Ranked #3056


Alternative Titles

Japanese: まぶらほ


Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 14, 2003 to Apr 6, 2004
Premiered: Fall 2003
Broadcast: Unknown
Source: Unknown
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity
L represents licensing company


Score: 7.051 (scored by 29,387 users)
Ranked: #30562
Popularity: #800
Members: 53,418
Favorites: 200
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Apr 13, 2010
Hmmm, as I sit down to write this review, I notice that a lot of other viewers say that this anime is un-original, simple, and all together a decent but under achieving anime. I don't see it that way however, for I think Maburaho embodies exactly what a harem - ecchi anime should be. Now as far as harem animes go, you have over a million and one to choose from, but I think that Maburaho is the one that perfected the formula, the one that got everything just right.

Now, people will complain that the story is simple and rather un-original, but what did you read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 12, 2011
Another ecchi harem anime? Don't go rolling your eyes just yet as this harem has some class.

There's usually a very thin storyline that's used as an excuse to bring the harem together. In Maburaho's case, that lies within the desire of strengthening the family heritage with a very powerful magician that could only come from the genes of our male lead, Kazuki Shikimori. Accompanied by a decent array of women with similar intentions, the harem unfolds and evolves into a more dramatic love story where Kazuki is fought over time and time again. The characters are very dynamic and you will see the change towards read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 12, 2007

The story, it's good, mostly like your regular harem but has a type of hidden charm that you just can't put your finger on.

Art is good, nothing outstanding like Madhouse or Bones production, but who cares? It is good animation for the type of genre it is. You wouldn't want to see Death Note drawn like Maburaho and Maburaho like Death Note would you? It would completely ruin the atmosphere.

The soundtrack is good, nothing outstanding but short of great. Character voices are good as usual, fits the characters perfect.

read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 27, 2008
Well after reading the above info on this title, you probably have a good idea as to what this series is about. Yep, its an"ecchi harem anime". It stays basic, but is still enjoyable.

Story: 6/10
Well there really isn’t an actual plot going on per-say, it simply revolves around this boy named Kazuki, who has magic that is far beyond anyone else’s. (yeah, its a place where everyone knows magic) Only problem is--he can only use it a limited amount of times. (8 to be precise) So upon hearing this, three female students hear about this and decide to make him their lover, for the sol read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 6, 2007
Thank God it wasn’t longer than 24 episodes. It was just bad. I don’t even know why it was in AnimeNfo’s top 194.

The story had its highs and lows. Its highs were average, and its lows were really bad – catch my drift? Most of the time it was almost unbearable to watch, and there were episodes that almost got me (Just the ones with Rin and Yamase in it) but still came up short. In a word, disappointing. It was bad execution all over again – the concept was almost acceptable, but the concept was disappeared along the series to who knows where read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 16, 2012
Kazuki Shikimori lives in a a world where everyone can use magic. Not everyone’s magic is equal. Everyone has a set number of times that he or she can use their magic. Most normal people can to use magic around hundred times or so, while others can use their magic several thousand times. A person's social status is determined by how many times you are able to use magic. If however you use up all your magic, your body turns to ash and is scattered in the wind. Kazuki however is different from most because his magic count is less than 10. Then one day read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 17, 2011
Ok, ok, so now I've just completed watching this classic (since it was released in 2003), time for me to make my review, take note that I'm yet to read its manga, so my review is only for this anime. So, let's get down to business:

Story- fair 6.

Ok, so this is your typical comedy, set in the school, with magic and a ghost, but this anime is focus on the harem and its comedy revolves around it. However this is one harem that can be considered as a "TRUE HAREM," because unlike other harem this one has all parties having feelings for the muchacho (male read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 10, 2012
I can sum everything up in but a few words -

Why did you not just end this at twelve episodes J.C. Staff?

The story was partially decent leading up to the first arc if you want to call it such; then comes episode thirteen onwards... just a highway disaster.

It would have been a rather touching anime worth at least a 6 or 7 overall if they had left it to end at the mid point.
Kazuki went out of his way to gain some manly points with how carefree he sacrificed his limited amount of magical usage on the 4 girls he cared for and loved.

Time for read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 25, 2012
~ Review ~

Anime Information
Anime Production : J.C.Staff
Director: Shinichiro Kimura
Episodes: 24 episodes
Genres: Comedy, Drama, Ecchi, Magic, Romance, School, Harem
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Original Run: October 14, 2003 - April 6, 2004

Kazuki Shikimori is a 17 years old student who attends Aoi Academy, a prestigious school for elite magician. In this world full of magic, each magician has a set limit of spells, and performing more spells than the limit allows will cause the user to turn into dust. Thus normally for many people, their set limit of spells are about around hundreds or thousands but for Kazuki Shikimori, he's got to be the unluckiest guys around. read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 5, 2011
People may look at my score and say that its outrageous, but i feel as if it was more of the spur of the moment score. This anime was pretty dope. It was incredibly entertaining and just loads of fun. Its as simple as that.

