MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #34
Monster

Monster

Alternative Titles

English: Monster
Japanese: モンスター

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 74
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2004 to Sep 28, 2005
Producers: Madhouse, VAP, Viz MediaL
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.731 (scored by 46211 users)
Ranked: #342
Popularity: #150
Members: 117,833
Favorites: 6,005
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

drama horror mystery psychological thriller
Sep 23, 2013
DystopianLove
"Whoever fights monsters should see to it that in the process he does not become a monster. And when you look long into an abyss, the abyss also looks into you”--Nietzsche

Those who have seen Monster can attest collectively (whether they liked it or not) to how incredibly uncomfortable and unconventional this show is. The topic of evil is proactively exploited through revealing the extent of human depravity in conjunction with exploring matters like child abuse, mass murder, collective brainwashing, human experimentation, the value of life, and so much more. These are some themes that most people make a conscious effort to keep as far read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 1, 2009
TheCriticsClub
Monster plays out like a macabre game of cat and mouse in a world that is frighteningly similar to real life. Uncomfortable subjects such as coercive human conditioning and the psychology of the sociopath, morality issues regarding the origin of evil and the value of human life, are horrifyingly, yet engagingly, realized. The protagonist, Dr. Tenma, struggles to fix that which is so remorsefully broken in his world. Monster is a chilling tale rooted in reality, a far cry from the superpowers and supernatural forces found in more detached fantasy series.

Story: 10

The writing in Monster is exceptional. The pace is a slow burn that smartly read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 8, 2010
Lindle
If you've heard of Monster, then odds are you've probably heard of the incredible hype surrounding it. For a while, Monster has been the absolute critic's darling of anime, being the poster-boy for lofty intellectual types. Because of this, it can be very easy to imagine Monster as being overhyped.

But Monster lives up to every word of the praise it gets.

The story of Monster begins fairly simply. A skilled Neurosurgeon named Kenzo Tenma is due to perform an operation on a patient, but is called away to operate on a popular singer instead. The singer's life is saved, but his original patient dies. Dr. Tenma read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 15, 2014
Beomsik
Monster, really an underrated anime on this site. Naoki Urusawa, the writer of masterpieces such as 20th Century Boys, and Master Keaton has once again proven his meticulous and ingenious writing with Monster. Now, talking about what makes Monster such an ingenious piece of writing is very difficult without delving into spoilers, so although I'll try my best to avoid any spoilers, there may be a tiny one here and there. I hope that you read my review, and whether or not you liked my review, I really hope that you give the anime a watch.

"It's not given to people to judge what's right read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 18, 2007
Xyik
Monster is an anime that I used to scoff at every time I saw high ratings for it. I was never really into long plot driven anime and I couldn't understand how so many people loved it, but seeing the ratings, I couldn't help but be interested. I downloaded this anime over a year ago and burned it on to 3 DVDs, never really intending to watch it. Maybe I did it because of the hype, decided that a highly acclaimed series like this was something every anime fan needed in his/her collection. Or maybe I just did it so I would have something to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 1, 2010
kajia
"Monster" may not be the most popular of anime - unlike say, "Death Note" or "Full Metal Alchemist", there are still plenty of people who haven't seen it - but it has attained this almost mythical status as one of the anime that's come closest to being flawless. Could this really be the Holy Grail of anime? Now, being the opinionated jackass that I am, I've never shied away from obnoxiously airing my unwanted views loudly and with extreme prejudice, however controversial they may be, and a fair share of popular anime ("FLCL", "Elfen Lied" and "Clannad" to name a few) have felt the wrath read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 18, 2009
-LIME-
~Story~
Oh Boy. Monster is really something else. People are thrown off when they hear that this anime has 74 episodes. Quite a few people say that that it's too slow, but to those I say: "Go watch childish anime, and when you grow up, watch Monster"
Well then, to begin. This anime has an insanely high production value. It should also be said Monster has no filler episodes(they are all connected). The story follows a brain surgeon called Doctor Kenzo Tenma. The very first few episodes set the plot. But as simple as it may look when you start watching it, you will think: "this is read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 27, 2014
welcome2NHK
Nothing in this world is perfect. Finding an anime without any flaws is extremely rare; or rather it's pretty much impossible. Fortunately enough, there are always exceptions to every rule, and Monster is one of them. It is a anime which came very close to this 'perfection' with it's very little flaws, complex and beautiful adaption, excellent pacing, characters filled with depth and developments with a mature storyline, creating what we would call a 'masterpiece'.

Adapted from a manga by Naoki Urasawa, who has been called a ‘living genius’ and has given us a taste of many other great manga, which includes 20th Century Boys, and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 19, 2013
arcaneape
Monster sets a masterful benchmark for storytelling, character writing, and atmosphere in the medium. A few minor flaws aside, the series is a captivating ride for those who are willing to devote the more than 24 hours to see the drama fully to completion.

Story: 10
+ well-written, gripping
+ thoughtful themes
- plot can become labyrinthine, particularly during the latter quarter of the series
- the finale is slightly anticlimatic and relatively weak compared to the rest of the story

Long, non episodic series such as Monster risk dragging out, becoming exercises in drudgery as one plods to the finish. That this does not happen in the 74 episodes of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 17, 2008
Master10K
Monster is a compelling Psychological, Mystery, Drama that is heavily driven by its thrilling story. Some who watch this may not be able to get into it but the rest will enjoy the experience.

Set in Germany, the story is about a very promising surgeon Dr. Tenma who ends up being betrayed, just for doing what he believed was right. However what he thought that he did was right ended up coming back to him later, for the better and worse. In the first couple episodes the series keeps on alternating from slowly developing its story to going into a time skip. However the story soon read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 2, 2013
hesselz
"Tell me, what do you think is the ultimate fear? I really thought I'd already reached the darkest of the dark, but then, ahead of me, I beheld a darkness even greater still." - Johan Liebert

The TV series 'Monster' is a 74 episode long adaption to the manga series 'Monster' which is written by Naoki Urasawa, who has became a quite famous mangaka over the years for manga such as '20th Century Boys' and 'Pluto'. The thing that these stories have in common, is the tale of suspense and mystery. Monster is a very realistic slow pacing, psychological thriller that primarily explores the nature of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 2, 2009
yusuke116
Monster is a true gem and a rare anime masterpiece.

Despite its daunting length, an exceedingly high standard of quality is consistently maintained in all 74 episodes. And because the writer does not get sidetracked with filler episodes or arcs, a single, coherent storyline runs through. This gives the impression of watching a an excellent graphic novel. Though the story itself is impossibly intricate, a web of intrigue and conflicting motives to tantalize the viewer, Monster manages to conclude dramatically, memorably and without the use of such cheap and overused plot devices as deus ex machina.

Urasawa Naoki clearly left nothing to chance or improvisation in read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 9, 2013
DeMon555
Where do all the lonely people come from? The Beatles asked this question four dozen years ago - yet the answer remains deficient. Suffice it to say that MONSTER is not the type of series that will deliver us - the viewers - an easy answer. To first understand WHY we're lonely, we must explore the true nature of us humans.

Dr. Tenma is a gifted (yet naive) Japanese neurosurgeon working in Düsseldorf during the mid '80th. The politically-unstable era saw the sparkle of unity among German youth, though Dr. Tenma does not get to witness this rising tide; He's about to get married to sought-after read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 26, 2008
Ranivus
Note: Quick Review on bottom of this review
Theres so many things that can be said about this show. Especially the overall plot, story setting, and theme. Theres so many things that can be taken or understood differently based on the viewer its pointless to point out here but, I'll first start out by saying...

I hate this show


With that being said, I'm sure all of you are all saying in unison "But you rated it a 9!" For all those saying that, I commend you Cpt. Obvious. Please allow me to explain myself.

As I have previously stated, so many situations can be taken different read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 9, 2008
spiffyish
HOW I WAS INTRODUCED TO MONSTER:
Monster was recently recommended to me by a friend who was rather frustrated that there wasn't enough of a fanbase for such a great anime. It wasn't my usual type of anime, since I'm not a big mystery/detective fan and I doubted I would like it at first... Another note I would like to mention is that the anime and manga of Monster are very close and true to each other.

STORY (10/10):
The story is incredibly intriguing. Avoiding being redundant and giving a plot synopsis, I'll say this: Every story development pulls the watcher further in, without resorting read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 23, 2009
Pinktiarapanda
74 episodes long. I looked at those little words on the left hand column of MAL's page dedicated to Monster, and I said to myself "74 episodes?" *cower* "I've heard this anime is really good...bu...but...that is a lot of episodes". So it took me a few months to finally get up the motivation to actually sit down and watch the first episode of this series. And once I did, there was no turning back. Deciding that this anime was too long to be worth my time was totally futile, I had been drawn in by one of the greatest series (anime or not) ever read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 26, 2009
IcehawkDown
You lock eyes with a girl at a party. Soon, you're talking. A few hours later you find yourself in her room, making out with her. You start to reach for a boob when.... "I don't want to take it any farther than this." Just when you thought you were about to get something, you get shut down, cockteased.

This is monster. The greatest cocktease of all time.

Don't get me wrong, it is a great show. I enjoyed it. It would have to be reasonably good for me to make it through 74 episodes of it while generally enjoying myself, but it never quite lived read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 9, 2014
tukky12
Monster, what a show. This show will have you hooked from the start of the first episode right down to the end of the 74th episode. You will be hard pressed to find a show with such mystery and as much dark emotion as this one, it’s definitely one of those shows which just make you feel as if you’re part of the action, it’s not just something on your screen but the action is all around you. When you watch this show, you really are in a world of your own, in the world of the monster…
Monster aired from April 2004 to September 2005 read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 25, 2014
linoras
This is a masterpiece. Every single bit of it. Easily my favorite anime of all time and the first one I recommend to people. They are always hooked when I explain the beginning of the plot, which I feel like isn't explained well enough in the summary page (but for good reason, as it does give away the first few episodes). You really need to make it in about six episodes to fully understand what's going on and get hooked.

The characters are so beautifully drawn and complex. There are no two characters that look alike. You can gleam a lot about a character's personality read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 17, 2014
FriendlyFriend01
*NO SPOILERS*

Naoki Urasawa's "Monster" is such a well done, well thought out series. My recommendation is, to watch the anime first. The anime is identical to the manga in every way! At first, I was surprised to see how similar in dialog and in panels, the anime was to the manga.The style in witch the characters are done, helps you feel more like them with each expression. Not to mention the soundtrack helps build up the tension.

Although many of you know what the story is about... for those of you who don't well...

Monster, is a story read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices