Ranked #7

Clannad: After Story

Alternative Titles

English: Clannad: After Story
Japanese: CLANNAD 〜AFTER STORY〜 クラナド アフターストーリー


Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2008 to Mar 27, 2009
Premiered: Fall 2008
Broadcast: Unknown
Source: Visual novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company


Score: 9.111 (scored by 224,024 users)
Ranked: #72
Popularity: #32
Members: 348,833
Favorites: 33,332
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Nov 28, 2015
/!Spoiler free
About Clannad and Clannad After Sory

Art=9-Chara-design is pretty special but fit well to the plot
Character= 10
I tried to watch Clannad several times but...I found the story annoying and banal. A simple slice of life with "moe" characters. I droped the serie after 4 episodes.
But I made a horrible mistake. The worst mistake than I have ever made.

During a boring sunday, I decided to retry to watch Clannad. I didn't except that I will watch the best anime that I have ever seen.

Clannad is a story who can be lived by everybody. The story of the first love, the beginning of read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 28, 2015
Clannad After Story expands on what the first season of Clannad gave and introduced. After Story takes it to a place where not many anime's go, the after-part of dating and falling in love. After Story took key features and enhanced and expanded on them from the previous.
Characters that were developed quite a bit in the first season were developed farther into the point of adulthood and the struggles of real life as you continue to grow older via making the characters even more developed and realistic.
The music more or less was equal quality of that of the first. But it took on read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 25, 2015
Clannad: After Story is the pay off from all the character and plot building that Clannad first set up. The characters that you've come to love are beginning to face the challenges of adulthood and are set on their individual paths. The two leading characters, Tomoya and Nagisa, become even deeper characters as they face these new challenges together. This whole series is a roller-coaster of emotions and you'll definitely want to have some tissues prepared for this one. This whole season is very strong plot wise....until the last six episodes. (The ending is why I gave a six in the story category.) A lot read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 24, 2015
The Best Romantic Comedy with Slice of Life Genre anime you'll find out there...... To me this anime was 10/10-RATED and one of the best anime i've ever seen :)
This is my first review ever so i'm a bit confused about it but i'll try my best..... :D

>Amazing Story
>Great Emotions
>Great Comedy Mostly by Youhei Sunohara
>Great Ending .....:D
>Changed a lot in my Life
>Good Art

I watched Clannad and Clannad: After Story two times. and Both times it made me Cry and Laugh like Never before watching an anime (strong Emotions & Comedy) ....... Here the comedy is really good and natural i mean read more
I found this review Helpful
May 6, 2009
I laughed...
I cried...
I experienced something that changed my life...

In a nutshell, Clannad ~After Story~ influenced the way I will live for the rest of my life and not just in some half-assed way like any other show would. It legitimately moved me to make certain decisions, for better or for worse. In that sense, no other anime can compare, as no other anime has provided an equivalent reaction on my part.

Before you continue, you should know that Clannad ~After Story~ is a continuation of the story from Clannad and an adaptation from the original Visual Novel by KEY. Although knowledge of the first season read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 19, 2015
After watching Clannad, after watching the OVA prequel episode's, and I didn't see the movie I heard it terrible. Clannad After Story is Fantastic. A Beloved franchise to clannad. OMG it really good, you can watch with a friends, or family (that want to get into anime) I love talking about this show, without put so much spoilers. Clannad is like my School life hood, though personality conflict of a slice of life that really fit the genre (you get it). I cry man tears at episode's 18-23.

Plot- 10/10 (Drama is great, comedy is really good, it explanation is fascinating, and the story is breathtaking) read more
I found this review Helpful
7 hours ago
First review I'm writing here.

I'm not a pro, nor am I a great reviewer, but I want to do it anyway.

Clannad After Story (as well as the first season).... I have just watched them in the span of a few days, during final works and exams at university. I was not able to stop. I did not know why.

The show was just fantastic. Everything from beginning to end, the character development is just amazing. Tomoya going through what his father endured and realizing how much his father sacrificed was moving. All the characters improved their weaknesses by the end of the series.

Also, the sound, read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 17, 2015
Did not enjoy it one bit, cannot recommend any more than watching the OVA.

Story 5
The story of AS was very plainly incoherent, and tried to take itself way more seriously then it actually is. The art style and first slice-of-life ish half of clannad made it come across as a casual series and hard to empathise with any of the characters. You'd watch the series and think to yourself "they wouldn't actually kill off any of the characters", and you'd be absolutely right. Also, it was next to impossible to have any sort of investment in the characters that did (for some time) die. Nagisa read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 12, 2011
Recently I had the absolute pleasure of watching Clannad: After Story. I had previously seen the original Clannad and liked it as a light-hearted slice of life anime, good but not amazing. I went into After Story expecting the same thing, but what I got was something fantastically different.

Story- 10/10

As I said before, I started After Story expecting it to have the same light-hearted high school drama feel as the first season and, unfortunately, the first eight episodes did nothing to prove me wrong. The first eight episodes are Clannad at its storytelling worst, more specifically the Sunohara arc. Thankfully, Clannad read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 9, 2014
Emotions are a powerful thing; they have the capability to override any modicum of rationality and force even the ficklest of beings to succumb to their emotional disposition. Due to this, often times, those of us who claim ourselves to be critics of various mediums fall short of our own expectations. “Clannad After Story”, a series described as “life-changing” by many is the perfect suspect; a production that captured the hearts of the majority that viewed it while instantly becoming a classic within its genre. Littered with subpar designed moe characters, irrelevant arcs, contradictory elements, forced plot devices, and a plethora of other obvious issues, read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 13, 2015
As it may seem i am writing this review long after i finished After Story. The first season, Clannad, gave off some good character development and background to some other minor things that set up for the continuation of the story at hand.

Story: 9/10
The plot or story of Clannad: After Story was fairy just a continuation of the first season. Key did a good job transitioning from the school life of the characters and into the adults they become at the end of the series. Overall it made a good impression on the watcher and made me feel like i was there. The emotion string read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 8, 2015
After watching many anime and reading many manga, I would recommend Clannad AS to most people just as strongly as when I first finished it. (I cry to it just as much too.) What sets After Story apart for me is the encompassing world it develops in addition to the main story. The completeness of the narrative is beautiful and rare, since many other media products of our time give up on telling a complete story for a variety of reasons. A plethora of stories are all told at once for the imaginative viewer who appreciates all of the series' nuances. Without spoilers, by the read more
I found this review Helpful
May 2, 2015
Clannad Afterstory is the second season to the 'Key' visual novel adaption, Clannad, so it is recommended to finish watching Clannad before continuing on, for the full experience. If you have finished Clannad and felt it was slow and mediocre, I ought you to continue watching, as Afterstory is a totally different ball game. For the sake of the review, I will refer to Clannad Afterstory as just AS.

So, what makes AS stand out? Before answering this question, let us first discuss Japan's obsession with highschools. Anime, as a flexible medium, has constantly flooded the market with similar romantised adaptions of this particular period read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 8, 2015
Finally, after I watched the first season of clannad, I would be rewarded by the highly ranked(#7) and praised second season(after story).

First of all, i didn't enjoy the first season like many others did and was not touched at all. I expected to break down in tears or something, that's why I started to watch this anime.( I felt like I needed to watch something sad for some reason :p)And in contrast to many others I didn't cry at all I though the first season was not that emotional as they say.

The second season on the other hand was more to my liking.Finally the protagonist read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 18, 2015
This is my very first review AND English isn’t my first language so I might have some mistakes. Minor spoilers from both seasons are included as well.

Oh, Clannad, one of the most beloved series of all times. Often called the best damn thing ever made. The amount of praise and 10’s that it gets in this website is INCREDIBLE. I’m concerned about how many “unhelpful” votes and insults I’m going to get because of my overall score, but I think it is necessary a review which tells the things Clannad actually DID wrong. I’m not trying to offend or to troll anyone, I have to read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 22, 2015
This is a review of both CLANNAD and CLANNAD ~AFTER STORY~.
Huge spoilers for both series also.

Clannad is a TV anime adaptation of a Key VN made by Kyoto Animation in 2007. After Story is a sequel to the original and aired in 2008. It has often been

hailed as the greatest love story of all time as well as the best of Maeda.
It is the story of highschool students Tomoya Okazaki and Nagisa Furukawa's love for each other and their journey into adulthood. The original series started

as your usual romcom harem anime, coming from it's roots as a dating sim VN. However it quickly read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 17, 2015
My god...this anime tortured me. It emotionally tortured me. The first season of Clannad barely made me cry so my expectations for the sequel wasn't that high. Now that I have watched the sequel........Goddamn onions making me tear up

(There will be SPOILERS in my review)

[Story]: (9.5/10) (SPOILERS)
Events in After Story takes place immediately after the first season, following Tomoya's final semester of high school. After declaring his love to Nagisa, they begin to have a close relationship. Their life will be faced with unexpected challenges, as the truth behind the illusionary world and the city's legend come to light.

When I saw the first 8 read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 2, 2015
I remember back in high school there were a few guys who used to hang out and smoke in the toilets. I didn’t know who they were or why they did what they did, but no one tried to stop them. And while I didn’t see any violence or anything – physical or verbal – it felt like they really wanted to make those toilets “their domain”. It got to a point where they rendered four of the six cubicles unusable because they started pissing on the floor for some reason.

I don’t know where they are now, but I’d imagine they’ve entered the workforce. read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 5, 2015

Disclaimer 1: Please excuse some colorful language that may or may not have found its way into this review.

Disclaimer 2: This review is NOT free of spoilers, so read at your own risk.

CLANNAD: Afterstory Review


-The animation is still great. Yeah.

-Extra focus on characterization. For some people. For the rest, it kind of sucks, but for Akio, Sanae, Yoshino, Tomoya and Nagisa it's great.

-More Tomoya! Afterstory builds up on Tomoya's development from the first season and kicks it into overdrive. We see him struggle to grow up, enter society, become a man, care for his family, etc etc. His character progression is solid and moves at read more
I found this review Helpful
May 5, 2015
Honestly, I don't know where to start. At the part where I refused to watch this because "Who wants to watch something like that?" or the part where I found myself watching 20 episodes in one sitting with a runny nose and slightly red eyes?

For a while, I threw both Clannad seasons off because I didn't think it could interest me (and the first season almost confirmed that) but I stayed along because the amount of recommendations I received and I was not disappointed.

Personally, I believe that the stand out points for this anime are the sounds and characters. My God, the OST's! Just listening read more
I found this review Helpful