MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #88
Tonari no Totoro

Tonari no Totoro

Alternative Titles

English: My Neighbor Totoro
Synonyms: My Neighbour Totoro
Japanese: となりのトトロ

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 16, 1988
Duration: 1 hr. 26 min.
Rating: PG - Children
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.531 (scored by 86494 users)
Ranked: #882
Popularity: #100
Members: 122,628
Favorites: 1,743
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

adventure comedy fantasy ghibli
Sep 23, 2013
TheCriticsClub
Childhood is a blossoming period of learning and developing one's own idiosyncrasies. It has always been a sedate stage in which little youngsters define themselves through their senseless antics—ones that appear innocent but are of an elusive nature, and are merely an inadvertent expression of the capricious phase that is childhood. However, since kids are so full of youthful tendencies, very few directors have managed to portray the rascals in a sincere and realistic manner. But among those select few is an irreplaceable Ghibli film which has become a sensation both within its native community and the western world—and that film is Hayao Miyazaki's My read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 11, 2008
Kenkei
I remember Totoro was my favorite anime. I'd pop it in the VCR player (yes, old school, I know) and watching it with my little brother when I was a little girl. Somewhere around 14 years later, it's still my favorite movie, and probably always will be.

Totoro's story is incredible: it captures the imagination of two girls with very different personalities. Satsuki, the older, responsible girl who takes care of household responsibilities while her mother is sick, and little Mei, a veritable firecracker who's curiosity knows no limits. What made this movie so incredible was how well it captured the imagination of kids their age. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 8, 2008
JTurner
What more can be said about My Neighbor Totoro? Get this movie. Immediately. Without a doubt one of the best animated features ever made, Japan or otherwise, Totoro is an outstanding original creation from Hayao Miyazaki and Studio Ghibli.

It's about two sisters -- Satsuki and spunky little Mei -- moving with their somewhat scatterbrained but loving father to a new home in the Japanese countryside. But the place isn't just deserted; wonders galore lie within their household. Tiny, fuzzy black balls of soot ("Soot Gremlins", or "dust bunnies", depending on which English version you watch--but more on that later) scatter every nook and cranny of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 3, 2011
chilon
A masterpiece of cinema. Somebody once told me that this movie was "okay" and I re-evaluated our friendship immediately after. If you have any idea of the importance of subtlety and any of the imagination you had when you're a child is left then watch this and enjoy a happier life.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 28, 2011
Piperun
Tonari no Totoro - Would be one of the best Animes I saw when I saw little.

Even thought it might been more based towards girls, it still stayed neutral as a soiled stone for both genders.

The story here is rather simple but still has a very detailed view on things that happens around it, it doesn't focus just on one thing (like defeat the EVIL monster or find that person) no it goes from 2 girls just moving in with their dad to an adventure with an Creature called Totoro.

- Which for a kid were really an inspiration for the beautiful nature we have read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 12, 2011
LadyReina
“A four-year-old child could understand this report….Run out and find me a four-year-old child. I can't make head or tail out of it.”

- Duck Soup


Sisters Satsuki and Mei love each other; as affectionate playmates, they grow under their scholarly father’s calm and accepting hand. He doesn’t dismiss their play, nor does he inflate it in the artificial way that adults do; he simply acknowledges their wonder, without rationalizations. The one shadow in this world awash with sunshine is that their mother can’t be with them yet. But Satsuki and Mei are growing up at a time when neighbors still come by to welcome newcomers and lend read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 3, 2007
jet2r0cks
Another win for Miyazaki!

The story was just unique. I don’t think I’ve seen anything like it – and originality is always a good thing. It had me watching closely the whole time. It’s a story for kids and kids at heart alike.

It was like watching a Dr. Seuss story come to life, except it has a Miyazaki spice to it. Another good thing about it is that it’s easy to understand, but not so easy that it’s dumb.

The characters were all very likable. I like adorable Mei, and her doting older sister Satsuki. I also love how their father is so child like – he’s read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 6, 2010
kajia
If you're one of those people who still don't know what that thing featured on the Studio Ghibli company logo is, then the chances are, you haven't seen "My Neighbour Totoro" (for a while I thought it was meant to be a rather odd looking donkey myself). Well then, you've been missing out!

"My Neighbour Totoro" is a delightful film that most young children - as well as a good proportion of older viewers - are sure to enjoy. It's not a particularly deep film, nor a particularly exciting film. At the heart of it, it's a simple tale about a family relocating to the countryside read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 26, 2008
Tonagi
Sigh...How should I describe my most cherished and precious childhood memory of my whole life so that I wouldn't understate it at all?!?!

After all, Tonari no Totoro is the first anime and probably even the first full-length film I ever saw. It is the key that opened the first door towards the wonderful world of anime, manga and the whole japanese culture itself. I'm not such a type that has certain idols/authorities behind my ideologies but if there's one, it is definitely Hayao Miyazaki.

When I try to explain to someone how incredible this movie is, I almost can't put it in understandable words (like even read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 30, 2009
Sora0491
'My Neighbo Totoro' is a wonderful family film. I think it depicts the stress of a child's life and the imgination they use to help cope with difficult times. Personally, the Totoro's are adorable!

My Neighbor Totoro would be a great family film on a rainy day, especially if that said family is going through a tough time. I found My Neighbor Totoro to be quite enjoyable when I watched it with several of my Anime-Loving friends.

The story-line is very serious, yet not to complex. The characters have wonderful personalities. The scenes that take place throughout the story are not only playful and funny, but read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 18, 2011
trzr23
I was down with the flu and I was curled up in my room, looking for something cozy to watch. Flipping through my collection, I suddenly remembered the My Neighbor Totoro DVD I had received as a gift a while back. Needless to say, I popped it into my player, sat back and had one of the most relaxing and peaceful 90 minutes of my life.

My Neighbor Totoro is hard to synopsize because of the tranquil and laid back first half. I suppose it would suffice to say that this classic 1988 Studio Ghibli movie is about the innocent fun of two little sisters who read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 6, 2008
NeonToppaTotoro
STORY: My Neighbor Totoro is simple and whimsical. Although the story is a children's fable, the heart of the tale can draw out the child in everyone. The movie begins in a period of transition for a family, and the movie concludes alongside the end of the transition. The finished product is like a meaningful photograph. The events occurring in the story or picture are not life changing. It's the memory and feeling you take away that holds the worth of the story in Totoro. However, the story is not ground-breaking or awe-inspiring. But the it is delightful and unforgettable.

ART: Consistent, good quality in read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 25, 2012
abbs002
For somethings in the world you have to free minded,you can't go on reasoning everything you see and everything you watch. People say a person dies two times in his life, once when he is really dead and once when he steps out of his childhood. So if you are given a chance to live up your childhood for some 90 minutes, this movie is for you. Mystical creatures, nature, joy and sadness conquered by happiness are the some childhood reasoning. You wont go on reason everything you see and you have a belief in everything even Santa Claus when you are a kid so read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 20, 2011
iTofuu
I will try to be precise in this review:

First up, the art was absolutely amazing. The landscapes and details in every minute object were breathtaking. Leaving the characters on a basic style made the movie over all very balanced.

Sound was great, they added all the right sounds in all the right places, especially in the natural scenes.

Characters were very enjoyable. They are almost symbols of different stages of our life. The younger sister represents our innocent and imaginative ways when we were small. The older sister shows the kind of people who are growing older and more mature but still have an inner kid inside. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 11, 2014
stb
A great many attempts have been made--in comics, movies animated and otherwise, and lots of other mediums--to capture the amazement and fascination of exploring the world as a little kid. Most of these attempts are not equal to the subject material, and when the topic is 'the magic of childhood', it's usually wise to brace yourself for something trite, drippy, and sentimental.

My Neighbor Totoro is that rare exception, a story about 'the magic of childhood' that is absolutely equal to its subject.

The things in the movie that are imaginary are wonderfully imagined. But no less wonderful are the things that are clearly real--from read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 11, 2012
feculentiara
My Neighbor Totoro, I really don’t know where to begin to tell you about this fantastic anime. It’s been one of my favourites since I watched it for the first time and now I guess I should tell you about my reasons.

First of all, the one things that impresses me most was, like in most of Miyazaki’s animes, I could feel imagination pouring out of the movie. It was floating so freely that my mind just relaxed and felt at ease for the first time in a long time. I felt like the movie was breaking the walls of my mind and by that read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 2, 2012
AnimeThief
My Neighbor Totoro is an amazing movie first of all the art is amazing.Every tree,rock,cloud has work put into it. Honestly everything done by Ghibli is amazing xD

It's about 2 girls Satsuki and her four-year-old sister Mei who move into a house in the countryside. When they find out there neighbor is a forest spirt named Totoro who can only be seen by children. When your this age everything is fun and beautiful.There's no worries just explore and run till you get tired and wake up to do it again :) Miyazaki brings that to life. Everything about this film is awesome! read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 4, 2010
Skarmory
It's cute!

As a 20 year old male I am extremely outside the target audience for this movie. Yes, this movie is for kids. In fact I'd go as far to say that this is one of the best movies for children of all time. It's a simple story. It's also an incredibly happy movie. You feel better after watching it. I can see having this movie watched over and over again by my kids when I'm a father. It's just cute and safe.

But if you consider yourself an anime fan, and you like the Miyazaki movies you've seen so far, and even though you are read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 22, 2013
judojon
Hayao Miyazaki's name has become synonymous with Japanese animation, rightfully so. His boundless imagination has taken us to awe-inspiring fantasy worlds, brought us on epic adventures and showed us the magic of the world that can only be seen through a child's eyes. The last of those three, the magic that children can see, is epitomized in one of his earliest and most beloved works, My Neighbor Totoro (Tonari no Tororo in Japanese).

The story is a simple one of two sisters, Satsuki and Mei, who moved to the country side with their father to be closer to the hospital where their ill mother is staying. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 20, 2013
roriconfan
Although considered to be one of Studio Ghibli’s best works, I personally found it to be one of their most boring ones. Ok, maybe not as boring as their latest movies, which despite the far better visuals and lots of action are still dull as heck. It’s just that nothing important happens in this film. Ok, maybe it does for the kids but story-wise it is quite unimpressive compared to their earlier works. Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind (technically not the same studio but from the same people, so it counts) was a grim adventure in a post-apocalyptic world, while Laputa – Castle read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices