MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #3
Clannad: After Story

Clannad: After Story

Alternative Titles

English: Clannad After Story
Japanese: CLANNAD 〜AFTER STORY〜 クラナド アフターストーリー

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2008 to Mar 27, 2009
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 9.161 (scored by 155723 users)
Ranked: #32
Popularity: #31
Members: 235,662
Favorites: 25,144
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

comedy drama romance slice of life
May 6, 2009
LemonLyme
I laughed...
I cried...
I experienced something that changed my life...

In a nutshell, Clannad ~After Story~ influenced the way I will live for the rest of my life and not just in some half-assed way like any other show would. It legitimately moved me to make certain decisions, for better or for worse. In that sense, no other anime can compare, as no other anime has provided an equivalent reaction on my part.

Before you continue, you should know that Clannad ~After Story~ is a continuation of the story from Clannad and an adaptation from the original Visual Novel by KEY. Although knowledge of the first season read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 12, 2011
grungeallaround
Recently I had the absolute pleasure of watching Clannad: After Story. I had previously seen the original Clannad and liked it as a light-hearted slice of life anime, good but not amazing. I went into After Story expecting the same thing, but what I got was something fantastically different.

Story- 10/10

As I said before, I started After Story expecting it to have the same light-hearted high school drama feel as the first season and, unfortunately, the first eight episodes did nothing to prove me wrong. The first eight episodes are Clannad at its storytelling worst, more specifically the Sunohara arc. Thankfully, Clannad read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 5, 2009
Lighto98
"Do you like this school? I really, really love it. But nothing can stay unchanged. Fun things... Happy things... They can't all possibly stay unchanged. Even so, can you keep on loving this place?"

How does one cope in a world that is always changing? And are we ever truly alone?

The above questions are foundational to the series of Clannad After Story, a story of love, loss, redemption, happiness, sadness, togetherness, and change.

I will start by commending Key, the brains behind this show. Like other works of theirs, (Notably Kanon, Air, and the first season of Clannad), it is beautifully written and incredibly aesthetically read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 9, 2014
DystopianLove
Emotions are a powerful thing; they have the capability to override any modicum of rationality and force even the ficklest of beings to succumb to their emotional disposition. Due to this, often times, those of us who claim ourselves to be critics of various mediums fall short of our own expectations. “Clannad After Story”, a series described as “life-changing” by many is the perfect suspect; a production that captured the hearts of the majority that viewed it while instantly becoming a classic within its genre. Littered with subpar designed moe characters, irrelevant arcs, contradictory elements, forced plot devices, and a plethora of other obvious issues, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 22, 2009
KAMIOPPAI
*Yet another successful heart warming series produced by Kyoto Animation that surpasses its predecessor.*

“… an astounding series with a slightly less astounding conclusion.”

Due to the frequent references to Clannad (first season), from here on, the term “Clannad” will be used when referring to season 1 and “After Story” will be used for season 2 and the term “Clannad After Story” will be used when referring to the Clannad series as a whole. A few friendly reminders before we begin. After Story is a direct continuation of Clannad, thus it is not very “new audience-friendly”. Knowledge of certain key events and character relations are expected from read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 23, 2014
Subpyro
It's not easy. Understanding, or especially later examining something that reaches completion is anything but a simple and easy task. As I gaze at the screen and my mind is filled with ideas on what to put on paper, a new one always comes that overwrites the previous one. So here I am, stuck in a chaotic situation, yet with a simple and round completion in my mind. It makes me wonder, just how. How was something able to be set-up so nicely. How was is possible to execute it so excellently. How could it be delivered so gently, yet powerfully, that one only sits read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 30, 2010
Dragon422
~After Story~ is an anime that touches people's souls. I watched it, and was blown away. This was just less than a year ago.

I just spent the last 4 days re-watching Clannad and Clannad ~After Story~.

It made me recall that the first season was actually good. The first time I saw it, it just paled in comparison to the ending of After Story, giving me false memories of it being bad when I thought back to it.

After Story was still even better. The second time through made me admire the pacing the script writers had to go through to achieve this amount of emotional connection read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 12, 2009
Yammin
To be frank, I despised the first season with a passion. For the life of me I couldn’t understand what was so great about it. Yet I still saw the fandom of Clannad everywhere; from the forums to it being favourited on every other profile. I promised to stay away from ~After Story~ after witnessing the fail or rather mediocrity of Clannad. However, seeing the rage of it rising faster and louder with it being currently ranked #1 on the site I caved. Like a kid being peer pressured into smoking I reluctantly watched it. And I’m glad I did.

This is a continuation of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 28, 2014
TDDoHLaL
Have you ever thought that fictional characters might influence your life so much that it changes your whole perspective on the purpose of life?

I didn't, until I watched Clannad: After Story.

General information:
If you are familiar with anime, chances are high that you might have heard about Clannad and Clannad: After Story, two anime produced by Kyoto Animation and generally known as 'tearjerkers'. Both series are based on the Virtual Novel 'Clannad' that was originally produced by Key. So far I can also highly recommend the visual novel, but of course this review will describe the anime Clannad: After Story.
To put it simply, Clannad: After read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 9, 2013
wumbmasta
Clannad ~After Story~ Review

FIRST: Do NOT watch this show or read my review without first watching season one of Clannad. Although it isn't "necessary," watching season one and experiencing the character development throughout it greatly helps you understand the story and value the characters. Plus, it was a pretty damn good show.

Story-10:
Really, the first 8 episodes of After Story are pretty much exactly like what the original Clannad series was like: school life and character arcs while slowly building up Nagisa and Tomoya's relationship. Although these arcs were well written and I enjoyed them thouroughly, they weren't deserving of a 10 rating. However, once you read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 11, 2009
asdfrq2dg
So it has finally come to this. As I'd watched this anime I felt compelled to review it, heck I've done it in my head many times over. Every time I had a new thought, realization that made it greater in my mind. The reason for doing this is most likely that Clannad succeeded in amplifying every single story arc, making it feel grand, perfect and complete. It was around halfway into After Story that I'd realized I am in way over my head. This does not deserve to be dissected and reviewed like some faulty piece of garbage. No sir.

Clannad has grown on me read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 7, 2014
BasedGodzilla
"If you like, shall I take you to a place in town where wishes come true?"

This question, posed by Nagisa in the first season of Clannad, is not directed to anyone in the series, but rather, to the viewer. Clannad is a fantastic love story, in every sense of the word "fantastic." It's a fantasy, a perfect world in which wishes can and do miraculously come true. But is that really such a good thing? I'm not so sure, for though After Story may drown its competition in a flood of tears, it's rather shallow once the saltwater recedes.

Before I really get started, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 19, 2014
ushioharu
While the first season of Clannad follows more of the typical "slice of life" guidelines (and does them quite well), the second season is a masterpiece. This has been my favorite anime series for more than four years. It's beautiful, sad, funny, and mysterious, while simultaneously conveying relatable themes through the heartwarming story of Tomoyo and Nagisa.

Story: 9

The story would be an absolute 10 if not for some of the first arcs in the show. Though they were a bit more realistic than those in the first season of Clannad, I found myself not enjoying them quite as much if only because the themes are read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 27, 2011
ToxxicTeardrop
"So could these lights be shadows of something? If they are shadows, their bodies must exist somewhere else. Could things that exist somewhere else in some other world be creating these lights?"

Clannad After Story, sequel to another brilliant project of Key visual arts, brings you the magic of what a story can hold. It has the old high school romance, the friends, the drama, but it's not afraid and most certainly not attempting to hide it's supernatural aspect. You won't feel intact with the beauty of what Clannad has to offer if you don't realize the 'magic' behind it all. It brings life, and wonders read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 31, 2009
theeggman85
There are some animes that uplift us, and constantly make us laugh and smile each and every episode. There are animes that sadden us, show us a world where some people tried their best but didn't quite have the ability to make their dreams come true.

Then there is Clannad After Story, which seams together these two extremely emotional qualities flawlessly and presents us with something truly unique and amazing. It is a very real story, beautiful in its simplicity yet powerful with its bold emotions. It will send chills down your spine in the way it is able to show the biggest wonders within the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 20, 2014
doug23
Many moons ago, I loved After Story. In my eyes, It stood as the pinnacle of emotional story-telling and a true triumph of an anime. I perhaps acknowledged the few flaws I thought were there, but I still claimed that the overall experience washed out these wrongs like a baptismal fount.

Those days are no more.

Now that isn't to say that AS is a complete pile of garbage, no no no. It's certainly good, and worth your time if you're one of the two people left in the anime community that hasn't seen it yet (that begs the question why I bother even writing a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 31, 2013
Kevstuf
I didn't write a review for this after watching it because I honestly believe my words won't do it justice, but I'll give it a try anyway. I'm pretty new to reviews so please bear with me.

Story: 9/10

I would definitely give this a 10, but judging the anime's entirety, I'm gonna have to give it a 9 since the first 10 episodes or so are a repetitive...as in they're really similar to Clannad and not that special. What really separates After Story from the first one is what happens after the first 10 episodes, where the plot twists and character development really take off. I read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 29, 2013
hesselz
Note: Don't watch this anime if you haven't watched the original CLANNAD yet.

"Just because an anime is capable of making you cry and make you feel sad, doesn't mean it has to be good!"

This is something what I've heard a lot of people saying these days. I don't know if this is true. But do people actually know why people cry while watching a specific anime? Do those people realize how an anime could have possibly make you sad? It's because the story touched them to the very core. Or you felt so bonded with the characters while watching an anime. This is a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 14, 2013
PyraXadon
There comes a time, when, something hits you in a way that makes you feel, lost. You're overcome with what you had just saw and you can't help but feel, lost. This review is about Clannad: Afterstory, an anime that is very dear to my heart, and one, that I feel is Kyoto Animation's best works.

Story (10/10): The story of Clannad: Afterstory is very different from its prequel, Clannad. While Clannad revolves around the life of Tomoya in his 3rd year in high school, helping out various girls with various sorts of problems, this anime focuses solely on the relationship read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 18, 2013
Kilnerbanker
First review, ahoy! Let's do this..

Please excuse my British spelling and potential blabbering :}

Being relatively new to anime compared to some, having only "gotten into" this scene in the past year or so, I had inevitably been advised to delve straight into more mainstream anime; Cowboy Bebop, Elfen Lied, The Melancholy of Whatserface.. Those sorts of things, all of which I enjoyed to different extents. I then decided to veer off into more obscure and lesser known titles, just to broaden my horizon. Unfortunately, this experience wasn't great; there's probably a solid reason why the things I watched actually are lesser known; either they possess read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices