Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Toki wo Kakeru Shoujo


Alternative Titles

English: The Girl Who Leapt Through Time
Synonyms: Toki wo Kakeru Shojo, TokiKake, Toki o Kakeru Shojo, The Girl Who Cut Time, The Little Girl Who Conquered Time
Japanese: 時をかける少女

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 15, 2006
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Novel
Duration: 1 hr. 38 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.461 (scored by 164,762 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1212
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #110
Members: 255,937
Favorites: 3,468

Reviews

TheLlama
Feb 2, 2009
If you suddenly gained the ability to quite literally leap through time, what would you use it for? The sheer fun of it? Getting better grades? Or something else? What if you merely wanted the present to continue; to still live out those memorable days with your friends, playing around and having fun; rejecting the future and not wanting things to change? In Toki wo Kakeru Shojo, a girl is presented with this exact possibility. She suddenly finds out that she has been granted the ability to travel through time, and uses this ability for the purposes mentioned above. At first she tries to correct read more
I found this review Helpful
daimira
Nov 25, 2007
Hands down the best movie (animated or otherwise) I've seen in at least five years.

Although the character art is simple, I love it <i>because</i> it is simple and clean. The backgrounds, environment, and special effects are a different thing entirely. They are rendered in such gloriously realistic detail. The landscapes, the classrooms, the streets -- I have never seen such detail in an animated film. It makes things like Beowulf and Final Fantasy: Advent Children look really silly.

The movie also has such beautiful sound. The effects are perfect and clear. This is topped off by one of the most read more
I found this review Helpful
Alexius
Jun 25, 2008
Whereas I had watched the movie because of its high recommendations, I was disappointed to find out that Toki wo Kakeru Shoujo is very lacking in many regards, in my opinion.

The story wasn't very new (character finds out can travel back or forth in time, uses it, abuses it, and learns - the end), but I did enjoy the approach taken by <i>this</i> particular anime. Featuring some interesting plot developments and approaches to how the time travel was "invoked," it did feel fairly fresh. However, other than that, most of the development in the film was mainly comic relief and I didn't feel like I read more
I found this review Helpful
ktulu007
Jul 18, 2014
Tsutsui Yasutaka is a pretty prolific author. He's known for science fiction works featuring dark humour and satire. His most famous work is probably The Girl Who Leapt Through Time. It was first published in 1967 and has been adapted or given sequels several times for live action dramas, films, a manga and an anime film from our old friends at Madhouse. The anime film is a loose sequel rather than a direct adaptation. The big question, is it any good?

Story:

Our protagonist, Makoto, is having a bad day. She woke up late. She flunked a quiz. She got into an accident while trying read more
I found this review Helpful
Asfaria
Dec 14, 2013
"Time waits for no one."

If you haven't ever wanted to go back in time and change something in your life, then congratulations, because you must have one of the most flawless and happiest lives ever. Konno Makoto is not one of those kinds of people. On a particularly bad day full of sleeping late, failing a test, and getting a guy thrown on top of her, Makoto wanders into a science lab after she thought she heard someone in there. After falling and having a "trippy" experience, Makoto goes about the rest of her unlucky day only to have a near death experience. But she read more
I found this review Helpful
7Th
Oct 22, 2007
I found no problem with the movie at all, other than the melodramatic overstated mood they went with for the ending considering the natural and low-key presentation they used for most of the running time, although at least they left the science fiction concepts as a subtle wink and kept it as just a medium to the true story of character interaction. It’s amazing how entertaining and delightful the overall product was, and with my words here I am doing no justice to the real feeling behind my statement but want to avoid needless hyperboles and keep this the more down-to-earth I can for now. read more
I found this review Helpful
Traversy
May 28, 2007
If you haven't already heard, this film Toki o Kakeru Sh?jo (a.k.a. The girl who leapt through time/Tokikake) was awarded "Animation of the Year" by 6th Annual Tokyo Anime Awards/Fair in 2007. Now that that's down, this anime appealed to me because of the interesting concept and theme of "going back in time". I really enjoyed it but, not as much as I should have for some reason. The animation and sounds were theatrical and sufficient. Characters were interesting and easily affected by what is happening. There were some moments however, where the story seems to recount another story and expect you to know it. read more
I found this review Helpful
lagcrazy
Nov 8, 2014
"When you're enjoying yourself, doesn't that mean somebody else is suffering as a result?"

Every person in this world had wished to go back in time at some point; whether it be to fix a mistake or to experience an event again, it's all the same. Toki wo Kakeru Shoujo is about a girl, Konno Makoto, who obtains the ability to leap back into time. At the beginning, she uses her newfound powers for trivial things to make her life more fun and exciting. However, as she changes events that were supposed to happen, she creates more problems, uncovers secrets, and experiences more pain than satisfaction. read more
I found this review Helpful
Washi
Nov 12, 2007
This movie caught my attention way back when it first came out, due to the interesting premise of a high-school drama played out to the tune of quirky time travel - a fascinating combination of genres and concepts. Where time-travel is usually limited to the geekdom of science-fiction, and as such is used as a platform for (often overly) serious storytelling, The Girl Who Leapt Through Time whacks it onto an otherwise basic drama story to create a fresh, accessible movie with a gratifying romantic plot, and a zany, time-leaping twist. The protagonist, Makoto, has as much fun with the idea of time-travel as her read more
I found this review Helpful
AnnoKano
Feb 12, 2010
‘Toki wo Kakeru Shoujo’, or ‘The Girl Who Leapt Through Time’ as it is known in English, is one of the first anime movies to grab my attention. The story of a girl who gains the ability to travel through time, and then faces the consequences of using it, is pretty well known among anime fans. The question is though, is this anime chronology hopping anime a future classic? Or is it an unoriginal, repetitive timewaster?

This is not the first incarnation of the story; in its native Japan it has been adapted into several films and TV dramas. This animated version is actually a read more
I found this review Helpful
Dozer
Jan 18, 2010
Good God. This show means much to me. Really, it does. It gave me a feeling I've never thought was possible for an anime to give me.

Never did I feel CHEATED coming out of a cinema!

I was watching this failure of an animated motion picture in a cinema during my city's animation festival.(Just as a side note, I've also watched Paprika on this festival, along with the French "Reinessance" and the British "The Christies". I could not believe how the Japanese movies were no good, as opposed to the European ones.) Reading about how this featurette got a bunch of awards and stuff, I was read more
I found this review Helpful
Darmaiad
Jan 7, 2016
This overrated movie cements in my eyes Mamoru Hosoda's status as an overrated director, although I really liked Ookami kodomo no ame to yuki (8.0).

I expected more from the animation; the combination of studio Madhouse and the high praise this movie enjoys filled me with expectation, but in the end it was nothing out of the ordinary. Of course ordinary for Madhouse means a cut above the rest. So, great but not spectacular, animation.

The movie begins as a “slice of high-school life” with some time-leaping shenanigans. For the most part the movie does a good job for the first two thirds; the heroine, Makoto, read more
I found this review Helpful
kahr
Mar 4, 2008
I put this movie on with absolutely no expectations, as I had read nothing about it nor read any reviews. And, I was very pleasently surprised. Of course, pleasent surprises sometimes shift appraisal drastically, so take my review with that as being a possibility.

Despite the aforementioned, the animation/art was absolutely fantastic. Visual effects were tastefully intermixed with standard animation bringing what might have been trite visuallizations to rather astonishing moments, if brief, to colorful life. Although I was not particularly fond of the background used during the main character's many "leaps". Accompanied soundtrack was nothing extraordinary, as I can hardly remember it. Though it may read more
I found this review Helpful
Kirby_of_Arabia
Nov 30, 2015
This movie moved many feeling inside my heart. I think this movie is well made and has a rich story that will mix your emotions together. I experienced fear, stress, love, loss of time, warmth, happiness, relief, lucidness..etc.

I think this movie can be related to many things we experience in real life, would give much appreciation to time management and how sometimes we need to act fast because time does not stop so we have to have awareness of our surroundings. I do not want to include any spoilers about this movie. Many lessons can be learned and it is one emotional rollercoaster and I read more
I found this review Helpful
Alnime
Mar 13, 2015
Highly recommend b/c it's the most sophisticated coming of age anime that I've encountered yet. Western viewers easing into anime should watch anime films first before series because there are more palatable gems in movies than in series imo.

PROS
-realistic and VERY likable main cast/personalities. No extremes like tsundere-moe dichotomy or goodie two shoes. Trio baseball get-togethers are fun to watch, not expositional
-confident female protagonist--pro b/c it's a rarity to have a great one w/out making her seem rude/conceited
-relative lack of pillow shots which plot and pace-driven viewers can appreciate
-transitioned Makoto's adjustment to time leaping in a concise, humorous, and appropriate way to development. read more
I found this review Helpful
seekster
Nov 5, 2007
I'm probably the only one here who didnt really like this movie but im sorry I just didn't get it. I am a harsh critic so bear with me. The whole time traveling thing was neat but...well lets break it down:

Story:

Basic "Don't screw around with stuff you don't understand or bad stuff happens" storyline. Been there done that but havnt bought the t-shirt just yet. One of my rules is a good story will leave you with your mouth hanging open and saying "No Way". Toki wo Kakeru Shoujo only did that twice during the whole movie (want to say what they are but it read more
I found this review Helpful
Luquillo
Apr 4, 2015
When I fist saw this flick years ago I didn't expect it to be so good, especially when considering it was directed by Mamoru Hosoda, director of numerous Digimon titles; but I was very impressed by this movie. So impressed, that I watched it twice back to back, and it can easily make my top ten list of best anime films.

The Girl Who Leapt Through Time is a very well crafted film, and it does a lot of things right. The film does a very good job developing the characters personalities, but the main character Makoto possesses the most depth as it should be. read more
I found this review Helpful
Kittens-kun
Jul 2, 2015
All of us have wanted to time travel at least once in our lives. To either change past wrong doings or experience the distant future. But many do not stop to realize the gravity of their decision to time travel. You can drastically change any time period. Here is a movie about the benefits of time traveling; but also the consequences that can come with it.

Story:

Our main heroine is Makoto. A generally outgoing and bombastic girl who enjoys playing baseball with her two friends, Chiaki and Kousuke. One day while dropping off notebooks in another classroom Makoto hears a sound coming from the Science room. read more
I found this review Helpful
HabitPlays
Jul 24, 2015
The Girl Who Leapt Through Time there is a lot of things I can say about this anime but I can keep it short by saying everything in this was perfect. The amazing animation for that time when it was released it is even still pleasing to the eye now. The amazing story behind it a love story of two kids from different times that come together. Amazingly made characters each one kind of just made you really connect with them. This is easily hands down my favorite movie of all time without a doubt. It was honestly incredible I wish I could give it read more
I found this review Helpful
timectrl
Jun 14, 2015
( warning : may contain hints of spoilers )
I stumbled across this movie in a facebook post, and I ended up googling the title and deciding to watch it after reading the synopsis. I have to admit, I felt like the movie was lacking a bit in "mind-blowing" factor, but that may be because I've watched the movie "Secret" (you know, the one with the piano battle and Jay Chou?) and the movies are quite similar. I thought that I would be moved to tears, but I ended up just being moved. It was still overall a great movie, and I would definitely recommend watching read more
I found this review Helpful