Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Cinderella Monogatari


Alternative Titles

English: The Story of Cinderella
Japanese: シンデレラ物語

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 4, 1996 to Oct 3, 1996
Premiered: Spring 1996
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: None found, add some
Source: Unknown
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: G - All Ages

Statistics

Score: 7.531 (scored by 1,663 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #14372
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #4332
Members: 3,225
Favorites: 25

Reviews

Rosario25
Oct 20, 2014
This is my first time writing a review.
At first I didn't think much of it as it is a older anime, but I convinced myself otherwise.

I Did Wonder what it would of turned out to be like.
To my surprise it was a little different then the normal Cinderella stories you hear about, not by much but had a good story that made me want to watch the next episode.

Over all the build up of the characters and the ending was good. Seemed at times you couldn't tell their feelings or thoughts clearer, but I liked it in this anime, made for read more
I found this review Helpful
MiSsBeatoChan
Nov 27, 2010
This Anime is one of my favorites..actually, the story is more than just Cinderella's story..it has a pretty good, not spoiled romance and well
created characters..Cinderella is more than awesome and the prince is
just so cool..The story isn't just based on Cinderella's story and that what
makes it enjoyable and a little unpredictable..You would surely love it x3
I found this review Helpful
ponytaorponyboy
Dec 28, 2011
Cinderella Monogatari is not a very recent anime. It does not have the special effects that we are now blessed with having.

However, it is blessed with great storytelling and has a nice moral.
Both movie (Disney) and story (by Charles Perrault) do not go in great detail about Cinderella's life before she went to the ball. This series tell a great deal, and, not only that, the twists make the story a bit more realistic, in my point of view.

Fairy tails are always, or almost, the same and have many common components such as: love at first sight (without even knowing each other), read more
I found this review Helpful
sizest300
Apr 23, 2016
Directed by Hiroshi Sasagawa (Yatterman) and produced by Tatsunoko Production (Macross), both director and studio has history dating back to notable anime from the 70’s and 80’s.

Most people are familiar with the story of Cinderella, but very few know that there was an anime that came out in the late 90’s with a bit of a spin on the Disney version.

Cinderella’s fathers leaves for a long trip, her mother dies years before, and no sooner after father dearest leaves, Cinderella’s step-mother and sisters begin the treat her as their own personal servant to whip. No sooner than this though Paulette, a seemingly random woman (fairy read more
I found this review Helpful
Neja
Mar 22, 2016
It is rare of me to write any reviews regarding anime and manga but for these series I should make an exception. Not always I can find a story which can be quite deceiving. Like who does not know about the famous fairytale of Cinderella? Each person has heard once about it in his/her life. There are a lot of remakes of this story as well but this Japanese version of Cinderella takes the cake.

First time watching this story I could feel that the feelings between the characters were real. The prince dressed up as a commoner knows well that the girl he has read more
I found this review Helpful
Pitrocks14
May 16, 2010
Cinderella Monogatari turns out to be an outstanding and incredible romance series from the early 90s. It was made to be in-character and similar to our love of Hans Christian Anderson books. Cinderella is a decent and lovely lady but lives a eccentric and hardworking life after her dad leaves and her mother is dead. Two stepsisters and a stepmother treat Cinderella awfully and make her responsible for her stuff. But with the help of a couple of sweet and kindhearted animals and a fairy godmother, it improves her life. To me, it seems fair to me. The art was the old 90s but a read more
I found this review Helpful
chichiriNoDa
Oct 24, 2012
Cinderella, Cinderella, Cinderella... Bibbidi-Bobbidi-Boo! - Oh wait, wrong soundtrack..

This is YET another take on the classic story of Cinderella. A story of a young maiden forced to do unendless laborious house work under her own noble home by her wicked stepmother. Yep most of us is very much adept and familiar of how the story of this such pitiful maiden goes; but in this Anime adaptation of this classic tale holds a fine re-telling of the story.

What set this apart from the rest is that it gave a much deeper background to Cinderella and the Prince relationship. I'm a sucker for romance and especially read more
I found this review Helpful
julathegreat
Feb 22, 2013
This has got to be my favorite version of the Cinderella Story so far. Now, Cinderella as a character in general is my favorite character, so I'm a little biased. But in every other Cinderella movie, I have never really felt like I've watched Cinderella really progress at all. In general, Cinderella stories are short - Abused girl has to do all the chores, is nice and kind to everybody, isn't allowed to go to the ball, gets magicked into the ball, meets the prince, Glass slipper - it can be summarized very easily. But this show does a very good job of ... not read more
I found this review Helpful
Stary1722
Mar 19, 2012
I have always loved the story of Cinderella. This is by far one of the best adaptations I have ever seen. It was such a good story. I loved how the prince and Cinderella met before the ball. The music was great. At times it was a bit louder than the dialogue though. I personally liked the character designs and thought the prince was very handsome. It had a lot of humor, kidnappings, sword fights, and adventures. It was really a great story that I would recommend to everyone.
I found this review Helpful
Reemii
Sep 18, 2011
The story is more than impressive , It talks about many things such as: friendship, helping otheres , cairing for otheres , Courage and The most important part of The anime is "Love".
It takes abaute cindrella’s story But in a different way , The anime shaw as the Beautiful Relationship Between The prince and cindrella .
And more you see the anime The more you love the story .
For Me I’v seen these anime When I was a little girl , and Still loving these anime more and more every Time I watch it .
I found this review Helpful