Ranked #1197

True Tears

Alternative Titles

Japanese: true tears


Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 6, 2008 to Mar 30, 2008
Premiered: Winter 2008
Broadcast: Unknown
Source: Original
Genres: Drama, Romance, School
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company


Score: 7.621 (scored by 54,322 users)
Ranked: #11972
Popularity: #385
Members: 99,132
Favorites: 684
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Mar 15, 2009
“Because I gave my tears away.”

That was the line that first introduced me to True Tears. Now I would like to use this same line to introduce you all to this realistic romance series. The True Tears legacy began with very disappointing visual novel sales that ranked it as 41 among the 50 newly released visual novels at the time. Shortly after the visual novel came a live action film of True Tears that resembles closely to the game. So now you must thinking the anime is naturally just another adaptation to the visual novel as well right? Wrong!

The anime version of True Tears shares read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 6, 2013
"-What are tears?
-Let's see, when you're sad...
-Not when... what are tears?
-Well, to keep your eyeballs clean and moist the tear glands secrete..."

True Tears was P.A. Works' debut anime as a solo independent company. It wasn't based on a manga, light novel, visual novel, anything, it was a original production. Because of this, the studio was considered careless by a considerate percentage of the critics, however, this helped increasing the series' audience at its premier, it was an audacious move after all. With the show progressing and popularity constantly increasing, it prof itself a well played market strategy.
Then, someone might say "What is it worth read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 14, 2015
True Tears is a title that disappeared in the back of my mind since I had no recollection of the show, however, after giving the show a re-watch I feel that I may have finally grasped what True Tears is meant to convey.

Story-wise the anime dealt with issues in romance and those issues spanning from those who admire from afar to when you are engaged in a relationship and your personal feelings for your partner begin to waver whether it would be from curiosity, trying something new, or the romance simply dying out with no fault to either side, hence the title True Tears where read more
I found this review Helpful
May 11, 2015
Not a bad storyline on this anime - it's like "warped love triangle meets weird voodoo rituals" which makes it interesting. There's messages within messages and sometimes I found myself over thinking what was trying to be said and was left confused - the chicken. The chicken had my mind... blown.

Story: As mentioned, it was quite interesting. It began to get shoujo feels but right when you go to predict something it takes a sharp 180 and you go down another path. The chicken backstory or philisophy (?) was verrryy6 interesting and borderline weird but in a good way. You take what you can read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 10, 2008
True tears is a story that focuses on the life of a high school student and his interactions with the three heroines of the story. The story focuses on the romance and drama in the lives of the characters.

I think that the storyline was one of the best i have seen for a 13 episode anime. It was just the right length for such a story. The anime incorporates a lot of realism and really brings out the drama of a love triangle. The story looks at love from a path less ventured on and is different from your typical love story. Some may call read more
I found this review Helpful
May 23, 2015
If you are new to anime, don't let the release date of this anime fool you. Well written stories, no matter how long ago they were written, are always enjoyable during any era. True Tears is definitely one of those kind of stories. While it is not particularly unique, the way it handles the romance is absolutely fantastic.

The story to True Tears chronicles Shinichiro, a high school student, as he discovers his romantic desires. His romantic interests are: Hiromi, an athletic and beautiful girl who lives with his family after her own family experiences turmoil, Noe, an eccentric girl who gives names to the read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 17, 2008
True Tears is a fairly typical Slice of Life, Romance, Comedy, Drama based on an unusual theme of tears (amongst other things); nonetheless it’s just another “visual novel” – to – “anime adaptation”. From the beginning the story is pretty ordinary, for this type of anime, as it has a male protagonist (Shinichirou) and it introduces him, his surroundings and the heroines involved in the story (Noe, Hiromi & Aiko). However it is really difficult to tell what the story is entirely about or where it is headed, until things reach a certain point. That is when some major developments arise but it’s a shame read more
I found this review Helpful
May 17, 2015
i feel like i just ate a piece of fresh hot dog shit after watching this. no fucking joke... the hell with all you people who will say this is what a love story is.

This show once again takes a absolutely sweet girl, who suffered a painful loss, and has no friends. Makes her fall in love with a guy and then shits all over her just for the sake of F-U..... She does nothing wrong, Loves the guy and gets betrayed for reasons worthy of justifiable murder.

Man = Main character
G1 = Sweet innocent girl
G2 = useless pure evil bitch you are read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 6, 2010
The first line of the show is your very typical drama-like statement, "The you inside me is always crying". Little did you know is that the Shinichiro was talking about the viewer and how much you wanted to cry after watching this show. You're not crying because your sad, and definitely not because you're happy, but because your body is so full with rage that tears have to be removed to make room for more rage.

Spoilers galore in here.

Let's go over the plot, oh goody, I wonder what kind of plot they have in store. Nakagami Shinichiro lives with his mother, his father, and his read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 30, 2008
True Tears was an anime adaptation of visual novel of the same name. Although, I’m hesitant in calling it an adaptation as True Tears the anime has nothing in common with the game. The story, characters, setting, and even the themes employed are different from the game version, with the exception of the name. I was initially excited a few years ago when I heard about it, but when I heard how poorly the game was received I had extremely low expectations. Thankfully, the anime was also extremely different in terms of quality.

The story itself is extremely read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 11, 2015
I'm not sure how to even begin writing down the feelings this anime gave me, but it sure isn't positive.

I started watching this animation because of my admiration for PA Works, with the bright colors and beautiful setting. The first anime I've seen from them was Nagi no Asukara and I quite liked it. The next one I saw was Glasslip, of which the art was still to my liking but the story was all over the place.

In this anime, the artwork wasn't as pretty as the previous ones I've seen. Perhaps because the overall tone of the story itself is rather dark.

The story itself read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 18, 2011
Complete and utter disappointment is what made me write this review, therefore making the show probably sound worse than it actually is, or is it?

If you're thinking about watching True Tears, then let me give you a warning not to expect too much of it, for that was my mistake right from the start.

The series began, for my taste, extremely promising and I couldn't wait for the second episode, but alas it was late and myself tired, so the only way to proceed was to sleep and watch the rest of the show the next day in one go. Little I new in my read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 25, 2013
True Tears is an anime that centers on Shin’ichiro Nakagami, the male lead of the story. He is friends with Hiromi Yuasa since they were children. When Hiromi’s parents died, she was taken in by the Nakagami Family. With that, Shin-chan (what Shin’ichiro’s mother call him) struggles and at the same time develops even stronger feelings for Hiromi.

He meets Isurugi Noe in an unfateful encounter. Shin’ichiro begins to get closer to Noe, and develops affection for her.

Story: (6/10)
“The you inside me is always crying. I wanted to wipe away your tears. But I never got to know the feeling of wiping the tears away from read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 29, 2013
Well wasn't this a doozy!

True Tears is the story of a young man with a talent for drawing who wants to publish a book, but the main plotline is his burning desire for his de facto "sister," Yuasa Hiromi. I'm exhausted and disappointed so this won't be much more than a brief overview.

I came to this from Whisper of the Heart, as I'd heard this series also involved an artistically-inclined character who's inspired to create something that truly comes from the heart. And yes, I can say Shinichiro does exactly that, but it didn't quite strike a chord with me as WotH did. Anyway, True read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 30, 2008
There goes another short but awesome romance anime. True Tears. It's a simple, yet outstanding combination of romance, drama, comedy and slice of life.

The story is simple at first. One guy, three girls, seems like your average gotta-catch-'em-all harem, but this one is different from the majority. It starts lighthearted, explaining the relationship between our male lead, Shin, and the three girls in his life, Hiromi, Noe and Ai. What starts as a random encounter turns to be the ignition key for a beautiful story. No Deus-Ex-Machina, no things that seem out of this world, just a simple story about love, sadness and the read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 21, 2015
Okay im not gonna lie to myself that this story is too depressing . In a good way kind of depressing . I don't know how to express this kind of feelings i get from watching True Tears . From joy to sadness , from admire to hating and so on . Ahhh True Tears does well on mostly drama and i give it a thumbs up .

The story itself is very well made . From the first episode to the finale , i was entertain by the story plot . Its so interesting that i really enjoy . Although , the story does have read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 12, 2012
We all come into a new anime with our pre-conceived notions. In the case of romance anime, we all assume we can predict what will happen. Several girls vying for the affection of a clueless protagonist and a lot of unecessary drama occurs. "Oh, a girl who can't shed tears needs to fall in love with a guy, so she can finally cry." I thought the premise was interesting, but I thought that True Tears would devolve into something we've seen time and time again. With each passing episode, my assumptions were proven false. True Tears delivered a much more mature albeit melodramatic look read more
I found this review Helpful
May 23, 2013
+Solid Story
+Really nice art style
+Some twists you might not see coming
+Good character development
+Some really gripping moments
+Does a good job of hiding how it was going to turn out, until the end

-A bit slow moving at times
-Ending wasn't the greatest
-Nothing new in terms of content
-Didn't keep my full attention the whole way though

My opinion
Ahhh true tears, was certainly a strange one to watch at first. The character Isurugi, Noe was really interesting and to be honest the only reason i kept watching the show, she was really one of the only things that made this read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 15, 2008
Written with 6 episodes watched.

Story: At first, True Tears appears to be your typical guy meets girl(s), guy must pick a girl storyline, but as you continue to watch the series, several apparent underlying themes reveal themselves. Although it is somewhat similar to most romance animes, I particularly like how True Tears has all "contenders", if you will, continuously active through the series; instead of concentrating on 1 girl then moving on to the next through a series of different story arcs.

Art: The artwork presented in True Tears is simply breathtaking. Each scene is drawn with great detail, while the characters themselves are quite read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 4, 2015
Tears, what are they?

Well i don't know what they really are, in biological terms that's some salty liquid which your tear glands secrete but that not enough to satisfy the meaning of the word tears. Tears in real life are the manifestation of emotions our pain our happiness they just represent the fact that we are humans, if you cry a lot you might be labelled as a cry baby but if you don't at all then you'll feel there is something missing, something which makes you human, When you get frustrated or hurt or lonely and what not beyond point or when you read more
I found this review Helpful