MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #1700
Sola

Sola

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Sky
Japanese: sola

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2007 to Jun 30, 2007
Producers: Diomedea, Nomad, Lantis
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.451 (scored by 29948 users)
Ranked: #17002
Popularity: #573
Members: 58,260
Favorites: 355
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

Popular Tags

drama fantasy romance supernatural
Nov 7, 2007
Yandere
I just recently finished sola and I wanted to start off by saying that I am very strange in what interests me in an anime and instantly, from the first episode, I knew that I would love sola. The song in the introduction of the first episode caught at my soul and moved my heart and I also have a personal attachment to taking pictures of the sky and my digital camera, which is what the main character in this anime is like, of course he doesn't quite understand why he is obsessed with the sky, but there is a deep and wonderful meaning behind read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 23, 2007
Master10K
As the title implies, this Romance, Drama is heavily themed on the sky (sola), which is definitely different than the usual anime but that may not always be a good thing. It’s quite interesting how something we take for granted like the sky can be such a treasure to other’s but it’s irritating that the bulk of the story has something to do about the sky.

The other main focus of the show is on the blossoming romantic relationship between the two main characters; Yorito is an average guy who’s obsessed with taking photos of the sky and Matsuri, she’s the “special girl” usually found in read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 8, 2008
vysis
Animes are seperated into 3 categories: good, bad and exceptional. Sola belongs in the exceptional range, with the likes of Elfen Lied, eureka 7, Samurai Champloo, School Rumble etc..

This is definitely the series strongest point. Although it starts of slower then most animes but picks up quickly.The story is interesting and is very "deep", tackling many subjects such as existence, isolation and other. The story also makes effective use of symbolism and foreshadow, such as the sky, the night which the audience may not recognize at first but will realize along the series. Its these attention to details and little things that make the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 4, 2007
jet2r0cks
It was kind of boring at first, because after the first episode, nothing interesting really happened. It did get better during the middle, then better turned weird, but it wasn’t that bad. Let’s just say it has something to do with paper. A lot of paper.

Characters are really weird. First you have Yorito – someone completely obsessed with the sky. I don’t even know why he’s that obsessed. Then there’s Matsuri, who surprisingly, is kinda ecchi in her own way. Aono – you either love or hate her. She’s naturally funny, but towards the end, you just might hate her. Mayuko, the gothic Lolita, is read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 26, 2008
Beatnik
Let’s check off the things that annoy me, shall we?

~ A world where kids conveniently don’t have parents. Because that would mean the writers would actually have to be skilful enough to write stories including them. The only featured adult in the whole story is obviously a hindrance to everyone, except midway when he suddenly becomes every male pervert's role model.

~ Girls that fawn over one witless guy who doesn’t deserve any of them. They fight to the death over him, but why should we care? Why should we be invested in any of this if we cant understand read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 26, 2015
TyrantCommando
Sola is an anime that will have you wondering until the end.

Watching Sola is retty relaxing for the most part but don't get fooled by the first 20 minutes, this is not a slice of life but rather a supernatural with the pacing of a romance. By pacing of a romance I mean it's kinda slow but in the end it all comes together.. or does it? This anime will sometimes tell the plot through flashbacks and have it explained later through dialogue between certain characters.

Sola has some confusing story bits scattered throughout all the episode which I can't mention a single bit of the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 10, 2015
Deoran-
As with any new review of mine, there is generally a TL;DR part at the end with a basic summary of the positives and negatives.

Ah… Sola, what a wonderful show. I had quite a bit of fun with this one, it kept me hooked enough to finish in two days. It would have been one if I didn’t exercise self-restraint, but I did, so it ended up being two days. One thing that really surprised me about this show was how mature it was handled, especially in the Romance aspect. It was well done, and a very believable romance. The show itself knows what read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 16, 2011
NukeninIzaya
I must say, I had higher expectations for this series because of my love for the slice of life/romance genre. I was also interested because of the supernatural tag, and although it did make the story more interesting, this series still lacked an important element; pacing. One of the biggest problems with anime adaptions of manga and visual novels are the pacing. Managing the pacing of a series is tough work, especially when you’re working under a 13-26 episode restriction. Most animes deal with this in a cool and brilliant fashion, and others, not so much. Sadly, in that respect, Sola falls under the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 16, 2008
erastale
Ranged from love triangle , fantasy , mystery and even Existential theme

At First I did not believe but later on after I watched this anime without bias like someone here
I've found that Sola deserve it's place for the best 2007 anime (Well , I wish Higurashi-Kai were 2nd)

Before I seriously watch series anime , I did watch a lot of movie both Hollywood/popular ones and (So-called) Arthouse/Indie ones. I watched many Asian drama/romance some are boring as hell but some has it's value as good spiritualizers. And one of the directors I like best is Shunji Iwai who've made splendid All About Lily Chou-Chou read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 21, 2011
czmp93
If I asked you to name an anime from 2007 off the top of your head, I would be amazed if you came up with Sola out of the 200-odd possible choices, but in a 2007 poll, Sola was voted the best anime of the year. It has since been relegated to a lowly 915th place on this esteemed website's rankings (which is short-hand for forgettable and not worth watching. The more discerning of you may conclude that that is why I have chosen to do my first review on it, and you would be correct in your conclusion, as I know that the chances read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 19, 2008
slpless
In many ways I feel as if Sola were made for me.

Characters designed by Naru Nanao, Check
One of the writers from Kanon the game, Check
Charming slow paced romance, Check
Mamiko Noto playing an energetic, rain loving, zettai ryouki wielding character, Check!
Perfectly consistent and plot-hole free?...ok, I guess not

I guess I’ll start with my complaints with the series. Sola started very slowly with an almost slice of life feel. The premise is quite typical of the romance genre. You have your typical boy meets interesting girl and both fall in love. The way the characters interacted was very charming as well as having read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 7, 2009
vault2049
I've finished watching this anime a few days ago and actually like it. I thought it was going to be an all boring love story from what I saw in the first episode (a girlfriend told me to watch it, so what could I expect?) but the anime get's better as it reaches it's end and finishes both sad and nicely. So is a very good anime to watch in your free time but don't expect it to be even as half good as, for example Kanon or Clannad.

Let's start with the aspects of this anime. The story is really a common one at read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 19, 2015
starsonia913
If you are looking for just something where you need to chill, you've come to the right place.

Sola just has this calming feeling. It moves rather slowly for just 13 episodes. I was expecting it to fly by but no, it progressed slowly allowing us to get to know the characters very well before the grand finale.
The art is amazing, I loved the way Aono looked. It makes sense how the characters would react, and the flashbacks want to make you know more.
If this was any longer it would be boring. Just saying.

I give this a 10 because of...
-The art
-The length
-The Characterization

It's read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 9, 2012
Shido_Tatsuhiko
sola is one of those little gems that comes once every few years, and I'd recommend it to absolutely everyone... Why? Because IMHO I don't think that there's a person who wouldn't enjoy it.

The story is quite something, the mystery starts at the first episode but every episode what you originally thought how the story was going to develop, turns out to be even more mysterious, suspense keeps increasing every episode and to me that is something very important in a series, that grasps you in a way that you desperately want to know what is going on and that the main story is not read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 9, 2010
SolistraSora
Story
In terms of story, Sola is quite unique. What seems to be at first a general, boy meets girl, boy falls in love type of story, it is actually a bit more complex than that. It does follow the usual routine though, but along the way, it is not the usual events that lead to the usual ending. So anyway, the story to me is very nice. It gives a refreshing new outlook on the romance genre. Sola also incorporates some supernatural themes into it, which makes it a little extra special. The story can get a little boring sometimes, since at the beginning, it read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 30, 2009
tentacle_raep
A sad, short little anime about little precious things.

Yorito loves to photograph clouds. He seemingly lives a normal, if not dazed life. He vistis his sister, Aono in the hospital, who is suffering from an affliction that is never explained. He's friends with a sweet girl, Mana and her sister Koyori.

One morning, while waiting to see the sunrise, he meets a strangely familiar vampire girl, Matsuri.

This is an unusual vampire anime, for a variety of reasons. One being that it doesn't really focus on the vampirism as much as the immortality of the chracters and the pain it can cause them, and the inevitable loss read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 28, 2007
WorldWide
A quick review to give people a vague idea of how this anime is and not just throw in my own unidentified views like most people-starts off exciting, slows down, reaches climax, comes to an epic end.

My Personal Views: (hahahaha), you have to have a little desire in a love or passion for or of something more pure and honest to undestand the first half, the later half you need some experience in letting go and contentment (I THINK) to be able to appreciate the ending. Although the ending did PISS ME OFF!!!!!!!!! that' why I gave it a nine =

TWO THUMBS UP!!!
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 20, 2009
Kolm
The story is about a normal student, who liked to take photos of the sky. One night, when he was trying to take a picture of the sunrise, he met a strange girl, who tells him she is not a human. Very good plot, sometimes really emotional scenes, good humor.
Art... Anything special, except, I liked the sky landscapes, very strong.
The opening and ending themes were masterpiece, but the other music repeats very often... All in all, I liked it.
Characters are unpredictable and individual. Very good.

The first 6 series are very different, from the last ones. Like two different directors. The first part was much more read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 20, 2012
WingsOfTheUnholy
Ever watch an anime just for the genre it is place in? I know I do.

I will not lie, I like to watch romance anime. I don't know what it is, but I am a fallen victim of things like romance or supernatural anime, which is usually the reason why I ignore this site's rating system, because people rate on ingenuity, not things like enjoyability. One thing about anime (especially romance) is it is very predictable...I was wrong about Sola. One thing I hate about Hollywood movies or movies in general is that I am always able to guess the ending, I listen to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 12, 2012
jaredross
I was very impressed with this show! I wasn't really into anime when it came out, so i've been catching up on alot of good shows that came out in 2007, and i was very impressed with the animation of this one! The character models are all very attractive with slender bodies/faces. I also think the characters had a lot of life and connections. This stories more or less about tragic relationships, and people that strive too be together but ultimately can't have what they want out of a relationship. My only complaint was that i wish it was longer! I recommend this to anyone read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Advertising     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy