Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Mononoke


Alternative Titles

English: Mononoke
Japanese: モノノ怪

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 13, 2007 to Sep 28, 2007
Premiered: Summer 2007
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Fuji TV
Studios: Toei Animation
Source: Original
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.501 (scored by 25,095 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #972
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #660
Members: 73,787
Favorites: 2,584

Reviews

TheCriticsClub
Dec 10, 2013
When someone talks about the genre of horror, immediately a few things come to mind: blood, violent motion, bone and flesh torn asunder, gore essentially approaching abundant forms of shock value. These are what characterize the images that litter the horror genre today. However, one cannot discount the impact of simpler techniques. Muffled voices, the bloodcurdling scream, the manic dip toward insanity; these are all subtler methods which give rise to the imagination and thus leave a more impressionable impact. Mononoke adopts such techniques in each of its standalone stories, and it may not be surprising that these implementations are often left unappreciated. Yet, by read more
I found this review Helpful
z-pak
May 2, 2008
Wow, what a series. Mononoke is the spinoff/sequel of the Bakeneko arc (eps. 9-11) in Ayakashi ~ Japanese Classic Horror. This is not to be confused with the final arc in Mononoke, which ironically, is also called Bakeneko. Although the original Bakeneko tale was brilliant, Mononoke is just as enticing, beautiful and well written as its predecessor. This series lets its art tell the tales. It is not afraid to experiment and has its own distinct style. This is a truly wonderful series especially visually and thematically.

Story: This anime is broken into five different stories lasting about 2 to 3 episodes each. Every one of read more
I found this review Helpful
ElectricSlime
Nov 2, 2007
My initial impression of Mononoke was literally, "...". After giving it a chance I am glad that I wasn't quick to judge and saw it through. Mononoke is a collection of short stories revolving around mysterious spirits/creatures known as, from the title, Mononoke. The writing and directing of the series are excellently done and really immerse you in the story itself. Each arc is a new story with new characters that are well fleshed out in the beginning of each segment. The Medicine Seller, Kusuriuri, is the only recurring character and is mysterious as always with each new arc.

The artistic styling of Mononoke is truly read more
I found this review Helpful
Gonzo-lewd
May 15, 2014
Deadly monsters, haunting spirits, and supernatural entities that are beyond human to even describe with words, are but a few examples of what makes horror an appealing genre to many. There are definitely great examples of works of horror that can be considered true masterpieces in its genre, however it is certainly one of the easiest genres to not succeed in garnering true terror within its framework. Especially with anime, where there are only a handful of noteworthy horror shows and the rest only come up with predictable scares and horror tropes being used way too much. Mononoke fits, unfortunately, to the latter; but only read more
I found this review Helpful
Sorainnosia
Jan 24, 2016
Emotions, it's a powerful thing that lurks in human. It can manipulate your feelings, actions, and thoughts. Love, Hate, and other emotions can easily enter your inner-self, creating something we called Demons. Mononoke portrayed how atrocious human emotion can be, and how great an episodic anime can tell a story.

The series started in feudal Japan (probably in Edo Period), Mononoke its evil spirits that born from human emotions. There's one person that able to slay the Mononoke known as Kusuriuri or Medicine Seller, he has a mystic sword that can slay the spirits, but in order to slay it, he have to discover the read more
I found this review Helpful
Beatnik
Jun 23, 2008
This is like Die Hard, but with angry spirits, a medicine seller, in Edo-period Japan.

Ok, so it’s not like Die Hard at all then. Well, actually...

They both involve antagonists, usually out to terrorize or for revenge, who force the hero to hole themselves up in an interior location with troublesome civilians, while using their wits and skills to battle to an explosive and emotional resolution. See?

Here's where Mononoke carves itself an identity to make itself stand out from John McClane’s frolics with Euro-trash in cramped quarters: (we're all ignoring the 4th instalment, right?)

Mononoke is a visual splatter of psychedelic imagery that's like the read more
I found this review Helpful
dollie_mixtures
Oct 23, 2007
Mononoke is a collection of horror fairy tales, a thrilling blend of mystery, murder and the supernatural. The main and the only recurring character is the Medicine Seller, a laconic man of whom we learn almost nothing, and who, throughout the series, only using his knowledge and a handful of tools, battles the various Mononoke.

The team at Toei Animation accomplished something quite unique - they brought a painting to life. The stationary, ever-present texture of marbled paper, reinforces the illusion of a canvas across which the characters move, in all their watercolour glory, somewhat reminiscent of Ukiyo-e prints. The art is highly stylised with read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan12
Nov 15, 2015
I try to write as concise as possible, but if you're still too lazy to read (like me), here is a shorter version: if anime means anything to you more than just pure entertainment or an activity to kill time – do check out Mononoke. You WON’T regret it.

I got pulled in the "anime/manga zone" in junior high and I've loved it 'til now. I know some people who share this interest and lots who don’t. But this is the type of anime that I’m not afraid to show it to anyone, say my 32-year-old brother who has absolutely zero interest in Japanese animation. read more
I found this review Helpful
Sapphire
Oct 15, 2015
I wonder what would happen if I watched this high?

Story: 8/10

Formed around four separate stories with two acts, Mononoke set up an epic an twisted tale in each of them. Each them very different in their own way, but very much the same, holding a similar type of theme: secrets. We all have them. Some secrets are small. Some are massive and can hold us hostage in our minds, whether the case this anime makes us bring out those dark secrets and makes a nightmare a reality. Illusions. It's all in the head. This is true horror and it absolutely terrified me. I read more
I found this review Helpful
Kenji_The_Engi
Mar 23, 2015
“Believe only half of what you see and nothing that you hear.”

― Edgar Allan Poe


The story of Mononoke revolves around a nameless medicine peddler who wanders around feudal Japan in order to exorcise evil spirits formed from the souls of the living or nonliving, called mononoke. The 12 episode series is separated into short 2-3 episode arcs, each focusing on one of the medicine peddler’s encounter with a Mononoke. In order to exorcise a mononoke the medicine peddler must draw the sword of exoticism but in order to do so the peddler must first find the spirit’s form, truth read more
I found this review Helpful
iSuckAtWriting
Jun 28, 2015
I’ll admit I’ve never been keen on anime with a strong sense of art house artistry. I’m talking about the visually strange shows with unnaturally colored objects, settings designed like an abstract picture, or characters who move and look like something from a manga instead of anime. They give a sense of arrogance that they need nothing else so long as they have unique aesthetics.

Mononoke does not have this arrogance.

The show follows an enigma known as the Medicine Seller as he wanders feudal Japan and exorcises evil spirits known as mononoke. To do so, he must uncover the mononoke’s Shape, Truth, and Reason. Despite its read more
I found this review Helpful
berserkersoul
Apr 29, 2015
after finishing this momentous series it immediately went on my top favorite animes!!

*DISCLAIMER: TRIGGER WARNINGS: GORE, INCEST, ABORTION* also if you are epileptic, there are a lot of flashing and bright colors watch at your own risk!!!!!!!!

Mononoke is a dynamic, dramatic and suspenseful anime about a mysterious wanderer who is only known as "the medicine seller" who travels from place to place in search of the Mononoke (harmful spirits who are not at rest which can cause death, disease or injury). he has a special sword to kill the Mononoke which needs Form, Truth and Reason (in some subs its regret).

STORY 10: the basic read more
I found this review Helpful
PrinceArthas
Jan 20, 2009
First of all: this anime is a masterpiece, and I do REALLY mean it.

Let's start from the beginning, the story. Being composed of five arcs, the anime doesn't really connect any of them, the main character appart, which is quite unique. The style changes from arc to arc, some of them are more disturbing, others are more laughable. The last one, however, has kind of an "end". And this is what made me give not a 10, but a 9 to the story.
If everything was so perfect and unconnected, why put an "end" to it? Let we tell ourselvesl the story continues forever! >_<

Now the read more
I found this review Helpful
ladyxzeus
Oct 16, 2009
Mononoke appears as the continuation of the adventures of a certain character of the last arc of the series Ayakashi. To complement our viewing pleasure, some more arks were added, using an original art style and ingenious storytelling with the sole and honest objective of telling us about stories that could be our own.

The art is, by far, the most impressive part of this series. An explosion of colour that reminds us of the artistical epitome of ancient Japan, intelligent use of mixed media and a careful design for each theme make of Mononoke a treat for our eyes. Each detail is worth of admiration, read more
I found this review Helpful
zetsubou-kami
Dec 18, 2015
Japanese sense of beaty is a sakura(cherry blossom)-leave on the crumbling surface of a calm mountain sea. It is the soft and inspiring silk of a kimono so perfected that you stare endlessly onto it's pattern.

And Mononoke is japanese beauty at it's finest.

If an art professor would tell me that anime is stupid and childish, overexaggurated and that the same motives are repeated again and again, I would screm:

"NO! Here watch this and see..." and hand him one copy of Mononoke.

Because it is art and something unlike anything you have seen before.
The animation is untouched. The whole style of the anime is inspired by old read more
I found this review Helpful
Ivantrollet
Jun 10, 2008
I'll try too keep this review rather short and concise, but I'll probably just start rambling and won't be able to stop myself if I get out of hand. Since I'm such a rambler, please forgive me if it sometimes seems somewhat unorganized even though I'll do some organizing when it's done. If you're not bothered to read the whole things I wrote 3 pros and 3 cons at the bottom.

Personally I watched this before Ayakashi - Japanese Classic Horror which this is a spin-off from and you can go ahead and watch this without having seen it.

First of let me start of with that read more
I found this review Helpful
Dogfather-PuA
Dec 20, 2008
Mononoke is a continuation of it's sequel ayakashi japansese horro tales. Although as the story progress, Too much psychological context and slow story development WILL MAKE YOU BORED AFTER A WHILE which is disappointing because it started as a good story in the first arc (the ghost cat arc story)

The Spirits the med-man is dealing here are ghosts that have Emotional attachment to them like love,hate, regret etc.. which he must uncover all the facts to find out about what the ghost is so he can use his special ghost sword to kill it that only can be unsheathed if he knows the true form read more
I found this review Helpful
SBAR
Jul 21, 2015
回 Super Brief Anime Review:
An apparent fusion between Zen writing and Kabuki theater make for unique art style and brilliant writing prose. Only the first two story arcs seem to carry this ideal however, far outshining the proceeding story arcs. Never the less the first two arcs stand as a must see.


Less Brief:
An exceptional anime it is perfect if you've already seen all the “good” animes out there and are looking for another good one. Just make sure to stick with it for the first 10 minutes.

If the anime were to stand as just the beginning episodes constituting the first two story arcs read more
I found this review Helpful
Aria34
Feb 7, 2012
Lately I have found that I like shows that have an overall goal for the plot and character development in stead of the episodic, story-arc-of-the-week, formula, but Mononoke is an example of the episodic formula done right while also going all-out, resulting in a very unique show.

The strength of this show is the stories so I'll start with that. As much as I like an over-arching storyline all five of the stories in this show were memorable and strong stories on their own part. Each story is given enough to flesh out character motives and back story while also giving us quite a great deal read more
I found this review Helpful
ItIsIDio
Dec 30, 2015
Mononoke is a great choice for you if you enjoy bizarre stories or you're interested in seeing some classic japanese horror stories told with their own creative spin.

The art of the show is simply amazing, it's unique, and it does its purpose of setting the story in a bizarre scenery with really unique imagery. The art bears similarity to classic japanese art, so it is possible you might not enjoy it if you don't enjoy that style, but I'd say it's done in a dynamic way, so I suggest at least try finishing the first story of Mononoke before deciding on how you view the read more
I found this review Helpful