MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #3644
Akane-iro ni Somaru Saka

Akane-iro ni Somaru Saka

Alternative Titles

English: Akane Iro ni Somaru Saka
Synonyms: Akasaka, The Hill Dyed Rose Madder
Japanese: あかね色に染まる坂

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2008 to Dec 19, 2008
Duration: 25 min. per episode
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 6.831 (scored by 37680 users)
Ranked: #36442
Popularity: #399
Members: 62,825
Favorites: 169
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Apr 24, 2010
Ranivus
Seriously, is it that bad to find this show entertaining? One can argue this is a typical slice of life, school, harem anime with typical character types and predictable story and you would not be far off. But, if you don't LIKE watching things like this, why are you watching it in the first place? Akane-iro is geared to the 'veteran' otaku who love specific voice actors or character types, or enjoy when different flags get triggered (like hot springs, school festivals, or costume changes) aka: fanservice. You can only watch so many different slice of life harem comedy titles to realize if you read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 29, 2008
kevo
Akane-iro ni Somaru Saka is an anime that hurts itself by raising expectations and failing to meet them like clockwork. It goes out of its way to repeatedly build from mediocrity only to plunge itself back down to the point where you wonder why you even gave it much of a chance. It's someone jumping out of a 3 story building and landing on concrete, only to climb back up and jump over and over again. Until the person's bones are mush and the series limps to its god-awful ending.

As a series in general, Akane-iro ni Somaru Saka (from here on, Akasaka) is passable, I read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 31, 2013
DreamyGhost
First time I get to see a VN based anime, so I didn't know exactly what to expect from it, also because the game is an eroge... I guess it was good enough afterall, but all this fixation about "imouto fantasies" and incest, that japanese have, is really weird... I think it's ok this time, because everything got explained in the end...

{STORY - 5/10}

Jun'ichi was a real badass on Junior High and even got the "Geno Killer" nickname. Despite not fighting anymore, he was able to save Yuhii on the first episode without lifting a finger, people were affraid... She got transferred to the same read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 26, 2009
Skadi
There are some shows that really have no business being bad. Akane-iro ni Somaru Saka is one of those. When you look at the talent gathered for this series it practically reads as a who’s who of seiyuu talent. Unfortunately it is that talent that is one of the few bright spots in what is otherwise a pretty dismal series.

The story unfolds as your standard harem anime. I always find some of the ridiculous situations these writers come up with quite hilarious. A spoiled rich girl ends up living with a pair of siblings (not related by blood of course, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 23, 2008
Ceptryn
Watching Akane-iro is akin to dating the hot blond in class, only to find out that the most exciting conversation they can field is who Britanny Spears will date next.

Akane-iro certainly had potential. Attractive character designs, famous voice actors, a decent sound track.

Sure, like the desire to go out with blond bombshell, the story of a girl forced to move into the house of his future fiancee... who *happens* to be a your average anime guy who just also* happens* to have a hot sister is not exactly original. But you think

"Hey, the voice actors and animations are good, and such stories, no matter read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 23, 2011
Yemi_Hikari
“Akane-iro ni Somaru Saka” is one of those Anime that draws you in with the first episode. At the beginning of the series, you end up forming high expectations of the Anime because it in the long run is different from the cliché, only to have these expectations dashed at the end of the Anime because the storyline just couldn't hold itself together. Because of this, it is going to be very hard to leave out spoilers in my review.

The Anime starts off with the protagonist finding out that he has a fiance and the two of them living together. This particular plot device is read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 6, 2013
Draconalis
Things you should know about this series:

a) The side antics and filler episodes, while humorous to a degree, feel exactly like what they are, side antics and filler. The story as a whole doesn’t suffer because of them, but you suffer through them mostly to get the tid bits of character progress they hide within them.

b) The core story should be strong enough to keep you interested, but where I feel this series kicks it up a notch is within the last two to four episodes. The drama starts to build up, and the ending is refreshing in the way it breaks from the cliché read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 9, 2010
SweetIchigo
Akane-iro ni Somaru Saka at first seems like a cliche romance and all. Accidentally meeting in an awkward way and ending up together. Thle story would've fit like that especially since the two main protagonists were giving hints of their feelings for each other. but that wasn't the case, it didn't happen.

I gave the story a 5/10 because I personally hated how the story ended. I wanted it to be a bit more cliched cos if it was it would have been more fun to enjoy since you get those butterflies in the end when you see that the two main characters end up read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 17, 2009
Master10K
Akane-iro ni Somaru Saka is a Romantic, Comedy like any other. That’s pretty much all there is to describe this mediocre anime series and if that doesn’t satisfy your information needs then by all means continue with this review.

“Seen it, been there, done that…” Those are the thoughts that came to mind whilst I watched the first episode. It starts of ordinary enough when some posh girl (Yuuhi) is helped out by some guy (Junichi), who’s pretty well-known for some stupid rumour. Well at the beginning of the new school semester it comes to no surprise that said girl transfers to Junichi’s school and thus read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 29, 2008
Retro8bit
Akane-iro ni Somaru Saka is pretty much your basic "harem anime, " and I have to say that it stays pretty tried and true with its formula.

It starts off with Junichi (main male lead) meeting this mysterious rich female transfer student (Yuuhi) who has been forced to marry him by her dad. This happens early on and you would expect the rest of the anime to have them slowly grow close to each other, but oddly enough it doesn’t really do that, even though they are the main couple of the title. For most of the anime it seems to have Junichi and his friends read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 29, 2014
nyancat2506
I try my best not to be piss. but oh well, here it goes

Story 4/10
- It started good, I actually enjoy it the first few episodes. So this story went by a guy name Nagase saved a girl name Yuuhi who apparently is his future wife.
- she moved in to Nagase's sibling house becos she cant accept the planning marriage and wanna learn more about junichi
- At first he 'is interested' in her. / as she was also try hard to like him at first
- Then doubtful of his own feeling. / she know that she love him
- Finally realized that he love his sister read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 23, 2011
Feinerine
Adaptations of harem based eroge have increased in frequency lately, Akane-iro ni Somaru Saka (hereby referred to as "Akasaka") is an example of one that has possibly been butchered due to some factors (using the seiyuu from the PS2 adaptations, the ending). Directed by Keitarou Motonaga, notorious for directing other harem anime (School Days, Onii-chan no Koto) and Katanagatari (a big surprise) Akasaka proves that it is a product of many trite, anime/eroge cliches that were mixed in a blender of sorts with hints of fanservice added as some sort of seasoning. Ah yes, the eroge itself was produced by feng around 1 year before read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 20, 2008
liltrix7
Well... honestly, I don't know why I enjoyed watching Akane-iro ni Somaru Saka like I did, but here I am. I didn't take it seriously, though, for it was impossible to take it seriously. While I was watching it I was really just making fun of it most of the time. Why, you might ask? Well… it was just so darn stupid. Clichéd. Annoying. You get the picture.

The story centers around a seemingly normal guy named Junichi, who rescues a tempered girl named Yuuhi (what is up with that girl’s hair?) from some guys who were trying to pick her up (oh wow, an example read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 8, 2010
Dianim
WARNING: THIS CONTAINS MY OPINION AND A SPOILER!
This anime might be the most boring anime I've seen. And the worst ending I've seen. From episode 1-9, it was decent. nothing really happened, and I was sure this anime wasn't going to be anything special. At episode 10 I changed my mind from: "meh nothing special" to: "wow! this might actually be a good anime after all". I thought that it might have a good ending after all, but turns out I was wrong. After watching episode 11, I was sure there was no way out of this mess. There was no way this could have read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 1, 2009
gdavge2003
Akane-iro ni Somaru Saka has potential, but fails to deliver it throughout the episodes. The first episode sets up the story, and it is certainly interesting. However, unfortunately from there, it goes downhill. From a great introduction, Akane-iro ni Somaru Saka then becomes dully episodic, and most of episodes have little to do with with the actual story. The plot is really only addressed in the last 2 episodes, which, I have to admit, does do a decent job in wrapping everything up.

The characters are unique, but their development throughout the anime is pretty bland.You can just expect how each character would act in any read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 27, 2012
mike13531
If you plan on watching this anime, then you must have some background in romance/harem/comedy. As this particular genre dictates, try not to pick on originality, because it is non-existant in this genre.
Overall, this show isn't exactly a must watch. I like to point out some pros/cons.
Pros:
-cast (this anime has some serious big names involved in term of art/character design, voice actors)
-This is what I found to be the best one of all. The end female is unexpected , and gradually worked in. (Personally this gave me enjoyment score of 10. but i still have a write a fair review)
-Great read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 3, 2008
game8910
Akane-Iro ni Somaru Saka is the newest eroge adaptation by TNK, which are more famous for their work in School Days. Oh, another eroge made into an anime...inb4lameharemrite? Thats probably one of the first thoughts what will cross your mind when approaching this title, and to be honest you are not that wrong. If you cannot handle these times of anime, then you might as well give this a pass.

Story: The story is nothing out of the ordinary for this anime, it follows a lot of cliches many animes have done in the past for this genre. The main heroine Katagiri Yuuhi, gets into trouble read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 26, 2009
AnimeKraze
I only write reviews which defend animes thats been UNDERATED like this one.
I have no idea why people are mocking this anime, there is nothing wrong with this anime.
The storyline follows the classic romance comedy, face it people, pretty much All romance comedies containing harems follow pretty much the same storyline, in fact this anime was actually more difficult to predict than standard romance comedies. I actually predicted the ending wrong which very very rarely happens.

I see in some reviews people mentioned that this anime was Cliche. I don't know how many romance comedies you've seen but to call this anime "Cliche" you obviously haven't read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 31, 2008
Kit-Tsukasa
This series is incredibly hard to interpret.
Story: to start, the basic story is Junichi engaged to Yuuhi Katagiri, but Yuuhi refuses to acknowledge the engagement that her father has arranged and so she stays with Junichi before finalizing a decision...unfortunately, before moving in, she didn't have quite the pleasant experience meeting him...The first episode already was bland and it didn't really get interesting until we saw Junichi's sister, Minato, implicitly become Yuuhi's rival in Junichi's love. That is where it got interesting...so there was a hint of incest relationship, which was a start for this series, but was eventually poorly executed. Things are read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 5, 2011
roriconfan
If there is one thing worse than harems, that is harems based on porn games. Of course, the fans of such … hm … games … will refuse the term porn games and go for something more linguistically intelligent, such as eroge, date sim or My-Dreamworld-which-is-better-than-real-life. Anyways, whatever you wanna call them, it is basically about games where you press the right options and if they are right the girls drop on four and do their thing to you. There are of course non-erotic games as well which focus solely on romance but Akane-iro IS NOT ONE OF THEM. You get to screw every 2D read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices