MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #94
Mononoke

Mononoke

Alternative Titles

Japanese: モノノ怪

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 13, 2007 to Sep 28, 2007
Duration: 22 min. per episode
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.521 (scored by 21766 users)
Ranked: #942
Popularity: #640
Members: 60,741
Favorites: 2,100
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.

Reviews

z-pak
May 2, 2008 9:24 PM
Wow, what a series. Mononoke is the spinoff/sequel of the Bakeneko arc (eps. 9-11) in Ayakashi ~ Japanese Classic Horror. This is not to be confused with the final arc in Mononoke, which ironically, is also called Bakeneko. Although the original Bakeneko tale was brilliant, Mononoke is just as enticing, beautiful and well written as its predecessor. This series lets its art tell the tales. It is not afraid to experiment and has its own distinct style. This is a truly wonderful series especially visually and thematically.

Story: This anime is broken into five different stories lasting about 2 to 3 episodes each. Every one of read more
I found this review Helpful
ElectricSlime
Nov 2, 2007 12:15 AM
My initial impression of Mononoke was literally, "...". After giving it a chance I am glad that I wasn't quick to judge and saw it through. Mononoke is a collection of short stories revolving around mysterious spirits/creatures known as, from the title, Mononoke. The writing and directing of the series are excellently done and really immerse you in the story itself. Each arc is a new story with new characters that are well fleshed out in the beginning of each segment. The Medicine Seller, Kusuriuri, is the only recurring character and is mysterious as always with each new arc.

The artistic styling of Mononoke is truly read more
I found this review Helpful
TheCriticsClub
Dec 10, 2013 10:03 AM
When someone talks about the genre of horror, immediately a few things come to mind: blood, violent motion, bone and flesh torn asunder, gore essentially approaching abundant forms of shock value. These are what characterize the images that litter the horror genre today. However, one cannot discount the impact of simpler techniques. Muffled voices, the bloodcurdling scream, the manic dip toward insanity; these are all subtler methods which give rise to the imagination and thus leave a more impressionable impact. Mononoke adopts such techniques in each of its standalone stories, and it may not be surprising that these implementations are often left unappreciated. Yet, by read more
I found this review Helpful
Beatnik
Jun 23, 2008 11:02 AM
This is like Die Hard, but with angry spirits, a medicine seller, in Edo-period Japan.

Ok, so it’s not like Die Hard at all then. Well, actually...

They both involve antagonists, usually out to terrorize or for revenge, who force the hero to hole themselves up in an interior location with troublesome civilians, while using their wits and skills to battle to an explosive and emotional resolution. See?

Here's where Mononoke carves itself an identity to make itself stand out from John McClane’s frolics with Euro-trash in cramped quarters: (we're all ignoring the 4th instalment, right?)

Mononoke is a visual splatter of psychedelic imagery that's like the read more
I found this review Helpful
Gonzo-lewd
May 15, 2014 10:18 AM
Deadly monsters, haunting spirits, and supernatural entities that are beyond human to even describe with words, are but a few examples of what makes horror an appealing genre to many. There are definitely great examples of works of horror that can be considered true masterpieces in its genre, however it is certainly one of the easiest genres to not succeed in garnering true terror within its framework. Especially with anime, where there are only a handful of noteworthy horror shows and the rest only come up with predictable scares and horror tropes being used way too much. Mononoke fits, unfortunately, to the latter; but only read more
I found this review Helpful
dollie_mixtures
Oct 23, 2007 2:59 AM
Mononoke is a collection of horror fairy tales, a thrilling blend of mystery, murder and the supernatural. The main and the only recurring character is the Medicine Seller, a laconic man of whom we learn almost nothing, and who, throughout the series, only using his knowledge and a handful of tools, battles the various Mononoke.

The team at Toei Animation accomplished something quite unique - they brought a painting to life. The stationary, ever-present texture of marbled paper, reinforces the illusion of a canvas across which the characters move, in all their watercolour glory, somewhat reminiscent of Ukiyo-e prints. The art is highly stylised with read more
I found this review Helpful
MelancoliqueVie
Jul 31, 11:45 PM
What an incredibly dynamic execution Mononoke brings on the screen. With unusually bizarre yet stunning visuals which pretty much make it up for the half of the appeal of storytelling and the soundtrack, reminiscent of classical Japanese dance-drama, this is a portrayal of human nature inevitably colliding with faith, hope, vengeance, betrayal and love. Utterly wide-eyed over the ubiquitous appeal of it, one may call it a series with “Eyes”.

This is a journey of a protagonist who intentionally has a misleading job to overshadow his real identity, regardless it is extremely cool to see a Medicine Seller being able to fight off the evil spirits read more
I found this review Helpful
ladyxzeus
Oct 16, 2009 5:26 PM
Mononoke appears as the continuation of the adventures of a certain character of the last arc of the series Ayakashi. To complement our viewing pleasure, some more arks were added, using an original art style and ingenious storytelling with the sole and honest objective of telling us about stories that could be our own.

The art is, by far, the most impressive part of this series. An explosion of colour that reminds us of the artistical epitome of ancient Japan, intelligent use of mixed media and a careful design for each theme make of Mononoke a treat for our eyes. Each detail is worth of admiration, read more
I found this review Helpful
Ivantrollet
Jun 10, 2008 11:49 AM
I'll try too keep this review rather short and concise, but I'll probably just start rambling and won't be able to stop myself if I get out of hand. Since I'm such a rambler, please forgive me if it sometimes seems somewhat unorganized even though I'll do some organizing when it's done. If you're not bothered to read the whole things I wrote 3 pros and 3 cons at the bottom.

Personally I watched this before Ayakashi - Japanese Classic Horror which this is a spin-off from and you can go ahead and watch this without having seen it.

First of let me start of with that read more
I found this review Helpful
PrinceArthas
Jan 20, 2009 8:54 PM
First of all: this anime is a masterpiece, and I do REALLY mean it.

Let's start from the beginning, the story. Being composed of five arcs, the anime doesn't really connect any of them, the main character appart, which is quite unique. The style changes from arc to arc, some of them are more disturbing, others are more laughable. The last one, however, has kind of an "end". And this is what made me give not a 10, but a 9 to the story.
If everything was so perfect and unconnected, why put an "end" to it? Let we tell ourselvesl the story continues forever! >_<

Now the read more
I found this review Helpful
Aria34
Feb 7, 2012 12:23 AM
Lately I have found that I like shows that have an overall goal for the plot and character development in stead of the episodic, story-arc-of-the-week, formula, but Mononoke is an example of the episodic formula done right while also going all-out, resulting in a very unique show.

The strength of this show is the stories so I'll start with that. As much as I like an over-arching storyline all five of the stories in this show were memorable and strong stories on their own part. Each story is given enough to flesh out character motives and back story while also giving us quite a great deal read more
I found this review Helpful
Dogfather-PuA
Dec 20, 2008 12:51 PM
Mononoke is a continuation of it's sequel ayakashi japansese horro tales. Although as the story progress, Too much psychological context and slow story development WILL MAKE YOU BORED AFTER A WHILE which is disappointing because it started as a good story in the first arc (the ghost cat arc story)

The Spirits the med-man is dealing here are ghosts that have Emotional attachment to them like love,hate, regret etc.. which he must uncover all the facts to find out about what the ghost is so he can use his special ghost sword to kill it that only can be unsheathed if he knows the true form read more
I found this review Helpful
Yakarin
Nov 29, 2010 12:29 PM
This is the story of an onmyōji... ...meant to say, but a simple medicine seller...

If you enjoyed Ayakashi, you'll love Mononoke, if you didn't like Ayakashi very much, but like the last arc, you'll love Mononoke ;)

Story (10): It's basically about this mysterious and laconic medicine seller that travels the world looking for mononoke to eradicate, yet, he has a very deep and thoughtful way of solving things, many times acting as an spectator and making humans around him unsure of his own motivations to act. Yet I most say it's not for all the public, it's stories show the worst of mankind and read more
I found this review Helpful
Gazoinks
Sep 28, 2013 4:40 PM
Hey now here's an obscure series you should watch! Yeah!

The first thing that'll stand out when you look at Mononoke is the art. I'm not going to mince words: Mononoke is the best-looking animated show I have ever seen. The art is styled after traditional Japanese art, which means it's brightly colored, detailed, and everything feels kind of flat. I can't say enough about how amazingly gorgeous the art and color is in this series. It's used to maximum effect too, because the series is filled with all kinds of surreal visuals to let the art really stretch out.

Conceptually, Mononoke could be read more
I found this review Helpful
SavageDino
May 1, 2010 8:22 PM
One of the best anime in the present era.

This is literally a piece of art, both in a literary and visual sense. Since the aesthetic effects are easier to describe, I'll start there. The art and sound follow a semi-traditional Japanese style, but with modern twists here and there. The art makes Mononoke something distinctly different from all the other anime in the world (except the last bit of Ayakashi, I suppose). It also really helps bring out the incredibly high level of disturbance that defines the plot of Mononoke.

The story of Mononoke is about a mysterious medicine seller with crazy but limited powers who read more
I found this review Helpful
firerez
Jun 13, 2009 9:32 AM
[general]
This series is a spin-off from the thrid arc of Ayakashi~Classic Japanese Horror, Bakeneko.

[storyline]
It is made up of 5 main stories, each spanning 2-3 episodes. All of which deals with the concept of mononoke, a spirit that combines with strong negative human emotions, becoming a malevolent being that creates trouble. The tone of the story is pretty serious, and usually manage to create the sense of tension desired. Most of the stories are very interesting, though sometimes confusing. But if you can take sometime to work out the flow of the story, it actually makes alot of sense.

[music]
The sound effects in this series are probably read more
I found this review Helpful
Kenji_The_Engi
Mar 23, 3:36 PM
“Believe only half of what you see and nothing that you hear.”

― Edgar Allan Poe


The story of Mononoke revolves around a nameless medicine peddler who wanders around feudal Japan in order to exorcise evil spirits formed from the souls of the living or nonliving, called mononoke. The 12 episode series is separated into short 2-3 episode arcs, each focusing on one of the medicine peddler’s encounter with a Mononoke. In order to exorcise a mononoke the medicine peddler must draw the sword of exoticism but in order to do so the peddler must first find the spirit’s form, truth read more
I found this review Helpful
greatteacherglep
Apr 29, 9:58 AM
after finishing this momentous series it immediately went on my top favorite animes!!

*DISCLAIMER: TRIGGER WARNINGS: GORE, INCEST, ABORTION* also if you are epileptic, there are a lot of flashing and bright colors watch at your own risk!!!!!!!!

Mononoke is a dynamic, dramatic and suspenseful anime about a mysterious wanderer who is only known as "the medicine seller" who travels from place to place in search of the Mononoke (harmful spirits who are not at rest which can cause death, disease or injury). he has a special sword to kill the Mononoke which needs Form, Truth and Reason (in some subs its regret).

STORY 10: the basic read more
I found this review Helpful
iSuckAtWriting
Jun 28, 6:11 PM
I’ll admit I’ve never been keen on anime with a strong sense of art house artistry. I’m talking about the visually strange shows with unnaturally colored objects, settings designed like an abstract picture, or characters who move and look like something from a manga instead of anime. They give a sense of arrogance that they need nothing else so long as they have unique aesthetics.

Mononoke does not have this arrogance.

The show follows an enigma known as the Medicine Seller as he wanders feudal Japan and exorcises evil spirits known as mononoke. To do so, he must uncover the mononoke’s Shape, Truth, and Reason. Despite its read more
I found this review Helpful
greatyu
Mar 21, 2013 11:28 AM
As a horror fan, I like to say that Mononoke brought out the traditional fortification of Japanese horror. Following an unknown handsome person named the "medicine seller" you go a series of encounter with demons.

The artwork is traditionally exotic and breath taking. The story is very analytical and psychological. The music is excellent too. However if more info about the protagonist should be revealed.

Must watch for horror fans.
I found this review Helpful