MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #35
Monster

Monster

Alternative Titles

English: Monster
Japanese: モンスター

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 74
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2004 to Sep 28, 2005
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.741 (scored by 55506 users)
Ranked: #352
Popularity: #145
Members: 145,765
Favorites: 7,184
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

Popular Tags

drama horror mystery psychological thriller
May 1, 2009
TheCriticsClub
Monster plays out like a macabre game of cat and mouse in a world that is frighteningly similar to real life. Uncomfortable subjects such as coercive human conditioning and the psychology of the sociopath, morality issues regarding the origin of evil and the value of human life, are horrifyingly, yet engagingly, realized. The protagonist, Dr. Tenma, struggles to fix that which is so remorsefully broken in his world. Monster is a chilling tale rooted in reality, a far cry from the superpowers and supernatural forces found in more detached fantasy series.

Story: 10

The writing in Monster is exceptional. The pace is a slow burn that smartly read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 23, 2013
Ezmira
"Whoever fights monsters should see to it that in the process he does not become a monster. And when you look long into an abyss, the abyss also looks into you”--Nietzsche

Those who have seen Monster can attest collectively (whether they liked it or not) to how incredibly uncomfortable and unconventional this show is. The topic of evil is proactively exploited through revealing the extent of human depravity in conjunction with exploring matters like child abuse, mass murder, collective brainwashing, human experimentation, the value of life, and so much more. These are some themes that most people make a conscious effort to keep as far read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 8, 2010
Lindle
If you've heard of Monster, then odds are you've probably heard of the incredible hype surrounding it. For a while, Monster has been the absolute critic's darling of anime, being the poster-boy for lofty intellectual types. Because of this, it can be very easy to imagine Monster as being overhyped.

But Monster lives up to every word of the praise it gets.

The story of Monster begins fairly simply. A skilled Neurosurgeon named Kenzo Tenma is due to perform an operation on a patient, but is called away to operate on a popular singer instead. The singer's life is saved, but his original patient dies. Dr. Tenma read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 6, 2015
UsualGuy
Monster is a series that sets a very big standard for mystery anime. It was written by Naoki Urasawa and many praise it as the better Death note. I had the pleasure of watching this anime and here are my thoughts.


Monster is all about atmosphere and how it reaches to the viewer. Note, i did not read the source material, the manga, so i can't comment how better it is compared to it, but let's just say it is very good. Honestly, before watching Monster, i had a completly different expectation. I thought it would rely on difficult choises and their outcomes, like how the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 23, 2015
MeraTau
N.B. for previous readers, sorry I had to re-post this edited version of my review. Enjoy!

'Monster' is to me the closest thing to a masterpiece anime has ever produced. The only reason it is not on top of the anime list is that it is targeted toward a mature audience as the story is about postwar events and take place in a realistic world with no supernatural setting. Therefore, it does not attract some anime fans even though it is a must-watch show.

The story of 'Monster' is indeed special in many read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 8, 2015
Monstrum
If you don't want to be disturbed in your perception of life after watching this series, please turn back already, because when after you watched the first episode, I assure you will finish the series.

I fully take my gratitude to Naoki Urasawa to his magnificent creation, Monster, for making this kind of story, my perspection in life was enlightened after watching this, and found a different view in the real life situation.

Now, for the review.
This is not a common theme, not a thing you could find on any mystery/psychological animes. After time I find something psychological animes, Monster quickly got my attention, to the synopsis, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 18, 2007
Xyik
Monster is an anime that I used to scoff at every time I saw high ratings for it. I was never really into long plot driven anime and I couldn't understand how so many people loved it, but seeing the ratings, I couldn't help but be interested. I downloaded this anime over a year ago and burned it on to 3 DVDs, never really intending to watch it. Maybe I did it because of the hype, decided that a highly acclaimed series like this was something every anime fan needed in his/her collection. Or maybe I just did it so I would have something to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 1, 2010
kajia
"Monster" may not be the most popular of anime - unlike say, "Death Note" or "Full Metal Alchemist", there are still plenty of people who haven't seen it - but it has attained this almost mythical status as one of the anime that's come closest to being flawless. Could this really be the Holy Grail of anime? Now, being the opinionated jackass that I am, I've never shied away from obnoxiously airing my unwanted views loudly and with extreme prejudice, however controversial they may be, and a fair share of popular anime ("FLCL", "Elfen Lied" and "Clannad" to name a few) have felt the wrath read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 18, 2009
-LIME-
~Story~
Oh Boy. Monster is really something else. People are thrown off when they hear that this anime has 74 episodes. Quite a few people say that that it's too slow, but to those I say: "Go watch childish anime, and when you grow up, watch Monster"
Well then, to begin. This anime has an insanely high production value. It should also be said Monster has no filler episodes(they are all connected). The story follows a brain surgeon called Doctor Kenzo Tenma. The very first few episodes set the plot. But as simple as it may look when you start watching it, you will think: "this is read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 17, 2008
Master10K
Monster is a compelling Psychological, Mystery, Drama that is heavily driven by its thrilling story. Some who watch this may not be able to get into it but the rest will enjoy the experience.

Set in Germany, the story is about a very promising surgeon Dr. Tenma who ends up being betrayed, just for doing what he believed was right. However what he thought that he did was right ended up coming back to him later, for the better and worse. In the first couple episodes the series keeps on alternating from slowly developing its story to going into a time skip. However the story soon read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 2, 2009
yusuke116
Monster is a true gem and a rare anime masterpiece.

Despite its daunting length, an exceedingly high standard of quality is consistently maintained in all 74 episodes. And because the writer does not get sidetracked with filler episodes or arcs, a single, coherent storyline runs through. This gives the impression of watching a an excellent graphic novel. Though the story itself is impossibly intricate, a web of intrigue and conflicting motives to tantalize the viewer, Monster manages to conclude dramatically, memorably and without the use of such cheap and overused plot devices as deus ex machina.

Urasawa Naoki clearly left nothing to chance or improvisation in read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 26, 2009
IcehawkDown
You lock eyes with a girl at a party. Soon, you're talking. A few hours later you find yourself in her room, making out with her. You start to reach for a boob when.... "I don't want to take it any farther than this." Just when you thought you were about to get something, you get shut down, cockteased.

This is monster. The greatest cocktease of all time.

Don't get me wrong, it is a great show. I enjoyed it. It would have to be reasonably good for me to make it through 74 episodes of it while generally enjoying myself, but it never quite lived read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 26, 2008
Ranivus
Note: Quick Review on bottom of this review
Theres so many things that can be said about this show. Especially the overall plot, story setting, and theme. Theres so many things that can be taken or understood differently based on the viewer its pointless to point out here but, I'll first start out by saying...

I hate this show


With that being said, I'm sure all of you are all saying in unison "But you rated it a 9!" For all those saying that, I commend you Cpt. Obvious. Please allow me to explain myself.

As I have previously stated, so many situations can be taken different read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 15, 2015
Playbahnosh
Let's get one thing out of the way first: I REALLY liked Monster! But, I wouldn't watch it again...

Monster is a down-to-Earth psychological crime drama. At first, it might appear to have supernatural elements, but I won't spoil it for you. After watching the entire thing, I would say Monster would've been great as a live-action TV series, which couldn't be said for any other anime I watched so far (and I watched quite a lot). It has everything a great series needs, a cast of characters that the audience can care about, action-packed scenes to liven up the pretty in-depth crime drama, great character read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 19, 2013
arcaneape
Monster sets a masterful benchmark for storytelling, character writing, and atmosphere in the medium. A few minor flaws aside, the series is a captivating ride for those who are willing to devote the more than 24 hours to see the drama fully to completion.

Story: 10
+ well-written, gripping
+ thoughtful themes
- plot can become labyrinthine, particularly during the latter quarter of the series
- the finale is slightly anticlimatic and relatively weak compared to the rest of the story

Long, non episodic series such as Monster risk dragging out, becoming exercises in drudgery as one plods to the finish. That this does not happen in the 74 episodes of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 30, 2015
denchoooo
Monster anime.. Some says it is overrated, some says it is overhyped, but I don't give a damn.

==WARNING; POTENTIAL SPOILERS AHEAD==

This anime is strong, maybe the best atmosphere in any pyschological anime/movie I've ever watched. Call me funny, but everytime Johann monologue or dialouge appears, it gives me the cold and thrilling feels. Yes, for me, it's that good.

Story 9/10
I didn't give the story 10 points because I think the weakest point is on the ending. Maybe some of you think that the ending is very genius, but trust me, it isn't. Or maybe I've put my expectations too high (Comparing to HBO serials like read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 27, 2014
welcome2NHK
Nothing in this world is perfect. Finding an anime without any flaws is extremely rare; or rather it's pretty much impossible. Fortunately enough, there are always exceptions to every rule, and Monster is one of them. It is a anime which came very close to this 'perfection' with it's very little flaws, complex and beautiful adaption, excellent pacing, characters filled with depth and developments with a mature storyline, creating what we would call a 'masterpiece'.

Adapted from a manga by Naoki Urasawa, who has been called a ‘living genius’ and has given us a taste of many other great manga, which includes 20th Century Boys, and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 9, 2013
DeMon555
Where do all the lonely people come from? The Beatles asked this question four dozen years ago - yet the answer remains deficient. Suffice it to say that MONSTER is not the type of series that will deliver us - the viewers - an easy answer. To first understand WHY we're lonely, we must explore the true nature of us humans.

Dr. Tenma is a gifted (yet naive) Japanese neurosurgeon working in Düsseldorf during the mid '80th. The politically-unstable era saw the sparkle of unity among German youth, though Dr. Tenma does not get to witness this rising tide; He's about to get married to sought-after read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 23, 2009
Pinktiarapanda
74 episodes long. I looked at those little words on the left hand column of MAL's page dedicated to Monster, and I said to myself "74 episodes?" *cower* "I've heard this anime is really good...bu...but...that is a lot of episodes". So it took me a few months to finally get up the motivation to actually sit down and watch the first episode of this series. And once I did, there was no turning back. Deciding that this anime was too long to be worth my time was totally futile, I had been drawn in by one of the greatest series (anime or not) ever read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 9, 2008
spiffyish
HOW I WAS INTRODUCED TO MONSTER:
Monster was recently recommended to me by a friend who was rather frustrated that there wasn't enough of a fanbase for such a great anime. It wasn't my usual type of anime, since I'm not a big mystery/detective fan and I doubted I would like it at first... Another note I would like to mention is that the anime and manga of Monster are very close and true to each other.

STORY (10/10):
The story is incredibly intriguing. Avoiding being redundant and giving a plot synopsis, I'll say this: Every story development pulls the watcher further in, without resorting read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful