MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #379
Soul Eater

Soul Eater

Alternative Titles

English: Soul Eater
Japanese: ソウルイーター

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 51
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2008 to Mar 30, 2009
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.141 (scored by 228877 users)
Ranked: #3792
Popularity: #14
Members: 394,479
Favorites: 11,770
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please not that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.

Popular Tags

action adventure comedy fantasy shounen supernatural
Mar 9, 2009 8:44 AM
KNITEMAREX
Soul Eater is an impressive anime. It's one of those where you will no doubt enjoy watching

::STORY::
After watching some of the first episode you'll think Soul Eater will have your typical Shonen story. Basically, human weapons and their student technicians reside in Shibusen and have to collect 99 evil human souls and 1 witch soul, the reward being that the technician's weapon will transform into a Death Scythe.

It seems pretty formulaic, nothing you haven't seen before. The way the first few episodes pan out will make this seem like the main goal, but soon after you'll realise there is actually a deeper story developing. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 17, 2009 4:52 PM
Sandileina
Here we have Soul Eater, a shounen anime produced by Bones (Wolf's Rain, Full Metal Alchemist, Ouran High School Host Club) that came out in 2008. I've never read the manga, so this is based solely on the anime. Set in the fantastical Death City, Soul Eater focuses on the Shibusen Academy, where students both work together and compete in order to turn their partners - boys and girls that can turn into various different weapons - into world-class Death Scythes. My university pally and I blasted through all 51 episodes in about a week, if you don't count the days that we were too read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 24, 2010 9:52 PM
Julius_sleezer
:STORY: 5
Ultimately my main complaint about this series lies in this area. And I am going to be a little hard on it because of how much potential I saw that it could have had. I guess I should start by saying that what the story lacks is organization and commitment. Throughout the entire series, different conflicts would be shoved on the backburner right in the middle of their climax, the conflcts would be built way up and then fall flat within a single episode or two, and sometimes conflicts would be forgotten about all together without any resolve being made at all. It became read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 23, 2009 9:01 PM
BatOtaku13
Soul Eater is about a group of students who attend a school for aspiring demon hunters, Shibusen. The story follows Maka, an scythe weilder and her partner, Soul, who transforms into the scythe she uses. Each hunter is paired with a partner who can turn into a weapon, and the two must fight in unison. The other main characters include Death the Kid, and his weapons Liz and Patty who become twin pistols, and Black Star, along with his partner Tsubaki, who has the unique ability to transform into several weapon types as a jack of all trades. These students as well as their teachers read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 25, 6:17 PM
50-Yen
This truly is a unique anime, but it lacks something in all departments. I found this anime quite overrated, considering how much potential it had. The pacing is horrible, the music (especially the piano score) is annoying and some of the voices sound so unnatural (Patty, Soul, Maka), and the art varies a whole lot (the character's noses annoyed me). Still, I've never had so many mixed emotions about a show. I found myself annoyed, confused, curious. bored, excited, sleepy, refreshed, amused, intrigued and laughing. Mostly because the episodes varies so insanely much.

But the show indeed has a cool feel to it, with a unique read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 1, 2013 4:10 PM
jzmcdaisy
So to put it simply, I don't normally do this. To put it specifically; Soul Eater is balls out entertaining as balls with balls on top. It's an action fantasy type school anime that tries to be Naruto and the Nightmare Before Christmas, then tries cocaine, develops a split personality and decides that it's both. And I'm not trying to fanboy all up in here but seriously Soul Eater was the perfect show to start out with as it got me into the medium of anime in the first place. The characters, action, and costumes try to be as over the top and flashy as read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 9, 2014 2:49 PM
Jazzy_Maz
In our community there exists animes which receive a large amount of hype, ones which everyone knows and most have watched. Soul Eater falls into this category. But why? This is what I am to explore in this review. (Please note, I have not read the manga, so this review will be written looking solely at the anime)

Story: 6/10
Soul Eater introduces a very interesting and unique plot. Students who fight evil sprits with their companions who transform into weapons to fight said spirits. Going into Soul Eater, I loved this idea. The students aimed to fight 99 spirits and one witch in order to transform read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 23, 2011 2:36 PM
Doodlittle
Soul Eater is a good series with a great sense of humor, art style, and an excellent cast of characters but lacks the strength to be an over 50 episode series. What really stops this series from being a great series is that the story is dull and you feel like that the show is moving like a snail on a freeway in the middle of the series.

Story: 6
From the beginning, Soul Eater threw you the three meisters and their weapons. These short "monster of the week" episodes were exciting with tons of action and humor which kept me laughing and admiring the direction this read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 24, 2008 12:36 PM
konakonakon
Dazzling animation, zany characters, seductive story-lines, awesome music scores - these acclamations yet still fail to justify Soul Eater enough as my favourite anime of the current season.

Produced by Bones, who brought us Ouran High School Host Club and Darker than BLACK, Soul Eater is adapted from the manga by Ookubo Atsushi. It is of personal importance to mention the manga for the animer is a very close adaptation of the latter. In a nutshell, the story follows three student weapon technicians and their respective partners, as they embark on a journey to combat evil, and yet grow up with each other at the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 4, 2014 10:29 PM
Animeted_love7
I thought this anime was pretty awesome. I loved the characters, especially Kid/Stein/Spirit/Excalibur/Soul/Crona/Everyone...They were well thought out and funny. I found there to be a bit too much filler for this to be an absolute favorite of mine, but its still up there pretty high. It took me about half of season one until I really got into this and even then it was hit and miss. I thoroughly enjoyed season 2 though and was watching episodes back to back to see what would happen. The only problem was that when the season ended, the story arc stalled and I think thats why season 3 read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 31, 2008 8:35 PM
Dr_Jan_Itor
This is my first anime review!!! X )

Story: While Soul Eater does have an pretty good story line, it seems somewhat stereotypical. There is an organization that was created to protect the world from bad guys, and some evil organization is plotting against them and trying to destroy them. (Other examples are Bleach, Naruto, Tokyo Mew Mew, etc). Then suddenly out of nowhere, collecting almightly weapons all over the world comes into play, and now it seems that the characters are tied somewhere between Tsubasa Chroncle and Bleach, and are doing too much at once.

Art: The art is probably one of the most unusual characteristics read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 4, 2008 12:51 PM
meowmeow21
Soul eater, soul eater, soul eater. What can I possibly say about thee?! The description at the top tells you the base of the story but it doesn't nearly touch on how great and truly entertaining it really is! As I continue to watch this anime is never ceases to make me laugh and I just want more and more and more.

Story:
This story takes place in a area called death city where a shinagami helps humans destroy eggs of kishin by turning them in meisters and giving them weapons to obtain these eggs of kishin and one soul of a witch and turn there read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 26, 11:19 AM
AJ_Puentes
Ultimately i had refused to watch soul eater after a friend recommended it to me. But then, with nothing else to watch, that is the first that came to mind.

the show itself demonstrated promise, and fulfilled it's purpose of my amusement for the fifty-one episode run.

Now to be a bit picky about it. I did label this show as one that demonstrates lots of promise. But the problem lying in the fact that I found the ending to be a bit of a bad pay out. The show had great potential with promising fight sequences and great read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 22, 9:49 PM
premiumemo
Soul Eater, due to its popularity I started this Anime with high hopes. I won't say that I am completely disappointed but I am not happy either. With the concept they had started the plot, they could have done wonders. So, if you have this anime in the 'Plan To Watch' section, you do not have to prioritize it. Soul Eater is the anime which should be watched without desperation.

Story 6 : As I said, the concept was not given enough justice. The series kicked off terrible and then improved drastically and when it just had to develop, it wrapped up.
The story revolves around the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 30, 2014 11:25 AM
sora_phenix
Soul Eater, one of the rare shonen-anime that have the guts to actually end the series after mere 51 episodes. One of the best at that.
But the important questions are: What is it doing to seperate itself from all the other shonen-anime out there? What makes it special? Ending the series after 51 episodes, as much as I like it that way, is still not enough to seperate it from others. These are also the questions you always need to ask when it comes to shonen-shows in general and I will try to answer them.

Shibusen is a school for masters and weapons, built by the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 12, 2014 8:28 PM
IADb
Ahh, Shōnen. Shōnen Shōnen Shōnen. Will everyone please give it a break and please focus on what we came here to read, a pure anime review. When I look at the reviews for this anime, only one thing can come to my mind, is this a Shōnen? Personally I couldn't care less, what I do care about is that this is a really enjoyable anime. So let me begin this journey into a story that eats the Soul by saying, Fairy Blue.
___________________________________________
A little too dramatic ehh?
___________________________________________
O.K. here is the actual review with my IADb rating system:
Story: Soul Eater centers around the relationship between a weapon read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 10, 2008 12:45 PM
Reikaku
Soul Eater succeeds in delivering large amounts of entertaining filled with a combination of fine comedy and action in every episode. Aside from the few obvious shonen-ish vibes there aren’t many flaws that I can find. I, myself, am certainly not a fan of the shonen genre however that does not stop me from finding this anime to be greatly remarkable.

Music:

Possibly the second strongest point is the music department. It’s fast paced and has a nice beat. I rarely skip the opening theme when I watch SE, thing that not always happens when I watch other anime. The new read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 9, 2008 5:04 PM
TheLlama
Okay, I'm not a fan of reviewing shows in their early stages, but when I read the other reviews here; I just had to write up one, because I don't find it as great as most of the reviewers here on MAL. I find Soul Eater to be a bit of a rip-off from Bleach. It's still decent, though.

Okay, so some people have criticized my opinion that Soul Eater is a rip-off of Bleach (though making an entire review for that is a bit over the top). I'm fully aware that Bleach is very similar to a few older animes too, but the fact still read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 1, 2013 8:19 AM
FullmetalCowboy
Critic’s Log - Earthdate: October 31, 2013. Review #65: Soul Eater



Men and Women of all fandoms, would you like to see something strange?

Come with us if you will see, in this town called Death City

This is Soul Eater, This is Soul Eater. Kishins scream in the dead of night.

This is Soul Eater, everybody get ready. Trick or Treat till the neighbors succumb to fear.

This is a cool show, everybody scream, in this town of Death City.

I am the one that’s suggesting you this, with enough valid good reasons.

I am the one that is recommending you this if you like action, humor and even fanservice…

This is read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 6, 2009 6:28 AM
Jellyfish
Soul Eater is by far an entertaining anime with fresh comedy packed with action.

Story: The story opens into a more comical theme with the introduction of the main characters and the important sub characters along with the purpose they carry. However, it takes a turn off the normal shounen themed animes and dives into an action rollercoaster with the plot taking a completely different direction to what is first thought. Even with the many plot twists and adventures present, it continues to keep its comedy side to an almost perfect proportion. It must be noted though that once the story diverts from the manga read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful