Ranked #925

Toaru Majutsu no Index

Alternative Titles

English: A Certain Magical Index
Synonyms: Toaru Majutsu no Kinsho Mokuroku
Japanese: とある魔術の禁書目録


Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 5, 2008 to Mar 19, 2009
Premiered: Fall 2008
Broadcast: Unknown
Source: Light novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company


Score: 7.751 (scored by 131,261 users)
Ranked: #9252
Popularity: #74
Members: 244,309
Favorites: 3,233
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Mar 13, 2013
*to those who are too lazy to read and just want a quick summary, skip to the final paragraph*

One of the greatest battles that mankind has ever witnessed is the battle between science and religion, a battle that is still being fought today. So just imagine, what will happen if people with supernatural abilities existed and both these sides got hold of people whose special abilities that are nothing short of miraculous? So how exactly does this relate to To Aru Majutsu no Index? Well I suppose a short summary of the story is in order.

Now To Aru Majutsu no Index (which I would just read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 10, 2009
"Then would you accompany me to the depth of hell?" - Index

"When magic and science crosses path, what will happen?" is how I would have liked to start this review. However the answer to that would have simply be "nothing" since, although both sides exists in the same place, there were hardly any interaction between them. So instead, I will begin by asking Index what she meant by accompanying her to the depth of hell. She was hardly present for half the show and during the rare occasions when she is in an episode, she gets sidelined and become a minor character with absolutely no read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 19, 2015
I decided to watch "A Certain Magical Index" after finishing both Railgun and Railgun S. I just finished watching the series yesterday and I thought it was decent. Not the best anime as people claimed it to be...

Story (7/10)
The story is set in Academy City, a city with a 2.8 million population; 80% of them are students training to become an esper. The story is focused on Touma, who has an ability in his right hand called Imagine Breaker. One day, Touma meets a young English girl named Index who is a nun from Necessarius. Her brain is filled with 103,000 forbidden magical books.
There read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 21, 2015
I felt this series shouted to the world that if its overrated, why not give them, viewers, the bestest sound effects, action, world building there ever existed. 'Cause it is overdone. The saving of girls, when even the hero just met them on the street. Word is, if you met this hero, all of this person's problem will be solved, but unfortunately, only to females. It's like the hero is allergic at saving people with similar gender. The creators are quite aware of this, I think, since them character's dialogue includes the stating of this fact like "the hero will save her", or "are you read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 9, 2015
This show gets worse and worse the more it goes on. I haven't really read a review that addresses all of the flaws, so yeah.

-holy cliche
-science cool magic lame
-last arc is incredibly terrible
-average art for 2009
-i guess good music
-9/10 of the characters are two dimensional heavily cliched borefests
-plotholes galore
-i have no clue why this has so much support

Story: 3/10
( i guess minor spoilers but only for the first episode )

Because I hate Wall of Text reviews, I'll spare some details and only really list details from the first episode.

If something has cliches, does that make the writing automatically bad? I think it's subjective, read more
I found this review Helpful
May 15, 2015
~ I will eat your illusions alive! ~
(TL;DR Version: Bottom paragraph)

In spite of the release order, i would in fact recommend visiting the alternate "Railgun" story prior to the "Index" one: as it begins by explaining Academy City's context, infrastructure and esper system more thoroughly. This could aid your ability to understand the extent of Toaru's genuinely captivating and morally driven premise. Nevertheless, i will treat this first installment of the "Index" story as the start of its own anime to avoid bias...

Academy City is introduced as a technologically advanced place in the future, where even magic is a reality; therefore filling the show with read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 20, 2015
Toaru majutsu no index or A certain magical index are one of those incredibly interesting anime shows, that the main theme is about Roman Catholics and the Index librorum prohibitorum.
Bare in mind that this review is slightly biased, since Index is my type of anime; it has an interesting story line, comedy, light and bit of fan service and of course has a tsundere! *cough* Misaka Mikoto. Aswell as it was mainly focused on the plot.

Story 9
The anime in set in a city called academy city, where one-eighth of the population are students. Its 30 years ahead than any other city in the world and read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 20, 2013
Ever since people started thinking, gathering in groups and building villages and cities, there was always the one question that some people asked themselves and even though most people probably didn't really care in the first place, they later started asking the same questions. It was a matter of time until that question was raised. "What are we?", "Where do we come from?", "Why are we on earth?", are the ones I am talking about and one answer became popular quickly: God! Religion was founded in the early days and while having it hard at first, the religion that in the end came out on read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 13, 2015
Toaru Majutsu no Index, a good, sometimes enjoyable series to watch. It has quite a few story arcs in it, with each arc concentrating on a particular character but mostly it's different scenarios for the protagonist, Toma.
Before I start, I'd like to adjust the rating of this anime according to what I saw. I'd rate it an average PG-13 anime. There's not much of violence or profanity in it to rate it a R-17.

Story 8/10:
The whole anime is about espers and sorcerers in Academy City, a city of espers/students. I can't really say it's got one storyline since the series is divided into arcs read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 24, 2009
To Aru Majutsu no Index is an action, comedy set in a modern (or perhaps slightly futuristic) city called Academy City. The entire city is basically composed of several schools that teach the usage of Esper; a scientific kind of magic.

The story revolves around the protagonist Kamijou Touma, as he is caught between tensions and events involving conflicts between Magic and Esper (science). While the first few episodes were quite promising, hinting at a huge power struggle between two sides, with Touma being in the center of attention, the rest was quite the letdown. There wasn't any deep story. The main plot simply gets read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 5, 2014
After watching (and enjoying) A Certain Scientific Railgun, I was very excited to start this show. Railgun is meant to be as a spinoff for one of the side characters in Index, so I was very curious to see what the main story actually is. To my dismay, however, I learned that Index, despite being the main story, is overwhelmingly average and mediocre compared to Railgun. I doubt I would have enjoyed this at all if there weren't any of the side characters from Railgun to keep things somewhat interesting.

Much like most anime that I have gripes with, my main two issues are the story read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 16, 2012
The beef on the plate before you smells wonderful. Its color indicates that it has spent just about the right amount of time on the grill. Surrounded by finely cooked and cut potatoes and some vegetables for the fresh taste's sake, with a glass of delicious wine towering nearby, the seemingly delicious meat only waits for you to enjoy your meal.

It's funny, really. In a way, Toaru Majutsu no Index is deceptive. The first few episodes promise you a really intriguing (if not epic) story. The presentation is phenomenal; the opening is great, events that unfold in episode 1 already get you hooked and there read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 27, 2014
If I had to use one word to describe this series, it would be: Confusing.
A Certain Magical Index is the exact type of anime, that sucks you in like a black hole in the starting episodes...and then leaves you hanging.
The setting is great, the future, an academy city full off students, robots everywhere, people with supernatural powers empowered by science and on the other side there are bona fide sorcerers wielding magic that stems from a religious background (Christianity to be exact). There are HUGE possibilities in this setting for really intriguing stories and characters to emerge. And the starting episode sets the story read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 26, 2009
To Aru Majutsu no Index (or TAMI for short) is the very definition of a generic anime. Theres nothing good here but its not necessarily bad. Some characters are likeable and entertaining but that makes up such a small percentage of the enormous cast that its just not worth it. TAMI is about a guy named Touma who lives in a city thats entire purpose is being a school for Espers (see: Psychics) although nobody actually reads minds and its more they all have a certain power. So nobody is psychic at all. Touma discovers a young girl hanging on his balcony whos a magician read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 19, 2015
Toaru Majutsu No index is extraordinary anime focused on superpowers.

Plot: (9/10)
Story focuses on fight between science and magic. What I enjoyed in this anime is a large world with lots of details. World is really original. There are a lot of magic organizations, each with their own goal and act in different way. Magic side has a large variety of powers, all of them bases on different religion, legend, or mythology (author of light novels make researches to create interesting and specified spells and items). Science side is basically focused on Academy City, where some people have scientific superpowers, there are also secret organizations and read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 22, 2015
Story 7/10
I liked the story, I've come across similar themes in anime before so it wasn't to original for me, but it was still fairly decent. One of the things that kind of stuck out was that it had elements of theism, but it wasn't necessarily the only major story component. It did have kind of a drama / fan service kind of feel to it which I feel doing away with could of made for a better storyline though.

Art 7/10
Art was good enough

Sound 6/10 I actually recognized a few of the voice actors / actresses, the sound overall was good to fair. read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 5, 2009
A Somewhat Unlucky Boy

Academy City, the Mecca of Science, is where most of it's denizens are student that have been scientifically engineered to be espers, or wielders of certain unique abilities: manipulating electricity, teleportation and controlling natural forces.

Touma is a student in the Esper Development Program, with very unique skill, the ability to negate supernatural powers, like the ones manifested by other Espers. This, of course, nullifies his good fortune as well: vending machines devour his yen, his cellphone crushed into silicon fragments by his foot, and he has to attend extra classes during the summer.

But fate isn't done with Touma, ready to twist read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 17, 2015
A Certain Magical Index is what you call "Science Fantasy". It was made by the creators of "ToraDora!" and has possibly one of the best English dubs I've seen from Funimation.

I don't really understand all of the criticism this show gets.
Many argue that the story is deceptive in the fact that everything goes downhill after the first story arc. In defense, it is a Light Novel adaptation, so it's got a lot of information and description to thrash out. I personally consider the first book (first 6 episodes) to be a story in itself, with the rest of the television series to be a read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 18, 2015
I stand by my initial impression. However at the time I suggested that the show was somehow not a worthy successor to Index, and I’d now like to recant that statement, because after careful review I’ve determined that they’re both really, really terrible.

I suppose if I had to decide which is the lesser of two evils I would pick Index, but that’s not to say that it isn’t gut-wrenchingly awful. After the first few episodes I would involuntarily flinch every time Touma opened his mouth. Half of the series’ running time must be him flapping his lips about friendship, which he defines as the relationship read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 15, 2015
I loved the idea of science and religion battling it out for control of the world - it was a unique idea which I hadn't seen before. The plots were easy to follow, and the characters were interesting. My only gripe is that the side characters were, in many instances, far more interesting than the main character. The main character, Touma, seems to win a lot of his battles with his overpowered ability, his insane luck, and the help of other characters. It did not detract too much from my enjoyment of the anime, however.
I found this review Helpful