MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #771
Toaru Majutsu no Index

Toaru Majutsu no Index

Alternative Titles

English: A Certain Magical Index
Synonyms: Toaru Majutsu no Kinsho Mokuroku
Japanese: とある魔術の禁書目録

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 5, 2008 to Mar 19, 2009
Duration: 23 min. per episode
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.811 (scored by 97728 users)
Ranked: #7712
Popularity: #63
Members: 173,855
Favorites: 2,558
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Mar 13, 2013
JustinNateal
*to those who are too lazy to read and just want a quick summary, skip to the final paragraph*

One of the greatest battles that mankind has ever witnessed is the battle between science and religion, a battle that is still being fought today. So just imagine, what will happen if people with supernatural abilities existed and both these sides got hold of people whose special abilities that are nothing short of miraculous? So how exactly does this relate to To Aru Majutsu no Index? Well I suppose a short summary of the story is in order.

Now To Aru Majutsu no Index (which I would just read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 10, 2009
KAMIOPPAI
"Then would you accompany me to the depth of hell?" - Index

"When magic and science crosses path, what will happen?" is how I would have liked to start this review. However the answer to that would have simply be "nothing" since, although both sides exists in the same place, there were hardly any interaction between them. So instead, I will begin by asking Index what she meant by accompanying her to the depth of hell. She was hardly present for half the show and during the rare occasions when she is in an episode, she gets sidelined and become a minor character with absolutely no read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 20, 2013
korison
Ever since people started thinking, gathering in groups and building villages and cities, there was always the one question that some people asked themselves and even though most people probably didn't really care in the first place, they later started asking the same questions. It was a matter of time until that question was raised. "What are we?", "Where do we come from?", "Why are we on earth?", are the ones I am talking about and one answer became popular quickly: God! Religion was founded in the early days and while having it hard at first, the religion that in the end came out on read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 16, 2012
Tenos
The beef on the plate before you smells wonderful. Its color indicates that it has spent just about the right amount of time on the grill. Surrounded by finely cooked and cut potatoes and some vegetables for the fresh taste's sake, with a glass of delicious wine towering nearby, the seemingly delicious meat only waits for you to enjoy your meal.

It's funny, really. In a way, Toaru Majutsu no Index is deceptive. The first few episodes promise you a really intriguing (if not epic) story. The presentation is phenomenal; the opening is great, events that unfold in episode 1 already get you hooked and there read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 21, 2009
FunkmasterTets
Toaru Majutsu no Index starts off strong, but quickly fizzles out. I, like many others, was intrigued by the fantastic world described in the first few episodes, a world where everybody has a superpower, as well as the mystery surrounding the title character. Sadly, the series fails to deliver a single solid story past the first arc and stumbles blindly onward to a barely sub-par ending.

The anime actually had me hooked at the first few minutes of the first episode. The character of Touma, who inexplicably possesses the power to nullify any supernatural force with his right hand (and also seems to attract misfortune, something read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 24, 2009
gdavge2003
To Aru Majutsu no Index is an action, comedy set in a modern (or perhaps slightly futuristic) city called Academy City. The entire city is basically composed of several schools that teach the usage of Esper; a scientific kind of magic.

The story revolves around the protagonist Kamijou Touma, as he is caught between tensions and events involving conflicts between Magic and Esper (science). While the first few episodes were quite promising, hinting at a huge power struggle between two sides, with Touma being in the center of attention, the rest was quite the letdown. There wasn't any deep story. The main plot simply gets read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 5, 2009
SamFury
A Somewhat Unlucky Boy

Academy City, the Mecca of Science, is where most of it's denizens are student that have been scientifically engineered to be espers, or wielders of certain unique abilities: manipulating electricity, teleportation and controlling natural forces.

Touma is a student in the Esper Development Program, with very unique skill, the ability to negate supernatural powers, like the ones manifested by other Espers. This, of course, nullifies his good fortune as well: vending machines devour his yen, his cellphone crushed into silicon fragments by his foot, and he has to attend extra classes during the summer.

But fate isn't done with Touma, ready to twist read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 26, 2009
midgarmerc
To Aru Majutsu no Index (or TAMI for short) is the very definition of a generic anime. Theres nothing good here but its not necessarily bad. Some characters are likeable and entertaining but that makes up such a small percentage of the enormous cast that its just not worth it. TAMI is about a guy named Touma who lives in a city thats entire purpose is being a school for Espers (see: Psychics) although nobody actually reads minds and its more they all have a certain power. So nobody is psychic at all. Touma discovers a young girl hanging on his balcony whos a magician read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 29, 2009
Splitter
Largely a compilation of various archetypes and cliches meant to produce something to hold over the Shana crowd until the inevitable Season 3, To Aru Majutsu no Index embodies the same animation style, similar story progression, and yet another myriad of needlessly confusing terminology. However, Index does manage to possess some very different characters than it's spiritual predecessor that add some freshness to an otherwise tired production.

If there's one thing you can't fault J.C. Staff on, it's the animation. Sharp, crisp, with a signature pallet and inspired character design, Index can be a treat to look at. Consistent in its appearance throughout, it does a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 29, 2009
Unregistered00
In order to enjoy this anime one has to realize that these are story arcs each having a number of episodes. Each of these arcs have some sort of boss battle in each end. Too bad most of the bosses aren't too impressive. And the finale doesn't weave all the arcs into one.

The story is too shounen oriented which will deter those that are looking for depth. It is unfortunate since there is potential for the storyline which in turn is trying too hard to be deep with the inclusion of quasi-physics theories that only drags it down.

Pacing-wise it feels way too slow. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 6, 2009
kanauru
. Pros
+ Science vs Magic Plot
+ Interesting and likeable characters ( girls )
+ Accidental harem
+ HD Quality
+ Humorous with popular references here and there ( leek )

. Cons
- After Episode 10 it's character development for the other characters
- Not enough time to get back to the main plot ( Season 2 I assume? )
- Feels like a giant introduction / setup ( Novel and Manga still going )
- Some characters feel like filler, hopefully they'll have some use later on

. Conclusion :
I like this Anime despite the fact it got off target halfway through. They did a good job of developing the other characters read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 17, 2013
ZeroReq011
We have an egotistical alchemist with reality manipulation, a murderous psychic with vector control, and a magician with rampaging golems. You know what they all need in common? A good punch to the face...

...courtesy of a Mr. Tōma Kamijō right fist. Sourced from Kazuma Kamachi's light novel franchise (and later, manga series), A Certain Magical Index follows the misfortunes of Kamijō when a rather eventful encounter with a nun hanging from his dorm room balcony throws headlong into friction-filled world of science and magic. Science, through Academy City, where he currently studies to realize his supposedly untapped potential as an esper. Magic, through Index, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 1, 2013
Impacto
This review is going to be a bit weird, because Index is a personal favorite of mine but from a technical standpoint I can't really give it a 10.

The story itself is nothing unusual or spectacular, ordinary boy gets caught into amazing and dangerous secrets of the world, but I find the "ordinary boy" part to be quite arguable, as the hero, Kamijou Touma, was born with a special ability called "Imagine Breaker" that can cancel any form of supernatural or magical phenomenon and lives in a sci-fi city full of students that go through ESP development curriculum to gain supernatural abilities of various types.

Many read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 9, 2011
ThermalPoptart
Toaru Majutsu no Index is an anime that can make you feel murderous, and then make you feel bad about yourself because you know that these feelings make you not nearly as moral or righteous as the main character in the series. If you were an antagonist in this anime, you would lose because you don't have the power of PUPPIES AND RAINBOWS AND A DREAM OF EVERYONE SMILING HAPPILY TOGETHER AND NOT HAVING TO FIGHT.

Pros:
-Interesting concept

Cons:
-Terrible execution of said concept

Having a world of science and magic and one boy that sort of stands between them is interesting...in theory. His ability to nullify read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 23, 2009
game8910
To Aru Majutsu no Index is yet another anime adaptation by JC Staff based on a light novel series published by ASCII Media Works. This is a show that has as many good things as it does bad things.

Story: The premise of To Aru Majutsu no Index (Index from now on) had me intrigued from the beginning, a story which is based on a science vs magic/religion is the type of plot I can really get into. However the way the story is executed turned the anime into something that could have been a great show with a deep and interesting plot into an anime read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 2, 2013
Loki0830
Toaru no Majutsu no Index is a series I find difficult to pinpoint exactly why I like as much as I do. From a technical, objective analysis of the anime, it's nothing special. But deep down, in the details, there is something quite unique and refreshing that I find very enjoyable.

The first thing of note is the flow of the anime, or rather, the seeming lack thereof. You are first thrown into this very compelling, if not epic, storyline that sets the show up with a ton of potential. You have 2 major organizations in the series: the science side, Academy City (Home of the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 2, 2013
Masserati_
"Such misfortune!"

It's somewhat apt that I happened to choose that as the opening quote to this review, because it really does sum up To Aru Majutsu no Index rather nicely - that is, an anime filled with misfortune.

Initially, Index got off to an...interesting start, it wasn't particularly bad, nor was it particularly good either, it was just interesting. We are introduced to our main character Touma, rather interestingly, Touma is not the stereotypical useless protagonist so often seen in shows like Index; don't get me wrong, at his core, he's just a variation on the plain nice guy, but this nice guy also happens to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 8, 2011
Queen_Stars
'Index features a boy who's suppose to be 'unfortunate' and weak, yet he's the main of the series and is the typical created-to-be-loveable type who'd do anything to help a friend or those in need; a tsundere 'strong girl' loiters around him and a mystery, fairly happy-go-lucky magic girl falls into his care.

This anime is a very safe option if you're; fairly new to anime, don't have high expectations of the series (things can only get better type of disposition) or you're confident you can't get enough of the; superpower anime with a basic plot, layback male lead, tsundere female, moe girls - type of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 20, 2013
LeikoHaran
Toaru Majutsu no Index (A Certain Magical Index) is a 48 episode adaptation of the light novel series of the same name respectively.
The 2 season anime were released between 2008-2011 and a movie released in February this year.

A Certain Magical Index is set in a world where supernatural abilities are a reality. While some individuals known as Espers possess special powers gained since birth, other individuals denominated Magicians gain their powers upon mastering the power of symbolism, be it from obtaining knowledge from special books known as Grimoires or by using special magic artifacts. While several Magician cults align themselves with ancient religions, Esper powers read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 19, 2009
Xer0117
Toaru Majutsu no Index is an action anime blending together the worlds of fantasy and science fiction, and is set in Academy City, a city full of espers.

The story revolves around Kamijyo Touma, a high schooler who suffers from misfortune due to his right arm, which can dispel any kind of magic or supernatural anomaly. The story is split into different chapters, each of which involve Touma beating the crap out of someone with his Imagine Breaker. Don't let Index's name in the title fool you, the story only revolves around her in the first chapter, while she becomes somewhat of a background character read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices