MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #4
Clannad: After Story

Clannad: After Story

Alternative Titles

English: Clannad After Story
Japanese: CLANNAD 〜AFTER STORY〜 クラナド アフターストーリー

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2008 to Mar 27, 2009
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 9.141 (scored by 173336 users)
Ranked: #42
Popularity: #31
Members: 264,373
Favorites: 27,205
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

comedy drama romance slice of life
May 6, 2009
LemonLyme
I laughed...
I cried...
I experienced something that changed my life...

In a nutshell, Clannad ~After Story~ influenced the way I will live for the rest of my life and not just in some half-assed way like any other show would. It legitimately moved me to make certain decisions, for better or for worse. In that sense, no other anime can compare, as no other anime has provided an equivalent reaction on my part.

Before you continue, you should know that Clannad ~After Story~ is a continuation of the story from Clannad and an adaptation from the original Visual Novel by KEY. Although knowledge of the first season read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 12, 2011
grungeallaround
Recently I had the absolute pleasure of watching Clannad: After Story. I had previously seen the original Clannad and liked it as a light-hearted slice of life anime, good but not amazing. I went into After Story expecting the same thing, but what I got was something fantastically different.

Story- 10/10

As I said before, I started After Story expecting it to have the same light-hearted high school drama feel as the first season and, unfortunately, the first eight episodes did nothing to prove me wrong. The first eight episodes are Clannad at its storytelling worst, more specifically the Sunohara arc. Thankfully, Clannad read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
3 hours ago
Kaou
Story - Brilliant. Superb. In afterstory, I would say the plot moves much faster than the original Clannad. This, however, is by no means a bad thing. We are introduced to more of the cast. Afterstory captures the transition one has to deal with when moving on from school, into society, and tells that story through the eyes of our protagonist.

Character - The characters each hold their own distinct personalities, to the point they seem almost like real life people. As the world changes, they adapt to it, and they themselves change. One perfect example would be Tomoya Okazaki, our main protagonist. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 5, 2009
Lighto98
"Do you like this school? I really, really love it. But nothing can stay unchanged. Fun things... Happy things... They can't all possibly stay unchanged. Even so, can you keep on loving this place?"

How does one cope in a world that is always changing? And are we ever truly alone?

The above questions are foundational to the series of Clannad After Story, a story of love, loss, redemption, happiness, sadness, togetherness, and change.

I will start by commending Key, the brains behind this show. Like other works of theirs, (Notably Kanon, Air, and the first season of Clannad), it is beautifully written and incredibly aesthetically read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 22, 2009
KAMIOPPAI
*Yet another successful heart warming series produced by Kyoto Animation that surpasses its predecessor.*

“… an astounding series with a slightly less astounding conclusion.”

Due to the frequent references to Clannad (first season), from here on, the term “Clannad” will be used when referring to season 1 and “After Story” will be used for season 2 and the term “Clannad After Story” will be used when referring to the Clannad series as a whole. A few friendly reminders before we begin. After Story is a direct continuation of Clannad, thus it is not very “new audience-friendly”. Knowledge of certain key events and character relations are expected from read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 12, 2009
Yammin
To be frank, I despised the first season with a passion. For the life of me I couldn’t understand what was so great about it. Yet I still saw the fandom of Clannad everywhere; from the forums to it being favourited on every other profile. I promised to stay away from ~After Story~ after witnessing the fail or rather mediocrity of Clannad. However, seeing the rage of it rising faster and louder with it being currently ranked #1 on the site I caved. Like a kid being peer pressured into smoking I reluctantly watched it. And I’m glad I did.

This is a continuation of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 30, 2010
Dragon422
~After Story~ is an anime that touches people's souls. I watched it, and was blown away. This was just less than a year ago.

I just spent the last 4 days re-watching Clannad and Clannad ~After Story~.

It made me recall that the first season was actually good. The first time I saw it, it just paled in comparison to the ending of After Story, giving me false memories of it being bad when I thought back to it.

After Story was still even better. The second time through made me admire the pacing the script writers had to go through to achieve this amount of emotional connection read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 9, 2013
wumbmasta
Clannad ~After Story~ Review

FIRST: Do NOT watch this show or read my review without first watching season one of Clannad. Although it isn't "necessary," watching season one and experiencing the character development throughout it greatly helps you understand the story and value the characters. Plus, it was a pretty damn good show.

Story-10:
Really, the first 8 episodes of After Story are pretty much exactly like what the original Clannad series was like: school life and character arcs while slowly building up Nagisa and Tomoya's relationship. Although these arcs were well written and I enjoyed them thouroughly, they weren't deserving of a 10 rating. However, once you read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 11, 2009
asdfrq2dg
So it has finally come to this. As I'd watched this anime I felt compelled to review it, heck I've done it in my head many times over. Every time I had a new thought, realization that made it greater in my mind. The reason for doing this is most likely that Clannad succeeded in amplifying every single story arc, making it feel grand, perfect and complete. It was around halfway into After Story that I'd realized I am in way over my head. This does not deserve to be dissected and reviewed like some faulty piece of garbage. No sir.

Clannad has grown on me read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 9, 2014
DystopianLove
Emotions are a powerful thing; they have the capability to override any modicum of rationality and force even the ficklest of beings to succumb to their emotional disposition. Due to this, often times, those of us who claim ourselves to be critics of various mediums fall short of our own expectations. “Clannad After Story”, a series described as “life-changing” by many is the perfect suspect; a production that captured the hearts of the majority that viewed it while instantly becoming a classic within its genre. Littered with subpar designed moe characters, irrelevant arcs, contradictory elements, forced plot devices, and a plethora of other obvious issues, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 31, 2013
Kevstuf
I didn't write a review for this after watching it because I honestly believe my words won't do it justice, but I'll give it a try anyway. I'm pretty new to reviews so please bear with me.

Story: 9/10

I would definitely give this a 10, but judging the anime's entirety, I'm gonna have to give it a 9 since the first 10 episodes or so are a repetitive...as in they're really similar to Clannad and not that special. What really separates After Story from the first one is what happens after the first 10 episodes, where the plot twists and character development really take off. I read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 14, 2013
PyraXadon
There comes a time, when, something hits you in a way that makes you feel, lost. You're overcome with what you had just saw and you can't help but feel, lost. This review is about Clannad: Afterstory, an anime that is very dear to my heart, and one, that I feel is Kyoto Animation's best works.

Story (10/10): The story of Clannad: Afterstory is very different from its prequel, Clannad. While Clannad revolves around the life of Tomoya in his 3rd year in high school, helping out various girls with various sorts of problems, this anime focuses solely on the relationship read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 27, 2012
Hengao
Love, Family and Sorrow.
Clannad [After Story], shows that everything comes to an end; I know that all things will come to an end, normally they would. But Clannad [After Story], shows it upon a persons certain point of view. Or what he thought of these “end” and “endings”.

Clannad [After Story] was the one who changed my whole viewing about Drama and Slice of Life genre anime. Clannad changed me for a while there while I was watching it. I didn′t even held a tear while the most saddest parts were playing right before my very eyes. After Story had a huge changes from the first read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 13, 2011
trzr23


“He loves her. She loves him. They accept each other. And so they lived happily ever after…”
“And so they lived happily ever after…”
“Ever after…”
“After…”

What really happened to them “after”? How long did they stay together? What happened to them when they were together?

No movie or show, let alone an anime, has ever answered these questions.

Until now.

Instead of presenting a brief five minute epilogue with a J-ballad playing in the background at the end of the first season, Kyoto Animation has given us a 24 episode masterpiece, which is not only a highly satisfactory epilogue, but also a heart wrenching story by itself.

Clannad: AS is a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 13, 2014
DarkPaladin96
So Clannad: After Story is just a work of art. The anime is incredible and does justice with it only having 26 episodes (3-4 being extra stories). While it may tend to be very boring due to the romance genre, do not fret, the comedic and slice of life elements mesh well together. With it focusing on the lives of Tomoya and Nagisa, there is an amazing character development that occurs throughout these 26 episodes. With this anime providing laughs and also giving viewers an emotional ride between the two protagonists, this has to be the best anime I've watched this year. But with that read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 13, 2014
jbromberg10
There really is not enough words in the english language I could use to describe how beautiful and heartwarming this show this really is. It Is just something that you have to watch for yourself to understand.

Watching this show is like being on a literal emotional roller coaster. One minute you will be laughing at the comedic antics of the quirky characters, only to have your heartstrings being tugged the next minute. The story is so fantastically touching and the message it sends about the importance of family is so powerful.

It really says a lot about how life can be... Life can give you towering read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 27, 2011
ToxxicTeardrop
"So could these lights be shadows of something? If they are shadows, their bodies must exist somewhere else. Could things that exist somewhere else in some other world be creating these lights?"

Clannad After Story, sequel to another brilliant project of Key visual arts, brings you the magic of what a story can hold. It has the old high school romance, the friends, the drama, but it's not afraid and most certainly not attempting to hide it's supernatural aspect. You won't feel intact with the beauty of what Clannad has to offer if you don't realize the 'magic' behind it all. It brings life, and wonders read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 31, 2009
theeggman85
There are some animes that uplift us, and constantly make us laugh and smile each and every episode. There are animes that sadden us, show us a world where some people tried their best but didn't quite have the ability to make their dreams come true.

Then there is Clannad After Story, which seams together these two extremely emotional qualities flawlessly and presents us with something truly unique and amazing. It is a very real story, beautiful in its simplicity yet powerful with its bold emotions. It will send chills down your spine in the way it is able to show the biggest wonders within the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 11, 2011
longshoremanX
there comes a time in every anime fan's life where they say to themselves

"oh shit is that piss? IS THAT PISS?"

No wait wrong situation, oh there comes a time in every anime fan's life where they find that 1 show that they know is better than the rest. They know it's the best they ever seen and that nothing will top it. I'm talking about the day where they find the best show they'v ever seen. To me that moment occurred after i finished watching clannad after story last year,

And you know what I've watched a large amount of shows almost all of them read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 13, 2009
Splitter
Clannad caught me off guard last year being incredibly different from its predecessors, Air and Kanon 2006. There wasn't so much focus on a story as there was just following the school life of main characters Nagisa and Tomoya, as well as all their friends. When Clannad ended, Clannad After Story was announced. After Story not only guarantees its like its predecessors, but does so in a way that almost makes it excessive and, in the end, shameful. Though this may be the case, After Story is still a superior follow-up to the first season, following a more structured storyline, deepening characters, and still portraying read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices