Ranked #2278

Ai Yori Aoshi

Alternative Titles

English: Ai Yori Aoshi
Synonyms: Bluer Than Indigo
Japanese: 藍より青し


Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 11, 2002 to Sep 26, 2002
Premiered: Spring 2002
Broadcast: Unknown
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company


Score: 7.271 (scored by 31,100 users)
Ranked: #22782
Popularity: #721
Members: 58,242
Favorites: 317
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Apr 23, 2008
The story itself isn't out of the ordinary......boy meets girl, falls in love and another 4 girls do the same. However, it is good the way the story develops around the two main characters. The male lead isn't an asshole nor an idiot and that makes him a likable character. The female lead is.....interesting......She doesn't know anything else besides her love for the male lead and it's kinda interesting to see how the story develops around her.

There is no tragedy to make the plot a little more complicated (except the facts concerning the past of the main male character which I won't spoil for you), read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 1, 2009
Ai Yori Aoshi is a very straight forward one dimensional anime. There isn't anything else i could say to describe this anime other that. It's a typical lovey dovey through and through, but nothing else.

It's story is incredibly simple. It's a typical harem anime in the sense that the main male character is surrounded by five or six females who all have feelings for him. However it is very evident in the beginning who he will end up with. The story it's self does not know what it wants to be. It doesn't know whether it wants to be a romance anime that specifically focuses read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 1, 2015
I had no idea what this was going to be. I knew that it was supposed to take place after the original series, Ai Yori Aoshi, had finished. The Story & ending was a a Hugel et-down for me. It left a lot of questions unanswered and made me wonder if there was going to be a Second Series that would tie up all of the loose ends from the first two. You can't have a series like this without resolving what the gist of it was SUPPOSED to be, at least from my point of view. If you don't understand what I am read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 17, 2015
I never thought that i came across an anime that is almost has the same meaning as 'cliche' . Don't know why but , whenever i watch Ai Yori Aoshi , i always feel like i have seen this type of characters , storyline etc. Just can't put my brain into it . Then , i suddenly realise that what i was thinking about is that this anime is so cliche .

The story is like any other romance genre where a guy named Kaoru Hanabishi goes to college and then went home . On his way to the train station , he then meet a read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 16, 2014
An uncommon plot: boy and girl fall in love, and boy and girl are loyal to each other throughout the whole series. It doesn't deserve to be called a harem for that in my opinion. Yes, there are several other female characters, all of whom seem to have feelings for the male lead, but he (as I said) is pretty kind about things. The female lead is positively beyond human--patient, kind, and generally perfect to a point that is impossible for a real person. It's a happy, uplifting show. Absolutely wonderful.
I found this review Helpful
Feb 4, 2009
Why do I rate this anime so highly? Why do I give a 10 in nearly every category? Well, it's simple. It's an awesome show! In my own personal taste, in what I liked to see in an anime, this was what hit the spot. I'll review this as I have a few others, by category then by my overall take on it.

First of all, the story. In my opinion, one of the 2 most important aspects of any anime. You can have crazy action, you can have ecchi-ness and nudity, whatever, but without an actual story that read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 6, 2013
This is so far my favorite anime that I have seen so far. Its the kind of anime you don't want to end, because you want to watch more of it lol. Its a great story of a guy and a girl who has pretty much been waiting her whole life to be with him. It is technically a "harem romance" but it is really close to just a pure romance, because even though the main character is surrounded by girls, it is very clear who his love is.

Like i said earlier, the story is very good about a girl who has been waiting read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 19, 2014
In a nutshell, Ai Yori Aoshi is a "feel good" kind of anime. It's primary strength resides in its pure, innocent and lighthearted storytelling that revolves around the unconditional love shared between 1 man and his 5 female companions. While this kind of story is naive (slice of life tag, what?) as in real life a scenario like this would be highly unlikely and accompanied by more impure feelings (such as lust), I still think that this anime has plenty of good points which I will go over section by section in this review.

STORY (7/10) :

As outlined in the synopsis, the story follows the read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 13, 2008
This IS the best ROMANTIC Seinen anime ever.....

To me the story feels like Love Hina yet more Japanese, the main plot is that Kaoru is a student and by chance meets a girl who is lost at the Tokyo Station, he helps her and so have it she is going near where he lives, Kaoru helps the girl (Aoi) out to find the house but yet to find a empty plot, so the note she had was wrong, it starts to rain and Kaoru lets Aoi come to his place to keep dry then he finds out who he is and thats the person Aoi read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 22, 2012
Ai Yori Aoshi is like your typlical love story; boy meets girl, they fall in love. . . but then four other girls do the same. What?

What makes this story different is that the main male character, Kaoru, is really sweet and he is a one girl kind of guy. True, he is tempted by his housemates a lot but at the end of the day he still truly loves his fiancé and it’s not hard to tell either.

As for the main female character Aoi, she’s basically obsessed with her husband to be and has spent basically her whole life training to be a perfect read more
I found this review Helpful
May 28, 2013
I'd like to say Ai Yori Aoshi was a fantastic anime. Both Kaoru and Aoi faced many obstacles that prevented their happiness, but in the end the true feelings are much stronger than obstacles.
The message is very clear here and to me always staying true to ones feelings will overcome almost any obstacle that is put to prevent happiness.

Story: I liked the first part of the introduction story regarding the Sakuraba and Hanabishi family. It was interesting to see every character's background story covered in detail. In my opinion the story did not lack anything, it had comedy, romance, and serious moments as read more
I found this review Helpful
May 30, 2013
Once again, I’m dipping my toe into the pool of harem anime and I’m still very much against the genre as most of it is just unfunny, uninspired, sophomoric and juvenile shows about what annoying girl gets to be with some generic guy and the dumb-ass antics they go through. I may come out as being cynical towards it but yet I got every reason to and I don’t know about this one, as I don’t feel that cynical towards this title mainly because of its story. So what is it about, you ask? Oh, did I mention that the title in English is actually read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 18, 2010
When I watch this anime, I feel touch by the way the romance goes, this is probably the only anime (that I know of) were the lead male character actually ends up with his childhood friend ( he only met her once as kids) and the lead male did actually lived up as to what he is about. Also,I really do admire the lead female character for living up as a "Yamato Nadeshiku," the two are a perfect match. So how do I rate this:

Story: Very Good 8

I like the romance on which the lead female character is so in love with the male lead read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 26, 2010
Ai Yori Aoshi is an "ecchi" type of anime meaning it includes naughty scenes, sexy characters and at the near end of the series, it progresses to maturity.

Kaoru, a clumsy guy met Aoi which happens to be his fiancee to his surprise! What's happening in his life right now is nothing to complain about, why would he even dare to complain when at his doorstep a lovely & very charming girl is claiming that he is her husband to be? But it all goes down to a clan he left for a painful memories of his childhood...

Can Aoi make him forget that past? Is her read more
I found this review Helpful
May 4, 2010
Ai Yori Aoishi is good, if you're looking for a light-hearted happy anime where two people basically chase each other down, to what appears to be at no avail.

Aoi is basically your typical hopeless romantic, prepared to give her heart and soul to Kaoru-sama, who is much less than interested, with sporadic bursts of feelings for her at his own convience. The characters aren't very well developed in terms of their personalities and what makes them so in love, all we really know is that Kaoru has many girls attracted to him, and Aoi is relentlessly competing for Kaoru's attention. You know where it's read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 23, 2008
I actually liked this anime and that surprises me. The story starts as a one on one romance and then turns into a harem type. I thought I would hate this turn of events, but it grows on you. It has the typical character types, but it still works nicely. It was funny without taking away from the central love story. I've watched the sub and the dub versions and I still prefer the dub even with Tina Foster's voice. Southern accents don't belong in anime. The ending was okay, but it didn't tie up everything.

I watched this after seeing Love Hina and I still read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 20, 2012
A love story between a boy and a girl. There are other girls involved as well but the main plot is about the main male and female characters. The one good side about this story is that the male character isn't an idiot or a pervert. He is a normal likable college student.

If you like romantic stories with happy ending then you may enjoy watching this anime.
I found this review Helpful
May 4, 2012
The story line is a rather interesting version of Romeo and Juliet almost. A boy who isn’t liked because he denounced his name and a girl who wishes nothing more then to be with him even against her parents wishes. It’s a rather romantic story, and then they have to add everyone else into the mix and well, we get this. Not to say this show is bad, its just… it gets dull after a while with pretty much every trick in the book being done to keep the two apart from roommates that get in a way to time they have separated from each read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 26, 2014
The story to Ai Yori Aoshi isn't very complicated, but it's sweet. If you like simple love stories, don't care about thinking through the layers of story, and just want to enjoy some good ol' fashioned sap, then you'll like this.

There are somewhat frustrating love triangles, and obstacles/antics that get in the way of the main characters finding happiness/alone time, but it's just your formulaic approach to a typical happy ending.

I liked this anime because it was a happy, easy-going, and romantic story. I had trouble getting through the fillers sometimes, because I just wanted to watch the relationship between the main characters read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 15, 2014
(This is my first review on MyAnimeList. It will not be based on events that take place in the second season.)

OK, so while I'm rather late to the party with this anime, I feel like I should share my thoughts on it because I don't think the reviews made so far have really done the show justice. Apparently this is either the best, worst, or most mediocre romance anime ever, all in the extremes. In reality, this show isn't as black and white as that.

Ai Yori Aoshi has two devastating problems at its core, and these problems together only intensify in the damage they do. read more
I found this review Helpful