Ranked #389

Soul Eater

Alternative Titles

English: Soul Eater
Japanese: ソウルイーター


Type: TV
Episodes: 51
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2008 to Mar 30, 2009
Premiered: Spring 2008
Broadcast: Unknown
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company


Score: 8.121 (scored by 253,461 users)
Ranked: #3892
Popularity: #15
Members: 439,689
Favorites: 12,737
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Mar 9, 2009
Soul Eater is an impressive anime. It's one of those where you will no doubt enjoy watching

After watching some of the first episode you'll think Soul Eater will have your typical Shonen story. Basically, human weapons and their student technicians reside in Shibusen and have to collect 99 evil human souls and 1 witch soul, the reward being that the technician's weapon will transform into a Death Scythe.

It seems pretty formulaic, nothing you haven't seen before. The way the first few episodes pan out will make this seem like the main goal, but soon after you'll realise there is actually a deeper story developing. read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 30, 2015
If you’re a fan of the nineties stop motion movie The Nightmare Before Christmas, your vision of a land based entirely on the tropes, designs and conventions of Halloween is a dark, depressing town where every single resident is ironically joyful and pleasant towards one another. Soul Eater, on the other hand, takes this idea and turns it over on it’s head. Death City, for all of it’s creeps and ghouls, is a bright, happy place where even the Grim Reaper is more of a cuddly uncle than a terrifying specter of doom. The Reaper, or Lord Death, as he prefers to be called, is read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 13, 2015
Soul Eater is an amazing anime, and one of the funniest. It is my favorite anime (don't judge) by far.

Story- 9: The story is amazing. Meisters who have friends who turn into weapons. Anything cooler? The only thing I don't like is they didn't follow the manga towards the end on the second season, and butchered the very end fight.

Art- 9: Art is really good, but I'm not one to ask for that, I don't really care.

Sound- 8: The music is decent, but if you're looking for an anime with solid mind- blowing music, go to another anime.

Characters- 8: I really love read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 31, 2015
Soul Eater is one of the more popular anime out there for a simple reason: It’s easily accessible shounen for the teenage demographic. Every single anime that has broken through to massive mainstream success in the west falls under this description, side from Sailor Moon or the Ghibli films. But behemoths like DBZ, Naruto, One Piece, Bleach, Attack On Titan, SAO, Akira, hot diggety damn that’s a lot of shounen. And while Soul Eater may not be up there with the big boys, it’s still watched by a large amount of anime fans because it just has more of the shounen aspects they’re used to.

So read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 15, 2015
I've started watching Soul Eater so many times before but I always ended up dropping it. Finally, after forcing myself to queue it up on my computer, I've finally finished it. What I can say is, overall, Soul Eater is an enjoyable anime with plenty of action and an interesting world to follow. However, as much as I think the anime is enjoyable, I rate it as just being okay. Here are a few reasons why:

The idea of Soul Eater is great and I was intrigued from the start by the idea, but then it just goes flat really quickly. read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 15, 2015
So it's time for me to start talking about Soul Eater.

First things first, this anime is about people that turn into weapons and the people who use them to fight. This anime has a lot of well executed fight scenes that make for an enjoyable watch while at the same time keeps a nice Halloween like theme to it that adds to the semi-creepy setting. I say semi creepy because there are moment that are purely comical.

The setting is really nice and adds the darker elements to the show. The show's fight scenes also add to the setting with most of them taking place either read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 11, 2015
This is a truly excellent show. I consider this to be the anime that got me into anime. After watching this I really began watching anime on a daily basis, before it I just wasn't really that interested.

Story (10/10)
I personally found the story to be absolutely excellent. For about the first half, the anime feels like it is going to be a typical adventure anime following the two main characters on their trial. However, other events occur in the background surrounding a much more ominous enemy. This all begins to wind together, involving the students, and before I knew it there was this insane read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 29, 2015
Soul eater is about three groups of students at some university(Shibusen) each group made up of two pairs, a weapon wielder & the weapons themselves.

I tried really hard to like this anime, so hard. The premise was so unique that i got 29 episodes in before i shut the whole thing down.

The show started off incredibly boring & basically just carried itself with humor that was barely funny at all. The jokes are always the same and they just reuse the same humor. If you take a real funny show like Gintama and compare the two, you'll understand what I'm saying. But obviously read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 17, 2009
Here we have Soul Eater, a shounen anime produced by Bones (Wolf's Rain, Full Metal Alchemist, Ouran High School Host Club) that came out in 2008. I've never read the manga, so this is based solely on the anime. Set in the fantastical Death City, Soul Eater focuses on the Shibusen Academy, where students both work together and compete in order to turn their partners - boys and girls that can turn into various different weapons - into world-class Death Scythes. My university pally and I blasted through all 51 episodes in about a week, if you don't count the days that we were too read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 25, 2015
This truly is a unique anime, but it lacks something in all departments. I found this anime quite overrated, considering how much potential it had. The pacing is horrible, the music (especially the piano score) is annoying and some of the voices sound so unnatural (Patty, Soul, Maka), and the art varies a whole lot (the character's noses annoyed me). Still, I've never had so many mixed emotions about a show. I found myself annoyed, confused, curious. bored, excited, sleepy, refreshed, amused, intrigued and laughing. Mostly because the episodes varies so insanely much.

But the show indeed has a cool feel to it, with a unique read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 1, 2013
So to put it simply, I don't normally do this. To put it specifically; Soul Eater is balls out entertaining as balls with balls on top. It's an action fantasy type school anime that tries to be Naruto and the Nightmare Before Christmas, then tries cocaine, develops a split personality and decides that it's both. And I'm not trying to fanboy all up in here but seriously Soul Eater was the perfect show to start out with as it got me into the medium of anime in the first place. The characters, action, and costumes try to be as over the top and flashy as read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 23, 2009
Soul Eater is about a group of students who attend a school for aspiring demon hunters, Shibusen. The story follows Maka, an scythe weilder and her partner, Soul, who transforms into the scythe she uses. Each hunter is paired with a partner who can turn into a weapon, and the two must fight in unison. The other main characters include Death the Kid, and his weapons Liz and Patty who become twin pistols, and Black Star, along with his partner Tsubaki, who has the unique ability to transform into several weapon types as a jack of all trades. These students as well as their teachers read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 7, 2015
Soul Eater Is Impressive no dought its very good but it lacks for 2 things
1 of them are subtitles and I find it even though it was English it still had subtitles maybe since I was watching it no anime bird it had subtitles and 2 the subtitles were also saying nothing what they said in English it makes no sense but still I had lots of fun watching it and I also wanted them to make another one sadly they didn't D; so I will miss it but over all This is my scores

Story read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 20, 2015
I didn't hate this anime, it definitely kept me engaged and interested until the end. But the ending really killed me. What a cop out in my opinion- it almost made me feel like watching 50 episodes was a waste of time.

I enjoyed the style/art and some of the characters were cool and make me laugh (notably Excalibur and Death the Kid). I fall into the camp of people though that hate Blackstar. He really annoyed me.

I wouldn't say stay away altogether, especially since a lot of people liked it and I did enjoy the series. I just wouldn't go out of my way to read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 26, 2015
Ultimately i had refused to watch soul eater after a friend recommended it to me. But then, with nothing else to watch, that is the first that came to mind.

the show itself demonstrated promise, and fulfilled it's purpose of my amusement for the fifty-one episode run.

Now to be a bit picky about it. I did label this show as one that demonstrates lots of promise. But the problem lying in the fact that I found the ending to be a bit of a bad pay out. The show had great potential with promising fight sequences and great read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 3, 2015
First the anime should not even be called Soul Eater, but '' Maka '' needed 51 episodes to settle for the real protagonist, and poor Soul becomes a mere adjunct. The anime itself could have been better, but slips in the old cliches of action shounens on the other hand the art of anime is what captivates, is what draws more attention, since the end result is kind of disappointing, the end is bland with a huge question.
I found this review Helpful
Aug 9, 2008
Okay, I'm not a fan of reviewing shows in their early stages, but when I read the other reviews here; I just had to write up one, because I don't find it as great as most of the reviewers here on MAL. I find Soul Eater to be a bit of a rip-off from Bleach. It's still decent, though.

Okay, so some people have criticized my opinion that Soul Eater is a rip-off of Bleach (though making an entire review for that is a bit over the top). I'm fully aware that Bleach is very similar to a few older animes too, but the fact still read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 30, 2014
Soul Eater, one of the rare shonen-anime that have the guts to actually end the series after mere 51 episodes. One of the best at that.
But the important questions are: What is it doing to seperate itself from all the other shonen-anime out there? What makes it special? Ending the series after 51 episodes, as much as I like it that way, is still not enough to seperate it from others. These are also the questions you always need to ask when it comes to shonen-shows in general and I will try to answer them.

Shibusen is a school for masters and weapons, built by the read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 24, 2008
Dazzling animation, zany characters, seductive story-lines, awesome music scores - these acclamations yet still fail to justify Soul Eater enough as my favourite anime of the current season.

Produced by Bones, who brought us Ouran High School Host Club and Darker than BLACK, Soul Eater is adapted from the manga by Ookubo Atsushi. It is of personal importance to mention the manga for the animer is a very close adaptation of the latter. In a nutshell, the story follows three student weapon technicians and their respective partners, as they embark on a journey to combat evil, and yet grow up with each other at the read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 22, 2015
Soul Eater, due to its popularity I started this Anime with high hopes. I won't say that I am completely disappointed but I am not happy either. With the concept they had started the plot, they could have done wonders. So, if you have this anime in the 'Plan To Watch' section, you do not have to prioritize it. Soul Eater is the anime which should be watched without desperation.

Story 6 : As I said, the concept was not given enough justice. The series kicked off terrible and then improved drastically and when it just had to develop, it wrapped up.
The story revolves around the read more
I found this review Helpful