Ranked #102

Tonari no Totoro

Alternative Titles

English: My Neighbor Totoro
Synonyms: My Neighbour Totoro
Japanese: となりのトトロ


Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 16, 1988
Source: Original
Duration: 1 hr. 26 min.
Rating: G - All Ages
L represents licensing company


Score: 8.501 (scored by 134,483 users)
Ranked: #1022
Popularity: #123
Members: 194,004
Favorites: 2,372
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Nov 18, 2015
A beautiful masterpiece that explores the world of two young girls. There names are Satsuka and Mae, they have just moved to the country side with their dad while their mom, who is ill is in the hospital. Underneath the stress and playfulness of these two girls lies a world all their own. it just happens to be inhabited by totoro's and cat buses.

"My Neighbor Totoro" is Miyazaki's fourth feature film and just like his others it is beautiful to look at and has a charming story, a bit more melancholy then his other works though. Not a whole lot happens in this film read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 27, 2015
My Neighbor Totoro is the flagship of Ghibli and one of the first Japanese animated feature films to receive wide critical acclaim in the west. As much as its successor 'Spirited Away' capitalized further in terms of revenue, Totoro stands as one of the most influential anime, with the ubiquitousness of Totoro plushies and pop culture references to it still present today. But its not only its success that attributes it as a must watch on the checklist of any avid fan of anime.

Whether this was your first anime movie as a newcomer, as a kid, or as a moviegoer, none can contest the read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 23, 2013
Childhood is a blossoming period of learning and developing one's own idiosyncrasies. It has always been a sedate stage in which little youngsters define themselves through their senseless antics—ones that appear innocent but are of an elusive nature, and are merely an inadvertent expression of the capricious phase that is childhood. However, since kids are so full of youthful tendencies, very few directors have managed to portray the rascals in a sincere and realistic manner. But among those select few is an irreplaceable Ghibli film which has become a sensation both within its native community and the western world—and that film is Hayao Miyazaki's My read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 24, 2015
It's often easy to get carried away in the everyday vices and tribulations of life. We often want to reminisce and look back on the better days, full of adventure and enjoyment. Well, this movie does an excellent job of bringing me back to that feeling. It is full of heart-whelming adventure, and exploration.

I always seem to watch this movie or any Studio Ghibli film for that matter, when I am wanting to experience a child-like sense of adventure. Miyazaki does am excellent job of creating a world, in which you would love to explore and experience. From the stellar landscapes, to the loving Characters, read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 11, 2008
I remember Totoro was my favorite anime. I'd pop it in the VCR player (yes, old school, I know) and watching it with my little brother when I was a little girl. Somewhere around 14 years later, it's still my favorite movie, and probably always will be.

Totoro's story is incredible: it captures the imagination of two girls with very different personalities. Satsuki, the older, responsible girl who takes care of household responsibilities while her mother is sick, and little Mei, a veritable firecracker who's curiosity knows no limits. What made this movie so incredible was how well it captured the imagination of kids their age. read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 29, 2013
The only reason I watched this movie to the end was because it is well respected by many people. It is also directed by the amazing Hayao Miyazaki so I thought it had to be pretty good, even in the least bit. But I was thoroughly disappointed.

-STORY- 1/10
This is one of the most poorly written and bland stories I have ever come across. Unfortunately, in this movie, they tried a little to hard in getting the appeal from audiences that were below the age to even comprehend what a plot is. The story moves along at an incredibly slow pace. This is problematic because is read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 6, 2015
Story: The scope of My Neighbor Totoro is very small. The film details the adventures of a couple of normal children, with relatively little conflict. Everything is on a very personal scale; rather than go on an over the top adventure, a large portion of the film is about the main characters having fantastical experiences with the titular... mammal (let's go with that) Totoro.

Visuals: Totoro features the typical Miyazaki art style. The animation looks stunning, and has aged very nicely, especially considering when this came out. Totoro was created in the 80s, and it looks nicer than anime from the late 90s-early 2000s.

Audio: read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 20, 2014
The story begin with two sister , Mei and Satsuki on a truck with their father , they are moving to their new home which is where the whole story revolves around. Their new home, their new place in the world. At first I didn't really understand the whole purpose of Totoro. I know the title of the film is based around him, but i didn't see much purpose to him being there. it was just basically a little magical element added in. And it suppose to show that someone is there for those girls. There read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 7, 2015
I'm now an adolescent and have just watched Totoro for the very first time. I don't know what I waiting to watch this amazing film. This movie is absolutely fantastic. This movie is both imaginative and captures childhood ignorance and bliss so well.

The Story was very good. While I sort of imagined the plot to be more of a direct adventure with Totoro. The plot flowed nicely and it was convincing. At some parts, it made me all teary.

The art was fantastic! The scenery and lively character movement was drawn so well.

For its time, the movie had good sound quality... nothing to complain read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 28, 2011
Tonari no Totoro - Would be one of the best Animes I saw when I saw little.

Even thought it might been more based towards girls, it still stayed neutral as a soiled stone for both genders.

The story here is rather simple but still has a very detailed view on things that happens around it, it doesn't focus just on one thing (like defeat the EVIL monster or find that person) no it goes from 2 girls just moving in with their dad to an adventure with an Creature called Totoro.

