Ranked #4221

Akaneiro ni Somaru Saka

Alternative Titles

English: Akane Iro ni Somaru Saka
Synonyms: Akasaka, The Hill Dyed Rose Madder
Japanese: あかね色に染まる坂

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2008 to Dec 19, 2008
Premiered: Fall 2008
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: TNK
Source: Visual novel
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 6.741 (scored by 47,172 users)
Ranked: #42212
Popularity: #536
Members: 80,681
Favorites: 198
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.

Reviews

Ranivus
Apr 24, 2010
Seriously, is it that bad to find this show entertaining? One can argue this is a typical slice of life, school, harem anime with typical character types and predictable story and you would not be far off. But, if you don't LIKE watching things like this, why are you watching it in the first place? Akane-iro is geared to the 'veteran' otaku who love specific voice actors or character types, or enjoy when different flags get triggered (like hot springs, school festivals, or costume changes) aka: fanservice. You can only watch so many different slice of life harem comedy titles to realize if you read more
I found this review Helpful
kevo
Dec 29, 2008
Akane-iro ni Somaru Saka is an anime that hurts itself by raising expectations and failing to meet them like clockwork. It goes out of its way to repeatedly build from mediocrity only to plunge itself back down to the point where you wonder why you even gave it much of a chance. It's someone jumping out of a 3 story building and landing on concrete, only to climb back up and jump over and over again. Until the person's bones are mush and the series limps to its god-awful ending.

As a series in general, Akane-iro ni Somaru Saka (from here on, Akasaka) is passable, I read more
I found this review Helpful
Skadi
May 26, 2009
There are some shows that really have no business being bad. Akane-iro ni Somaru Saka is one of those. When you look at the talent gathered for this series it practically reads as a who’s who of seiyuu talent. Unfortunately it is that talent that is one of the few bright spots in what is otherwise a pretty dismal series.

The story unfolds as your standard harem anime. I always find some of the ridiculous situations these writers come up with quite hilarious. A spoiled rich girl ends up living with a pair of siblings (not related by blood of course, read more
I found this review Helpful
Blood_Diver_A
Jun 16, 2015
[THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS]

(At Studio TNK)

Director [clapping his hands]: Okay, people. The next anime we're going to produce is Akane-iro ni somaru saka. Now, before we start production, I want everyone to play the visual novel and list out every event and trope that you believe should be included into the anime version. You have one week to complete this game.

[One Week Later]

Director [looking around the room]: Alright. I want everyone to hand in their lists. [Everyone begins to pass their list to the director.] Okay, thank you. Now, here’s what will happen. A few assistants and I will now tally up the tropes that read more
I found this review Helpful
Ceptryn
Nov 23, 2008
Watching Akane-iro is akin to dating the hot blond in class, only to find out that the most exciting conversation they can field is who Britanny Spears will date next.

Akane-iro certainly had potential. Attractive character designs, famous voice actors, a decent sound track.

Sure, like the desire to go out with blond bombshell, the story of a girl forced to move into the house of his future fiancee... who *happens* to be a your average anime guy who just also* happens* to have a hot sister is not exactly original. But you think

"Hey, the voice actors and animations are good, and such stories, no matter read more
I found this review Helpful
ChucriBZ
Aug 5, 2015
Akane-iro ni Somaru Saka
Akane-iro is something that i found hard to keep watching but i always complete what i start.

Story
The story for this is mediocre, there's not much to say than the MC Junichi meets a girl who didn't know he was going to marry her and because he kissed her by a misunderstanding, now she hates him and that goes on almost 11 episodes and the ending is bad.

Art & Animation
The art was fine, there are better works out there but it was fine.

Sound
The voice acting cast saved this from having a worst score but it wasn't amazing, looking at who the seiyuus are read more
I found this review Helpful
Master10K
Jan 17, 2009
Akane-iro ni Somaru Saka is a Romantic, Comedy like any other. That’s pretty much all there is to describe this mediocre anime series and if that doesn’t satisfy your information needs then by all means continue with this review.

“Seen it, been there, done that…” Those are the thoughts that came to mind whilst I watched the first episode. It starts of ordinary enough when some posh girl (Yuuhi) is helped out by some guy (Junichi), who’s pretty well-known for some stupid rumour. Well at the beginning of the new school semester it comes to no surprise that said girl transfers to Junichi’s school and thus read more
I found this review Helpful
liltrix7
Dec 20, 2008
Well... honestly, I don't know why I enjoyed watching Akane-iro ni Somaru Saka like I did, but here I am. I didn't take it seriously, though, for it was impossible to take it seriously. While I was watching it I was really just making fun of it most of the time. Why, you might ask? Well… it was just so darn stupid. Clichéd. Annoying. You get the picture.

The story centers around a seemingly normal guy named Junichi, who rescues a tempered girl named Yuuhi (what is up with that girl’s hair?) from some guys who were trying to pick her up (oh wow, an example read more
I found this review Helpful
game8910
Nov 3, 2008
Akane-Iro ni Somaru Saka is the newest eroge adaptation by TNK, which are more famous for their work in School Days. Oh, another eroge made into an anime...inb4lameharemrite? Thats probably one of the first thoughts what will cross your mind when approaching this title, and to be honest you are not that wrong. If you cannot handle these times of anime, then you might as well give this a pass.

Story: The story is nothing out of the ordinary for this anime, it follows a lot of cliches many animes have done in the past for this genre. The main heroine Katagiri Yuuhi, gets into trouble read more
I found this review Helpful
Xynic
Aug 5, 2015
WARNING: This review contains spoilers and lots of swearing

People say the journey is more important than the destination. However, after watching this tripe named Akane-iro ni Somaru Saka, I realized that isn't always the case. Nothing can compare to the amount of disappointment I got after finishing this series. This anime, although clichéd in a lot aspects, I actually thought was pretty passable. Well, that was until that asspull ending so big I think I ripped my anus.

*STORY: 4/10
Akane-iro ni Somaru Saka or Akasaka for short, is an anime produced by TNK based off a visual novel with the same name by Feng. The story read more
I found this review Helpful
Retro8bit
Dec 29, 2008
Akane-iro ni Somaru Saka is pretty much your basic "harem anime, " and I have to say that it stays pretty tried and true with its formula.

It starts off with Junichi (main male lead) meeting this mysterious rich female transfer student (Yuuhi) who has been forced to marry him by her dad. This happens early on and you would expect the rest of the anime to have them slowly grow close to each other, but oddly enough it doesn’t really do that, even though they are the main couple of the title. For most of the anime it seems to have Junichi and his friends read more
I found this review Helpful
DreamyGhost
Oct 31, 2013
*Contains major spoilers

First time I get to see a VN based anime, so I didn't know exactly what to expect from it, also because the game is an eroge... I guess it was good enough afterall, but all this fixation about "imouto fantasies" and incest, that japanese have, is really weird... I think it's ok this time, because everything got explained in the end...

{STORY - 5/10}

Jun'ichi was a real badass on Junior High and even got the "Geno Killer" nickname. Despite not fighting anymore, he was able to save Yuhii on the first episode without lifting a finger, people were affraid... She got transferred to read more
I found this review Helpful
torrapamii
Feb 8, 2015
I've seen lots of romance anime and maybe 1/4 of them lack something, and it's originality. Would I group this anime with that 1/4? Yes I would.

Story: 6/10

The story in the anime is not that original, as I've seen it in lots of anime. Boy has a random encounter into a girl -> Girl transfers into that boy's school, not knowing that the boy was in the same school she was transferring in. -> turns out girl was boy's fiance -> sister gets angry. Something along those lines. The story lacked originality, and another added to that is, it was a bit boring to me. read more
I found this review Helpful
nyancat2506
May 29, 2014
I try my best not to be piss. but oh well, here it goes

Story 4/10
- It started good, I actually enjoy it the first few episodes. So this story went by a guy name Nagase saved a girl name Yuuhi who apparently is his future wife.
- she moved in to Nagase's sibling house becos she cant accept the planning marriage and wanna learn more about junichi
- At first he 'is interested' in her. / as she was also try hard to like him at first
- Then doubtful of his own feeling. / she know that she love him
- Finally realized that he love his sister read more
I found this review Helpful
gdavge2003
Jan 1, 2009
Akane-iro ni Somaru Saka has potential, but fails to deliver it throughout the episodes. The first episode sets up the story, and it is certainly interesting. However, unfortunately from there, it goes downhill. From a great introduction, Akane-iro ni Somaru Saka then becomes dully episodic, and most of episodes have little to do with with the actual story. The plot is really only addressed in the last 2 episodes, which, I have to admit, does do a decent job in wrapping everything up.

The characters are unique, but their development throughout the anime is pretty bland.You can just expect how each character would act in any read more
I found this review Helpful
AnimeKraze
Jan 26, 2009
I only write reviews which defend animes thats been UNDERATED like this one.
I have no idea why people are mocking this anime, there is nothing wrong with this anime.
The storyline follows the classic romance comedy, face it people, pretty much All romance comedies containing harems follow pretty much the same storyline, in fact this anime was actually more difficult to predict than standard romance comedies. I actually predicted the ending wrong which very very rarely happens.

I see in some reviews people mentioned that this anime was Cliche. I don't know how many romance comedies you've seen but to call this anime "Cliche" you obviously haven't read more
I found this review Helpful
SweetIchigo
Aug 9, 2010
Akane-iro ni Somaru Saka at first seems like a cliche romance and all. Accidentally meeting in an awkward way and ending up together. Thle story would've fit like that especially since the two main protagonists were giving hints of their feelings for each other. but that wasn't the case, it didn't happen.

I gave the story a 5/10 because I personally hated how the story ended. I wanted it to be a bit more cliched cos if it was it would have been more fun to enjoy since you get those butterflies in the end when you see that the two main characters end up read more
I found this review Helpful
Dianim
Jun 8, 2010
WARNING: THIS CONTAINS MY OPINION AND A SPOILER!
This anime might be the most boring anime I've seen. And the worst ending I've seen. From episode 1-9, it was decent. nothing really happened, and I was sure this anime wasn't going to be anything special. At episode 10 I changed my mind from: "meh nothing special" to: "wow! this might actually be a good anime after all". I thought that it might have a good ending after all, but turns out I was wrong. After watching episode 11, I was sure there was no way out of this mess. There was no way this could have read more
I found this review Helpful
Skins2153
Sep 16, 2009
Preview:
Suffice it to say that an angry highschool-girl/bear orgy in a hot spring( which totally should have happened in episode 6) would have been a great way to separate this piece of crap from the crowd.

Review:
Witness THE GENERIC HAREM ANIME STENCIL!!!

I have just found a new way of watching anime. Within the first 5 minutes, if i realize that it's a piece of crap, I can skip through each episode in about a minute and just piece together what it's about without missing anything important.
(maybe 10 clicks through the timeline, stopping to watch for a few seconds every now and then)

Using this read more
I found this review Helpful
Danc110
Jun 19, 2015
THIS LITTLE REVIEW CONTAINS A BIG SPOILERS
.
.
.
.
.
.
I can't deny that i really enjoyed and laughed a lot while watching the Anime at the first episodes, and it's really nice that we have a boy loves a girl.. but it's so fuckin stupid for me to find out that the boy turned to loving his sister in a romantic way, ruined my mood!

So DON'T WATCH THIS SHIT!
waste of time!

Bye
I found this review Helpful