 1990s, Sailor Moon was the queen bee of popular shoujo titles by helping to popularize the magical girl genre to international fans and being the first series within the genre to feature a magical girl fighting against the forces of evil instead of using her magic to do fun and mundane things that older titles like Creamy Mami did. I was a sucker for the series when I was a kid during that period as I watched the butchered American syndicated version of the series released by Dic during the mid-90s. Our heroine of focus here is klutzy and book-dumb middle schooler read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 9, 2009
It is often true that things experienced in your childhood never seem to live up to the wonderful memories you had of them when experiencing them again as an adult. It was with this state of mind that I entered my viewing of Sailor Moon, mostly from a desire to relive some nostalgia from my youth. I can truly say that it exceeded my expectations and left all those fond memories intact. As with most anime fans my age, Sailor Moon was one of the first series that I watched. It is one of those titles that many people know outside read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 21, 2007
Note: This review encompasses the entire series, rather than just the first season. Keep that in mind while reading. Thanks!!

When anime fans start talking about shows that began their interest in japanese animation, many people point to the fact that their first experience with anime (whether they knew it or not at the time) is Sailor Moon. It's one of those anime shows that people fondly remember as the basis of "how to do anime right" for future shows of its kind. Even when comparing it with today's new trends, plots, characters and animation, it is easy to notice why Sailor read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 15, 2014
This review is written from a guy's perspective whose barely getting into shojo & wishes to offer positive insight to new viewers of the series. The first season isn't perfect but has some good moments which makes the series worth watching.

I think most people are already familiar to the concept of Sailor Moon being 5 middle school girls being picked as sailor soldiers/sailor scouts to battle evil demonic forces of the Dark Kingdom which is led by Queen Beryl. These battles are often episodic as Queen's Beryl's demons tend to exploit human desires such as tempting them with love in exchange for their energy. These read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 29, 2014
There’s a mindset I get going into a show that I will not get the full package of what it has to offer if I don’t watch all of it starting from the beginning, then proceeding to the end. Shows are like novels in that sense. Even though the first few chapters may seem boring or dull, there may be something later on that will make the time reading the entire novel worthwhile.

With that said, I just finished all of Sailor Moon.

The only reason I ever started watching Sailor Moon was because this show appeared on a lot of “essential” anime lists (and having started read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 26, 2011
Season One of Sailor Moon encompasses the best and worst of the entire Sailor Moon franchise.

Sailor Moon introduces us to Usagi at her most comedic: she is not only the heroine but the comic relief of her own show. Over the course of the season we are introduced to Luna, Sailor Mercury, Sailor Mars, Sailor Jupiter and finally Sailor Venus and Artemis.

As others have mentioned, it is the characters, their relationships with one another which really holds the show together. Other shoujo such as Card Captor Sakura, handled the monster of the week nature in a more fun and varied way, but few anime read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 2, 2014
What makes Sailor Moon so great?

When you look at it in parts, it might not look like anything special. Nitpicking the minor details is not exactly a hard feat. The episodes are formulaic, the plot holes are ridiculous, the girls are over-sexualized for their age, the magical items are just an excuse to sell toys, and the English dub is horrific. But when you look at it as a whole, Sailor Moon is completely mesmerizing.

Sailor Moon's story starts out fairly light. The evil Dark Kingdom is attacking Earth, and it's up to Usagi Tsukino to transform into Sailor Moon and defeat them. The early read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 27, 2013
Bishoujo Senshi Sailor Moon is a staple in the history of anime. It’s a classic that even non-anime fans will recognize and has gone on to become an immensely successful franchise even outside of Japan. But the question is: how does it hold up today?

Even today Sailor Moon is still a very enjoyable anime. Though not without flaws, it’s a classic still worth viewing. Sailor moon is the story of Usagi Tsukino, a normal, clutzy, fourteen year old middle schooler with awful grades. One day she saves a cat from being harassed by some kids. The cat, named Luna, later gives her a magical artifact read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 14, 2012
To the majority of all Anime fans, whether Sailor Moon is good enough to charm a little girl off her feet or appeal to an older audience seeking nostalgia is a question of utter irrelevance. What most people should be asking themselves is whether or not it can actually appeal to a male or adult audience, and after having seen all 46 episodes I'm pretty sure that it can.

Now, I do admit that I used to watch this as a child, but the only parts of it I could remember before I re-visited it were the transformation sequences, Sailor Mars and the Swedish dub read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 28, 2013
Welcome to my 100th review. I'm sorry that I wasn't more honest about this coming up, I could say it in my dreams, but my thoughts were about to short circuit as I thought about what anime I could review for the occasion. My heart was a kaleidoscope as I pondered this question. I looked to the twinkling of the stars to foretell the future of my reviews. Obviously, it had to be Sailor Moon. While I'm at it, I'm going to do one of those things that some people keep whining at me for not doing. That's right, I'm going to look at the read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 23, 2009
In my opinion, Sailor Moon is one of the best anime in the 90s. Only because I grew up watching it and loving it in english.

Sailor Moon is the longest magical girl anime series. 200 episodes. If you want to watch this, be prepare. With a repetitive story line, gender confusion, too many catch phrases and puns, you just might be in for a show.

In the English dub, their voices are alright in the first 2 seasons, but in the third and fourth, Serena (Usagi) and Amy's (Ami) voices are horrible. Not to mention that the English dubbing doesn't even stick to read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 23, 2008
The first part of the legendary series, Sailor Moon season one, is what many of us anime lovers watched that sparked our interest in Japanese animation... it definitely sparked mine. To those who love Shoujo series or Shounen series; it didn't matter with Sailor Moon. Sailor Moon is the basis to anime today, along with many other popular series like Dragonball, Astro Boy, Tenchi Muyo, etc. But anyway, back to reviewing the series.

Story - Naoko Takeuchi couldn't have done any more of a better job. This gets a ten out of ten. Why? If you notice that many other Mahou Shoujo series are EXACTLY alike read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 9, 2014
Sailor Moon is not only the most influential magical girl series of all time, it stands today as one of the major pillars of anime. Throughout the world, girls as well as boys were enchanted by the five sailor senshi; living normal, inconspicuous lives at first, then transforming into a magical team to fight evil. It was a stable for kids my age at the time, but the series has become such a classic that if I had a daughter, I would introduce her to classic Sailor Moon first above anything else. Sailor Moon is a better role model than Barbie and most other girl read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 11, 2011
Sailor moon was my very first anime. I used to anticipate coming home after school, turning on the t.v and flopping on my bed to watch it.

Story 10/10
I do admit the the story line although repititive it flows rather well. People need to stop judging this on todays Anime scales, this was made in 1992(and dubbed couple years after) so people need to look at this as one the GREATEST anime of the '90s. Although it is the same girl gets magic powers,girl gets teamates, and girls try to defeat the enemy together. Its your basic storyline, my favorite take on it is, that this read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 10, 2009
Oh Sailor Moon, wherever shall I start?

This anime was fantastic for its time period and should be rediscovered by all its fans of yester-year, even if we twenty-somethings admit to watching it with shame. There's just something about this series that makes it amazing. Even with its spliced-in cutscenes and repetitive plot and catchphrases, the characters stick with you and evolve just enough to make them interesting. The Sailor Moon series may not have been a work of artistic genius, but it's incredibly enjoyable, a pioneer of its time, and an anime cultural icon. Some day when you're sitting around the read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 29, 2007
In my opinion, this anime is the best one out there for a person of my interests. There's tons to learn from it, and the characters blend really well. Usagi and Rei have their own little conflict, Ami is the brain who bails Usagi out of everything, Matoko is the brilliant chef who brings goodies for everyone, and Minako is the one who dreams of being a star. These five best friends, along with Mamoru, Usagi's boyfriend, transform into super soldiers here to save the world. Usagi, who is also the Moon Princess, is the leader as Sailor Moon. Ami, the second sailor soldier found, read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 9, 2010
As been mentioned before , Sailor moon was my first anime to watch , i heard about it from a friend of mine many years ago but i could watch it in turkish so i understood about 1% of what been spoken about but i waited every single day just to watch a new episode. ( no youtube back then Q.Q)

Contain spoiler @#@#@

Good :

1.This anime really funny :))) Lots of funny moments , embarrassing moments and just silly pranks and jokes make it easy to watch and something to wait for.
2. Simple and easy to watch - If we remove all the transformation and read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 18, 2011
Sailor Moon, I remember this from my childhood and when I look back to it, ijust think...................'WHAT THE HECK WAS I THINKING'. I was young then, i didn't understand the story and i really wish i still didn't. This show is just an insult to the magical girl genre! OK, so it's got some backing plot, but come on, it dragged on for like 200 episodes and the only slightly interesting development was that she grew wings. The main character is just.........well let's just say a loaf of bread has more I.Q. points than her.

Pleas, if you enjoy 'magical girl' don't torture yourself read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 7, 2010
I remember watching sailor moon when I was little and it was the one thing that nearly all girls wanted to be, a girl super hero!!
The story is very good as the main character (Usagi/Serena) is a very, very clumsy girl who you'lll probably think will never achieve high espectations. However she ends up chosen to be Sailor moon, a sailor soldier of love and justice!!
She is joined by other sailor soilders who she meets during the anime.
There is also some romance but you can find that out for yourself!
This is definately for people who like the magic girl/ super hero type animes.
Also there are read more
I found this review Helpful