MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #638
Shakugan no Shana II

Shakugan no Shana II

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Shakugan no Shana Second, Shakugan no Shana 2
Japanese: 灼眼のシャナII [Second]

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 5, 2007 to Mar 28, 2008
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.901 (scored by 73201 users)
Ranked: #6382
Popularity: #132
Members: 119,324
Favorites: 838
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

action comedy fantasy romance supernatural
Oct 4, 2008
KAMIOPPAI
*A wonderful sequel to a fabulous series.*

It is highly recommended to complete the first season of Shakugan no Shana before watching this. This is a DIRECT sequel, so prior knowledge of the series is expected from you.

Shakugan no Shana II is sometimes viewed as a "filler" season due to the plot trailing off from the light novels where it originates from. It also received numerous "bashing" from fans of the previous season who complained that the first half of Shakugan no Shana II lacked actions. Personally, I really liked how they began Shakugan no Shana II so I have nothing to complain about. But many read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 29, 2008
ChaoticHoshi
== Shakugan no Shana II Review == (Updated)
By: ChaoticHoshi

Ah yes, what better to have a second season with so many things left to answer from the first.

STORY:

In the anime Shakugan no Shana II we learn more about the Reiji Maigo (The treasure inside Yuji Sakai) and its real purpose, but in the process a powerful tomogara as well as former enemies have their eyes set on the this treasure which will put Yuji in harms way once again.

The story does tend to start off at first slow which is in-fact a great let down. The usual tension continues between Shana and Kazumi still exists read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 9, 2011
Donwun
Love Triangles / Rectangles + Flashy but Predictable Fight scenes = Shakugan no Shana II

Maybe it has been too long since I watched the first season but when did this series become so long-winded, predictable and love drenched.

Another Honest Review

Animation

This is definitely where this series has always shone. When it comes to action scenes this series can deliver some beautiful colours and some memorable attacks. Unfortunately they use cute-ish type character designs which often makes it hard to take some battles seriously, yes blood is included but its always left to the most brutal attacks which is often few and far between. Still animation on read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 17, 2011
Faito
I can imagine that just by reading the overall scor you already hate me. But i can't give it any more than this, when i overlay the "4" it says "Decent", and this second season (not the firs, and certainly not the novel) is WAY below decent. So i'm sorry but it's what it is. A poor second season.


I'm not arguiing that the animation and sound is as epic as ever. My main complain is "what the hell happened with the plot!?". Maybe the plot died at the explosion in the end of the first season. Maybe the people in charge of adapting the novel read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 31, 2008
Coatlicue
Story
The story follows up from the first season, i have to admit that the pace at the beginning is usually quite slow, unlike the first season with plenty of action and fighting scenes, this may have put the orginal fans of shana season1 in quite a dilema since it was like watching another anime, but after episode 12, the flavour of season 1 truly makes a great entry and i feel this starts the fireworks for season 2, bringing back what we liked best from the first season.

Art
In my personal opinion there are no complaints on the art of shana, its quite bold, flashy, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 22, 2008
LonginusX
Well, after I watched the first season enthusiastically, I was hoping to watch the second with even more enthusiasmus, but in the end I was quite disappointed with this season.

Story: 5/10
In the second season the origins of Yuji's Reiji Maigo are revealed and Bal Masque takes further steps to change the rule of the universe with the Reiji Maigo. (The reason for that is unknown.)
Well, this time the story was glib. Over the half of the series only dealt with the Love-Triangle from season 1 and the schoolform of Master Throne Hecate, Fumina Konoe. (Well, it actually isn't a spoiler. You can tell it with read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 26, 2013
MurphyTV
Pros
+Art Style Fantastic
+Voice Acting Superb
+Latter Half of the Show Fantastic
+A Well Developed Story
+Fantastic Character's both Lead and Supporting
+Really improved of the first season

Cons
-First Half of the Season Slow Paced
-Could have been Seen as boring form the start
-Ending was a little anti climatic
-Similar to First Season, A bit predicable

My Opinion
Alright here goes nothing, i literally finish the second season of Shakugan No Shana maybe 5 minutes ago so this is as fresh as it gets. I reviewed the First season of the show not long ago and it didn't do all to great from me but read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 20, 2011
Jeffrey-sama
Generally, the sequel of a successful series, or any series for that matter, falls short of the fame attained by its predecessor. For the first half or so of the second season of Shakugan no Shana, I must say that I was slightly disappointed with the content. However, by the end of it, I believe that season two has more or less achieved the same level of success as season one. With that being said, there were some differences - both good and bad - between the two seasons. As with all second seasons, I tend to raise my expectations and score them more critically. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 25, 2008
Wasabi
Shakugan no Shana II for those not in the know, is the second season of the Shakugan no Shana series based off of the novels of the same name. The general plot of the series follows Sakai Yuji, a torch (a replacement spirit of sorts for those who have already died) who possesses the rare Reiji Maigo (an item that replenishes Yuji's existence everyday so he doesn't burn out), and Shana, a Flame Haze (whose job is to keep the balance of existence from being blown out of proportions) as they discover evil plots devised by otherworldly invaders called Guze no Tomogara along with their read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 11, 2008
fr0z3nshad3
Story (8.4) - A fine story, with no doubt, but comparing with the 1st season, my conclusion is that this 2nd season story is a bit worse..but no problem, still very good and very interesting to watch. Basically, Shana and yuji continue to fight a lot of enemies that want the reiji maigo, and in the process they find a lot about its meaning. Between the fights, there are some episodes where relations between the characters are the main focus.
As i said, its good, but i prefer the one from the 1st season..

Art (9.0) - No big differences between the first season and the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 15, 2008
Gobind
Much better than the first Shakugan no Shana, in my opinion of course.

Story: Even though it focused more on yuji's love life I really liked this story. The whole devlopment of yuji is great I believe and other characters start to bloom more like yoshida because she finally starts to take a stand. The story kinda failed when focus so much on the bad guy when she was in the same school as yuji. This story I think though is setting up for season 3 because other than Yuji becoming stronger nothing really new happens.

Art: Same thing as the first one, its really good read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 9, 2008
FNatt
=-= Shakugan no Shana Second =-=

Story : 8/10
Well, unlike the first season, this one is focused on developing the characters more. Perhaps,too much.The first half of the show is mostly fillers.It actually reminded me of Kimi Ga Nozomu Eien.But, I suppose it wasn't that bad, because we got to know some of the characters' past and the sorts. BUT, the second half of the show kinda made up for it, because it was a lot better. It was almost as good as the first season.

read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 28, 2008
kachosen576
For those of you who haven't finished watching the first season..watch that first and come back and watch the second season. That way the story wll connect together and piece itself quite easily. (just a friendly reminder)!

Shakugan no Shana II is a great anime to watch for those who wants action and some romance combined with it. Story revolves around the main characters Yuji, who is the male protagonist and is also the central character for the story's development. He is a Mystes, a dead sentient being who is kept alive with the power of existence (flame of life). He is also the most unusual read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 8, 2008
leonmcnicol
Shana is back and badder than ever~

But the storyline for the 2nd series has dramatically changed and some are even confusing to relate with. The series will pick up slow then move better as it goes on.

Character development is a plus factor in the 2nd series. More characters are progressed while some are given enough scenes and also a part of the plot.

The OST still manages to gain a good appeal but personally I liked the 1st series' OST than this because of not being able to sync with the plot and character.

Overall, the 2nd series is a must to actually comprehend the time line read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 21, 2012
IMGF
The world is not what it appears. There are battles taking place that we cannot see, between the protectors of balance and those who want to destroy everyone living on this planet. That's the basic premise of this show and there's not much more to it than that. Shakugan no Shana Second is incredibly basic when it comes to the setup, but it delivers an experience unique to itself.

First thing anyone should know is that this series is the direct sequel to the first series, Shakugan no Shana. It is highly recommended to watch that before watching this series. The first series explains terms and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 20, 2008
Aphiel1
Alright let me just say that of the majority of anime I watched this was probably my tenth biggest disappointment ever in anime history not because the idea sucked but because the implication of the idea was half-assed (no other way to describe it). The first season while good left a lot of holes and unanswered questions I was fine with that at first because I knew there was going to be a second season where I expected to at least have some of my questions answered but no instead I got a bunch of filler (dang it if I wanted filler I'd just watch read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 1, 2009
mistah-manila
WARNING! MY REVIEW REMAINS THE SAME FOR SEASON ONE AND TWO, SO DON'T COMPLAIN!

Well people we have come to another anime which is widely debated as either gold or fool's gold. Shakugan no Shana is all about a boy who meets up with a girl who poses supernatural powers. Then the boy discovers he has supernatural powers and begins utilizing it. Of course the two then start to realize their feelings for each other, but this only comes to light towards the end of season one and season two.

Now I'll try to be neutral about this as much possible, I've seen the anime and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 29, 2008
KazeShana
Story:
A continuation of the first seaon, Shakugan no Shana II, leaves us almost right where the first left off. This season covers more of the social aspects to the characters lives while still giving the intense battles (more in the latter part of the season) that we came to love in the first season.

Art:
The art is basically the same as last season with a few imporvements here and there.

Sound:
The first opening song for this season JOINT is by far one of my favorite songs ever and Blaze the second opening isn't bad.

Character:
This season focuses more on the character development that the previous season read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 23, 2012
Xynatox
The second season of SnS sucked.
I'm sorry but if you liked this you must be one of the popular girls at your middle school. The first half of this season has absolutely no real action and is complete drama. Now, something you have to understand is that I hate drama, and this got so bad, I read basic synopsis on all the episodes from 6-16 where the spoilers final died and was done. The ending to this season is also kind of a WTF and in my personal opinion should have ended there.
I wouldn't really waste my time with this season and just watch the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 14, 2008
Dj_Frog
1st Impression:
Season 2 is out huh..I wonder what else can they milk from the anime

Selling point(s):
Character's charm (?)

Reason of liking the anime:
Not much, other than some flashy fights regarding some past events.

What I Dislike:
1) Maybe the production of the anime was rushed, it does seem to lose its freshness with dull plots.

2) The 'patch up ' parts for characters with romance and slice of life can be boring sometimes.

Advice(s):
1) For all ages, you can go on to watch the series if you're really a Shana fan, to me i am all for the story and plot. To watch it or not it's really read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices