Ranked #107

Toki wo Kakeru Shoujo

Alternative Titles

English: The Girl Who Leapt Through Time
Synonyms: Toki wo Kakeru Shojo, TokiKake, Toki o Kakeru Shojo, The Girl Who Cut Time, The Little Girl Who Conquered Time
Japanese: 時をかける少女


Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 15, 2006
Source: Novel
Duration: 1 hr. 37 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company


Score: 8.491 (scored by 141,359 users)
Ranked: #1072
Popularity: #104
Members: 215,716
Favorites: 2,956
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Nov 22, 2015

The movie greatly justifies the notion ~ "Time waits for no one".
The girl who lept through time is a time traveling concept based movie which revloves around 3 friends makoto, koushki and chiyaki, and what happens in their life.. makoto is a careless girl who once stumbles up in the lab after being given to keep question papers and thus starts her time leap, she couldnt know first how she could predict what will happen today by travelling the "today" part by time leaping and when she faces the "today" part she was shocked as she could predict everything and turn it read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 17, 2015
(Some Spoilers!)
“The Girl Who Leapt Through Time” is a story about a young girl named Makoto Konno (beautifully voiced by Riisa Naka) who, entirely by accident, discovers she has the ability to literally leap back in time, allowing her to correct any mistakes she had made in the past. Initially, this power is used for simple things; getting up earlier for school, doing better on a test, abandoning a poor attempt at tempura, and avoiding an awkward confrontation with her friend, Chiaki. It isn’t long, however, before she realizes that abusing this power will inevitably lead to someone else having to take on her read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 2, 2009
If you suddenly gained the ability to quite literally leap through time, what would you use it for? The sheer fun of it? Getting better grades? Or something else? What if you merely wanted the present to continue; to still live out those memorable days with your friends, playing around and having fun; rejecting the future and not wanting things to change? In Toki wo Kakeru Shojo, a girl is presented with this exact possibility. She suddenly finds out that she has been granted the ability to travel through time, and uses this ability for the purposes mentioned above. At first she tries to correct read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 25, 2007
Hands down the best movie (animated or otherwise) I've seen in at least five years.

Although the character art is simple, I love it <i>because</i> it is simple and clean. The backgrounds, environment, and special effects are a different thing entirely. They are rendered in such gloriously realistic detail. The landscapes, the classrooms, the streets -- I have never seen such detail in an animated film. It makes things like Beowulf and Final Fantasy: Advent Children look really silly.

The movie also has such beautiful sound. The effects are perfect and clear. This is topped off by one of the most read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 18, 2014
Tsutsui Yasutaka is a pretty prolific author. He's known for science fiction works featuring dark humour and satire. His most famous work is probably The Girl Who Leapt Through Time. It was first published in 1967 and has been adapted or given sequels several times for live action dramas, films, a manga and an anime film from our old friends at Madhouse. The anime film is a loose sequel rather than a direct adaptation. The big question, is it any good?


Our protagonist, Makoto, is having a bad day. She woke up late. She flunked a quiz. She got into an accident while trying read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 14, 2013
"Time waits for no one."

If you haven't ever wanted to go back in time and change something in your life, then congratulations, because you must have one of the most flawless and happiest lives ever. Konno Makoto is not one of those kinds of people. On a particularly bad day full of sleeping late, failing a test, and getting a guy thrown on top of her, Makoto wanders into a science lab after she thought she heard someone in there. After falling and having a "trippy" experience, Makoto goes about the rest of her unlucky day only to have a near death experience. But she read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 11, 2015

Ok, so i was completely lost after watching this movie. However, found this explanation on a neoseeker thread and thought it seemed accurate. Over all great movie, especially with this explanation in mind.

"Just finished watching the Girl Who Leapt Through Time and loved it. Like a lot of people, I immediately went through a ton of Google searches to see how everyone explained the ending… and I really couldn't find one that made sense! So I'm offering my own. Feel free to tear it apart. But FIRST let's debunk a couple theories:

Theory #1: Makoto's aunt read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 23, 2015
Time-travel is probably one of my favorite plot points in sci-fi, as they open a vast array of possibilities, from every-day stories, like Groundhog Day, to hugely complex time-travel plots, such as 12 Monkeys. The Girl Who Leapt Through Time, somehow, has a bit of both.

The Girl Who Leapt Through Time (Toki wo Kakeru Shoujo) is a 2006 sci-fi anime film that is produced by the studio Madhouse. It is directed by Mamoru Hosoda, who also created and directed Summer Wars and the recent Wolf Children.

Konno Makoto is a relaxed high school girl who spends her days away playing catch with her friends Chiaki Mamiya read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 8, 2014
"When you're enjoying yourself, doesn't that mean somebody else is suffering as a result?"

Every person in this world had wished to go back in time at some point; whether it be to fix a mistake or to experience an event again, it's all the same. Toki wo Kakeru Shoujo is about a girl, Konno Makoto, who obtains the ability to leap back into time. At the beginning, she uses her newfound powers for trivial things to make her life more fun and exciting. However, as she changes events that were supposed to happen, she creates more problems, uncovers secrets, and experiences more pain than satisfaction. read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 25, 2008
Whereas I had watched the movie because of its high recommendations, I was disappointed to find out that Toki wo Kakeru Shoujo is very lacking in many regards, in my opinion.

