Ranked #33


Alternative Titles

English: Monster
Japanese: モンスター


Type: TV
Episodes: 74
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2004 to Sep 28, 2005
Premiered: Spring 2004
Broadcast: Unknown
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity
L represents licensing company


Score: 8.751 (scored by 65,440 users)
Ranked: #332
Popularity: #147
Members: 176,635
Favorites: 8,777
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Nov 22, 2015
I don't usually make reviews but I couldn't resist not making one for this anime.This anime is a masterpiece. It has thrilling suspense while you watch it.It was really exciting and fun to watch.You didn't know what was going to happen.If your into Psychological/Dark/Horror/Mystery type of genre, this anime is for you.

Story: 10/10
The story is amazing.It is very unique and not some typical story.That's what makes the anime so enjoyable because you don't know what's going to happen.The viewers will go on a thrilling rollercoaster of action,suspense, and dark adventure.

Art: 9/10
The art/animation style is very unique and has a bit of a realistic look to read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 23, 2013
"Whoever fights monsters should see to it that in the process he does not become a monster. And when you look long into an abyss, the abyss also looks into you”--Nietzsche

Those who have seen Monster can attest collectively (whether they liked it or not) to how incredibly uncomfortable and unconventional this show is. The topic of evil is proactively exploited through revealing the extent of human depravity in conjunction with exploring matters like child abuse, mass murder, collective brainwashing, human experimentation, the value of life, and so much more. These are some themes that most people make a conscious effort to keep as far read more
I found this review Helpful
May 1, 2009
Monster plays out like a macabre game of cat and mouse in a world that is frighteningly similar to real life. Uncomfortable subjects such as coercive human conditioning and the psychology of the sociopath, morality issues regarding the origin of evil and the value of human life, are horrifyingly, yet engagingly, realized. The protagonist, Dr. Tenma, struggles to fix that which is so remorsefully broken in his world. Monster is a chilling tale rooted in reality, a far cry from the superpowers and supernatural forces found in more detached fantasy series.

Story: 10

The writing in Monster is exceptional. The pace is a slow burn that smartly read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 11, 2015
You may have heard this title around. So called critics praise it. Mystery and suspense fans adore it. Everyone claims it to have the best villain. Whatever they may say, it may be true, it may be not. What I know for certain is that it is worth your time.

I can say I was bored, at many points. This is due to a sluggish pacing and overall length of the series. I did not find this to be the case of my experience though. It was rather the start of a subplot or side story that turned me off. Then, you have to learn about read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 3, 2015
Monster is absolutely great. With that said, I think I went in with unfairly high expectations that it just didn't fulfill. But before I dive in to the review, I just have to say one statement. The first 10 episodes are some of the best episodes I've ever seen in any work of fiction, not just anime. Anyways, to the review!

Story: The story is incredibly intricate. There are plenty of twists, turns, and cliff-hangers to hold you through every episode. My biggest complaint however is that the story just became too convoluted. They just kept adding side story after side story, and character after character. read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 6, 2015
Monster is a series that sets a very big standard for mystery anime. It was written by Naoki Urasawa and many praise it as the better Death note. I had the pleasure of watching this anime and here are my thoughts.

Monster is all about atmosphere and how it reaches to the viewer. Note, i did not read the source material, the manga, so i can't comment how better it is compared to it, but let's just say it is very good. Honestly, before watching Monster, i had a completly different expectation. I thought it would rely on difficult choises and their outcomes, like how the read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 19, 2015
Never in a million years did I think I would enjoy a series in terms of it being about a doctor on a journey to solve a mystery, I thought for me I would of been bored within the first two episodes. How wrong I was, from the moment the first episode started and we have the religious text come up I knew I was in for something special and this became more apparent when I saw just how much was set up without having to be said. Monster is one of those series that grips you and never let's go.


The story of Monster follows read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 8, 2010
If you've heard of Monster, then odds are you've probably heard of the incredible hype surrounding it. For a while, Monster has been the absolute critic's darling of anime, being the poster-boy for lofty intellectual types. Because of this, it can be very easy to imagine Monster as being overhyped.

But Monster lives up to every word of the praise it gets.

The story of Monster begins fairly simply. A skilled Neurosurgeon named Kenzo Tenma is due to perform an operation on a patient, but is called away to operate on a popular singer instead. The singer's life is saved, but his original patient dies. Dr. Tenma read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 11, 2015
Though a very lengthy anime by my standards, Monster has managed to become one of the few that have left a real, lasting impression. The events that unfold are often brutal and shocking, depicting the extremes of human depravity, yet are simultaneously balanced by a recognition of the potential for humanity to courageously acknowledge fault and act accordingly, more often than not for the benefit of others. It is this fundamental ambiguity that makes Monster seem real, as the narrative successfully utilises all 74 episodes to demonstrate its eerie applicability to the real world.

STORY - 9.5/10 (10/10 here)

This is definitely one of read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 3, 2015
This is the only case where I can say: There's no anime like this out there. None. Based on the work of master storyteller Naoki Urosawa, monster is the perfect example of how a decision can have unprecedented consequences, how can a dilemma result in the creation of a... well... you know the word.

For me, what stands out most about Monster, aside from the incredible gripping plot with excellent pacing, is the attention to character development. It's incredible how you can come up with such a plethora of characters and make each one them seem like a important piece of the game. You spend episodes read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 28, 2015
Monster is a series which gets almost universal praise. And for a good reason - it is a very good show and I enjoyed thoroughly almost every episode of it. But unfortunately it is sort of a failed masterpiece - and as such it may ultimately be not as rewarding as its ratings suggest or even worse, may leave the viewer with a (very) strong sense of disappointment.

And because watching it is potentially disappointing, all the more the series is 74 episodes long - three times the normal show's length, mind you - please treat this review as a warning (as non-spoiler-ish read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 16, 2015
“If you don’t want to be betrayed anymore… then start doubting the person you want to doubt the least.”

Monster is a fierce, gripping show that grabs you by the arm and transports you through 74 episodes of mind-bending plot, engaging characters and possibly the best villain in anime history. I had to wait about a week after finishing this series before making my attempt at a review due to the sheer amount of things I wanted to say at its conclusion.

It’s quite difficult to put into words how much I enjoyed Monster’s unique storyline. Not only is it realistic, but read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 12, 2015
Of all the anime I have ever seen this one seems the closest to the real life.

Animation, art, sound. were pretty good but emotions shown by characters, story telling everything in the anime gave the feel of the real life.

It was like even if is was a real story it wouldn't be surprising.
Unlike Gankatsuou or Deathnote it doesn't have anything supernatural and unlike psyco pass there is no special gun or something. Its a story purly feasible to happen in real life.

This is why this anime is quite unique and different from all the others. Its a one of a kind anime.
This is definitely read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 9, 2015
1. Story (9/10)
Monster has one of the best stories ever. It has romance, violence, war, drama, betrayal. The plot really dragged me into marathoning this anime.

2. Art (5/10)
The art work is not the best, aside from the main characters, everyone else seems to look the same which does not matter to me at all.

3. Sound (7/10)
I usually don't pay much attention to soundtrack unless it is really good or really off. In this case, I didn't notice anything that was off. I also quite like the OP.

4. Character (1/10)
I feel this category is very important in creating a good anime, in the case of read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 18, 2007
Monster is an anime that I used to scoff at every time I saw high ratings for it. I was never really into long plot driven anime and I couldn't understand how so many people loved it, but seeing the ratings, I couldn't help but be interested. I downloaded this anime over a year ago and burned it on to 3 DVDs, never really intending to watch it. Maybe I did it because of the hype, decided that a highly acclaimed series like this was something every anime fan needed in his/her collection. Or maybe I just did it so I would have something to read more
I found this review Helpful
May 27, 2014
Nothing in this world is perfect. Finding an anime without any flaws is extremely rare; or rather it's pretty much impossible. Fortunately enough, there are always exceptions to every rule, and Monster is one of them. It is a anime which came very close to this 'perfection' with it's very little flaws, complex and beautiful adaption, excellent pacing, characters filled with depth and developments with a mature storyline, creating what we would call a 'masterpiece'.

Adapted from a manga by Naoki Urasawa, who has been called a ‘living genius’ and has given us a taste of many other great manga, which includes 20th Century Boys, and read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
We all know "those" anime fans, right? The ones who are so consumed with maintaining an aura of posh cognizance that they refuse to actually enjoy anime that are entertaining? The ones that get off by watching Evangelion reruns? Well, Monster has long been a critic's sweetheart of an anime, one that, to me at least, had a vibe strangely homologous to those anime that are supposedly chock-full of symbolism and that are constantly overrated by the "intellectuals" of the community.

And I am here to say that Monster, unlike many critical reverences, actually deserves all of its intense hype.

Monster is a morbid tale rooted in read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 30, 2015
Monster anime.. Some says it is overrated, some says it is overhyped, but I don't give a damn.


This anime is strong, maybe the best atmosphere in any pyschological anime/movie I've ever watched. Call me funny, but everytime Johann monologue or dialouge appears, it gives me the cold and thrilling feels. Yes, for me, it's that good.

Story 9/10
I didn't give the story 10 points because I think the weakest point is on the ending. Maybe some of you think that the ending is very genius, but trust me, it isn't. Or maybe I've put my expectations too high (Comparing to HBO serials like read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 15, 2015
Let's get one thing out of the way first: I REALLY liked Monster! But, I wouldn't watch it again...

Monster is a down-to-Earth psychological crime drama. At first, it might appear to have supernatural elements, but I won't spoil it for you. After watching the entire thing, I would say Monster would've been great as a live-action TV series, which couldn't be said for any other anime I watched so far (and I watched quite a lot). It has everything a great series needs, a cast of characters that the audience can care about, action-packed scenes to liven up the pretty in-depth crime drama, great character read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 8, 2015
If you don't want to be disturbed in your perception of life after watching this series, please turn back already, because when after you watched the first episode, I assure you will finish the series.

I fully take my gratitude to Naoki Urasawa to his magnificent creation, Monster, for making this kind of story, my perspection in life was enlightened after watching this, and found a different view in the real life situation.

Now, for the review.
This is not a common theme, not a thing you could find on any mystery/psychological animes. After time I find something psychological animes, Monster quickly got my attention, to the synopsis, read more
I found this review Helpful