- Which for a kid were really an inspiration for the beautiful nature we have read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 18, 2011
I was down with the flu and I was curled up in my room, looking for something cozy to watch. Flipping through my collection, I suddenly remembered the My Neighbor Totoro DVD I had received as a gift a while back. Needless to say, I popped it into my player, sat back and had one of the most relaxing and peaceful 90 minutes of my life.

My Neighbor Totoro is hard to synopsize because of the tranquil and laid back first half. I suppose it would suffice to say that this classic 1988 Studio Ghibli movie is about the innocent fun of two little sisters who read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 3, 2007
Another win for Miyazaki!

The story was just unique. I don’t think I’ve seen anything like it – and originality is always a good thing. It had me watching closely the whole time. It’s a story for kids and kids at heart alike.

It was like watching a Dr. Seuss story come to life, except it has a Miyazaki spice to it. Another good thing about it is that it’s easy to understand, but not so easy that it’s dumb.

The characters were all very likable. I like adorable Mei, and her doting older sister Satsuki. I also love how their father is so child like – he’s read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 12, 2011
“A four-year-old child could understand this report….Run out and find me a four-year-old child. I can't make head or tail out of it.”

- Duck Soup

Sisters Satsuki and Mei love each other; as affectionate playmates, they grow under their scholarly father’s calm and accepting hand. He doesn’t dismiss their play, nor does he inflate it in the artificial way that adults do; he simply acknowledges their wonder, without rationalizations. The one shadow in this world awash with sunshine is that their mother can’t be with them yet. But Satsuki and Mei are growing up at a time when neighbors still come by to welcome newcomers and lend read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 8, 2008
What more can be said about My Neighbor Totoro? Get this movie. Immediately. Without a doubt one of the best animated features ever made, Japan or otherwise, Totoro is an outstanding original creation from Hayao Miyazaki and Studio Ghibli.

It's about two sisters -- Satsuki and spunky little Mei -- moving with their somewhat scatterbrained but loving father to a new home in the Japanese countryside. But the place isn't just deserted; wonders galore lie within their household. Tiny, fuzzy black balls of soot ("Soot Gremlins", or "dust bunnies", depending on which English version you watch--but more on that later) scatter every nook and cranny of read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 22, 2013
Hayao Miyazaki's name has become synonymous with Japanese animation, rightfully so. His boundless imagination has taken us to awe-inspiring fantasy worlds, brought us on epic adventures and showed us the magic of the world that can only be seen through a child's eyes. The last of those three, the magic that children can see, is epitomized in one of his earliest and most beloved works, My Neighbor Totoro (Tonari no Tororo in Japanese).

The story is a simple one of two sisters, Satsuki and Mei, who moved to the country side with their father to be closer to the hospital where their ill mother is staying. read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 6, 2010
If you're one of those people who still don't know what that thing featured on the Studio Ghibli company logo is, then the chances are, you haven't seen "My Neighbour Totoro" (for a while I thought it was meant to be a rather odd looking donkey myself). Well then, you've been missing out!

"My Neighbour Totoro" is a delightful film that most young children - as well as a good proportion of older viewers - are sure to enjoy. It's not a particularly deep film, nor a particularly exciting film. At the heart of it, it's a simple tale about a family relocating to the countryside read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 26, 2008
Sigh...How should I describe my most cherished and precious childhood memory of my whole life so that I wouldn't understate it at all?!?!

After all, Tonari no Totoro is the first anime and probably even the first full-length film I ever saw. It is the key that opened the first door towards the wonderful world of anime, manga and the whole japanese culture itself. I'm not such a type that has certain idols/authorities behind my ideologies but if there's one, it is definitely Hayao Miyazaki.

When I try to explain to someone how incredible this movie is, I almost can't put it in understandable words (like even read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 4, 2010
It's cute!

As a 20 year old male I am extremely outside the target audience for this movie. Yes, this movie is for kids. In fact I'd go as far to say that this is one of the best movies for children of all time. It's a simple story. It's also an incredibly happy movie. You feel better after watching it. I can see having this movie watched over and over again by my kids when I'm a father. It's just cute and safe.

But if you consider yourself an anime fan, and you like the Miyazaki movies you've seen so far, and even though you are read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 6, 2008
STORY: My Neighbor Totoro is simple and whimsical. Although the story is a children's fable, the heart of the tale can draw out the child in everyone. The movie begins in a period of transition for a family, and the movie concludes alongside the end of the transition. The finished product is like a meaningful photograph. The events occurring in the story or picture are not life changing. It's the memory and feeling you take away that holds the worth of the story in Totoro. However, the story is not ground-breaking or awe-inspiring. But the it is delightful and unforgettable.

ART: Consistent, good quality in read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 11, 2014
A great many attempts have been made--in comics, movies animated and otherwise, and lots of other mediums--to capture the amazement and fascination of exploring the world as a little kid. Most of these attempts are not equal to the subject material, and when the topic is 'the magic of childhood', it's usually wise to brace yourself for something trite, drippy, and sentimental.

My Neighbor Totoro is that rare exception, a story about 'the magic of childhood' that is absolutely equal to its subject.

The things in the movie that are imaginary are wonderfully imagined. But no less wonderful are the things that are clearly real--from read more
I found this review Helpful