This is one of those rare little gems that made me laugh a lot. There's a lot of ecchi, but personally im okay with that. I mean theres a guy surrounded by a bunch of different girls, so what do you expect? Im not a pervert or anything, but if i was in his situation read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 11, 2009
Oh, harem, harem. You're so indecisive.

I start it off like this because if you're looking for a harem that goes against the grain and has a distinct, "I choose [insert girl's name here]," you'll be sadly disappointed with this anime. It sticks to the generic harem formula, deviating here and there, but ultimately, it comes out the same product.

Story: 7
For me, harems' storylines must be alike and different. This one was an average mix of those two. It pleased me, but didn't wow me. I enjoyed the story much more than I thought it would, and I have to say, Yuna's over the top read more
I found this review Helpful
May 13, 2011
Let me just start off by saying that I love Maburaho; I love the characters, the humor, and while there is plenty of fanservice, there is in fact a heartwarming side to this story. (Just don't expect too much of it, otherwise you'll likely be let down.)

However, I'm not going so far as to say "what an underrated show this is," because it isn't. As mentioned before, there are quite a few similar anime out there. I can't really say that there's anything truly original about Maburaho, it just exemplifies what its genre is all about: high school, girls, comedy, and romance. read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 4, 2012
The ending to this anime is pretty shocking really. The main guy has three girls around him who really want a shagg yet throughout the whole series he purposely tries not to get close to them in a sexual way he actually runs away if they take a piece of clothing off. This doesn't reflect a person of his age or sex.

The story changes half way through and the protagonist pretty much just wastes away his powers for stupid reasons. there is no real villain, everyone just has some weird obsession with the main guy.

i would only advise someone to watch this read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 4, 2010
When I first started maburaho some odd years ago, I was very intrigued by what the previews showed. Simply, in a world where people can cast spells a certain number of times, Kazuki Shikimori, has a very low count a considers himself worthless. This is until he becomes the target of an unwanted harem when it is revealed to his class, that he has some impressive magical genes. Going in, you get what you asked for. A harem series set in a magical world. At the time, I didn't expect much but now that I had some time to think, I realized a lot of read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 2, 2009
It was interesting at first; a boy with only 8 attempts of magic available to him his entire life (use of which would cause him to dissolve and subsequently, die), but despite all this, Kazuki is given a particularly sorry disposition. There is no sympathy for him. The show makes him look sorry where he deserved credit, and I despised that.

To add insult to injury, there’s the typical childhood promise and the three girls that chase him out of a comedy and into a harem drama… I admit it’s fresh seeing these girls actually listening to the guy, contrary to the harem formula, but it’s read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 26, 2013
I am fine with harem and magic anime. However, this magic anime is not fun to watch at all. It is about a Kazuki who is dumb, too kind and always gets picked on by a lot of people. Yuna declares to them that she is Kazuki's wife and the people all started to attack them and things get rough.

The English dub was horrendous. The women voices in the dub are like annoying. The syncing of the lip movement was horrendous.

The art is ok and the sound is also ok. You know, when I watch anime, I wanted to see good character development but no. read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 17, 2014
Well, that's that. "Kazuki will always be Kazuki."
I've finished Maburaho (officially) for the fourth time.
This time, however, was very different. This time, it was with new eyes.

Maburaho was the first anime I ever owned.

All in all, I can say, without a doubt, that Maburaho is one of the best shows I've ever seen. It is an amazing story disguised as a harem/comedy anime. Even seeing through it all, right to the very end, I couldn't hate it. There are flaws, sure. (Example: Seriously? Who throws out two main characters in the final episode, just to let them stand there and do nothing?! One of them read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 21, 2009
Meh..Just another typical Harem with a wimpy kid that gets 3 (or 4 depending on how you wanna look at it)girls chasing after him but he is too gay to go for any of them+Magic.

Story 3/10

Ok i admit at the beggining i was kind of interested,but then halfway through the series it just went downhill.
The story begins with as earlier stated this wimpy kid named kazuki
who can only use magic 8 times,he surpasses 8 he dies.

Well turns out his kid is gonna be the most powerful magicien in the world or some shit like that,and out of the blue 3 girls (at the same read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 1, 2013
I did not rate this series so badly because of plot or dreadful character development. I expected all that; I picked this series to watch solely for the mindless fan service and comedy it appears to offer.

There is as much ecchi in this show service as in Naruto. Instead of focusing on girls and ecchi moments, this show leans towards interaction of characters and plot. This would not be so bad if the plot is not paper thin, instead it causes moments to feel stretched, and repetitive. (*cough* Haruhi endless eight)


Show is like soft-core porn without the arousal.
I found this review Helpful
Jan 13, 2009
This anime is one of my favorites by far, and I know that anyone who watches this will have some sort of place for it in their hearts.

Story - (9/10)
The story was simply amazing. Shikimori Kazuki, a 17-year-old boy, attends a school for elite magicians. However, due to his physique, test scores, and various other things, girls walk right on past him.

However, out of the blue, he is "attacked" by three beautiful girls: Kuriko, Rin, and Yuuna.

But, they're really only after one thing: his genes (you heard it guys, they wanna *bleep* him =O ).

Aside from making the whole male population at the school jealous read more
I found this review Helpful