MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #153
Cowboy Bebop: Tengoku no Tobira

Cowboy Bebop: Tengoku no Tobira

Alternative Titles

English: Cowboy Bebop: Knockin' on Heaven's Door
Synonyms: Cowboy Bebop Movie
Japanese: カウボーイビバップ天国の扉

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Sep 1, 2001
Duration: 1 hr. 54 min.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.401 (scored by 56397 users)
Ranked: #1532
Popularity: #226
Members: 81,582
Favorites: 346
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

action adventure comedy drama sci-fi
Nov 10, 2008
TheLlama
Cowboy Bebop: Knockin' on Heaven's Door is a great addition to the Cowboy Bebop series, but no more. It is by no means a sequel, and after watching it, I found that it's best watched in the middle of the series, and not neccesarily at the end. If it's got a specific place or not, that I don't know, but that's not very important at any rate, and if you've watched the entire series, it shouldn't be hard to mentally place it inside the series anyway.

This time, a terrorist possesses a weapon capable of killing countless people, and there's a bounty of 300 million read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 24, 2008
Venneh
Cowboy Bebop: Knockin' on Heaven's Door was released in Japan on September 1st, 2001. Shinichiro Watanabe stayed on as director, and it was produced this time by not only Sunrise, but also Bandai Visual (famous for their work on the .hack series and Dennou Coil), and Bones (famous for their work on Fullmetal Alchemist and Ouran High School Host Club). It was released Stateside by Bandai on August 11th, 2002.

It's just a few days before Halloween on Ganymede, a major national holiday, and a terrorist has blown up a tanker filled with a biochemical weapon. The government posts a 300 million Wulong read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 31, 2007
jet2r0cks
It was a good follow up (in-between, actually) to the series. I suggest that if you’re planning to watch Cowboy Bebop – Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door, you should watch after you get to the episode when Ed is introduced. You just need to get to know all 4 major characters to understand the movie.

I didn’t like it as much as the series, mostly because the series kept me interested by introducing new plot lines in each episode. Having to focus on one specific plot for 120 minutes was a bit exhausting. It has a nice plot – throughout the movie you’ll get why “Knockin’ on read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 10, 2013
Unfuckwittable
I've been on a roll with this Cowboy Bebop show. Just finished the series earlier today, and now I'm done with the film. Let's jump into this review!

Cowboy Bebop: The Movie is essentially a high budget, longer than usual episode of the show. And you know what? There is absolutely nothing wrong with that. This time around, we've got Spike and company going up against Vincent, an ex-military soldier turned bio-terrorist. He's launched a campaign of carnage on Mars, leaving a path of destruction in his wake. Oh, and there's a 300 million Woolong bounty on the fellow.

It's a typical Cowboy Bebop story, and it read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 22, 2007
YourMessageHere
I'm never that comfortable with films of series. Mostly, that's because all too often a film of a series consists of some kind of edited-all-to-hell clip show that tries and totally fails to boil down the story of a long series to a relatively much shorter film. Knockin' on Heaven's Door isn't that, which is very much in its favour. Rather, it's basically like a two-hour "lost episode" that belongs somewhere in the middle of the series - without spoiling anything, by the end of the series, there's characters missing who are still present in this film.

Another point in the film's favour read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 22, 2011
Agnes_2
O.K., let's face it; I haven't seen Cowboy Bebop: The Movie in a very long time now and let's note that I am a HUGE Cowboy Bebop fan and was quite disappointed to see the movie on television and say that it just wasn't my cup of tea.

Why did I think the movie was average compared to the reviewers here who thought it was great? Let's compare it to the show and see:

Story:
Cowboy Bebop: 9/10
Cowboy Bebop: The Movie: 6/10

Anyone who remembers the Cowboy Bebop series knew that the storyline was more detailed while simultaneously comedic. The drama read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 22, 2010
kajia
Meant to take place between episodes 22 and 23 of the series, "Cowboy Bebop - Knockin' on Heaven's Door" is just like an extra long episode of "Cowboy Bebop". It's got the same style, same humour, and even the same underlying melancholic feel. The production somehow manages to look even more expensive than the production of old, with the crisp animation shining through especially, featuring some fluid, breathtaking action sequences that's at least as good as anything in the series.

Having the "Cowboy Bebop" tag in front of the movie's title is both a blessing and a curse for the movie. The blessing is that it read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 15, 2008
Tam-Chan
Cowboy Bebop Knocking on heavens door is an outstanding film that will always have a place in my top movies.

Story: The story takes place in-between Sessions 22 and 23 of the original series. One great addition is it sticks the original fashion of Cowboy Bebop, so you can connect if you've seen the series.

Art: Cowboy Bebop taking place in the year 2071, i found the art to be wonderful. It shows all the different ideas of the future, such as ships, cell phones, space, and very much more.

Sound: Experiencing both the English and Japanese tracks, it is always very read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 30, 2014
damned_33rd
What happened?

This is the question I had asked myself after watching the superb Cowboy Bebop television series. It ended on a high, with a shootout that puts Spaghetti Westerns to shame and rode to one of my all time favourite anime with one of the most original premise in years.

So why did this movie not succeed my expectations? The new setting was brilliant, unforced and wonderfully animated. The soundtrack as always is the wet dream of precocious and pretentious teenagers alike.

Yet the story and characters were just flawed. I could forgive the somewhat muted interactions in the TV series because most of it read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 4, 2009
cobrascope
It's a good film no doubt but it's definitely a bit too long. It plays like an extended TV episode (which isn't necessarily a bad thing) but unfortunately it isn't up there with the best episodes to be found in the series. Still it's always good to see Spike and the gang in action seeing as it looks like there isn't going to be a new series made anytime soon for obvious reasons! Its very stylised and is fantastically shot but it seems to drag at times. It would have been nice if it could've linked in a bit more of the Vicious/Julia/Spike backstory into read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 2, 2012
Shaja
Knocking on Heavens Door by far one of my biggest cult classic anime films of all time.

I will tell you now this gets straight 10s across the board. This film is the follow up to the cowboy bebop series and its a great addition to the saga. In the series were left with some unanswered things and this movie is not about answering that or tying loose ends. This is like a really long episode of Bebop with a exceedingly deep plot.

You could kinda have guessed its like a episode since its named after a song by Bob Dylan like every episode in the series read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 23, 2009
brand_182
Cowboy Bebop: The Movie follows the Bebop universe and presents a new story of biological terrorism and bounty hunting. Spike, Jet, Faye, Edward, and Ein work together to catch a terrorist with a huge bounty on his head before he unleashes a deadly virus on Mars.

The Bebop movie is superb. If you are a fan of the series, you will not be disappointed, but you won't miss a beat if you decide to watch it without ever having seen the series either. Like the series, the movie features fantastic animation and a phenomenal soundtrack.

If you haven't seen the series, enough cannot be said here about read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 25, 2013
FullmetalCowboy
***I originally posted this review on Anime-Planet***

Critic's Log: Earthdate - March 21, 2012. Review #2: Cowboy Bebop: The Movie

It is the year 2071. Halloween is in a few days and the Bebop crew is searching for bounty to find someone who is releasing a deadly virus. The original creators of the virus send a woman named Electra to find the man responsible for releasing this deadly virus. The fate of Mars rests on the Bebop crew.

That is the gist of the Cowboy Bebop Movie.

Cowboy Bebop: The Movie (also known in Japan as "Cowboy Bebop: Knockin' on Heaven's Door") was made by two animation studios, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 31, 2013
waaaaaaah
The movie is a more like an extended episode, but whatever. The plot is kind of generic, bad guy threatens the world, but it's done fairly well. The main villain, Vincent, does a decent job of coming across as bad guy. He's more the quietly insane kind of guy. There's little to none character development, but that's not so bad with the main cast. Unfortunately, we don't learn that much about Vincent or Electra, an agent of a pharmaceutical company, who has some connection with Vincent. There were clearly some lost opportunities to develop their characters more; we don't care so much about them read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 27, 2009
miwako-hakusho
A great sense of flow and great music. The voice actors are breath taking in both Japanese and English. It does run a bit long, but its still entertaining.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 13, 2009
deralte
It had everything I love about the series - good music, wonderful characterizations and dialogue, beautiful art. More impressively, the fight scenes were fantastic, the tension beautiful and the plot nicely spaced and plotted. Cool new characters too. Excellent.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 8, 2008
volcano00
This is a cult movie of the great series cowboy bepop
the story has a lack of action but all the other elements make the movie a real outstanding film that its a must if you like the series I highly recomend you watch the series first but if you watch the movie first it will be alright
because it is not connected with the trama in the series.
the music its an amazing composition of yoko that makes your ears fly to the blue sky, see you cowboys.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices