MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #73
Mononoke

Mononoke

Alternative Titles

Japanese: モノノ怪

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 13, 2007 to Sep 28, 2007
Duration: 22 min. per episode
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.561 (scored by 17938 users)
Ranked: #732
Popularity: #600
Members: 46,504
Favorites: 1,837
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

drama horror mystery supernatural
Dec 10, 2013
TheCriticsClub
When someone talks about the genre of horror, immediately a few things come to mind: blood, violent motion, bone and flesh torn asunder, gore essentially approaching abundant forms of shock value. These are what characterize the images that litter the horror genre today. However, one cannot discount the impact of simpler techniques. Muffled voices, the bloodcurdling scream, the manic dip toward insanity; these are all subtler methods which give rise to the imagination and thus leave a more impressionable impact. Mononoke adopts such techniques in each of its standalone stories, and it may not be surprising that these implementations are often left unappreciated. Yet, by read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 2, 2008
z-pak
Wow, what a series. Mononoke is the spinoff/sequel of the Bakeneko arc (eps. 9-11) in Ayakashi ~ Japanese Classic Horror. This is not to be confused with the final arc in Mononoke, which ironically, is also called Bakeneko. Although the original Bakeneko tale was brilliant, Mononoke is just as enticing, beautiful and well written as its predecessor. This series lets its art tell the tales. It is not afraid to experiment and has its own distinct style. This is a truly wonderful series especially visually and thematically.

Story: This anime is broken into five different stories lasting about 2 to 3 episodes each. Every one of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 15, 2014
Gonzo-nyan
Deadly monsters, haunting spirits, and supernatural entities that are beyond human to even describe with words, are but a few examples of what makes horror an appealing genre to many. There are definitely great examples of works of horror that can be considered true masterpieces in its genre, however it is certainly one of the easiest genres to not succeed in garnering true terror within its framework. Especially with anime, where there are only a handful of noteworthy horror shows and the rest only come up with predictable scares and horror tropes being used way too much. Mononoke fits, unfortunately, to the latter; but only read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 2, 2007
ElectricSlime
My initial impression of Mononoke was literally, "...". After giving it a chance I am glad that I wasn't quick to judge and saw it through. Mononoke is a collection of short stories revolving around mysterious spirits/creatures known as, from the title, Mononoke. The writing and directing of the series are excellently done and really immerse you in the story itself. Each arc is a new story with new characters that are well fleshed out in the beginning of each segment. The Medicine Seller, Kusuriuri, is the only recurring character and is mysterious as always with each new arc.

The artistic styling of Mononoke is truly read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 23, 2008
Beatnik
This is like Die Hard, but with angry spirits, a medicine seller, in Edo-period Japan.

Ok, so it’s not like Die Hard at all then. Well, actually...

They both involve antagonists, usually out to terrorize or for revenge, who force the hero to hole themselves up in an interior location with troublesome civilians, while using their wits and skills to battle to an explosive and emotional resolution. See?

Here's where Mononoke carves itself an identity to make itself stand out from John McClane’s frolics with Euro-trash in cramped quarters: (we're all ignoring the 4th instalment, right?)

Mononoke is a visual splatter of psychedelic imagery that's like the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 23, 2007
dollie_mixtures
Mononoke is a collection of horror fairy tales, a thrilling blend of mystery, murder and the supernatural. The main and the only recurring character is the Medicine Seller, a laconic man of whom we learn almost nothing, and who, throughout the series, only using his knowledge and a handful of tools, battles the various Mononoke.

The team at Toei Animation accomplished something quite unique - they brought a painting to life. The stationary, ever-present texture of marbled paper, reinforces the illusion of a canvas across which the characters move, in all their watercolour glory, somewhat reminiscent of Ukiyo-e prints. The art is highly stylised with read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 7, 2012
Aria34
Lately I have found that I like shows that have an overall goal for the plot and character development in stead of the episodic, story-arc-of-the-week, formula, but Mononoke is an example of the episodic formula done right while also going all-out, resulting in a very unique show.

The strength of this show is the stories so I'll start with that. As much as I like an over-arching storyline all five of the stories in this show were memorable and strong stories on their own part. Each story is given enough to flesh out character motives and back story while also giving us quite a great deal read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 28, 2013
Gazoinks
Hey now here's an obscure series you should watch! Yeah!

The first thing that'll stand out when you look at Mononoke is the art. I'm not going to mince words: Mononoke is the best-looking animated show I have ever seen. The art is styled after traditional Japanese art, which means it's brightly colored, detailed, and everything feels kind of flat. I can't say enough about how amazingly gorgeous the art and color is in this series. It's used to maximum effect too, because the series is filled with all kinds of surreal visuals to let the art really stretch out.

Conceptually, Mononoke could be read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 16, 2009
ladyxzeus
Mononoke appears as the continuation of the adventures of a certain character of the last arc of the series Ayakashi. To complement our viewing pleasure, some more arks were added, using an original art style and ingenious storytelling with the sole and honest objective of telling us about stories that could be our own.

The art is, by far, the most impressive part of this series. An explosion of colour that reminds us of the artistical epitome of ancient Japan, intelligent use of mixed media and a careful design for each theme make of Mononoke a treat for our eyes. Each detail is worth of admiration, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 20, 2009
PrinceArthas
First of all: this anime is a masterpiece, and I do REALLY mean it.

Let's start from the beginning, the story. Being composed of five arcs, the anime doesn't really connect any of them, the main character appart, which is quite unique. The style changes from arc to arc, some of them are more disturbing, others are more laughable. The last one, however, has kind of an "end". And this is what made me give not a 10, but a 9 to the story.
If everything was so perfect and unconnected, why put an "end" to it? Let we tell ourselvesl the story continues forever! >_<

Now the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 13, 2009
firerez
[general]
This series is a spin-off from the thrid arc of Ayakashi~Classic Japanese Horror, Bakeneko.

[storyline]
It is made up of 5 main stories, each spanning 2-3 episodes. All of which deals with the concept of mononoke, a spirit that combines with strong negative human emotions, becoming a malevolent being that creates trouble. The tone of the story is pretty serious, and usually manage to create the sense of tension desired. Most of the stories are very interesting, though sometimes confusing. But if you can take sometime to work out the flow of the story, it actually makes alot of sense.

[music]
The sound effects in this series are probably read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 1, 2010
SavageDino
One of the best anime in the present era.

This is literally a piece of art, both in a literary and visual sense. Since the aesthetic effects are easier to describe, I'll start there. The art and sound follow a semi-traditional Japanese style, but with modern twists here and there. The art makes Mononoke something distinctly different from all the other anime in the world (except the last bit of Ayakashi, I suppose). It also really helps bring out the incredibly high level of disturbance that defines the plot of Mononoke.

The story of Mononoke is about a mysterious medicine seller with crazy but limited powers who read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 10, 2012
Lyzl
Mononoke presents an artistically unique series of eerie ghost stories. Each story arc is akin to a mini detective novel, the central aspect of which is always an otherworldly spirit’s form, truth and regret. When all these mysteries are solved, the “medicine seller”s power is unleashed, and the mononoke may finally be put to rest.

The “medicine seller”, our mysterious main character, is never named, but always present. As each mononoke (a type of evil spirit) appears, only through him are the characters able to exorcise it, but first, our ‘heroes’ must find its form, truth, and regret. Each arc takes us through a new set read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 10, 2008
Ivantrollet
I'll try too keep this review rather short and concise, but I'll probably just start rambling and won't be able to stop myself if I get out of hand. Since I'm such a rambler, please forgive me if it sometimes seems somewhat unorganized even though I'll do some organizing when it's done. If you're not bothered to read the whole things I wrote 3 pros and 3 cons at the bottom.

Personally I watched this before Ayakashi - Japanese Classic Horror which this is a spin-off from and you can go ahead and watch this without having seen it.

First of let me start of with that read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 21, 2013
greatyu
As a horror fan, I like to say that Mononoke brought out the traditional fortification of Japanese horror. Following an unknown handsome person named the "medicine seller" you go a series of encounter with demons.

The artwork is traditionally exotic and breath taking. The story is very analytical and psychological. The music is excellent too. However if more info about the protagonist should be revealed.

Must watch for horror fans.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 29, 2010
Yakarin
This is the story of an onmyōji... ...meant to say, but a simple medicine seller...

If you enjoyed Ayakashi, you'll love Mononoke, if you didn't like Ayakashi very much, but like the last arc, you'll love Mononoke ;)

Story (10): It's basically about this mysterious and laconic medicine seller that travels the world looking for mononoke to eradicate, yet, he has a very deep and thoughtful way of solving things, many times acting as an spectator and making humans around him unsure of his own motivations to act. Yet I most say it's not for all the public, it's stories show the worst of mankind and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 3, 2013
Malcadicta
It's a very interesting serie for every fan of horrors. It's continuation of last story from anime "Ayakashi: Japanese Classic Horror" made because of number of fans of main character - Ksuriuri.

First thing which you see is art. At start it can be difficult to watch because, to be honest, it's weird. For sure someone was hay or drunk. But it's very importatnt part of it. Colours, shapes and everyting... It's scary even when you don't think about plot. It's like in traditional Japaneese paintings.

Plot. In this anime are four or five short two- or three-episode stories, every one with diffrent characters, problem and place. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 30, 2012
howlingfantods
Mononoke is an experimental abundance of art, tragedy, horror and it dares to be different making it an interesting watch.

The art is by far the best aspect of Mononoke. All the clothes, surroundings and sometimes even faces are covered with color. On top of that there appears to be a grainy texture covering all of it which also doesn’t seem to move, as if a colorful drawing were to be covered with a transparent sheet with multiple scattered smudges of white and grey.

When the story of an arc fails to be mind blowing, the art makes up for it as I get lost read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 24, 2013
MidnighBlueBlack
Okay, so I had been putting off watching Mononoke for a long, long time. I watched the first episode at the suggestion of a friend, thought it was cool, and put it on my list of things to watch. Big mistake! I wish I had watched this anime years ago because it is so, so worth the watch. Easily one of the best anime I've seen in a long time.

Story: So, the way the story works is that it centers around the adventures of the Medicine Seller as he travels around exorcising evil mononoke. The series is slightly episodic in that there's no overarching plot, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 11, 2010
mirry
I truly loved every single thing about this series. The art is gorgeous and very unique, and each story is interesting in its own way. I was especially interested in this because I am extremely intrigued by Japanese ghost stories, and I was not let down at all. I recommend this series to as many people as I can because, honestly, it's worth watching.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices