MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #75
Toki wo Kakeru Shoujo

Toki wo Kakeru Shoujo

Alternative Titles

English: The Girl Who Leapt Through Time
Synonyms: Toki wo Kakeru Shojo, TokiKake, Toki o Kakeru Shojo, The Girl Who Cut Time, The Little Girl Who Conquered Time
Japanese: 時をかける少女

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 15, 2006
Duration: 1 hr. 37 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.561 (scored by 109243 users)
Ranked: #752
Popularity: #80
Members: 162,081
Favorites: 2,481
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

drama romance sci-fi slice of life
Feb 2, 2009
TheLlama
If you suddenly gained the ability to quite literally leap through time, what would you use it for? The sheer fun of it? Getting better grades? Or something else? What if you merely wanted the present to continue; to still live out those memorable days with your friends, playing around and having fun; rejecting the future and not wanting things to change? In Toki wo Kakeru Shojo, a girl is presented with this exact possibility. She suddenly finds out that she has been granted the ability to travel through time, and uses this ability for the purposes mentioned above. At first she tries to correct read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 25, 2007
daimira
Hands down the best movie (animated or otherwise) I've seen in at least five years.

Although the character art is simple, I love it <i>because</i> it is simple and clean. The backgrounds, environment, and special effects are a different thing entirely. They are rendered in such gloriously realistic detail. The landscapes, the classrooms, the streets -- I have never seen such detail in an animated film. It makes things like Beowulf and Final Fantasy: Advent Children look really silly.

The movie also has such beautiful sound. The effects are perfect and clear. This is topped off by one of the most read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 14, 2013
Asfaria
"Time waits for no one."

If you haven't ever wanted to go back in time and change something in your life, then congratulations, because you must have one of the most flawless and happiest lives ever. Konno Makoto is not one of those kinds of people. On a particularly bad day full of sleeping late, failing a test, and getting a guy thrown on top of her, Makoto wanders into a science lab after she thought she heard someone in there. After falling and having a "trippy" experience, Makoto goes about the rest of her unlucky day only to have a near death experience. But she read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 17, 2013
FullmetalCowboy
Critic’s Log - Earthdate: October 17, 2013. Review #60: The Girl Who Leapt Through Time.

In the realms of imagination. Time Travel can be quite amusing. In a fictional sense, it is a creative trope. There have been some fictional stories that use time travel pretty well and show the consequences of altering events whether it be good or bad, and Great Scott! The possibilities of time travel stories is pretty close to infinite. This movie is sort of like this. This is the tale of "The Girl Who Leapt Through Time".


Makoto Konno is a 17 year old high school girl and she somehow gained the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 22, 2007
7Th
I found no problem with the movie at all, other than the melodramatic overstated mood they went with for the ending considering the natural and low-key presentation they used for most of the running time, although at least they left the science fiction concepts as a subtle wink and kept it as just a medium to the true story of character interaction. It’s amazing how entertaining and delightful the overall product was, and with my words here I am doing no justice to the real feeling behind my statement but want to avoid needless hyperboles and keep this the more down-to-earth I can for now. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 25, 2008
Alexius
Whereas I had watched the movie because of its high recommendations, I was disappointed to find out that Toki wo Kakeru Shoujo is very lacking in many regards, in my opinion.

The story wasn't very new (character finds out can travel back or forth in time, uses it, abuses it, and learns - the end), but I did enjoy the approach taken by <i>this</i> particular anime. Featuring some interesting plot developments and approaches to how the time travel was "invoked," it did feel fairly fresh. However, other than that, most of the development in the film was mainly comic relief and I didn't feel like I read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 24, 2013
vasili101
Being an avid fan of both sci-fi and romance, especially when presented in a glamorous and genuine style, I naturally didn’t think twice about watching it. Now considering that this is indeed the eight adaptation of Kakeru Shoujo I will make no comparisons or any relations to other versions of this film, since the others are non-anime anyway.

This film ostensibly presents itself to be a forthright tale on the ability of time-travel and the inevitable ramifications that result from it. To fully appreciate the magnitude and prudent motif the viewer must be astute and open minded. The predominant message carried throughout plot is allusive read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 12, 2007
Washi
This movie caught my attention way back when it first came out, due to the interesting premise of a high-school drama played out to the tune of quirky time travel - a fascinating combination of genres and concepts. Where time-travel is usually limited to the geekdom of science-fiction, and as such is used as a platform for (often overly) serious storytelling, The Girl Who Leapt Through Time whacks it onto an otherwise basic drama story to create a fresh, accessible movie with a gratifying romantic plot, and a zany, time-leaping twist. The protagonist, Makoto, has as much fun with the idea of time-travel as her read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 14, 2013
pageprophet
THE GIRL WHO LEAPT THROUGH TIME: Perfect balance of exposition and plot development

What I really like about this story is that it presents the clichéd concept of time travel differently. Most time travel stories don’t even consider time travel its core concept. The concept is just there to add an impression of historical fiction. But The Girl Who Leapt Through Time is a different case. All of the plot elements revolve around time travel.

Speaking of plot elements, this anime clearly knows how to establish them without appearing to be information dumping. They are interwoven with the actual plot development, meaning that they are presented while read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 24, 2013
emmy621
Okay so this is my first review so please bare with me!!
So..... here we go!
okay, I literally watched this not even more than an hour ago and I loved it so much that I wanted to write my first review on it. Now I have been hearing fantastic things about this animated movie for quite awhile and when I finally started really getting into anime, I was really interested in watching it. At the beginning of summer, I knew I was not going to be doing a lot of stuff like traveling or doing much with my time so I finally got back to this read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 28, 2007
Traversy
If you haven't already heard, this film Toki o Kakeru Sh?jo (a.k.a. The girl who leapt through time/Tokikake) was awarded "Animation of the Year" by 6th Annual Tokyo Anime Awards/Fair in 2007. Now that that's down, this anime appealed to me because of the interesting concept and theme of "going back in time". I really enjoyed it but, not as much as I should have for some reason. The animation and sounds were theatrical and sufficient. Characters were interesting and easily affected by what is happening. There were some moments however, where the story seems to recount another story and expect you to know it. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 4, 2008
kahr
I put this movie on with absolutely no expectations, as I had read nothing about it nor read any reviews. And, I was very pleasently surprised. Of course, pleasent surprises sometimes shift appraisal drastically, so take my review with that as being a possibility.

Despite the aforementioned, the animation/art was absolutely fantastic. Visual effects were tastefully intermixed with standard animation bringing what might have been trite visuallizations to rather astonishing moments, if brief, to colorful life. Although I was not particularly fond of the background used during the main character's many "leaps". Accompanied soundtrack was nothing extraordinary, as I can hardly remember it. Though it may read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 1, 2014
heavendoveabc
I've spent a long time after watching TGWLTT wondering why I am so infatuated with it, and with Konno Makoto as a character. The obvious candidates apply -- the story is powerful, the pacing and background is gorgeous, and the voice acting is spot on.

But I think the most powerful part of TGWLTT is the feelings it evokes in the viewer -- specifically, one of powerful yearning, taking the viewer back to their young adult lives where they can explore their past regrets, young flames and missed connections. It's extraordinarily melancholy, and overwhelming, and it takes a believable story with believable characters to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 20, 2012
Dandey
It's rare that you find an anime that is filled with life lessons, and makes you look back on the life that you live. Don't take the small things in life for granted. Live life as it comes.

Story: Overall the plot and story was brilliant. Ofcourse it has all been done before, nothing new about time travel, although being realistic theres bound to be movies with the same plot. I feel as though this film was the most successful when relating time travel (don't tell me im stupid, its my opinion). Regardless of what others think, this was an amazing story that left me read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 12, 2010
AnnoKano
‘Toki wo Kakeru Shoujo’, or ‘The Girl Who Leapt Through Time’ as it is known in English, is one of the first anime movies to grab my attention. The story of a girl who gains the ability to travel through time, and then faces the consequences of using it, is pretty well known among anime fans. The question is though, is this anime chronology hopping anime a future classic? Or is it an unoriginal, repetitive timewaster?

This is not the first incarnation of the story; in its native Japan it has been adapted into several films and TV dramas. This animated version is actually a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 9, 2013
Grumpy-Lee
Whenever it flows, something withers in return. Its unforgiving nature permits one’s existence to substantiate, but never does it show a flare of sympathy. The movement of its hands is a constant reminder that life is a pulpit for irreversible processes. And ultimately, it is a treasure box of triumphs and mischiefs.

From a splendid novel written by the revered Yasutaka Tsutsui, the original creator of the psychologically stimulating Paprika which was also adapted into an anime film in the same year, comes the tale of Makoto Konno, a puerile high school girl who has accidentally obtained the ability to “literally” leap through time. She read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 19, 2008
slpless
First, let me just say I tend to enjoy watching/reading stories that involve the theme of time travel. Going back in time to fix things and relive various moments in our lives has always intrigued me, as well as the consequences behind doing those things. Every little thing we change in the past may adversely affect our futures/present, kind of like the butterfly effect. Toki wo Kakeru Shoujo takes these ideas and themes and creates a very enjoyable film.

Toki wo Kakeru Shoujo is a modern reinterpretation of a well known Japanese novel of the same name. The original protagonist read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 20, 2013
Kuandohan
"Toki wo Kakeru Shoujo" is not the anime I thought it was going to be. It's actually a very well done coming of age love story. If you are not into this type of story, you may still want to watch this show.
It has a beauty to it that is done really well.

As you're reading the synopsis, that is really the whole story. How it is executed is very well done.
Every action has an equal and opposite reaction, and that is true in Makoto's actions.
Selfish action usually come with regret, especially regret you wouldn't come to expect or be aware of most of the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 12, 2013
Rance-sama
"Time waits for no one"

Story: 10/10
The movie is honestly just a standard shoujo slice of life high school drama. Our protagonist is a tomboyish high school student who loathes school and prefers spending her time in karaoke lounges and playing with her two best friends; in other words, your average Joe. Things get intriguing when she gains the ability of ‘leaping’ through time. She uses it to 'fix' the little things in her life, and that is what make this movie special, ordinariness. The movie contains the scientific plot device of time-traveling and yet, the emphasis is more on how it affects Makoto and the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 29, 2013
kyoscaum
Fast paced movie with a simple story and well developed characters. My favorite movie of animation, which I've watched at least 5 times.

The story is really simple: a happy and clumsy girl who doesn't worry about anything suddenly finds out she has a unusual power.

What is very interesting is that she uses this special power in a very naive way. But the as the unintended consequences of that start to appear, the atmosphere changes a lot, and there are a lot of sad parts.

Makoto matures a lot during the movie, in a painful but beautiful way.

Also, the "goldberg variations" from Bach suited the anime very read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices