MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #286
Soul Eater

Soul Eater

Alternative Titles

English: Soul Eater
Japanese: ソウルイーター

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 51
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2008 to Mar 30, 2009
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.211 (scored by 161119 users)
Ranked: #2862
Popularity: #13
Members: 271,327
Favorites: 9,718
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

action adventure comedy fantasy shounen supernatural
Mar 9, 2009
KNITEMAREX
Soul Eater is an impressive anime. It's one of those where you will no doubt enjoy watching

::STORY::
After watching some of the first episode you'll think Soul Eater will have your typical Shonen story. Basically, human weapons and their student technicians reside in Shibusen and have to collect 99 evil human souls and 1 witch soul, the reward being that the technician's weapon will transform into a Death Scythe.

It seems pretty formulaic, nothing you haven't seen before. The way the first few episodes pan out will make this seem like the main goal, but soon after you'll realise there is actually a deeper story developing. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 17, 2009
Sandileina
Here we have Soul Eater, a shounen anime produced by Bones (Wolf's Rain, Full Metal Alchemist, Ouran High School Host Club) that came out in 2008. I've never read the manga, so this is based solely on the anime. Set in the fantastical Death City, Soul Eater focuses on the Shibusen Academy, where students both work together and compete in order to turn their partners - boys and girls that can turn into various different weapons - into world-class Death Scythes. My university pally and I blasted through all 51 episodes in about a week, if you don't count the days that we were too read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 23, 2009
BatOtaku13
Soul Eater is about a group of students who attend a school for aspiring demon hunters, Shibusen. The story follows Maka, an scythe weilder and her partner, Soul, who transforms into the scythe she uses. Each hunter is paired with a partner who can turn into a weapon, and the two must fight in unison. The other main characters include Death the Kid, and his weapons Liz and Patty who become twin pistols, and Black Star, along with his partner Tsubaki, who has the unique ability to transform into several weapon types as a jack of all trades. These students as well as their teachers read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 1, 2013
jzmcdaisy
So to put it simply, I don't normally do this. To put it specifically; Soul Eater is balls out entertaining as balls with balls on top. It's an action fantasy type school anime that tries to be Naruto and the Nightmare Before Christmas, then tries cocaine, develops a split personality and decides that it's both. And I'm not trying to fanboy all up in here but seriously Soul Eater was the perfect show to start out with as it got me into the medium of anime in the first place. The characters, action, and costumes try to be as over the top and flashy as read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 24, 2010
Julius_sleezer
:STORY: 5
Ultimately my main complaint about this series lies in this area. And I am going to be a little hard on it because of how much potential I saw that it could have had. I guess I should start by saying that what the story lacks is organization and commitment. Throughout the entire series, different conflicts would be shoved on the backburner right in the middle of their climax, the conflcts would be built way up and then fall flat within a single episode or two, and sometimes conflicts would be forgotten about all together without any resolve being made at all. It became read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 24, 2008
konakonakon
Dazzling animation, zany characters, seductive story-lines, awesome music scores - these acclamations yet still fail to justify Soul Eater enough as my favourite anime of the current season.

Produced by Bones, who brought us Ouran High School Host Club and Darker than BLACK, Soul Eater is adapted from the manga by Ookubo Atsushi. It is of personal importance to mention the manga for the animer is a very close adaptation of the latter. In a nutshell, the story follows three student weapon technicians and their respective partners, as they embark on a journey to combat evil, and yet grow up with each other at the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 23, 2011
Doodlittle
Soul Eater is a good series with a great sense of humor, art style, and an excellent cast of characters but lacks the strength to be an over 50 episode series. What really stops this series from being a great series is that the story is dull and you feel like that the show is moving like a snail on a freeway in the middle of the series.

Story: 6
From the beginning, Soul Eater threw you the three meisters and their weapons. These short "monster of the week" episodes were exciting with tons of action and humor which kept me laughing and admiring the direction this read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 12, 2014
IADb
Ahh, Shōnen. Shōnen Shōnen Shōnen. Will everyone please give it a break and please focus on what we came here to read, a pure anime review. When I look at the reviews for this anime, only one thing can come to my mind, is this a Shōnen? Personally I couldn't care less, what I do care about is that this is a really enjoyable anime. So let me begin this journey into a story that eats the Soul by saying, Fairy Blue.
___________________________________________
A little too dramatic ehh?
___________________________________________
O.K. here is the actual review with my IADb rating system:
Story: Soul Eater centers around the relationship between a weapon read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 31, 2008
Dr_Jan_Itor
This is my first anime review!!! X )

Story: While Soul Eater does have an pretty good story line, it seems somewhat stereotypical. There is an organization that was created to protect the world from bad guys, and some evil organization is plotting against them and trying to destroy them. (Other examples are Bleach, Naruto, Tokyo Mew Mew, etc). Then suddenly out of nowhere, collecting almightly weapons all over the world comes into play, and now it seems that the characters are tied somewhere between Tsubasa Chroncle and Bleach, and are doing too much at once.

Art: The art is probably one of the most unusual characteristics read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 1, 2013
FullmetalCowboy
Critic’s Log - Earthdate: October 31, 2013. Review #65: Soul Eater



Men and Women of all fandoms, would you like to see something strange?

Come with us if you will see, in this town called Death City

This is Soul Eater, This is Soul Eater. Kishins scream in the dead of night.

This is Soul Eater, everybody get ready. Trick or Treat till the neighbors succumb to fear.

This is a cool show, everybody scream, in this town of Death City.

I am the one that’s suggesting you this, with enough valid good reasons.

I am the one that is recommending you this if you like action, humor and even fanservice…

This is read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 4, 2008
meowmeow21
Soul eater, soul eater, soul eater. What can I possibly say about thee?! The description at the top tells you the base of the story but it doesn't nearly touch on how great and truly entertaining it really is! As I continue to watch this anime is never ceases to make me laugh and I just want more and more and more.

Story:
This story takes place in a area called death city where a shinagami helps humans destroy eggs of kishin by turning them in meisters and giving them weapons to obtain these eggs of kishin and one soul of a witch and turn there read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 10, 2008
Reikaku
Soul Eater succeeds in delivering large amounts of entertaining filled with a combination of fine comedy and action in every episode. Aside from the few obvious shonen-ish vibes there aren’t many flaws that I can find. I, myself, am certainly not a fan of the shonen genre however that does not stop me from finding this anime to be greatly remarkable.

Music:

Possibly the second strongest point is the music department. It’s fast paced and has a nice beat. I rarely skip the opening theme when I watch SE, thing that not always happens when I watch other anime. The new read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 9, 2008
TheLlama
Okay, I'm not a fan of reviewing shows in their early stages, but when I read the other reviews here; I just had to write up one, because I don't find it as great as most of the reviewers here on MAL. I find Soul Eater to be a bit of a rip-off from Bleach. It's still decent, though.

Okay, so some people have criticized my opinion that Soul Eater is a rip-off of Bleach (though making an entire review for that is a bit over the top). I'm fully aware that Bleach is very similar to a few older animes too, but the fact still read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 26, 2011
Jetman2021
"A sound soul dwells within a sound mind, and a sound body."

What can I say about Soul Eater? Well, it's hard to review this anime since there are times where I hate it and times where I love it. The moments where I find true brilliance and moments that are just flat out annoying. Let's take the show apart piece by piece.

Story and Characters:
The story is the weakest part of the show, but it's not bad it's just it could be better. We have a conflict and that's good, but then halfway through the series we have another conflict, then comes in the MacGuffin. One read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 12, 2010
blazineyez
Well I loved this anime the moment i began watching it. The concept used for making this anime was different. Well that's what i think. The anime kicks off with an intriguing storyline. As the anime progressed there were interesting developments in it. The characters were great. Each one of them had their own unique personality. But what disappointed me is the fact that the anime suddenly deviated from it's original plot leading to a different ending. If it were to follow the original storyline i.e that of the manga the anime would've run for a longer period of time. Well thats all i 'm read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 22, 2009
Xazaii
Story [6/10]

There is nothing too big about Soul Eater's story. A pair [Weapon Meister and Weapon(s)] needs to collect 99 evil souls and 1 witches soul to become a Death Scythe. Get some ideas here and there from other animes and *SHEBANGS* we got the Soul Eater plot. At first this anime might seem like a shonen but this anime gets deepens in relation to conflict among ourselves and among each other about half way through the anime. However, the original story line was thrown away with the introduction of the antagonist. This twist really had me paranoid. This happens toooo often in anime's such read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 6, 2009
Jellyfish
Soul Eater is by far an entertaining anime with fresh comedy packed with action.

Story: The story opens into a more comical theme with the introduction of the main characters and the important sub characters along with the purpose they carry. However, it takes a turn off the normal shounen themed animes and dives into an action rollercoaster with the plot taking a completely different direction to what is first thought. Even with the many plot twists and adventures present, it continues to keep its comedy side to an almost perfect proportion. It must be noted though that once the story diverts from the manga read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 19, 2010
Andronious
For the record, this review is for the Japanese subtitled version of the anime.

Story: The storyline for Soul Eater does jump around about halfway through the series. They start out with the collecting 99 kishin souls and 1 witch soul to evolve their weapons into a Death Scythe. The anime however goes straight into another direction in the middle and jumps into a more epic scenario. To not spoil anything, lets just say that emotions start running deep, and battles get a lot more epic. With the exceptional filler episode, which you'll know when you see, the story keeps you sucked in and wanting read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 5, 2008
brass2themax
I completely redid this review since we are now at the half-way mark of the series. But my mind hasn't changed much: This series went from amusing to downright exciting.

Story: 7 (Good)

Let's face it, Soul Eater doesn't have a really strong plot. We're half-way through the series, and I fail to see (thus far, anyway) why characters such as Excalibur were even introduced, since at first he seemed that he might be a major character eventually, but we hardly ever see him do anything. This might well change of course, who knows, and this goes for more than one character, such as Blair for example.

Anyway, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 15, 2009
urbabysoncrak
Rating: 8-9

Overall:
Finished Soul eater about a week ago.
Loved the overall concept and the artwork.
Although the ending left me wanting more. I just felt that the anime could have done more with the story.

Story:
The development of the story proceeds pretty well with the exceptions of the excalibur episodes.(after the 2nd one, I got pretty sick of that guy)

If you read the manga(which is pretty good right now), you notice the anime stays true for awhile and eventually darts off and does its own thing, the ending really threw me for a loop.

From the way I see it, the manga is taking soul eater read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices