MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #216
Detroit Metal City

Detroit Metal City

Alternative Titles

English: Detroit Metal City: The Animated Series
Synonyms: DMC
Japanese: デトロイト・メタル・シティ

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Aug 8, 2008 to Oct 28, 2008
Genres: Comedy, Music
Duration: 13 min. per episode
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.321 (scored by 46988 users)
Ranked: #2162
Popularity: #441
Members: 77,185
Favorites: 1,603
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

Popular Tags

No tags found
Dec 15, 2008 7:35 AM
Beatnik
It’s about a reserved young lad, Negishi, moving to the city of debauchery that is Tokyo and fronting a death metal band, as Krauser II, even though he would rather be at home drinking green tea and listening to laid back indie pop.

It’s tear-inducingly hilarious.

DMC's humour is similar to Cromartie High School in its lunacy, albeit more traditional in narrative-stakes, and it’s also more unrelenting and risqué with its filthy potty mouth and explicit scenarios usually involving casual public simulated rape. Rape isn’t funny, but when it involves a young man dressed like an 80's prog rock gone wrong band member who looks a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 13, 2009 9:03 PM
KingOfRoll
Alright, so this here is my first review on MAL. I'll try to make it a good one. As you can see, I'll be reveiwing Detroit Metal City.

I'd like to apologize in advance for how long this will be...

Let me say first off that if you think you will be offended by off - color humor and swearing, run away in panic now, as this show is not for you. It is filled with swearing, rape jokes, drug references and other implied naughtiness. It is not serious, of course - it is comedy and there is no nudity and little violence to be found here.

The read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 20, 2014 6:25 AM
JediMindTricks
Wow man, DMC was fucking crazy. I swear that shit was so funny I almost fucking shit myself during every episode. It also made me want to kill and rape every bitch around me. As for my parents — you know I'm just going to stop right there.

Detroit Metal City is a brief comedic anime that is known for its vulgarity. The language is foul and the jokes are wildly offensive. And that's the show's shtick. If jokes about raping and murdering your own mother offend you — *cough* if you're any kind of sensible person they probably should offend you *cough* — read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 6, 2008 8:05 PM
Nezerchin
Quite possibly the best show in years. Though at the same time it can be pretty hard to recommend. To enjoy the show you need to be open to extreme expletives and adult theme/humor.

Story:
A calm man who dreams of being a musician becomes the lead singer for a rising Metal phenomenon. I found the story to be pretty original and quite a good setup for some amazing comedy. Its not the best story in the world, but they certainly do a lot with 12 episodes.

Art:
Clearly not the best art, but it never intended to be. Instead they went for more of a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 19, 2009 1:01 PM
noteDhero
Detroit Metal City is a rapid fire comedy about the rise of the death metal band, DMC to prominence. It is also about the protagonist, Negishi, coping with his placement in a style of music unlike that of what he dreams to perform--Scandanavian Pop.

Animation - 7
The animation itself was pretty lacking, but the art style I really liked. It seemed quite clearly inspired by Mike Judge and Beavis and Butthead. It's a little crazy to me that I think this is a good thing, but it really does add something special as a bit of a frame of reference. As a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 19, 2013 6:57 PM
spacemonkey93
This has to be one of the first series that actually made me crack myself laughing. The show has a lot of dark humor in it, if it's your thing give it a try, doesn't matter if you even don't like death metal.

I think the site synopsis isn't very clear so I'll give it a shot. The story focuses on Souichi Negishi, a professional guitar player who after graduating from college I guess decides he wants to work on music, and his songs are all romantic pop, quite mellow innocent love music so he has this dream of having a bands like his heros from read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 19, 2013 12:38 AM
Caraniel
Hilarious, crude and just the right length.

PLOT: Ah I loved this series! Its an excellent parody of the death metal music genre, has some truly hilarious moments and best of all its quite short so it doesn’t become stale when its apparent that the series has very little depth. The main character Negishi/Krauser is brilliant – his split personality is the major source of the humour and his constant neurotic narration means that he’s really the only character with any kind of depth. The rest of the characters are really just caricatures, but they are lots of fun to watch – favourite has to be read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 19, 2010 4:26 PM
MisaTange
Story: 9/10

You've seen a story like this before. 'Boy leads a double life, and that double life are polar opposites.' However, I find it rare in comedies, even in dark comedies like this piece of work. One point off because I found something... missing.

Character: 9/10

Each of the characters are interesting and adds to the comedy. However, really only Negishi really gets some character development. But, this is a comedy, people only watch for laughs, not character development.

Art: 10/10

I really liked the art style of this dark anime. Dark, very fitting for this type of anime.

Sound/Voice Acting: 10/10

Without a doubt, one of the more stronger points read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 27, 2010 7:44 AM
BDL
Detroit Metal City isn't just a celebration of extreme heavy metal in the form of a parody, but it is also a brilliant comedy show. The funniest elements here are the filthy language and bizarre sex simulations (but without erotic content or intent, just humor), both part of Krauser's extreme performances on stage or sometimes offstage. The bad and usually unexpected behavior of Krauser-san is the biggest reason why this show is so funny.

- Art

The animation is not that good, but it's purposeful. At the first time, I stranged the different screen sizes showed along the episodes, but it just help with the drama.

- Sound

The read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 24, 2012 12:07 AM
chidoriko
Detroit Metal City is the most unique anime I've come across. This show is hilarious from beginning to end. And I really wish it was longer.

To be honest, the art wasn't incredible. What DMC lacked in art style, however, they made up for in content. The plot was so unique and unlike any other anime I've seen. I just wish there was more of a solid ending than the one in the anime. (This is part of the reason why I want to watch the live action movie. I want to see how they interpreted the ending.)

What I loved about it the most were read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 18, 2014 12:08 PM
Silent_Vizard
Satsugai Satsugai !!
Alright first of all i need to mention that if you strictly reject Metal music, or have a hard time tolerating dark humor then you might not want to watch this OVA .
The story is about a young country boy, Negishi that decides to go Tokyo to make the music he's always dreamed of making which is basically romantic/relaxing guitar melodies, but ends up being the Vocalist and lead guitarist of the upcoming death-metal band Detroit Metal City (DMC). This series truly cracked me up, and got me excited with one of the best Opening themes I've ever heard. There's also a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 21, 2011 7:02 PM
Nilvius
[Story: 7.5] Taking on the old Jekyll and Hyde concept with a new twist, Detroit Metal City is a comedy about Negishi, who for some strange reason, ended up singing for a band of the genre he hates the most. There, he takes up the persona of Krauser II, a supposed deranged escaped convict. The setting for DMC thus brings forth the question: how different is it between the performers' stage personae and their actual lives? How much of the so-called scandal and tales of debauchery publicized on the media true? However, that's a minor detail. The real humor lies in how Negishi gradually loses read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 16, 12:23 PM
Ex-Machina
I don't know why it's rare to find a comedy anime that makes you really laugh until tears are flooding from your eyes,but,what if someone asked you to describe a comedy anime that makes you laugh, the answer is simply: GO WATCH DETROIT METAL CITY.
Firstly, I find it hard to categorize this anime, because of it's uniqueness

The story is about a young man called Souichi Negishi, due to his love for music decides to move from the country side to the city(to attend school of arts or whatever...) wishing that one day he will become a famous stylish POP singer and singing happy songs read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 19, 6:47 AM
poopmaster
I see this anime as a giant leap towards being adult. While I'm tolerant of every joke, rape and murder jokes aren't a problem for me, at some places I had to pretend I'm not watching it to protect my virgin eyes.

My favourite things in this anime were voice acting, crazy fans and, of course, music, since I'm actually a fan of metal, but searching for good bands is like a chore to me. Voice acting seems very monotone sometimes, which adds to hilarity. But the fans, who seem really idiotic like a stereotype of metal fans made by old geezers and religious mothers, are read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 20, 2013 3:04 PM
Fayetta
Detroid Metal City or DMC is about a young man called Soichi Negishi who finds himself as the lead Krauser II in a death metal rock band even though he would much rather be a solo artist performing love pop songs.

Firstly the story is very engaging and funny, the humor can be rather dark and filthy with it's it's strong language, sexual harrassment and comedy violence but it sets the tone with what the band and Krauser II are all about. It's fun to see Negishi use his alter ego Krauser II to his advantage through his day to day situations and events, not read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 6, 2010 4:02 PM
deleteme234
"GO TO DMC, GO TO DMC..."

At first I was misled by the beginning of the show into thinking that it wasn't going to be that good. Fuck, was I wrong...

Detroit Metal City is one of the funniest and brilliant shows ever created and is the best metal parody I have ever seen.

Story:

Detroit Metal City doesn't consist of one main story, but is broken into different segments. For this kind of show, this was a good choice.

Each individual story is hilarious, consisting of bizarre situations the characters find themselves in, and full of raunchy jokes which involve raping the Tokyo Tower, masochism, spitting into people's read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 9, 2008 4:43 PM
Deathnosis
Detroit Metal City based on the seinen manga by Wakasugi Kiminori. Directed by Nagahama Hiroshi (well known for mushishi). At first I was skeptical about this anime however I decided to give it a try after reading positive feedback...

Moving on to the story. Meet Souichi Negishi a young man who came from the countryside. He went to Tokyo for college and wished to become a kindergarten teacher. However his life changed when he became the singer and songwriter for the band Detroit Metal City. Every episode shows the everyday life of Negishi and his other self Krauser II. Dealing with the band, family, ex-classmates/friends and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 16, 2010 2:56 PM
ThatAnimeSnob
ART SECTION: 7/10 [An almost identical adaptation of the manga format.]
The animators didn’t bother much in this section. Frankly, they didn’t need to. It is hilarious, no matter how crude the characters look or move. If it was a title where visuals play an outmost importance, like a romance like Air or an action movie like Sword of the Stranger, this would be a major minus. Since it is a comedy not based on slapstick movements, it goes well with the territory. To be honest, the thing that matters the most are the spaced out grimaces the characters make. All the rest are unimportant. Looking read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 19, 2014 4:17 AM
Fixil
Detroit Metal City isn't funny, when it ends.
+That anime has short openings and endings, there is plus. I don't know how that second one ends, because I was already on the next episode :D
-Graphic was bad, but still enough to get really good final effect.
+My watching was almost by all the time rolling on the floor and probably because of that it gains high score. My diaphragm still hurts, hehe.
+Story was simple, main of this anime was music and comedy, that is what I was expecting from this anime.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 3, 2012 10:56 PM
Lindle
Detroit Metal City strikes a bizarre balance of the cringeworthily unfunny and the gut-bustingly hilarious.

This short, 12-episode OVA which will henceforth be abbreviated to "DMC" for convenience's sake, revolves around Negishi Souchi, an aspiring musician fresh out of college who has moved to Tokyo with a love of catchy, lighthearted European pop music. However, due to a misreading of his lyrics, he has accidentally ended up as the lead singer of death metal band Detroit Metal City, who are the antithesis of everything he stands for, using the alter-ego of Johannes Krauser II, a psychopathic omnipotent devil-creature who murdered his parents and raped them. In read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful