Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Blood: The Last Vampire


Alternative Titles

English: Blood: The Last Vampire
Japanese: BLOOD THE LAST VAMPIRE (ブラッド ザ ラスト ヴァンパイア)

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Nov 18, 2000
Producers: Aniplex
Licensors: Manga Entertainment
Studios: Production I.G
Source: Original
Duration: 48 min.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.011 (scored by 39,746 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #33222
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #815
Members: 65,074
Favorites: 199

Reviews

Archaeon
Sep 19, 2009
Blood: The Last Vampire represents something of a departure for Production I.G., and for anime as a medium, not in terms of plot or characters, but in terms of production. Traditional animation techniques were replaced completely by digital animation, whilst the character designs lost the standard "clean and simple" line structure that has been a mainstay of the animation field for many years. In addtion to these, the movie was also a departure in terms of audio, in particular because of it's dub, and also because of it's target audience (more on these points in a bit though).

But is is any good?

The story is a read more
I found this review Helpful
edythemighty
Jul 19, 2007
This is a great anime for vampire lovers. The ending as is to be expected is pretty open-ended, although Blood+ can give you an additional fill if you want.

Over all this OVA excells. The story is so well-written, it might not have that much in the way of character development due to how short it is, but the way they present the vampires is very believable, the director himself stating how he wanted to present vampires as in-between evolution, something few anime do, or overdue as is the case of Trinity Blood, where there is evolution, but it is accompanied with near magical powers. Blood read more
I found this review Helpful
queenwitch
May 30, 2015
Since this movie was short, I will make my review just as brief:

It felt like I walked into the theater 15 minutes late, then part way in I forgot I had to be somewhere and had to leave 15 minutes early.

The animation and art design is quite nice, but the lack of character development and very minuscule plot left me feeling so bewildered and confused - I still don't understand why this was apparently so popular at the time it came out.
I found this review Helpful
jutester
Feb 10, 2008
One of the most impressive animated films in 2000, garnering a Grand Prize at the Japan Media Arts Festival, Blood: The Last Vampire is a beautiful dark anime that is lauded for its extravagant production values. But, of course, when the animation studio has the caliber of Production I.G.

In the beginning, we are introduced to Saya on a deserted train. She sits very still, unmoving. Then all of a sudden, the train stops and the lights go out. What follows next is a one-minute action sequence that is guaranteed to take your breath away and give you an idea just how bloody marvelous this film read more
I found this review Helpful
lawlmartz
Jan 29, 2016
Blood: The Last Vampire- just given the title, this movie carries with it the expectations, anticipations, and cultural osmosis of many years of cinema, anime, and literature from the vein of the blood sucking creature for which it's named. Everyone has heard of the mystical vampire- and we have had a cultural fascination with them for nearly 200 years- since John Polidori's "The Vampyre" was released. There's something enthralling about the sanguineous, and its association with the occult, something we just can't get enough of.

In 2000, Production IG went out on a limb and produced an anime original story about a vampire who fights read more
I found this review Helpful
xaviersplosion
Aug 9, 2008
I apologize to "die hard anime fans", but this movie was awful.
The visuals were amazing, a lot of action, which I liked, however the story severely lacked in substance. The plot consisted of a few vague concepts, open-ended and confusing statements, and gallons of blood. We never get any insight on what the main character is, or why she did what she did. I thought it was really good (aside from the voice acting) up until the ending. It was extremely short and ended quite abruptly. I honestly thought the ending credits were a delayed beginning credit sequence. I was expecting much, much more. read more
I found this review Helpful
eddiefb3
Dec 21, 2007
After purchasing this I was a little dissapointed that it was only 45 minutes. But it really does have a lot of material in it.

But it feels more like a single episode of an anime. You don't really get to know the characters. You get to see some cool fighting. And get a little background information.

The animation is great. It looks really cool and works well for the story. The music goes well too.

One feature to this movie I thought was interesting was the voice acting. The movie itself is in English and Japanese. And the cast is mixed of English voice actors as well read more
I found this review Helpful
thesilentarmy
Apr 5, 2010
An anime of 48 minutes long does not at all have time to focus on characters or story, so I won't really rag on it for that. Instead I'll rag on it for other things, such as being a movie of 48 minutes. That is hardly two episodes. What could possibly be accomplished in this length of time? Well, there is one thing...

The movie should showcase incredible visual stimuli. That's all it can really be expected to do, and yet, Blood: The Last Vampire falls quite incredibly short. Sure, the art is different, and ok, maybe the settings are pretty good. It almost looks read more
I found this review Helpful
kickass331
Jul 18, 2007
This Anime wreaks of win...

From the delicious, and I mean delicious (If you\'re a chiropterin) character animation, to the sensational audio, this anime appears as if it is a comic, not that I read comics, just I heard that they say "in a flash" a lot during regular volumes...

The story is an Anime story that brings up a lot of questions that don\'t get answered, this is the best way to make an Anime, and adds to fan support, that\'s why FLCL\'s so great, because it makes no sense at all...

Overall, I\'m smelling win, and this win, is like no other,

If Blood : The Last read more
I found this review Helpful
Cyborg_Dragon
Jan 25, 2016
So one day I am in the foreign film section of the only physical store I know that sells anime and found this on the shelve for a small amount of change which I had to spare.

I never really thought of watching anime that goes back earlier than 2005 unless its something others tell me I have to watch or must watch. I made this choosing on my own and got my moneys worth but I have some slight complaints maybe because I don't know much about the blood series itself.

The story in this film starts off good like a proper action film then the read more
I found this review Helpful
GoodEnoughForMe
Mar 1, 2011
Blood: The Last Vampire feels more like an extended one off episode of an anime, as opposed to a feature film. It's short running time (48 mins) basically ensures that there is not a lot of time for character development and plot development.

Blood: The Last Vampire is particularly noteworthy for two things; being an anime filmed almost entirely in English, and being completely digitally animated, a groundbreaking new way to animate when this came out in 2000. It even lead James Cameron, of Titanic and Avatar fame, to say "The world will come to consider this work as the standard of top quality in digital read more
I found this review Helpful
cobrascope
Nov 4, 2009
This title comes from the Production I.G studio (Ghost in the Shell) so guess what? It looks and sounds great. It is probably worth checking out if you get the chance just for the lush visuals. It doesn't really seem like a real feature film though. It's only 40 odd mins long. There's no real plot, there's no attempt at developing any characters with any real depth, and there's absolutely no human emotion to be found anywhere. It hints at some kind of religious and political subtext but it never attempts to really explore those avenues. There is obviously a wider story going on underneath read more
I found this review Helpful
Faustes
Mar 12, 2011
I had to stop watching about 5 minutes into the movie due to the terrible english voice actors. There is no japanese dub of this movie also, so I had to drop it altogether.
I found this review Helpful
ktulu007
Apr 10, 2013
You know, during my time doing these reviews I've looked at both Blood+ and Blood-C. Both of which had a lot of issues, but I felt were decent enough overall. The odd thing is that I've never seen the movie that inspired them before. This is one of those rare cases where the anime film wasn't based on anything but had a manga, light novels and several anime based off of it. Of course, that doesn't mean it's necessarily good. It might be. It could also be rather dreadful or decent enough like the anime it spawned. Only one way to find out, this is read more
I found this review Helpful
kajia
Mar 22, 2010
"Blood: the Last Vampire" is a good old fashioned horror/action flick... though it's only 50 min long, which is pretty darn short for a movie. Not that it's a bad movie at all. It fares pretty well despite the length, with no glaringly big flaws to pick apart.

Being an action heavy movie, the action is obvious a very important aspect, and it's something that "Blood: the Last Vampire" delivers on all accounts. The action is fluid and bloody, fast and furious from beginning to end, with very little respite in the middle. The thickly atmospheric direction is brilliant at times, especially in the opening scenes. read more
I found this review Helpful
anthonyfield
Dec 29, 2015
The pacing/structure of this anime is excellent. The visuals are amazing, the atmosphere is great, and the length of the movie itself is perfect in my perspective.

No, the story isn't too unique, nor does it have many twists and turns, but for what it is and what it does, it does well.

A note though, as with other movies and such, the volume can be hazardous..
You may turn up the volume to hear the English spoken dialogue..but at risk of killing your ears via other moments in the movie - so, just loud enough so that you can just hear the English spoken dialogue - I read more
I found this review Helpful
femto999
Apr 13, 2015
Τhe blood franchise is either hated or loved by the anime community. And while some of it's titles are not so strong like the Blood C anime and it's movie that came after, ''Blood the Last vampire'' is probably the movie that even non fans of the franchise liked. The story is indeed interesting and because is the first entry of the series you don't need to watch any of the other anime of the series in order to watch this. It introduces you to Blood universe resembling more on Blood plus's though than Blood C's. The concept is the same a girl named read more
I found this review Helpful
Ghostalker
Jun 30, 2011
I watched the movie out of curiosity after reading some interesting background on how the movie is a critically acclaimed one and how the series Blood+(2005) and Blood-C which is about to be aired on TV at the time of the review's writing traces its roots on it.

The story is about a girl named Saya, she has a very serious face that always looks angry, she wields a katana, and that she uses it to slash-to-death the demon-like creatures called "Chiropterate." What is more intriguing about her is that she works as an operative to a secret agency which locates and hunts down those demons. read more
I found this review Helpful
Abs0
Dec 24, 2012
The most boring movie I ever watched in a while.

Art: Fucking SHIT. Every girl has fuckhuge lips, Saya is ugly as shit (so are all the other characters), the ugly 3DCG shows through.

Animation: There was what, 2 seconds of actual animation in this? And it was wobbly as fuck too.

Choreography: Shit. Saya is the slowest motherfucker alive when it comes to killing Chiropterans. She literally just walked up to the two vampires whilst they were staring at her. Just. Fucking. Walking. Wow how fucking intense!

Conclusion: What a fucking borefest. Another reason to hate 3DCG.
I found this review Helpful
explicit707
Feb 9, 2013
This is a visual masterpiece. Set in the 1960s on a US military base, our main character goes undercover to kill a specific menace. It's a short journey, but an intense one, and it's definitely worth watching. This is filled with some pretty graphic violence, and it's not for the faint of heart.

The story isn't bad, it really is just a short action/horror flick. The main character is easy to connect to, though there is very little character development throughout the story. The artwork and animation is top notch, and the sound is fairly well done as well. I do have to complain about the read more
I found this review Helpful