The story wasn't very new (character finds out can travel back or forth in time, uses it, abuses it, and learns - the end), but I did enjoy the approach taken by <i>this</i> particular anime. Featuring some interesting plot developments and approaches to how the time travel was "invoked," it did feel fairly fresh. However, other than that, most of the development in the film was mainly comic relief and I didn't feel like I read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 24, 2015
The Girl Who Leapt Through Time there is a lot of things I can say about this anime but I can keep it short by saying everything in this was perfect. The amazing animation for that time when it was released it is even still pleasing to the eye now. The amazing story behind it a love story of two kids from different times that come together. Amazingly made characters each one kind of just made you really connect with them. This is easily hands down my favorite movie of all time without a doubt. It was honestly incredible I wish I could give it read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 2, 2015
All of us have wanted to time travel at least once in our lives. To either change past wrong doings or experience the distant future. But many do not stop to realize the gravity of their decision to time travel. You can drastically change any time period. Here is a movie about the benefits of time traveling; but also the consequences that can come with it.


Our main heroine is Makoto. A generally outgoing and bombastic girl who enjoys playing baseball with her two friends, Chiaki and Kousuke. One day while dropping off notebooks in another classroom Makoto hears a sound coming from the Science room. read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 16, 2015
At first, I was a bit hesitant to watch this film. From the trailer and a small synopsis of the story, I found the plot to be clichéd and somewhat unoriginal and the female protagonist slightly annoying. During and after watching the movie, I realized that I had been wrong. The concept of time travel within the realm of cinema is nothing new, but the way it is portrayed in this story can be seen as interesting and somewhat thought-provoking. I found myself wanting to know more about it. The female protagonist as well as the other main and read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 14, 2015
( warning : may contain hints of spoilers )
I stumbled across this movie in a facebook post, and I ended up googling the title and deciding to watch it after reading the synopsis. I have to admit, I felt like the movie was lacking a bit in "mind-blowing" factor, but that may be because I've watched the movie "Secret" (you know, the one with the piano battle and Jay Chou?) and the movies are quite similar. I thought that I would be moved to tears, but I ended up just being moved. It was still overall a great movie, and I would definitely recommend watching read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 13, 2015
Highly recommend b/c it's the most sophisticated coming of age anime that I've encountered yet. Western viewers easing into anime should watch anime films first before series because there are more palatable gems in movies than in series imo.

-realistic and VERY likable main cast/personalities. No extremes like tsundere-moe dichotomy or goodie two shoes. Trio baseball get-togethers are fun to watch, not expositional
-confident female protagonist--pro b/c it's a rarity to have a great one w/out making her seem rude/conceited
-relative lack of pillow shots which plot and pace-driven viewers can appreciate
-transitioned Makoto's adjustment to time leaping in a concise, humorous, and appropriate way to development. read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 4, 2015
When I fist saw this flick years ago I didn't expect it to be so good, especially when considering it was directed by Mamoru Hosoda, director of numerous Digimon titles; but I was very impressed by this movie. So impressed, that I watched it twice back to back, and it can easily make my top ten list of best anime films.

The Girl Who Leapt Through Time is a very well crafted film, and it does a lot of things right. The film does a very good job developing the characters personalities, but the main character Makoto possesses the most depth as it should be. read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 2, 2015

I'm not good with reviews and all, so I decided to speak my mind (basically leave a comment where we are supposed to put a review since i don't know where to comment if I can)

I think the movie is real good and all but... only one problem... (Here comes the spoiler)

But, I have to admit, the movie really touched me in many ways
I felt anger, sadness, guilt, thrill and shock nearly all at once.
I have watched this movie like... em... *counting* 7 times already.

Sorry for the spoiler!
I found this review Helpful
Dec 30, 2014
The sci-fi genre of anime can tour an extensive diversity of elements from intergalactic space travelling, to future dystopian societies. But rarely does sci-fi anime ever explore the concept of time travel. Well the almighty Steins;Gate Tuturuuu'd its way to the peak of many anime fans lists because of it's great structured story and memorable characters. It's time travel element was virtually nailed perfectly and allowed for it to be one of the best anime ever created. But lets not forget that there was an anime
that explored time travel prior to Steins;Gate and was in the format of a movie. read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 22, 2007
I found no problem with the movie at all, other than the melodramatic overstated mood they went with for the ending considering the natural and low-key presentation they used for most of the running time, although at least they left the science fiction concepts as a subtle wink and kept it as just a medium to the true story of character interaction. It’s amazing how entertaining and delightful the overall product was, and with my words here I am doing no justice to the real feeling behind my statement but want to avoid needless hyperboles and keep this the more down-to-earth I can for now. read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 12, 2010
‘Toki wo Kakeru Shoujo’, or ‘The Girl Who Leapt Through Time’ as it is known in English, is one of the first anime movies to grab my attention. The story of a girl who gains the ability to travel through time, and then faces the consequences of using it, is pretty well known among anime fans. The question is though, is this anime chronology hopping anime a future classic? Or is it an unoriginal, repetitive timewaster?

This is not the first incarnation of the story; in its native Japan it has been adapted into several films and TV dramas. This animated version is actually a read more
I found this review Helpful