MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #7
Clannad: After Story

Clannad: After Story

Alternative Titles

English: Clannad: After Story
Japanese: CLANNAD 〜AFTER STORY〜 クラナド アフターストーリー

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2008 to Mar 27, 2009
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 9.131 (scored by 202299 users)
Ranked: #72
Popularity: #30
Members: 312,432
Favorites: 30,326
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please not that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.

Popular Tags

comedy drama romance slice of life
May 6, 2009 7:20 PM
LemonLyme
I laughed...
I cried...
I experienced something that changed my life...

In a nutshell, Clannad ~After Story~ influenced the way I will live for the rest of my life and not just in some half-assed way like any other show would. It legitimately moved me to make certain decisions, for better or for worse. In that sense, no other anime can compare, as no other anime has provided an equivalent reaction on my part.

Before you continue, you should know that Clannad ~After Story~ is a continuation of the story from Clannad and an adaptation from the original Visual Novel by KEY. Although knowledge of the first season read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 12, 2011 3:01 PM
grungeallaround
Recently I had the absolute pleasure of watching Clannad: After Story. I had previously seen the original Clannad and liked it as a light-hearted slice of life anime, good but not amazing. I went into After Story expecting the same thing, but what I got was something fantastically different.

Story- 10/10

As I said before, I started After Story expecting it to have the same light-hearted high school drama feel as the first season and, unfortunately, the first eight episodes did nothing to prove me wrong. The first eight episodes are Clannad at its storytelling worst, more specifically the Sunohara arc. Thankfully, Clannad read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 8, 5:57 PM
techkotomi
After watching many anime and reading many manga, I would recommend Clannad AS to most people just as strongly as when I first finished it. (I cry to it just as much too.) What sets After Story apart for me is the encompassing world it develops in addition to the main story. The completeness of the narrative is beautiful and rare, since many other media products of our time give up on telling a complete story for a variety of reasons. A plethora of stories are all told at once for the imaginative viewer who appreciates all of the series' nuances. Without spoilers, by the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 2, 12:08 AM
abcd1234bah
Clannad Afterstory is the second season to the 'Key' visual novel adaption, Clannad, so it is recommended to finish watching Clannad before continuing on, for the full experience. If you have finished Clannad and felt it was slow and mediocre, I ought you to continue watching, as Afterstory is a totally different ball game. For the sake of the review, I will refer to Clannad Afterstory as just AS.

So, what makes AS stand out? Before answering this question, let us first discuss Japan's obsession with highschools. Anime, as a flexible medium, has constantly flooded the market with similar romantised adaptions of this particular period read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 2, 1:47 AM
MisterImouto
I remember back in high school there were a few guys who used to hang out and smoke in the toilets. I didn’t know who they were or why they did what they did, but no one tried to stop them. And while I didn’t see any violence or anything – physical or verbal – it felt like they really wanted to make those toilets “their domain”. It got to a point where they rendered four of the six cubicles unusable because they started pissing on the floor for some reason.

I don’t know where they are now, but I’d imagine they’ve entered the workforce. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 5, 2009 10:21 PM
Lighto98
"Do you like this school? I really, really love it. But nothing can stay unchanged. Fun things... Happy things... They can't all possibly stay unchanged. Even so, can you keep on loving this place?"

How does one cope in a world that is always changing? And are we ever truly alone?

The above questions are foundational to the series of Clannad After Story, a story of love, loss, redemption, happiness, sadness, togetherness, and change.

I will start by commending Key, the brains behind this show. Like other works of theirs, (Notably Kanon, Air, and the first season of Clannad), it is beautifully written and incredibly aesthetically read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 25, 4:57 AM
BabySakura
"Sanae told me where it was okay to cry. It was in the bathroom and in daddy's arms."

Both Clannad and Clannad: After Story are amazing animes (and if you haven't watched Clannad and are planning to watch After Story first, make a U turn and rethink that... seriously), however none is flawless. For this review, I'll present, in the first place, the positive aspects of each category and then proceed to present the negative ones.

Story: 9/10
Clannad:After Story proceeds with Clannad's story and does a wonderful job at that. What makes this story so good is that it's a slice of life tale of forgiveness read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 22, 2009 7:25 AM
KAMIOPPAI
*Yet another successful heart warming series produced by Kyoto Animation that surpasses its predecessor.*

“… an astounding series with a slightly less astounding conclusion.”

Due to the frequent references to Clannad (first season), from here on, the term “Clannad” will be used when referring to season 1 and “After Story” will be used for season 2 and the term “Clannad After Story” will be used when referring to the Clannad series as a whole. A few friendly reminders before we begin. After Story is a direct continuation of Clannad, thus it is not very “new audience-friendly”. Knowledge of certain key events and character relations are expected from read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 5, 8:20 AM
TheLlamageddon
Honestly, I don't know where to start. At the part where I refused to watch this because "Who wants to watch something like that?" or the part where I found myself watching 20 episodes in one sitting with a runny nose and slightly red eyes?

For a while, I threw both Clannad seasons off because I didn't think it could interest me (and the first season almost confirmed that) but I stayed along because the amount of recommendations I received and I was not disappointed.

Personally, I believe that the stand out points for this anime are the sounds and characters. My God, the OST's! Just listening read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 11:32 PM
Sorainnosia
Our life is like a cycle, sometimes we are above and sometimes we are under

Clannad ~After Story~ is a sequel from Clannad and an adaptation from the original Visual Novel created by KEY. The anime often heard in my ear as one of the best anime. I always ask myself, ''Why? Why Clannad very famous? Is it really that good?". But now, i know something special is exist in this story.

If you looked Clannad AS, there is not much to say about the plot. It told us a tale of a man that suffer the difficulties of living, and how he pass through it. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 12, 2009 5:29 PM
Yammin
To be frank, I despised the first season with a passion. For the life of me I couldn’t understand what was so great about it. Yet I still saw the fandom of Clannad everywhere; from the forums to it being favourited on every other profile. I promised to stay away from ~After Story~ after witnessing the fail or rather mediocrity of Clannad. However, seeing the rage of it rising faster and louder with it being currently ranked #1 on the site I caved. Like a kid being peer pressured into smoking I reluctantly watched it. And I’m glad I did.

This is a continuation of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 8, 8:31 PM
Impulse_Fusion
Firstly, I'd like to put a few things out before again. 1: This is my first review, as many other people have said, bear with me. 2: I am not a Clannad fanboy, just someone who enjoys the show, so try to keep an unbiased opinion when reading. Well, sorry for the long introduction and let's get to the review!

***MILD, VAGUE SPOILERS***

Story-9
Honestly, I'm particularly harsh when rating, and I vow to almost never give a ten to a show, but boy, I was an inch away to giving after story a ten, except for a few things. Firstly, as many others read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 21, 8:53 AM
Vlayer
In short, Clannad After Story continues what Clannad had started, but raises the stakes and explores aspects of life that not many other Slice of Life shows try to do. What you get is an incredibly emotional journey of what it means to become an adult, and what it means to be part of a family.

Clannad After Story is a direct continuation of Clannad, picking up shortly after that season ended. The first-half of After Story stays with the formula where it goes through the arc of one character before moving on to the next.

The main focus of After Story however is that of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 8, 10:08 PM
highpriest2500
Clannad: After Story - in partnership with the closest tissue manufacturer near you.

Why is Clannad After Story so highly rated? Why is it that anyone who watches this anime has to bring out the tissue box? There are certain feelings that regardless of age anyone will be able to understand. That feeling is the love from your mother and father. In any good parent, their love for their child is unconditional.

"Clann" comes from Irish that closely translates to "family." (Clannad is not a word as according to the results of my small internet scouring that I did) So, this anime is not necessarily focused read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 28, 2014 12:16 PM
AnnoKano
If a work of fiction drags its audience into the depths of hell with tragedy, does it retain its artistic merit if the entire experience is nullified by the conclusion?

This is the principal question faced when attempting to reach a verdict on Clannad: After Story, a work of fiction which has a compelling power to manipulate the emotions of its audience: to make them laugh, to bring them to tears, and to leave their hearts warm with joy. Exploring themes such as redemption and heartbreak, it does many of these things wonderfully, but in desperation to end with a certain tone, it destroys everything it read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 5, 9:01 PM
RepThe21st


Disclaimer 1: Please excuse some colorful language that may or may not have found its way into this review.

Disclaimer 2: This review is NOT free of spoilers, so read at your own risk.

CLANNAD: Afterstory Review

Pros:

-The animation is still great. Yeah.

-Extra focus on characterization. For some people. For the rest, it kind of sucks, but for Akio, Sanae, Yoshino, Tomoya and Nagisa it's great.

-More Tomoya! Afterstory builds up on Tomoya's development from the first season and kicks it into overdrive. We see him struggle to grow up, enter society, become a man, care for his family, etc etc. His character progression is solid and moves at read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 9, 2014 10:20 PM
DystopianLove
Emotions are a powerful thing; they have the capability to override any modicum of rationality and force even the ficklest of beings to succumb to their emotional disposition. Due to this, often times, those of us who claim ourselves to be critics of various mediums fall short of our own expectations. “Clannad After Story”, a series described as “life-changing” by many is the perfect suspect; a production that captured the hearts of the majority that viewed it while instantly becoming a classic within its genre. Littered with subpar designed moe characters, irrelevant arcs, contradictory elements, forced plot devices, and a plethora of other obvious issues, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 30, 2010 2:18 AM
Dragon422
~After Story~ is an anime that touches people's souls. I watched it, and was blown away. This was just less than a year ago.

I just spent the last 4 days re-watching Clannad and Clannad ~After Story~.

It made me recall that the first season was actually good. The first time I saw it, it just paled in comparison to the ending of After Story, giving me false memories of it being bad when I thought back to it.

After Story was still even better. The second time through made me admire the pacing the script writers had to go through to achieve this amount of emotional connection read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 25, 8:42 PM
connorwain
This is the anime that has changed my life.

No seriously, it made me think for a long time. It influenced how I do things in this world right now. I watched this in 2012 and that was the last time I cried over an anime. This is just a pure masterpiece.

Story: 10. The first season had a good story too, but my god the story in the sequel had me speechless. It starts off as a comedy at first and than it becomes deeper and deeper until you reached the Rock Bottom of feels. The symbolism is the best thing about this. So read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 27, 12:06 PM
YorouzoyaHouse
Clannad : After Story is a beautiful and mature anime.
It carries a beautiful message, though everyone might interpret it their own way. To some it is a love story, to some it teaches the value of family. I learned a little something about life from it.
Note : This review might start going along the lines of my own philosophical interpretation of it. Now, some of you might think its pretentious bullshit.(Maybe it is) But hey, that's what I felt. Though I would still recommend you to watch this anime because it is an experience you must have.



I always had a problem with the usual read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful