Ranked #202

Detroit Metal City

Alternative Titles

English: Detroit Metal City: The Animated Series
Synonyms: DMC
Japanese: デトロイト・メタル・シティ


Type: OVA
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Aug 8, 2008 to Oct 28, 2008
Source: Unknown
Genres: Comedy, Music
Duration: 13 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company


Score: 8.311 (scored by 50,336 users)
Ranked: #2022
Popularity: #471
Members: 83,821
Favorites: 1,730
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Dec 15, 2008
It’s about a reserved young lad, Negishi, moving to the city of debauchery that is Tokyo and fronting a death metal band, as Krauser II, even though he would rather be at home drinking green tea and listening to laid back indie pop.

It’s tear-inducingly hilarious.

DMC's humour is similar to Cromartie High School in its lunacy, albeit more traditional in narrative-stakes, and it’s also more unrelenting and risqué with its filthy potty mouth and explicit scenarios usually involving casual public simulated rape. Rape isn’t funny, but when it involves a young man dressed like an 80's prog rock gone wrong band member who looks a read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 20, 2014
Wow man, DMC was fucking crazy. I swear that shit was so funny I almost fucking shit myself during every episode. It also made me want to kill and rape every bitch around me. As for my parents — you know I'm just going to stop right there.

Detroit Metal City is a brief comedic anime that is known for its vulgarity. The language is foul and the jokes are wildly offensive. And that's the show's shtick. If jokes about raping and murdering your own mother offend you — *cough* if you're any kind of sensible person they probably should offend you *cough* — read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 27, 2015
Laughed my ass off! I've been watching anime for 25 years and I can't remember anything this damned funny!

My only 2 wishes were that these were full length episodes and that there were more episodes coming!

When Negishi's ability to compartmentalize his true self from that of Krauser starts to crumble the situations become absolutely hilarious. It's what this entire anime is about and it's fresh and wonderful to watch.

Don't be afraid of it - embrace it!

I found this review Helpful
Sep 10, 2015
Once upon a time, a young anime fan who was catching up on all the Japanese cartoons he missed out on over the years noticed that a certain comedy anime called Detroit Metal City was in quite a few top anime lists. The descriptions stated it was a hilarious satirical takedown of the music industry with more laughs in it than an average season of Seinfeld, so said fan downloaded the anime eager to populate his top anime list with more “critically acclaimed” stuff and laughed his ass off at the “at the time” brilliant card the show played regarding how this badass heavy metal read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 22, 2015
Hey, I didn't google it, but I'm pretty sure "Krauser" is a german name, which allows me to leave the statement: DAS IST DAS VERFICKT NOCHMAL LUSTIGSTE WAS ICH IN MEINEM GOTTVERDAMMTEN SCHEIßLEBEN JE GESEHEN HAB, NEIN!!!

Though I guess that's not good for a review. Hmm, let's see...how do I describe a comedy like this?
Let's start by saying that this is a pure comedy. This isn't some show that has a lot of comedy mixed with substance, character developement or anything like that. Everything it does is helping the comedy along.

I found this review Helpful
May 16, 2015
I don't know why it's rare to find a comedy anime that makes you really laugh until tears are flooding from your eyes,but,what if someone asked you to describe a comedy anime that makes you laugh, the answer is simply: GO WATCH DETROIT METAL CITY.
Firstly, I find it hard to categorize this anime, because of it's uniqueness

The story is about a young man called Souichi Negishi, due to his love for music decides to move from the country side to the city(to attend school of arts or whatever...) wishing that one day he will become a famous stylish POP singer and singing happy songs read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 2, 2015
This anime is quite different from other anime. This anime doesn't really have a real storyline and heavily focuses on getting sucessful comedy which it does very well. It's an anime which i believe people should watch to have fun. This anime is quite dark (comedy-wise) so don't expect to get a brightened mood by watching this. You might've noticed that this anime is very high in my top anime, which makes you expect that i finished it immediately. No, this took me a long while to finish and is better viewed during a calmer period of the year where you don't have much work. read more
I found this review Helpful
May 2, 2015
I'm not sure how to write a review on MAL and I don't usually leave reviews because I'm lazy, but this time I really wanted to write something.

As a metalhead I was really happy when I found out about this anime so I was very excited. And then I was disappointed. I know this should be comedy, but I don't like the way metalheads are potrayed, with all that raping, aggression and brainwashing their audience.

I like the opening even if I don't like the lyrics, but overall it sounds great.
And I don't like that the lead character shows so little interest and passion for metal read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 21, 2014

What would happen if you mixed the random comedy and faux tough guy MC of Cromartie Highschool with the crude humor and heavy metal parody of Metalocalypse?! You would get Detroit Metal City. I watched all 12 episodes in 1 binge and I haven't laughed that hard in a LONG time! Not only is this one of the best anime comedy series in years, it is widely accessible even for people that don't like anime.

Story: 8/10

The story is about a mild mannered guy from the country named Negishi that moved to Tokyo in order to become a pop singer. Unfortunately, his music doesn't sell, read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 3, 2012
Detroit Metal City strikes a bizarre balance of the cringeworthily unfunny and the gut-bustingly hilarious.

This short, 12-episode OVA which will henceforth be abbreviated to "DMC" for convenience's sake, revolves around Negishi Souchi, an aspiring musician fresh out of college who has moved to Tokyo with a love of catchy, lighthearted European pop music. However, due to a misreading of his lyrics, he has accidentally ended up as the lead singer of death metal band Detroit Metal City, who are the antithesis of everything he stands for, using the alter-ego of Johannes Krauser II, a psychopathic omnipotent devil-creature who murdered his parents and raped them. In read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 13, 2009
Alright, so this here is my first review on MAL. I'll try to make it a good one. As you can see, I'll be reveiwing Detroit Metal City.

I'd like to apologize in advance for how long this will be...

Let me say first off that if you think you will be offended by off - color humor and swearing, run away in panic now, as this show is not for you. It is filled with swearing, rape jokes, drug references and other implied naughtiness. It is not serious, of course - it is comedy and there is no nudity and little violence to be found here.

The read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 19, 2015
I see this anime as a giant leap towards being adult. While I'm tolerant of every joke, rape and murder jokes aren't a problem for me, at some places I had to pretend I'm not watching it to protect my virgin eyes.

My favourite things in this anime were voice acting, crazy fans and, of course, music, since I'm actually a fan of metal, but searching for good bands is like a chore to me. Voice acting seems very monotone sometimes, which adds to hilarity. But the fans, who seem really idiotic like a stereotype of metal fans made by old geezers and religious mothers, are read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 11, 2008
"Detroit Metal City" is the most consistently funny anime ever made. It's not just a couple of episodes that hit the mark; all twelve are hilarious, unexpected, and brilliantly written.

Based on the manga which I also wrote a review for, the anime version is probably the most faithful translation imaginable. Every scene, word, and expression is exactly the same as in the comic, and in this case, that turned out to be an excellent decision.

DMC is based on the theme of dual personalities. Negi Souichi is a kind-hearted, simple 23 year old, a virgin with an ugly bowl-shaped haircut. He read more
I found this review Helpful
May 19, 2009
Detroit Metal City is a rapid fire comedy about the rise of the death metal band, DMC to prominence. It is also about the protagonist, Negishi, coping with his placement in a style of music unlike that of what he dreams to perform--Scandanavian Pop.

Animation - 7
The animation itself was pretty lacking, but the art style I really liked. It seemed quite clearly inspired by Mike Judge and Beavis and Butthead. It's a little crazy to me that I think this is a good thing, but it really does add something special as a bit of a frame of reference. As a read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 18, 2014
Satsugai Satsugai !!
Alright first of all i need to mention that if you strictly reject Metal music, or have a hard time tolerating dark humor then you might not want to watch this OVA .
The story is about a young country boy, Negishi that decides to go Tokyo to make the music he's always dreamed of making which is basically romantic/relaxing guitar melodies, but ends up being the Vocalist and lead guitarist of the upcoming death-metal band Detroit Metal City (DMC). This series truly cracked me up, and got me excited with one of the best Opening themes I've ever heard. There's also a read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 19, 2013
This has to be one of the first series that actually made me crack myself laughing. The show has a lot of dark humor in it, if it's your thing give it a try, doesn't matter if you even don't like death metal.

I think the site synopsis isn't very clear so I'll give it a shot. The story focuses on Souichi Negishi, a professional guitar player who after graduating from college I guess decides he wants to work on music, and his songs are all romantic pop, quite mellow innocent love music so he has this dream of having a bands like his heros from read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 19, 2014
Detroit Metal City isn't funny, when it ends.
+That anime has short openings and endings, there is plus. I don't know how that second one ends, because I was already on the next episode :D
-Graphic was bad, but still enough to get really good final effect.
+My watching was almost by all the time rolling on the floor and probably because of that it gains high score. My diaphragm still hurts, hehe.
+Story was simple, main of this anime was music and comedy, that is what I was expecting from this anime.
I found this review Helpful
Feb 24, 2012
Detroit Metal City is the most unique anime I've come across. This show is hilarious from beginning to end. And I really wish it was longer.

To be honest, the art wasn't incredible. What DMC lacked in art style, however, they made up for in content. The plot was so unique and unlike any other anime I've seen. I just wish there was more of a solid ending than the one in the anime. (This is part of the reason why I want to watch the live action movie. I want to see how they interpreted the ending.)

What I loved about it the most were read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 21, 2011
[Story: 7.5] Taking on the old Jekyll and Hyde concept with a new twist, Detroit Metal City is a comedy about Negishi, who for some strange reason, ended up singing for a band of the genre he hates the most. There, he takes up the persona of Krauser II, a supposed deranged escaped convict. The setting for DMC thus brings forth the question: how different is it between the performers' stage personae and their actual lives? How much of the so-called scandal and tales of debauchery publicized on the media true? However, that's a minor detail. The real humor lies in how Negishi gradually loses read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 6, 2008
Quite possibly the best show in years. Though at the same time it can be pretty hard to recommend. To enjoy the show you need to be open to extreme expletives and adult theme/humor.

A calm man who dreams of being a musician becomes the lead singer for a rising Metal phenomenon. I found the story to be pretty original and quite a good setup for some amazing comedy. Its not the best story in the world, but they certainly do a lot with 12 episodes.

Clearly not the best art, but it never intended to be. Instead they went for more of a read more
I found this review Helpful