MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #2078
Ai Yori Aoshi

Ai Yori Aoshi

Alternative Titles

English: Ai Yori Aoshi
Synonyms: Bluer Than Indigo
Japanese: 藍より青し

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 11, 2002 to Sep 26, 2002
Duration: 23 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.301 (scored by 26381 users)
Ranked: #20782
Popularity: #555
Members: 48,143
Favorites: 277
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

comedy drama harem romance
Apr 23, 2008
Nightscream
The story itself isn't out of the ordinary......boy meets girl, falls in love and another 4 girls do the same. However, it is good the way the story develops around the two main characters. The male lead isn't an asshole nor an idiot and that makes him a likable character. The female lead is.....interesting......She doesn't know anything else besides her love for the male lead and it's kinda interesting to see how the story develops around her.

There is no tragedy to make the plot a little more complicated (except the facts concerning the past of the main male character which I won't spoil for you), read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 4, 2009
Hyduk87
Why do I rate this anime so highly? Why do I give a 10 in nearly every category? Well, it's simple. It's an awesome show! In my own personal taste, in what I liked to see in an anime, this was what hit the spot. I'll review this as I have a few others, by category then by my overall take on it.

**Story**
First of all, the story. In my opinion, one of the 2 most important aspects of any anime. You can have crazy action, you can have ecchi-ness and nudity, whatever, but without an actual story that read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 1, 2009
burntlettuce
Ai Yori Aoshi is a very straight forward one dimensional anime. There isn't anything else i could say to describe this anime other that. It's a typical lovey dovey through and through, but nothing else.

It's story is incredibly simple. It's a typical harem anime in the sense that the main male character is surrounded by five or six females who all have feelings for him. However it is very evident in the beginning who he will end up with. The story it's self does not know what it wants to be. It doesn't know whether it wants to be a romance anime that specifically focuses read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 30, 2013
HybridMedia
Once again, I’m dipping my toe into the pool of harem anime and I’m still very much against the genre as most of it is just unfunny, uninspired, sophomoric and juvenile shows about what annoying girl gets to be with some generic guy and the dumb-ass antics they go through. I may come out as being cynical towards it but yet I got every reason to and I don’t know about this one, as I don’t feel that cynical towards this title mainly because of its story. So what is it about, you ask? Oh, did I mention that the title in English is actually read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 19, 2014
Simonian
In a nutshell, Ai Yori Aoshi is a "feel good" kind of anime. It's primary strength resides in its pure, innocent and lighthearted storytelling that revolves around the unconditional love shared between 1 man and his 5 female companions. While this kind of story is naive (slice of life tag, what?) as in real life a scenario like this would be highly unlikely and accompanied by more impure feelings (such as lust), I still think that this anime has plenty of good points which I will go over section by section in this review.

STORY (7/10) :

As outlined in the synopsis, the story follows the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 6, 2010
roriconfan
NOTICE: This review extends to the sequel for this series, titled Ai Yori Aoshi – Enishi . There are hardly any differences between them and so they can easily be seen as one.

Although it begins as another ecchi comedy, Ai Yori Aoshi stands out by being more focused on romance rather than vulgar erotic humor. Something quite rare coming from a studio such J.C. Staff, infamous for its lolicons and softporns. Other than that, we have another dorky male living with several ultra sexy women and do nothing else other than making a fool out of himself. I pretty much got tired of this concept read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 6, 2013
ironsakura
This is so far my favorite anime that I have seen so far. Its the kind of anime you don't want to end, because you want to watch more of it lol. Its a great story of a guy and a girl who has pretty much been waiting her whole life to be with him. It is technically a "harem romance" but it is really close to just a pure romance, because even though the main character is surrounded by girls, it is very clear who his love is.

Like i said earlier, the story is very good about a girl who has been waiting read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 4, 2010
Helium-Queenx
Ai Yori Aoishi is good, if you're looking for a light-hearted happy anime where two people basically chase each other down, to what appears to be at no avail.

Aoi is basically your typical hopeless romantic, prepared to give her heart and soul to Kaoru-sama, who is much less than interested, with sporadic bursts of feelings for her at his own convience. The characters aren't very well developed in terms of their personalities and what makes them so in love, all we really know is that Kaoru has many girls attracted to him, and Aoi is relentlessly competing for Kaoru's attention. You know where it's read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 13, 2008
SimeraKun
This IS the best ROMANTIC Seinen anime ever.....

To me the story feels like Love Hina yet more Japanese, the main plot is that Kaoru is a student and by chance meets a girl who is lost at the Tokyo Station, he helps her and so have it she is going near where he lives, Kaoru helps the girl (Aoi) out to find the house but yet to find a empty plot, so the note she had was wrong, it starts to rain and Kaoru lets Aoi come to his place to keep dry then he finds out who he is and thats the person Aoi read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 4, 2009
sailorlitakino
Very good anime. I liked it. If you liked Ah! My Goddess, you'll like this. Unless you don't like ecchi.

Story:
The main storyline did drift off at some points, and there were non-important side stories that had no real point but overall the story was very unique.

Art:
The art was very bright but the animation was not the best I've seen.

Sound:
The opening theme was abosutely beautiful with an ok ending theme. The two special ending themes were also just ok. Didn't care too much for the insert song. The background score is nice but I wouldn't listen to it without watching the anime. The vocal cast was read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 28, 2013
SweetKotomi
I'd like to say Ai Yori Aoshi was a fantastic anime. Both Kaoru and Aoi faced many obstacles that prevented their happiness, but in the end the true feelings are much stronger than obstacles.
The message is very clear here and to me always staying true to ones feelings will overcome almost any obstacle that is put to prevent happiness.

Story: I liked the first part of the introduction story regarding the Sakuraba and Hanabishi family. It was interesting to see every character's background story covered in detail. In my opinion the story did not lack anything, it had comedy, romance, and serious moments as read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 23, 2008
hastij04
I actually liked this anime and that surprises me. The story starts as a one on one romance and then turns into a harem type. I thought I would hate this turn of events, but it grows on you. It has the typical character types, but it still works nicely. It was funny without taking away from the central love story. I've watched the sub and the dub versions and I still prefer the dub even with Tina Foster's voice. Southern accents don't belong in anime. The ending was okay, but it didn't tie up everything.

I watched this after seeing Love Hina and I still read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 26, 2010
red_888
Ai Yori Aoshi is an "ecchi" type of anime meaning it includes naughty scenes, sexy characters and at the near end of the series, it progresses to maturity.

Kaoru, a clumsy guy met Aoi which happens to be his fiancee to his surprise! What's happening in his life right now is nothing to complain about, why would he even dare to complain when at his doorstep a lovely & very charming girl is claiming that he is her husband to be? But it all goes down to a clan he left for a painful memories of his childhood...

Can Aoi make him forget that past? Is her read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 20, 2012
ferris
A love story between a boy and a girl. There are other girls involved as well but the main plot is about the main male and female characters. The one good side about this story is that the male character isn't an idiot or a pervert. He is a normal likable college student.

If you like romantic stories with happy ending then you may enjoy watching this anime.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 18, 2010
Mugen900
When I watch this anime, I feel touch by the way the romance goes, this is probably the only anime (that I know of) were the lead male character actually ends up with his childhood friend ( he only met her once as kids) and the lead male did actually lived up as to what he is about. Also,I really do admire the lead female character for living up as a "Yamato Nadeshiku," the two are a perfect match. So how do I rate this:

Story: Very Good 8

I like the romance on which the lead female character is so in love with the male lead read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 14, 2010
Cern
Ai Yori Aoshi was a very nice surprise for me, this anime masterpiece will surely get the heart of any romantic soul on this planet.

Characters are nicely done with great personalities, each having a story of their own.

The graphic design of the anime is very nice, buildings, trees, people, there is hardly anything to pick up as bad from it.

Thse story is very comedial and, what's the main thing, very romantic. The determination of both main characters, their way of direcly expressing feelings for one another, suporting each other - that is the best thing about this anime. In todays stressfull world it is the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 29, 2008
Arcangel92
First of all let me say this.... I HATE KIMONOS.. i might be a little biased but i can't stand the main character she disgusted me in every way.

OK now then this anime is basically the meeting of 2 friends who haven't seen each other for a long time, when they meet, the boy starts to like the girl and well what do you know? that's it, I didn't like the romance on this anime at all most of the characters are dumb and just there isn't any point on watching it.

I think it needed more plot and more interesting characters
o yeah and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 22, 2012
DeadmanAnarchy
Ai Yori Aoshi is like your typlical love story; boy meets girl, they fall in love. . . but then four other girls do the same. What?

What makes this story different is that the main male character, Kaoru, is really sweet and he is a one girl kind of guy. True, he is tempted by his housemates a lot but at the end of the day he still truly loves his fiancé and it’s not hard to tell either.

As for the main female character Aoi, she’s basically obsessed with her husband to be and has spent basically her whole life training to be a perfect read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 15, 2014
Shamethat
(This is my first review on MyAnimeList. It will not be based on events that take place in the second season.)

OK, so while I'm rather late to the party with this anime, I feel like I should share my thoughts on it because I don't think the reviews made so far have really done the show justice. Apparently this is either the best, worst, or most mediocre romance anime ever, all in the extremes. In reality, this show isn't as black and white as that.

Ai Yori Aoshi has two devastating problems at its core, and these problems together only intensify in the damage they do. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 15, 2010
bob32561
This is a really good, straight up love story. A guy and girl are madly in love but due to certain circumstances they cannot be together. Toss in a couple other love interests and some goody goody love scenes and you've got it.
This anime was a good break from the usual magical uber ecchi harem series that i've seen, (not that they weren't entertaining). Its a very realistic story with normal people and situations (mostly).
Definitely one for those romantics out there.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices