Ranked #259

Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children Complete

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Final Fantasy 7: Advent Children Complete
Japanese: ファイナルファンタジーVII アドベントチルドレンコンプリート


Type: OVA
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 16, 2009
Producers: Square Enix
Source: Unknown
Duration: 2 hr. 6 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company


Score: 8.241 (scored by 42,045 users)
Ranked: #2592
Popularity: #646
Members: 64,258
Favorites: 583
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Apr 29, 2009
Most people probably remember back in the day when the original Final Fantasy Advent Children (FFAC) movie came out and they watched it. Animation was superb but it just didn't piece together like it should have. Heaps of holes throughout the movie made it hard for non-die-hard fans to enjoy the movie.

Final Fantasy Advent Children Complete (FFACC) is like its title says: "Complete". This movie is what the original should have been.

-STORY- 8/10
Well the story is pretty much the same as the original. However is it by far superior as most major holes have finally been filled. Instead of characters just appearing somewhere, the movie read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 20, 2015
Oh Final Fantasy VII... how you fill me with despair. You know, I really do like Final Fantasy VII. Crisis Core was my first taste of Final Fantasy in general and I still adore it to this day, I had a lot of fun playing through the original PS1 game and I still enjoy playing it every now and then, I loved watching Advent Children with my buddies back in middle school, scouring the Final Fantasy wikia for plot information on all these obscure OVAs and games I could never watch or play because I was too stupid to look them up online, and all read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 12, 2015
This film is one of the few I like.

The story is very good, the return of Sephiroth, caused by hidden molecules in the river and infects many people, it's nice, it's very true to the Final Fantasy universe 7. For me it is a 9/10.

The graphic style is just sublime, 3D is perfect as can be hoped from Square Enix. Just lip sync is not perfect for foreign languages ​​which is a bit disturbing. 10/10

For sound, it's very good, very well, but still, as said before, lip synchronization is sometimes inadequate, but the music is beautiful and sometimes resumed in some winks flagship music games read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 3, 2013
I want to start off by saying that Advent Children Complete is way more satisfying than the cut and spliced original American release of Advent Children.

ACC's animation is gorgeous. I cannot stress this enough. It is incredible to see all of the classic characters emoting and looking like real people instead of strangely colored rectangles. This is especially true for Cloud, a character whose expressions and actions convey more meaning than his dialogue. The soundtrack is a nice edition and it features many sleek remixes of those familiar FF7 jingles. Aerith's and Jenova's themes are especially catchy. The voice acting is satisfactory in both read more
I found this review Helpful
May 22, 2010
Ok, thins movie doesn't get as much credit as it should due to the first one. This is a must see for anyone not just Final Fantasy fans.


If you've seen the first one, you know it has alot of fan service by having all their favorite characters in the movie. It still has that and more, it fills all the plot holes and unanswered questions and other things that made you think "wtf?" All in all the story is well told.


CGI graphics have never looked better than they do in Advent Children Complete. Let me just say that Blue-Ray DOES make a difference.


Is situational, I read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 27, 2013
Critic’s Log - Earthdate: November 27, 2013. Review #70: Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children.

In 1997, Square Enix released one of the biggest RPG’s for the Sony PlayStation. That game is Final Fantasy VII. To this day, it is a very popular entry in the Final Fantasy series. To me, Final Fantasy VI is my favorite entry in the Final Fantasy franchise. But there is no denying that I was one of the many that enjoyed the seventh installment. This game was so popular that it led to a movie, a sequel game, some prequel games and even a book. Before I talk about the movie, read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 19, 2012
I enjoy the movie very much . The storyline takes place after the events of the Final Fantasy 7 video game. I would give it
Story: 9/10

The Art is outstanding. The graphics and details are amazing especially in blu ray HD version. My eyes feels like its gonna explode any moments with the special effects everywhere
Art: 10/10

The sound an the background music also fits every situation in the story. My favourite part is when Sephiroth Theme Song is played.
Sound: 10/10

The characters are all same from the final fantasy 7 game. Clouds party members which includes Barret, Tifa, Red XIII, Cait Sith, Cid , Yuffie and read more
I found this review Helpful
May 6, 2011
I'm not one to say much. So here I go.

So very long, but soooo worth it. I have been sitting infront of the television for hours and couldn't rip my eyes away the entire time.

And now my eyes are in squinty-stinging agony. Crap.

Nothing much to say, except if you loved the original Final Fantasy with good 'ol blockyness flyin everywhere, this will officially blow...your...MIND. Watch it and discover its amazingness-ness yourself. . do it. Now. Yes, now. ...
Yes. That is all.

I found this review Helpful
Jul 27, 2009
All the extra footage in this really ties the game and the movie together. The added scenes with Reno and Rude were terrific and the extended fight with Sephiroth at the end was thrilling and beautiful. A definite must for all Final Fantasy fans!
I found this review Helpful
May 29, 2009
I've heard rumours that there was a director's cut of this movie. I'm a big fan of Final Fantasy VII so i searched out for it. When i saw this i couldn't help but think, this 'director's cut' of the movie should have been the original. They finally fill in the gaps from the 1st, like how reno & rude got to the bridge. As the first one it's just as good if not better, in my opinion of course, it's out in english dub right now but very expensive, well to me. Any big FF7 fans out there, you'll love this movie, its just read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 22, 2010
You haven't seen real animation until you've seen this. As of yet, there has been no anime (movie) that can compare with this one. The story is a great follow up. Though it is better for you to know the Final Fantasy VII story-line, its not necessary as the first couple of moments brush you up on the history. Honestly, this anime has the best graphics for an anime. The sword fighting and structure is very good as well. I would recommend this anime to anyone, its a true wonder. The voice's are good both dubbed and subbed read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 28, 2012
Final Fantasy VII Advent Children Complete is a must for all Final Fantasy fans. It is simply outstanding, and ranked among the best anime/animation films I've ever seen.

Story: 9! - The story is simply awesome, and it makes more sense now than before.
Art: 10! - The art is beautiful! I have never seen animation this detailed. Simply outstanding! Square Enix really have some amazing animation skills!
Music: 10! - The music was awesome in the previous movie, and it didn't change! Still awesome music!
Character: 9! - You understand each character better now than before. Denzel, who came out of nowhere kind of read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 16, 2013
first i want say something i have one elder brother which is hate anime while i was watching this movie even he was interested movie and we watched together with him he was very liked this movie thats why this movie was really good even anime haters can like this =)
I enjoy the movie very much . The storyline takes place after the events of the Final Fantasy 7 video game. I would give it
Story: 9/10

The Art is outstanding. The graphics and details are amazing especially in blu ray HD version. My eyes feels like its gonna explode any moments with the special read more
I found this review Helpful