MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #2659
Maburaho

Maburaho

Alternative Titles

Japanese: まぶらほ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 14, 2003 to Apr 6, 2004
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.121 (scored by 25337 users)
Ranked: #26592
Popularity: #618
Members: 44,906
Favorites: 197
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

comedy ecchi harem romance
Apr 13, 2010
leingodf8
Hmmm, as I sit down to write this review, I notice that a lot of other viewers say that this anime is un-original, simple, and all together a decent but under achieving anime. I don't see it that way however, for I think Maburaho embodies exactly what a harem - ecchi anime should be. Now as far as harem animes go, you have over a million and one to choose from, but I think that Maburaho is the one that perfected the formula, the one that got everything just right.

Now, people will complain that the story is simple and rather un-original, but what did you read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 12, 2011
LEGOF
Another ecchi harem anime? Don't go rolling your eyes just yet as this harem has some class.

There's usually a very thin storyline that's used as an excuse to bring the harem together. In Maburaho's case, that lies within the desire of strengthening the family heritage with a very powerful magician that could only come from the genes of our male lead, Kazuki Shikimori. Accompanied by a decent array of women with similar intentions, the harem unfolds and evolves into a more dramatic love story where Kazuki is fought over time and time again. The characters are very dynamic and you will see the change towards read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 27, 2008
Retro8bit
Well after reading the above info on this title, you probably have a good idea as to what this series is about. Yep, its an"ecchi harem anime". It stays basic, but is still enjoyable.

Story: 6/10
Well there really isn’t an actual plot going on per-say, it simply revolves around this boy named Kazuki, who has magic that is far beyond anyone else’s. (yeah, its a place where everyone knows magic) Only problem is--he can only use it a limited amount of times. (8 to be precise) So upon hearing this, three female students hear about this and decide to make him their lover, for the sol read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 12, 2007
dnt
Maburaho,

Story:
The story, it's good, mostly like your regular harem but has a type of hidden charm that you just can't put your finger on.

Art:
Art is good, nothing outstanding like Madhouse or Bones production, but who cares? It is good animation for the type of genre it is. You wouldn't want to see Death Note drawn like Maburaho and Maburaho like Death Note would you? It would completely ruin the atmosphere.

Sound:
The soundtrack is good, nothing outstanding but short of great. Character voices are good as usual, fits the characters perfect.

Character:
read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 10, 2012
ampzz
I can sum everything up in but a few words -

Why did you not just end this at twelve episodes J.C. Staff?

The story was partially decent leading up to the first arc if you want to call it such; then comes episode thirteen onwards... just a highway disaster.

It would have been a rather touching anime worth at least a 6 or 7 overall if they had left it to end at the mid point.
Kazuki went out of his way to gain some manly points with how carefree he sacrificed his limited amount of magical usage on the 4 girls he cared for and loved.

Time for read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 11, 2009
Saintly
Oh, harem, harem. You're so indecisive.

I start it off like this because if you're looking for a harem that goes against the grain and has a distinct, "I choose [insert girl's name here]," you'll be sadly disappointed with this anime. It sticks to the generic harem formula, deviating here and there, but ultimately, it comes out the same product.

Story: 7
For me, harems' storylines must be alike and different. This one was an average mix of those two. It pleased me, but didn't wow me. I enjoyed the story much more than I thought it would, and I have to say, Yuna's over the top read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 16, 2012
DeSwitch
Kazuki Shikimori lives in a a world where everyone can use magic. Not everyone’s magic is equal. Everyone has a set number of times that he or she can use their magic. Most normal people can to use magic around hundred times or so, while others can use their magic several thousand times. A person's social status is determined by how many times you are able to use magic. If however you use up all your magic, your body turns to ash and is scattered in the wind. Kazuki however is different from most because his magic count is less than 10. Then one day read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 6, 2007
jet2r0cks
Thank God it wasn’t longer than 24 episodes. It was just bad. I don’t even know why it was in AnimeNfo’s top 194.

The story had its highs and lows. Its highs were average, and its lows were really bad – catch my drift? Most of the time it was almost unbearable to watch, and there were episodes that almost got me (Just the ones with Rin and Yamase in it) but still came up short. In a word, disappointing. It was bad execution all over again – the concept was almost acceptable, but the concept was disappeared along the series to who knows where read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 13, 2011
7jaws7
Let me just start off by saying that I love Maburaho; I love the characters, the humor, and while there is plenty of fanservice, there is in fact a heartwarming side to this story. (Just don't expect too much of it, otherwise you'll likely be let down.)

However, I'm not going so far as to say "what an underrated show this is," because it isn't. As mentioned before, there are quite a few similar anime out there. I can't really say that there's anything truly original about Maburaho, it just exemplifies what its genre is all about: high school, girls, comedy, and romance. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 17, 2011
Nasty001
Ok, ok, so now I've just completed watching this classic (since it was released in 2003), time for me to make my review, take note that I'm yet to read its manga, so my review is only for this anime. So, let's get down to business:

Story- fair 6.

Ok, so this is your typical comedy, set in the school, with magic and a ghost, but this anime is focus on the harem and its comedy revolves around it. However this is one harem that can be considered as a "TRUE HAREM," because unlike other harem this one has all parties having feelings for the muchacho (male read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 4, 2010
Damonashu
Story:
When I first started maburaho some odd years ago, I was very intrigued by what the previews showed. Simply, in a world where people can cast spells a certain number of times, Kazuki Shikimori, has a very low count a considers himself worthless. This is until he becomes the target of an unwanted harem when it is revealed to his class, that he has some impressive magical genes. Going in, you get what you asked for. A harem series set in a magical world. At the time, I didn't expect much but now that I had some time to think, I realized a lot of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 13, 2009
Mallik
This anime is one of my favorites by far, and I know that anyone who watches this will have some sort of place for it in their hearts.

Story - (9/10)
The story was simply amazing. Shikimori Kazuki, a 17-year-old boy, attends a school for elite magicians. However, due to his physique, test scores, and various other things, girls walk right on past him.

However, out of the blue, he is "attacked" by three beautiful girls: Kuriko, Rin, and Yuuna.

But, they're really only after one thing: his genes (you heard it guys, they wanna *bleep* him =O ).

Aside from making the whole male population at the school jealous read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 21, 2009
biitchstick
Meh..Just another typical Harem with a wimpy kid that gets 3 (or 4 depending on how you wanna look at it)girls chasing after him but he is too gay to go for any of them+Magic.

Story 3/10

Craaaap.
Ok i admit at the beggining i was kind of interested,but then halfway through the series it just went downhill.
The story begins with as earlier stated this wimpy kid named kazuki
who can only use magic 8 times,he surpasses 8 he dies.

Well turns out his kid is gonna be the most powerful magicien in the world or some shit like that,and out of the blue 3 girls (at the same read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 5, 2011
yez
People may look at my score and say that its outrageous, but i feel as if it was more of the spur of the moment score. This anime was pretty dope. It was incredibly entertaining and just loads of fun. Its as simple as that.

This is one of those rare little gems that made me laugh a lot. There's a lot of ecchi, but personally im okay with that. I mean theres a guy surrounded by a bunch of different girls, so what do you expect? Im not a pervert or anything, but if i was in his situation read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 13, 2010
AnyAnimePrincess
This was the first harem/ecchi anime that I've watched so I wasn't to sure of it at first.
I actually found it enjoyable and really funny :D
The main character isn't very popular because he only has 8 times he can use his magic so of course he feels abit worthless, then suddenly 3 girls are after him however some of them only want his genes!! You'll get why when you watch it ;)
The characters will get on your nerves at first but as the anime goes on you start learning alot about them
I love the opeing of the anime I think thats what got me into read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2009
hlissner
It was interesting at first; a boy with only 8 attempts of magic available to him his entire life (use of which would cause him to dissolve and subsequently, die), but despite all this, Kazuki is given a particularly sorry disposition. There is no sympathy for him. The show makes him look sorry where he deserved credit, and I despised that.

To add insult to injury, there’s the typical childhood promise and the three girls that chase him out of a comedy and into a harem drama… I admit it’s fresh seeing these girls actually listening to the guy, contrary to the harem formula, but it’s read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 22, 2010
HavanaCruz
Cruz Reviews:Maburaho
Maburaho is a romance story of a shy and kind male getting chased by three girls for his genes. This is a great if you like light romantic comedies in anime. I like this "harem" style anime because of the humor. There were little sentimental moments as well shared between the main character Kazuki Shikimori, and main three female characters (Yuna Miyama, Kuriko Kazetsubaki, Rin Kamishiro), so it's not all chasing after a male. The ending was a lil whack for me and seemed a lil rush as if it was made just to end the series, I was hoping for something read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 23, 2009
Heketeus
Okay, so this Maburaho is on my mind, basically it's normal harem and ecchi anime series where there is one guy and three girls around him. First this is just some ecchi anime, nothing really good, but still not bad, but really when it goes on, it is so good. My example of this anime shortly is that it's something like ecchi harem anime, but some really good things on it, it's like something you expect, but really just can't afford it, well that the way I think it is.

Story 10/10:

Well first the story was little bit boring, but then oh great, it turns read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 7, 2011
roriconfan
Maburaho is yet another ecchi comedy with mostly random humour and events that occasionally tries to offer a bit more in terms of characterization. It ultimately fails but at least it tries; something most of its kind doesn’t even bothers with.

So what gives this time? The world in the series finds everyone with the ability to cast magic for a few thousand times during their lives before it runs out. The lead male is your typical harem dork with the unusual ability to use powerful magic a few times in his life, before he dies from it. As soon as it is revealed that he read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 25, 2012
ardeeuchiha
~ Review ~

Anime Information
Anime Production : J.C.Staff
Director: Shinichiro Kimura
Episodes: 24 episodes
Genres: Comedy, Drama, Ecchi, Magic, Romance, School, Harem
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Original Run: October 14, 2003 - April 6, 2004

Synopsis:
Kazuki Shikimori is a 17 years old student who attends Aoi Academy, a prestigious school for elite magician. In this world full of magic, each magician has a set limit of spells, and performing more spells than the limit allows will cause the user to turn into dust. Thus normally for many people, their set limit of spells are about around hundreds or thousands but for Kazuki Shikimori, he's got to be the unluckiest guys around. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices