Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Detroit Metal City


Alternative Titles

English: Detroit Metal City: The Animated Series
Synonyms: DMC
Japanese: デトロイト・メタル・シティ

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Aug 8, 2008 to Oct 28, 2008
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Studio 4°C
Source: Manga
Genres: Comedy, Music
Duration: 13 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.281 (scored by 56,024 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #2232
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #504
Members: 95,556
Favorites: 2,016

Reviews

Beatnik
Dec 15, 2008
It’s about a reserved young lad, Negishi, moving to the city of debauchery that is Tokyo and fronting a death metal band, as Krauser II, even though he would rather be at home drinking green tea and listening to laid back indie pop.

It’s tear-inducingly hilarious.

DMC's humour is similar to Cromartie High School in its lunacy, albeit more traditional in narrative-stakes, and it’s also more unrelenting and risqué with its filthy potty mouth and explicit scenarios usually involving public humiliation involving a young man dressed like an 80's prog-rock-gone-wrong band member furiously thrusting his groin against a piece of government property in order to placate his read more
I found this review Helpful
JediMindTricks
Nov 20, 2014
Wow man, DMC was fucking crazy. I swear that shit was so funny I almost fucking shit myself during every episode. It also made me want to kill and rape every bitch around me. As for my parents — you know I'm just going to stop right there.

Detroit Metal City is a brief comedic anime that is known for its vulgarity. The language is foul and the jokes are wildly offensive. And that's the show's shtick. If jokes about raping and murdering your own mother offend you — *cough* if you're any kind of sensible person they probably should offend you *cough* — read more
I found this review Helpful
KingOfRoll
Jun 13, 2009
Alright, so this here is my first review on MAL. I'll try to make it a good one. As you can see, I'll be reveiwing Detroit Metal City.

I'd like to apologize in advance for how long this will be...

Let me say first off that if you think you will be offended by off - color humor and swearing, run away in panic now, as this show is not for you. It is filled with swearing, rape jokes, drug references and other implied naughtiness. It is not serious, of course - it is comedy and there is no nudity and little violence to be found here.

The read more
I found this review Helpful
YoungVagabond
Nov 11, 2008
"Detroit Metal City" is the most consistently funny anime ever made. It's not just a couple of episodes that hit the mark; all twelve are hilarious, unexpected, and brilliantly written.

Based on the manga which I also wrote a review for, the anime version is probably the most faithful translation imaginable. Every scene, word, and expression is exactly the same as in the comic, and in this case, that turned out to be an excellent decision.

DMC is based on the theme of dual personalities. Negi Souichi is a kind-hearted, simple 23 year old, a virgin with an ugly bowl-shaped haircut. He read more
I found this review Helpful
literaturenerd
Nov 21, 2014
Overview:

What would happen if you mixed the random comedy and faux tough guy MC of Cromartie Highschool with the crude humor and heavy metal parody of Metalocalypse?! You would get Detroit Metal City. I watched all 12 episodes in 1 binge and I haven't laughed that hard in a LONG time! Not only is this one of the best anime comedy series in years, it is widely accessible even for people that don't like anime.

Story: 8/10

The story is about a mild mannered guy from the country named Negishi that moved to Tokyo in order to become a pop singer. Unfortunately, his music doesn't sell, read more
I found this review Helpful
noteDhero
May 19, 2009
Detroit Metal City is a rapid fire comedy about the rise of the death metal band, DMC to prominence. It is also about the protagonist, Negishi, coping with his placement in a style of music unlike that of what he dreams to perform--Scandanavian Pop.

Animation - 7
The animation itself was pretty lacking, but the art style I really liked. It seemed quite clearly inspired by Mike Judge and Beavis and Butthead. It's a little crazy to me that I think this is a good thing, but it really does add something special as a bit of a frame of reference. As a read more
I found this review Helpful
Flawfinder
Sep 10, 2015
Once upon a time, a young anime fan who was catching up on all the Japanese cartoons he missed out on over the years noticed that a certain comedy anime called Detroit Metal City was in quite a few top anime lists. The descriptions stated it was a hilarious satirical takedown of the music industry with more laughs in it than an average season of Seinfeld, so said fan downloaded the anime eager to populate his top anime list with more “critically acclaimed” stuff and laughed his ass off at the “at the time” brilliant card the show played regarding how this badass heavy metal read more
I found this review Helpful
themegamancave
May 20, 2016
“I will accomplish the feat of saying 'rape' eleven times in one second”
-Krauser, Detroit Metal City

This show is utterly ridiculous. Recommended by a MAL friend for its "give no fucks" vulgar and insensitive humor, Detroit Metal City certainly had quite a name to live up to. Do the rape and satanic jokes go too far? Well, there was only one way to find out.

Adapted from an iconic manga written by Kiminori Wagasuki, DMC has one of the most memorable anime intro sequences I can recall. You find the main protagonist, Soichi Negishi riding a train and taking about joining high school with the aspiration of read more
I found this review Helpful
Ex-Machina
May 16, 2015
I don't know why it's rare to find a comedy anime that makes you really laugh until tears are flooding from your eyes,but,what if someone asked you to describe a comedy anime that makes you laugh, the answer is simply: GO WATCH DETROIT METAL CITY.
Firstly, I find it hard to categorize this anime, because of it's uniqueness

The story is about a young man called Souichi Negishi, due to his love for music decides to move from the country side to the city(to attend school of arts or whatever...) wishing that one day he will become a famous stylish POP singer and singing happy songs read more
I found this review Helpful
idkifangirlalot
May 2, 2015
I'm not sure how to write a review on MAL and I don't usually leave reviews because I'm lazy, but this time I really wanted to write something.

As a metalhead I was really happy when I found out about this anime so I was very excited. And then I was disappointed. I know this should be comedy, but I don't like the way metalheads are potrayed, with all that raping, aggression and brainwashing their audience.

I like the opening even if I don't like the lyrics, but overall it sounds great.
And I don't like that the lead character shows so little interest and passion for metal read more
I found this review Helpful
Lindle
Oct 3, 2012
Detroit Metal City strikes a bizarre balance of the cringeworthily unfunny and the gut-bustingly hilarious.

This short, 12-episode OVA which will henceforth be abbreviated to "DMC" for convenience's sake, revolves around Negishi Souchi, an aspiring musician fresh out of college who has moved to Tokyo with a love of catchy, lighthearted European pop music. However, due to a misreading of his lyrics, he has accidentally ended up as the lead singer of death metal band Detroit Metal City, who are the antithesis of everything he stands for, using the alter-ego of Johannes Krauser II, a psychopathic omnipotent devil-creature who murdered his parents and raped them. In read more
I found this review Helpful
Nezerchin
Nov 6, 2008
Quite possibly the best show in years. Though at the same time it can be pretty hard to recommend. To enjoy the show you need to be open to extreme expletives and adult theme/humor.

Story:
A calm man who dreams of being a musician becomes the lead singer for a rising Metal phenomenon. I found the story to be pretty original and quite a good setup for some amazing comedy. Its not the best story in the world, but they certainly do a lot with 12 episodes.

Art:
Clearly not the best art, but it never intended to be. Instead they went for more of a read more
I found this review Helpful
thumpz99
Sep 27, 2015
Laughed my ass off! I've been watching anime for 25 years and I can't remember anything this damned funny!

My only 2 wishes were that these were full length episodes and that there were more episodes coming!

When Negishi's ability to compartmentalize his true self from that of Krauser starts to crumble the situations become absolutely hilarious. It's what this entire anime is about and it's fresh and wonderful to watch.

Don't be afraid of it - embrace it!

I found this review Helpful
sadasd
Sep 19, 2008
DMC is an drama, comedy, action, slice of life, romance show about this guy named sou-kun and krauser.


Story- Nothing too special just a ordinary story with a simple plot around a young man's going through everyday life problems.


Art- A bit different from your everyday anime , but very bland colors and lighting(wrong shadow direction in some parts). Besides Krausers everyone else just looks japanese and yes I know its supposed to be japanese ppl but today's standard anime have characters with unique colors all over. All i see is black and white nippon nippon! -_-


Sound- Best opening song I've heard in awhile.MURDER RAPE read more
I found this review Helpful
GuUguk
Oct 21, 2008
It will sound a little bit cheesy but the perfect phrase for DMC is 'brilliance at the best'. If the musics of the anime influences your final judgement and you like rock/metal music, I bet you will love this one too. This is one of the most funny series I have watched so far (I even nearly fall from my chair) but the comedy factor is far from elegant, but beside the crude jokes you may catch the witty ones. The story might not be sophisticated at first glance (a music band trying to get famous (or legend!)) but the still I read more
I found this review Helpful
insaneIntrovert
Feb 21, 2016
WARNING:
Don't watch this anime with people in the house as they might mistake your laughter for seizure.
Not reccomended for heart patients...

I was reading the lyrics for random anime openings and found DMC's(Not Devil May Cry) opening and WOW.The lyrics were so disturbing that I immediately knew I had to watch this anime.

I am not a fan of the comedy genre but trust me.. this is worth watching.

Before you start this anime do this first..
Search for Satsugai on google-sama and put on your headphones and crank up the volume to the highest to soak in the feeling..

The plot is simple or so it seems:
Meet Souichi Negishi,he read more
I found this review Helpful
Nilvius
Jan 21, 2011
[Story: 7.5] Taking on the old Jekyll and Hyde concept with a new twist, Detroit Metal City is a comedy about Negishi, who for some strange reason, ended up singing for a band of the genre he hates the most. There, he takes up the persona of Krauser II, a supposed deranged escaped convict. The setting for DMC thus brings forth the question: how different is it between the performers' stage personae and their actual lives? How much of the so-called scandal and tales of debauchery publicized on the media true? However, that's a minor detail. The real humor lies in how Negishi gradually loses read more
I found this review Helpful
poopmaster
Mar 19, 2015
I see this anime as a giant leap towards being adult. While I'm tolerant of every joke, rape and murder jokes aren't a problem for me, at some places I had to pretend I'm not watching it to protect my virgin eyes.

My favourite things in this anime were voice acting, crazy fans and, of course, music, since I'm actually a fan of metal, but searching for good bands is like a chore to me. Voice acting seems very monotone sometimes, which adds to hilarity. But the fans, who seem really idiotic like a stereotype of metal fans made by old geezers and religious mothers, are read more
I found this review Helpful
Silent_Vizard
Mar 18, 2014
Satsugai Satsugai !!
Alright first of all i need to mention that if you strictly reject Metal music, or have a hard time tolerating dark humor then you might not want to watch this OVA .
The story is about a young country boy, Negishi that decides to go Tokyo to make the music he's always dreamed of making which is basically romantic/relaxing guitar melodies, but ends up being the Vocalist and lead guitarist of the upcoming death-metal band Detroit Metal City (DMC). This series truly cracked me up, and got me excited with one of the best Opening themes I've ever heard. There's also a read more
I found this review Helpful
BDL
Jan 27, 2010
Detroit Metal City isn't just a celebration of extreme heavy metal in the form of a parody, but it is also a brilliant comedy show. The funniest elements here are the filthy language and bizarre sex simulations (but without erotic content or intent, just humor), both part of Krauser's extreme performances on stage or sometimes offstage. The bad and usually unexpected behavior of Krauser-san is the biggest reason why this show is so funny.

- Art

The animation is not that good, but it's purposeful. At the first time, I stranged the different screen sizes showed along the episodes, but it just help with the drama.

- Sound

The read more
I found this review Helpful