MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #1924
Gravitation

Gravitation

Alternative Titles

Japanese: グラビテーション

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 4, 2000 to Jan 10, 2001
Duration: 23 min. per episode
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.361 (scored by 33040 users)
Ranked: #19242
Popularity: #572
Members: 53,194
Favorites: 1,076
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

comedy drama music romance shounen-ai
Oct 16, 2009
Yammin
The truth of the matter is that most shounen ai anime just isn't good; be it because of the crappy story, obvious fan service or bad direction. However, Gravitation doesn’t just pull it off as a shounen ai but as an anime in general.

The story follows Shuichi Shindou, a 19 year old vocalist trying to make it big in the music industry and Eiri Yuki, a young, cool and cold romance novelist and pretty much revolves around the couple’s careers, love life and past. Nothing complicated or confusing neither is it plot less or pointless. The series is short, only 13 episodes long but read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 7, 2008
kiriska
I used to be such a fangirl for this series. Looking back, I can still see why I loved it so much, but I feel like I evaluate it with a more objective perspective now.

STORY - I would venture to say that Gravitation was probably one of the first of its kind. Certainly, this was the title that opened the floodgates for hundreds of other shounen-ai titles at the turn of the century. Sure, if you pick through the music and ignore the gay pairing, you leave yourself with a simple, old-fashioned love story about one person pursuing another's love while a troubled past stands read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 8, 2007
jet2r0cks
5 WORDS OR LESS REVIEW: Cute, funny and good enough.

Like your typical shonen-ai anime, Gravitation focuses more on boy-boy love and thus the other plot elements are forgotten. Other than being a shonen-ai anime, Gravitation was supposed to be an anime about making it big in the music industry. Sometimes, I think that aspect is overlooked. I think if the shonen-ai and music making aspects were balanced, Gravitation would have been better.

The cast, as expected, were full of gorgeous male characters. My favorites would be Hiro and Yuki – I like the mysterious, tall and handsome types. Shuichi was okay, he gets on my nerves read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 5, 2014
Otaku_MQ
******this is a slight spoiler free******
This anime is quite horrible .

Story - 5
The story is somehow about being idols . Then there's a novelist and 1 of the idol is GAY . And that idol dated a novelist has some black past . Then they overcome it . And HAPPY END ~

Art- 3
I wanted to give a 2 but since its a old anime i wont be so fussy . However being 2 or 3 it makes no different . Its horrible . The art is so horrible that makes me wanna drop the anime but luckily i survived read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 5, 2009
LottieHottie19
Gravitation was probably the only anime which really made me appreciate Yaoi, because the whole story was just amazing. The whole series shows a typical relationship between two guys, one being older than the other. Even though it seems as if it will be predictable, there's still a dark past and secrets which are un-known. Gravitation is probably one of the most well known Yaoi's because it was the first of it's time. There's quite a bit of comedy throughout the series, and every character has a side which you'll love about them. What really gripped me in this anime though was how the relationship read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 12, 2009
lolwutwhatever
It’s been a while since I watched this anime, and I know that I don’t want to see it ever again. Back then, I was looking for some yaoi or shounen-ai to watch. Going through various forums and reviews I found Gravitation, downloaded it and started watching.

With every episode I hoped that the next one will be better, but unfortunately they all were at the same low level. An over-emotional immature kid who’s able to sing only one or two sings through all the 13 episodes, with huge eyes and pink hair, dressed in some funny coat and shorts. Thanks, I’ll pass.

Instead of funny, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 30, 2012
ggultra2764
To fans of shounen-ai/ yaoi anime, Gravitation was the anime that helped popularize the launch of later "boys love" TV anime titles that would pop up now and then like Junjou Romantica and Loveless. However beyond the latter and Antique Bakery, much of my exposure to "boys love" titles have consisted of subpar and angsty melodramas focused on "dominant" and "submissive" types of attractive male characters that made me not survive any further than the first few minutes of a show's first episode. Sadly, Gravitation follows this same mold to a great extent in its focus on Eiri and Shuiichi's developing relationship with each following read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 11, 2010
FuriBaka
When I first read about Gravitation, it was like gay anime? Never, ever... So I didn't take a second look. After a while I forgot the name and by coincidence still downloaded it. I started the first episode and at the beginning it seemed like a totaly normal Anime, no gayness whatever. Well, ok soon it begins to develop, but it's not tasteless. No in fact, you even forget the gay-theme for a second as Suichi seems to be more a girl then a boy...

The Story is great, yes it is. A boy who wants to become a famous musican and gets into the big read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 23, 2009
ycart59
Oh, Gravitation. What can I say about you in this small review that can express my feelings about you? Let us see:

Honestly, I don't understand why people don't enjoy this like I do. I can't expect everyone to like everything I do, but this one seemed like it could reach out to a lot of different people. I mean, it has a whole lot of comedy, but it still has its serious moments. My friends that like anime have read the manga and watched the anime, and we all LOVED it.

Gravitation is, in my mind, one of the greatest things ever made. It's about a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 5, 2009
AnimeEri
First if all, I started very biased on this anime. I am not a fan of shounen-ai and when I started this series I didn’t know it was shounen-ai. However I found this to be a very good anime having finished it in one day.

Story: The overall story was not very realistic. It was very open of gay relationships and you don’t find that in today’s world. But I think that made it unique and a very good watch.

Art: The art was interesting. Not bad not good. It by no means took away from the watching experience. I thought it was fair giving it a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 26, 2009
BlackButlerBR
Second Review. (I think I might make this a hobby)

To be honest I thought the anime of Gravitation, was just poor. It was obnoxious, and way too irritating. I barely got through it. Thirteen episodes was more than enough for me. And although most of my friends tell me to watch the OVA’s.. I have no motivation to do so, that is how bad the anime was.

The characters had very little development, they stayed the same throughout. For example the main one remained obnoxious and kind of naïve. It’s a very typical shounen-ai. Cheesy, with no twists, and absolutely no real plot development. Most fans read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 13, 2008
Bishounen_Hunter
There is little that can be said of Gravitation that has not already been said. Gravitation has been the "shounen ai" flagship for many years, and it is well deserved. While other anime series lose themselves with complex storylines and characters, this one dazzles you with it's over-simplicity.

The story of a boy who longs to be a famous singer [who hasn't dreamt of that?] and equally longs to be loved by the person of his dreams [and who has not dreamt of this either?] the story barely deviates from this idea and therefore lacks the need to embellish or exaggerate the overall theme. If Jem read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 1, 2008
VampireLio
Although it's kinda shonen-ai, i think everyone might enjoy this anime. It's not too dramatic... and has quite funny scenes.
It's kind of a musical anime, there are a few songs of the bands which are quite good. you can enjoy the music in the background as well.
the plot is simple, easy to follow, and exciting i must say.

It's one of the best animes i've ever seen. personally i had fun watching it and i hope that others who seen it had fun as well.
this anime is warmly recommended for everyone.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 19, 2007
Winry
General, this is my second favourite anime, really good indeed. I don't think that many boys would like it though, because I suppose only we, girls, love shounen-ai :P I could be wrong of course. The story is very good and original in my opinion, it shows how someone who is really in love could fight with all prejudices (and there are trurly many of them). The art is really one of my favourte tipes, though there are a bit too more chibis, but I like it :) Since you're watching about musical groups in this anime too, the sound is outstanding, really good read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 27, 2010
yuudaiikanata
okay~ gravitation.

i was buying DVDs one day and stumbled upon this one. seriously, i did NOT know it was shounen ai. it must have been fate that brought us together :)
better that i said it earlier, it was shounen ai, not yaoi. (aww, makes me sad)

plot: 8/10
i found the story cool actually. i mean a writer falls in love with a singer? that isn't one thing you'd see in everyday life. but when the story gets a move i found myself bored because of the love-hate relationship. sort of like taming a dog using the candy and whip. but the latter part was a surprise read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 6, 2008
darmed
I loved this series so much! I really like yaoi because it's so cute, but this one was really outstanding. The despreate Shuichi trying to get closer to Yuki, the band (with great techno music) and heart-warming friendship, the oh so characteristic features, beautiful art style and the humor could make every Yaoi fan scream in joy!
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 6, 2008
LuckyWolf
This is a funny, and romantic history of Shindo Shuichi`s life.
He was a normal school kid, who is a singer in his little band called Bad Luck, with his best friend and life partner Hiroshi.
His life went on a turn when he met the great novelist Eiri Yuki.
He fellt in love with Yuki, but Yuki plays a lot with Shuichi-kun.
Shuichi and Hiro starts to grov with they`re music, and soon they reach the top.
It`s a cute love-love story, with beautiful music, strong lines, funny characters and on the anime there are just awesome music:D
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 23, 2010
Lamyisme
Love romance animes? Then gravitation is for you, This romance makes you swoon and cry along with it. The anime had no flaws and its got characters that you fall inlove with from the first minutes into the very first episode. To the lovable main character who is so cute and has got tons of talent To the handsom, serious and badass Yuki there isent a thing in this anime that you wont love with hot guys, killer music and tons of comedy and romance plus amazing art and story line you will absolutly fall for this anime before you can say Gravitation. Just like read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 28, 2012
angelsreview
This is so CUTE! Ok, now that my fan girl love has been squeezed out, I’m sorry but I can’t help it! This show has everything a yoai girl would fall in love with. Cute guys, drama, romance between a cute little brother character and a hot older male.

Shuichi is like a little brother, always acting out on his feelings even when it might get him into trouble. He also is known to put people in front of himself. He doesn’t care what happens to him as long as everyone else around him is happy.

I love Hiro! His design is really cute and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 27, 2010
OniNoYami
While admitedly Gravitation is a good series, it's really only mediocre compared to its manga parent. The writers took a twelve-volume manga and smashed it down into a thirteen-episode anime series. The artwork is beautiful, the songs are great, the characters are just as engaging as in the original, but the problem is how much of the story has been cut from this masterpiece manga series.

Shuichi Shindou and his friend Hiro Nakano have just hit their big break and are an up-and-coming band (named Bad Luck) who are trying to finish their first album for their debut concert. While searching for ideas in the park read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices