MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #2954
Blood: The Last Vampire

Blood: The Last Vampire

Alternative Titles

English: Blood: The Last Vampire

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Nov 18, 2000
Duration: 48 min. per episode
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.041 (scored by 32836 users)
Ranked: #29542
Popularity: #508
Members: 51,081
Favorites: 162
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

action horror supernatural vampire vampires
Sep 19, 2009
Archaeon
Blood: The Last Vampire represents something of a departure for Production I.G., and for anime as a medium, not in terms of plot or characters, but in terms of production. Traditional animation techniques were replaced completely by digital animation, whilst the character designs lost the standard "clean and simple" line structure that has been a mainstay of the animation field for many years. In addtion to these, the movie was also a departure in terms of audio, in particular because of it's dub, and also because of it's target audience (more on these points in a bit though).

But is is any good?

The story is a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 10, 2008
jutester
One of the most impressive animated films in 2000, garnering a Grand Prize at the Japan Media Arts Festival, Blood: The Last Vampire is a beautiful dark anime that is lauded for its extravagant production values. But, of course, when the animation studio has the caliber of Production I.G.

In the beginning, we are introduced to Saya on a deserted train. She sits very still, unmoving. Then all of a sudden, the train stops and the lights go out. What follows next is a one-minute action sequence that is guaranteed to take your breath away and give you an idea just how bloody marvelous this film read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 19, 2007
edythemighty
This is a great anime for vampire lovers. The ending as is to be expected is pretty open-ended, although Blood+ can give you an additional fill if you want.

Over all this OVA excells. The story is so well-written, it might not have that much in the way of character development due to how short it is, but the way they present the vampires is very believable, the director himself stating how he wanted to present vampires as in-between evolution, something few anime do, or overdue as is the case of Trinity Blood, where there is evolution, but it is accompanied with near magical powers. Blood read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 25, 2010
Miki-Liki
One boring evening, I felt like watching a short film. I searched on my computer and found this. I went to MAL, looked at the score and told myself: "Ew, this can't be good". But for some reason, I decided to watch it... And I shouldn't...

Story? What story? This has a story? Blood: The Last Vampire is a pointless film with no plot. It contains like, 50 minutes of pointless bloodshed, terrible dialogues and absolutely no enjoyment.

The art style is pretty good, considering it's 10 years old. The pallet is constructed mostly out of dark colours. Very nice, even for today's standards (of course, because read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 22, 2010
kajia
"Blood: the Last Vampire" is a good old fashioned horror/action flick... though it's only 50 min long, which is pretty darn short for a movie. Not that it's a bad movie at all. It fares pretty well despite the length, with no glaringly big flaws to pick apart.

Being an action heavy movie, the action is obvious a very important aspect, and it's something that "Blood: the Last Vampire" delivers on all accounts. The action is fluid and bloody, fast and furious from beginning to end, with very little respite in the middle. The thickly atmospheric direction is brilliant at times, especially in the opening scenes. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2011
GoodEnoughForMe
Blood: The Last Vampire feels more like an extended one off episode of an anime, as opposed to a feature film. It's short running time (48 mins) basically ensures that there is not a lot of time for character development and plot development.

Blood: The Last Vampire is particularly noteworthy for two things; being an anime filmed almost entirely in English, and being completely digitally animated, a groundbreaking new way to animate when this came out in 2000. It even lead James Cameron, of Titanic and Avatar fame, to say "The world will come to consider this work as the standard of top quality in digital read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 21, 2007
eddiefb3
After purchasing this I was a little dissapointed that it was only 45 minutes. But it really does have a lot of material in it.

But it feels more like a single episode of an anime. You don't really get to know the characters. You get to see some cool fighting. And get a little background information.

The animation is great. It looks really cool and works well for the story. The music goes well too.

One feature to this movie I thought was interesting was the voice acting. The movie itself is in English and Japanese. And the cast is mixed of English voice actors as well read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 5, 2011
-FlameHaze-
Introduction
Blood: The Last Vampire is a vampire story as you would have figured out by now and if you're expecting it to be like Blade, Underworld or Twilight, you are wrong. So what is Blood like?

Story
Without giving anything away, vampires get hunted and killed as they are preying on humans. Blood is the only person who can kill them from what I could see. Straight forwards story, excellent for vampire fans, nothing too deep (of understanding) except the sword that slices deep into vampires.

Art
The animation is rather smooth and well drawn - although there's not really any breath taking animation or still frames, anywhere, it's read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 11, 2008
glacierkn
I really didn't get into this movie/OVA like I did the TV series. I was totally in awe about the art style...it was so realistic. But man, the plot was not exciting or deep. I didn't even really "feel" Saya's character, even though she was so bad-ass. In my opinion, this wasn't worth watching; though I'm still going to watch the live action movie when it comes out, just cuz I love the series so much!
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 9, 2008
xaviersplosion
I apologize to "die hard anime fans", but this movie was awful.
The visuals were amazing, a lot of action, which I liked, however the story severely lacked in substance. The plot consisted of a few vague concepts, open-ended and confusing statements, and gallons of blood. We never get any insight on what the main character is, or why she did what she did. I thought it was really good (aside from the voice acting) up until the ending. It was extremely short and ended quite abruptly. I honestly thought the ending credits were a delayed beginning credit sequence. I was expecting much, much more. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 18, 2007
kickass331
This Anime wreaks of win...

From the delicious, and I mean delicious (If you're a chiropterin) character animation, to the sensational audio, this anime appears as if it is a comic, not that I read comics, just I heard that they say "in a flash" a lot during regular volumes...

The story is an Anime story that brings up a lot of questions that don't get answered, this is the best way to make an Anime, and adds to fan support, that's why FLCL's so great, because it makes no sense at all...

Overall, I'm smelling win, and this win, is like no other,

If Blood : The Last read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 5, 2010
thesilentarmy
An anime of 48 minutes long does not at all have time to focus on characters or story, so I won't really rag on it for that. Instead I'll rag on it for other things, such as being a movie of 48 minutes. That is hardly two episodes. What could possibly be accomplished in this length of time? Well, there is one thing...

The movie should showcase incredible visual stimuli. That's all it can really be expected to do, and yet, Blood: The Last Vampire falls quite incredibly short. Sure, the art is different, and ok, maybe the settings are pretty good. It almost looks read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 4, 2009
cobrascope
This title comes from the Production I.G studio (Ghost in the Shell) so guess what? It looks and sounds great. It is probably worth checking out if you get the chance just for the lush visuals. It doesn't really seem like a real feature film though. It's only 40 odd mins long. There's no real plot, there's no attempt at developing any characters with any real depth, and there's absolutely no human emotion to be found anywhere. It hints at some kind of religious and political subtext but it never attempts to really explore those avenues. There is obviously a wider story going on underneath read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 10, 2013
ktulu007
You know, during my time doing these reviews I've looked at both Blood+ and Blood-C. Both of which had a lot of issues, but I felt were decent enough overall. The odd thing is that I've never seen the movie that inspired them before. This is one of those rare cases where the anime film wasn't based on anything but had a manga, light novels and several anime based off of it. Of course, that doesn't mean it's necessarily good. It might be. It could also be rather dreadful or decent enough like the anime it spawned. Only one way to find out, this is read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 30, 2011
Ghostalker
I watched the movie out of curiosity after reading some interesting background on how the movie is a critically acclaimed one and how the series Blood+(2005) and Blood-C which is about to be aired on TV at the time of the review's writing traces its roots on it.

The story is about a girl named Saya, she has a very serious face that always looks angry, she wields a katana, and that she uses it to slash-to-death the demon-like creatures called "Chiropterate." What is more intriguing about her is that she works as an operative to a secret agency which locates and hunts down those demons. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 5, 2010
Shattered_Angel
This movie was alright, but I was a little dissappointed when I saw this on TV because I didn't know at the time that this forerunner of Blood+ only had three of the main characters from the series and they were VERY different. WHERE'S HAJI?!?! was my exact thoughts throughout the entire movie. But that aside, it was pretty good, the art reminded me alot of Ghost in the Shell and the dubbing was decent if I recall correctly. My only other negative comment is that the movie was a bit on the short side and it could've been a lot better if it was read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 12, 2011
Faustes
I had to stop watching about 5 minutes into the movie due to the terrible english voice actors. There is no japanese dub of this movie also, so I had to drop it altogether.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 9, 2013
explicit707
This is a visual masterpiece. Set in the 1960s on a US military base, our main character goes undercover to kill a specific menace. It's a short journey, but an intense one, and it's definitely worth watching. This is filled with some pretty graphic violence, and it's not for the faint of heart.

The story isn't bad, it really is just a short action/horror flick. The main character is easy to connect to, though there is very little character development throughout the story. The artwork and animation is top notch, and the sound is fairly well done as well. I do have to complain about the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 16, 2011
barcaman101
Unknown to the world their are demons that prey on people.a mysterious girl who work for a US organization is responsible to slay them.she get an assignment to go to a US base because the body count has been pileing up .this is a descent anime nothing special.there are no great characters or great moments,which is not due to it being so short because i'v seen many 45 minutes anime that are great.firstly even though i watched the dub it still contained a mixture of english and japanese language between scenes,which although wasn't awful did prevent me from getting a full feel for some scenes.the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 24, 2012
Abs0
The most boring movie I ever watched in a while.

Art: Fucking SHIT. Every girl has fuckhuge lips, Saya is ugly as shit (so are all the other characters), the ugly 3DCG shows through.

Animation: There was what, 2 seconds of actual animation in this? And it was wobbly as fuck too.

Choreography: Shit. Saya is the slowest motherfucker alive when it comes to killing Chiropterans. She literally just walked up to the two vampires whilst they were staring at her. Just. Fucking. Walking. Wow how fucking intense!

Conclusion: What a fucking borefest. Another reason to hate 3DCG.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices