MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #85
Toki wo Kakeru Shoujo

Toki wo Kakeru Shoujo

Alternative Titles

English: The Girl Who Leapt Through Time
Synonyms: Toki wo Kakeru Shojo, TokiKake, Toki o Kakeru Shojo, The Girl Who Cut Time, The Little Girl Who Conquered Time
Japanese: 時をかける少女

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 15, 2006
Duration: 1 hr. 37 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.541 (scored by 117742 users)
Ranked: #852
Popularity: #89
Members: 176,049
Favorites: 2,571
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

drama romance sci-fi slice of life
Feb 2, 2009
TheLlama
If you suddenly gained the ability to quite literally leap through time, what would you use it for? The sheer fun of it? Getting better grades? Or something else? What if you merely wanted the present to continue; to still live out those memorable days with your friends, playing around and having fun; rejecting the future and not wanting things to change? In Toki wo Kakeru Shojo, a girl is presented with this exact possibility. She suddenly finds out that she has been granted the ability to travel through time, and uses this ability for the purposes mentioned above. At first she tries to correct read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 14, 2013
Asfaria
"Time waits for no one."

If you haven't ever wanted to go back in time and change something in your life, then congratulations, because you must have one of the most flawless and happiest lives ever. Konno Makoto is not one of those kinds of people. On a particularly bad day full of sleeping late, failing a test, and getting a guy thrown on top of her, Makoto wanders into a science lab after she thought she heard someone in there. After falling and having a "trippy" experience, Makoto goes about the rest of her unlucky day only to have a near death experience. But she read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 8, 2014
lagcrazy
"When you're enjoying yourself, doesn't that mean somebody else is suffering as a result?"

Every person in this world had wished to go back in time at some point; whether it be to fix a mistake or to experience an event again, it's all the same. Toki wo Kakeru Shoujo is about a girl, Konno Makoto, who obtains the ability to leap back into time. At the beginning, she uses her newfound powers for trivial things to make her life more fun and exciting. However, as she changes events that were supposed to happen, she creates more problems, uncovers secrets, and experiences more pain than satisfaction. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 25, 2008
Alexius
Whereas I had watched the movie because of its high recommendations, I was disappointed to find out that Toki wo Kakeru Shoujo is very lacking in many regards, in my opinion.

The story wasn't very new (character finds out can travel back or forth in time, uses it, abuses it, and learns - the end), but I did enjoy the approach taken by <i>this</i> particular anime. Featuring some interesting plot developments and approaches to how the time travel was "invoked," it did feel fairly fresh. However, other than that, most of the development in the film was mainly comic relief and I didn't feel like I read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 16, 2014
myronator
The Girl Who Leapt Through Time is a film directed by Mamoru Hosoda based on, but also loosely a sequel to, a novel by the same name written by Yasutaka Tsutsui. This does not mean it is completely a stand-alone story following Tsutsui's novel. Instead, the events of this film mirror many of the events in Tsutsui's novel, however, the film is set in the future (compared to the novel) with slightly different characters. This allows the film to take on Hosoda's style, which is perhaps a major reason for why it has become a fan favourite over the past decade.

The "girl" in The Girl read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 25, 2007
daimira
Hands down the best movie (animated or otherwise) I've seen in at least five years.

Although the character art is simple, I love it <i>because</i> it is simple and clean. The backgrounds, environment, and special effects are a different thing entirely. They are rendered in such gloriously realistic detail. The landscapes, the classrooms, the streets -- I have never seen such detail in an animated film. It makes things like Beowulf and Final Fantasy: Advent Children look really silly.

The movie also has such beautiful sound. The effects are perfect and clear. This is topped off by one of the most read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 17, 2013
FullmetalCowboy
Critic’s Log - Earthdate: October 17, 2013. Review #60: The Girl Who Leapt Through Time.

In the realms of imagination. Time Travel can be quite amusing. In a fictional sense, it is a creative trope. There have been some fictional stories that use time travel pretty well and show the consequences of altering events whether it be good or bad, and Great Scott! The possibilities of time travel stories is pretty close to infinite. This movie is sort of like this. This is the tale of "The Girl Who Leapt Through Time".


Makoto Konno is a 17 year old high school girl and she somehow gained the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 12, 2007
Washi
This movie caught my attention way back when it first came out, due to the interesting premise of a high-school drama played out to the tune of quirky time travel - a fascinating combination of genres and concepts. Where time-travel is usually limited to the geekdom of science-fiction, and as such is used as a platform for (often overly) serious storytelling, The Girl Who Leapt Through Time whacks it onto an otherwise basic drama story to create a fresh, accessible movie with a gratifying romantic plot, and a zany, time-leaping twist. The protagonist, Makoto, has as much fun with the idea of time-travel as her read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 24, 2013
vasili101
Being an avid fan of both sci-fi and romance, especially when presented in a glamorous and genuine style, I naturally didn’t think twice about watching it. Now considering that this is indeed the eight adaptation of Kakeru Shoujo I will make no comparisons or any relations to other versions of this film, since the others are non-anime anyway.

This film ostensibly presents itself to be a forthright tale on the ability of time-travel and the inevitable ramifications that result from it. To fully appreciate the magnitude and prudent motif the viewer must be astute and open minded. The predominant message carried throughout plot is allusive read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 22, 2007
7Th
I found no problem with the movie at all, other than the melodramatic overstated mood they went with for the ending considering the natural and low-key presentation they used for most of the running time, although at least they left the science fiction concepts as a subtle wink and kept it as just a medium to the true story of character interaction. It’s amazing how entertaining and delightful the overall product was, and with my words here I am doing no justice to the real feeling behind my statement but want to avoid needless hyperboles and keep this the more down-to-earth I can for now. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 4, 2008
kahr
I put this movie on with absolutely no expectations, as I had read nothing about it nor read any reviews. And, I was very pleasently surprised. Of course, pleasent surprises sometimes shift appraisal drastically, so take my review with that as being a possibility.

Despite the aforementioned, the animation/art was absolutely fantastic. Visual effects were tastefully intermixed with standard animation bringing what might have been trite visuallizations to rather astonishing moments, if brief, to colorful life. Although I was not particularly fond of the background used during the main character's many "leaps". Accompanied soundtrack was nothing extraordinary, as I can hardly remember it. Though it may read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 28, 2007
Traversy
If you haven't already heard, this film Toki o Kakeru Sh?jo (a.k.a. The girl who leapt through time/Tokikake) was awarded "Animation of the Year" by 6th Annual Tokyo Anime Awards/Fair in 2007. Now that that's down, this anime appealed to me because of the interesting concept and theme of "going back in time". I really enjoyed it but, not as much as I should have for some reason. The animation and sounds were theatrical and sufficient. Characters were interesting and easily affected by what is happening. There were some moments however, where the story seems to recount another story and expect you to know it. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 30, 2014
Corbot06
For a spoken version of this review, head over to my video on my channel!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7DYfyxx5LdY

The sci-fi genre of anime can tour an extensive diversity of elements from intergalactic space travelling, to future dystopian societies. But rarely does sci-fi anime ever explore the concept of time travel. Well the almighty Steins;Gate Tuturuuu'd its way to the peak of many anime fans lists because of it's great structured story and memorable characters. It's time travel element was virtually nailed perfectly and allowed for it to be one of the best anime ever created. But lets not forget that there was an anime
that explored read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 24, 2013
emmy621
Okay so this is my first review so please bare with me!!
So..... here we go!
okay, I literally watched this not even more than an hour ago and I loved it so much that I wanted to write my first review on it. Now I have been hearing fantastic things about this animated movie for quite awhile and when I finally started really getting into anime, I was really interested in watching it. At the beginning of summer, I knew I was not going to be doing a lot of stuff like traveling or doing much with my time so I finally got back to this read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 20, 2012
Dandey
I wish I could go back in time two hours ago and watch this masterpiece again.

Story: Just like in every time travel film, something happens that makes the protagonist repeat a particular period of time to try and alter the outcome. I'm a bit bias when it comes to time travel, simply because i love the concept when done right in films and shows. So of course i was over the moon when i realized how wonderful this anime was.

Art: To be completely honest, this film was lacking in the arts department. Nothing special, whether it was the characters or scenery it was fairly read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 12, 2010
AnnoKano
‘Toki wo Kakeru Shoujo’, or ‘The Girl Who Leapt Through Time’ as it is known in English, is one of the first anime movies to grab my attention. The story of a girl who gains the ability to travel through time, and then faces the consequences of using it, is pretty well known among anime fans. The question is though, is this anime chronology hopping anime a future classic? Or is it an unoriginal, repetitive timewaster?

This is not the first incarnation of the story; in its native Japan it has been adapted into several films and TV dramas. This animated version is actually a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 14, 2013
pageprophet
THE GIRL WHO LEAPT THROUGH TIME: Perfect balance of exposition and plot development

What I really like about this story is that it presents the clichéd concept of time travel differently. Most time travel stories don’t even consider time travel its core concept. The concept is just there to add an impression of historical fiction. But The Girl Who Leapt Through Time is a different case. All of the plot elements revolve around time travel.

Speaking of plot elements, this anime clearly knows how to establish them without appearing to be information dumping. They are interwoven with the actual plot development, meaning that they are presented while read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 1, 2014
heavendoveabc
I've spent a long time after watching TGWLTT wondering why I am so infatuated with it, and with Konno Makoto as a character. The obvious candidates apply -- the story is powerful, the pacing and background is gorgeous, and the voice acting is spot on.

But I think the most powerful part of TGWLTT is the feelings it evokes in the viewer -- specifically, one of powerful yearning, taking the viewer back to their young adult lives where they can explore their past regrets, young flames and missed connections. It's extraordinarily melancholy, and overwhelming, and it takes a believable story with believable characters to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 9, 2013
Grumpy-Lee
Whenever it flows, something withers in return. Its unforgiving nature permits one’s existence to substantiate, but never does it show a flare of sympathy. The movement of its hands is a constant reminder that life is a pulpit for irreversible processes. And ultimately, it is a treasure box of triumphs and mischiefs.

From a splendid novel written by the revered Yasutaka Tsutsui, the original creator of the psychologically stimulating Paprika which was also adapted into an anime film in the same year, comes the tale of Makoto Konno, a puerile high school girl who has accidentally obtained the ability to “literally” leap through time. She read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 19, 2008
slpless
First, let me just say I tend to enjoy watching/reading stories that involve the theme of time travel. Going back in time to fix things and relive various moments in our lives has always intrigued me, as well as the consequences behind doing those things. Every little thing we change in the past may adversely affect our futures/present, kind of like the butterfly effect. Toki wo Kakeru Shoujo takes these ideas and themes and creates a very enjoyable film.

Toki wo Kakeru Shoujo is a modern reinterpretation of a well known Japanese novel of the same name. The original protagonist read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices