Ranked #1091

Casshern Sins

Alternative Titles

Japanese: キャシャーン SINS


Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 2, 2008 to Mar 16, 2009
Premiered: Fall 2008
Broadcast: Unknown
Source: Unknown
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company


Score: 7.651 (scored by 25,790 users)
Ranked: #10912
Popularity: #640
Members: 65,193
Favorites: 763
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Nov 9, 2015
Casshern Sins

"A hidden diamond lost in the abyss of Anime"


This story is mature.Its dark, gritty, and depressing.
we are sorry to inform you that our "unknown" Casshern lost his own memories suddenly everyone is trying to kill Casshern because this guy ruin the world by killing the sun
how and why he kill the sun?!... now the whole universe is dying because of that
seriously...it's like that

great sound enjoyment, but the music is pretty sad and the opining isn't my favorite but it's very good

The animation is splendid, as the character designs are beautiful and dark. The action scenes, and the coloring really bring read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 27, 2009
Casshern Sins is not for everyone. The show pretty much moves at one pace, and that pace is ’slow’. There is a lot of silence, introspection, and philosophical dialog. Ordinarily, this would make one assume the show is pretentious (especially since it has a lot of similarities to Texhnolyze), but it really isn’t. Casshern has a very simple plot, very simple dialog, and is easy to understand, so people looking for a mind-blower won’t find it here. The plot and messages of Casshern Sins are much more along the lines of Kino’s Journey or Mushi-shi. However, just like action fans will be turned off by read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 7, 2015
The best word to describe Casshern Sins would be "poetic".
Don't be fooled by the super hero outfit and the dynamic opening song, this anime is slow and soft, even if there are some action scenes. I haven't watched the old Casshern series so I can't compare, but I'm pretty sure it is totally different in everything.

The main strong point of Casshern Sins is its animation, everyone know it. You can dislike the bug face of the characters but their body are wonderful, the art is wonderful. Surely one of the best animation ever created, whenever you pause the anime the image is beautiful, that's why read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 21, 2015
When it comes to an experimental anime like this, it’s quite difficult to give a conventional score. Even more so, Casshern Sins tends to polarize the audience into two groups: either calling it a work of art or being bored as hell by it.

Here’s a good test whether you may or may not like it.

Are you an anime fan one who:
A) Tolerates a continuously oppressively grim atmosphere and a snail paced plot?
B) Forgives gaping plot holes for the sake of appreciating heavy symbolism and existentialism?
C) Is fine with an acrobatic fist-fight for every single episode?
D) Doesn’t mind sparse dialogue, one-note and read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 8, 2013
What would you do if you couldn't change your fate? Would you grasp at any slither of hope that presents itself, even if that hope required you to hurt someone else? Or would you accept your fate? Just letting it pass over you? This is one of the many questions that Casshern Sins asks. "What is the answer" you might wonder? Well, let us sit down together and discuss it shall we.

Casshern Sins is a remarkable feat, in that it somehow captures every single, minute detail of the human spirit. It achieves this by starting from the very basics and quickly developing on the basics read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 20, 2008
I started watching this anime, giving it a starting 6/10. I was up to a 9/10 within the first 7 episodes. Does that say something?

I am pleased to say that it says a lot. Casshern Sins is what looks like the most original anime of the Spring 2008 lineup, and while it may be sad, it is truly amazing to watch. (This review will update as the series goes on, if all goes well ;D)

STORY: 9/10

Casshern does not know if he is a man, robot, or neither. In a world of destruction, where humans are rarely found and the last of the robots rust, Casshern read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 24, 2015
Casshern Sins is a very unique anime. Like many users said this anime is usually a hit or miss for people. The story is very easy to follow with beautiful openings/endings/insert songs. The animation style is defined and pale which really set the perfect atmosphere for the anime. Their are a few minutes of fight scenes in each episode which are really different from your typical anime, but different in a good way. Dialogue is very crucial to this anime as it does not really have much action or adventure. The first few episodes are more like short stories which are absolutely beautiful, then read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 8, 2013
Erected from the pillars that once cradled human civilization, the Robotic Empire reached its pinnacle under the iron-clad rule of Braiking Boss and the grace of the Sun that was called Moon. Then came the Ruin, and with it the end of those fabled days. Once thought immortal, the empire, its structures and citizens, and even nature itself into rust and decay and death. A landscape dotted with the deceased and dying, attributed to the sins of one machine... Casshern.

Directed by Shingeyasu Yamauchi, scripted by Reiko Yoshida and Yasuko Kobayashi, and produced by Madhouse, whose resume includes the popular Death Note, the recent Chihayafuru, the read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 5, 2015
I have just recently finished Casshern Sins, so I figured I may as well do a review of it before it leaves my mind and makes my review somewhat shoddy. Starring one of Tatsunoko's more obscured and less popular protagonists, the titular Casshern, this bleak and depressing story of death and despair spans 24 slow-paced and heavy episodes.

STORY: 8/10
Casshern, an immortal robot, awakens to windswept scenery and only flashes of his past memories. His name is legendary and infamous due to his apparent bringing about of a worldly calamity known as "The Ruin", which is rusting away and killing robots who once knew eternal life. read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 21, 2014

Despite being a remake to a kitschy 70’s anime “classic,”Casshern Sins begins promisingly. In the first few episodes, the creators lay out a post-apocalyptic setting that manages to feel both unabashedly retro and grimly bleak at the same time. The resulting mix of camp and angst is weirdly intriguing, especially when the solid supporting characters and mysterious titular protagonist are factored in.

Sadly, Casshern Sins fails to live up to its initial promise due to its unfocused overarching narrative. Rather than develop any core theme in the early to middle stages, the series meanders among flavor-of-the-week plots and half-hearted attempts at a main story. After countless read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 11, 2013
Super Heroes by now are a standard part of our lives, being adapted into thousands of films already, we are used to incredibly powerful men and women walking around in weird skintight clothes that are supposed to be their trademark. It has almost been done to death in western media and I myself am not a huge fan of those franchises either, with a few exceptions. In Anime though, while we have quite some superheroes, it is not nearly as much as in the western media and only few of them really rose to popularity in the Otaku Culture. Today I will Review an Anime read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 8, 2008
Spoilers Ahoy!

Casshern… a series reboot of the original Shinzou Ningen Casshern back in 1973. Of all the new shows this season, I think this one is my favorite. Lets talk production values, people. I really enjoyed the OP and ED, I think they fit very well, and they have a nice melody. Music overall was certainly a strong point of the show. The BGM really fit well into the scenarios presented, and I think that they sound lovely as well. The animation is fluid, almost seamless, which goes along well with the simplistic character art and gorgeous post-apocalyptic backgrounds. The voices are another strong point. read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 22, 2012
“Humans are always contradictions.”

Early in Casshern Sins, a character makes this observation. It wasn't lost on me that Casshern Sins is full of seeming contradictions itself; the series features fast action and snail's-pace plot development, “oldschool” character designs presented with new technology, extreme violence and quiet speculation, and a tone that wavers schizophrenically between “uplifting” and “grim.” The end result is something unique enough to merit a cautious recommendation.

Casshern Sins centers around the titular Casshern—a character who wakes up on a barren futuristic world knowing nothing of his past. The only thing he seems to remember is how to brutally kill others; he only knows read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 29, 2014
Oh how I've longed for this kind of anime, for a very, very long time. I watched it and while watching it I was like: "Oooh... that's the spot..." It managed to get in to my top 5 anime list, and since I'm crazy about harems and fma brotherhood, it's not an easy list to get in.

Story: A humanoid robot killed the sun, and forced doom on earth. Simple.

Yea, no. Joking. Much more to it of course. Without giving away spoilers, Under the orders from someone, Casshern killed Luna (Oh the irony, it' the moon), sun of earth, and started the end of read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 18, 2014
Journeys are funny things. As the old cliche goes, "It's not the destination that matters, but the journey". That being said, sometimes the destination isn't what a person thinks it will be, as is the case for humanoid robot Casshern, a being with eternal life in a world ravaged by the apocalypse. Now, let's look to see if Casshern's journey is one worth taking.

Story: 8

The story of Casshern Sins is one that begins with a protagonist without memories. As he embarks on a journey for answers, this robot, Casshern, is confronted with the cold reality of death everywhere he travels. Some try to escape death, read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 30, 2010
People who lose their memories of the past are almost always dying to get those back. They feel empty inside, as if something was taken out of them. Something irreplaceable... Is Casshern the same?

I think that this question kept running through the studio director's mind as he decided to take up an old project that was long lost and created its new version - Casshern SINS. The series is a 24-ep-long philosophic discussion on the sense of human nature and its everlasting need for self-improvement. Paradoxically though, there are very few humans in this distorted world. The entities who appear to be more humane read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 2, 2008
To describe this anime in one word is simple: depressing. Casshern Sins follows Casshern--a character who doesn't know whether he is human or robot--in a dystopic world that is, quite literally, the end of the world. I don't mean it's some Armageddon-like atmosphere where some supernatural force is destroying everything; in this setting, the world is just dying. It is a barren wasteland where even robots, who are supposed to be immortal, experience death.

Of the nine episodes that I have seen so far, each episode follows a pattern: Casshern is wandering through his seemingly endless journey when he meets a new character. This new character, read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 8, 2014
This show was an attempt to recapture 70's magic, but Casshern is totally irrelevant nowadays considering the popularity of his successors Megaman, Bass, X, and Zero.

The series is very repetitive. Although it revolves around how the cast deals with a worldwide plague, the same plot points are repeated over and over:
-Every single time cannon fodder tries to devour Casshern, it amounts to nothing.
-Every time a one-shot character is introduced, he'll be dead by the end of the episode and forgotten.
-Casshern walks around moping a lot (and the Ruin wouldn't exist if he was just left in the past.)
-Being depressing, it seems to drag on read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 20, 2009
Story: The story is a very thought-provoking and great examination of the value of truly living your life, as opposed to passing through it aimlessly. It is about an apparently immortal robot named Casshern, who after killing a woman named Luna, creates the Ruin, a plague that causes the world to die. All life has withered away, and any survivors are on the brink of insanity as they are surrounded by death. His journey to discover his identity and role in this new world causes the robots he comes into contact with to realize the value of our existances and their read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 27, 2010
I thought I would really like Casshern Sins, but this was a letdown of epic proportions. My original impression was that the Casshern character would be a modern day Kenshiro of Fist of the North Star, or something akin to it; a lone wolf hero trekking across the devastated wasteland to fulfill his purpose/clear his name/discover who he is. Any one of these would've been nice, but intsead of taking a plot synopsis as simple as this anime produces and making something good out of it, it fails to deliver on any conceivable level that would be considered quality entertainment.
Now this story read more
I found this review Helpful