MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #993
Casshern Sins

Casshern Sins

Alternative Titles

Japanese: キャシャーン SINS

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 2, 2008 to Mar 16, 2009
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.681 (scored by 21242 users)
Ranked: #9932
Popularity: #541
Members: 50,409
Favorites: 609
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Mar 27, 2009
Digibro
Casshern Sins is not for everyone. The show pretty much moves at one pace, and that pace is ’slow’. There is a lot of silence, introspection, and philosophical dialog. Ordinarily, this would make one assume the show is pretentious (especially since it has a lot of similarities to Texhnolyze), but it really isn’t. Casshern has a very simple plot, very simple dialog, and is easy to understand, so people looking for a mind-blower won’t find it here. The plot and messages of Casshern Sins are much more along the lines of Kino’s Journey or Mushi-shi. However, just like action fans will be turned off by read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 8, 2013
Jody32
What would you do if you couldn't change your fate? Would you grasp at any slither of hope that presents itself, even if that hope required you to hurt someone else? Or would you accept your fate? Just letting it pass over you? This is one of the many questions that Casshern Sins asks. "What is the answer" you might wonder? Well, let us sit down together and discuss it shall we.

Casshern Sins is a remarkable feat, in that it somehow captures every single, minute detail of the human spirit. It achieves this by starting from the very basics and quickly developing on the basics read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 20, 2008
theeggman85
I started watching this anime, giving it a starting 6/10. I was up to a 9/10 within the first 7 episodes. Does that say something?

I am pleased to say that it says a lot. Casshern Sins is what looks like the most original anime of the Spring 2008 lineup, and while it may be sad, it is truly amazing to watch. (This review will update as the series goes on, if all goes well ;D)

STORY: 9/10

Casshern does not know if he is a man, robot, or neither. In a world of destruction, where humans are rarely found and the last of the robots rust, Casshern read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 11, 2013
korison
Super Heroes by now are a standard part of our lives, being adapted into thousands of films already, we are used to incredibly powerful men and women walking around in weird skintight clothes that are supposed to be their trademark. It has almost been done to death in western media and I myself am not a huge fan of those franchises either, with a few exceptions. In Anime though, while we have quite some superheroes, it is not nearly as much as in the western media and only few of them really rose to popularity in the Otaku Culture. Today I will Review an Anime read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 8, 2013
ZeroReq011
Erected from the pillars that once cradled human civilization, the Robotic Empire reached its pinnacle under the iron-clad rule of Braiking Boss and the grace of the Sun that was called Moon. Then came the Ruin, and with it the end of those fabled days. Once thought immortal, the empire, its structures and citizens, and even nature itself into rust and decay and death. A landscape dotted with the deceased and dying, attributed to the sins of one machine... Casshern.

Directed by Shingeyasu Yamauchi, scripted by Reiko Yoshida and Yasuko Kobayashi, and produced by Madhouse, whose resume includes the popular Death Note, the recent Chihayafuru, the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 30, 2010
qrdel
People who lose their memories of the past are almost always dying to get those back. They feel empty inside, as if something was taken out of them. Something irreplaceable... Is Casshern the same?

I think that this question kept running through the studio director's mind as he decided to take up an old project that was long lost and created its new version - Casshern SINS. The series is a 24-ep-long philosophic discussion on the sense of human nature and its everlasting need for self-improvement. Paradoxically though, there are very few humans in this distorted world. The entities who appear to be more humane read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 20, 2009
BatOtaku13
Story: The story is a very thought-provoking and great examination of the value of truly living your life, as opposed to passing through it aimlessly. It is about an apparently immortal robot named Casshern, who after killing a woman named Luna, creates the Ruin, a plague that causes the world to die. All life has withered away, and any survivors are on the brink of insanity as they are surrounded by death. His journey to discover his identity and role in this new world causes the robots he comes into contact with to realize the value of our existances and their read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 8, 2009
DKyu
This series is very... depressing. It is not like the Casshern series that people expect, but in it's own right is well made. The first thing I would like to mention is that the artwork and music is superb. Watching anime, and then watching Casshern Sins is like going from a child's artwork to architectural blueprints/designs. The animation, art, and colors are very crisp and clean. Half the time, I was busy enjoying the artwork and the animations. Casshern is like looking at a work of art.

Despite that, the story at first was very depressing and slow. After read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 18, 2014
SJboy25
Journeys are funny things. As the old cliche goes, "It's not the destination that matters, but the journey". That being said, sometimes the destination isn't what a person thinks it will be, as is the case for humanoid robot Casshern, a being with eternal life in a world ravaged by the apocalypse. Now, let's look to see if Casshern's journey is one worth taking.

Story: 8

The story of Casshern Sins is one that begins with a protagonist without memories. As he embarks on a journey for answers, this robot, Casshern, is confronted with the cold reality of death everywhere he travels. Some try to escape death, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 4, 2010
roriconfan
NOTICE
This is a novel of a review. Do not read if you don’t like long explanations.
Do not bitch if you disagree. I am stating my opinion as objectively as I can.

PROLOGUE
- The series is a remake of a much older series of the 70’s. The original was pretty standard stuff in terms of story. Machines rebel and conquer humanity and the son of the inventor of the machines turns into a powerful cyborg and fights in order to save humanity from extinction. Got the basics? Well, you can now forget them in the remake. This feels more like an entirely different story with a few read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 25, 2009
akagi111
Story: Pretty good story from beginning to end it did keep you wanting to watch and see where it goes and when it gets to the climax of the series that is when it really pulls you in, even with all of the action it wasnt a mindless action series that alot of shows pull off this one did have something to think about on, now there are a few flaws though one being the whole opening sequence for about half the show where we see luna and hear casshern growl like a cat in heat which got old very quickly and some of those read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 9, 2013
Snuffaluffagus
Back home for vacations at the end of the year, having hit some major shocks in my first
semester exams i was in pursuit of refreshments. So well, got introduced to this wonderful
series by a friend of mine.
Casshern Sins is not pretty much what it looks like if you’re seeing this picture for the first
time. It is not the usual action adventure shounen-esque series you watch, but a very deep
psychological series. The plot – The world is in ruin. Robots are rusting (dying) everywhere unable to repair
themselves. Signs of Human are rarely seen, which ensure their extinction. As despair
consumes the heart of everyone there is one read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 2, 2008
Seeker
To describe this anime in one word is simple: depressing. Casshern Sins follows Casshern--a character who doesn't know whether he is human or robot--in a dystopic world that is, quite literally, the end of the world. I don't mean it's some Armageddon-like atmosphere where some supernatural force is destroying everything; in this setting, the world is just dying. It is a barren wasteland where even robots, who are supposed to be immortal, experience death.

Of the nine episodes that I have seen so far, each episode follows a pattern: Casshern is wandering through his seemingly endless journey when he meets a new character. This new character, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 21, 2014
vivafruit1
Story

Despite being a remake to a kitschy 70’s anime “classic,”Casshern Sins begins promisingly. In the first few episodes, the creators lay out a post-apocalyptic setting that manages to feel both unabashedly retro and grimly bleak at the same time. The resulting mix of camp and angst is weirdly intriguing, especially when the solid supporting characters and mysterious titular protagonist are factored in.

Sadly, Casshern Sins fails to live up to its initial promise due to its unfocused overarching narrative. Rather than develop any core theme in the early to middle stages, the series meanders among flavor-of-the-week plots and half-hearted attempts at a main story. After countless read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 22, 2012
mahoganycow
“Humans are always contradictions.”

Early in Casshern Sins, a character makes this observation. It wasn't lost on me that Casshern Sins is full of seeming contradictions itself; the series features fast action and snail's-pace plot development, “oldschool” character designs presented with new technology, extreme violence and quiet speculation, and a tone that wavers schizophrenically between “uplifting” and “grim.” The end result is something unique enough to merit a cautious recommendation.

Casshern Sins centers around the titular Casshern—a character who wakes up on a barren futuristic world knowing nothing of his past. The only thing he seems to remember is how to brutally kill others; he only knows read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 31, 2013
zerorider
There have been tons of anime about robots and mechs fighting monsters. However, this special gem does not fall into that category. It's definitely more complex, story-wise, and can be depressing as well. Do these factors help the show stand out on its own or does it hurt the show? Let's find out.

Story: 7
The story takes place in a post-apocalyptic world where robots rust and humans are nearly extinct. Casshern Sins follows a robot named Casshern who's immortal, he travels the land in search of answers as to how the world came to be in ruins and who he really is. The plot's pretty straightforward read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 24, 2009
cleofriskey
Casshern Sins... Where to ever start?? When I first started watching this I was a little confused. I remember watching episode 1 and thinking "what on earth is going on?" But I made myself watch the next episode and it got a little better. And the next one got better. And then better. ANd ever more better until I was obsessed, until I finished the whole show in three days.

Casshern Sins is like nothing I've ever watched (and belive me I've watched tons) It's unique in every way. Each episode has is like its own story that all adds onto each other. The overall read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 8, 2014
RGM2013
This show was an attempt to recapture 70's magic, but Casshern is totally irrelevant nowadays considering the popularity of his successors Megaman, Bass, X, and Zero.

Story:
The series is very repetitive. Although it revolves around how the cast deals with a worldwide plague, the same plot points are repeated over and over:
-Every single time cannon fodder tries to devour Casshern, it amounts to nothing.
-Every time a one-shot character is introduced, he'll be dead by the end of the episode and forgotten.
-Casshern walks around moping a lot (and the Ruin wouldn't exist if he was just left in the past.)
-Being depressing, it seems to drag on read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 29, 2011
oOAnimayfreakOo
The thing that made me wanted to watch it was because of the style and the topic that the show is messaging to the viewer about, which is about death toward robots other than humans.

Story: 8

This anime is a slow paced show, most of the episodes are episodic as Casshern journey through the wasteland to find Lunar and recover what he has forgotten and his purpose for his existence.

As the show goes on, lots of questions surrounding Casshern will reveal itself as you go along and that it is what kept me watching till the very end.

Art: 9

The artwork is really unique and the style read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 29, 2009
kumarei
I usually pride myself on objectivity when evaluating things. However, just watching Casshern Sins makes me want to squee, and I have a feeling that squeeing and objectivity don't exactly go together. So I suppose that I will write a subjective review.

Now, at some level I can understand why one might not like Casshern. You might say the character designs are old fashioned (they're actually quite beautiful, though, old in style but with modern colors and animation). You might say that it's slow (rather, it's like a flower blossoming in front of you, slowly, but surely). You could conceivably say that it's full of clichés read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices